India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Prabu

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Post by Prabu »

Gerard wrote:
If India tests in future, the US can take back the fuel, plant, machinery and spare parts without India’s permission.”
India gave permission for the US to take back the Tarapur spent fuel. It remains in India.

Did we get any legal compensation so far ?

vishwakarmaa wrote:
Gerard wrote: India gave permission for the US to take back the Tarapur spent fuel. It remains in India.
So you assume they will repeat that?
WRT to the US, what options are there?
vishwakarmaa

Post by vishwakarmaa »

vishwakarmaa wrote: So you assume they will repeat that?
WRT to the US, what options are there?
In Indian Gokhle Act(Hyde's equivalent),

- Make it mandatory for any foreign company to make a security deposit of $1 Billion in an Indian Bank, as guarantee to their commitment towards uninterrupted operations of nuclear power source.(They can be issued interests on that amount after concerned reactor completes its 1-year of actual operations.)
This is no big deal for a business leading to $20 Billion/decade revenue to that company, from Indian consumers. It is beneficial for both - Indians banks and that company earning interests. If she denies it, tell her - "No Access to any power project in India." Europeans and Russian will agree to this after some pulling and Mallika-ying. If american companies has problem, its their problem.

- This guarantee money will not be returned to that company, if she moves out or interrupts or delays reactor operations due to any reasons(including bankruptcy or an event in source country).

- There will be review of company's power throughput from all its power projects. If the total throughput falls below certain number, agreed in the project agreement, then they will instantly loose a part of guarantee money, extracted as a fine for non-compliance.

- Ask the company to ensure in written that they are not involved in any power project in countries of India's concern. Make this condition as part of yearly review under Indian laws.

There are 100 more.

Idea is to blast out the effects of Hyde act, by imposing its equivalent on american companies.

Keep the russians and french companies under a milder but crustal-clear version of this law.

Now, americans will say - "This is a discrimination. You have one law for Russians,French. And another for us."

Answer them like this - "No my dear "trusted" friend. You have Hyde for us. So, we have Gokhle for you. Russians and French have no hyde for us. So, we have no gokhle for them." Now, Amerika can't go back and tell the Russians and French to stop doing business with Indians, just because american companies are not ready to agree to Indian laws, like Indian companies follow american laws when doing business in america.

So, do you wanna bet with me if GoI has .... to implement this?

Options are always there only if GoI has enough ....

I do not think we are on the same page.

I was under the impression that the nuclear waste (which is what Gerard seemed to be referring to) was meant for reprocessing and using the resulting product in Indian reactors. IF reproc techs are not given then the issue of what to do with the "waste" arises. Currently there are no infrastructure to take care of it, in or outside India.

A "Gokhle Act" will not really take care of the problem. WRT the Hyde Act, IF India were to turn over FBR techs, and Indian reproc techs (read current NPA talk, which is what they want), the US will provide latest and greatest (from their PoV, AK does not even subscribe to that) reproc techs.
vishwakarmaa

Post by vishwakarmaa »

editing out-of-context reply.
Last edited by vishwakarmaa on 03 Aug 2008 20:42, edited 2 times in total.

I do not see where "So you assume they will repeat that?" fits into all this.

Anyway, let is slide.
vishwakarmaa

Post by vishwakarmaa »

Ok, I missed the context.

IF reproc techs are not given then the issue of what to do with the "waste" arises
The Russian VVERs are being sold with the rights to reprocess the spent fuel. Russia doesn't want spent fuel back and it is happy to let India keep it.

Australia, Canada etc are quite unlikely to want spent fuel back and India will not want the stuff to pile up. Uranium fuel from these countries will end up in the reprocessing facility that India has promised to build.

Even under the current NSG embargo, there are exceptions for safety. Russia has used this to supply LEU fuel for the Tarapur BWRs. The fear that spare parts etc will dry up is IMHO unfounded.

I don't understand the hue and cry about permanent safeguards on the civil power reactors. That the NWS have voluntary agreements and can withdraw a facility is clear. But why would India want to withdraw a reactor from safeguards even if domestic Uranium is fueling it? Any contribution it could make to the military stockpile would be minimal. For efficient electricity production you want high burnup. To convert the reactor for military production (low burnup) would mean sacrificing its electrical energy production. And for what? Nothing restrains India from building additional military Pu production reactors that would be far more efficient than thermal power reactors in producing weapons grade Pu.

Is the hue and cry about status? That India is not acclaimed as a NWS under the NPT? The IAEA BOG was never able to do this. The NSG cannot do this. The US President cannot do this. The UN Security Council cannot do this.

As Kakodar notes, India is a state with nuclear weapons. Period. It needs no outside validation.

V,

No problem.
The Russian VVERs are being sold with the rights to reprocess the spent fuel. Russia doesn't want spent fuel back and it is happy to let India keep it.
I suspect this entire reactor, fuel and reproc cycle is under IAEA. So, out of curiosity, whose reproc tech/s is under use here? Or does it even matter?

The fuel will go into an Indian reprocessing plant that will then be placed under campaign safeguards (for the duration of the time the safeguarded Russian origin spent fuel is present).

The PUREX process (main reprocessing technology worldwide) is used by India.

> Areva plans big play in India's nuclear power sector

They just sat by when India asked them for nuke cooperation claiming the NPT prevented them from doing so.

If this nuke 'deal' gets through, India should give its business to US companies like Westinghouse which cleared the way and did the 'heavy lifting'. In a manner of speaking, the French did not add a single stone for building the house but now want the business.

If Uncle is the one who decides to call off the deal in future if at all, then it better be uncle's money/interests involved so that we have more leverage. Or else Uncle and Aunties in Oirope will bring in the pressure jointly.

Sanatanan wrote:
1) Can a "jugad" (= fixture, robotic, if you will) be designed and used in such a way that the assembly of the parts is made in (or at near) vacuum? This way, even manual handling (using gloves to prevent contamination from the human hands affecting the assembled parts) may not be required. More importantly, if the material happens to have any traces of radioactivity, then, even that situation could probably be overcome.

2) There is an effect called "wringing" between two highly polished surfaces; this is commonly used in metrology labs to put together several precision machined slabs so as to make up a single block - usually for accurate measurement of height of a component. (Also please see here.) Will there be unacceptable quantity of air, in the case of the assembly under discussion, even if the mating parts are made to wring together?

Sanatan garu>> Yes I had worked as tool room engineer for a bania company where innovation under severe material , equipment shortage, was norm and yet were expected to produce world class equipment, tools jigs fixtures for injection mold dies, press tools die punch sets. The only good machines in the shop were, one dekel die sinking machine, one Dekel EDM machine, one Skoda universal jig boring machine with GDR made optical attachment (Jena make IIRC) for co ordinates,
Praga Tools Gambin (French collabration) universal milling machine, One Jones Shipman surface Grinder ( British design made by Praga tools), rest all Russian junk like Leningrad Lathes , Baltiboi Shaping machines etc etc.

Yes we made our own height gauges, made of extremely high polished matal surfaces to accurately measure the heights of punch, die combos. All these machines were maned by casual labor who could not read blue prints or drawings, but ah the engineer was there to work like Donkey for (RS 1500 per month, gass was at that time Rs 1.65 ps and Vespa was Rs.5400
and Amby was Rs 19000.00)

Guess the name of company Shri Ram refrigiration and Usha Fans owned by Lalaji Chartram and Bharat ram of DCM, Now owned by Tecumseh US

HYDERABAD: Tecumseh India, a 100 per cent subsidiary of Tecumseh Products Company (TPC), US, commissioned state-of-the-art rotary compressor manufacturing facility at its Balanagar plant in Hyderabad on Monday.

Tecumseh is a leading supplier of compressors to LG, Voltas, Hitachi and Bluestar in India, and to Gree and Midea of China, Alessa of Saudi Arabia and Vestel of Turkey.

Speaking to mediapersons, Vipin Sondhi, MD of Tecumseh Products India

Sanatanan wrote:
Arun_S wrote:
Any engineer in the trade of shockwave driven compression will never go for inherently poor design of assembling a spherical body by intentionally introducing metal-air discontinuity at the worst possible place by making slices (I.e. poor design choice is use of any angle different from direction of the radial compression. ANY density discontinuity in plutonium sphere has to be minimized at great cost. The obvious and direct method is thus to partition pit segments where every cut is a diameter cut of the sphere, that passes through center of the sphere).
Since what won't work for air, most likely won't work for Araldite (as has been, I think, proposed in jest in a subsequent post in this thread) either, I ask the following questions out of genuine curiosity:

1) Can a "jugad" (= fixture, robotic, if you will) be designed and used in such a way that the assembly of the parts is made in (or at near) vacuum? This way, even manual handling (using gloves to prevent contamination from the human hands affecting the assembled parts) may not be required. More importantly, if the material happens to have any traces of radioactivity, then, even that situation could probably be overcome.
For good reason I carefully chose the word "ANY density discontinuity in plutonium sphere". Does vaccum remove density discontinuity?

Any surprise that jugaad fabrication, based on jugaad sandwich design, only worked like a jugaad ! :rotfl:
Reminds me of couple of rustic village ideom:
  • Kahin Ki Eiet, Kahin Ka Rodaa |
    Bhanumati Ka Kubdaa Jodaa ||
  • Shaukinee Buddhiyaa, Chataee Ka Lahangha || { Rough translation: A fashion driven albiet old and poor women , stitches a skirt out of gunny-bag fabric}
Have you ever been to a car dealership with that sells Maruiti, Toyota, Fiat and a Jugaad?
Or taken a Jugaad out of garage to take family out for dinner on a rainy day?
What does our family deserve for a biting cold rainy day? Why do we treat our motherland India so differently?

India gets what it deserves. To get something better one has to first recondition the dhimmified brain, throw away old dhimmi oil and think and act like free people deserving a position better than begging, and think of hustling with unfair advantage.

Rudd makes right move in supporting New Delhi deal
Foreign Minister Stephen Smith has also indicated that Australia will support the deal at the Nuclear Suppliers Group, which meets on August 21 and 22. If the NSG is able to ratify the deal in one meeting, it could get approval by the US Congress, and final ratification by the Indian parliament, before November.
Vivek Sreenivasan

Post by Vivek Sreenivasan »

We need this deal for if for no other reason than electricity generation. Even now some of our nuclear plants are running at low efficiency because of a lack of uranium. With this deal we can start to source our uranium from Australia which will immediately alleviate our shortage. I am not talking about 10-20 year time frame, i am talking immediately, anyone have any idea how many MWs extra can be generated by getting that uranium that we need from australia? Are we not suffering from a MASSIVE power shortage in Maharasthra and New Delhi area?

Arun_S wrote:Any surprise that jugaad fabrication, based on jugaad sandwich design, only worked like a jugaad ! :rotfl:
Sir ji.. point is the JUGAAD worked as intended , I know zilch about these things and quoting half truths from www might not help my case , but if end results are to go by and even the article which you are reffering to ;the POK-I did achieve 8kT which was pretty much around the design yield (8-10kT).

And I am sure if start digging up the www and put the tests conducted by other nations to same sort of scrutinby as ours we will always find some scare mongers quoting a discrepancy between the designed and actual yields of the tests in question .

My point is if we all accept the US/RU govt's stated facts about their weapons yields why not be consistent and treat the GOI's/BARC's official report on our tests with same faith .

Now we have to even see this on BRF. Ridicule of the down to earth jugaad nature of the generation which carried us from penury to what we are today. Bravo :evil:

Politics have firmly taken over BRF.

Gerard wrote:
What FMCT? The US has submitted one version to the conference on disarmament. It has not yet been accepted. Suppose India submits its own FMCT draft that includes verification and a 10 year grace period after signing?
The effect will be the same as India going and setting up the NAM. Entirely useless. The FMCT is being setup to secure the power base of the NWS, just as the NPT, CTBT and NSG were. BTW: India is not even needed for the FMCT to take effect, as per the US draft. India has committed itself to work towards an FMCT. For, how long do we think, we can avoid the stick?

Katare wrote:In other words 123-deal would over rule hyde acts since it is the last legislative expression of congress on the matter.
Do you have anything to substantiate the above assertion?
Also he quoted from US constitution that "any treaty signed by govt of united state becomes the supreme law of the land".
Can you cite instances, especially recent ones, where the US courts have upheld a ratified treaty, especially when in conflict with its own laws?
He also quoted Vienna convention in reference to 123 deal's mention of principles of international law which reads 'a party can not invoke a domestic law to amend or abrogate an international treaty".
Can you substantiate that 123 agreements and especially the IUCNA, is subject to the Vienna convention?

Arun_S wrote:
Singha wrote:I keep reading of this "vast deposits" of thorium in some kerala beaches.

if we are serious about this line of work, isnt it time to dredge and dig out all
the material thats lying there, transport it inland to storage pens and replace
the lost beach with normal sand shipped in from elsewhere like gulf?
Yup, we need that beachhead in Gulf pronto!
It is not called the Persian Gulf for nothing. Iran. Iran. Iran. Should be the Indian Mantra.

Deleted. The articles posted are politically divisive flamebait.

Please do not start another round of politically motivated discussions here. The first post of this thread is clear on this:
shiv wrote:No politics
No whines or celebratory lungi dances
Wonleee nook noos pliss.
Last edited by Suraj on 04 Aug 2008 11:22, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Deleted to remove articles blaming 'traitorous' 'unrepresentative' government.

negi wrote:
Arun_S wrote:Any surprise that jugaad fabrication, based on jugaad sandwich design, only worked like a jugaad ! :rotfl:
Sir ji.. point is the JUGAAD worked as intended , I know zilch about these things and quoting half truths from www might not help my case , but if end results are to go by and even the article which you are reffering to ;the POK-I did achieve 8kT which was pretty much around the design yield (8-10kT).

And I am sure if start digging up the www and put the tests conducted by other nations to same sort of scrutinby as ours we will always find some scare mongers quoting a discrepancy between the designed and actual yields of the tests in question.
Negi ji, I have made my position and its basis clear in the intense discussion with Shiv et al, on PoK-1 yield in last 3 months. Am sure you can find that in the archive (if it yet exists). I have no intention of getting into a another round of showing the light. Even V.Sundar the key subject matter expert who authored the original BRM paper on Shakti yield had in those threads stated his mis-assessment of Pok-1 and the aberration it caused on his Pok-II assessment.

I will indeed be delighted if you spend time to start digging the www to find reference on "design yield" of Pok-I, because one must first be a seeker of truth, only then truth revels itself. I sincerely wish you God speed.

Of course I can't force anyone to change their assessment or position, I can only show a set of data and reasoning and suggest a path that can lead a seeker to clearing of doubt, and lead to understanding and clear knowledge.

And yes my family gave and continues to give as much to India as anyone else in high pedestal, but with clear sight and understanding of what was done right, what was wrong and what was foolish. It is no shame to admit error, it is a virtue to be able to see what went wrong, so that one can learn from it.
Prabu

Post by Prabu »

When CII can do this for one city, why NOt for all METROS in phase I ? and subsequently for all majot cities. Let us also look at distribution loss which as high as 26 %

Pune spreads power of innovation; ensures 24x7 supply

Arun sir...please check your mail.

Negi: Pls check email reply. :)

Arun_S, as they say, the road to whatever is paved with good intentions.
All I can plead is that while being resolute in one's beliefs is a noble virtue, wisdom also requires a wee li'l bit of humility to allow for possible error in ones judgement. All the more important when these character assassinations do damage of immense proportions. IMVHO.

negi wrote: I know zilch about these things
You probably know as much as anyone here. Dr Kakodar, who designed the Plutonium pit and actually helped assemble the device at Pohkran is the one who really knows his stuff. He went on to design and build the Dhruva reactor, where most of India's weapons Plutonium comes from. He probably passes Pu in his stool.

All the real bomb men do jugaad... Oppenheimer was a master

Section 8.0 The First Nuclear Weapons
The pieces had to fit together with an accuracy of one-thirty second of an inch (0.8 mm) to prevent irregularities in the shock wave. Accurate alignment of the lens surfaces was even more important than a close fit. A great deal of tissue and blotting paper and adhesive tape was also used to make everything fit snugly together with no air gaps.
I wonder how many people who have ever posted on BRF have actually seen an atomic bomb? Of those that have, it would be rather presumptuous to assume they know more about bomb pits and their design than the people who actually designed and worked intimately with the material.

Just the thought of seeing it, gives me the chill. Must be awsome.. :roll:

Katare wrote:In other words 123-deal would over rule hyde acts since it is the last legislative expression of congress on the matter.
Do you have anything to substantiate the above assertion?
Also he quoted from US constitution that "any treaty signed by govt of united state becomes the supreme law of the land".
Can you cite instances, especially recent ones, where the US courts have upheld a ratified treaty, especially when in conflict with its own laws?
He also quoted Vienna convention in reference to 123 deal's mention of principles of international law which reads 'a party can not invoke a domestic law to amend or abrogate an international treaty".
Can you substantiate that 123 agreements and especially the IUCNA, is subject to the Vienna convention?
Did you read the post before asking all these questions?

narayanan wrote:I have. It IS Awesome.
Where is the pit?

narayanan wrote:I have. It IS Awesome.
Hi Narayanan,

I concur. It is awesome. :mrgreen:

I however could not quite make out, which language it was. Request Assistance.

Prem, stay away from the pit. One can get severe radiation burns down there. :twisted:

Unrelated to nuclear issue/s, but, the Hyde Act follows to the aeronautical side:

Boeing delaying consultancy for Tejas programme

:shock: :x

NRao: U r right in relating the logic/effect behind that to the logic/effects of the Hyde Act. Both are based on the ITAR logic, and the effect is that it hurts competitiveness of US entities. The ADA comment is also apt, and hits home: that this suggests that US entities are not "serious" in defence cooperation. Translation: Look for effects in the 126-fighter deal. Having said that, what this demonstrates is that the COTUS and its maze of conflicting and tangled "laws" is shooting US business in the foot and the musharraf.

So my take is that this is excellent ammo against the Hyde Act. No argument that the basic COTUS inclination is to go and declare that everything everyone else owns belongs to US. Standard lawyerese. Obviously it is up to India to say :rotfl: to that.

In this specific case, the issue is that if India were to, say, sell the Tejas to Eyeran, some poor engineers in the US who helped the flight test program will face indictment on charges of helping Eyeran's military. The Feds will say that the agreement was only to cooperate with India and not Eyeran, so BOEING will be looking at huge penalties. So BOEING lawyers will say that the easy way out is for India to promise this and that.

This is all the US' problem, where the US guvrmand is stepping on their own little cheneys. The proper Indian response is :P which seems to be the case.

Of course same things will apply to nuclear cooperation, but the IAEA agreement already takes care of that, since it is all certified to be 400% civilian technology with no transfer to the military side, so in that sense, this has nothing to do with the nuke deal.

Now for the real battle that remains to be fought:
http://www.opinionasia.org:80/ASchoolofRedHerrings

OPINION ASIA -- GLOBAL VIEWS ON ASIA

The Indo-US Nuclear Deal: A School of Red Herrings

Sumit Ganguly | 04 Aug 2008

On August 1, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) unanimously voted in support of the US-Indian civilian nuclear agreement. Now the agreement goes before the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) on August 21 for a second approval before the final nod from the United States Senate. Already a small handful of members of the NSG, most notably, Austria, Brazil, Iraq, Japan and Switzerland have expressed some reservations about the deal because of India’s failure to accede to the long-stalled Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT).

As the agreement makes its way to the NSG, the ardent members of the nonproliferation brigade are now gearing up for a last-ditch effort to hobble it from reaching the United States Senate for final ratification. To that end they have gathered a school of red herrings that they intend to let loose in an effort to prevent the deal’s passage to its final destination.

Their arguments are tired and specious. Nevertheless, unless they are forthrightly addressed they could easily sway popular and elite opinion in a number of key countries thereby contributing to the demise of this revolutionary agreement. What exactly are the dubious claims that are trotted out with predictable regularity?

First and foremost, the critics claim that this deal rewards India despite its unwillingness to join the Nuclear Nonproliferation Treaty (NPT). This is perhaps the most tired argument amongst those that have been arrayed to undermine the deal. As the NPT was being negotiated in Geneva under the auspices of the Eighteen Nation Disarmament Committee (ENDC), India vigorously stated its objections. The India delegate, Vishnu Trivedi, forcefully argued that India would not be a party to a multilateral agreement that created a fundamentally discriminatory regime. In the end, the regime placed no constraints on the nuclear weapons states but prohibited others from acquiring nuclear weapons. Consequently, when the NPT went into force on January 1, 1970, India chose to stay outside its ambit. Since India was never a signatory to the NPT, there is no reason for it to adhere to its expectations.

Second, the critics argue that making an exception for India will weaken the NPT regime. They contend that other states which chose to enter the regime may now re-consider their choices if similar exceptions are not made for them. This argument also defies logic. These states, of their own accord, chose to accede to the NPT. If they now find the demands of the NPT regime too onerous, they can invoke “the supreme national interest” clause in the NPT and withdraw from it after a span of six months. They will then be at liberty to pursue any bilateral nuclear deal that they can negotiate.

Third, in a similar vein, it is now alleged that Iran, Pakistan and North Korea, are now demanding that they too be allowed to pursue nuclear commerce alluding to the exception that is about to be granted to India. It is hardly surprising that these states have resorted to this ploy. However, they are in no position to place themselves on an equal diplomatic and moral footing with India.

Iran has been playing a game of deception and dissimulation with the IAEA and the international community about its nuclear enrichment program. North Korea has been an egregious proliferator of both weapons designs and ballistic missiles. Pakistan, of course, was the source of the infamous A.Q. Khan network. Unlike India, both Iran and North Korea, were signatories to the NPT but chose, knowingly and willingly, to violate its terms. Consequently, they cannot expect the same treatment from the global community. Pakistan, while not an NPT member, has nevertheless been a feckless proliferator of nuclear weapons technology. In this connection, it needs to be underscored that despite offers of oil and natural gas from Iran and Libya, India, an energy-starved state, firmly rebuffed their offers to provide them with nuclear weapons technology. A less scrupulous regime would have gleefully pursued these possibilities to alleviate acute energy shortages.

Fourth, some critics contend that the Indo-US nuclear deal not only undermines the cause of nonproliferation, but is actually a ruse for bolstering India against a resurgent People’s Republic of China (PRC). This may or may not have been the goal of some members of the Bush administration. However, discussions with members of India’s diplomatic and strategic community makes clear that they have do not share this goal despite their deep misgivings about the PRC’s growing military capabilities and its future strategic intentions.

A fifth and final objection needs to be addressed. Critics with long memories are fond of dredging up an allegation that India diverted spent nuclear fuel from a Canadian supplied nuclear reactor to pursue its initial nuclear test in 1974. There may be some element of truth to this allegation. However, even if this did occur, India violated the spirit but not the letter of the Indo-Canadian nuclear agreement. In any case, because of this putative violation, the major industrial powers formed the NSG in 1975. The NSG then proceeded to place the most draconian restrictions on any form of nuclear commerce with India and also denied it various forms of dual-use technology. If India did violate the spirit of the agreement, it has paid a very high price indeed for its actions.

Far from undermining the cause of nonproliferation, this deal has the potential for bringing India into the ambit of the legal regime governing nuclear commerce. It will make the workings of 14 out of 22 of India’s nuclear reactors subject to IAEA inspections and also lead India to tighten its existing export controls. Most importantly, according to some estimates, it may enable the country to generate as much as 25 percent of the nation’s electricity by 2050.

It is time to ignore the partisan carping of the nonproliferation community which fails to recognise India’s unique credentials. It can only be hoped that the 45-nation NSG will speedily grant its imprimatur to this extraordinary agreement. Failing to do so would do little to further the cause of nonproliferation.

Sumit Ganguly is a Professor of Political Science and Director of Research of the Center on American and Global Security at Indiana University, Bloomington.

…Arun_S said
..one must first be a seeker of truth, only then truth revels itself.
……, but with clear sight and understanding of what was done right, what was wrong and what was foolish. It is no shame to admit error, it is a virtue to be able to see what went wrong, so that one can learn from it.
Glad you said that, I will take you own your word that you indeed want to seek truth.
You said some time ago, and let me quote a portion of your post (see in old thread full quotes etc)
And for 50GWe the lifetime fuel requirement is equivalent to mining 1.513 million tonnes of Natural Uranium and enriching it to medium enrichment. At current price of Uranium @ $68/Lb that is $226.5 Billion cost. Plus the enrichment cost of $77 billion (@$90/SWU). So the minimum cost of avoiding the repeat of TAPS-1 is to buy all that fuel [for 100 years] in next 6 years for a cost of $303 billion.
Please note that this was not just some idol calculation but your main point in proving AK’s paper was “full of vaporware” and “waking on water.

I asked you two questions:

1. What was the rational behind glaring errors in significant digits. (getting 4 significant digits (as in 226.5) from values which are correct to 2 or less significant figures.
I even tried to described, in layman’s term (after all I spent decades in teaching Physics) about importance of keeping the calculations meaningful by using significant digits correctly.

2. What was the rational of using 100 years in your fuel calculations and to gather all that fuel in 6 years. (Among other things, it was pointed out that, reactor technology will change, and 1.5 million tons, at the current rate is about 15 years worth of world supply)

You ignored question 2 completely and gave a non answer to Q1. Apart from a comment consisting of one “ :rotfl: ” smiley which was described by some as a tasteless joke, you never revised, or corrected the calculation following what you say is your own principle - to “see what went wrong”

Care to revise your calculations ?
Cheers.