Iran News and Discussions

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Iran News and Discussions

bala wrote: 02 Apr 2026 23:51
Vayutuvan wrote: 02 Apr 2026 11:17 Lt. Gen P R Shankar is not. BS I mean. Let us have some respect for those who gave their all to protect us and our family.

yeh mere watan ke logon zara aankh mein bharlo paani… shaheed…
Yes, Lt. Gen PR Shankar is prof in IIT-M and created the artillery shell which has ram jet tech. Also Sree Iyer is relaying news which has been verified. Sree has written books on financial wrong doing "who painted my money white" or some such title. I find them both credible. For those that don't believe don't watch - simple.
I said PGurus is a BS/unreliable, I didn't say Gen Shankar is BS. I'm sure you'd find Sree Iyer's books "credible" - birds do flock together.

Gen Shankar surely must have done great things when in service, which is why he acquired a flag rank. In this video, Iyer is trying to use the retd General for a show of credibility.

And whoever is posting stuff like "yeh mere watan ke logon zara aankh mein bharlo paani… shaheed…"....basic lack of social skills, it appears. Even the Chinese "fifty cent" guys who used to infest BRF back in the day were more polished fakers than these uncle toms. Gen Shankar is not a "shaheed", he is luckily alive and well.

Sandeep Unnithan and Lt. Gen P R Shankar (retd) discuss

Will Trump invade Iran?

Chakra April 3, 2026

KL Dubey wrote: 04 Apr 2026 03:20 And whoever is posting stuff like "yeh mere watan ke logon zara aankh mein bharlo paani… shaheed…"....basic lack of social skills, it appears. Even the Chinese "fifty cent" guys who used to infest BRF back in the day were more polished fakers than these uncle toms. Gen Shankar is not a "shaheed", he is luckily alive and well.
Wow. What a display of great social skills. This one wants every Indian-American to line up behind them to fight Hindumisia.

Their leadership/blog (if any)/YT channel (if any) is not doing well. Hence, talking down to successful people like Sri Iyer.

Unfortunately for Samira ma'am, Cyrus is 2000 years before PBHU.

Iran Conflict Cracks Global System, NATO in Trouble, BRICS, Oil & India I Maj Gen Rajiv Narayanan
Aadhi Achint

All kinds of alternatives are being discussed including IMECC in the future.

KL Dubey wrote: 04 Apr 2026 03:20 I said PGurus is a BS/unreliable, I didn't say Gen Shankar is BS. I'm sure you'd find Sree Iyer's books "credible" - birds do flock together.
I listen to General Shankar and in general, the three good Generals wherever they are, including on PGurus.

However, after listening to a particular inane piece from Sri Iyer, my comment was that Sri Iyer is like a court jester in the Darbar of the Three Generals.

General Shankar and the other generals are good in that they are rational, they argue with facts and evidence, and when they are talking military/defense matters, I trust them.

Where I feel they sometimes go wrong is e.g., they overreach, e.g., into economics in which they have no more claim to expertise than I have. Or sometimes into the murkier areas of international relations/diplomacy, which as I learn more, I find to be subtle and not easy to interpret.

One of their guests did suggest that they should bring in experts in economics and experts in the cultures of the countries they are talking about, and career diplomats so that the level of discourse becomes more informed.

Still, on YouTube, the Generals provide among the best material on these topics available from India, in my opinion.

A_Gupta wrote: 05 Apr 2026 05:24
KL Dubey wrote: 04 Apr 2026 03:20 I said PGurus is a BS/unreliable, I didn't say Gen Shankar is BS. I'm sure you'd find Sree Iyer's books "credible" - birds do flock together.
I listen to General Shankar and in general, the three good Generals wherever they are, including on PGurus.

However, after listening to a particular inane piece from Sri Iyer, my comment was that Sri Iyer is like a court jester in the Darbar of the Three Generals.

General Shankar and the other generals are good in that they are rational, they argue with facts and evidence, and when they are talking military/defense matters, I trust them.

Where I feel they sometimes go wrong is e.g., they overreach, e.g., into economics in which they have no more claim to expertise than I have. Or sometimes into the murkier areas of international relations/diplomacy, which as I learn more, I find to be subtle and not easy to interpret.

One of their guests did suggest that they should bring in experts in economics and experts in the cultures of the countries they are talking about, and career diplomats so that the level of discourse becomes more informed.

Still, on YouTube, the Generals provide among the best material on these topics available from India, in my opinion.
Yes, that's a balanced view that I also share. I listen quite a bit to the retired jarnails/karnails/majors both desi and american. They do have sharp insights on the military and strategic aspects. In the Iran war case, I would lean more on the americans since they have contacts that are directly involved in american wars. They all do over-reach in some things. As for Sree Iyer I don't see much value, I think he has become more of an uncle tom now. I used to watch Rajagopalan's appearances on Iyer's channel, again because he is well respected and connected to insiders in New Delhi. Now Rajagopalan is in other channels with better anchors.

How US rescued its fallen pilot in Iran

‘48 hours in enemy territory…’: How US Army rescued fighter jet pilot downed in Iran with CIA help?

US F-15E fighter jet shot down inside Iran triggers a high-risk rescue mission as Donald Trump announces a “successful” operation. With CIA deception tactics, special forces, and massive air power, the US pulled off a daring extraction behind enemy lines. From a 48-hour survival story to blowing up its own aircraft, here’s how the US military executed one of its most complex rescue operations.