Global Economy

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
satya

Re: GLOBAL ECONOMY

Post by satya »

It seems like FT has given its thumb-up to British Govt. Financial Rescue Plan.IMVHO , argument in FT makes it looks more workable option than US one :
A shift from bumbling to sensible policy
During much of the past year, British financial authorities have looked like Bertie Wooster-style, bumbling amateurs in the face of the banking meltdown. Now, finally – albeit belatedly – they have got something right.

Alistair Darling, chancellor of the exchequer, on Wednesday announced that the government would spend up to £400bn underpinning the banks. The only thing more startling than those dazzling zeroes is that Mr Darling is now overseeing a policy package that is arguably more sensible than anything else emanating from the western world.

For this package suggests that British mandarins have finally learnt to draw sensible lessons from the past, most notably from the 1990s crises in Japan and Sweden. More striking still, these moves could also provide pointers for how the US authorities could improve their own policies.

There are at least three reasons to cheer. The first is that the UK government has acknowledged something the Americans remain reluctant to admit: that when a banking crisis is this bad, it makes more sense to recapitalise banks by buying preference shares than by purchasing their duff assets.

That does not necessarily mean that a “Tarp” – the scheme the US is creating to purchase toxic debt – is a bad idea. On the contrary, if the Tarp creates a liquid market for mortgage debt and removes rot from bank books, then all financial players will benefit – including those in London. This puts the British authorities in an unusually favourable position in formulating their own policies. (Aunty making money on Unkil's woes :wink: )

However, the problem with the Tarp is that the toxic assets are so fiendishly complex that they cannot be easily valued or traded. Even in good times, it can take a computer several days to price complex collateralised debt obligations. That creates daunting logistical obstacles for a Tarp, which could delay or blur the balance sheet benefits.

Putting money directly into the banks, by contrast, is a fast and transparent way to help them. Moreover, it worked relatively well when it was employed by Japan and Sweden a decade ago, in tandem with various initiatives to purchase toxic assets. Better still, while both Sweden and Japan badly underestimated the scale of their crisis when it started, once they finally produced a hefty bail-out plan, they eventually recouped most of their investment. ( A nation of shopkeepers always knows how to make money it seem )

A second point of cheer is that the British now also seem ready to take other steps to get credit and money markets moving again. The most eye-catching element of this revolves around injections into the money markets. However, what is equally important is a pledge that debt issued by banks will be protected from default.

That may sound arcane. However, it is crucial. Until last month, European and US investors assumed that bonds issued by large banks were safe, since they had been protected in previous decades. But the manner of Lehman Brothers’ collapse shattered that belief in a manner that sparked a catastrophic chain of fear. The Federal Reserve’s apparent failure to anticipate that shock represents one of its biggest single policy mistakes. Wednesday’s announcement suggests the UK authorities have no intention of repeating this disastrous error. So much the better.

However, the third reason for cheer lies not in arcane finance – but sociology. Right now many voters are understandably furious with bankers. No wonder. When the banking crisis hit Japan a decade ago, bankers bowed to show their public remorse; this time, however, barely a single western banker has even said “sorry”.

Now, there is no guarantee that the British government can assuage this anger; but on Wednesday it did at least promise to impose more “discipline” on bankers. That may turn out to be mere window dressing; but it is more than anything offered by Washington so far.

Of course, none of this guarantees the UK can now end its banking woes, let alone avoid a recession. Unlike the Japanese and Swedish crises, this one is international. As a result, the fortunes of British finance now depend on more than UK policymaking alone.

But, with a bit of international co-ordination – and a hefty dose of luck – London does now have a chance of stabilising its banking system. The tragedy is that it took so much incompetence and denial – on both sides of the Atlantic – to arrive at this point. If nothing else, the next generation of bankers and financial bureaucrats should be compelled to start their careers by spending time studying financial history books.

I do not know why the western press is comatose to financial misdeeds and their corrosive social effects when the going is good. Comparing Norsemen to Thai crony third-worlders! How they tear at their collars now!

Nikkei 225 is down 900 pts (9.5%) this morning. What's happening in Japan ? The Dow and Nikkei seem to be on a race to the bottom, each ending lower than the other on a daily basis the last few days.

Suraj wrote:Nikkei 225 is down 900 pts (9.5%) this morning. What's happening in Japan ? The Dow and Nikkei seem to be on a race to the bottom, each ending lower than the other on a daily basis the last few days.
Ha.. Ha.. Nothing new here jee. Didn't we say that Finance Whiz kids and Fyzzicists are same same ? . This is the tertiary stage aka, the "fusion stage" going off on an ultra mega ton boom jee. This is the fusion stage of the Tsar Bomba going off!

But Dow at 8600 is an amazing fall from 14K or so in an amazingly short time.

I believe Sakharovji and Igor Tammji made a small decimal placement error on the physics
yield calculations for placement of the fusion secondary. instead of the 52MT desired,
they built one for 520MT and lit the fuse :((

the shockwave has already circled the world 108 times and the mushroom cloud threatens
all of life.

Suraj wrote:Nikkei 225 is down 900 pts (9.5%) this morning. What's happening in Japan ? The Dow and Nikkei seem to be on a race to the bottom, each ending lower than the other on a daily basis the last few days.
The Dow is due to unwinding of hedge fund positions and the Nikkei is probably due to unwinding of cross equity holdings - both due to margin/liquidity reasons.
Last edited by ldev on 10 Oct 2008 08:46, edited 1 time in total.

Iceland’s Prime Minister stated: "What we have learned from this whole exercise over the last few years is that it is not wise for a small country to try to take a leading role in international banking.” :rotfl:

Guys..I need a favor...there was a movie in which a russian guy plans to bring down wall street and there by US Economy to its knees with a $640M (?) scam. He will then be found out and shot along with his accomplices in Japan, NY, UK and elsewhere. Which movie was it? Thanks.

Singha wrote:I believe Sakharovji and Igor Tammji made a small decimal placement error on the physics
yield calculations for placement of the fusion secondary. instead of the 52MT desired,
they built one for 520MT and lit the fuse :((

the shockwave has already circled the world 108 times and the mushroom cloud threatens
all of life.
Singha boss,

In your inimitable way, you have hit the nail on the head. The primary core was the imprudently doled out mortagages, the tamper was the mortage backed securities and the fusion secondary that you have so aptly described are the credit default swaps. And as Nassim Taleb says in his piece, they made a boo boo in the math modelling..... :(( and instead of a 52MT yield, you have a 520MT yield!!

ldev wrote:In your inimitable way, you have hit the nail on the head. The primary core was the imprudently doled out mortagages, the tamper was the mortage backed securities and the fusion secondary that you have so aptly described are the credit default swaps. And as Nassim Taleb says in his piece, they made a boo boo in the math modelling..... :(( and instead of a 52MT yield, you have a 520MT yield!!
ldev jee. Small Klariphcashun onree.

The primary was the "subprime crisis" implosion ie the implosion trigger, with the fall of Bear,Lehman leading to the collapse of Freddie and Fannie being the "boosted fission" secondary, with the fall of AIG, and all those other banks in wall street being the compression of the deuteride and tritium fuel , leading to the fusion happening and the uber Tsar Bomba boosted to 10 times expected yield ..(oops too much fuel in the 3rd stage saar!) :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .

But Nassem Nicholas Taleb was absolutely spot on. In fact his book "Black Swan" is in front of god for Saraswati Puja /Vijay Dashami from my side ,along with SHQ and the kid's books. In fact, if you read Black Swan, he talks about the previous banking crisises in the US and how in the south american default when ALL South American and Central American countries defaulted collectively at the same time , the US banks lost many times (did he say 1000)more money they had ever made in the collective existence of banking in the US until then! .. I knew the "Brady" bonds in the US, but I had no idea that the bail out was on such a massive scale back then. The S&L crisis was another one..

The "experts" and phony stat's guys based on time series analysis seems pretty confident on having a handle on the risks!.. Think of it. If these jokers cannot get something as simple as the stock market right, depsite pouring billions and the brightest PhDs from the best univs in the world, what chance in hell did they have in getting something as complex a national economy as India's by some ridiculously simplistic econometric models.. What chance do they have of getting something as complex as the human mind and social interactions with any degree of certainty in some linear regression models ? No wonder the damned things keep breaking all the time.

No sir.. The JNU/DSE/ISI/Oxbridge types are omniscient like god.. why ? because they got "Religion" at Oxbridge and they can do time series statistical math saar!.

Wonder when the dubai dream will collapse -
Arab economies ill-prepared for global shocks

http://www.gulfnews.com/business/Markets/10250923.html

Agencies
Published: October 10, 2008, 00:27

Beirut: Like anyone invested in global financial markets, Arab sovereign funds, investment banks and rich individuals are taking a severe beating.

Also getting queasy are those who have poured money into real estate ventures in boom towns like Dubai or Doha, or the frothy housing markets of Amman, Damascus and Beirut that have been fuel-led by remittances and investments from the Gulf.

"People who have money in the Middle East are deeply plugged into the global financial system. They have nowhere else to go," argued Rami Khouri, a Beirut-based Middle East commentator.

"We are getting a double whammy - the direct impact of the global financial crisis and the cumulative backlash of our own mediocre public policies in the last 40 years."

Change in fortunes

Middle East stock markets, at first shielded by the region's vast oil money inflows, saw panic selling this week amid fears that a five-year Gulf property boom was over and developers would have to merge as financing conditions worsened.

Kuwait slashed its benchmark discount rate by 125 basis point to 4.50 per cent from 5.75 on Wednesday to shore up its economy, putting pressure on other Gulf banks to follow suit.

A plunge in world oil prices to around $89.27 a barrel from a record $147 in July has provided another sharp reminder of the vulnerability of many Arab economies to global shocks - even those where free-market policies have made only slow inroads.

"The Arab region is not yet fully globalised. It represents no more than 2.5 per cent of the world economy, from which it is still disconnected, except for oil," said Louis Hobeika, an economics professor at Lebanon's Notre Dame University.

That disconnect might provide some protection from global upheaval, he added. "However, during a period of recovery, we lose a lot because we don't grow with the rest of the world."

In Egypt, the world crisis should make free-market reforms like privatisation all the more urgent, said Angus Blair, head of research at investment bank Beltone Financial in Cairo.
I have nothing but contempt for these camel-jockeys. I shall rejoice when India will be finally free from the oil addiction and gleefully watch their fancy towers crumbling to bits in the desert sands.

Arabee ghadas - ack thoo

Thanks God............no apartment for me in Dubai :). I know many who invested there just because everybody was doing that.I could never imagine living among pseudo-civilized barbarians. If oil comes to 30 USD level I promise 7 star Al-Burj will be used as kabootar spotting place by camel riders.

October 9, 2008, 2:45 pm
The Looming Lehman CDS Unwind

Posted by MarketBeat Staff

Geoffrey Rogow reports:

On the heels of similar auction processes for Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac and Washington Mutual late last month will be the expected Friday settlement for buyers of about $400 billion of protection on Lehman Brothers debt.

For now, traders in the equity market are concerned about the prospects for the settlement, adding that its uncertainty is casting a dark cloud over the most likely holders of the debt — big banks such as Morgan Stanley, Goldman Sachs and J.P. Morgan Chase.

This Lehman credit default swaps settlement auction will likely be one of the most expensive payouts in the history of that market, something the government is certainly keeping an eye on.

The Fed has called a second meeting to discuss the settlement of Lehman CDSs, among other issues, on Friday. “They think there is still counterparty risk out there. But, if we get through that hurdle without too many issues then you will see a more stable market into next week,” said John O’Donoghue, head of equities for Cowen & Co.

O’Donoghue said the Fed is trying to make sure there is a “smooth” settlement process where that agency can then move towards making the settlement process a more government-regulated, centralized market.
Permalink | Trackback URL: http://blogs.wsj.com/marketbeat/2008/10 ... trackback/

Armageddon is here and now...though not the way predicted! Everyone's rushing to buy gold,but can you eat it?
My advice,stock up on a year's supply of comestibles,at least you and your family won't starve!

Markets slump as fear spreads
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/busin ... 57114.html

Financial crisis: Panic selling wipes £100bn off UK companies
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2008 ... editcrunch

Markets slump as fear spreads

PA
Friday, 10 October 2008
REUTERS/Darren Whiteside

A trader leaves the floor of the Philippine Stock Exchange, where shares closed down 8.33 per cent in today's trading, as Asian stocks plunged today

Panic sends Dow to its worst crash in 21 years
History lessons: Galbraith's 'The Great Crash 1929' is still essential reading today
Crisis deepens for Iceland as last of 'big three' banks is nationalised

The crisis facing world stock markets deepened today after global recession fears sparked more heavy losses in Asia and on Wall Street. London's benchmark FTSE 100 index tumbled 10 per cent before recovering a little.

Japan's benchmark Nikkei 225 index shed more than 10 per cent, while the Dow Jones Industrial Average closed below 9000 for the first time since 2003.

Traders witnessed a similar bloodbath in London. The FTSE 100 Index today opened 9 per cent lower, crashing down 406.7 to 3907. The Footsie later steadied, but at 5 per cent lower at 4096 it was still almost 18 per cent down on the start of the week.

The latest market pressure came despite coordinated interest rate cuts and this week's efforts by the UK Government to bolster UK banks.

US treasury secretary Hank Paulson also said yesterday he was "actively considering" injecting public money into financial institutions.

But the moves have so far failed to thaw frozen money markets, with the rate at which banks lend to each other for three months widening to 6.28 per cent from 6.27 per cent.

The declines on Wall Street came as a three-week ban on short-selling on almost 1,000 stocks was lifted.

Matt Buckland, a trader at CMC Markets, said: "Yesterday's expiry of the short selling ban in the US certainly saw the financial stocks take a pummelling but overall it's the fact that despite the huge fire-fighting efforts of central banks worldwide we still haven't seen any thawing of interbank lending that is going to be causing the most concern now.

"US and European taxpayers have collectively tried to dig the financial sector out of one almighty hole but the response certainly hasn't been as planned."

Thursday's sell-off on Wall Street took place one year to the day after the Dow closed at its record high of 14,164. Since then, frozen credit markets, record levels of mortgage defaults and job losses and outright fear have knocked 39 per cent from the value of the index.

Paper losses for the year add up to 8.3 trillion US dollars, according to preliminary research by the Dow Jones Wilshire 5000 Composite Index, which tracks 5,000 US-based companies traded in the United States.

David Wyss, chief economist at Standard & Poor's in New York said: "Right now the market is just panicked. Nobody wants to take on any risk. Everybody just wants to get their money and put it under the mattress."

The Nikkei finished 881 points lower in its worst session since Black Monday in 1987.

vina wrote: The "experts" and phony stat's guys based on time series analysis seems pretty confident on having a handle on the risks!.. Think of it. If these jokers cannot get something as simple as the stock market right, depsite pouring billions and the brightest PhDs from the best univs in the world, what chance in hell did they have in getting something as complex a national economy as India's by some ridiculously simplistic econometric models.. What chance do they have of getting something as complex as the human mind and social interactions with any degree of certainty in some linear regression models ? No wonder the damned things keep breaking all the time.

No sir.. The JNU/DSE/ISI/Oxbridge types are omniscient like god.. why ? because they got "Religion" at Oxbridge and they can do time series statistical math saar!.
i dunno about econometric models. so please bear.
what phor are they using linear models? and what type of linear models?
i listened to taleb's aug interview and i will get black swan.
but in the meanwhile gyan-walas please to cite some useful references.

linearity itself is not so problematic, problem is uncertainty modeling. is that what you are also saying?

some of these techniques were developed by psychologists. i flew off a handle when i heard and read some of the papers in these areas.
especially this thing called as factor analysis as employed in psychology is a lot of smokes and mirrors. even otherwise, in fields like psychology, i kept arguing with my prof, numbers are fine, but how do you know what it means, and how does it help me make decisions at a personal level? simple things like 80% success rate of a medical procedure. how do i make a decision?

Axiom 1:
Economics is grounded in Rational behavior, expectations, and optimization of utility.

Now we are in the regime of irrational and spontaneous integrity suspect domain.

Also folks why do I see all anchors hosts and pundits on TV a little pale, is something wrong with my vision or is it palin effect?

Stocks tumble at open -- Dow sinks more than 500 points in first 5 minutes of trading.

JS,
after listening to taleb i am all pumped up. he hit a nerve somewhere. i ordered the book.

i am pretty sure i am overreacting, but please let me get it out of my system.

in a fit of idealism, i once sat through a few lectures in a public finance class. (logistically, the classes were on tuesday and friday evenings and the boss man himself was on a sabattical. so it was very convenient, i thought.)

it was an awesome experience after years of sitting through engineering classes. i realized that they have an axiomatic approach to economics and to governance. and my appreciation for non-engineering fields of study grew by a factor of 100. (i was an idiot to assume to assume the worst)

it was presented as an axiomatic study. so i assumed there were parallels to engineering. i assumed that first they will teach you the equivalent of set theory. then they will teach you measure theory. and from this will flower probability theory and then some day the grand old tree of stochastics. and so on.

so initially it was fine, but eventually as they started building on it, things became very shaky. the math i could swim through, but making sense of the numbers and problem formulation got increasingly fuzzy. it became increasingly difficult to tie the math to sense, and models were increasingly gross simplifications.

i finally quit because my own work started getting affected. but it is fair to say i was disillusioned with this whole business by that time. at some point the analysis has to make sense. i have sat through an advanced traffic engineering class even when analysis started getting fuzzy. but the field is unbelievebly humble.

these math models fail all the time in engineering too. but the consequences are not as dire and as tangible as in governance and economics. the cost of an autonomous vehicle getting lost in the deserts of mohave because an outlier severely biased likelihood estimates even when weighted, is not the same as the entire globe going into financial turmoil. and it is not that AV-walas have not tested their models and as taleb says in that iterview, even the financial walas do the testing and FOS. The only question is what are the assumptions of testing? testing itself is essentially the art of probing the validity of model in describing the known and the measurable.

in psychology also, many models fail. but the meme of scientific study and their watered down word in Time and Newsweek have become so much of an accepted social norm that disasters are not tangible. Many products go from Lab to market with very little vetting. Ordinary folks are in no position to make value judgements on any of these.

who is going to sue anybody if it turns out that secularism is not the most condusive of environments to sustain the social ferment that academia itself peddles as the holy grail of human condition?

who is going to sue anybody because it turns out that despite all the stimulation, a kid didnot turn out to be an einstein? the entire toy and education industry is geared up towards these types of propositions. a ramanujan or an einstein or Shanon, or even a kadambi(with his seminal theory of linear representation of uncertainties) forget ordinary PhDs dont happen because of the toys they played with or the schools they went to. they happen despite all these. the rest of us all use these memes as fill in for our inadequacies and anxieties. i am graduate of this school or that means nothing. the only measurable question is what difference do I make to my own circumstance, however I define it. only this is known and observable.

and yet if I say anything against the theories and in favour of the observable, measurable and tangible the political and popular condition is such that i will be shouted down as scheming against the potential.
Last edited by shaardula on 10 Oct 2008 20:40, edited 6 times in total.

pentagon has a word for it - effects based warfare. non-linear impact of selective strikes.

But Nassem Nicholas Taleb was absolutely spot on. In fact his book "Black Swan" is in front of god for Saraswati Puja /Vijay Dashami from my side ,along with SHQ and the kid's books. In fact, if you read Black Swan, he talks about the previous banking crisises in the US and how in the south american default when ALL South American and Central American countries defaulted collectively at the same time , the US banks lost many times (did he say 1000)more money they had ever made in the collective existence of banking in the US until then! .. I knew the "Brady" bonds in the US, but I had no idea that the bail out was on such a massive scale back then. The S&L crisis was another one.
Vina,

I had heard of Taleb and read a little about his theories on the net. And then by sheer coincidence I happened to meet him about 3-4 months ago for about 1 hour on a one on one.(It was not a planned meeting but he and I happened to be in the same place at the same time with nothing to do, a Black Swan event in my life :) )It was the most riveting 1 hour I have spent anywhere in a long long time with me scrambling to keep up in the conversation.

I subsequently bought "Fooled by Randomness" as well as "The Black Swan". I have just finished the first and have yet to start reading Black Swan due to work pressures.

The interesting thing that came out of the conversation and I dont know if he mentions it in the Black Swan is that there are micro, mini and major Black Swans in all our lives which are unique to our work and personal lives. And then ofcourse there are macro Black Swans which affect most people in the world at the same time such as the financial crisis we are now undergoing. And how to be in a position to take advantage of those good random events in our personal lives and to protect the downside resulting from the bad random events is what the game is all about.

And that is ofcourse because in the financial world the 1% of occurences that lie outside 2x delta can have a totally disproportionate impact on your life, both good and bad.

As far as banks are concerned, if you study the financial statements of most international institutions over a 30-35 year time frame, what Taleb says is true... the retail bank almost always makes money and the wholsale bank (investment, corporate) always either breaks even or loses money and that is why he advocates taking banks out of the business of risk taking.

I mean c'mon, why do I have to discard the theories of personal money that a marvaadi or a konkani saraswat* instinctively has? the expectations of a non-marvaadi/konkani i can be aware of its limitations, but i surely dont have the insight or the instincts about money to hazard a guess as to what is beyond it.

* my father, a succesful first generation businessman, with experience in most of india bar the east and Kashmir, once told me that the only place where marvaaDis, whom he respected a lot and counts among the best of his friends, dont have a say is in South kanara where the konkanis are operant. from his travels across most of india, including villages in TN, that is the only place and konkanis the only people, not even the uber smart telugu speaking komati shettys who operate in most of SI, who have held their forts against the smarts of a marvaadi. Dakshina Kannada is the only bastion where the marvadis have no say. You can walk up and down downtown mangalore and udupi and even kundapura to test this.

singha, i didnot understand what you meant. but at one point in life, i had the privilege of sitting through(mosty bcoz of tactical logistic reasons) lunches and dinners with some folks with grandoise titles like head of aquisitions underwater *****. Very venal and very chai(scotch) biscoot(shrimp) types only these folks are. i was a graduate student then, but as eager as i was for brownie points, i observed that not one academic type was interested in any of the TFTA-wala's assesment. only $$$ that gets parked with these kinds matter. TFTA -walas kept proping China. Anybody who knows more about these things beyond what CNN says knows that this all fluff.

Nara shardula garu>> I will shortly try to reply. I am usually loathe to long replies but this situation calls for me to emulate some of the (yendro) mahanubhavulu on this august forum.

Also folks it is worth while to read

"When Genius Failed: The Rise and Fall of Long-Term Capital Management" If you have not done already.

From Publishers Weekly
In late September 1998, the New York Federal Reserve Bank invited a number of major Wall Street investment banks to enter a consortium to fund the multibillion-dollar bailout of a troubled hedge fund. No sooner was the $3.6-billion plan announced than questions arose about why usually independent banks would band together to save a single privately held fund. The short answer is that the banks feared that the fund's collapse could destabilize the entire stock market. The long answer, which Lowenstein (Buffett) provides in undigested detail, may panic those who shudder at the thought of bouncing a $200 check. Long-Term Capital Management opened for business in February 1994 with $1.25 billion in funds. Armed with the cachet of its founders' stellar credentials (Robert Merton and Myron Scholes, 1997 Nobel Prize laureates in economics, were among the partners), it quickly parlayed expertise at reading computer models of financial markets and seemingly limitless access to financing into stunning results. By the end of 1995, it had tripled its equity capital and total assets had grown to $102 billion. Lowenstein argues that this kind of success served to enhance the fund's golden legend and sent the partners' self-confidence off the charts. As he itemizes the complex mix of investments and heavy borrowing that made 1994-1997 profitable years, Lowenstein also charts the subtle drift toward riskier (and ultimately disastrous) ventures as the fund's traditional profit centers dried up. What should have been a gripping story, however, has been poorly handled by Lowenstein, who obscures his narrative with masses of data and overwritten prose. Agent, Melanie Jackson.

john snowravare,

i am being smart post fact and have the previlege of not having a horse in this race. but the article you posted only says that there was a time when uncertainty(risk) was stationary and when you could farm based on that knowledge. the real question is in pinning down the domain where the limited 'small signal' linearized models and hence assumptions about stationarity are valid.

it does not say anything about the fact that most human experiences/conditions are stochastically non-stationary where risks and uncertainities vary with time and geography and the field itself is dynamic enough to change as a consequence of acting on stationary components of uncertainty. a rocket transiting over space is very different from interactions of humans or their reactions to pure physical phenomena.

i honestly dunno how time series is applied to financials. but i do know that even in simple engineering problems, time series has its limitations. i mean, even if basic stochastic assumptions(linear+gaussian) are good enough to take us to the moon, there are people humble enough to try out particle simulations all for incremental gains in accuracy. but that is an endeavor where every single variable is eventually measurable and quantifiable.

to put it bluntly, whatever taleb said, it appears that there is an attempt to overfit and the model is degenerate enough that it is accounting for the noise now. worst it appears that it is modeling the bias now.
Last edited by shaardula on 10 Oct 2008 21:25, edited 1 time in total.

Berlusconi said G7 leaders are discussing a temporary shutdown of the markets to sort the mess out.

IMHO, he just killed the markets and today's bloodbath will be worse than any of the past seven days.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid= ... 5mpMUORBWM

Black Swan is a good book and a great read. Without letting too much of the plot of his book;
minor highlights: emphasis on how modeling are used where none actually can be conceived in the first place.
Speaks about Turkey event. That is if you took sample for the 364 days in the life of turkey everything would seem fantastic and there is no way to predict what is in store for it on the "Turkey day" based on the past 364 samples.
Takes on uncertainity principle where randomness is touted.
Primary emphasis is on failure of Gaussian modelling techinques in many real situations and need to look at Mandelbrotian phenomena.
All in all, a good and very insightful read. definitely no garden variety thought process.

closing world markets - any idea pulled from anyone's a$$ is getting talked about now. which means
the real situation is more desperate than we know.

shaardula wrote:
in psychology also, many models fail. but the meme of scientific study and their watered down word in Time and Newsweek have become so much of an accepted social norm that disasters are not tangible. Many products go from Lab to market with very little vetting. Ordinary folks are in no position to make value judgements on any of these.
Great post. Please expand it into a full article.
Science is being used as method to trap and fool consumers. It is being used as a social engineering tool. Dangerous tool if you control the media also.
who is going to sue anybody if it turns out that secularism is not the most condusive of environments to sustain the social ferment that academia itself peddles as the holy grail of human condition?
'Secularism' is a laboratory created manufactured social movement without any historical basis.
BR people should have figured this out long ago.

shaardula wrote:
* my father, a succesful first generation businessman, with experience in most of india bar the east and Kashmir, once told me that the only place where marvaaDis, whom he respected a lot and counts among the best of his friends, dont have a say is in South kanara where the konkanis are operant. from his travels across most of india, including villages in TN, that is the only place and konkanis the only people, not even the uber smart telugu speaking komati shettys who operate in most of SI, who have held their forts against the smarts of a marvaadi. Dakshina Kannada is the only bastion where the marvadis have no say. You can walk up and down downtown mangalore and udupi and even kundapura to test this.
Five National banks were founded in Dakshina Kannada district.

New Financial Terms for 2008
CFO-- Corporate Fraud Officer.

BULL MARKET
-- A random market movement causing an investor to mistake himself for a financial genius.

BEAR MARKET
-- A 6 to 18 month period when the kids get no allowance, the wife gets no jewelry, and the husband gets no sex.

VALUE INVESTING -- The art of buying low and selling lower.

P/E RATIO -- The percentage of investors wetting their pants as the market keeps crashing.

BROKER -- What my broker has made me.

STANDARD & POOR -- Your life in a nutshell.

STOCK ANALYST -- Idiot who just downgraded your stock.

STOCK SPLIT -- When your ex-wife and her lawyer split your assets equally between themselves.

FINANCIAL PLANNER -- A guy whose phone has been disconnected.

MARKET CORRECTION -- The day after you buy stocks.

CASH FLOW-- The movement your money makes as it disappears down the toilet.

YAHOO -- What you yell after selling it to some poor sucker for $240 per share.

WINDOWS -- What you jump out of when you're the sucker who bought Yahoo @ $240 per share.

INSTITUTIONAL INVESTOR -- Past year investor who's now locked up in a nuthouse.

PROFIT -- An archaic word no longer in use

World Bank Under Cyber Siege in 'Unprecedented Crisis'
http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,435681,00.html

For Acharya and raju's eyes only....

This has been going on for a year apparently. Its the global cabal no doubt that want a One World government

chan akya in asia times

A lot of this is noose is nue to me but seeing it laid out like this is scary indeed...
Before delving into the minutiae of total costs to the government though, a brief recap of recent events as follows:

-Ireland guaranteed all bank deposits as well as interbank lending last week for all its banks, in effect providing a sovereign guarantee on the entire banking system at an indeterminate cost to taxpayers.
-Other countries in Europe including Greece followed suit in terms of guaranteeing all bank deposits. Anecdotally, this wasn't enough to actually stop outflows of funds from the banking sector in some countries.
-Germany stepped in to directly rescue Hypo Real Estate over the last weekend, after a previously agreed rescue plan involving other banks fell through, leaving the government with the wreckage.
-Even the usually insular French got into the act by suggesting the creation of cross-border bailout fund that was, however, rebuffed by Germany, as the latter believes its financial institutions aren't facing any imminent danger in the current market crisis.
-Iceland had to nationalize its largest bank Kaupthing on Thursday, marking the third bank after Glitnir and Landsbanki to be taken over by the government. This drove strategic trades that are discussed later in the article.
-The UK announced the most comprehensive series of bank interventions seen of late, marking a culmination of government involvement in the sector after the collapse of Northern Rock last year (see Rocking the land of Poppins, Asia Times Online, September 22, 2007); under the plan the government will provide up to 500 billion pounds (US$844 billion) in assistance for the sector including fresh injections of capital that have been modelled on the rescue of AIG by the US government.
-Spain announced a 50 billion euro (US$68 billion) emergency fund earlier this week to provide liquidity by buying assets directly from Spanish banks. Nordic countries like Sweden and Denmark also extended deposit guarantees and in some cases also covered unsecured debt issued by the banks.
-In conjunction with the US Fed, both the Bank of England and the European Central Bank this week cut interest rates by 50 basis points, signaling their willingness to provide greater liquidity to the broader economy while suspending inflation targeting for the interim period. This move will cut the incomes of millions of pensioners across Europe, therefore the overall economic impact on the "old" continent is not a straightforward positive as it is in the case of the US.
WHo bails out the guarantors? IIRC Russia defaulted on intl; loans in the 90s. Seems its western europe's turn coming up at last.....
Ardeshir

Post by Ardeshir »

Is there a major threat to Indian banks at the moment? To the best of my knowledge, Indian banks' exposure to derivatives and foreign equities is minimal, so there isnt a meltdown scenario similar to Iceland or the UK in the offing. Am I right in my analysis?

Those who wish to respond to the post, please do so WITHOUT rumour mongering. It may seem well intentioned, but at a time like this, there are very real dangers of doing so, on the lines of shouting "Fire!" in a crowded theater.
Last edited by Suraj on 11 Oct 2008 01:57, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Edited to add note

I first came across Taleb on BookTV as he was talking about Black Swan. I then went and bought his "Fooled by Randomness" and googled for his works. To me what is important is his emphasis on remote possibility, high consequences events. My job requires planning for those events. What I found is to take care of such events a massive effort/resources are needed to stamp out the non-linearity. About ten to 100 times the normal efforts. You need to drench the event to reduce its effects.
The problem is to recognize the black swan as its spotted.

After the whole western edifice comes crumbling due to this financial mess, do we get to have an opportunity to impose "sanctions" on selective countries in achieving our objectives? For example, I would have loved to see Austria meeting same fete as that of Iceland and hey we can always call those guys and ask "How are you? Do you want to talk about Nuclear agreement dumba$$?"

Is there any proverbial ek aur dhakka maro kind of thing that we can administer at this time on our selected friends?

* OCTOBER 9, 2008

First Into Recession, California Shows Possible Future for U.S.
By CONOR DOUGHERTY, RHONDA L. RUNDLE and JUSTIN LAHART

Here's the latest trend that started in California and is spreading to the rest of the country: recession.

It's all but certain the U.S. economy is in a recession, as falling home prices and Wall Street turmoil have put the brakes on consumer spending and stoked unemployment. But California got there first. Now, the state provides a template of how a broad U.S. downturn could look.
California's current problems started with the housing bubble, which hit places like Moreno Valley, above, particularly hard.

With its export businesses, manufacturing sector, professional services and big retail employers, California looks like many other U.S. states, only more so. California's $1.8 trillion economy -- twice the size of India's and accounting for about 15% of the U.S. gross domestic product -- is powerful enough to have ripple effects nationally. It is home to Hollywood, five of 30 Major League Baseball franchises and the largest farming sector in the nation.

California was also at the leading edge of the nation's recent housing bubble, which is where its current problems started. Home prices in California rose higher and faster than in most of the U.S., and started weakening earlier, in 2005. Some mortgage-holders defaulted. Others struggle along under a mountain of debt. The problems spread to the state's financial sector, which was heavily exposed to local real estate. As Californians cut their spending, job losses spread from the housing sector to retail stores and auto dealers. Now the state's unemployment rate is 7.7%, among the highest in the nation.

Along with Sunbelt states such as Florida and Nevada, California is a big source of the shocks now working through the world's banks, corporations and stock markets. The financial crisis has frozen credit markets, cutting into companies' ability to engage in even the day-to-day borrowing they need to run their businesses.

But even before the most recent blows to the national economy, Californians were feeling the downward drag of a consumer-led recession -- in which shrinking home values caused people to rein in their spending, fueling unemployment and, in turn, sparking further spending cuts and joblessness.
[Chart]

John Luc has seen how housing problems bleed into the broader economy. Mr. Luc is the 36-year-old manager of Homestore Furniture in Ontario, a middle-class community 40 miles east of Los Angeles and one of the centers of the housing bust. Since last year, retail sales have fallen, while unemployment and office vacancies have soared. Eighteen months ago, he watched a nearby Levitz furniture store close down in a bankruptcy sale. Since then, he said, the few buyers who've visited his store ask for discounts. "Everybody negotiates," he says.

The other day, Mr. Luc was presiding over the store's going-out-of-business sale. Although the father of two young children expects to get a job at another Homestore outlet, he and his wife have checked their spending. He says he saves $50 or more each week by packing a lunch each day, and he makes coffee at home instead of stopping at Starbucks during his long commute. "I haven't gone into a steakhouse like a Black Angus for dinner in six to eight months," he says.

Consumer spending accounts for about 70% of U.S. economic activity, so as people like Mr. Luc cut back, job losses and other economic woes follow. In the third quarter of 2007, California's taxable sales declined 1.82% from the year-earlier period, the first annual decline since 2002. Taxable sales have fallen every quarter since. Now in addition to construction workers and mortgage brokers, people like retail clerks, accountants and information-technology consultants are losing their jobs.

A similar dynamic is playing out nationally. Retail sales recently started declining, after peaking in June. Rising job losses appear likely to cut into future sales. In September, the U.S. economy shed 159,000 workers from its payrolls. The unemployment rate was 6.1%, compared with 4.7% a year earlier.

There's no universal definition of recession, and little agreement of what constitutes one in a state economy. But by most measures economists use -- rising job losses, shrinking consumer sales -- California fits the bill. "There is no question that this area is in a recession," says John Husing, an economist in Redlands, Calif., who tracks the Inland Empire region east of Los Angeles. "We're the canary in the mine shaft."

It's unclear whether the state, as one of the first to enter an economic slowdown, will be among the first to emerge. Problems in the broader economy could also hit California in a second wave. Stephen Levy, director of the Center for Continuing Study of the California Economy, expects the state's economy to get worse before it gets better. He expects job loss to continue through 2009, as consumers continue to pull back. While the housing sector probably won't fall much further, Mr. Levy said, many consumers aren't able to tap the equity in their homes for purchases. Falling stock prices and expensive gasoline and food will continue to eat into spending, he says.
Not Always a Bellwether

California isn't always a bellwether for the nation's economy. In fact, in the past two national recessions, the state was stung by sharp job losses in important industries -- aerospace and defense in the early 1990s, and technology in the early 2000s -- but was among the last group of states to succumb to recession.

But this time around, after years of double-digit price rises, median home prices stood far above what a household with a median income could afford. Permits for new homes began dropping sharply in fall 2005, something that didn't happen for the nation as a whole until spring 2006. Home prices in the state's largest real-estate markets fell earlier and further than those countrywide. Prices in San Francisco, Los Angeles and San Diego are currently down an average of 28% from their 2006 levels, compared with 19% for the S&P/Case-Shiller 20-City Composite Home Price index nationally.

The mortgage-lending frenzy was at its hottest in California, and the state's financial firms were at the forefront of extending untraditional mortgages that were then folded into complex securities. Those firms were also among the first to face disaster when the value of those securities collapsed.
[chart]

In April of last year, New Century Financial Corp., a subprime lender in Irvine, filed for bankruptcy protection. Four months later, Calabasas-based Countrywide Financial Corp. was at the center of the credit-market convulsions. The fallout continued into this year: When federal regulators seized Pasadena-based IndyMac Bancorp Inc. in July, it was the third-biggest U.S. bank failure to date.

California's losses prefigured the later fallout on Wall Street. Through August, California had seen finance-related jobs fall 6.8% over the past two years, compared with 1.5% nationally.

California's consumers are among the country's most indebted. For every dollar they take home, Californians spend about 19 cents on mortgages, cars, credit cards and other debt payment, compared with about 15 cents nationally, according to Equifax and Moody's Economy.com. As consumers pay down that debt, there will be less left over for purchases, which is better in the long run for the economy's health but hard on retailers now.
Pool and Pet Toys

With banks tightening the flow of credit, even companies with rising consumer demand are having a hard time expanding. For the past decade, CoopSport in Vista has sold its beach, pool and pet toys mostly in specialty retailers. But last month, it received orders for the first time from mass merchants Target Corp., Wal-Mart Stores Inc. and Toy "R" Us Inc.

In the past, says owner Scott Cooper, CoopSport was able to get credit from its Chinese factories at an annual interest rate of about 10%. But as the credit crisis spreads globally, Chinese factory owners won't provide him the usual financing. He also can't get the credit he needs from the U.S. banks he has contacted. So he has stitched together loans from a series of nontraditional lenders, which charge as much as 18% annual interest.

Mr. Cooper says he has sold a 7.5% equity stake to raise additional capital to fund the expansion. Far from adding staff as he gets ready to expand, CoopSport eliminated eight warehouse workers and two office staff. The company further cut costs by switching to a cheaper box manufacturer and a cheaper truck company. "It's all the things you do when you go into survival mode in this economy," he said.

California's big technology sector could also get hit hard by slowing overseas growth and the troubled financial sector. Santa Clara-based semiconductor-equipment manufacturer Applied Materials Inc., for example, fetches more than 80% of its revenue from overseas sales. And financial firms are among the technology sector's biggest customers.

Of course, even in recession California has its strengths. With its universities producing new technologies and entrepreneurial talent, the state has a disproportionate share of well-paying jobs in sectors like telecommunications, biotechnology and energy-efficient technology. Its health-care sector, like that of the rest of the U.S., has continued to add jobs.

Exports also have been a bright spot as a weak U.S. dollar has made goods cheaper abroad. The ports of Long Beach and Los Angeles are the nation's two largest, and have seen a rising stream of goods headed overseas. Through August this year, 22% more full containers were shipped out of the ports combined, compared with the first eight months of last year. With the world economy slowing, exports are expected to slow locally and across the country.

Some economists also believe the state's housing market may hit bottom before the rest of the nation's, and could start an upward tick earlier as well. The loss of construction and finance jobs has slowed. In San Diego, one of the first housing markets to falter, home prices are roughly in line with the city's incomes and rental rates. "Housing is becoming affordable again," said Steve Cochrane, an economist at Moody's Economy.com.
Trouble in Stockton

The pain of the housing bust has been harder on inland areas than it has been in coastal cities such as San Francisco and Los Angeles, which generally have more high-paying jobs.

Stockton, a bedroom community to the Bay Area known for its asparagus festival, saw a boom in home-building and subprime loans this decade. Now, median home values are down nearly 50% from the market's peak, according to real-estate information service Zillow.com. Stockton's unemployment rate has risen 2.8 percentage points, to 10.3% over the past two years. In San Francisco, which has a greater concentration of jobs in areas like technology and professional services, the unemployment rate has risen 1.1 percentage point, to 5.1% over the same period.

In the Bay Area, the creep of economic weakness unfolds in an hour's drive from the San Francisco exurbs. Cities like Antioch and Brentwood, past the last stop on the BART commuter rail line, are among the hardest hit by the housing bust. Closer to the coast are Concord and Walnut Creek, two San Francisco suburbs that have previously thrived with light industrial and office buildings that are a lower-cost alternative to downtown San Francisco and the Silicon Valley.

Now, downtown Walnut Creek's commercial vacancy rate for Class A space has risen to 14.7% from 9.9% last year. Concord's commercial vacancy rate has jumped to 21% from 9.5% in 2007.

Ed Del Beccaro, an office broker and senior managing partner at Colliers International in Walnut Creek, says his office's income is down about 20% this year. Mr. Del Beccaro cut four of his 38 brokers in January. Others, he says, have left for "real jobs" because their commissions were so low.
Car Sales Down

As East Bay consumers have struggled, so has Darren Anderson, whose family owns Lehmer's Buick Pontiac GMC in Concord. Mr. Anderson says Buick Pontiac GMC dealers in Northern California sold about 1,000 cars in August, compared with around 1,900 last year. In the past few months, Lehmer's has cut 10 of its roughly 50 employees.

As sales fall, so have the taxes collected by California governments, whose spending can offer a buffer during times of economic weakness. Through the first three quarters of this year, California's sales tax revenue is down about 5% compared with the first three quarters of 2007. Ongoing budget troubles resulted in a $15 billion deficit this year for California.

Budget troubles are déjà vu for many Californians. In the aftermath of the dot-com bust, falling incomes and stock-market losses created a $38 billion budget deficit, and the ensuing furor sparked a recall election that brought current Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger to power.

Today's budget troubles are potentially even worse than in the late 1990s: Falling home prices have reduced property taxes on which local governments depend, at a time when the state is cutting aid to municipalities. Also, the credit crunch has made it harder to sell bonds to fund longer-term capital projects such as roads and schools.

Write to Conor Dougherty at [email protected], Rhonda L. Rundle at [email protected] and Justin Lahart at [email protected]
http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1223509 ... b_page_one

shaardula wrote:I mean c'mon, why do I have to discard the theories of personal money that ..................
Discarding lessons learned from thousands of years on human behavior, economics, politics and blinding replacing them with everything modern is a recipe for trouble. I am not saying we have to discard new ideas, principles of economics or that we should go back to 1000 BCE lifestyle and values.

Making decisions under extreme anger is considered to be unwise. Similarly making decisions under exuberance or untold sadness is also not wise. Exuberance was the central theme of the global economy the last decade or so. Common sense, risk modeling all is thrown out the window onlee.

Economics is for people, people are not for economics. Countries are for people, people are not for countries.

ALERT
RGE Monitor
October 9, 2008

On Thursday, October 09, 2008, Nouriel Roubini – Chairman of RGE Monitor and Professor of Economics at the NYU Stern School of Business – lays out his latest views on the global economic and financial crisis and the urgent necessary actions that need to be undertaken globally.

Nouriel Roubini: The world is at severe risk of a global systemic financial meltdown and a severe global depression

The U.S. and advanced economies’ financial systems are now headed towards a near-term systemic financial meltdown as day after day stock markets are in free fall, money markets have shut down while their spreads are skyrocketing, and credit spreads are surging through the roof. There is now the beginning of a generalized run on the banking system of these economies; a collapse of the shadow banking system, i.e. those non-banks (broker dealers, non-bank mortgage lenders, SIV and conduits, hedge funds, money market funds, private equity firms) that, like banks, borrow short and liquid, are highly leveraged and lend and invest long and illiquid, and are thus at risk of a run on their short-term liabilities; and now a roll-off of the short term liabilities of the corporate sectors that may lead to widespread bankruptcies of solvent but illiquid financial and non-financial firms.

On the real economic side, all the advanced economies representing 55% of global GDP (U.S., Eurozone, UK, other smaller European countries, Canada, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Japan) entered a recession even before the massive financial shocks that started in the late summer made the liquidity and credit crunch even more virulent and will thus cause an even more severe recession than the one that started in the spring. So we have a severe recession, a severe financial crisis and a severe banking crisis in advanced economies.

There was no decoupling among advanced economies and there is no decoupling but rather recoupling of the emerging market economies with the severe crisis of the advanced economies. By the third quarter of this year global economic growth will be in negative territory signaling a global recession. The recoupling of emerging markets was initially limited to stock markets that fell even more than those of advanced economies as foreign investors pulled out of these markets; but then it spread to credit markets and money markets and currency markets bringing to the surface the vulnerabilities of many financial systems and corporate sectors that had experienced credit booms and that had borrowed short and in foreign currencies. Countries with large current account deficits and/or large fiscal deficits and with large short-term foreign currency liabilities and borrowings have been the most fragile. But even the better performing ones – like the BRICs club of Brazil, Russia, India and China – are now at risk of a hard landing. Trade and financial and currency and confidence channels are now leading to a massive slowdown of growth in emerging markets with many of them now at risk not only of a recession but also of a severe financial crisis.

The crisis was caused by the largest leveraged asset bubble and credit bubble in the history of humanity where excessive leveraging and bubbles were not limited to housing in the U.S. but also to housing in many other countries and excessive borrowing by financial institutions and some segments of the corporate sector and of the public sector in many and different economies: an housing bubble, a mortgage bubble, an equity bubble, a bond bubble, a credit bubble, a commodity bubble, a private equity bubble, a hedge funds bubble are all now bursting at once in the biggest real sector and financial sector deleveraging since the Great Depression.

At this point the recession train has left the station; the financial and banking crisis train has left the station. The delusion that the U.S. and advanced economies contraction would be short and shallow – a V-shaped six month recession – has been replaced by the certainty that this will be a long and protracted U-shaped recession that may last at least two years in the U.S. and close to two years in most of the rest of the world. And given the rising risk of a global systemic financial meltdown, the probability that the outcome could become a decade long L-shaped recession – like the one experienced by Japan after the bursting of its real estate and equity bubble – cannot be ruled out.

And in a world where there is a glut and excess capacity of goods while aggregate demand is falling, soon enough we will start to worry about deflation, debt deflation, liquidity traps and what monetary policy makers should do to fight deflation when policy rates get dangerously close to zero.

At this point the risk of an imminent stock market crash – like the one-day collapse of 20% plus in U.S. stock prices in 1987 – cannot be ruled out as the financial system is breaking down, panic and lack of confidence in any counterparty is sharply rising and the investors have totally lost faith in the ability of policy authorities to control this meltdown.

This disconnect between more and more aggressive policy actions and easings, and greater and greater strains in the financial market is scary. When Bear Stearns’ creditors were bailed out to the tune of $30 bn in March, the rally in equity, money and credit markets lasted eight weeks; when in July the U.S. Treasury announced legislation to bail out the mortgage giants Fannie and Freddie, the rally lasted four weeks; when the actual $200 billion rescue of these firms was undertaken and their $6 trillion liabilities taken over by the U.S. government, the rally lasted one day, and by the next day the panic had moved to Lehman’s collapse; when AIG was bailed out to the tune of $85 billion, the market did not even rally for a day and instead fell 5%. Next when the $700 billion U.S. rescue package was passed by the U.S. Senate and House, markets fell another 7% in two days as there was no confidence in this flawed plan and the authorities. Next, as authorities in the U.S. and abroad took even more radical policy actions between October 6th and October 9th (payment of interest on reserves, doubling of the liquidity support of banks, extension of credit to the seized corporate sector, guarantees of bank deposits, plans to recapitalize banks, coordinated monetary policy easing, etc.), the stock markets and the credit markets and the money markets fell further and further and at accelerated rates day after day all week, including another 7% fall in U.S. equities today.

When in markets that are clearly way oversold, even the most radical policy actions don’t provide rallies or relief to market participants. You know that you are one step away from a market crash and a systemic financial sector and corporate sector collapse. A vicious circle of deleveraging, asset collapses, margin calls, and cascading falls in asset prices well below falling fundamentals, and panic is now underway.

At this point severe damage is done and one cannot rule out a systemic collapse and a global depression. It will take a significant change in leadership of economic policy and very radical, coordinated policy actions among all advanced and emerging market economies to avoid this economic and financial disaster. Urgent and immediate necessary actions that need to be done globally (with some variants across countries depending on the severity of the problem and the overall resources available to the sovereigns) include:

* another rapid round of policy rate cuts of the order of at least 150 basis points on average globally;
* a temporary blanket guarantee of all deposits while a triage between insolvent financial institutions that need to be shut down and distressed but solvent institutions that need to be partially nationalized with injections of public capital is made;
* a rapid reduction of the debt burden of insolvent households preceded by a temporary freeze on all foreclosures;
* massive and unlimited provision of liquidity to solvent financial institutions;
* public provision of credit to the solvent parts of the corporate sector to avoid a short-term debt refinancing crisis for solvent but illiquid corporations and small businesses;
* a massive direct government fiscal stimulus packages that includes public works, infrastructure spending, unemployment benefits, tax rebates to lower income households and provision of grants to strapped and crunched state and local government;
* a rapid resolution of the banking problems via triage, public recapitalization of financial institutions and reduction of the debt burden of distressed households and borrowers;
* an agreement between lender and creditor countries running current account surpluses and borrowing, and debtor countries running current account deficits to maintain an orderly financing of deficits and a recycling of the surpluses of creditors to avoid a disorderly adjustment of such imbalances.

At this point anything short of these radical and coordinated actions may lead to a market crash, a global systemic financial meltdown and to a global depression. The time to act is now as all the policy officials of the world are meeting this weekend in Washington at the IMF and World Bank annual meetings.

Read more of Nouriel’s views on the current economic situation on Nouriel Roubini’s Global EconoMonitor at http://www.rgemonitor.com/blog/roubini.

now that some new bretton woods is in the works, we must ensure for ourself a
position at the high table there and work with allies like euros and brazil to
ensure the dollar is dethroned from its position as the worlds reserve and
settlement currency to be replaced by a basket of currency including the
indian rupee. our financial insts can spread all over the world on the back
of that and increasing trade flows. right now they are nonentity's and
global midgets whose clout doesnt even extend to sri lanka or asean,
yet they prance and preen internally as "giants" aka SBI and ICICI.

they better shape up and act as gate rammers for the rest of the horde.

losing the ability to print tons of dollar notes and yet still enjoying low
inflation will act as a natural brake on the american consumers willingness
to spend way more than their income can support and getting us all into
periodic mess.

why are the japanese being stupid enough to get 21% of morgan stanley by paying 95% of its
current market cap (down 60% last week). If I were me, I would renegotiate the deal and threaten
to walk away, leading to another hammering by shorts on the stock if MS doesnt capitulate to
my terms. warren buffet would do the same thing.

Morgan Stanley hangs on Mitsubishi's $9bn pledge

* Andrew Clark in New York and Simon Bowers
* The Guardian,
* Saturday October 11 2008

The American bank Morgan Stanley faces a critical weekend as it awaits a crucial $9bn investment from Japan's Mitsubishi bank to fend off a crisis of confidence among investors which is threatening its survival.

The 73-year-old firm has been battling persistent rumours about its financial condition in a market smarting from the collapse of rival Wall Street banks Lehman Brothers and Bear Stearns.

Shareholders dumped stock in their droves yesterday after becoming alarmed by a warning that ratings agency Moody's is considering downgrading Morgan Stanley's creditworthiness. The bank's shares plunged by 22% in New York, taking their total week-long fall to 60%.

In a deal agreed last month, Mitsubishi pledged to pay $9bn (£5.2bn) for a 21% stake in Morgan Stanley, bolstering the firm's balance sheet. The transaction is due to close on Tuesday but the recent plunge in Morgan Stanley's shares has taken the market capitalisation of the bank down to $10.7bn.

Morgan Stanley and Mitsubishi insisted yesterday that the capital injection was going ahead. But there is concern that the Japanese bank may seek to renegotiate terms, possibly by demanding a bigger slice of Morgan Stanley given the potentially perilous impact on confidence in the US bank if it walks away.

Morgan Stanley insiders have blamed short-sellers for aggravating the rout in its shares. One source said "bank" had simply become a "four-letter word" to the markets, irrespective of the underlying logic.

But to Morgan Stanley's fury, the ratings agency Moody's provided fuel for doubters by warning that it may downgrade the bank's credit score - a move which would make it harder to raise funds.

Moody's cited an expectation that "an expected downturn in global capital market activity will reduce Morgan Stanley's revenue and profit potential in 2009, and perhaps beyond this period".

Morgan Stanley employs 48,000 people at 600 offices in 35 countries. It received a qualified vote of confidence from analyst Richard Bove of Ladenburg Thalmann, who cut profit estimates but said Morgan Stanley remained highly viable.

"This firm, if left to run its businesses, is likely to produce continuous profits, even though at much reduced rates," said Bove.

Goldman Sachs also saw its stock drop by 12% yesterday. Anxiety levels in the markets were ratcheted up after credit derivatives linked to the failed US investment bank Lehman Brothers, with a face value estimated at $200bn (£118bn) to $440bn, began to be unwound.

Many banks are involved in the credit derivatives market and are exposed to the Lehman default. They include RBS and Barclays, which could be forced to make further writedowns if they fail to recover all their money.

Financial firms sold credit default swaps - a form of insurance against a company defaulting on its debt - to investors in Lehman's bonds and those betting on the bank's creditworthiness. These companies will now be forced to pay out 91.4 cents in the dollar. The figure is more than market expectations for losses on underlying Lehman bonds.

Banks around the world are hoarding cash partly in preparation for the settlement of these credit derivatives linked to a wave of big corporate defaults and lower than expected recovery levels