India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Alas, P_Saggu I wish India's negotiators/babus had the depth of insight that you display in your post, as well as the burning patriotism...

This one takes the cake:
The NSG nations will breath easy that the Indian elephant was finally brought in with a noose around its neck. Arm twisting by the US will ensure that US companies make good on the business opportunities that this deal will throw up. So everyone is happy as long as India was willing to freeze its nuclear weapon programme.
The bolded portion reminds me of the "science" of Astrological prediction of the future that is being debated on another thread. I don't see how else one can "predict" the outcome with such confidence even before the NSG meeting has started. Maybe MMS's birth time and date is the culprit and sole reason for India becoming Nuke nood and tied up in Shitibiti.

:-?
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Amit,
Time will tell. I only hope it doesn't pan out like I fear it will...

p_saggu wrote:Amit,
Time will tell. I only hope it doesn't pan out like I fear it will...
Boss, I fully understand your fear - afterall this is a totally new direction for India.

And it will require skillful manoeuvring on the part of India's negotiators. It's not a done deal yet and there could still be pitfalls.

However, giving vent to pent up fears, without solid reasoning other than gut feel, can also be construed as fear mongering. I'm sure that's not your intention.

So IMO let's just stick to facts and take developments one at a time.

Right now, as I see it we've got a reasonably satisfactory outcome at IAEA. And as for the NSG, so far despite making expected noises, major potential spoilers like Japan, seem to be failing in line. More importantly AK has explicitly outlined India's red lines so that there can be no misunderstanding.

And unlike a few folks here I think he's the right person to make these statements not MEA diplomats. Remember he's the 600 lb gorrilla and well known and people sit up and notice what he says, unlike the less well known MEA negotiators/babus.

Let's just wait and see how it pans out. Nothing is permanent. Even if we do get a dodo as a deal after NSG, the next government or any other that follows can walk out. It will be years before the economic stakes become big enough to make the walk out costs unacceptably high.

Have confidence in India. We're already too big to be treated on par with North Korea or Iran. If we don't believe in ourselves, how can we expect the rest of the world to do so?

http://in.rediff.com/news/2008/aug/06inter.htm
'Clear waiver at NSG is a fantasy'

In other breaking news, Pakistan doesn't like India.

Tanaji wrote:http://in.rediff.com/news/2008/aug/06inter.htm
'Clear waiver at NSG is a fantasy'

In other breaking news, Pakistan doesn't like India.
Tanaji,

You should have given a statutory warning that it was a Kimball interview! :D

The other breaking news should win a Pulitzer Prize for investigative story of the year. :rotfl:

The gain for India is what the US was willing to offer the North Koreans - end their nuclear weapons programme in return for nuclear technology and reactors from the US.
How is the Indian programme ending? Any cooling towers blown up in Mumbai recently?

Under the deal...India has not signed the NPT... or the CTBT ... supply of reactors or fuel is not dependent on India signing either treaty. it has agreed to work towards a FMCT (in much the same manner as the NWS are also working towards total disarmament).. note MMS's speech where he mentioned 'verification' wrt the FMCT...

As long as the categorization is binary: NWS/NNWS, NPT/NNPT, CTBT/NCTBT, these arguments are bound to arise. India fits into neither of these preconditional states. In each of these cases THEY need to create a third category - for the time being, just for India. Revise ALL their bylaws, driven by India, to accommodate this third category.

The BK article, the belated crying by Pakistan, etc will continue, wasting bandwidth at best.

NWS was the goal, but MMS/Bush have done their best and left the rest for future leaders.

And now it is turn of the Racist Selfish Pseudo-Do-Gooders of the World to strike back.

India Nuclear Safeguard Vote Sign of Things to Come

A Decision to Change the World
On Aug. 15, about 2,000 civil society groups from around the world will send letters to the governments of each of the 45 members of the NSG in an effort to convince them that granting India an exemption will lead to dire consequences.
Take that you Injuns. Go enjoy your Independence Day now!

Its time to put your money and knowledge. I am willing to bet that the NSG waiver will be clean and unconditional. PERIOD despite what the supporters say.

Otherwise GOI will walk away.
AK is setting the goals very clearly.
How many takers?

Will pay or the Bay Area BRF meet lunch.

ramana wrote:katare, I might have missed the discussioin but I know the gist of it without having to be part of it.

Here is my posy on the very same subject a few posts above this.
ramana wrote:I guess you havent read what was already stated-unconditional. Any extra word will cause rethinking. Its quite serious and not a negotating position.

US already has the Hyde Act with all its Hiranyakashyap conditions and its tolerated as a national law while NSG is an international agreement. Cant have conditions in that for it will lead to complications downstream. Other nations can have their own Hyde or Jekyll or Vampire acts when they do commerce with India but not the international agreement.

AK is right and deserves our support. The curious thing is such statements should come from policy makers and the MEA.
So whats your takleef?
What did you mean by extra word?

Extra word as in 'new conditions'
or extra word in "NSG waiver"?

What is unconditional, as per your definition, which has been stated (by ‘someone’) and I haven't read about it? I have not seen, read or heard AK explaining what he means by "unconditional and clean" so he alone would be able to judge whether NSG waiver, when it comes, is unconditional or not.

And yes AK is one of the policy makers of govt as head of AEC. MMS uses appointed administrators to do policy lobbying job. NSA has been on TV demanding destruction of ISI not a politician/Minster. This is his tactics which takes most of the politics away from the actions while brings in some non-political credibility in the debate. MEA has no competence in these matters so they should only play a supporting role to DAE/AEC.

edited.
Last edited by Rahul M on 07 Aug 2008 01:51, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited on author's request.

ramana wrote:Its time to put your money and knowledge. I am willing to bet that the NSG waiver will be clean and unconditional. PERIOD despite what the supporters say.

How many takers?

Leave the lunch out and then I don't think there should be anyone in India who wouldn't take it.!! If you add a free lunch with that than all of the India is with you :mrgreen:

Eventual NPT link a sticking point

More negotiations in the work, but the US hand is now open - they will want total control over Indian atoms some time in the future (my read within a decade).
The American insistence on retaining prescriptive language about India eventually accepting international inspections at all its nuclear facilities has emerged as one of the key stumbling blocks in the process of exempting New Delhi from the export rules of the Nuclear Suppliers Group.

Draft language has been moving back and forth "at multiple levels" between the two countries for the past few days but a fix has not yet been found to this problem, senior officials told *The Hindu*. Including the proposed language would be tantamount to reiterating that the NSG expects India to accede to the Treaty on the Non-proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), something the Indian government maintains it will never do.

India had strongly objected to this formulation as early as March 2006, when the U.S. first circulated a six-paragraph 'pre-decisional' draft of proposed changes to the NSG's guidelines. But a version of that prescriptive language continues to bedevil the process. The U.S. says that several European members of the NSG are insisting on the retention of this stipulation, though the fact that it was a part of the initial American draft suggests Washington also attaches some value to it.

The NSG is expected to begin deliberating on the Indian exemption on August 21 but a final decision is likely to be taken only at a second meeting to be held in the first week of September.

The NSG's export restrictions are contained in paragraph 4 of its guidelines, published by the International Atomic Energy Agency as Infcirc/254 (Rev.9). Paragraph 4(a) says a necessary condition for nuclear sales is that the recipient country must have a comprehensive safeguards agreement with the IAEA allowing for inspection of all its nuclear installations. Paras 4(b) and (c) allow exceptions to this rule if there are safety considerations, or if a supply agreement was drawn up prior to 1992, when the rules were adopted. And 4(d) says suppliers invoking these two exceptions "will continue to strive for the earliest possible implementation of the policy referred to in paragraph 4(a)", i.e. acceptance of full-scope safeguards.

The U.S. draft would relax the Paragraph 4(a) requirement of full-scope safeguards for India as long as NSG members are satisfied India is meeting its nonproliferation and safeguards obligations as outlined in its safeguards agreement with the IAEA and the July 2005 agreement with the U.S. These include the testing moratorium, maintaining an effective system of export control, working towards a fissile material cut-off treaty and negotiating an additional protocol with the IAEA. But the draft also reiterates language from paragraph 4(d) of the NSG guidelines, something that is anathema to New Delhi.

So, .......... what Mulford just said, in the past few days/week or so, is nothing new to the Indian government. And, on the flip side, the US is well aware that India can walk away.

Also, recall all those big wigs (Henry K, et all) who stated that backing away would impact Indo-US relations, ....... they had known all along that this was being proposed to India.

RajeshA wrote:And now it is turn of the Racist Selfish Pseudo-Do-Gooders of the World to strike back.

India Nuclear Safeguard Vote Sign of Things to Come

A Decision to Change the World
On Aug. 15, about 2,000 civil society groups from around the world will send letters to the governments of each of the 45 members of the NSG in an effort to convince them that granting India an exemption will lead to dire consequences.
Take that you Injuns. Go enjoy your Independence Day now!

This deal has been very useful in exposing Anti Indian elements all over the world.
GOI should make list of these groups members and boycot them and their upcoming generations for any kind of dealing with India. Expatriate Indians should do same.

45 nations and 2000 "civil society groups", who have done nothing about known proliferations!!!!!!! :rotfl:

What a joke.

ramana wrote:Its time to put your money and knowledge. I am willing to bet that the NSG waiver will be clean and unconditional. PERIOD despite what the supporters say.

How many takers?

If it is all-ca lunch meet in the usual place, we can split the bill.

Sure.

katare, Whats up you are using tu instead of aap. What is the bad blood for as far as I recall there is no bad blood between us.

No bad blood Ramana, I hold you in very high regard. It was not my intention to offend you. I must also confess that your "takleef" comment wasn't very tasteful either. Some how I can't edit the post anymore please do the needful and remove the objectionable portions.

vishwakarmaa wrote:Tv News Ticker - US Congress now will consider nuclear agreement on December 8th in a lame-duck session.

Time for more give and take.
Wow. shall x-post in the N-thread.

Katare, OK. No problem.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

Do you guys expect Ireland to vote in favour of the deal at the NSG?
Ireland tabled the NPT for heavens sake, how can it now be a party to a treaty that runs against the spirit of the NPT?

Very interesting.
Last edited by p_saggu on 07 Aug 2008 02:36, edited 1 time in total.

Editorial in the Japan Times

Nonproliferation Sputtering

What they wish the NPT said:
Under the NPT, nuclear-weapons states are supposed to refrain from assisting non-NPT nations with nuclear power for civilian use
What the NPT actually says:
Each State Party to the Treaty undertakes not to provide: (a) source or special fissionable material, or (b) equipment or material especially designed or prepared for the processing, use or production of special fissionable material, to any non-nuclear-weapon State for peaceful purposes, unless the source or special fissionable material shall be subject to the safeguards required by this Article.

how can it now be a party to a treaty that runs against the spirit of the NPT?
By a clause that reaffirms its wish, hope and desire that India will sign the NPT but which has no operative effect?

Gerard wrote:Editorial in the Japan Times

Nonproliferation Sputtering

What they wish the NPT said:
Under the NPT, nuclear-weapons states are supposed to refrain from assisting non-NPT nations with nuclear power for civilian use
What the NPT actually says:
Each State Party to the Treaty undertakes not to provide: (a) source or special fissionable material, or (b) equipment or material especially designed or prepared for the processing, use or production of special fissionable material, to any non-nuclear-weapon State for peaceful purposes, unless the source or special fissionable material shall be subject to the safeguards required by this Article.
Gerard: Thank you for showing how Truth is twisted to suite the illusion/delusion of NPT that one wishes to live/create.

I would like to point out that India's Dr. Homi Bhabha played a leading role in crafting the terms of NPT (yes he was very instrumental) to protect the interest of countries like India in keeping inspection/safeguard limited to fissile material (or other N material procured via international nuclear cooperation) and facility using that material . And NOT all nuclear facilities of the country. I am indebted and thank Dr Bhabha for that.

Democrat pushes for India nuke conditions
The Bush administration risks the collapse of a U.S.-Indian civil nuclear deal if it fails to push an international nuclear group to accept conditions that would punish India for testing atomic weapons, a Democratic lawmaker says.
kshirin

Post by kshirin »

There is no question that our side will fight to the bitter end on the exemption. What is the sense of the house on US - is the US all set to sell us out and revert to type? Heck of a time to do it, but perhaps mishandling in J & K is giving outsiders pause, we need a strong government quickly - everyone likes to back the winner.

Now the Opposition to the Nuclear Deal stands up in the US Congress. I must say though, that the guy is saying the truth.

Democrat pushes for India nuke conditions
Berman wants Bush to reject any NSG proposal that does not:

_Immediately stop NSG member countries from conducting nuclear trade if India explodes a nuclear device;

_Prohibit the transfer of enrichment and reprocessing technology to India;

_Include a stipulation that prevents countries from letting India reprocess nuclear fuel in a facility outside permanent safeguards.
Berman wrote Rice that he found it "incomprehensible that the administration apparently intends to seek or accept an exemption from the Nuclear Suppliers Group guidelines for India with few or none of the conditions" in a 2006 U.S. law provisionally approving nuclear cooperation with India.

"Such an exemption," Berman said, "would be inconsistent with U.S. law, place American firms at a severe competitive disadvantage and undermine critical U.S. nonproliferation objectives. It would also jeopardize congressional support for nuclear cooperation with India, this year and in the future."
US Companies would indeed be at a disadvantage after the NSG approval. Perhaps it is Berman's own fault, that when he worked on the Hyde Act, he insisted on such conditionality. In any case, he would not have worked to remove such conditionality. Now he :((

Congressman Berman should see to it, that when the US Companies start feeling discriminated against because of his stipulations, he get the Hyde Act changed by removing the conditionality.

Open Nuclear Commerce in Room A. Nuclear Testing in Room B. :D

Ooops Gerard beat me to it. :(

That language in the 123 bites both ways! Guess India could look the other way and ignore that pesky clause. Or maybe some member of the nuclear suppliers group can supply them with heavy water... Ireland perhaps.... :rotfl:

Y-12’s shrinking supply of ‘heavy water’ could affect weapons work
The government’s inventory of so-called heavy water, which is used in production of nuclear weapons, is dwindling and could be gone by 2019, according to a federal audit released today.
“The heavy water is used to make lithium deuteride weapons parts which contribute to the explosive yield of nuclear weapons,” the audit report said.
There is currently no production facility for heavy water in the United States
Mason said sources of heavy water are available in India, Russia, Argentina and Canada. ORNL would be able to purchase the material from foreign sources because it could promise the heavy water would not be used in production of weapons, but Y-12 would be barred because of the weapons use, he said.

Some of the other good reasons for the US interest in this are beginning to come out.... While it is good to be paranoid, it is also good to allow the possibility that the US is genuinely interested, due to genuine self-interest, and those interests may be quite different from hitting India with CRE. The NPAs and Pakis are not the only game in town.

The rest all in good time, I suppose...

Teacher resource material for use in Australian schools
http://www.icanw.org/files/NuclearFuelCycleGame.doc

Interesting footnote
Under the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty, countries that forego nuclear weapons development are rewarded with assistance for their nuclear power programs. India, with a growing nuclear arsenal, is not a signatory of the NPT and is therefore not meant to receive any aid from NPT signatories, such as Australia, or the US for that matter which is currently providing nuclear assistance to India.

the only condition from this nuke business that gives me the heebie jeebies is the chance that we may have to buy the superbugs if the deal goes thru'.
:shivering:

How many takers?

Willing to bet on this Sir. The waiver will be in compliance with Hyde, which means conditions will be attached. AK has been proved wrong before. J18, which promised parity and then the separation agreement, where perpetual safeguards were against perpetual supplies have not been reflected in the agreements. The agreements have been duty heavy and rights light. So, as I see it, be ready to pay for some of my favorite food, if you can find one in the bay. Konkani. (Minimum of Gassi and dry fish, Neer Dosa and Fish Curry is a must) :)

ShauryaT wrote: So, as I see it, be ready to pay for some of my favorite food, if you can find one in the bay. Konkani. (Minimum of Gassi and dry fish, Neer Dosa and Fish Curry is a must) :)
Do you like promfret fry. I will look up some good cook at my freinds restaurant and get your food - made to order.
The goan rest i have gone is in DC

Key US lawmaker threatens to hold up India nuclear deal: AFP

In context of the Hyde Act, US Administration and India have been doing their best to square the circle and to delay the thorny issues. Now the moment has arrived, where it requires ever better magic to accomplish the feat.

If US President wants to ensure that the Indo-US nuclear deal is taken up at the Hill in September, it needs a cooperative Congress. When The Chairman of the House of Representatives Foreign Affairs Committee takes a public stand against it, then, it is indeed doubtful, that George W. Bush and Dr. Manmohan Singh would be partaking in any 123 Agreement Signing Ceremony any time soon.

His condition for a timely passage is that the NSG Waiver should have certain conditionalities attached.
Representative Howard Berman wants Bush to reject any NSG proposal that does not:

a) Immediately stop NSG member countries from conducting nuclear trade if India explodes a nuclear device;

b) Prohibit the transfer of enrichment and reprocessing technology to India;

c) Include a stipulation that prevents countries from letting India reprocess nuclear fuel in a facility outside permanent safeguards.
Berman wrote Rice that he found it "incomprehensible that the administration apparently intends to seek or accept an exemption from the Nuclear Suppliers Group guidelines for India with few or none of the conditions" in a 2006 U.S. law provisionally approving nuclear cooperation with India.

"Such an exemption," Berman said, "would be inconsistent with U.S. law, place American firms at a severe competitive disadvantage and undermine critical U.S. nonproliferation objectives. It would also jeopardize congressional support for nuclear cooperation with India, this year and in the future."
He also has stolen Pro-Deal Lobby's greatest Mantra: that the deal is good for American Business.

If Condition (a) is not fulfilled, then US Businesses are indeed at a disadvantage in comparison to Russian and French Businesses, as Russia and France Laws do not prohibit nuclear commerce with countries conducting nuclear tests. US Businesses might need to give written assurances, that in case of termination of agreement (perhaps due to a nuclear test by India), they will have to reimburse their Indian partners or the govt. for the dismantling and they will buy back the equipment. Maybe to cover such an eventuality, they will require extra insurance, etc. All that would be OK for them, if all other companies like Areva, etc. also had to likewise. So they are surely at a disadvantage.

If Condition (a) is not fulfilled, then 123 Agreement will not pass in September, according to Representative Howard Berman, but have to wait for the next Administration. That would give French and Russian companies a head-start in the Indian market.

If Condition (a) is fulfilled, then UPA would not be able to sell the Agreement to the Parliament, as BJP and the Left would fall upon it like a mountain of stones, and it will be considered a total sell-out of Indian sovereignty. MMS loses face and the elections.

Again if Condition (b) is not fulfilled, then Russia and France are allowed to sell and promise India, even enrichment and reprocessing technology, which would allow their companies to be able to pitch more attractive business proposals to India. The Hyde Act may again put US business at a disadvantage.

If Condition (b) is fulfilled, then India would not be able to swallow it, as 123 Agreement foresees an amendment regarding export of these technologies and was sold as a win for the Indian negotiating team being adherent to the promise of full civilian nuclear cooperation between the two countries. Such a condition would be annulling that gain.
123 Agreement states:
2. Sensitive nuclear technology, heavy water production technology, sensitive nuclear facilities, heavy water production facilities and major critical components of such facilities may be transferred under this Agreement pursuant to an amendment to this Agreement. Transfers of dual-use items that could be used in enrichment, reprocessing or heavy water production facilities will be subject to the Parties' respective applicable laws, regulations and license policies.
If Condition (c) is fulfilled, then India would be placing the reprocessing facility under permanent safeguards. However India only wants to place it under campaign safeguards, as stated in the IAEA safeguards agreement, i.e. only for the course of time, during which spent fuel from another safeguarded facility is being reprocessed. This allows India to use the facility for reprocessing of spent fuel from the strategic facilities also, which are not under safeguard, in the same facility, thereby saving costs. If India allows that, then our strategic program also comes under the preview of IAEA. This is not acceptable to India, if permanent also means continuous.

All Conditions are red herrings for India. Anil Kakodkar will not be accepting these conditions.

The question is: "Will the US Administration submit a draft to NSG, which does not contain the above conditions, as per the wishes of India, which it knows is detrimental to the interests of US businesses AND the House of Representatives would not approve 123 Agreement during George W. Bush's tenure, taking away his biggest and a rare foreign policy achievement from his grasp OR will India walk out of the nuclear deal OR is it just a tactic to put pressure on India to succumb to US choice of wording?".

Even though MMS too would not be signing the 123 Agreement, he would at least have delivered an acceptable NSG waiver to the country.

IMO, US should submit the draft without these conditionalities. Then blackmail the US Congress, that if they do not pass the 123 Agreement in September, it would give companies from Russia and France a head-start. When the next Administration comes in Washington and India maybe, the US Congress can modify Hyde Act, US Atomic Energy Act of 1954 to give US Companies the same level of leeway as the companies of other countries. That would also satisfy BJP.

NSG to meet twice to decide Indian waiver: IANS
* Category I (those likely to support): Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, South Africa, Ukraine, Britain and he US.

* Category II (those who are sceptical but might end up supporting): Argentina, Australia added, Austria twice??, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, South Korea, Sweden and Turkey.

* Category III (likely nay sayers): Austria, Ireland, the Netherlands, New Zealand and Switzerland.
Senior diplomats and ’special representatives’ of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh are leaving for these capitals to try and convince the leadership there to support the Indian waiver in the NSG.
It is indeed funny, that Netherlands is opposing India. They themselves gave away technology to A.Q. Khan, allowing him to go and build his nuclear bombs, but want to deny India civil nuclear commerce with third countries. :evil:

So no more Austrian Pastries, Irish Butter, Dutch Gouda Cheese, Kiwi Fruits, and Nestle Chocolates for me anymore. I'll have to go on a diet. :cry: