Indian IT Industry

The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Indian IT Industry

CalvinH wrote:Patni Fires 400 Non-performers

The headlines says it all. Whats significant here is that 400 as a number constitute 3% of total workforce for Patni. Patni follows TCS, IBM and Sapient in doing what was considered unthinkable few years back in Indian IT services sector.
Dark days ahead.

Heard from my cousin that heavy duty background checks are being conducted and mass firings are taking place in the top companies.

The most likely beebul under scanner ? Folks who lied on their resume in the SAP field.

Folks are being asked to provide their complete details and another round of verification is taking place.

Time to tighten up the lungi and hang on to that loin cloth for dear life.

No more pizza and burgers for the IT/VITY filks, dry bread and ganji it is for the future.
I dont think it is dark days ahead.. this is a necessary shock so new-grads spend some time learning the necessary skills and comeup with honest resumes. To be honest, I landed in the big-5 after school, thanks to the entrance exam...

I always wonder, is it necessary to have a top-5 job to have a good IT resume? why cant someone comeup with a good project-work or product idea etc in their resume... I was saying this to a class of MCAs in 1995 when they wanted me to help on getting project work in my organization...

TI to sell part of wireless chip unit
3Q revenue, 4Q guidance short of analyst expectations

Dylan McGrath
Page 1 of 2
EE Times
(10/20/2008 5:22 PM EDT)

SAN FRANCISO—Texas Instruments Inc. said Monday (Oct. 20) it is in discussions with undisclosed potential buyers of its merchant baseband semiconductor business but would continue to support some of its custom baseband customers.

TI said it would cut expenses in the wireless business by about one third, or more than $200 million per year, especially in its cellular baseband operation.

TI said it would focus its remaining wireless investments in OMAP applications processors, which power smartphone products. Reductions in cellular baseband operations will begin immediately and are expected to be complete by June 2009, TI said. The company said it expects to take restructuring charges of approximately $110 million across the next three quarters.

TI is currently the second-ranked supplier of merchant baseband chips, behind Qualcomm Inc., according to Will Strauss, an analyst at Forward Concepts Inc. According to Kevin March, TI senior vice president and chief financial officer, about three quarters of its wireless revenue comes from baseband chips.

TI posted a net income of $563 million on revenue of $3.39 billion for the third quarter. Income was down 4 percent sequentially and 26 percent year-to-year. Income equated to 43 cents per share, down 2 percent sequentially and 17 percent year-to-year. Revenue of $3.39 billion was up 1 percent sequentially but down 8 percent compared to the same period of 2007.

Analysts were looking for third quarter earnings of about 44 cents per share and revenue of about $3.40 billion.

"We entered the third quarter with a cautious view of the economy and its impact on our markets," said Rich Templeton, TI chairman, president and CEO, in a statement. "Revenue was weak, as expected, because consumers and corporations reduced their spending in this uncertain economy."

TI said it expects fourth quarter revenue of $2.83 billion to $3.07 billion and earnings per share of 30 to 36 cents. Consensus analyst expectations for TI's fourth quarter had called for earnings per share of 29 cents and revenue of $3.34 billion.

Semiconductor revenue is expected to decline about 10 percent from the third quarter and calculator revenue is expected to decline seasonally, TI said. Company executives said the company is also assuming further revenue decline in the first quarter.

"Our outlook for the fourth quarter is for revenue to decline substantially based on weak order trends over the past few months," Templeton said.

TI executives said they expect revenue from the custom baseband business to decline over time. TI's custom baseband business involves baseband-like ASIC chips mainly for Nokia, which has said it will diversify its supply chain and begin buying custom baseband chips from ST Microelectronics as well. According to Strauss, the Nokia-ST deal won't cut into TI's shipments until at least 2010.

Interested parties?
Analysts on a conference call following the earnings announcement asked TI executives why the company would remain in the custom baseband business given that it expects revenue to decline.

"The reality is that the baseband business—especially the custom baseband business—has very good profitability and is valuable to Texas Instruments," said March.

"We've got a well-run custom business anchored with a great solid relationship," Templeton said. "We are going to continue to operate it and operate it well."

Templeton said TI is in discussions with "several interested parties" over the merchant baseband business but declined to comment further. March said the timing of a deal is undetermined but that a decision would likely be made within the next few months.

Strauss said he was surprised, but not shocked, by the news that TI wants to unload its merchant baseband chip business. He said the move makes sense because TI is hanging on to higher-margin 3G products and unloading products that go into 2G and 2.5G products.

Strauss said a potential buyer would be someone who is serving the Indian and Chinese markets and suggested Taiwanese chipmaker Mediatek could be a possible suitor. Strauss said Qualcomm would not be a possibility because the company is focusing on higher-end markets.

Strauss noted that Freescale Semiconductor recently announced plans to sell its wireless chip unit and said it's possible that a single company may be interested in buying TI's merchant baseband business and some or all of the Freescale unit.

Strauss said a buyer would also have to license TI's DSP technology, an arrangement that TI has been reluctant to enter into in the past. He said he was aware of only one instance when TI licensed its DSP technology to another company, and that that occurred about 10 years ago.

Strauss took TI's willingness to disclose that it was in negotiations about the merchant baseband chip business as a signal that an agreement might be announced soon. "Generally they don't mention such things unless they are close to a deal," he said.

Published reports indicated that the sale of the merchant portion of TI's cellular baseband operation would send about 350 employees to the purchasing company and lead to about 300 layoffs.

TI's analog business posted third quarter revenue of nearly $1.29 billion, flat sequentially and down about 1 percent year-to-year. Embedded processing revenue of about $427 million was down 3 percent sequentially and up 9 percent year-to-year. Wireless revenue of $915 million was up 1 percent sequentially but down 16 percent year-to-year.

TI trimmed its 2008 capital spending forecast to about $800 million from an earlier estimate of $900 million.
Jeese, whats happening to the semicon market and esp wireless biz? If the market No 2 sees no hope, things are really murky!!! Tough times for hardware/VLSI guys like me. :cry: . Again, major part of TI wireless group sits in India and so, many layoffs could happen here!!!

Any guesses on who the buyer could be? I strongly suspect Broadcom since its one co expected to beat the depression type state in semicon industry quite easily.

Yahoo to cut 10% of its workforce

Yahoo is to cut about 1,500 jobs - 10% of its global workforce - as it tries to restore the company's fortunes in the face of declining profits.

Folks, think from the basics. When economy goes down, what gets cut? Leisure and entertainment go first. Conveniences go next and non-essentials will follow. Maintaining the essentials will stay.

So things like gaming will immediately go. Expensive gizmos also go. High end processors scale back. New infra, including telecom and network goes. Think whether the stuff you make is essential or not.

Yesterday a friend told me that he quit his job writing software for semiconductor mfg machines. He is joining a company making pipe inspection machines. That gaveme this insight.

I make my living by making stuff used in traffic management, power stations, distributed industrial plants etc. The new investment in this fields is going to get cut. Since some part of the spectrum is deemed essential services, the business will not completely dry up.

What would happen? I have no idea.

As in financial investment, diversification is key here too.

Diversify your contributions to the company in different areas and obviously need to shift your gears too wrt performance.

It's been hardly 5 months into my job and there have been and will be job cuts. So, I took "change mgmt" kind of projects in addition to purely "strat planning" projects, which are important but their impact won't be today. If push comes to shove, all strat planning too will go for a toss. Company may say let's think about these later if we survive :)

It's been a tough ride so far with some of collegues getting laid off and I am working on " visa sponsorship" etc. Pressure to perform is that much more.

Also, visibility and networking can't be stressed enough, both with in and out of the company.

sum wrote:Link
TI to sell part of wireless chip unit
3Q revenue, 4Q guidance short of analyst expectations
Jeese, whats happening to the semicon market and esp wireless biz? If the market No 2 sees no hope, things are really murky!!! Tough times for hardware/VLSI guys like me. :cry: . Again, major part of TI wireless group sits in India and so, many layoffs could happen here!!!

Any guesses on who the buyer could be? I strongly suspect Broadcom since its one co expected to beat the depression type state in semicon industry quite easily.
Wireless silicon solutions seem to be a hot potato. INTC exited from its fledgeling apps and cellular processor business about 2 years ago selling it to Marvell. For a large company its pretty nimble, very surprising to many outside. Freescale looks to be exiting the business as well and now TI. Sounds like an opportunity to me. Of course some will say ...fools tread...:). Qualcomm could be interested in that part of TI's business. BRCM just burnt through some cash buying out the DTV business from ATI/AMD, not sure if they have much cash lying around, though they seem to be doing pretty good.

Tough times ahead for companies. Saving grace is that India is the place to be...should be the last one on the chopping block. The fat cats better watch out though. Being fat is not a problem...just dont let it show with tons of expats on the payroll and cost effectiveness ratios almost equalling some low cost geo's even within the US.

I am going thru old pages and I am really jealous.. I was one of the first 500 employees in one of the top IT companies (stayed there for 10 yrs) and in those days all we used to do was work hard and is happy to be a techie and contributor …. :shock: :((
AoA...thats one heck of a campus. No wonder GD seems to have spring in his step nowadays....

I want the real estate prices in India to go down 50% that was largely due to IT pay packet.. its insane to boost prices in one sector, and there would soon times that real estate markets will be disected for reservations and communities. better wake up before we cr@sh following bad principles of capitalizm.

CEO pay packets should be cut to only about 20% higher than the best paid in any company. govt regulations needs chip in, and provide a minium non taxed 10% on bonuses paid to employees.

IT sector should lead this now.

Qualcomm could be interested in that part of TI's business. BRCM just burnt through some cash buying out the DTV business from ATI/AMD, not sure if they have much cash lying around, though they seem to be doing pretty good.

Tough times ahead for companies. Saving grace is that India is the place to be...should be the last one on the chopping block.
Qualcomm has categorically stated that its not interested in TI business....
Also, all these wireless units have their large centers in Inda since almost all semico cos started off in India as wireless centers...So, not good news for Indian employees also since entire wireless units are being sold off..

Singha sir,
Heard that even the gorilla is restructuring and few jobs may be chopped?Is it true? :eek:

news to me. job ads are still appearing sporadically in my inbox. and last month a lot of
freshers from college joined (around 150). product cancellations are a fact of life
but I have seen usually engineers are given other projects or in worst case sent to
other BUs.
but as the recession hits in US, we are indeed expecting a 10% reduction in 1Q09.
its 65K headcount now per my spies. so overall the /employee revenue is around
$520k range. thats historically lower than what they want - $700k is where they'd
like to be. its higher than most cos even at 500k though. to reach 700 they'd
have to gut every division and get rid of 15K people.

expenses are being tightened ofcourse - hiring freezes, no new acquisitions lately,
ESOPs are gone, small nums of RSUs to the select few only...

with a cash hoard of 20+b , 60-70% margins, product diversity and huge installed
base they can outlast even a deep downturn, so hope I can hang on my the coattails
for the ride :roll:

there's only 4K people here and nobody on the "bench" being a product co. people
will be driven harder for sure esp college freshers and 'seniors' asked to do more
to justify their salary.

the big3 have a real problem - they need to find work for 100K people each

with a cash hoard of 20+b , 60-70% margins, product diversity and huge installed
base they can outlast even a deep downturn, so hope I can hang on my the coattails
for the ride :roll:
Thats why i was surprised when my mole informed me of rumblings....esp rumours of a division going down in the US and its ripples on few guys who interface with them here.

Hiring should never be a parameter(IMHO) to guage companies health since Freescale wireless div(Sjpr Rd) hired 60 freshers and announced two months later that entire unit is for sale(and it seems ~40 final year engg grads have already been given offers for the same unit for next year) !!! :-?

we should communicate about this matter offline - spies are everywhere - drop a line to me robust_bear at yahoo
if you get further news.

Roger that, Singha saar...Will do so if anything if i lay my eyes/ears on "classified & concrete" info...

pradeepe wrote:
sum wrote:Link Jeese, whats happening to the semicon market and esp wireless biz? If the market No 2 sees no hope, things are really murky!!! Tough times for hardware/VLSI guys like me. :cry: . Again, major part of TI wireless group sits in India and so, many layoffs could happen here!!!

Wireless silicon solutions seem to be a hot potato. INTC exited from its fledgeling apps and cellular processor business about 2 years ago selling it to Marvell. For a large company its pretty nimble, very surprising to many outside. Freescale looks to be exiting the business as well and now TI. Sounds like an opportunity to me. Of course some will say ...fools tread...:). Qualcomm could be interested in that part of TI's business. BRCM just burnt through some cash buying out the DTV business from ATI/AMD, not sure if they have much cash lying around, though they seem to be doing pretty good.

Tough times ahead for companies. Saving grace is that India is the place to be...should be the last one on the chopping block. The fat cats better watch out though. Being fat is not a problem...just dont let it show with tons of expats on the payroll and cost effectiveness ratios almost equalling some low cost geo's even within the US.

Tell me about it. The memory industry is going through a catharsis now. The conversation thats going on in the coffee corner at work is this:
5 weeks ago , DDR2 512MB RAM(@ http://www.dramexchange.com) costed 3 coffees ( 0.090 Euro cents)
at our office vending machines. Today its 2 coffees.

Semi industry will consolidate big time with acquisitions and layoffs.

Tell me about it. The memory industry is going through a catharsis now. The conversation thats going on in the coffee corner at work is this:
5 weeks ago , DDR2 512MB RAM(@ http://www.dramexchange.com) costed 3 coffees ( 0.090 Euro cents)
at our office vending machines. Today its 2 coffees.

Semi industry will consolidate big time with acquisitions and layoffs.
Memory is the worst among all sectors. One of the reports was indicating that memory cos are actually absorbing a loss for every module sold!!!!! :shock: So, the lesser sold, the better.
The simple reason is overcapacity/too many players which ensured that even the NRE for cutting edge techs couldnt be recovered due to serious price undercutting among the competitors...
The tsunami for memory(and semi in general) is approaching.

Sum,
spot on. Catch 22. At current prices, the more you sell , the more loss you make. The lesser you produce, the more competitors will eat into your share.
WIth credit drying out, we are going to see the biggest shrink in the memory industry in 30 years.

Yahoo cutting jobs??

http://infotech.indiatimes.com/News/Yah ... 632006.cms
Yahoo CEO's update mail to Yahoos
based in part on what we heard from you, will involve initiatives such as streamlining our organizational structure through reducing layers and increasing spans of control, and eliminating redundancies.
Is this the typical management talk before handing over the pink slip? :roll:
we are targeting non-headcount expenses wherever possible, such as facilities and outside services. however, because compensation expenses are the single largest part of our costs, we anticipate a reduction of at least 10% of our global workforce by year-end.

affected employees will be notified of layoffs in the next several weeks. we understand that hearing this news now creates uncertainty, but we are moving ahead in a way that balances speed with a clear focus on accomplishing what is necessary to set the organization up for long term success. going forward it will continue to be important for us to make the right decisions to keep our business efficient and strong.

having layoffs is very difficult, particularly in light of all we've experienced this year. but we don't take these decisions lightly, and are committed to treating affected employees fairly, offering severance and outplacement services.

Neela wrote:Sum,
spot on. Catch 22. At current prices, the more you sell , the more loss you make. The lesser you produce, the more competitors will eat into your share.
WIth credit drying out, we are going to see the biggest shrink in the memory industry in 30 years.
Glib MBA (b.s) Investment Banking / Strategic Planning answer
You need to consolidate and take out capacity. Stronger eating up the relatively weaker and keep an eagle eye on the Koreans and Chinis doing a Paki like cheating act by subsidizing their weaker producers and if you find them doing, immediately lobby to impose punitive import protection for dumping and illegal business practices. Shut Korea and Chi Panda out of the US and EU markets or do a credible threat of doing so and thereby threaten even their stronger guys like Samsung, Panda and Korea will stop giving out lifelines to weaker guys like Hynix and allow them to go under and thus removing capacity and increasing pricing power for he industry.

U.S. States Vying to Woo Indian IT Giants (Businessweek)
Faced with a recession and hurting companies, the U.S. has begun courting Indian firms and business groups to come and set up facilities

In a little less than a decade, the story has come full circle. Faced with a downturn in the economy and failing companies, the Land of Opportunity, America, is now wooing Indian firms and business groups to come and set up facilities .

Once hated for sending large number of technology workers on H1-B visas, US states recently competed with each other to win the favour of Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) to set up a campus-like facility in their state.

Now a visiting delegation from the Cincinnati Regional Chamber is on its first visit to India to woo the second-largest Indian IT firm, Infosys Technologies, to follow in the footsteps of its larger rival in setting up a facility there. The state also wants to build on its success with TCS to bring other Tata group to Cincinnati.
:twisted: :mrgreen: :eek: :lol:
"Yesterday, we met with Tata group officials. Tomorrow, we will meet other companies in pharma, consumer and auto," said Neil Hensley, senior director, economic development business attraction and retention, Cincinnati USA Partnership. The delegation led by Doug Moormann, vice-president, will next travel to Bangalore where it will meet with officials from Infosys and from there to Delhi.

"We realise there are opportunities in growing investments in the US from emerging economies like India and China. The 200-acre facility that TCS took up in Cinccinnati represents the largest job creation in our community in a decade," Mr Henley said. Once the news of TCS' interest in setting up a campus-like facility in the US became public, states and local committees started competing quite aggressively to win the investment.

The number one Indian IT company finally selected Cincinnati because it was centrally lcoated in east US and well-connnected to all major airports. "TCS has committed to employ around 700 US nationals in its facility over a three-year time frame. I don't see India and China as as emerging economies, but as high-growth economies," said Joseph J Deher, an attorney whose firm Frost Brown Todd advised TCS on setting up its 1000-seat Cincinnati facility.
AoA
Time to milk emerging reality for psy-ops value.
BTW, would now wanna have a chat with that arrogant turd of a Jaguar dealer who scoffed the Tata name would hurt the jag image..... wonder if his views (and his ilk) have evolved any since last year onlee...

vina wrote: You need to consolidate and take out capacity. Stronger eating up the relatively weaker and keep an eagle eye on the Koreans and Chinis doing a Paki like cheating act by subsidizing their weaker producers and if you find them doing, immediately lobby to impose punitive import protection for dumping and illegal business practices. Shut Korea and Chi Panda out of the US and EU markets or do a credible threat of doing so and thereby threaten even their stronger guys like Samsung, Panda and Korea will stop giving out lifelines to weaker guys like Hynix and allow them to go under and thus removing capacity and increasing pricing power for he industry.
All this is working per design (to perfection). Within the IT hardware business, components sourcing and manufacture were outsourced but industry itself is consolidated in the last decade.

Look at the manufacturers: IBM, HP, Compaq, Dell, Digital, Tandem, Sun, Lenevo, Gateway and Acer (latter three are more on personal computing front). Now, HP has swallowed (Compaq (Tandem + Digital) so we hardly have 3 major hardware companies. HP bought scale and control over the industry. Dell, I think, will conjure up with EMC (you have heard it here first!! :idea: )

It bought control over the prices (yes, otherwise we wouldn't be paying so much for servers/desktop/laptops) at the same time ensuring US's leadership in this critical industry.

I agree same thing can work in semi conductor industry IF someone were to actually standsup (like samsung) but looks like it isn't happening.

Dell, IBM, HP own the lucrative rack server market. there are lakhs of these servers
all over the place. EMC is the back end storage machines.

but Lenovo has allegedly entered the rack server market now.

Lenovo and Dell will fight the price war and go after small business. big biz still
tends to get deep discounts and long term contracts with HP or IBM both of
whom have excellent designs.

SUNW does not seem to be a 'player' at the moment. can they recover
lost glory? or fade away like novell ?

Singha wrote:Dell, IBM, HP own the lucrative rack server market. there are lakhs of these servers
all over the place. EMC is the back end storage machines.
Yes, lately server and storage products have integarated tightly with the advent of blade technology and both EMC and DELL are facing tough competition from HP and IBM, who have huge advantage in this space. So, a call has to be made by these two players. Let's see.

I am thinking SUNW with some zazzy tech uplifting may fit nto Apple portfolio if they are thinking about staying in this industry or move over to telecom / media. Again something to watch for :)

interesting startup - heavyweight sponsors.
my guess csco would buy it!

Sun Loses Co-Founder to Start-Up
Thor Swift for The New York Times

Andreas von Bechtolsheim invented Sun’s first product, a desktop workstation. He will now be chairman at Arista Networks.

By ASHLEE VANCE
Published: October 23, 2008

MENLO PARK, Calif. — Andreas von Bechtolsheim, a brilliant billionaire who has created some of the best-selling computer systems in the industry, is resigning as chief architect of Sun Microsystems to focus on a start-up that is challenging another industry giant, Cisco Systems.

Jayshree Ullal was recruited to be Arista’s chief executive.

Mr. Bechtolsheim’s new company, Arista Networks, has built an ultra-fast network switch that costs one-tenth the price of similar products from Cisco. The hardware, which has already been purchased in small quantities by government labs, universities and Internet start-ups, is aimed squarely at data-oriented organizations like Google that need to wring as much speed as possible from their computing centers.

While a number of companies sell competing gear, the pedigree of Arista’s management and its modular, easy-to-update software have given the four-year-old firm instant credibility in Silicon Valley.

Mr. Bechtolsheim, who will serve as chairman and chief development officer of Arista, co-founded Sun and invented its first product, a high-powered desktop computer known as a workstation. He went on to start two other companies before returning to Sun four years ago and overhauling its product line.

Arista — known as Arastra until it changed its name this week — is expected to announce on Thursday that it has recruited Jayshree Ullal as chief executive. Ms. Ullal left Cisco in May after leading the company’s $10 billion corporate switch business. In addition, the company will name a Stanford University professor, David R. Cheriton, as its chief scientist. Mr. Bechtolsheim and Mr. Cheriton are the sole investors in Arista, and they are known in Silicon Valley as men with a golden touch.

In 1996, Cisco acquired a company they started, Granite Systems, for $220 million, and they helped Cisco turn the technology into top-selling products. They formed another start-up, Kealia, to make computer servers, and sold that company to Sun in 2004. Mr. Bechtolsheim remained with Sun and worked on some of its switching products while developing Arista as a side project.

Mr. Bechtolsheim and Mr. Cheriton were also early investors in Google and VMware and became billionaires when those companies turned into big successes.

With Arista, the pair sought to develop products that took advantage of some of the sophisticated software concepts Mr. Cheriton has explored as an academic. They decided to focus on switches that shuttle Internet traffic using the 10 Gigabit Ethernet standard, which is many times faster than the Gigabit Ethernet standard that dominates data centers today.

Switches are the most common hardware used to funnel information between computing systems in a network. The key to Arista’s switches is the structure of the software that manages them.

A typical switch from Cisco is rich in features, but has up to 20 million lines of software code and may run on relatively slow processors. Arista breaks all of the major and minor tasks into their own modules that can be updated individually and uses more powerful chips to run it all.

Mr. Bechtolsheim said the design would let Arista make quick changes to products — even while they were running — and would also open an interface for customers to more easily add their own features.

“My iPhone runs better software than a typical switch,” Mr. Bechtolsheim said. "It is just mind-boggling that the cheapest consumer product has more robust software than what the Internet runs on."

In addition, Arista packages its equipment in compact cases that allow more connections at a much cheaper price than Cisco’s bulkier machines.

Lean staffing also helps Arista keep its costs down. The Menlo Park, Calif., company has fewer than 50 employees and started shipping systems a few months ago even though it had no formal chief executive.

“One mistake a lot of start-ups make with the encouragement of venture capitalists is to hire the whole management team upfront,” said Mr. Bechtolsheim. “You have a lot of people twiddling their thumbs and spending money.”

The knocks on Cisco’s expensive gear are nothing new. “Cisco doesn’t price based on cost,” said Joe Skorupa, an analyst at Gartner, a research firm. “They price based on a willingness to pay.”

In Cisco’s defense, Inbar Lasser-Raab, a marketing director at the company, said that Cisco had been working on this technology since 2003 and believed it could “provide great value” for customers.

Established switch makers like Juniper Networks and Force10 Networks, along with start-ups like Woven Systems, have also charged after the 10 Gigabit Ethernet market for years. Mr. Bechtolsheim said these companies’ products were too expensive or too early in the market.

Arista argues that its products are well positioned to provide fast connections to laboratories with large numbers of servers or companies with heavy Web traffic. Ms. Ullal said she expected the market for 10 Gigabit Ethernet switches, less than $1 billion today, to grow to as much as $5 billion within three years.

Despite higher costs, Cisco remains a dominant force in networking because of its solid reputation. Few companies will risk what amounts to the central nervous system of their networks to an unproven player.

But Arista said that labs and Web-centric companies that did custom work would try something new. Early customers include Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Northwestern University and start-ups like BitGravity, an online video delivery company. “In cases where someone comes to market with something compelling, we’re willing to take the risk,” said Perry Wu, BitGravity’s chief executive.

If it is successful, Arista would be a prime acquisition target for Cisco or another hardware player like Hewlett-Packard, which has bulked up its networking business.

Ms. Ullal and Mr. Bechtolsheim said that was not their goal. “If Andy wanted to sell this company to someone else, he didn’t need me,” Ms. Ullal said. “We are here to build a company.” Mr. Bechtolsheim added that he was willing to finance the venture through to an initial public offering.

Mr. Bechtolsheim’s departure will certainly be a big blow to Sun, which is wrestling with declining sales and profits and a plunging stock price. But he said he would retain a part-time advisory role at the company.

“It’s my baby,” Mr. Bechtolsheim said. “I will always be associated with Sun.”

Singha wrote:the big3 have a real problem - they need to find work for 100K people each
Absolutely. A company appointed a strategy company to give a report so that they can effectively remove a substantial number of managers. This is the latest after a series of cuts in the last 10 months.

The news from IT India is not that good anymore.

Muppalla wrote:
Singha wrote:the big3 have a real problem - they need to find work for 100K people each
Absolutely. A company appointed a strategy company to give a report so that they can effectively remove a substantial number of managers. This is the latest after a series of cuts in the last 10 months.

The news from IT India is not that good anymore.

Some people will have to accept pay cuts. But overall the industy will grow, as more phoren companies will be FORCED to outsource even more.

I have identified 4 stages for the complete lifecycle.

Stage 1
The company gets all of its work done from local sources (own staff and local outsourcing). But due to lack of availalbe resources or preshure from the share holders, the company moves some token and boring work. All the time reashuring the employees that the company is shopping in India, because the people are not availalbe.

Stage 2
The company gets the taste of the oursourcing and the scope broadens. It-managers and local employees start to fight the trend. As a lot of the junior work is handed over to India, there becomes a problem with promoting local staff. Who do you promote, when you do have so few local staff?

Stage 3
The low cost outsourcing to India has some sucess and new projects are handed over to Indian companies. The company accountants starts to realize the benefit of outsourcing and starts to push for it. The resistance gets stronger and the local employes may even start to sabotage the work from India.

Stage 4
An economic downturn hits the company and it has to scramble to cut costs. The Accountants are put on great preshure to cut costs. Result can be large scale outsourcing to India.

The Indians have figured out an model that proves to be beneficial for the company at any given time of its economic cycle.

Some good news:
At last, a desi PC software system

Anand Parthasarathy

BANGALORE: The personal computer has been around for over 25 years — but Indians have had to run them with ‘imported’ software, whether Microsoft’s Windows, Apple’s Mac OS or one or other flavour of the Open Source Linux.

Finally, we have something we can call India’s own PC Operating System: The Chennai unit of the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), led by its Director, M.R. Rajagopalan, has put together BOSS or Bharat Operating System Solutions, an Open Source distribution of what is called GNU/Linux. The desktop version no 3.0 recently released supports 18 Indian languages and includes a host of features to enhance its utility: a 3-D desktop; support for Bluetooth wireless devices; a document reader for the PDF format and application tools in all Indian languages.

It is also compatible with Bharateeya OS, the Office tool set for Indian languages that CDAC brought out a couple of years ago to “Indianise” the OpenOffice suite.

Four States — Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Bihar and Chhattisgarh — have been proactive in deciding to standardise their e-governance applications around BOSS. For lay users, who want to give it a try, the software can be downloaded from

http://www.bosslinux.in/ — but CDAC also promises to send it on a DVD to anyone who writes in to or calls at any of its CDAC- BOSS support centres in Kolkata, Bangalore, Mohali, New Delhi, Noida, Thiruvananthapuram, Pune, Hyderabad and Mumbai. Addresses can be found at the website.
On DVD drive

To help those who don’t want to disturb their existing system, while giving BOSS a tryout, it can also be run from the DVD drive without hard disk installation. Give it a try — it is not perfect; like so many Linux realisations, it might not work with every peripheral you have, at first shot; but it is the most meaningful product to come out of the Indian software industry in decades — and let’s recognise it, this is work that a government department had to do.

It may be one small step for CDAC’s Chennai team; it might turn out to be a giant leap for desi PC users — if enough Indians embrace it.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

sum wrote:Some good news:
At last, a desi PC software system

Anand Parthasarathy

BANGALORE: The personal computer has been around for over 25 years — but Indians have had to run them with ‘imported’ software, whether Microsoft’s Windows, Apple’s Mac OS or one or other flavour of the Open Source Linux.

Finally, we have something we can call India’s own PC Operating System: The Chennai unit of the Centre for Development of Advanced Computing (CDAC), led by its Director, M.R. Rajagopalan, has put together BOSS or Bharat Operating System Solutions, an Open Source distribution of what is called GNU/Linux. The desktop version no 3.0 recently released supports 18 Indian languages and includes a host of features to enhance its utility: a 3-D desktop; support for Bluetooth wireless devices; a document reader for the PDF format and application tools in all Indian languages.

It is also compatible with Bharateeya OS, the Office tool set for Indian languages that CDAC brought out a couple of years ago to “Indianise” the OpenOffice suite.

Four States — Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Bihar and Chhattisgarh — have been proactive in deciding to standardise their e-governance applications around BOSS. For lay users, who want to give it a try, the software can be downloaded from

http://www.bosslinux.in/ — but CDAC also promises to send it on a DVD to anyone who writes in to or calls at any of its CDAC- BOSS support centres in Kolkata, Bangalore, Mohali, New Delhi, Noida, Thiruvananthapuram, Pune, Hyderabad and Mumbai. Addresses can be found at the website.
On DVD drive

To help those who don’t want to disturb their existing system, while giving BOSS a tryout, it can also be run from the DVD drive without hard disk installation. Give it a try — it is not perfect; like so many Linux realisations, it might not work with every peripheral you have, at first shot; but it is the most meaningful product to come out of the Indian software industry in decades — and let’s recognise it, this is work that a government department had to do.

It may be one small step for CDAC’s Chennai team; it might turn out to be a giant leap for desi PC users — if enough Indians embrace it.
IIRC this was released in 2007 and screenshoots were posted of this in another forum.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

here is the old report.
Getting to know the Indian Linux
Thursday, May 31, 2007

Avinash R wrote:
sum wrote:Some good news:
IIRC this was released in 2007 and screenshoots were posted of this in another forum.
What crap? Rolling out a Linux distro qualifies as an Indian achievement? That too a team from CDAC engaged in such a project. Do they have internet access, know anything about OSS world? There are web sites that provides step by step instructions and scripts to create live CD with installers from existing Linux installations.

How CDAC's feat is different from us? We build our desktops and servers from source on BSD family OS's (and hunt for device drivers all over the internet).

The CDAC folks have made a sub-optimal discussion to go for GNU/Linux. They should have opted for NetBSD/OpenBSD/FreeBSD family and instead of X Windows, should have gone for DirectFB ( direct frame buffer ). That would have given them something like MacOS.

the problem with BSD is the number of people engaged in it is orders of
magnitude less than Linux, so the feature density. bugfixes and velocity is not upto the linux speed. and you have a much better chance for getting
drivers for arcane/new hw on linux than bsd.
look at any bookshop - how many good books on bsd are there? vs the ton
of o-reilly books on linux.

BSD was definitely more mature in mid-90s compared to linux and thats
why cos like juniper chose it as their OS. but today, its does not compare.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Wot u worry? :wink:

From BusinessWeek
http://www.businessweek.com/globalbiz/c ... technology

India's Tata Wins Big Citi Outsourcing Deal
TCS acquires Citigroup Global Services—and bags a giant contract to provide outsourcing services to Citi for the next nine-and-a-half years

by Nandini Lakshman

It's festival time in India, and Tata Consultancy Services, the country's largest IT software and services provider, is celebrating with gusto. After months of speculation, TCS acquired Citigroup's (C) India-based outsourcing unit, Citigroup Global Services, for $505 million in an all-cash deal announced on Oct. 8. That's the largest-ever purchase for TCS. What's more, the company bagged a $2.5 billion contract to provide process outsourcing services, application development, and infrastructure support to Citigroup and its affiliates over nine-and-a-half years. "This transaction will complement our domain expertise and bring new capabilities to TCS that will help drive growth," says S. Ramadorai, chief executive officer of TCS.

At a time when stock prices of India's outsourcing powers are crumbling (BusinessWeek, 10/2/08) amid fears of a deep global recession, the TCS deal shows executives are nonetheless confident Indian software service providers will remain competitive in tough times. The Citi contract is the biggest win ever for an Indian company. TCS edged out contenders such as IBM (IBM) and French IT company Capgemini, and the promise of steady business from the deal encourages some analysts. "The revenue visibility in the TCS contract is a big plus in this tumultuous market," says Abhiram Elaswarupu, IT analyst at BNP Paribas in Mumbai.

The Citi deal helps TCS go up against its big foreign competitors directly. Unlike IBM, Accenture and EDS, all big players in India, homegrown companies typically have operated with smaller-scale deals, lasting two to three years and worth $50 million to $200 million. Just last October, TCS had crossed the $1 billion threshold (BusinessWeek.com, 10/18/07) when it signed a 10-year, $1.2 billion contract with Dutch group Nielsen, which owns ratings major ACNielsen.
Expanding Exposure

Acquiring Citi's unit brings 12,000 new employees into the TCS fold and is expected to generate revenues of $280 million this year. Currently, TCS, which has over 10,000 employees in its outsourcing units across the world, makes more than $150 million providing services to Citi alone.

TCS has been providing IT services to Citi since 1992, catering to the bank's operations in North America, Europe, India, Singapore, and the rest of Asia Pacific. As with most big Indian software providers, banking and financial services form a big chunk of TCS's business, accounting for 43% of revenues. The new outsourcing contract will nudge it a percentage point ahead, says a TCS manager.

With the world's financial industry in turmoil, this isn't the best time for an Indian outsourcer to be expanding its exposure to the sector. However, analysts say they are more concerned about TCS overpaying to acquire Citiglobal. TCS should have negotiated a better deal, given the fall in company valuations that has accompanied market meltdowns around the globe, they say. TCS claims the price is justified and argues the acquisition will help the company serve not only Citi but other customers as well.

Still, some analysts are skeptical. On Oct. 8, the day TCS announced the deal, its shares closed down 5%. Year to date, it's off 49%, compared with a 35% drop for the benchmark Sensex index. John McCarthy, a vice-president at research firm Forrester Research, warns the track record for Indian companies using acquisitions to expand their customer base is not great. "The BPO industry is littered with deals like this one that have not led to large-scale work beyond the individual clients," he says.

McCarthy believes TCS's latest buy is a long-term play. "This is about ensuring that when the dust settles [after the Wall Street crisis], TCS is well positioned to help the client clean up their mess of systems and do new projects," he says. "Anything beyond that is wishful thinking."

The TCS buy is the latest example of Indian software majors aggressively expanding to other geographies to reduce their reliance on the U.S. Over the past three years, TCS has made purchases in Switzerland, Chile, and Australia. Last year rival Infosys Technology (INFY) bought out the outsourcing business of Dutch electronics major Philips, and Wipro (WIT) acquired U.S.-based, Nasdaq-listed outsourcing outfit Infocrossing. Infosys and New Delhi-based HCL Technologies have been battling for SAP's consulting company Axon; on Oct. 10, Infosys announced it was backing away from the deal, giving the win to HCL.

Singha wrote:the problem with BSD is the number of people engaged in it is orders of
magnitude less than Linux, so the feature density. bugfixes and velocity is not upto the linux speed. and you have a much better chance for getting
drivers for arcane/new hw on linux than bsd.
look at any bookshop - how many good books on bsd are there? vs the ton
of o-reilly books on linux.

BSD was definitely more mature in mid-90s compared to linux and thats
why cos like juniper chose it as their OS. but today, its does not compare.
The BSD maintainers (particularly FreeBSD) consists of the same people that worked on the original UNIX code base. The entry into the maintainers group is not easy, which explains lower participation. The releases are few. The BSD's are more stable, has better support for network devices (which probably explains their use as servers).

Beside Juniper, the current MacOS also uses FreeBSD kernel. Does Linux has similar brand examples to boast of?

However, to original point. Rolling out a distro is not any achievment.

The Linux distros (BSD as well) carry baggages from their UNIX past, which are hindrences when trying to put up a decent desktop (the topic of discussion here).

Check out the 'directfb' project. Combine that with BSD or a stable Linux kernel + GNU tools, you'll get something like the current MacOS.

csco os NXOS is based on montavista linux. their other os IOSXR
is based on a microkernel from QNX. NXOS is expanding footprint and
will replace most of IOS-classic in due course.

at present the big datacenter switch Nexus7000 runs it, so yeah linux
sure works in a high pressure env.

having worked in both junos and nxos I can say it is more difficult to sit
up one morning and try hacking and glueing stuff off the free web to make
something work in freebsd. some of the code works but is very poorly
documented or none at all and quite difficult to port it or reshape it.

barrier to entry for linux kernel work is much less due to good amt of
books and help available. people will always take least risky path
if they have a choice.

juniper is locked into freebsd and have the people to make it work.
but they are not a company with too many products or lines of business.

In the dotcom of the internet bubble burst IBM was winning multi billion dollar outsourcing deals like the one TCS has won with Citi.

This shows Indian shops have come of age are eating IBM's lunch.

Just read a Nasscom report that the size of Japanese IT Outsourcing market is 110 Billion$. Considering that the total IT exports out of India(including BPO and ITES ) is 60 Billion$, it will be many years before the sector will run out of work.At worst people may not get those 30% year on year pay-rises.

Moi is working on project to align my org for the best cost and capital usage and guess what options exists for me without impacting competetiveness, continued innovation, with abs low cost, and one that works efficiently. After evaluating regions across the globe (hey I need to be objective :rotfl: ) what my recommendations are :mrgreen: I am being asked to put together a transition plan.

In this globalized (space) expedition, US corporations have left their spaceships and have travelled a point of no return back. There is just no fuel left so they are better off continue the journey and save themselves.

We’re building the largest computing facility mankind has seen: (Business Today)

Quoting Rick Rashid of Microsoft Research.

Outside the US NSA, that is, IMHO.
bart

Post by bart »

Singha wrote:csco os NXOS is based on montavista linux. their other os IOSXR
is based on a microkernel from QNX. NXOS is expanding footprint and
will replace most of IOS-classic in due course.

at present the big datacenter switch Nexus7000 runs it, so yeah linux
sure works in a high pressure env.
Why the switch from IOS to NXOS instead of IOS-XR? Is it that the IOS-XR has difficulty scaling to multiple processors or supporting the 40-core type ASIC when compared to a linux based OS?

How long do you think it will be before classic IOS is phased out? The vast majority of products work perfectly fine with IOS and don't need very advanced OS capabilities. It would be sad to lose IOS it has been extremely reliable. Also when Cisco phased out CATOS with IOS on the switches it took about 5 years for the IOS based switches to catch up on ease of use and feature set.

no direct exposure to ios-xr but broadly similar to nx-os (and jun-os)
in feature modularity and robustness. ios-xr came in from router side
and nx-os from data center switch side. they coexist.

IOS-classic biggest drawback is a monolithic shared addr space OS.
everything global is shared. every 'process' (thread really) can see all
globals. hence a wayward code can damage the area kept for another
thread and the resulting crash is hard to debug. secondly you just
cannot switch services on or off selectively, being tied together into
one furball and difficult to upgrade things selectively or recover from
failures/contain failures.

but overall junos is still easier to use being more mature (13 yrs?)
and less flabby/functional than these new kitties...

afaik network processors like these 40 cores or Intels rumoured
"100s of cores" dont run the full OS, just small firmware images
for each column that do whatever are the features assigned in
pkt processing for that column whether L2 or L3 features. for eg
on column could just run security ACLs against each pkt header,
another could do route table lookup, another rewrite the L2 header
before output queueing etc.

so these chips will run under any OS, including Vista if you want to
:mrgreen: just bring chip out of reset, dnload the column firmwares,
monitor the stats, config the features and arrange for pkts to be
sent in.
bart

Post by bart »

Singha saar, thanks for the info.

I did a bit of reading on NX-OS, looks like it is derived from the SAN OS that Cisco use for their data center storage platforms, in which case it should be really stable since reliability standards on the SAN need to be much higher than the typical Ethernet network.

Junos is pretty good, at least it was more advanced than IOS for almost a decade. But I think Juniper suffers from the same challenges as Cisco since both companies have grown through acquisitions of companies that already have a successful platform so they are left with the challenge of migrating from those platforms that users are already comfortable with to their common OS. Which can also be a challenge since PIX OS or Screen OS etc have the added dimension of being hardened security specific OSes.