India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Re: India Nuclear News and Discussion 23 July 2008

Nuke deal is prime focus of US nuclear policy: Rice: Economic Times

Me thinks Economic Times is very good at projecting American PoV. 8)
"Our principle focus right now has been on the India civil nuclear deal, having worked through the IAEA, now working through the NSG, and still trying to get into a position to make the appropriate presidential determinations in early September. So that's our focus right now on the civil nuclear side," Rice said on her way to Tel Aviv.

http://www.hindu.com/2008/08/26/stories ... 381000.htm
Mulford seeks to reassure India

Siddharth Varadarajan

As G-6 talks conditions, U.S. for ‘clean’ NSG waiver

New Delhi: With the perception gaining ground in official circles here that the United States pulled its punches at last week’s meeting of the Nuclear Suppliers Group, U.S. Ambassador David C. Mulford sought to clear the air by insisting Washington was committed to “working with India to rapidly complete the remaining steps” necessary to conclude the civil nuclear cooperation initiative.

“The U.S. and India stand shoulder-to-shoulder in their desire for a clean exception and we will continue to work with our Indian partners to persuade the NSG countries that such an exemption is in the international community’s best interest,” he said on Monday.

However, despite New Delhi’s misgivings about additional conditions — reiterated by Atomic Energy Commission chairman Anil Kakodkar in remarks to reporters in Mumbai on Sunday — Mr. Mulford did not promise that the waiver the U.S. must push through the NSG to allow nuclear commerce with India would be unconditional.

The Ambassador added that both the U.S. and India would “continue our vigorous joint advocacy for the initiative at the highest levels of NSG governments.”

Mr. Mulford’s assurance comes even as New Zealand Prime Minister Helen Clarke reiterated at a press conference in Wellington on Monday her government’s intention of pressing for amendments to the draft discussed at the NSG last week. New Zealand is part of a group of six countries that acted in concert at the NSG meeting in Vienna last week demanding changes in the draft waiver. The other members of this group are Austria, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland.

In their opening statement to the closed-door meeting on August 21 — a copy of which is with The Hindu — the six warned that they would move “substantive amendments ... with a view to increasing the level of comfort with the proposed exemption.” All of these amendments, they said, “are based on concepts already enshrined in U.N. Security Council Resolutions, in domestic legislation of NSG Participating Governments, and in bilateral nuclear supply agreements which NSG [states] have concluded over the years.”

The reference to U.N. resolutions is clearly to UNSCR 1172, passed after the nuclear tests of 1998, which called on India to sign the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty. And the ‘domestic legislation’ the six have in mind is the Hyde Act, passed by the U.S. Congress in December 2006, which sought to move the goalposts for nuclear cooperation envisaged by the July 2005 agreement in a manner unfavourable to India.

-deleted. article was already posted on the thread. I dont see any button to delete the post unfortunately.
Last edited by putnanja on 26 Aug 2008 01:48, edited 1 time in total.

BJP doubts GoI's sincerity

Govt hopes to get NSG waiver at Sept 4 meeting by Rajeev Deshpande: TOI
There is also a view that some of the amendments or changes relating to enrichment and reprocessing technology, reviews and suspension of the waiver in case India conducted a nuclear test, might well reflect the concerns of Nuclear Suppliers Group members like China. While Beijing has not publicly opposed the waiver, its apparent concern that the non-proliferation regime should not be weakened — despite its own dodgy record on this count — reflects its unease.

India confident N-deal will go through in Sept NSG session by Pramit Pal Chaudhuri: Hindustan Times
Opposition within the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) to the Indo-US nuclear deal has shrunk to just two countries, Austria and New Zealand, say diplomatic sources.
These included: the existing nuclear testing moratorium, no export of enrichment and reprocessing (ENR) technology, and conforming to nonproliferation agreements like the IAEA Additional Protocol and Missile Technology Control Regime.
The conditionality India was most concerned about — the ban on ENR technology — was scuppered by two arguments. One, the NSG has never included such a clause in its guidelines. Two, the US had left a door open for such technology to be passed to India in the Hyde Act. It would be absurd for a group of nuclear nothings to be able to block this access.

On testing, India argued the existing moratorium was already imbedded in nuclear deal documents. It was impossible to go back and change these.

When it came to calls for periodic monitoring of India’s nuclear facilities, the response was, “Who will provide financial compensation for the cost of shutting down reactors?”
GoI/US hope could be of weaning away Ireland, Switzerland, Netherlands, Denmark, Norway, Sweden by making cosmetic changes and bearing on them politically. Austria and NZ would then be isolated. Perhaps the combined weight of the big 4 in EU (Germany, France, UK, Italy) could pacify Austria. NZ would then not press on further conditions.

Folks the dice are loaded. The game appears to be to make the deal collapse. Read the FT editorial.

Ramana,

More likely, in the long run, the Devataa are going to be left with no Swarg! :mrgreen:
Manny

Post by Manny »

There is more editorials from the western press and Western far lefty "intellectuals" against this deal than there was for the Iraq WMD and WAR in Iraq.

I have never seen cowardice like I constantly see from the world's far lefties!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Rangudu

Post by Rangudu »

This is about the 257th such editorial in FT, NYT etc.

Don't read too much into it. The NPAs are realizing that their best day was last week and it's all over now.

sraj

Post by sraj »

Philip wrote:To be fair to New Zealand,it has for decades had a prinicipled stand against nuclear proliferation,even years ago enraging the US by banning US warships (PM David Lange banned the USS Buchannan) from entering NZ ports if they carried nukes.
David Lange stated that if the security alliance was the price New Zealand must pay to remain nuclear-free, 'it is the price we are prepared to pay'{why then did David Lange in 1984, or any of his successors since then including Helen Clark, not take New Zealand out of the ANZUS military alliance with the US and Australia?}.
Despite all the drama with the US, the Kiwis cling to ANZUS.

If nuclear weapons are immoral, they should show the world they have nothing to do with them by walking out of ANZUS and its implicit nuclear umbrella. After all, who is threatening them? They don't have two neighbors who claim their land, have attacked them, and have proliferated merrily without the world doing anything about it?

Did the Kiwis raise their voice against Chinese proliferation? What did they have to say when China was admitted to NSG in 2004 after decades of proliferating? After all, they could have blocked the NSG consensus decision and asked that China pay for its actions!

Shameless and hypocritical people! India will remember them!

Indian officials show anger toward NZ over nuke treaty
"Should we allow ourselves to be pushed? Are we not Indians? Are you not proud of yourself and what you are doing?" Kakodkar said.

To be fair to New Zealand,it has for decades had a prinicipled stand against nuclear proliferation,even years ago enraging the US by banning US warships (PM David Lange banned the USS Buchannan) from entering NZ ports if they carried nukes.
India has been against proliferation too and would love to ban nukes as we all know them. And, India is proposing a civilian nuclear proposal that is better than any other WRT proliferation.

I do not expect NZ or any other nation to understand, forget agree with, the potential need for India to test. I am against it too, but there is a very good chance that India may need to test.

In short, Indian stand is no less principled than that of NZ, if at all it is greater given the circumstances.

There is nothing fair about NZ's stand.

Ak seems to be getting more and more vocal. Wonder if there is another, smaller version, of a J-18 to Hyde Act slide in the planning. He was vocal during that slide too.

I have a feeling that this is the last straw for him - MHO. His last stand.

MMS is too quiet for a rather simple NSG stand.

I am proposing the WSG (Wool Suppliers Group) and if New Zealand wants to trade with us, it should sign the (L)NPT - the (Lice) Non-proliferation Treaty. Also the Additional Protocol, and allow Lice Inspections of all its Wool Facilities. We are very concerned that sheep are being diverted to the ******* program, for use by Paki Jarnails, many of whom have long beards these days, and this poses a grave danger of Lice Proliferation.
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

I don't understand what is Menon doing in US? Having compromised before, GoI should have plainly told US that it is their part of the bargain to deliver on NSG, no negotiating wegotiating any further, take it or leave it. US is playing the game beautifully, it let the poodles bark on its behalf to take the game to a different level and use the eagerness of MMS to sign the deal to bring GoI to the negotiationg table. I suspect a new equilibrium will be reached, in which India will be the loser. If US doesn't not deliver a "clean and unconditional" waiver, it is time for MMS to show statemanship and walk out of the deal and let his spin masters in the media do the rest.

What is menon doing. this is what he is doing at the behest of MMS.

Those waiting Gentlemen .............................. New Zealand, Austria, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway and Switzerland?

nkumar wrote: If US doesn't not deliver a "clean and unconditional" waiver, it is time for MMS to show statemanship and walk out of the deal and let his spin masters in the media do the rest.
NKumar ji,

Absolutely agree with you on that one. However, it's not time yet to make a call on whether the US has or hasn't delivered a "clean and unconditional" waiver. That time will come on or just before Sept5.

And since that time hasn't come it's no surprise why Menon is in the US. India should do and more importantly give the impression of doing everything possible to get a "clean and unconditional" waiver while at the same time make it unambiguously clear what its red lines are.

You'll notice AK is doing just that, while folks like Sreenivasan are floating trial balloons to guage what the contours of a likely agreeable formula can be. Menon being the career diplomat in the team India has put together is doing the actual hard negotiating while Pranab Mukherjee is putting in the political inputs.

I would have thought that it was obvious that India would play the game simultaneously at different levels with different players. Why is it that moves made in different areas are being viewed discretely and then judgment is being passed without looking at the bigger picture? Why this tendency to be the blind men feeling out an elephant?
Having compromised before, GoI should have plainly told US that it is their part of the bargain to deliver on NSG, no negotiating negotiating any further, take it or leave it. US is playing the game beautifully, it let the poodles bark on its behalf to take the game to a different level and use the eagerness of MMS to sign the deal to bring GoI to the negotiationg table. I suspect a new equilibrium will be reached, in which India will be the loser.
However, if we've already decided that we've compromised before; If we already decided that US is playing the game beautifully (by implication India is not); If we already suspect that India will be the loser.

Then I suppose all arguments or actions/reactions are superfluous, na?

When we have no confidence in our own abilities, in our own scientists, diplomats and politicians; When we think that people who have dedicated their entire careers to working for India are actually "batting" for someone else; When we think every Indian excepting ourselves and our near and dear ones are game to be bought over with suitable inducements etc, then is it a wonder the pipsqueaks like New Zealand or Austria thumb their noises at us, fully confident that we'll be too busy wallowing in our own self created misery to notice?

Sorry for the rant!

NRao wrote: MMS is too quite for a rather simple NSG stand.
NRao ji,

I would be interested in knowing what you think MMS should do at this stage of the game? Make a policy statement? I would think the time hasn't come for that. As far as the Govt's position is concerned Pranab Mukherjee has already made one.

IMVHO the Prime Minister of India doesn't make a policy statement at the drop of hat!

I would be interested in knowing what you think MMS should do at this stage of the game?
Just casting a very, very slight doubt on the outcome should do. Let us hope he has done it behind the scenes.
Make a policy statement?
Is he capable, after the slide from J-18 to the Hyde Act? (sorry if that is not PC and crosses some line in the sand). The confidence vote was one of the worst, IMHO, that could have happened in the largest democracy and supported by the oldest.

And, finally, considering the voice coming from AK, why is he keeping quite?

I would be interested in knowing what you think MMS should do at this stage of the game?
Just casting a very, very slight doubt on the outcome should do.
Make a policy statement?
Is he capable, after the slide from J-18 to the Hyde Act? (sorry if that is not PC and crosses some line in the sand). The confidence vote was one of the worst, IMHO, that could have happened in the largest democracy and supported by the oldest.

And, finally, considering the voice coming from AK, why is he keeping quite?

Have you considered the possibility that AK may be taking tough because he's been asked to by MMS? And not because he's playing Lone Ranger guarding India's interests? The casting doubt bit has already done by the External Affairs Minister. Surely Pranab babu is senior enough to make a policy statement?

MMS not making a statement at this point keeps India's options open. If the PM makes a statement then the maneuvering space becomes limited. Have you considered that? It's not just a question of political correctness it's also a case of political astuteness, IMVHO opinion of course!

And I agree with you the confidence vote was one of the worst. However, I think the blame should fall on our entire political class and not just on MMS. Why is it that the cash for bribes thingy seems to have quieten down? Why is it that many opposition party MPs voted for the government, presumably after taking bribes? Is MMS solely to blame for dishonest opposition MPs?

IMVHO the Prime Minister of India doesn't make a policy statement at the drop of hat!
Hmmmmm.. $100 Billion investment and the hope of an entire country for the next 4+ decades = "drop of hat"?
Have you considered the possibility that AK may be taking tough because he's been asked to by MMS? And not because he's playing Lone Ranger guarding India's interests?
No. BUT, having followed AK, I am convinced that if both were to walk past each other they will not acknowledge each other. The only good stuff I see is that MMS does not seem to have poked his nose in the IAEA agreement.
MMS not making a statement at this point keeps India's options open
What optionS? He can walk away is the only option. Or are you saying he may give up testing or worse still sign NPT/CTBT?
If the PM makes a statement
I never said he should make a "statement". 3-5 casual words are enough. At this point in time every word of his words will be weighed very seriously.
it's also a case of political astuteness
I certainly hope you are right, and, I am wrong.
However, I think the blame should fall on our entire political class and not just on MMS
I expect transparency. Which is doable in democracies.

BTW, these "deals" (123, IAEA and NSG) will come to bite India because they all are very interpretable. Be very aware that India has no reproc techs so far, and, such. MMS has still not got all he wanted ......... they have, at best, kicked the can. So, giving a policy statement I would think would be actually welcome at this point in time. The world needs to know what it would really mean if India did not get this waiver. Like I said, $100 Billion and a potentially 8% per year eco for India ...... which is what could be lost.

Hmmmmm.. $100 Billion investment and the hope of an entire country for the next 4+ decades = "drop of hat"?
Have you considered the possibility that AK may be taking tough because he's been asked to by MMS? And not because he's playing Lone Ranger guarding India's interests?
No. BUT, having followed AK, I am convinced that if both were to walk past each other they will not acknowledge each other. The only good stuff I see is that MMS does not seem to have poked his nose in the IAEA agreement.
MMS not making a statement at this point keeps India's options open
What optionS? He can walk away is the only option. Or are you saying he may give up testing or worse still sign NPT/CTBT?
If the PM makes a statement
I never said he should make a "statement". 3-5 casual words are enough. At this point in time every word of his words will be weighed very seriously.
it's also a case of political astuteness
I certainly hope you are right, and, I am wrong.
However, I think the blame should fall on our entire political class and not just on MMS
I expect transparency. Which is doable in democracies.

BTW, these "deals" (123, IAEA and NSG) will come to bite India because they all are very interpretable. Be very aware that India has no reproc techs so far, and, such. MMS has still not got all he wanted ......... they have, at best, kicked the can. So, giving a policy statement I would think would be actually welcome at this point in time. The world needs to know what it would really mean if India did not get this waiver. Like I said, $100 Billion and a potentially 8% per year eco for India ...... which is what could be lost.
I think the folks who matter, that is the French, Russians etc understand fully well what is the opportunity cost of India walking out. MMS does not need to make a policy statement to make them aware at this stage.

Whether AK or MMS exchange pleasantries or acknowledge each other is besides the point. I think both are professional enough not to let personal likes or dislikes interfere in the official work.

As long as MMS doesn't sign on to a compromise on Sept5 IMO things should be fine. Action is what counts, talk is cheap.

As to the rest of your post, I'll pass, it's your personal feelings, you're entitled to them just as much as I am to mine.

My my, so many editorials!

Cant tell if the din is to mask a far* or the crumbling sounds of some grand palace. The picture that comes to mind is from the Jungle Book and the monkeys They had fun while it lasted.

Have you considered the possibility that AK may be taking tough because he's been asked to by MMS?
Have you considered the possibility that in the begining MMS having not kept the Scicom in loop, AK is now once again muttering his concerns.

If what you say is true then does it not prove that MMS cant stand on his feet and be tough?
Last edited by John Snow on 26 Aug 2008 11:11, edited 1 time in total.
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

amit ji,

You seem to have tremendous confidence in MMS and GoI machinery in use for this deal. But I don't share your optimism.

MMS has broken his commitments given to the Parliament wrt to the deal and then subverts democracy to pass the deal. He calls for a broadest possible consensus but never calls for an all party meeting. MKN admits there were state dept lawyers on the US side while negotiating for 123 while our country is not that legalistic, so there is no point in having lawyers, it is another matter that GoI puts Sibal (a Harvard trained lawyer) in front to defend a deal, how ironic! Saran says that it would be unrealistic to not expect NSG to add conditions, thereby nuking the GoI stand of "clean, clear and unconditional" waiver. Mulford calls India's stand of clean and unconditional waiver as provocative but Menon or anybody from the GoI doesn't remind him that it is perfectly reasonable to expect clean and unconditional waiver and this was the part of the bargain. Still the editors of leading national papers believe that this deal is good for India. Indeed, GoI is playing the game beautifully!!
arnab

Post by arnab »

http://www.pmindia.nic.in/FAQs%20on%20n ... .07.08.pdf

The FAQ's on the nuke deal on the PM's website. Apologies if posted earlier. Though would not hurt to revisit.

And yes we need a very very stong leader - Kim Jong IL variety. Someone who would fight the world for the NRI's to the last RI :)

What makes you think we dont have one? :mrgreen:

He is not an elected PM. :wink:
But has proven his Il jong variety of winning no confidence motion! :rotfl:

Actually my sources in PMO say that they are taping into swiss banks again for yet another no confidence winning motion, being eagerly sought by samajwadi party again in the interest of the Nations Resident Indians. :mrgreen:
arnab

Post by arnab »

John Snow wrote:
Have you considered the possibility that AK may be taking tough because he's been asked to by MMS?

If what you say is true then does it not prove that MMS cant stand on his feet and be tough?
What makes you think we dont have one?
There you have answered your own question :)
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

amit, I noted the part you have quoted from Sreeenivasan's article, which you call as an "important point".
I think the important point in Sreenivasan's article is this:
But if the NSG is suggesting inclusion of new conditionalities such as signing of the NPT or CTBT even in the distant future, they should be rejected outright.
Let me quote for the full paragraph from the article for you:
If the NSG is seeking to bring into the waiver only those elements which India has approved in one way or the other in the last three years, we should have no hesitation to discuss the amendments suggested. There is no such thing as an unconditional waiver, as is obvious from the present draft. But if the NSG is suggesting inclusion of new conditionalities such as signing of the NPT or CTBT even in the distant future, they should be rejected outright.
What Sreenivasan is suggesting is that India should agree to more amendments. Is that not an important point of the article? How does this square with clean and unconditional waiver?
arnab

Post by arnab »

nkumar wrote:amit, I noted the part you have quoted from Sreeenivasan's article, which you call as an "important point".
I think the important point in Sreenivasan's article is this:
Let me quote for the full paragraph from the article for you:
If the NSG is seeking to bring into the waiver only those elements which India has approved in one way or the other in the last three years, we should have no hesitation to discuss the amendments suggested. There is no such thing as an unconditional waiver, as is obvious from the present draft. But if the NSG is suggesting inclusion of new conditionalities such as signing of the NPT or CTBT even in the distant future, they should be rejected outright.
What Sreenivasan is suggesting is that India should agree to more amendments. Is that not an important point of the article? How does this square with clean and unconditional waiver?
It might square depending on what these additional ammendments / conditions are. Why don't we wait instead of hyperventilating? Hypothetically, if an ammendment is put through saying - 'India should not send a cow to the moon because the RSPCA objects', we might agree to these kinds of ammendment :)
China (Chinalco) for instance agreed to conditions like 'they would not appoint anyone to the Board of Directors in Rio Tinto'. This is despite having almost a 14 per cent share in Rio-Tinto. I'm not sure if anybody in China was leaping around trying to defend the soverign right to appoint a Director. Let us not miss the wood for the trees

nkumar wrote:amit ji,

You seem to have tremendous confidence in MMS and GoI machinery in use for this deal. But I don't share your optimism.

MMS has broken his commitments given to the Parliament wrt to the deal and then subverts democracy to pass the deal. He calls for a broadest possible consensus but never calls for an all party meeting. MKN admits there were state dept lawyers on the US side while negotiating for 123 while our country is not that legalistic, so there is no point in having lawyers, it is another matter that GoI puts Sibal (a Harvard trained lawyer) in front to defend a deal, how ironic! Saran says that it would be unrealistic to not expect NSG to add conditions, thereby nuking the GoI stand of "clean, clear and unconditional" waiver. Mulford calls India's stand of clean and unconditional waiver as provocative but Menon or anybody from the GoI doesn't remind him that it is perfectly reasonable to expect clean and unconditional waiver and this was the part of the bargain. Still the editors of leading national papers believe that this deal is good for India. Indeed, GoI is playing the game beautifully!!
The game is well played :)
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

"Hyperventilating"..good word to use..reminds me of the articles of C. Raja Mohan, KS and the daily dose from IE about India losing face internationally if we don't sign the deal :rotfl:
dada

Post by dada »

80% of the NSG members belong to the European Union/Erstwhile Russian States
Is this a US v/s EU v/s Russian political tug of war on the Indian Nuclear Deal ?
arnab

Post by arnab »

nkumar wrote:"Hyperventilating"..good word to use..reminds me of the articles of C. Raja Mohan, KS and the daily dose from IE about India losing face internationally if we don't sign the deal :rotfl:
Uh..so if we can't beat 'em - Join 'em :) I thought folks came to BRF to specifically avoid this sort of sensationalism. If we are here to mirror mainstream media, why bother ?
nkumar

Post by nkumar »

arnab wrote:
nkumar wrote:"Hyperventilating"..good word to use..reminds me of the articles of C. Raja Mohan, KS and the daily dose from IE about India losing face internationally if we don't sign the deal :rotfl:
Uh..so if we can't beat 'em - Join 'em :) I thought folks came to BRF to specifically avoid this sort of sensationalism. If we are here to mirror mainstream media, why bother ?
How difficult it is for you to understand that I was highlighting the selective quoting and then highlighting it as an important point. Did we agree to statements like these, 'India should not send a cow to the moon because the RSPCA objects' in the past 3 years, which Sreenivasan is suggesting that India should have no problem with.

The Diplomatic Knives :evil:

US-India civil nuclear agreement: Press Release of NZ Govt.
"The discussions last week were robust and constructive and we look forward to continuing this dialogue around a revised draft exemption text at next month's meeting," Phil Goff said.

"Around 50 amendments have been proposed to the original text, with many countries speaking in favour of amendments.

"The key function of the NSG is to formulate guidelines for managing exports of nuclear material, equipment and technology to ensure that this trade does not contribute to nuclear weapons proliferation.

"Discussions in Vienna focused on how to ensure compatibility of these objectives with the exemptions, sought for the US-India Civil Nuclear Co-operation Agreement.

"While New Zealand remains a strong advocate of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty and the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty and would welcome India's accession to these treaties, we have not included these elements in our package of proposals.

"New Zealand engaged constructively in the discussions, acknowledging potential benefits involved in the Agreement and its good relationship with both countries, while noting concerns and the need for consistency in pursuing the objective of non-proliferation.

"A large number of countries big and small expressed views similar to New Zealand's that there needed to be compatibility between the US-India Agreement and the goals of the NSG, and indicated a willingness to engage positively to achieve that outcome," Phil Goff said.
No, New Zealand did not mention conditions, which it knows will not be taken seriously, only those technical conditions aimed at true sabotage, conditions made by Daryl Kimball kind. Phil Goff wants the world to think, he is some kind of smiling smooth operator, who will bring India to her knees with smooth talk, building coalitions with the other pipsqueak. He will be disappointed. He holds only the self-destruct card. :evil:
Last edited by RajeshA on 26 Aug 2008 12:29, edited 3 times in total.

dada wrote:80% of the NSG members belong to the European Union/Erstwhile Russian States
Is this a US v/s EU v/s Russian political tug of war on the Indian Nuclear Deal ?
There is US on one side, Common wealth UK - Old world , Russia and eastern states and then Japan and China.
This is basically discussion on agreement between these countries.