Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Stan_Savljevic

Re: Indian Sports and Entertainment Industry

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

Singha wrote:I see some chatter that carl lewis failed drug tests in late 1980s and flojo was on
drugs too...but the USOC those days had the policy of do as I say, not as I do and
pulled issue under rug.

any meat to this?
Boss, lots of truth to this. Its even on Carl Lewis' wiki. check this for starters
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carl_Lewis ... g_drug_use
http://www.smh.com.au/articles/2003/04/ ... 09693.html

The whole batch of records in the 90s is suspect. Linford Christie, another one of those supposed violators, whined a few days back about why crikkit should not be a part of any olympics. His touted claim was that crikkit will not let individualitis shine. Then he should have started with a ban on football, relay events in athletics, swimming etc. It would possibly have any credence had he been clean. Unfortunately, doped vessels make more noise these days about olympic spirit and what not. Hypocritical oiseaules...

Added: If there is a truth and reconciliation commission, and many people in the know do speak out, a lotta sewage will spill over on to the streets..

it seem starting 1984 none by donovan bailey has a clean name till date in 100m
84 carl lewis
88 ben "yellow eyes" johnson
92 linford christie
96 donovan bailey
00 maurice green (again some balco tags to him, but escaped so far)
04 justin gaitlin

Everybody is klean ja until they get kot no??

My buddy who was in athletics says everybody dopes but it is the amreekans who have mastered the art of masking the substance abuse. Only the amateurs get caught.

akhil kumar's match at 5 India time.
bart

Post by bart »

Is there any reason why Chess or at least Speed Chess cannot be part of the Olympics? After all, Chaturanga is as old as the Olympic games itself.

And if I am not mistaken Vishy Anand has been considered the world's top Speed Chess player for over a decade. :twisted:

Yankiel won the first QF1. QF2 in progress,. Akhil 'KILL' Kumar just few minutes away.

http://www.nbcolympics.com/boxing/resul ... index.html

update: Julie Bruno won the QF2. "kill" kumar next.
Last edited by SwamyG on 18 Aug 2008 16:43, edited 1 time in total.

Match over
Men's Bantam (54kg) Quarterfinal -- Mon Aug 18, 2008 - Beijing Workers' Gymnasium
IND KUMAR Akhil vs MDA GOJAN Veaceslav

ountry	Name	                       Corner	Round 1	Round 2	Round 3	Round 4	results
MDA	GOJAN Veaceslav 	                Red	      1	     1		  4	       4          10
IND	KUMAR Akhil 	                    Blue	     1	     1        0          1          3
http://www.nbcolympics.com/boxing/resul ... index.html
Last edited by BijuShet on 18 Aug 2008 17:03, edited 4 times in total.

Round 1; even 1-1.

Update: Round 3, Gojan takes the lead 4-2. :evil:
:cry: Gojan 6-2
Round 4 in progress, trailing 2-7. :cry:

we lost 10-3

the moldovan had a turtle type sound defensive strategy with the gloves
always up around his face. I dont think hits anywhere else count.

Akhil had a pretty open posture as usual and tried to find gaps where
there were none. moldovan kept racking up the points with some weak
counterpunches when Akhil lunged fwd.

you need to be very savvy against these types of opponents. we lost
because of lack of proper adaptable strategy....

a lesson in this for the other two fighters.

Piss poor planing, cost AK his medal. things were even up till round 2.
round three AK unnecessarily tried to up the tempo, and attacked,
opening his guard and got hit. It should have been the other way round.
Round 4 was "throw in the kitchen sink" and invariably AK lost.
one hope gone, 2 to go. Go! India! Go!

From the article about the Bhiwani boys on the previous page regarding AK's "style":
he mostly dangles his hands instead of zealously guarding against the rival’s punch are being applauded as a “new aggressive style”. However, as Singh points out, after Akhil failed to win a medal at the Athens Olympics, there had been a censuring chorus that the style was “faulty”.
He should perhaps reevaluate this. Overwhelming majority of boxers don't do this.

Damn it.... :x
All my dreams of Stan gurus 2-1-1 coming true are dashed!!!!!!!!! :oops: :(

Please messrs Vijender and Jitender, dont walk away empty handed after coming so close!!!!
PS: Akhil ,congrats for your wonderful run.....Hope you succeed next olympics.
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

RaviBg wrote:All eyes on Bhiwani boys, families recall hard-fought bouts
All eyes on Bhiwani boys, families recall hard-fought bouts

Bhiwani, August 17: India waits fingers-crossed for three boxers to make it to the medals category of the Beijing Olympics — Akhil Kumar will try to box his way into the bantamweight semi-final on Monday evening and then all eyes will be on his young team-mates Vijender Kumar and Jitender Kumar. But in Bhiwani, which is already being called the Cuba of India, the man who coached all three is not surprised. On Sunday, 47-year-old Jagdish Singh boarded an early morning bus to Gurgaon to watch a batch of under-14 pupils perform at a school-level boxing competition.

Shouldn’t he have been in Beijing with his boys? Jagdish Singh simply shrugs. “The authorities took some half-a-dozen coaches, but nobody asked me. I talk to my boys daily and am seeing their performances on television. The authorities don’t think much of me anyways. Not long ago, they had lambasted my methods and told me to understand what the Olympics are, before preparing boys for it.” His methods were wrong but SFI's methods have always yielded medals and they have record to prove it, result Zero medals in the past, his method has atleast send the boys to QF.

However, it is the not the first time that vindication has come the way of this Sports Authority of India coach who has harnessed Bhiwani’s endemic talent for boxing to such an extent that four of the five members of the Indian boxing contingent at the Olympics are his pupils.

Even as comparisons with Tony Roche (the coach of tennis stars Ivan Lendl, Lleyton Hewitt, Roger Federer) do the rounds, he maintains that a good coach has to research, study and think out of the box. He points to the specific example of Akhil. His nimble and almost frenetic movement in the ring and the fact that he mostly dangles his hands instead of zealously guarding against the rival’s punch are being applauded as a “new aggressive style”. However, as Singh points out, after Akhil failed to win a medal at the Athens Olympics, there had been a censuring chorus that the style was “faulty”. if they had succeeded then it would have been ingenuity of Indian Style--Instead of focussing on fine tuning their style, in typical Indian Style they will be humiliated.“There was a lot of pressure on me to change his style. But the boy was confident of playing in this manner. Moreover, I had carefully devised this approach after having studied clips of past matches and gleaning information from sports journals. I even met three-time Olympic gold medalist Lazio Papp of Hungry for his inputs. So I persisted and, as they say, nothing succeeds like success.”

No one appreciates this adage more than the people of Bhiwani. The trio of Akhil, Jitender and Vijender has brought enough joy to keep them upbeat at a time when half the houses in the city are submerged in dirty water after heavy monsoon rains.

Hundreds of students, some as young as 10, make a beeline for what is locally known as BBC (the Bhiwani Boxing Club). While not long ago excelling in boxing was considered a way to find a job in Haryana police, now they have come to see it as a career. Explaining the phenomenon, Kiran Choudhary, Haryana Sports Minister and the Bhiwani MLA, says: “This land has a sports culture. But initially people would pick on sports to bag that reserved seat for sportspersons in government departments, especially the police. But the success of these three boys has made them look at it as a full-time career. Also the boys are from very modest backgrounds, which makes their success all the more creditable.”

Whereas Akhil’s father works as a constable in Rohtak, Jitender and Vijender are sons of a marginal farmer and a bus driver respectively. Dinesh Kumar, the fourth boxer from Bhiwani at the Olympics, is the son of a bus conductor.

Pressing family exigencies tend to nip many a sporting ambition in the bud, and these families weren’t an exception. In fact, there is a common factor binding them — all the four boxers have an elder brother who also picked up the sport but was forced to leave it to find employment. This allowed the younger sibling to follow the game.

Surinder Kumar, the elder brother of Jitender, says: “I played at the state level and Jitender would accompany me. But then my father developed brain tumour and I had to pick up a job as an accountant. This stopped my career but allowed Jitender to pursue the sport.”

Akhil’s brother broke into tears watching him defeat the world champion in the pre-quarterfinals on Friday. Tanej, who is elder to Dinesh by five years, says he is having a tough time consoling his kid brother in Beijing who is very upset at not having made it to the quarterfinals.

The anticipations have gone up after Abhinav Bindra broke the jinx of an Indian never having won an individual Olympic gold medal. But being born to rich and supportive parents meant that his pursuit of excellence wasn’t obstructed too much by the systemic deficiencies that mar Indian sports.

“The only way I could supplement my income was by doing overtime, which meant travelling on more and more routes,” says Mahipal Beniwal, the father of Vijender. Today he can rest easy. After Vijender won medals at the Commonwealth and SAF Games, he is being paid a monthly stipend of $800 by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). This has allowed the family to construct a large house.

Jitender’s family hopes that the award of Rs 25 lakh announced by the Chief Minister of Haryana would allow them to refurbish their kuchcha house, which at present has no proper flooring, walls or the drainage system.

“You have to make the best with what you have. We replaced costly orange juice with lemon water, couldn’t afford almonds so purchased chana, didn’t have punching bags so used gunny bags and in the absence of a proper track, used the surrounding desert as a field for obstruction training,” says coach Jagdish Singh. WTF and we want to win medals:evil:

All the efforts and ingenuity seem to have worked out well, testified by the festive crowd now gathered outside Akhil’s house. “I want all three to win. They are all like my sons,” says Akhil’s father Shribhagwan.

However, there is an apprehension that all this might turn out to be ephemeral. As one of Akhil’s relatives says, “Even after having won medals at the Commonwealth and World Championships, Akhil was offered a Class III railway job. He was derided after his failure at Athens and had decided to hang up his boots. Instead of working with him we humiliate our players--what a nation, I bow to Bharat Mata . It was only his disinclination towards this job that made him work hard, overcome an injury and then pick up boxing again.”
Nobody provided any nutrition to these boys and as a nation--India expects to win Gold Medal. What a joke? Roasted chana is no substitute for sports diet, these boys need protien shakes, some doctors here on board can correct me, my understanding is they will need atleast 22g of Protiens after every workout daily. Even if the rest of them win any medal it is their own tenacity, not that Gov't of India or this nation has given anything to them.

India deserves to be on the bottom of the list. Our Medal Tally will represent our Human Development Index, Corruption Index.

We're going to keep coming up with these hard luck cases as long as we have no proper system to groom athletes to compete at the top level. The difference between victory and yet another hard luck story is miniscule. But it's not just about luck, as the Chinese show at the games.

If we don't want Jagdish Singh's boxing school to turn into another Guru Hanuman's akhada - which produces amazing raw talent stifled by lack of more support to make them consistent world beaters - they need support of all kinds, including ability to get hold of proper food for the young and established boxers there.

How about folks from that part of the country get information on this school, meet people there, talk to the OGQ/MCT folks about it, so that people can actually choose to directly contribute to these sports schools via the abovementioned private entities ? Just one possibility. It's a more proactive approach than just the normal quadrennial whine...

A stipend of a few thousand rupees a month for 10 years, if announced at the time these youngsters are identified in their early teens as having promise, will go a long way towards meeting their and their family's needs of food, clothing and shelter. This would allow these youngsters to concentrate on their chosen sport instead of worrying about their livelihood.

Op-Ed page Deccan Chronicle, 18 August 2008
Bindra got a lot of aid

There is no dearth of people who curse the government for every evil and take credit for all achievements. We all salute India’s first Olympic individual gold medalist Abhinav Bindra. But the way his father criticised the government was unpardonable. In fact, Bindra had been given maximum support by the government during the past eight years and the entire machinery worked overtime to help him. He had been given grant-in-aid from the sports development fund. The fund has a corpus of Rs 24 crores. Of the Rs 4 crores disbursed, more than Rs 3 crores went to shooting. Rathore got Rs 1.37 crores, Bindra got Rs 67 lakhs and the others the remaining amount.
So Rathore was supported at ~ twice the support that Bindra got. And the rest got to split the one crores (3Crore- (1.37+0.67))! And they complain like that?

Looks like th eidea was to support the one with best chances and by same logic old warriors will garner most of the benefits!

well, to be fair Bindra's dad did acknowledge the monetary contribution of the govt. what he said was they didn't understand the effort that went into preparing for this kind of a result. I would guess he was referring to the bullets issue.

Shooting has a significant form component. At the top level, being out of form means the 2-3 points that makes the difference between winning and not even making the final. To gain form you need significant training and match practice.

While Rathore was a medalist in the last games, to put the eggs in one basket was poor strategy, particularly considering he's not been in the best form recently, and that the main national shooting range at Tughlaqabad is in poor shape.

For more shooting medals we need the ability to enable these folks to train and compete all year. We're not going to get medals with just 1-2 persons getting most of the funding, because we've at least four people - Rathore, Bindra, Narang and Sodhi - who are current or recent world champions. Who does well depends on their form, and to maximize their form needs constant training, which means unhindered supply of ammunition and support gear, and good facilities.

It's past the point to whine about it. There are legitimate means to actually do something about it now. I found the OGQ/MCT folks quite responsive and passionate about Indian sporting success.

kenya has picked the 3000m steeplechase gold for the 7th consecutive olympics.
nobody seems able to touch them in this event and in the non-olympic cross country
races.

Agian what bullets? Bindra was in air rifle competetion? What are those bullets? I thought they are pellets. And they cant be that costly. And he still got 67Lakhs. Thats a lot of money for pellets. I think his dad's complaints are not warrnted when he was giting his son Rs 200 crore hotel!

I was watching the rowing competetion and thinking those Onam folks can give run for the money. Is there any plan to get a few of those rowers trained on Olympic style rowing boats? Maybe Dileep can look into the mechanics of this and get some businesses to sponsor it or even Kerala govt.

How much do those boats cost?

Ramana - I mentioned this before but you probably missed the post. It's not the cost of the bullets as much as restrictions and controls placed on their import, according to reports. Mittal's organization had to 'faciliate' it.

Oh, I told you it was a guess ! apparently it was a bad one ! :|
and he didn't complain about the money, at least in the interview I watched.

regarding rowing, I was thinking precisely along those lines. find out where boat races are popular in India and scout for talent at those places. kerala is an obvious choice.

There was an attempt to use the rowing talent in Kerala in the past, but as with everything else driven by GoI's efforts, nothing came of it.

It is not a question of where to find the talent - there's rowing talent in Kerala, archery talent in the Chattisgarh tribal areas etc - all this is known. There's also no question of what is needed in terms of equipment.

What is missing is the system.

its like top research scientists, if you put restrictions on their ability to travel and
attend all the confs they need to, all the lab eqpt they want to export or import their
impact will be much less than potential in the field.

atleast fix up the local lab to world class std (tughlaqabad) and open a couple more
say in chandigarh and amritsar. TOI was reporting the targets in T'bad have to be
pulled in on rope pulleys after the shot to count the score while abroad they have
moved on to automated electronic scoring.

Koreans have a traditional sport in archery - they continue to sweep it because they
must have poured proper r&d into making it a science incl I am sure herbal remedies
that are permissible but affect the nervous and muscular system to improve balance
and shakeless posture. we continue our hunt for the "tribal" Ekalavya who will rout
the disciplined pandava armies led by master scientist Krishna.

take a look at any stadium how the sports hostels there are in comfort and cleanliness.
I have visited the Shri Kanteerva indoor stadium numerous times and taken a look
at the filthy windowless toilets and hostel acco for sportsmen. I would fall sick and
run away before the contest if put up there after a gruelling train journey to reach
blr for some tournament.

I do think proper public toilet design should be made a strategic project on par
with n-weapons and NHDP.
Last edited by Singha on 18 Aug 2008 23:25, edited 1 time in total.

Suraj wrote:There was an attempt to use the rowing talent in Kerala in the past, but as with everything else driven by GoI's efforts, nothing came of it.

It is not a question of where to find the talent - there's rowing talent in Kerala, archery talent in the Chattisgarh tribal areas etc - all this is known. There's also no question of what is needed in terms of equipment.

What is missing is the system.
Suraj ji, that is why I kept saying we do not have a motivation at the national level. Once we have the motivation at the institutional level, then it becomes the system. All that remains in India is a bunch of billion sports fans.

Desis had huge advantage in traditional sports like Equestrian, Fencing, Archery, Wrestling, Boxing, etc. But instead our forefathers never realized to advocate to include sporting events like

1. Desi Style horse riding competitions (i.e. races), instead of European British style (current).
2. Kabaddi (even now it is not part of olympics).
3. Indian Style Wrestling (why do we have greco-roman wrestling for the whole world? what's wrong with Desi kushti?)
4. Swordship competition (Indian style with Shield), instead of brain dead fencing with face mask.

and hundreds of other sports in India (What's wrong with Kho Kho?, etc). not one of which is included.

Indian olympic committee should behind the scenes be creative and create some new sports (at least advocate kabaddi) along with creating new rules (advantage to us) and objecting to International Olympic committe at each juncture.

Just say NO to IOC!! for anything (even if they are right). Tell them that third world countries have been put behind because of these brain dead rules and regulations.

SwamyG, I fundamentally disagree with the idea that GoI should even be involved with sports, and that is not even because they suck at promoting it. I'm not a votary of GoI doing anything other than legislating. They should neither be making sports, nor bread, for that matter.

National motivation is not a preserve of the government alone. If that were the case, you can argue Indians have no motivation to be prosperous because we're a developing country. But it isn't. Significant hurdles in the way of economic prosperity are GoI's fault as well.

GoI in general has no clue how to execute when it comes to world-level competitive sports. The current system places enormous artificial restrictions on sports development. Facilities are built with no regard of lifetime cost and maintenance, and left to rot. Sports bodies are run like fiefdoms by political appointees, with sporting success having absolutely no bearing on their own fortunes. You know the rest.

If there's going to be sporting success, it'll have to come from a private movement that supports athletes who have the ability but are hamstrung throughout their development stages and formal career due to lack of a support system. Master sportsmen are no different from master surgeons and scientists. They need to be given all the support they need and be left to focus on their art.

At a time when there is an opportunity to do something about it, there's no point in wasting our time whining about it. My concern is that within a month, the Olympics will be forgotten and no one will care until summer of 2012.

Suraj, Air rifles use pellets and those are not expensive. Air rigfles on othe hand for match competetion are very expensive. i think the father was complaining about the process to import those. Anyway I might be totally wrong.

It's a fair bet that the pellets in questions are specialized ones; the rifles themselves are precision crafted instruments with a $4000 baseline price tag, excluding cost of accessories like various stock and grip additions, plus cost of ammunition.

There are only a handful of manufacturers, mostly German. Bindra uses Walther according to reports, with Anschutz (which some Chinese shooters used at Beijing) and Feinwerkbau being other important brands.

One option, if folks have the means, is just to contact our sportsmen via OGQ/MCT and help them get some of the equipment they need. Boxing gloves and shoes can't be very expensive, for example. No need then to whine about why GoI can't can't do it.

Suraj:
From a political view one might say the Government should be incharge of ruling the country, and let people follow their desires and fears. There could be areas that the government can get involved - foreign policy, security, infrastructure etc. In competetions that involve nations, it more or less becomes a national agenda to allow the merritorious to represent the country. There needs to be a system in place that will allow talent to percolate up through the veins of the system to the top. Now who is to create such a system?
In one of the earlier posts regarding Olympics I state that I believe more on the private enterprise getting involved. So I don't see it as China like system. But I don't see sports excellence centers, say like IIT on the Sci & Tech area, sprinkled in a few states being able to do the job.

Let me take a city randomly - Madras (how convenient) and a sport Swimming; and compare it something in USA. In USA, a family is just 20-30 mins away in most of the suburbs to a decent middle or high school with a swimming pool. The pool is available for the family for "open swims" - a nominal fee for the entire family to play, learn and refine the skills. These pools are used by the community education programs to teach swimming from toddlers to adults. If the family can fork out some money, then there is supporting infrastructure to make this happen. Next there are YMCA pools, and fitness center pools. In some cases personnel trainners are available. A person with aptitude and capability has means to keep climbing high up. There are coaches lined up in this system, and talent has a chance to be recognized and channeled. Training facilities and coaching staff can be found with relative ease.

Consider Madras, 10 plus years ago, we all knew one great pool at Marina Beach. {In several visits to India, I have not heard that it is any better even now.} Friends used to go that pool to swim, they took public transportation or their bikes to reach it. I had never heard about a pool available to the public - atleast not within 30-40 mins of bike or bus ride. Do you think a parent is going to send his or her child to a far of swimming pool? Definitely the accessibility to decent pools need to be increased. Only then there will be large quantity of people doing this systematically for some time, and then there will be individuals who would like to take it to the next and next levels.

I have often heard and seen people travelling to a relatively far off 'Rajarathinam Stadium' for track and field practices. Young girls and boys, in track suits and what not. Those people must have been very very devoted to what they were doing to under take such a journey. They must have had support from their parents as well.

Now who is going to create such a system? We don't want GoI to be building pools and maintaining them. We don't want them to be building YMCA like stuff either. It will end up like our ration shops. The private enterprises can do it. But they need to see RoI. This is probably not going to happen very soon. But what India as a country can do is to desire to win at the institutional level. Not at the level of Suraj or SwamyG, but at a higher level. Padukone, Sethi, Mittal are few such individuals who have the motivation and capacity to take this at higher levels.

That is why I say, India is where it is in spite of the system. Some one could write a book about it.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

30 year plan for Jamaica's success on track and field
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/2008/au ... athletics1

NBC had a short special on jamaican runners , they showed a couple of shots of bolt and powell working out in a gym. It was in poor condition with outdated weights - shocking that they would have world class athletes even in there. What bolt and powell etc., have achieved is through sheer natural talent, simply astounding the "gift" they have.

From the article:

"The facilities may not be the best, but Fitz Coleman, part of Bolt's coaching team, believes that there is a confidence about Jamaican sprinters that is bordering on arrogance. 'We genuinely believe that we'll conquer,' he says. 'It's a mindset. We're small and we're poor, but we believe in ourselves.'"

"For decades the event was also a fertile hunting ground for United States universities who, armed with lucrative scholarships, lured the best teenagers. But they were often burnt out by coaches determined to get their money's worth and so failed to fulfil their potential. The difference now is that if you are as talented as Bolt it is possible to stay on the island to train and travel to Europe to compete in the top meetings where you can easily earn more than a million dollars a year."

Ameet wrote:............The difference now is that if you are as talented as Bolt it is possible to stay on the island to train and travel to Europe to compete in the top meetings where you can easily earn more than a million dollars a year.

I say we pay Phelps a lumpsum 100 million$ to compete for India and fire Kalmadi.

Much more cost effective than this charade run by Kalmadi and co for decades. The lad wouldnt get a deal like that even in in Unkilland and we will have better medal standing. If Liukin (a soviet I used to like, along with Vitaly Scherbo and my all time fav, Alexander Karelin) can send his little girl to compete for Unkil, why not we pay good money for some talented dude from the projects of NY/LA/Oakland?

This might be a bit controversial, but the only way to get out of this mess is to stop jerking off to socialist sob stories of "poor child wins gold" and by extension "we should pour money into promoting the poor to compete". That is a myth we badly want to believe, when it comes to India. In reality, all the people who actually won medals for India or excelled as world's best in an individual capacity are either middle class (the best cricketers) or stinking rich (Bhindra). The poor athletes all have other stuff to care about. Which is kind of bad, but that is life. When the crunch time comes. they choke when they realize that in the next few minutes, they either die penniless or become rich legends. And then there is the harangue at the hands of superbabus and lesser babus that they need to endure. How about that for pressure? We need to rethink this commie glorification of "sport as an extension of politics". It might work if the child gets snatched from the cradle like what commie countries (and recently, Panda) does and put into a detention camp until the last medal is extracted. But it wont work in a free country like India.

So instead of pouring money into the darkest corners of India, why not pour money into building infra and self-sustaining leagues like the IPL? That way, the poorer talents can still be scouted, spotted and groomed, while the rich kids can have their share of glory if they want to. Let the market decide if a Bhindra needs to be the latest advertising icon or an Adivasi girl who has immense talent in archery. Odds are the girl will be the best brand ambassador for atleast 99% of the consumer products of India. And the massive middle class will provide the huge mid-level talent and support that is needed to sustain such private sporting leagues.

Suraj, this special area promotion is the stupidest thing I heard of. Of the three I know of in Kerala, except for rowing (that too only at national levels, not international levels) the other two (fencing and gymnastics) havent paid off. Rowing school is at Vembanad (near Alapuzha town) and last I saw (back in '98), the canoes/kayaks were in pretty bad shape. Fencing and gymnastics schools of SAI are both based in the little town of Thalassery in North Kerala. Now Thalassery has its share of gymnasts. From grade A circus talents like Kunjikannan to third rate political gymnasts like the current thug-minister of Home(talk about irony!). I heard of this riot by parents that happened there, because the russian coach decided to prune the less motivated kids. Allegations of partiality by the coach started flying around and she fled back to Russia. This was years ago.

Then there is fencing. The reason for locating the fencing school in Thalassery is because "vadakkan pattu" (mythos/ballads of martial heroes of Kerala) refers to the area around the town as, um, "cool". IMO, a rather dubious reason to decide on the location of a fencing school. The catchment area is very low in that small town and no one will move to Thalassery from the surrounding districts to train. I had dabbled a little bit in fencing and can tell you that the kids who come there are hardly bothered about the sport. For a sport that requires some individual innovation, there is none that I saw there. Cant blame them. Their parents made them go there. Whereas I know of a couple of good kids from Trivandrum and Kochi, who struggle hard to get good equip/infra, because govt pushed it all up there in these "Spashal skools". If we had a good fencing league, these kids would have gathered critical mass around these places and got the issue of equipment solved. The scoring equips are darn expensive and the good ones are upwards of 5000$.

We are SDRE vegetarians. However my son is on the track and field at school and the coach just eggs him on. My son will eventually make the varsity team in his school which is a athlete powerhouse in Bay area. The coach is very important. For instance school hasnt started yet but he called to check on his summer holidays and how he had been. After chit chat invited him to a run on Friday eve where all the track team alumni were running together. My son now walks on air and is practising since then.
He even looked up suitable foods for him to be on.
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

watch on http://www.nbcolympics.com :D
08/19 10:20am
Men's Freestyle 60kg (132 lbs) 1/8 Final
Baurzhan ORAZGALIYEV (KAZ) - Yogeshwar DUTT (IND)
Last edited by Vivek Kumar on 19 Aug 2008 07:34, edited 1 time in total.
Shivani

Post by Shivani »

www.nytimes.com wrote:Movie Stars Take to the Stage, Giving ’Em the Old Bollywood Razzle-Dazzle

August 18, 2008

By JON CARAMANICA

UNIONDALE, N.Y. — Abhishek Bachchan was everywhere on Friday night at the Nassau Coliseum: walking through the sold-out stadium surrounded by bodyguards; soaring above the crowd on a platform, pointing out women and serenading them; rapping, in a red leather jacket, alongside the duo Vishal-Shekhar; running onstage to hug his wife, the actress Aishwarya Rai Bachchan, while she made pleas to the audience about sustainable development. {Image}

All that movement, and still he couldn’t quite outrun the long shadow cast by his father, Amitabh, a veteran of more than 150 films. He worked half as hard as his son, but was the clear focal point of the Unforgettable Tour, a four-hour song-and-dance-and-more extravaganza featuring several stars of Indian cinema.

There is no American equivalent to this spectacle, in which actors, joined by dozens of dancers, recreate musical numbers from popular movies. Here, all talents — acting, singing, dancing — are equal. Well, not always singing; in most Bollywood films, vocals are provided by playback singers while the stars on screen lip-sync.

And so went most of the performances here, making for an extravagant yet curiously restrained affair. For much of the show — including most of the solo sets of the lithe actress Preity Zinta, who was dressed like a flapper; and the energetic comic actor Riteish Deshmukh, who, during the theme song from the movie “Cash,” danced awkwardly in front of oversized $100 bills — the crowd responded as if they were watching a film: seated, muted, considerate.

These performances were also saddled with a contrived intimacy. Actors had jumped off the screen onto the stage, but were still at a remove. Success required removing the veneer of unattainability. This was done best by Madhuri Dixit, the oldest of the female performers, who was also the most graceful and subtle; her performance with Ms. Rai Bachchan, in a dance routine from “Devdas,” was one of the night’s most stirring.

Surprisingly, some of the most enthusiastically received performances were also the least traditional. Vishal-Shekhar, a young duo known best for progressive soundtrack work that dabbles in hip-hop, were rousing, especially on “Deewangi Deewangi,” from “Om Shanti Om.” They also performed with a live band, upending the show’s formality.

Though the musicians remained onstage for Amitabh Bachchan’s first solo set, they were less consequential. His appearance was more an exercise in collective memory than a great performance. A star of stratospheric proportions, he was celebrated with hagiographical videos and voice-overs. (“Even the way he stands makes an impact.” “They aped his hairstyle.”) The younger Mr. Bachchan performed one of his father’s best-known routines, from “Don,” while images from that film flashed on a screen behind him.

With a silver goatee and short dark hair, the elder Mr. Bachchan cut an august figure. But he, too, was not immune to the pulls of legacy. Toward the end of the show, in a segment that was part spoken-word performance, part “Inside the Actors Studio,” he discussed his own parents with emotion. First, he recited a few lines of “Agneepath,” a poem by his father, Harivansh Rai Bachchan, which was, he said, “written to inspire the Indians.” (Friday was the 61st anniversary of Indian independence.)

Then he spoke about his mother, who died last year, and slipped into his character from the film “Deewaar,” who prays for his mother’s health. As Mr. Bachchan delivered the lines, his voice grew deep, mean and improbably raspy. And then, just as quickly as he had begun, he snapped back to normal and was greeted with the night’s most sincere standing ovation. On a night full of carefully choreographed moments, this blatant blast of acting also proved to be the truest.

Vivek Kumar wrote:watch on http://www.nbcolympics.com :D
Yogeshwar won :). The first round went to the Kazakh, but the next two Yogeshwar was on top. It was quite exciting to watch -- good quality video to my laptop.

viv wrote:
Vivek Kumar wrote:watch on http://www.nbcolympics.com :D
Yogeshwar won :). The first round went to the Kazakh, but the next two Yogeshwar was on top. It was quite exciting to watch -- good quality video to my laptop.
what are you waiting for ?? upload it !!
Vivek Kumar

Post by Vivek Kumar »

He'll wrestle Yumoto Kenichi of Japan in quaterfinals. Sheduled for 11 am Beijing local time. 8)

Rahul M wrote: Yogeshwar won :). The first round went to the Kazakh, but the next two Yogeshwar was on top. It was quite exciting to watch -- good quality video to my laptop.
what are you waiting for ?? upload it !![/quote]

oh! I meant nbcolympics.com is real good..the video quality was real good. I installed MS Silverlight and it is a good experience.