India - Nuclear News and Discussion

One official said the Americans had come up with questions about India’s March 2006 separation plan -- identifying military and civilian nuclear facilities -- while considering New Delhi's latest proposal for a dedicated reprocessing unit under safeguards.
They will absolutely insist on FBR-related sites being open to inspection or failing that, not allow them to be plugged into the energy grid—ie., if they are military, let them be military and have nothing whatsoever to do with civilian energy, now or ever. So they may appear to cave in on reprocessing under the weight of Cheney-Rice but will ask for this in return. That is back to square one for India—absolutely not workable.

Either that, or critical strategic compulsions (aka reality) are finally playing out in the endgame with the WH telling the SD and NP faltus to get real or get lost. When it comes down to it, WH can tell a closed-door Congress how it is going to be for the national interest. Critical strategic compulsions for the US are to NOT have an antagonized India at this time and for the foreseeable future.

Under the guise of US-India Nuke Deal talks I wonder how many other topics were discussed under the radar. Lots of bonhomie and goodwill was reported which means the contentious issues from testing/reprocessing (this could have been ugly and depressing with Indians insisting their way) were not the only ones discussed. Wonder what else besides the deal. I am guessing this could include more joint US-Indo exercises, alliances like the US-Japan-Aussie-India joint patrol of malacca straits and beyond, other unnamed strategic alliances against China, intelligence exchange on the Pukes, more shoring up of Afghanistan, more deals like nuke reactors, defence related equipment & crafts.. what else.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

it is not that easy to expose this sell-out to the masses and make them focus on this issue. There are a 100 different ways in which the MMS clique could spin matters and brainwash the public into not gelling against them on this issue. Moreover, this anti-national clique has the backing of the media. This is a very bitter pill for any self respecting nationalist to swallow. At all junctures, fate has pushed our nation down a path of strategic inferiority when it could have attained substaintial strategic strength just by following a different path. Traitors have historically been the curse of our nation, which is still unable to mentally get out of 1000 years of slavery. That a japan-like fate is what we are entering is most unfortunate. That the traitors responsible for this will not meet their comeuppance is equally unfortunate. It is better to be like mao's china than japan, though the latter is not a very pleasant state of affairs either.

ShyamSP wrote:A few years prior to the last elections, good amount of propaganda was unleashed with the aim of bringing down BJP and putting Congress in the government. Underlying goals of that effort and money spent are slowly surfacing. They succeeded in Pakistan in other ways and they may well succeed in India as well for at least C and R part (E part may be avoided as insurance for Chinaman) with this 123 with Hyde Act.
Groan!! Another conspiracy theorist!! Don't we have enough already???

PAGE ONE

U.S.-India Talks
On Nuclear Pact
Enter Endgame
Congress Likely to Balk
At New Delhi's Terms;
Businesses Want a Deal

By NEIL KING JR.
July 14, 2007; Page A1

President Bush has known for months that he would have to pay a price to solidify his long-touted partnership with India. He is about to find out how much.

After months of trying to resolve deep divisions, the nations are set to make a final push next week to seal a pact opening the door to deeper political, military and commercial ties between the U.S. and India, a nation with more than a billion people and a rapidly growing economy. At its heart lies a controversial proposal to provide New Delhi with nuclear fuel and technology, which critics say could undermine international efforts to stop the spread of nuclear weapons.

Negotiations have dragged on, often acrimoniously, since it was announced on the South Lawn of the White House two years ago. National Security Adviser Stephen Hadley is scheduled to meet next week at the White House with his Indian counterpart, N.K. Narayanan, in what Indian diplomats said could be several days of tough negotiations. Leading the U.S. talks will be Undersecretary of State Nicholas Burns, the U.S. point man for the nuclear deal.

The question is whether the administration can hammer out a compromise on nuclear cooperation that doesn't undercut existing U.S. law or give India leeway to develop a new batch of atomic weapons on top of the ones it already has. India is demanding several painful concessions, U.S. officials and experts said, that are almost certain to anger key leaders in Congress from both parties.

Hanging in the balance in the nuclear-and-technology proposal are tens of billions of dollars in potential energy, aircraft and other deals, U.S. business executives said. India is looking to build dozens of new electricity plants and to drastically increase its military hardware over the next five years.

India's energy minister has been traveling the U.S. talking up $50 billion worth of energy deals India plans to award over this period, and another $200 billion of deals down the road. U.S. aircraft makers are lining up to vie for a 126-plane fighter-aircraft deal that could be worth up to $10 billion over the next several years.

India is also floating a potential $30 billion of nuclear-reactor sales over the next 20 years, piquing the attention of companies such as General Electric Co. and Westinghouse Electric Co.

"This deal is very very important to both countries," says Bill Begert, vice-president at Pratt & Whitney, a unit of United Technologies Co., which hopes to supply engines for the fighter-jet deal. "If this falls apart, it will have real near-term consequences for everyone in the defense industry."

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce, as well as companies such as GE and Boeing Co., said they are ready to launch a big lobbying campaign to persuade Congress to bless the final deal, as soon as any compromise is nailed down. "All the right tom-toms are beating for a successful conclusion to this deal, which will be huge for U.S. companies," said Ron Somers, head of the U.S.-India Business Council within the U.S. Chamber.

The campaign could face stiff opposition from a number of lawmakers, including the Democratic and Republican leaders of the House Foreign Affairs Committee, who have raised an alarm over India's military and economic ties to Iran. New Delhi is cooperating with Tehran on a proposed natural-gas pipeline from Iran across Pakistan to India. But India has also supported efforts to keep Tehran from developing a nuclear weapon.

Pakistan, a longtime Indian rival with nuclear arms of its own, presents another foreign-policy wrinkle. The neighbors nearly went to war as recently as 2002, and any advances in India's nuclear capabilities could further unsettle the government of President Gen. Pervez Musharraf, currently beset by countrywide protests after he cracked down on the judiciary and ordered the siege of a fundamentalist, activist mosque in Islamabad.

Pakistan also has sought similar consideration from Washington, but was rebuffed because it has secretly provided nuclear technology to other nations.

Many U.S. lawmakers also have vowed to oppose any deal that loosens restrictions on how India can use U.S.-provided nuclear fuel.

The stakes are high for Mr. Bush's embattled foreign policy. Aides often cite the thawing of relations with India as a key accomplishment of his presidency at a time of deep frustration in the Middle East and rising tensions with powers such as Russia and China. The nuclear deal, they say, is key to cementing a partnership between the world's oldest democracy, the U.S., and its largest, India, after decades of chilliness.

For years, India was close to the Soviet Union and a leader of the anti-U.S. nonaligned movement. Until recently it was also openly hostile to outside investors.
[Balance of Power box]

The U.S. also hopes to nurture India as a bulwark against China's growing military and economic power in Asia. While U.S.-Indian political ties have lagged, bilateral economic and trade relations have grown rapidly in recent years -- albeit, not as fast as U.S.-China trade ties. India's huge infrastructure and procurement needs have been especially tantalizing to American companies. U.S. exports to India rose 25% last year, to $10 billion, from the previous year, while imports from India were up 16% to $21.8 billion.

Mr. Bush's efforts to support India's nuclear program have stirred huge controversy since he announced the proposed deal with Indian Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in 2005.

India has never signed the global pact for controlling the spread of nuclear technologies, the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty. New Delhi stunned the international community in 1998 when it conducted three underground nuclear tests in the deserts of Rajasthan state. The U.S. responded swiftly with economic sanctions.

Critics said that by embracing India's nuclear program, the U.S. is weakening international efforts to deter countries such as Iran from becoming nuclear states. The White House argued that India is an exception, as a democracy and as a country with no record of selling nuclear materials abroad.

In December, a wary Congress finally passed legislation that ratified nuclear cooperation with India. The Hyde Act, as it is called, imposed numerous restrictions on how India could utilize U.S. nuclear supplies. India has expressed particular distaste for provisions that seek to punish it if it conducts any future nuclear tests. If India does test, the Act requires Washington to demand that New Delhi return all nuclear material or equipment provided by U.S. suppliers.

India also wants to scrap language that prohibits it from reprocessing any fuel provided for power plants, which might then make it suitable for use in weapons. And India opposes a requirement that the U.S. president annually certify that it is complying with the rules; New Delhi says that provision would lead to constant meddling in its nuclear program.

Indian diplomats declined to discuss specifics of what they will push for next week, but said this round of talks could prove critical. "We don't want to prejudge the results, but we have been making steady progress," said Rahul Chhabra, a spokesman for India in Washington. "We look forward to sealing this at the earliest possible date."

A senior U.S. official involved in the talks said he is optimistic a deal would be completed -- "if not next week, then soon." He also said the U.S. would make no concessions that would run counter to the Hyde Act. "We will honor every aspect of the Hyde Act."

Other U.S. diplomats working on India put the chances for passage at not much better than 50-50. They said the process has increasingly been held hostage to political crosswinds in Congress and the Indian parliament. A collapse of the talks, said one U.S. official working on India affairs, "would seriously undercut our hopes for the relationship."

The fact that the talks are now being handled at the highest political levels, though, suggests to some that tough concessions may be coming.

"It's pretty clear that the whole point of India taking this to the White House is to try to get the president to bend the existing law," said George Perkovich, an expert on India's nuclear program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. "There is an element of desperation to all this."

Some skeptics argue that the benefits of providing nuclear technology are overblown, since diplomatic relations have already have improved markedly and India's economy is steadily opening.

"All of the advantages of this agreement are already under way. They are already happening," said Henry Sokolski, head of the Nonproliferation Policy Education Center, a Washington-based policy organization.

Write to Neil King Jr. at [email protected]
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

ramdas wrote:So the sell-out is confirmed....That such such a sell-out was happenning was obvious when the deal did not die immediately after the Hyde act. Now it is getting confirmed that MMS is accepting the deal in line with the Hyde act - in other words, capping rolling back and eliminating our deterrent and surrenderring our energy sovereignity for all time to come. What a hard core anti-national element he must be ? At least the likes of naxals are openly anti-national. People like MMS are far more dangerous.
Dude I'm getting Restless, What can be done to stop this Sell out? This has to stop by hook or by crook, why isnt the opposition taking the streets against this deal?

:( :(

Vivek K wrote:
ShyamSP wrote:A few years prior to the last elections, good amount of propaganda was unleashed with the aim of bringing down BJP and putting Congress in the government. Underlying goals of that effort and money spent are slowly surfacing. They succeeded in Pakistan in other ways and they may well succeed in India as well for at least C and R part (E part may be avoided as insurance for Chinaman) with this 123 with Hyde Act.
Groan!! Another conspiracy theorist!! Don't we have enough already???
Dont bring fake words like conspiracy. People are not blind, The same people who spent money in getting the UPA elected are in the forefront of the nuclear negotiation. This is very apparent if you look at the crowd and talk to few people.
The India groups for disarmament, groups supporting the congress and leftist groups supporting the Indian govt for the last 60 years are the same. Have people gone blind.

joey wrote:
ramdas wrote:So the sell-out is confirmed....That such such a sell-out was happenning was obvious when the deal did not die immediately after the Hyde act. Now it is getting confirmed that MMS is accepting the deal in line with the Hyde act - in other words, capping rolling back and eliminating our deterrent and surrenderring our energy sovereignity for all time to come. What a hard core anti-national element he must be ? At least the likes of naxals are openly anti-national. People like MMS are far more dangerous.
Dude I'm getting Restless, What can be done to stop this Sell out? This has to stop by hook or by crook, why isnt the opposition taking the streets against this deal?

I got to admit, my palms have gone all sweaty. Weakening of Indias democratic setup or not, Yaswant or whoever has to make it clear that they will re-evaluate this deal and if needed kick it into the can when their time comes. That in itself, in this manipulated world, would make their coming to power that much harder. But let the dice be rolled.

The same sinking feeling I got watching India sinking against BD in the WC.

Had everything going for it and then hara-kiri.

History repeats. Now as farce.

Its m-theory!~. make hay while sun shine con-graze .. time and again, we are highlighting that all topics are not for every one. aam junta should be devoid by selecting a commission by a team of elected and nominated individuals that look after the deal. Read Gopalakrishnan article.

No govt is worth or qualified..that hopes to do it without the real gorilla in the center. The only way to get out of this deal is to pull this govt down. whatever it takes..

First, break the left joining the licking services, and thank them and checkmate them with the dragon games.

Call for an early election.. ..but, what if dorkilini is reelected and this time becomes PM? How many are willing to join the hate brigade to prevent this?
How many aam junta has brains enough to keep national security in mind?

pradeepe wrote:
joey wrote: Dude I'm getting Restless, What can be done to stop this Sell out? This has to stop by hook or by crook, why isnt the opposition taking the streets against this deal?

I got to admit, my palms have gone all sweaty. Weakening of Indias democratic setup or not, Yaswant or whoever has to make it clear that they will re-evaluate this deal and if needed kick it into the can when their time comes. That in itself, in this manipulated world, would make their coming to power that much harder. But let the dice be rolled.
Use your vote. Voting power is very important. Spread the message and change people to vote. That is the best way to remove your frustration.
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

^^ Saik thats correct aam junta HAS NO CLUE ABOUT NATIONAL SECURITY. I have HUGE doubts if NDA will ever win election.

There have to be a opposition of this bill from opposition. This is getting ridiculous, what can we do? please write letters to Kalam, please file a PIL in supreme court, Alok_N should file the PIL.

Something GOT TO BE DONE. We just CANNOT sit and watch this downfall.

Acharya, voting is long term issue, Indian public are illiterate lot, you cannoty ask them to vote for NDA citing national security, they are like roman mob in Julius Caesar, they need emotional things to build their vote on!!! Above all the deal is being made to seal it before vote so something has to be done before that.

[quote="joey] Alok_N should file the PIL.

ROFL..Oh man..this will make him come back..he should see how much folks love him here. :)

Anyone can file PIL..and there is one already. Do you think you believe upholders of law (beware..Rahul will be here shortly) to be more effective than political parties pulling each others undies? If the latter is not effective..what use will be former.

Street magics work wonders better than taking PIL(L) route. Like Acharya said, keep spreading the facts and national security requirements (err.. their basic security is under peril.. this govt is going to grab your land, increase price, yadi yada.. once the @khans land in and take over the electricity bill collection,, etc). in a short well formed story line for aams.

send emails.. and ask them to treat this is not scam, but its sent by God!~ you can name him after your believes.

S Vardarajan is asking the same questiosn that the Forum is asking - Whats the point of kicking the can downstream vis a vis the reprocessing issue? What if the US wont agree to reprocess the fuel later on adding to the Tarapur waste?

Maybe the next clause will be reprocess and buy back but not use inside India?

Guys why do I get the sense its the rehash of the Foundation scifi books and the nuke reactor economy?

What we need now is a combination of Salvor Hardin and Hober Mallow at the helm. What we get instead is manmaino.
ShibaPJ

Post by ShibaPJ »

Arun_S,

Thanks.. So US-defined intl supervision is nothing, but IAEA safeguards + IP stealing + reverse engineering + some more...

Folks,
I see a lot of breast-beating and doomsday prognosis going around. While I share most of the concerns w.r.t. the current ruling setup and pro-US babus, who negotiated early before HA, this shrill cy of sell-out is pre-mature and belies a defeatist attitude. We are seeing a huge amount of psy-ops from Unkil & its pet dogs in DDM, but have we seen anything from GoI/ scicom to the contrary? I would still trust the scicom, the intrinsic systemic checks & balances and am not buying the conspiracy theory of babus selling India down the river..
mandrake

Post by mandrake »

Satya_anveshi wrote:
joey wrote: Alok_N should file the PIL.
ROFL..Oh man..this will make him come back..he should see how much folks love him here. :)

Anyone can file PIL..and there is one already. Do you think you believe upholders of law (beware..Rahul will be here shortly) to be more effective than political parties pulling each others undies? If the latter is not effective..what use will be former.
I said he should make the PIL because he knows many technical aspects of it, a PIL from Supreme court seeking information on the same and later some groups can jump in can hold the deal until things are cleared (am i wrong legally?), dont you think the govt have to clear the questions raised in the PIL if it is accepted in the supreme court?

Saik, the thing is not that easy, what can you do by taking up streets when you have no people who understands jack of National Security?

I just hope whatever we are guessing here of being sell-out is wrong..
Last edited by mandrake on 21 Jul 2007 01:28, edited 1 time in total.

Why am I not optimistic? 'cause I see no mention of Hyde moving.
Unless Hyde leaves, Jekyll cant make his entrace. And Hyde hasn't moved one bit and is well on to make his stay permanent.

joey wrote:Saik, the thing is not that easy, what can you do by taking up streets when you have no people who understands jack of National Security?

I just hope whatever we are guessing here of being sell-out is wrong..
I wish too.. yes it is not easy, but think about it.. it becomes the easiest thing to do,.. see my words in parenthesis(err..).
Anand K

Post by Anand K »

Ramana,
In Foundation the underdogs win, don't they? :) While the Empire was showcasing huge, impressive, solid looking plants and shield generators the geeky librarians from the end of the empire appear with walnut size contraptions that does the job better.
Given our long years slogging out in the civie side of nukes..... and the lustful look of Unkil and Co., I feel the Empire (read Anglophones) wants to make sure us "test taking" librarians don't give them another of those nasty surprises. A surprise where it really counts. Kgoan and SS have made this point a dozens of times..... If we are in CONTROL of our energy supply, what can they do to keep us in check? I mean, to really, really really tie us down?

Moreover, I too think the wailing is a bit premature. No one has died and made the lifafas or the Jagath Seths in charge of National Security. Our apparatus is perhaps the most xenophobic and guarded when it comes to, errrr National Security. The "override" (security/soverginity over prosperity) has kicked in a number of times 62-65, 67, 69, 71-74, 95-98.... despite overwhelming odds. If anyone thinks the caprices of a few street-smart politicians and desi Benedict Arnolds can swing the deal with the INC top echelons (let alone the National Security apparatus).... they are wrong methinks.

So pleej hold the hair-tearin' till there's something in black and white where MMS troupe sings
"Day is neveh endin',
Massa Keeps me workin';
Someday Massa set me freeeeeeee"

Till then, everything doom-gloom said here is pretty much conjecture. Remember that something very much like this had happened 40 years ago. We got a bit mauled due to those decisions, but we got away IN ONE PIECE nonetheless.....

JMTC

I wish Joey and Saik would take a chil-PIL :D
UPrabhu

Post by UPrabhu »

Any deal should hold broad consensus in Indian polity. Right now for babus and MMS, the opposition is mere obstruction. This was seen in MMS (babu with good star alignment) reluctance to give a statement in parliament.
sanjchopra

Post by sanjchopra »

India, US seal nuclear agreement

WASHINGTON: The United States and India have reached an accord on implementing the civilian nuclear agreement, it was announced here.

A brief joint statement issued at the end of four days of intense negotiations said the matter would now be referred to the respective governments for "for final review." Details of the accord were not spelt out.

"Both the United States and India look forward to the completion of these remaining steps and to the conclusion of this historic Initiative," the joint statement said.

It was not clear if the "remaining steps" referred to any residual issues in the so-called 123 Agreement or to the further steps the two sides have to take beyond that - a referral to the Congress for a final up-and-down vote in the U.S, and for India, signing an additional protocol with the IAEA.

"The discussions were constructive and positive, and both Under Secretary Burns and Foreign Secretary Menon
are pleased with the substantial progress made on the outstanding issues in the 123 agreement. We will now refer the issue to our governments for final review," the statement said.
UPrabhu

Post by UPrabhu »

Any deal should hold broad consensus in Indian polity. Right now for babus and MMS, the opposition is mere obstruction. This was seen in MMS (babu with good star alignment) reluctance to give a statement in parliament.

This deal should be made open to discussion in the parliament.

the blue pill symbolizes doing day-day work, brushing teeth.. that you can find hoards govt employees behave. the red pill is what with which you gamble.. take to stocks, succeed.

your choice vivek.

Sai, you're going to take them, so let me not choose! :)

If this nuke deal is a sell-out, then there is no one to blame, but ourselves. In the last general elections, about 50% of the voters in urban areas voted. The margin by which the UPA entered in to power was small. If the educated and upper-middle class voted for the NDA, it would be different today.

Then we'd all be yelling about how the NDA sold out India!

India, US seal nuclear agreement
21 Jul, 2007 l 0130 hrs ISTlChidanand Rajghatta/TNN
Print
Save
EMail
Write to Editor

WASHINGTON: The United States and India have reached an accord on implementing the civilian nuclear agreement, it was announced here.

A brief joint statement issued at the end of four days of intense negotiations said the matter would now be referred to the respective governments for "for final review." Details of the accord were not spelt out.

"Both the United States and India look forward to the completion of these remaining steps and to the conclusion of this historic Initiative," the joint statement said.

It was not clear if the "remaining steps" referred to any residual issues in the so-called 123 Agreement or to the further steps the two sides have to take beyond that - a referral to the Congress for a final up-and-down vote in the U.S, and for India, signing an additional protocol with the IAEA.

"The discussions were constructive and positive, and both Under Secretary Burns and Foreign Secretary Menon
are pleased with the substantial progress made on the outstanding issues in the 123 agreement. We will now refer the issue to our governments for final review," the statement said.
TOI

I want a reciprocal from MMS team on this :-
http://www.hindu.com/thehindu/holnus/00 ... 210301.htm "Sure, we will. And just like any other diplomatic negotiation, when an agreement is concluded, that will be a public document. It will have full review, I'm sure, by appropriate committees and members of Congress...and other interested members of the public," he said.
do they have balls to match? now?

On nuclear testing, there cannot be any "give" from the US side, and the 123 agreement will probably say that the US reserves the right to stop cooperation if India tests another nuclear weapon. However, the US president does have a waiver authority on this and the judgment will be made on the "merits" — that is, in the prevailing international security context at the time.
Answer on my own question on testing penalties. This is a BIG Question mark on happens next. Looks like we are effectively neutered.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Safe ... 222149.cms

U.S.-India Joint Press Statement

Actual statement from Department of State
Press Statement
Tom Casey, Deputy Spokesman
Washington, DC
July 20, 2007

U.S.-India Joint Press Statement

Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs R. Nicholas Burns and Foreign Secretary Shivshankar Menon held four days of meetings in Washington July 17-20, 2007, on the U.S.-India Civil Nuclear Cooperation Initiative, including talks on the bilateral agreement for peaceful nuclear cooperation, also known as the 123 agreement.

In addition, National Security Advisor M.K. Narayanan and Foreign Secretary Menon met with Vice President Cheney, Secretary Rice, Secretary Gates, and with the U.S. National Security Advisor Stephen J. Hadley.

The discussions were constructive and positive, and both Under Secretary Burns and Foreign Secretary Menon are pleased with the substantial progress made on the outstanding issues in the 123 agreement. We will now refer the issue to our governments for final review.

hmmm, looks like it's done.

added later...

WSJ sings a different tune..
U.S.-India Talks End Without
Nuclear-Cooperation Agreement

By NEIL KING JR.
July 20, 2007 5:45 p.m.

WASHINGTON -- The U.S. and India ended four days of marathon talks on forging a nuclear-cooperation agreement, but without making a clear breakthrough.

In a joint statement, the two countries said the talks were "constructive and positive" and that the two top negotiators, U.S. Undersecretary of State Nicholas Burns and Indian Foreign Secretary Shiv Shankar Menon, were "pleased with the substantial progress made on the outstanding issues."

U.S. officials said chances were good that the two sides could overcome remaining differences and come to agreement within the next two months. Any deal would have to be approved by Congress. The talks were expected to end Thursday but spilled over into a fourth day.

The U.S. and India have tussled for more than two years over the details of an agreement, which would allow U.S. companies to sell nuclear fuel and technology to India for the first time in three decades, with the potential for tens of billions of dollars in government-procurement contracts.

Both sides have described the accord as the centerpiece of a new alliance between the U.S. and India.

Officials from the two countries had warned at the start of the talks that a lack of progress this week could derail the agreement altogether.

The Indian delegation, which included the country's national security adviser M.K. Narayanan, met this week with Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Defense Secretary Robert Gates, and Vice President Dick Cheney.

India came into the talks opposing several restrictions put forward by the U.S., including a Congress-mandated requirement that the U.S. halt all nuclear cooperation if India tests a nuclear weapon. India also wants unrestricted rights to reprocess spent nuclear fuel, but the U.S. has balked at this.

Officials from both sides declined to discuss the details of what progress had been made, or what differences remained.

U.S. businesses have promised to launch a vigorous lobbying campaign to assure that Congress signs off on any final deal. Critics on Capitol Hill and within the arms-control community said they are leery of any agreement that gives India special rights to reprocess nuclear fuel outside of any normal international safeguards.
Last edited by sunilUpa on 21 Jul 2007 04:00, edited 1 time in total.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

So indeed the sell-out is complete. Regarding AnandK 's assertion that any sell-out would be inacceptable to the congress establishment and security has always overridden prosperity, that was true of the congress establishment uptill Narasimha Rao's time. What about the Maino establishment ? The congress has been hijacked by a clique hell-bent on enslaving and neutering the country. This is what we are witnessing here. For the first time "economic prosperity" that too for a minute elite is overriding strategic security. Will we be able to come out in one piece ? The Maino-MMS clique will certainly try its level best to ensure otherwise - systemic "checks" notwithstanding. The current political situation has also been manipulated to favor such cliques. You may soon see our giving up our deterrent and people getting brainwashed into "nukes are evil ... we are peaceful gandhians onlee"... What a shame.....

National Security Advisor M.K. Narayanan and Foreign Secretary Menon met with Vice President Cheney, Secretary Rice, Secretary Gates, and with the U.S. National Security Advisor Stephen J. Hadley
Clearly, must have chatted about other things besides Nuclear stuff with Secretary Gates.

I am not clear on what happens to the reprocessed fuel - can it be used in FBRs? And, if it can how intrusive would that part be?
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

it is not just lifafas in charge of the establishment now. Foriegners like SG aka A.Maino and their lapdogs like MMS are.....

ramdas wrote:it is not just lifafas in charge of the establishment now. Foriegners like SG aka A.Maino and their lapdogs like MMS are.....
True, India has dealt with a lot of corrupt governments in the past. For the first time we have an anti-national government at the helm of affairs. It has to be seen how our beuracracy and other wings of government will be able to cope up with the establishment.

We still need to see the fine print of the agreement.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

but an anti-national govt like this one can , if it lasts for 10 years , pack the bureaucracy with their ilk.... This is a grave point of time indeed.
ramdas

Post by ramdas »

how can people be made to understand that even though the political forces opposed to the current anti-national clique may be corrupt, may at times be crude and so on... they are not anti-nationals , and that alone is reason enough to vote for them over these anti-nationals ?

ramdas wrote:but an anti-national govt like this one can , if it lasts for 10 years , pack the bureaucracy with their ilk.... This is a grave point of time indeed.
It sucks but 10 years of current setup is almost a reality based on the current situation and trends. We have serious lack of visionary leadership.

Getting back to the topic, every news paper is writing it's own way. Except for TOI no one is yet saying the deal is done. Many of them are writing it as "substantial progress"

Indo-US N-deal referred to governments for review
India and the US on Friday night reported 'substantial progress' in official level talks over the nuclear deal and decided to refer the issue to respective governments for 'final review'.

In a joint statement issued after four days of intense negotiations, the two sides said they look forward to the completion of the 'remaining steps and to the conclusion of the historic initiative'