From famine-basket-case to superpower in one generation, without violent revolutions, or denying rights to the poorest of our citizens.
Congratulations to fellow Brites.
From famine-basket-case to superpower in one generation, without violent revolutions, or denying rights to the poorest of our citizens.
Boss, a very good post I really enjoyed reading it.p_saggu wrote: And thanks to Manmohan Singh, he got similar brickbats during the initial three years or so after the economic reforms were launched, but everyone grudgingly came around.
The man is tenacious. My respect and kudos to him. He doesn't entirely satisfy my jingo needs. His world view differs quite a bit from my generation. He's old enough to be my grandfather, so no surprises. And who knows how my world view will be when I am his age.And thanks to Manmohan Singh, he got similar brickbats during the initial three years or so after the economic reforms were launched, but everyone grudgingly came around.
Philip,Philip wrote:If one is willing to sell one's own (and the nation's) soul,anything will be passed by a foreign power ! Read the Rice report and PK Iyengar's article "True colours of the Nuclear deal",which in detail exposes the flaws in the deal.Simply put,the three main facts are given below. main
Excerpts from PKI's article:
(1) The 123 Agreement is subject to the provisions of the Hyde Act and the Atomic Energy Act, and does not supersede them.
(2) In the event of a disruption of fuel supply from the US, the Americans will not help arrange for fuel from another country .
(3) There will be no transfer of enrichment technology, and even permission for reprocessing imported fuel may be denied.
Nayak Bhai,Nayak wrote:Waiting for a post on how India has been sold down the river and all that yada yada yada.
![]()
![]()
I think Arnold is angling to join the next administration, either Obama or McCain. I don't think he is cut out to be a senator.amdavadi wrote:Barbara boxer will surely be replace, as her term ends in 2010, At the same time arnold will be looking for a job.I have heard arnold will make a run for senate seat..She is very much vulnerable going against arnold to keep her senate seat in 2010.
Nayak bhai,Nayak wrote:Amit-dada, India must be one of the most over-sold nation on this earth. Even a 2 bit commie screams about the sale.
Down with the Running Dogs of Capitalism! Inqulab Zindabad!While the party has opened an amusement park and is planning to enter the hotel business, it has also invested a substantial amount of its income in mutual funds that invest in stocks. So, even comrades cannot resist the lure of better returns. Income tax returns filed by the party from 2002 to 2006 show it has earned a substantial amount from interest and dividends: Rs 1.88 crore (2002), Rs 1.17 crore (2003), Rs 2.10 crore (2004), Rs 2.15 crore (2005) and Rs 1.92 crore (2006).
“We have invested in mutual funds because we get better returns than banks. But we have only invested in public sector funds like the Unit Trust of India,” senior Politburo member M K Pandhe told 'The Indian Express'. He declined to mention what share of the income came from mutual funds.
Doesn’t matter that in the portfolio of UTI Equity Fund, for example, PSUs are not exactly at the top. As of July 31, 2008, the fund’s portfolio included Reliance Industries, Glaxosmithkline, Reliance Communications, Tata Tea, TCS, Infosys and Shoppers Stop.
Price points have been quoted before, you must have missed them. They ranged from a World Bank posting post retirement for the PM to ...Nayak wrote:Yeesh, btw, none of the nay-sayers have ever told me what is the price for which this gareeb desh has been sold for !!
Tell that to the Japanese after their entire Industry was wiped out after WWII, and the British who can't lift a nuclear finger in anger becasue the codes are in Washington.What a sick joke at the IAEA about India "exporting" its own N-technology,when it is destroying itself and its own N-future for US "turd-world" junk!
Wow, this is bordering on delusion and building castles in the air. It would be laughable if it were not tragic.
WE DID IT. JAI HIND!
Yesh, people here have coined the word "Indic"CRamS wrote:Wow, this is bordering on delusion and building castles in the air. It would be laughable if it were not tragic.
WE DID IT. JAI HIND!
In this century, friendship with this country is essential to US security and to the safety and security of all humankind
Not necessarily sir. Nuclear power doesn't come cheap for India. Even if N power makes significant contribution to the power sector, we might be assured of 24 hr power supply, but not cheap power. Gobar gas and its likes will still be used, wherever energy is required at low cost. Im sure, in the future, we will see global uranium crisis like the current oil crisis. Still, it is better to negotiate with civilized countries like CAN,AUS,BRAZ than the mullah dominated barbaria etc, which uses our money to harm us. We have this thorium plan as well. I repeat, uninterrupted power supply at affordable cost.narayanan wrote:By the way, I may have neglected to mention this, but I am 399% against nuclear power as a long-term solution.I think it is a cop-out, that shuts down innovations in conservation, energy-efficiency and localized power generation. Nuclear power may be OK for a few critical enterprises, and for submarines, but that's it.
Giant utilities that mar the landscape with these monstrosities will run rough-shod over the attempts of the Aam Janata to shake free from the bonds of capitalist imperialist monopoly in power generation.
As with the Salt Satyagraha, I think it is now time for a Power Satyagraha. Bring in the technologies where power generation at the micro scale is encouraged!
POWER TO THE PEOPLE! INQUILAB ZINDABAD! DOWN WITH NUCLEAR POWER!
UP WITH GOBAR GAS!
What you mean BRF admins? Could you explain what you are talking about? Are you trying to take a swipe at someone specific and hiding your jibe behind the hijab of the phrase "BRF admins"Mort Walker wrote:N^3,
I was hoping all of the EBs would chime in this thread toward the end, but somehow they are now gyab.![]()
Do you think the BRF admins now owe an apology to Sunil Sanis and Alok_N?
P_Saggu ji, I think this post states my position w.r.t. this deal.p_saggu wrote:Arun_S ji
Are you officially changing your stand and welcoming this passage of the deal? Your post suggests, that provided india does the required investment in LIF and other tech, we can as yet realize our dream to hold forth a "Credible" nuclear detterant.
The deal is so far off from J18 that its not even worth trying to see any semblance of similarity except piles of constrains and responsibility on India and very poor "Return On Investment" in return for that burden.Arun_S wrote:Had to claw up to reach here. But this is a major position to be in. Didnt want anything in this legislation that even remotely jeopardize the hard earned NSG waiver.
Far from being ideal but it is now and here and a good enough beachhead to establish ourselves and grow up from here to a position matching India position, capability and aspiration of 1.2 billion people. For the high priests of US Congress this once and for all removes India to be the punching bag, for the biblical Original Sin. This establishes in US Congress the belated recognition of India as Nuclear weapon state, out side NPT, yet strengthening NPT and not wrecking it.
March forward now.
Its fitting that Rice travels to India to deliver the deal. It was she as the NSA who started the Rand reports etc and envisoned a new direction for US Foreign Policy.India hopes Bush will iron out final N-deal irritants
NDTV Correspondent
Thursday, October 02, 2008, (New Delhi)
After the US Senate passed the nuclear deal, India is now waiting for President Bush's signing statement. Government sources have told NDTV that they hope he will address India's concerns with some of the language used in the Bill.
The US President can override parts of the bill if he chooses to.
Some of India's worries include:
The bill says that apart from the Hyde act and US Atomic Energy Act, "any other" US law would be applicable to the 123 Agreement.
It says the 123 cannot supercede the Hyde act that the US will seek to "prevent" the transfer of nuclear material and equipment from other NSG countries, if America terminated supplies.
America's understanding of the legal meaning of the agreement is based on what the President told the Congress last month that the fuel supply assurances are political commitments and are not legally binding.
Sources say US President Bush has personally assured the Prime Minister that he will take care of these concerns.
Manny Bhai, let them know there is job waiting for them in a call centre in Bastar . There is a urgent need for CBW over there.Manny wrote:Not one mention so far!
What are they wiating for?
http://www.armscontrol.org/act/current
Oh well..there is a statement here
http://www.armscontrol.org/node/3363