Bangladesh News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Bangladesh News and Discussion

Pakistan and Bangladesh should cease to exist in the Indian subcontinent
https://x.com/BDHindus71/status/2064646051093692518
@BDHindus71

Islamist extremists display banners saying, “If you want to build idols, go to India.”

But if an Indian Hindu were to say, “If you want to build mosques, go to Pakistan,”
Hindus would immediately be labeled as communal and intolerant.

https://x.com/SanataniHinduBD/status/20 ... 3237696878
@SanataniHinduBD

Bangladesh 🇧🇩 : Hindu man ( Pankaj Shil ) stabbed to death by 3 men wearing burkha .
Location Chittagong , Patiya , Komolmunshi , Joulir Dighi .

https://x.com/BDHindus71/status/2064049380475498714

Voice Of BD Hindus 🇧🇩
@BDHindus71

BREAKING
Hindu housewife Basana Rani Malakar , mother of two, was found dead in Surma River in Zakiganj, Sylhet after being missing. Service divers recovered her body after 8 hours.

Family strongly alleges murder.

How many more Hindu mothers have to die before the world eshiHindus
drnayar

Post by drnayar »

https://nenews.in/neighbours/us-backs-b ... nal/53568/

US backs Bangladesh Army’s drone regiment, Turkey to develop Ground Data Terminal

Following a meeting between Prime Minister Tarique Rahman and Foreign Minister Fidan at the Prime Minister’s Office in Tejgaon on June 6, Bangladesh and Turkey agreed to establish a joint committee at the defence and foreign ministerial levels.

Turkey is interested in expanding defence-industrial cooperation with Bangladesh through the establishment of manufacturing facilities for military equipment, particularly drones, tanks, and various electronic defence systems.

The US is expected to support these initiatives. Bangladesh had previously signed an agreement to procure drones from a Turkish drone manufacturer several years ago.

The U.S strategy is now clear. They are back to the Cold war era tactics of Arming and abetting Islamist regimes in Democratic India's neighbourhood. The white man's hotility towards SDRE pagan's will not vanish.

^^ Whites hide their religious hatred of pagan Hindus behind geo-strategic gobbledygook, but they are just Neanderthals' wearing an after-shave. Don't be fooled. They will remain an enemy until they are pried out from clutches of the tribal Abrahamic cult of "believers v/s non-believers."

sanjayc wrote: 11 Jun 2026 09:34 ^^ Whites hide their religious hatred of pagan Hindus behind geo-strategic gobbledygook, but they are just Neanderthals' wearing an after-shave. Don't be fooled. They will always remain an enemy till they are pried out from clutches of the tribal Abrahamic cult of "believers v/s non-believers."
Yes unless you become their Vassal or they find something useful in you that they can exploit.

https://x.com/BDHindus71/status/2064607817252925536
@BDHindus71

Army Chief Waker-Uz-Zaman appears to be returning to his original Jamaat identity. Soldiers are generally expected to remain clean-shaven, but the Army Chief has started growing a beard in accordance with the Sunnah. He will fully embrace his Jamaat identity very soon.
stephen

Post by stephen »

drnayar wrote: 11 Jun 2026 07:46 https://nenews.in/neighbours/us-backs-b ... nal/53568/

US backs Bangladesh Army’s drone regiment, Turkey to develop Ground Data Terminal

The US is expected to support these initiatives. Bangladesh had previously signed an agreement to procure drones from a Turkish drone manufacturer several years ago.
1 powerful radar looking down from the hills of Meghalaya and 1 from the hills of tripura will cover all of beedi land. Everytime they fly anything bigger than a kite they will know that India can see and target them. Place a few batteries of the project Kusha system and it will make them realise how insignificantly weak they are and any fancy toys that they buy will just be cannon fodder. Unless their armed forces and people dont get this feeling of overwhelming hopelessness and futility of trying to go up against India, they will never learn. They will continue to try to be on an equal footing with us.

Why bother with radar? Just fly supersonic SU30 boder to border over Dhaka once in a while. :D
stephen

Post by stephen »

Lisa wrote: 11 Jun 2026 18:12 Why bother with radar? Just fly supersonic SU30 boder to border over Dhaka once in a while. :D
Ahh you dont want to waste the precious airframe hours of our sukhois being wasted flying over that cesspit. Their Lalmonirhat airfield is just 20 km from the border, Just dont know which brilliant strategist of theirs thought that it was a wise idea. We can just let the nearest BSF camp arm themselves with a couple of dozens of kamakazie drones and sit squat across it. Let them know how easy it is for us to destroy their whole airbase with their precious few aircraft.

India really needs to work the secessionist angle in Bangladesh. There are ethnic, regional, and other subnational fissures within that country. Right now, the only opposition the BD govt fears is from the Jamaatis. What if both the BD govt and the Jamaatis had to deal with multiple armed insurrections that flared up at all the appropriate times and never seemed to die out regardless of what action was taken?

A second thing I hope India is doing is infiltrating the many criminal (especially, smuggling) networks in BD. Since it is India that determines the success or failure of any smuggling in or out of BD, determining which criminal factions succeed or fail should not be difficult to manage. That gives a lot of leverage to embed Dhurandhars in these criminal networks, and deploy them as necessary against jihadi leaders of both the bearded-Jamaati and the ishtudent varieties.

We were unable to work the secessionist angle in Pakistan all these years after 1971. How would you go about doing the same in BD?

You don't think BLA and TTP are effective proxies against Pakistan? Both are secessionist groups. "Working the secessionist angle" doesn't have to mean actually achieving secession. In fact, the longer an insurrection continues without being resolved, the greater the pressure on enemy resources and degradation of their society.
ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

there is a river pact up for review in december, called the ganga water treaty. There has been a recent spate of water related issues plaguing bd in the global media. Expect the wailing to continue well into december... and perhaps beyond.

am not linking the bd articles, though they are a dime a dozen...quite evocative of the bd as a peoples themselves. To go the exact opposite way, here's a primer from one of the random sources

https://www.shankariasparliament.com/cu ... ing-treaty

The treaty signed on December 12, 1996, between India and Bangladesh governs the sharing of the Ganges River waters during the dry season.
Purpose – To manage the sharing of Ganges waters at the Farakka Barrage, which diverts water to India's Hooghly River to maintain Calcutta Port's navigability.
Farakka Barrage – It was built in 1975 across the Ganges at Farakka, West Bengal.
India and Bangladesh share 54 transboundary rivers that drain through Bangladesh, of which the Ganges is highly seasonal.

Features of the treaty

Validity & Review – The treaty is valid for 30 years, subject to review every 5 years or earlier if either government desires.
Either party can seek the first review after two years to assess the impact.
Period of Sharing – Water sharing to be by 10-day periods during the lean season (Jan 1 – May 31) every year.
Sharing formula –
If the flow at Farakka is less than 70,000 cusecs, sharing is 50:50.
If flow is between 70,000–75,000 cusecs, Bangladesh receives a fixed 35,000 cusecs & India gets the remainder.
If the flow is more than 75,000 cusecs, India gets 75,000 cusecs, while Bangladesh receives the balance.
Emergency Clause – If the flow falls below 50,000 cusecs in any 10 days, both governments will enter into immediate consultations for emergency adjustments.
Data Basis – The schedule derived from 40 years of average flow data (1949–1988) is to be applied to the formula which governs actual sharing.
Fail-Safe Mechanism – India must release at least 90% of Bangladesh’s share downstream until the next 5-year review.
Monitoring – A Joint Committee with equal representatives from both countries monitors daily flows at the Farakka feeder canal and at the Hardinge Bridge navigation lock, and submits annual reports to both governments.
Some bd articles mention a comprehensive review of all the barrages on ganga in india and their equitable share from such a calculation, a proposal of involving bd in decisions on future infra on ganga...

Rudradev wrote: 13 Jun 2026 04:59 In fact, the longer an insurrection continues without being resolved, the greater the pressure on enemy resources and degradation of their society.
Let us accept the premise. Riddle me this my mon. When would “the pressure on enemy resources …” come to fruition? How do we know when that event took place?

Vayutuvan wrote: 13 Jun 2026 03:47 We were unable to work the secessionist angle in Pakistan all these years after 1971. How would you go about doing the same in BD?
We did the same successfully with LTTE

sanjayc wrote: 13 Jun 2026 10:44
Vayutuvan wrote: 13 Jun 2026 03:47 We were unable to work the secessionist angle in Pakistan all these years after 1971. How would you go about doing the same in BD?
We did the same successfully with LTTE

sanjayc ji,

we didn't, the lankans did

and they are still paying a very heavy price for it because the abrahamic BIF has ganged up on them, because their pet tiger(s) was/were thrashed and buried for good but we were around when it all happened and India too paid a heavy price

why do you think that the GoI treats them with what can best be described as "unwarranted" courtsey

BTW, the filthy norwegians tried their very best to horn in on the issues in the NE, but thankfully, the GoI had learned it's bitter lesson vis-a vis the geopolitical "generosity" of the colonial eurotrash, and their poisonous ilk

Vayutuvan wrote: 13 Jun 2026 10:29
Rudradev wrote: 13 Jun 2026 04:59 In fact, the longer an insurrection continues without being resolved, the greater the pressure on enemy resources and degradation of their society.
Let us accept the premise. Riddle me this my mon. When would “the pressure on enemy resources …” come to fruition? How do we know when that event took place?
Why not try reading the wealth of information, references, and insights available all around you on this very forum. Bharat Rakshak has been a repository of Pakistan-related observation and analysis, in a security context, for nearly 30 years now.

Across many threads, there is a nearly continuous account of military/security personnel lost and infrastructure damaged by BLA or TTP attacks in Pakistan, of the deteriorating economic condition Pakistan finds itself in, and of how even moderate political groups ideologically aligned to ethnic secessionism (like the PTM) have become vectors of serious political upheaval. Multiple references are provided to support many if not all of these data points.

It can help to invest some time in reading things that are right in front of you, and help even more to actually understand and integrate the various strands of information absorbed through one's reading.

Now even after reading and understanding the Ramayana, one is certainly entitled to question how we know that Sita was in fact abducted and by whom. Personally, I consider it a waste of time to answer such questions, but maybe there are souls more generous than myself who could help out.
Last edited by Rudradev on 13 Jun 2026 23:00, edited 1 time in total.

The BD experiment is due to a failure by India to play the end game properly with the powers at that time. IG for all her bravery in taking on the Pukes via Manekshaw, did a blunder in terms of the handover of BD not favorable to India in terms of geo-politics. She also had a chance to solve the occupation by the Pukes in Kashmore but left it as a "verbal" agreement. For BD she had a trump card in the 93K POWs. At that time feeding these rotten chaps was a huge bill. She could have retained only the top afsaars say around 5K and let the rest return back. With 5K in hand she could have arrived at a settlement for Kashmore into Indian territorial hands. With the BDs she could have taken Chittagong area as vital for the Indian Navy and cut of the top portion of BD to widen the chicken neck. Another thing she could have insisted on BDs independence is that they will not have an army, navy and airforce, only a police force is all they can have. This end game is so very vital in securing India's geo-political aims. India is paying for such lapses today.

As an addendum, for today, India should give Nepal and Sri Lanka (and Bhutan, Mauritius) an option to join India and become another state of the Union.

Things seem to be hotting up on the beedi border............. India may have moved thousands of BSF troops to the beedi facing front lines per some reports

Nothing much in the Indian press nor in the beedi papers but the beedis have panicked and seem to have gone running to the UN

In other news, India has forward deployed 12 warhead mated nukes in the recent weeks, and some of them are on our nuke submarines at sea

This is a very clear warning to others to steer clear of the India beedi issues

the beedis have started using civilians to pelt stones on the BSF in areas where the fencing is going on

commercial trucks are not being allowed free movement per some reports and long lines have formed on the Indian side, leading to shortages on the beedi side of the border and in their markets

there are other news but one's not able to authenticate them

In A First, India Deploys 12 Nuclear Warheads In Big Policy Shift: Report

The SIPRI report claims this is the first time India's nuclear arsenal has been classified as operationally deployed, rather than stockpiled.

New Delhi:
Marking a significant shift in nuclear weapons policy, India has for the first time "deployed" 12 nuclear warheads. The revelation has been made in the latest report of the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI).

The world's top arms-tracking organisation, SIPRI, in its latest report reveals a massive departure from decades of New Delhi's policy where nuclear warheads and delivery systems were kept in separate storage.

The report claims this is the first time India's arsenal has been classified as operationally deployed, rather than stockpiled.

Deploying ready-to-fire nuclear weapons in underground missile silos and new nuclear submarines signals heightened readiness.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/in-a-fi ... t-11611678

Rudradev wrote: 13 Jun 2026 22:41
Vayutuvan wrote: 13 Jun 2026 10:29 Let us accept the premise. Riddle me this my mon. When would “the pressure on enemy resources …” come to fruition? How do we know when that event took place?
Why not try reading the wealth of information, references, and insights available all around you on this very forum. Bharat Rakshak has been a repository of Pakistan-related observation and analysis, in a security context, for nearly 30 years now. (1)
Personally, I consider it a waste of time to answer such questions, (2) but maybe there are souls more generous than myself who could help out.
(1) Thank you for making my point for me. We have been waiting for 30 years for Paistan to implode. It is like Waiting for Godot.

(2) Your prerogative ofc. You seem to have made up your mind that this is the best way to destroy pakis and BDs. But the past 30 years have proved you wrong. As long as the commoners in the highly populated Sindh and Punjab don't revolt, it is difficult for India to do much. It is a matter of geography. We cannot push arms into Paistan rebel groups that easily. Then there is the question of the US support for the scum. For BD, what you are saying might work. But that window is closing fast. Once the US establishes itself there, then it will become harder for India to do much.

Indian polity made several mistakes, especially not negotiating for POK in 1971 and getting chunks of land from BD. If the Indian army stayed there for an extended period of time after the breakup, we would have secured the border. My guess (I will dig up the ingo if need be) is that BD's coffers were empty post- paki surrender. We could have even bought parts of their land at that time.

Anyway, arguing with you is a waste of my time, too. That said, be prepared to be challenged when you propose something impractical.

bala wrote: 13 Jun 2026 22:59 As an addendum, for today, India should give Nepal and Sri Lanka (and Bhutan, Mauritius) an option to join India and become another state of the Union.
@bala ji, you mean Maldives?

@vayu yes.

I am told:

"The consensus among mainstream Indian strategic thinkers, intelligence analysts, and policymakers is firmly rooted in: India does not want Pakistan to implode, but it prefers a neighbor that is structurally weak, inward-looking, and consumed by its own crises. While the rhetoric in public political discourse can sometimes sound existential, the actual calculated policy of the Indian establishment views a total Pakistani collapse as a strategic nightmare."

"A collapsed Pakistan replaces a single, identifiable antagonist with a fractured landscape of decentralized threats" (refugees, nukes, warlords and terrorist organizations), (which is not desirable to the alleged mainstream Indian strategic thinkers.)

I am also told:

"While India prefers a weak and distracted Pakistan, its calculation for Bangladesh is the exact opposite. Because of geography, economics, and migration, an unstable or imploding Bangladesh is viewed by New Delhi as an immediate, visceral threat to India’s own internal security and economic ambitions."

"The Indian establishment's priority is no longer about keeping a specific "pro-India" regime in power at all costs, but rather ensuring that the current government retains strong executive control, prevents the rise of radical Islamist factions, protects religious minorities, and keeps the country economically stable. (This pragmatic shift was evident when Prime Minister Modi quickly dialed Dhaka to congratulate Rahman on his victory, signaling that India values stable continuity above historical political preferences)."

"India wants Bangladesh anchored tightly into India’s economic orbit to counter China."

"Bangladesh is the literal bridge for India’s "Act East" policy."

Pakistan consumed by its own crises; but stable Bangladesh firmly within India's economic orbit -- interesting and debatable.

drnayar wrote: 11 Jun 2026 07:46 https://nenews.in/neighbours/us-backs-b ... nal/53568/

Following a meeting between Prime Minister Tarique Rahman and Foreign Minister Fidan at the Prime Minister’s Office in Tejgaon on June 6, Bangladesh and Turkey agreed to establish a joint committee at the defence and foreign ministerial levels.

Turkey is interested in expanding defence-industrial cooperation with Bangladesh through the establishment of manufacturing facilities for military equipment, particularly drones, tanks, and various electronic defence systems.

While creating some anxiety in India's strategic circles, I am told:

"The fact that the United States is backing this initiative is quietly welcomed by sections of the Indian establishment for one major reason: it checks China.

Historically, the Bangladeshi military has been heavily dependent on Chinese hardware—from Ming-class submarines and fighter jets to tanks and anti-ship missiles.

By facilitating Turkey’s defense-industrial footprint and directly supplying systems like the Blackjack UAS, the US is successfully throwing a wrench into Beijing’s defense monopoly in Dhaka. Because India’s greatest regional fear is a Chinese strategic chokepoint on its eastern flank, Washington stepping in to anchor Bangladesh’s defense modernization into a Western/NATO supply chain directly serves India’s broader geopolitical goals."

Ideally neither China nor the US would be in Bangladesh; but getting to the post-WW2, pre-Trump US-Canada type relationship of India-Bangladesh is not in the cards.

Vayutuvan wrote: 14 Jun 2026 23:25
Rudradev wrote: 13 Jun 2026 22:41

Why not try reading the wealth of information, references, and insights available all around you on this very forum. Bharat Rakshak has been a repository of Pakistan-related observation and analysis, in a security context, for nearly 30 years now. (1)
Personally, I consider it a waste of time to answer such questions, (2) but maybe there are souls more generous than myself who could help out.
(1) Thank you for making my point for me. We have been waiting for 30 years for Paistan to implode. It is like Waiting for Godot.
You seemingly assume that the only purpose of an Indian policy enacted with respect to Pakistan is to make Pakistan "implode"-- not sure what that means, but I assume state collapse or fragmentation.

On the other hand, my assertion was that backing secessionist groups like TTP and BLA affects Pakistan by imposing
pressure on enemy resources and degradation of their society
So it's obvious you have shifted the goalposts-- probably because it's the only way your point could be "made".

What I said remains true without qualification. Some examples:

BLA destroys a railway line --> Pressure on enemy resources
TTP attacks a TSPA base, killing personnel and blowing up equipment --> Pressure on enemy resources
TSPA/TSPAF units redeploy to the Durand line to coerce Taliban against supporting the TTP --> Pressure on enemy resources
Heavy-handed retaliatory measures by Paki security forces against ethnic and political groups within Pakistan add to social turmoil, civic insecurity, and declining social trust --> Degradation of society
Involvement of secessionist groups in organized criminal activity --> Degradation of society (plus more opportunities to place Indian intelligence assets)

In sum, every instance of expended resources and greater social decohesion within Pakistan --> degrades what they have available to use against India, and opens up additional avenues for retaliation by India against whatever they try.

And that's what I propose should be done w.r.t. BD as well. Simple no?

Regarding this "implosion" bit, a few questions to ask oneself:

1) Is India actually prepared to deal with the implosion (state collapse/fragmentation) of Pakistan? What will GOI actually do about the crores of imbecile Islamist population who will try to cross over into India after a total collapse of governance and economy?

Many here like to imagine a neat slicing of the cake where KP, Baluchistan, Sind etc. become sovereign states under successor governments whom India can easily manage-- but how warranted is this hope, in reality? Has GOI even been able to ensure friendly governments in all Indian states, let alone neighbouring states like Nepal and SL, that it could hope to ensure this in a heavily Islamized Pakistan's successor states? All this considered, is "implosion" of Pakistan even a desirable end goal, or are there other benefits to be gained by running proxy secessionist groups against enemy countries indefinitely?

2) In 1971, the Mukti Bahini were actually deployed in such a way as to precipitate an "implosion" of sorts-- secession of BD from Pakistan. What are the lessons from that? What are the implications of these lessons for using proxy secessionist groups to (a) actually trigger state collapse vs. (b) continuously pressure enemy resources and degrade social cohesion but not actually achieve state collapse?

(2) Your prerogative ofc. You seem to have made up your mind that this is the best way to destroy pakis and BDs.
"The best way" is your strawman, not my assertion. But I do think it is an effective tool. And you haven't been able to argue why it is not.
It is a matter of geography. We cannot push arms into Paistan rebel groups that easily.
Seriously? There are plenty of avenues to get weapons to Pakistani rebel groups. Just one example, pay the Taliban to supply arms from the massive tranches that the US left in Afghanistan. In fact, how do you think TTP and BLA get at least some of their weapons now?
Then there is the question of the US support for the scum.
Which again is mitigated by sponsorship of secessionist groups. Draining resources means that at least part of the US support gets eaten up. On the other hand, attempting "implosion" of Pakistan (as the desired end state of a finite game) will always be thwarted by ongoing US support, which is another reason not to prioritize it.
Anyway, arguing with you is a waste of my time, too. That said, be prepared to be challenged when you propose something impractical.

It is only "impractical", if at all, to meet the goal that you assume should be the end state (implosion of Pakistan/BD). With regard to the goals that I specified, the "practicality" is self-evident: BLA/TTP are already achieving them in Pakistan. That is what I propose should be replicated in BD as well.

It would be productive to focus on challenging yourself to read more.

Rudradev wrote: 15 Jun 2026 22:27 That is what I propose should be replicated in BD as well.
It would be productive to focus on challenging yourself to read more.
OK. I will take it under advisement. Last from me.

links not given because the source is a beedi newspaper

just look at the scale and size of the migration market and the criminal gangs that benefit in the process

Bound for Italy, trapped in Libya

How fortune seekers from Bangladesh get smuggled while crossing to the Central Mediterranean’s most dangerous migration corridor

Zulker Naeen
16 Jun 2026,

For three years, Rydwan, 28, from Comilla, did everything by the book. Visa applications for Serbia, Romania, Slovenia, and Belarus -- each rejected. Work permits that never arrived. Consultancy fees swallowed by middlemen.

He had watched neighbours return from Saudi Arabia and Malaysia with enough money to build new floors onto old homes. He wanted the same. The legal route, he eventually concluded, was a door that did not open for people like him.

“For three years, I tried reaching Europe the legal way through Serbia, Romania, Slovenia, and Belarus, but nothing worked. Then I took the risk of going illegally. People from my village had gone, so I wanted to go too.”

A second fortune seeker, Ishmam, 31, from Narayanganj, started differently. He had migrated to Dubai for construction work, only to find that the promised salary was fiction.

Indebted and disillusioned, he was approached by a facilitator offering an opportunity in Libya. He agreed -- not knowing the route would take him through Syria before depositing him into a Libyan detention facility where guards and traffickers operated as partners.

“They took me from Dubai to Syria, then Syria to Libya. On the boat, they beat people with pipes. I went to attempt the crossing and got caught at sea.”

Both returned home with debts exceeding Tk 1 million, roughly $8075, without reaching Italy.

What they paid to access is what is defined as migrant smuggling: The procurement, for financial or material benefit, of a person’s illegal entry into a state of which they are not a national.

On the Bangladesh-Libya-Italy corridor, that commercial arrangement rarely stays commercial for long.

One in three

In the first four months of 2026, Frontex, the European Border and Coast Guard Agency, recorded 8,489 irregular crossings on the Central Mediterranean Route. Bangladeshi nationals accounted for 2,510 of them -- nearly one in three.

Bangladesh has no Mediterranean coastline with Libya or Italy, yet it confirms that at least 92,427 Bangladeshis entered Europe through this route between 2009 and 2024, making them the most frequent nationality on the world’s deadliest migration corridor.

The trend line is not a gentle slope. Around 9,009 Bangladeshis arrived in Italy in 2017 via the Central Mediterranean, making them the second-largest nationality on the route by mid-year.

The arrivals from 2020 upsurges sharply: 4,141, then 7,838, then 15,228 in 2022 -- representing 14% of all Mediterranean arrivals that year. Approximately 20,000 Bangladeshis crossed in 2025. This sea route alone has carried 105,719 Bangladeshi crossings since 2009.

At least 10,000 Bangladeshi nationals have been returned from Libya with IOM assistance since 2017. Repatriation flights brought back groups of 110, 143, 157, and 309 returnees between July 2023 and December 2025. What makes the repatriation data analytically troubling is its relationship to arrival data. Both trends are equally upward.

Why irregular? A legal channel that fails most aspirants

Approximately 15,197 nationals receivedcountry clearance from the Bureau of Manpower, Employment and Training (BMET) for legal migration to Italy between October 2023 and June 2026, with 1,253 cleared for Greece.

In the same period, an estimated 34,000 to 40,000 Bangladeshis crossed the Mediterranean irregularly. The ratio is stark: Legal pathways served roughly one in three Italy-bound aspirants. The other two turned to smugglers -- not by preference, but after official doors closed.

The government sets a fixed ceiling for legal migration costs. For example, the maximum cost for a work visa to Italy is currently capped by official regulation.

However, many reports confirm that actual expenses for legal migration are often two to three times higher than government ceilings, with the average cost generally exceeding $3,500. Even so, legal routes remain far less expensive than irregular migration to Italy.

Nearly 54% of migrants heading to Italy through official channels paid more than $4000. Through the irregular corridor, the total costs run three to four times higher. Irregular migration is not a cheap shortcut. It is the most expensive, most dangerous option available -- chosen only after cheaper doors have been slammed shut.

The route as a machine

The corridor is not a single criminal enterprise. It is a modular logistics chain with distinct segments managed by different actors. Brokers in Bangladesh handle recruitment, documentation, and fee collection.

Transit facilitators in the UAE, Egypt, Kuwait, Turkey, India, and Sri Lanka coordinate group movement and manage handovers. Libyan operators -- airport sponsors, armed group representatives, drivers, and coastal smugglers -- control movement inside the country and access to the sea.

The most common route follows Bangladesh-Dubai-Egypt-Libya. Migrants fly commercially from Dhaka to Dubai on tourist visas. Dubai functions as a financial clearinghouse: Payments are confirmed, groups consolidated, and the next segment’s operator notified.

When scrutiny at Dhaka airport tightens, the network activates a bypass through India and Sri Lanka, where migrants wait in guesthouses while Libyan entry documentation is processed. The system does not break under enforcement pressure. It reroutes.

Numerous migrants report being told they were bound for Kuwait or Malaysia, only to discover -- when their passports were confiscated mid-transit in Dubai or Cairo -- that Libya was always the destination.

Gold in the game house

Inside Libya, the commercial logic of smuggling mutates into something coercive.

Facilitators describe Bangladeshi migrants as “gold” -- the most reliable source of payment, because a family in Bangladesh stands behind every migrant and will respond to ransom calls.

A standard package costs $10,000- $14,000 for the full Bangladesh-to-Italy journey. That contracted price is a floor. Inside Libya, fabricated charges accumulate at every new stage -- security fees, food costs, coastal clearance payments -- until actual expenditure reaches $15,000 to $17,000.

The $5,000 to $7,000 gap is quantified coercion, extracted against the threat of abandonment. Migrants inside Libya are sold by brokers as tradable assets.

In one reported instance, seven Bangladeshis were collectively sold for $17,000; the new handler demanded $12,000 per person for release.

A market worth $160 to 190 million -- and growing

With approximately 14,000 Bangladeshis arriving in Italy via Libya in 2024, and a package price of $10,000 to 14,000, the contracted revenue for successful journeys alone reaches $140-196 million.

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) market modelling estimates the realistic annual figure at $160 to $190 million. Add the Libya-based extortion premium -- $5,000 to $7,000 per migrant beyond the contracted price -- and the total revenue extracted from Bangladeshi migration aspirants in 2024 likely exceeded $220 million.

If the current growth rate of illegal migration seeking continues -- from approximately 14,000 arrivals in 2024 to an estimated 20,000 in 2025 -- and if per-person costs remain between $10,000 and $17,000, the smuggling economy could reach $200 to $340 million in gross revenue.

Even accounting for interceptions, failed attempts, and returnees, a conservative projection suggests the market could exceed $250 million annually by 2026, cementing its position as one of the world’s largest irregular migration corridors.

A network that adapts, diversifies, and does not stop.

The smuggling network behind this irregular migration does not collapse under pressure. It adapts -- because it is not a single organisation but a decentralised market that connects Bangladesh’s migration-dependent economy.

It has been documented that the brokers who organize legal Gulf migration and the facilitators who feed the irregular corridor use the same documentation networks, credit channels, and recruitment pools. The formal and informal systems are not parallel. They are the same tree.

The network is also shifting its destination hubs. Greece is emerging as a secondary target alongside Italy. The machinery is the same. The destinations are multiplying.

Until Bangladesh’s legal migration infrastructure can absorb the aspirants it currently turns away -- the two in three Italy-bound migrants rejected by official channels -- smugglers will keep making the offer that the state cannot: A pathway, at any cost, to the European labour market that a generation of Bangladeshis has decided is worth dying for.

BANGLADESH SHOWN IT'S AUKAT?

Zahed Ur Rahman, adviser to Bangladesh PM, was STOPPED by Bharatiya IMMIGRATION authorities at New Delhi for verification after his name was flagged on SECURITY-RELATED WATCHLIST.

His entry was eventually cleared after 2.5 hrs.

He was so rattled that he refused to proceed with his visit (to attend an Indian Ocean Rim Association/IORA senior officials meeting), citing the "unpleasant," "disrespectful," or "humiliating" treatment. He requested his passport back and chose to return via Colombo as no direct flight to Bangladesh was available.

The incidence has one more angle. Kanglus are trying to flex some muscle before renewal of The Ganges Water Sharing Treaty due for renewal in December 2026.

The treaty governs the sharing of Ganges (Ganga) River waters at the Farakka Barrage in West Bengal, Bharat, during the dry season (January 1 to May 31). Water is shared in 10-day periods based on availability, with guaranteed minimum flows in alternate periods.

Both countries have begun formal discussions and technical meetings (e.g., Joint Rivers Commission and expert committees) for renewal.

Bangladesh often criticises the current formula as insufficient during lean periods and seeks stronger guarantees, while Bharat emphasises updated scientific assessments.

Basically, after suspension of Indus Water Treaty, it's now Bangladesh's turn to learn hard lesson that when it comes to Trustworthiness, Kanglus are at same level of Bhikharis.

Bharat has stopped making charity & renewal will be on Bharat's terms.

Anyway, an advisor to PM being on Security Check-list, speaks volumes on State Sponsored Terr0ri$m in Kangladesh & Kanglus are given indirect message that Any State which supports Terr0ri$m against Bharat will meet same fate as Bhikhari Pakistan

This is the view from a bangladeshi journo of repute

Midnight Delhi Conspiracy Revealed!

On the night of June 14, a drama unfolded at the Delhi airport surrounding Dr. Zahed ur Rahman, advisor to Bangladesh Prime Minister Tarique Rahman. After that, Dhaka summoned the Indian Deputy High Commissioner. But I am revealing what no one knows.

Dr. Zahed, an advisor with the rank of State Minister, went to India with a regular passport instead of using a diplomatic passport. He did not even obtain a visa before going to India. Why? Because, the staunch anti-India Zahedur actually wanted to cause such an incident to further worsen Bangladesh's relations with India.

It is also known that for years, Dr. Zahed has been spreading terrible propaganda against India on his YouTube channel. He is also carrying out similar activities on Facebook.

Dr. Zahedur is known to have deep ties with Pakistan. He has always been involved in trying to portray India as an enemy state of Bangladesh and a "shameless nation".

Anti-India groups in Bangladesh are spreading propaganda stating Dr. Zahedur was insulted in Delhi by the immigration authorities. They are also calling for the severance of diplomatic relations with India.

I suspect that Dr. Zahedur staged a drama in Delhi to divert everyone's attention from the ongoing plot to demolish the statues of Lord Shiva, Lord Krishna, and Lord Ram, as well as to stop the work on the huge Sanatan Complex in Gaibandha district.

Any country in the world can put a person on a no-fly list if it considers that person a threat to its national security.

Like her father (susu), she too has developed the habit of spreading false narratives.

Doesn't she know, Zahedur Rahman did not seek any visa prior to his departure and even didn't use his diplomatic passport?

By the way, she was amongst the top propagandists of Muhammad Youanus.

US Deep State pawns: How do they look?

#Bangladesh:
1. They emerged as protesters seeking end of discrimination in government jobs
2. They called themselves 'Razakar' due to a remark of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina
3. One key leader of the movement was wearing the jersey of Bangladesh cricket team
4. They received massive support from the Western media
5. They received funds through cryptocurrency
6. At one stage snipers (comprising some former military men as well as shooters from #Pakistan) entered the show and dramatically intensified the situation
7. Members of Jamaat-e-Islami, Bangladesh Nationalist Party, Islamist forces and madrassa students participated in the movement by concealing their identity
8. Protesters were provided 'Yaba' that turned them violent, desperate and crazy
9. TV talks shows and YouTube channels extended indirect and direct support to the protesters
10. #american and Western diplomats frequently met the anti-government protest groups
11. Minors were killed by snipers to generate huge public anger by branding such acts to be perpetrated by law enforcement agencies.

Do the cockroach gangs in #India and Pakistan look similar?

Please remember, these aren't funny acts or demands for jobs.

They clearly are regime change plots.

Unless intelligence and law enforcement agencies don't handle these foreign mercenaries with an iron hand, it can destabilise the country at any time.

Before they turn into monsters - just crush them!

ricky_v

Post by ricky_v »

A_Gupta wrote: 15 Jun 2026 00:44
"While India prefers a weak and distracted Pakistan, its calculation for Bangladesh is the exact opposite. Because of geography, economics, and migration, an unstable or imploding Bangladesh is viewed by New Delhi as an immediate, visceral threat to India’s own internal security and economic ambitions."

"The Indian establishment's priority is no longer about keeping a specific "pro-India" regime in power at all costs, but rather ensuring that the current government retains strong executive control, prevents the rise of radical Islamist factions, protects religious minorities, and keeps the country economically stable. (This pragmatic shift was evident when Prime Minister Modi quickly dialed Dhaka to congratulate Rahman on his victory, signaling that India values stable continuity above historical political preferences)."

"India wants Bangladesh anchored tightly into India’s economic orbit to counter China."

"Bangladesh is the literal bridge for India’s "Act East" policy."

Pakistan consumed by its own crises; but stable Bangladesh firmly within India's economic orbit -- interesting and debatable.
Its a curious question: does economic power, close integration with markets and an economic intercoupling between nations lead to mature and respectful relations? The answer, imo, depends on which region this question is being posed: in the euro lands, where every country was a sort of a near peer, the answer is yes, in the subcontinental lands, where there is only 1 and the others orbital powers with no hopes of matching a peer status ever, the answer is, as we have ample evidence for, is no.

We have kept the bds stuck to our economic bosoms all these years; our successive governments had the policy of Bd first while the local manufacturers were told to roleplay as traders during the eic times and export raw material to the Bd and import finished goods. There were further relaxations to the bds, favourable trading through indian ports, and what did this lead to? The bds first stated that their nation had become more advanced than backwards indians, then the assumption that india was surviving off monies stolen from the bd people, then they started acting all hoity-toity, and then came the phase when all bds, not the totem leaders, but all sections started asserting that the ne of india was required for bd lebensraum.

I do not think i have missed any bit on the timeline and i have not even considered the fact of their formation which could only be eventuated by us. So the question again stands, will the economic integration a second-time work better than the first? will this make the bds cease being raging cu*ts? No, an economic integration without respect can never work, it did not work then and it will not work now try as one might.

The goi is i believe on the right path re: this situation, there has been opening of several textile parks throughout india
sidebar:

https://indiatlas.com/textile-parks-in-india/
The PM MITRA scheme, inspired by the Prime Minister’s 5F vision, aims to build a complete textile ecosystem from Farm to Fiber to Factory to Fashion to Foreign.

This model aims to make India self-reliant and become a global leader in the textile market.

These textile parks will feature large-scale, modern facilities that encompass the entire value chain of the textile industry.
Each mega textile park will span over 1,000 acres to accommodate multiple textile companies and supporting infrastructure.
Each hub is projected to attract investments of approximately Rs 10,000 crore.
These mega textile parks in India will generate 1 lakh direct jobs and 2 lakh indirect jobs, boosting regional employment opportunities.
PM MITRA parks are categorized into Greenfield and Brownfield sites depending on the designated land and infrastructure.
Greenfield sites will receive an initial capital support of 30% from the Central Government with a cap of 500 crore.
After a thorough assessment, the Brownfield site’s maximum capital support from the Central Government for development will be 200 crores.
The State and Central Governments will jointly own a special purpose vehicle that will develop these parks under a public-private partnership model.
The path forward is clear, no more backing off and no more cutting off our limbs to feed an insatiable cannibal, in this situation the bds can do whatever they want to, the gravy train is at an end. To be perfectly honest, I believe all subcontinent countries know that their economic model is anti-india posturing, they may try to eke out an honest living, but this is where the real free money lies. Either that or reintegration, and bd is just fattening itself to make a juicy deal for a us base in the bay of bengal, it is inevitable.

Being in India’s economic orbit does not mean subsidizing BD or giving it concessions.

To give you an example: it makes economic and logistics sense for India to get LNG from Qatar instead of the US, but during this Iran situation India started importing LNG from the US. This is an artificial pull of India into the US economic orbit. In the same way it is artificial for Bangladesh to buy onions from Pakistan. Bangladesh thus is naturally within the India’s economic orbit. It is politics like that of Yunus that creates the artificial situation.