Climate Change: Propaganda Vs Reality

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Climate Change: Propaganda Vs Reality

As a follow-up to my May 15th, 2026 post, this had been on one my tabs to be posted to BRF.

I started following links the Wikipedia page on the General Circulation Model and tried to get to what data the IPCC had on HadCM3 experiments. One would think this data is free for all and had been archived. I sure did find a link to "The UPCC Data Distribution Centre" but had no luck accessing the data.

The IPCC Data Distribution Centre
Access to the HadCM3 (HCCPR) experiments

https://web.archive.org/web/20040918190 ... pruns.html
This is the HadCM3 (HCCPR) experiment page. From here you can take the choice between the experiments listed below. Afterwards you have to decide which variables you need and which data format you prefer. Finally, you will be guided to the files themselves. Up to now, these experiments are available
 a Control Run
 HC3CI
 (constant CO2)
 a Greenhouse Gas Integration
 HC3GG ,
historical and IS95a, with specification of CO2 and various minor gases individually
 an all-anthophogenic forcing Integration
 HC3AA ,
greenhouse gas, plus the direct and first indirect effect of sulphate aerosols, and ozone changes

Data from these experiments have already been widely distributed by the Climate Impacts LINK Project.
When I go to the first link, and try to download the first GZIP/GRIB file, I get
Not Found
Sorry!The page requested was not found.
:-?

IPCC led by sexual harasser Pachauri, and the "inventor of the Internet" Al Gore who was jetting from one climate conference to another all over the world shared a Nobel. :roll:

I tried the Greenhouse data sets. Those pages are also 404 only. Is IPCC hoarding the data? Are they not being funded now? Where is the data? Did it ever exist in the first place? Now I am getting bad juju.

There are other data sets, HadCRUT for ex.

https://x.com/i/status/2061323707826741500

GLOBAL CLIMATE INTELLIGENCE GROUP
World Climate Declaration 15 April 2026

https://WWW.CLINTEL.ORG

https://clintel.org/wp-content/uploads/ ... 260415.pdf
There is no climate emergency

Climate science should be less political, while climate policies should be more scientific. Scientists
should openly address uncertainties and exaggerations in their predictions of global warming,
while politicians should dispassionately count the real costs as well as the imagined benefits of
their policy measures

Natural as well as anthropogenic factors cause warming

The geological archive reveals that Earth’s climate has varied as long as the planet has existed,
with natural cold and warm phases. The Little Ice Age ended as recently as 1850. Therefore, it is
no surprise that we now are experiencing a period of warming.

Warming is far slower than predicted

The world has warmed significantly less than predicted by IPCC on the basis of modeled anthropogenic forcing. The gap between the real world and the modeled world tells us that we are far
from understanding climate change.

Climate policy relies on inadequate models

Climate models have many shortcomings and are not remotely plausible as policy tools. They do
not only exaggerate the effect of greenhouse gases, they also ignore the fact that enriching the
atmosphere with CO2 is beneficial.
- CO2 is plant food, the basis of all life on Earth
- CO2 is not a pollutant. It is essential to all life on Earth. More CO2 is favorable for nature, greening our planet.
Additional - - CO2 in the air has promoted growth in global plant biomass. It is also
profitable for agriculture, increasing the yields of crops worldwide.

Global warming has not increased natural disasters

There is no statistical evidence that global warming is intensifying hurricanes, floods, droughts
and suchlike natural disasters, or making them more frequent. However, there is ample evidence
that CO2-mitigation measures are as damaging as they are costly.

Climate policy must respect scientific and economic realities

There is no climate emergency. Therefore, there is no cause for panic and alarm. We strongly
oppose the harmful and unrealistic net-zero CO2 policy proposed for 2050. Go for adaptation
instead of mitigation; adaptation works whatever the causes are.

OUR ADVICE TO THE WORLD LEADERS IS THAT SCIENCE SHOULD STRIVE FOR A SIGNIFICANTLY
BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF THE CLIMATE SYSTEM, WHILE POLITICS SHOULD FOCUS ON
MINIMIZING POTENTIAL CLIMATE DAMAGE BY PRIORITIZING ADAPTATION STRATEGIES BASED
ON PROVEN AND AFFORDABLE TECHNOLOGIES.

The undersigned:

WCD AMBASSADORS

NOBEL LAUREATE PROFESSOR JOHN F. CLAUSER / USA
PROFESSOR GUUS BERKHOUT / THE NETHERLANDS
DR. CORNELIS LE PAIR / THE NETHERLANDS
PROFESSOR REYNALD DU BERGER / FRENCH SPEAKING CANADA
BARRY BRILL / NEW ZEALAND
DR. PATRICK MOORE / ENGLISH SPEAKING CANADA
JENS MORTON HANSEN / DENMARK
PROFESSOR LÁSZIÓ SZARKA / HUNGARY
PROFESSOR SEOK SOON PARK / SOUTH KOREA
PROFESSOR JAN-ERIK SOLHEIM / NORWAY
DR. G.-FIVOS SARGENTIS / GREECE
FERDINAND MEEUS / DUTCH SPEAKING BELGIUM
PROFESSOR RICHARD LINDZEN / USA
HENRI A. MASSON / FRENCH SPEAKING BELGIUM
PROFESSOR INGEMAR NORDIN / SWEDEN
JIM O’BRIEN / REPUBLIC OF IRELAND
PROFESSOR IAN PLIMER / AUSTRALIA
DOUGLAS POLLOCK / CHILE
DR. BLANCA PARGA LANDA / SPAIN
DR. PETER STALLINGA / PORTUGAL
PROFESSOR ALBERTO PRESTININZI / ITALY
PROFESSOR BENOÎT RITTAUD / FRANCE
DR. THIAGO MAIA / BRAZIL
PROFESSOR FRITZ VAHRENHOLT / GERMANY
THE VISCOUNT MONCKTON OF BRENCHLEY / UNITED KINGDOM
DUŠAN BIŽIC´ / CROATIA, BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA, SERBIA AND MONTE NEGRO
(Ed: Names, credentials, and their affiliations of 2062 signatories follow)

I have no idea what to make of the above. I checked some of the names of the signatories, their credentials, areas of research, and their professional experience. They are definitely qualified and also have long careers in Climate Change and adjacent areas of STEM.

Cyrano wrote: 02 Jun 2026 10:03 There are other data sets, HadCRUT for ex.

https://x.com/i/status/2061323707826741500
That is interesting. I am still looking for an answer as to why IPCC has stopped distributing those data sets. Is it due to lack of funding to maintain the data sets, or is it more a case of a lack of academic integrity?

It is hard to believe they don't have funds. It doesn't take much to keep the distribution of those datasets going.

They don't want decades of data manipulation to be exposed. That's all.

Vayutuvan wrote: 03 Jun 2026 06:25
There is no climate emergency

Natural as well as anthropogenic factors cause warming

Warming is far slower than predicted

Climate policy relies on inadequate models

Global warming has not increased natural disasters

Climate policy must respect scientific and economic realities
It seems the scientific community is moving toward agreement on the first three points, while there is still healthy debate around the other three. This change in tone around the "climate emergency" seems to mirror some past "emergencies," such as the population bomb and the hunger bomb emergencies tat were popular in the past decades.

Really interesting times.

But this is what the Wikipedia page on John Clauser says. Name-calling has already started even before the "healthy debate" has ended.
Climate change denial

In May 2023, Clauser joined the board of the CO2 Coalition, a climate change denial organization.[11] Later that year, Clauser called himself a "climate denier" and claimed "there is no climate crisis".[12] Clauser's views on climate change have been described as "pseudoscience".[12] His belief that cloud cover has more of an impact on Earth's temperature than carbon dioxide emissions is contradicted by the overwhelming scientific consensus on climate change.[12][13][14][15]
Source [12] through [15] are below:
12. Joselow, Maxine (November 16, 2023). "He won a Nobel Prize. Then he started denying climate change". The Washington Post. ISSN 0190-8286. Archived from the original on November 18, 2023. Retrieved November 17, 2023.

13. Oreskes, Naomi (December 3, 2004). "The Scientific Consensus on Climate Change". Science. 306 (5702): 1686. doi:10.1126/science.1103618.

14. Graham, Steve (March 1, 1999). "Clouds & Radiation". NASA Earth Observatory. Archived from the original on November 19, 2023. Retrieved November 19, 2023.

15. "John F. Clauser: the latest climate science-denying physicist". Skeptical Science. September 4, 2023.
Take a look at the wording in [12] and [15].

Cyrano wrote: 01 Jun 2026 13:27 This is the flaw that made me question the whole narrative years ago and turned me into a climate change sceptic. Garbage data in and catastrophic models out.

https://x.com/i/status/2061135911732015247

If you just read the excerpt in the tweet, here's the article:
https://dailysceptic.org/2026/05/31/ser ... -net-zero/

That such an article or any collection o them can turn someone into a climate skeptic merely makes me doubt human intelligence.

Gemini:

In rural areas of Kent, the morning temperature rise on May 26, 2026 behaved quite differently from London’s concrete jungle, demonstrating an even steeper and more dramatic explosion of heat.\

Because rural fields and woodlands lack the concrete mass to trap heat overnight, rural Kent started the morning with a much cooler baseline. However, its dry, sun-baked soils acted like an oven once the sun rose. Unhindered by urban smog or cloud cover, temperatures in the Kentish countryside skyrocketed by an astonishing 2.5°C to 3.2°C per hour during the morning.

Hourly Morning Progression in Rural Kent (°C)The morning surge across a cross-section of rural and semi-rural Kent monitoring stations showed an intense acceleration of heat:

Weather Station06:00 (Sunrise)07:0008:0009:0010:0011:0012:00 (Noon)Avg. Morning Rise RatePeak 
MaxFrittenden (Weald of Kent)15.1°C18.2°C21.5°C24.8°C27.9°C30.8°C32.7°C+2.9°C / hour33.9°C
East Malling (Agricultural/Orchards)16.0°C18.9°C22.0°C25.1°C28.3°C31.0°C32.9°C+2.8°C / hour34.1°C
Wye (North Downs Valley)14.5°C17.7°C21.0°C24.2°C27.4°C30.3°C32.2°C+3.0°C / hour33.4°C
Langdon Bay (Clifftop near Dover)17.2°C19.0°C21.1°C23.3°C25.2°C26.8°C27.5°C+1.7°C / hour

I think I have ample evidence for the following theorem: Human intelligence is virtually absent in social media and most news-media stories. Where intelligence is present it is dismissed as bias (reality has a scientific bias).

Corollary I'm working on: Democracy works only because it is the only effective way, however imperfect, to impose some accountability on those in power. Democracy does not work because voters are intelligent or well-informed. The social media and most news-media stories compound the problem.

Gupta Ji,
Blame our education system, but any regular and good quality media apply the principles of rhetoric. The moment you apply rhetoric it is biased to reflect the authors view. Social media is noise in many cases but 3 out of 5 posts come without any rhetoric.

Unfortunately most scientific papers (including highly regarded, peer-reviewed scholarly journals) provide good data, but also employ rhetoric. Now there could be honest motive behind such papers, but it does motivate the reading audience to not put full trust on it.

I will give the example of microplastic Island in the ocean. Most people think it is a visible island of garbage, based on regular media publication that always put a visual of a lot of garbage in a water body.

I agree democracy works to an extent, but even those democratic representatives need to employ rhetoric to get their view across. IMO we need to follow the financial or ideological motive behind the rhetoric. In most cases financial motive is best litmus test to judge the truth.

A_Gupta wrote: 05 Jun 2026 18:18
Cyrano wrote: 01 Jun 2026 13:27 This is the flaw that made me question the whole narrative years ago and turned me into a climate change sceptic. Garbage data in and catastrophic models out.

https://x.com/i/status/2061135911732015247

If you just read the excerpt in the tweet, here's the article:
https://dailysceptic.org/2026/05/31/ser ... -net-zero/

That such an article or any collection o them can turn someone into a climate skeptic merely makes me doubt human intelligence.
The amount of crap people are ready to swallow to feel righteous about themselves while letting go of critical thinking makes me doubt human survival.

Human intelligence is over rated in the world and who is keeping track of what is right or wrong in thinking. If you need to understand how gyanam is obtained please peruse in your leisure.

The amount of crap people are ready to swallow to feel righteous about themselves while letting go of critical thinking makes me doubt human survival.
You are deducing "feeling righteous about themselves" without any evidence; which is unfortunate but seems typical for "sceptics".

This following is a waste of time for me, because whatever I say will "go in through one ear and come out of the other", and we will have this same situation a month from now. Still, let me try - I will point out a couple of red flags in the cited article, and how to think about them without feeling self-righteous.
Last year, the Met Office claimed an all-time UK high May 1st temperature at Kew of 29.3°C. Analysis by citizen scientist Dr Eric Huxter showed the temperature was almost 2°C above that recorded in the hour before – well above what might be expected from such temperature rises seen during the day, with movements commonly around the plus or minus 0.2°C to 0.4°C mark.
If the above is correct, then the temperature swing between 6 AM and 12 noon - 6 hours - is 1.2°C to 2.4°C. Does this square with your personal experience?

Today, in the suburban type area where I live, the 6 AM temperature was 21°C and the noon temperature (now) is 32°C.
This is a typical day. The temperature swing is 11°C over 6 hours.

The media writer is innumerate and so are most of its audience. They don't catch what I pointed out, but doing that multiplication is automatic to (the possibly self-righteous) me. Note: Innumeracy is relevant to the point below.
The main culprit in producing these heat spikes is the switch from liquid-in-bulb thermometers to PRT automatic electronic measuring devices during the last 30 years. These provide a more accurate reading every minute, but it is plain that they are picking up every passing heat spike – often unnatural – that were missed by slower-moving liquid in a glass bulb.
Liquid-in-bulb thermometers did not have minute-by-minute monitoring of temperature. The min-max temperature measurement of temperature in a day was measured by something called "Six's thermometer", invented around 1780 or thereabouts. A temperature spike would be indeed be recorded incorrectly by the old liquid-in-bulb thermometers. Today''s temperatures are continuously monitored and recorded digitally, and likely smoothed over a minute by minute average.

Second, the media talks about the peak temperature, precisely because most writers and their audience are innumerate; the complexity of anything beyond a single headline number is beyond most of them. (Yes, I am being snobbish here -- not self-righteous -- but it comes from long experience in both public and corporate settings about the very limited tolerance complexity that most audiences have.)

Here, if it is important to you, I suggest search for isotherm maps over Great Britain for May 26, 2026, the day in question, and digest the elevated temperatures over southern England. The argument around one peak temperature measurement is misguided; but it is what happens outside of scientific circles because that is the level of public discourse that is possible.

Any how, once you spot a red flag or two, there are ample resources for you to look further. In a previous post, I posted the results of asking for hard data from weather stations in rural Kent -- which is in southern England, which won't have the urban heat-island effects and so on, addressing all of the objections in the cited article. Because rural Kent does not have the urban heat-island effect, it actually started the day cooler than London, and so the temperature rise per hour was even steeper than in London.

Also look up "heat dome".

I am very aware that I cannot convince you or any other climate skeptic. You made an assertion based on a lousy article, so I too made assertions based on that post. If you interpret it as feeling righteous, well, that is your prerogative.

"Skeptics often picture digital sensors as hyper-reactive, instantly flashing a new number the millisecond the air fluctuates. In reality, official meteorological Platinum Resistance Thermometers (PRTs) have a distinct physical mass and are housed inside heavy protective sheaths.

According to World Meteorological Organization (WMO) standards and studies on sensor response times:

A standard 4mm PRT sensor has a 63% response time of roughly 35 to 70 seconds depending on the wind speed inside the Stevenson screen. It takes about 3 times that long (3 to 3.5 minutes) for the physical sensor to fully register 95% of a sudden temperature shift."

"Because the physical thermometer itself takes a few minutes to "catch up" to the air around it, it inherently acts as a physical smoother. A completely artificial flash of heat cannot warm the physical mass of the sensor long enough to distort the 1-minute average."

Paris Agreement, India’s Nationally Determined Contribution, April 2026 (PDF file)

https://unfccc.int/sites/default/files/ ... 031-35.pdf