Terror Attacks in Mumbai

Manu

Re: Firing/Attack in Mumbai

Post by Manu »

sampat wrote:Indian Imams should issue a fatwa that these dead terrorists should be buried with pigs, depriving them of their virgins.
Can you point me to any news that says that they are Muslims? Any names?
Shiv, the Deccan Mujaheddin has claimed responsibility, does not seem like a Buddhist Group.

It seems the Foreign MSM is going over the top with their reporting. If this attack is important only because Terrorists were targeting Brits and Yanks, how come the city’s largest train station, a movie theater and a hospital were the targets as well?

New York Times
Even by the standards of terrorism in India, which has suffered a rising number of attacks this year, the assaults were particularly brazen and drastically different in scale and execution. The attackers used boats to reach the urban peninsula where they hit, and their targets were sites popular with tourists.

Alex Chamberlain, a British citizen who was dining at the Oberoi, told Sky News television that a gunman had ushered 30 or 40 people from the restaurant into a stairway and, speaking in Hindi or Urdu, ordered them to put up their hands.
Attackers had also entered Cama and Albless Hospital, according to Indian television reports, and struck at Nariman House, which is home to the city’s Chabad-Lubavitch center. Israel’s Foreign Ministry said it was trying to locate an unspecified number of Israeli nationals missing in Mumbai, according to Haaretz.com, the Web site of the Israeli newspaper Haaretz.
Unlike previous attacks in India this year, which consisted of anonymously planted bombs, the assailants on Wednesday night were spectacularly well-armed and very confrontational.

Television reports showed the charred shell of a car in front of Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, formerly Victoria Terminus, the mammoth railway station. A nearby gas station was blown up. {This does not seem to be targeting Foreigners}
NY times Blogs
Update | 10:14 p.m. SAJA Forum, the Web site of the South Asian Journalists Association, is now hosting a live discussion about the attacks. Among the guests is Suketu Mehta, who wrote “Maximum City: Mumbai Lost & Found”.

Update | 9:53 p.m. NDTV is currently conducting a live cell-phone interview with a guest trapped in the Taj hotel named Deepak. The anchor asks him if he wants to send a message to his loved ones, but he says that he has been speaking to his family himself.

The samples Mr. Shachtman quotes — “Hospital update. Shots still being fired. Also Metro cinema next door,” tweets mumbaiattack. “Blood needed at JJ hospital,” adds aeropolowoman, supplying the numbers for the blood bank. — are among the more newsy. What is striking is how Twitter blends together accounts from people who have real, even first-hand information, and notes from people who are watching TV or reading the Web and passing on second or third-hand accounts.
The Honolulu Advertiser
LAT: Attack timing took advantage of lax security

By Mark Magnier and Subhash Sharma
Los Angeles Times

MUMBAI, India — Terrorism experts said the late-evening timing of the Mumbai attacks offered several potential advantages for the attackers.

Security is generally more lax at that hour, as businesses prepare to close. There’s less traffic in the congested city, making it easier to position a large number of attackers at disparate sites. And it allows the story to hit news cycles in Europe and North America, with global publicity a key objective among terrorists hoping to undermine stability and spread fear.

Local government officials said as many as four attackers were killed and nine arrested. An unknown group calling itself the Deccan Mujahideen claimed responsibility, but experts cautioned that the claim could be a hoax.
Witnesses said the attackers fired automatic weapons apparently at random and made no effort to hide their identities. Experts said this suggested the attackers were prepared to die.

Police released a picture of a man with a serene smile wearing a blue T-shirt and holding an automatic weapon whom they identified as one of the attackers at the railway station.
At the Taj Mahal Palace hotel, firefighters used their trucks to help people out of windows as others battled blazes on the roof. Bystanders used ornate gold-colored luggage trolleys to transport bodies out of the lobby.
“I guess they were after foreigners because they were asking for British or American passports,” said Rakesh Patel, a Briton who lives in Hong Kong and who was staying at the Taj Mahal hotel on business, according to Reuters. “They had bombs.”
The attack comes at a sensitive time for India and the region. Five Indian states are holding elections now, and a national vote is expected early next year. The opposition Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party has accused Prime Minister Manmohan Singh’s Congress Party of being soft on terrorism.
It also comes amid improved relations between India and the new Pakistani government led by President Asif Ali Zardari.
“The enemy of all terrorists is moderation,” said Bruce Hoffman, a professor with Georgetown University’s Security Studies Program in Washington. “They want to put harder-line parties in power. The oxygen they breathe is polarization and enmity.”The U.S. and British governments, among others, condemned the attacks.
Los Angeles Times staff writer Magnier reported from Beijing, and special correspondent Sharma from Mumbai.
Lastly, I would request Moderators/Admins to please the change the Title of this thread from "Firing/Attack in Mumbai" to something more appropriate.

Some idiot on CNN US just said sort of that "India has just joined the club of countries targeted by terrorists."

Seems like he was just born today. Happy birthday.

looking at size of the rucksack on the pig, plenty of ammo and grenades probably. water and food they can just loot in the hotel.

these boys are not the IQ=60 orc types...quite well educated and professional from their confident movements and calm execution.

over 50 terrorists landed in 2 boats etc

thats almost like the israel op in beirut in scale!! they must have rented
or comandeered a trawler from further away, towed the speedboats
and moved in?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1973_Israe ... on_Lebanon
Last edited by Singha on 27 Nov 2008 08:36, edited 1 time in total.
Mathew G

Re: Terror Attacks in Mumbai

Post by Mathew G »

Hope the army capture these guys alive. Would give more clues where their source is from.

President Pratibha Patil on Thursday strongly condemned the deadly terror attacks in Mumbai and asked people to maintain calm and cooperate with authorities. "Such acts are highly condemnable," Patil, who is on a four-day visit to Vietnam, said in a statement.

The President said she was confident that the authorities would bring the situation under control. She asked people to maintain calm and cooperate with authorities at this crucial moment.

AFP: "This afternoon, the White House National Security Council convened officials from counterterrorism and intelligence agencies as well as the State and Defense Departments," the White House said in a statement. "The US government continues to monitor the situation, including the safety and security of our citizens, and stands ready to assist and support the Indian government.

Daily News & Analysis: A high alert has been declared across Gujarat following the terrorist attacks in Mumbai on Wednesday night, police sources said here. Vigil has been increased in the state as a precautionary measure in view of the multiple terror attacks in the financial capital, they said. Ahmedabad was rocked by serial blasts on July 26 in which 57 people were killed.

The Age (Australia): Melbourne actor Brooke Satchwell, who is in India on a three-week film shoot, told Radio 3AW she had been at the Taj Hotel for a production meeting. While she was in the hotel bathroom, she heard gunfire outside. "The staff let us hide in a service cupboard between the two bathrooms. We sat in there listening to maching gun fire. Two of the male staff were sticking their heads out to see what was going on, which was absolutely terrifying. They were coming back and reporting that there was a dead body outside the bathroom and that they were seeing people being shot in the hallways."

"An hour later, some of the hotel security came and ushered us very quickly down the corridor and out across the lobby because no one had a very good idea of what was going on. At this stage I didn't see any police present and I ran down the steps past a few more dead bodies.''

Steve Smith called the Seven Network from a small room at the back of the Taj Mahal hotel where he's hiding after seeing two gunman toss grenades into the restaurant where he was having a beer just hours earlier. He says after throwing grenades into the restaurant the gunmen opened fire for about ten minutes with AK-47 assault rifles.

No - similar things cannot be attempted in the west - first ethnic profiling and suspicion keeps a constant social surveillance on Muslims in addition to compared-to-India-paranoid state surveillance of details of daily activity. You have to register with the local police station wherever you reside, you are identified and tracked by national id cards, all your transactions have to be maintained through banks, even your health visits to your GP can potentially be called upon and your electronic or audio communications tracked and monitored - no chance of slipping in such boats (mostly used by drug smugglers and tracked by a bevy of helicopter gunships and naval vessels). Now Indian intel is thinking that this terror attack must be "foreign planned" - and here is the gem - as reproted by NDTV - Indian intel apparently thinks (as reported by Barkha Dutt) this has an unique pattern - timing is curious as it coincides with MP elections today and Delhi elections tmrw - what is the point sought to be made - that this had a "Hindu" hand to sway voters in their favour?

Nayak, in Quranic Arabic, Islam is derived from the tri-literal root s-l-m meaning "submission", and Muslim is one who submits (to Allah) - this has been confused deliberately with the Hebrew Shalom and explained as "peace".

Was Hemant Karkare killed so that he could not later open the mouth about the Malegaon blasts and who really wanted the investigations? Why were all the top officers concentrated in one operation - its not even done in the army! - so that they could be finished off at one go? How far does the intel of the Jihadis run inside our intelligence and state machinery?

Spectacular attack, speed and surprise was the key, ISI must have pulled this plan out to really shake the elephant.

Manu wrote: Shiv, the Deccan Mujaheddin has claimed responsibility, does not seem like a Buddhist Group.
I would request the authorities to redouble their efforts to find the link between Col Purohit, Sadhvi Pragya and this attack. The ATS should put all 100% of its people onto this. Why only 90%?
Jayram

Post by Jayram »

Manu wrote:
shiv wrote: [Television reports showed the charred shell of a car in front of Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus, formerly Victoria Terminus, the mammoth railway station. A nearby gas station was blown up. {This does not seem to be targeting Foreigners}
No this is a blended operation in mho. The foreign qeedas have mated with the local qeedas and come up with this operation where "traditional" targets of both have been targetted. I would not be surprised if the more radical of these qeedas are holed up in 19 thr fllor of Taj and the local ones are more at the street level. That way both of thier aim are met - a dangerous combo and some stange way benifit us overall since now these qeedas will be targetted by both Western and Indian agencies wheras before the local qeeads were ignored by the Western agencys as being an "internal" problem to India..
JMT..
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

Shivji,
You don't need the authorities for that anymore. You just need media space for arundhati roys and Prafools and Christian science monitors to come up with the links.

Just saw a video where a man got hit in his hand which started bleeding!
The ******** media person next to him instead of helping him.....was trying to position his hand to get a better focus for the camera man....

what kind of humanity is this.....
milindc

Post by milindc »

sampat wrote:Indian Imams should issue a fatwa that these dead terrorists should be burried with pigs, depriving them of their virgins.
Why the need for Fatwa.. just {deleted gratuitous obscenity - but I am getting tired of doing that, it's just as easy to delete the postor..I may "just do that". } do it.... :evil:
narmad

Post by narmad »

NDTV : 90% of ATS were put on Malegaon
unfortunately Terrorists got advantage of this

101 killed 6 foreigners
11th location : nariman house (more hostages)

Manu wrote: Shiv, the Deccan Mujaheddin has claimed responsibility, does not seem like a Buddhist Group.
I would request the authorities to redouble their efforts to find the link between Col Purohit, Sadhvi Pragya and this attack. The ATS should put all 100% of its people onto this. Why only 90%?
shiv-ji,
The mumbai train bombing did the same to me. Please stop listening to the news and stop listening to our netas.
Manu

Post by Manu »

Come on Shiv, please get a grip. This is not the time. My sincere request. I have always admired you, this is not the time to be cynical.

I knew from Day 1 that this would happen. Most of us on BR did. Criminalized Politics sometimes is caught with their pants down.

But we will have plenty of time later.

Please folks, try to give us the current situation in Mumbai, as it is happening. Analysis can wait.

What News of NSG/Mumbai Police/Army, how many hostages killed, still alive? How many terrorists killed, still missing etc.

I think we have crossed even Iraq now in the list of casualties from Islamic Terrorism in the past 5 years.

that reporter should be hit with a cosh on his head. put him out of his misery.
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

Possible sources:
  • ISI
  • Mumbai Underworld
  • Hindu extremist groups?
Who ever behind this, it is not a "little" known group. It is well co-ordinated and well planned. 11 locations - 50 terrorists in 2 boats? :shock:
rgsrini

Post by rgsrini »

The ******** media person next to him instead of helping him.....was trying to position his hand to get a better focus for the camera man....
I saw that video too and it was when the terrorist pigs sprayed from within the jeep. It is not as bad as you are projecting. The media has a duty to record the incidents as they happen so that a larger group of audience can understand , appreciate and analyze what is going on.

Manu wrote:What News of NSG/Mumbai Police/Army, how many hostages killed, still alive? How many terrorists killed, still missing etc.
NSG is in Taj as well as Oberoi. Set up sniper nests. IBN suddenly sprouted a brain and announced that "they wont be showing NSG commandos and their positions and will show the footage later after this crisis is over"

Is some one recording the IBNlive? It's showing army/commandos sweeping Taj , with a Hotel employee guiding them (Brave man, he is in a suit, no BPJ).

Mathew G wrote:Possible sources:
[*] Hindu extremist groups?

2 boats?
If boats are involved, no equal equal please.

No more the police have requested media not to beam any live pictures of the NSG operation
IMO thats the right thing to do.....many have died today :(
sunilUpa wrote:Is some one recording the IBNlive? It's showing army/commandos sweeping Taj , with a Hotel employee guiding them (Brave man, he is in a suit, no BPJ).

pigs might have come from Gujarat. : NDTV

anishns wrote:Just saw a video where a man got hit in his hand which started bleeding!

what kind of humanity is this.....
anish, you are talking about the drive-by firing right ?
others were actually helping out. most of the people there were policemen and journalists.
the journo in question did well to keep away from the injured, he didn't have either the training or the equipment to be of any help.

That is saying same thing as WTC attacks were done by same people as Oklahoma bombings.
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

CNN IBN reports a Jewish home targetted at Nariman point. :evil:

I am just feeling so frustrated. This was expected and it happened. Now what, re-elect UPA back?

Here is the insight from B. Raman http://www.rediff.com/news/2008/nov/27r ... s-safe.htm
The war of civilisation between the Muslims and the infidels has begun in Indian territory.

So said the first statement issued in the name of the so-called Indian Mujahideen [Images] in November 2007, after the three orchestrated explosions in three towns of Uttar Pradesh [Images] outside local courts.

We saw the latest round of this war in Mumbai on the night of November 26, 2008, as an unestimated number of terrorists -- divided into small groups and wielding hand-held weapons and improvised explosive devices -- literally took control of Mumbai and targeted with frightening precision famous hospitals preferred by the rich of the country and foreign tourists, railway stations, a hospital and many other places scattered across this business capital of India.

It is not just 9/11. It is not just Madrid, M arch 2004. It is not just London [Images] 2006.

It is -- I am using the present tense because the situation is still not under control at 5-30 am despite the Army's assistance being sought -- an act of terrorism the like of which the world has not seen before. Mind boggles as one tries to think and figure out how the terrorists could have planned and carried out terrorist strikes of such magnitude, territorial spread and ferocity without our intelligence and police having been able to get any scent of it. Like what the Vietcong did during the Tet offensive

The iceberg of jihadi terrorism to which I have been drawing attention since November 2007, in article after article, in interview after interview, in discussion after discussion has struck not only Mumbai, but the Indian State.

The iceberg moved from UP to Jaipur [Images]. From Jaipur to Bangalore. From Bangalore to Ahmedabad [Images] and Surat [Images]. From there to Delhi [Images]. From Delhi to Assam. From Assam to Mumbai now -- despite the claims made by the Mumbai police some weeks ago of having discovered and crushed a plot of the IM to carry out strikes in Mumbai.

The government of Manmohan Singh reacted to the repeated warning signals of the moving iceberg since November 2007, in the same way as the Bush Administration reacted to reports about the plans of the Al Qaeda [Images] for aviation terrorism in the US; in the same way Megawati Sukarnoputri reacted to reports of the activities of the Jemmah Islamiyah; and in the same way Khalida Zia reacted to reports of the plans of the Jamiat-ul-Mujahideen .

Bovine. It just did no react. It was in a total denial mode. I wrote and said again and again -- hand over all the investigation about the IM to a central investigating agency for a co-ordinated investigation instead of their being investigated by the police in a piecemeal manner in different states ruled by different political parties. No reaction.

From a localised threat, jihadi terrorism has become a pan-Indian threat with a pan-Islamic ideology. Deal with it with a pan-Indian strategy, I said. No reaction.

The terrorists arrested some weeks ago in Mumbai, three of whom were IT experts well-placed in transnational companies, pose a new dimension of the threat. Seek the help of the US, I said. No reaction.

I drew attention to an article by Hamid Mir, journalist from Pakistan, which spoke of Indian Muslims going to Afghanistan to fight with the Taliban [Images] against the US and which also said that India is one of the routes being used by foreign jihadis going to Afghanistan. No reaction, just as Rajiv Gandhi did not react to repeated wake-up calls from the then Afghan President Najibullah that Muslims from Kashmir were being trained by the Afghan Mujahideen.

In October, when I had come to Delhi for a seminar, two diplomats from EU countries sought an appointment with me for a discussion on the IM. They expressed their surprise and concern over the fact that the Indian intelligence and police seemed to know so little about the IM despite their having arrested many perpetrators of the previous blasts and interrogated them.

Is the IM the name of an organisation or of a movement? Is it one or many organisations in different states acting, like the International Islamic Front of Osama bin Laden, as a united front -- autonomously where they can and unitedly where they should? Who constitute its command and control? Where are they? In India or outside? Nobody knows for certain.

I could not sleep the whole of last night. One question which kept bothering me again and again was: how safe are our nuclear establishments and material?

Till now, we were greeting with glee Pakistan's incompetence in dealing with terrorism. We can no longer do so. We have become as clueless as Pakistan.

I wanted to write much more, but my mind doesn't work. As I watch on the TV what is happening in Mumbai, I shiver and sweat at the thought of what is waiting to happen tomorrow and where.
Raj

Post by Raj »

Mathew G wrote:CNN IBN reports a Jewish home targetted at Nariman point. :evil:
deleted
Last edited by Raj on 27 Nov 2008 12:38, edited 1 time in total.

rgsrini wrote:
---self deleted---
Last edited by anishns on 27 Nov 2008 08:54, edited 1 time in total.
vijyeta

Post by vijyeta »

Singha wrote:TV is totally useless. better updates here. one channel shows a tall building and says oberoi, another shows the same and says trident.
they cant even converge on which hotel!.....
It seems Trident is the new name for what was earlier the Oberoi hotel

Guys Chill down a bit, India mey sub chalta hai. Toomorrow we hear how resilent Mumbaikars are getting back with thier lives ready for anther terrorist attacks.

Don't want to sound crude but the Maharastra ATS was busy framing Sadhus, Sadhvis and Armymen it really proved incompetant when facing real terrorists.

The UPA government asking the entire law enforcing machinery in the Country to only watch Hindu Mutts was like man bending down facing the oppisite direction and begging the terroirsts to attacks.

Toomorrow the A.Roy's, Teesta's will claim this was a fake encounter, police did sucide, Abu Azmi and Amar singh will give rewards to the terrorists while our governments hands over Lt. Col Purohit to Pakistan....

To top all of this, last night at 2:00 AM the following happened

1) Electricity was not cut off, cell phones were not jammed and media was talking to corporate Hinchos stuck at the TAJ

2) The Media knowing all this happily zoomed and focussed in on Navy commondos entering the building so that the terrorists can give a befitting recepition

my 2 cents
Last edited by Aditya_V on 27 Nov 2008 08:54, edited 1 time in total.
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

Raj wrote:
Mathew G wrote:CNN IBN reports a Jewish home targetted at Nariman point. :evil:
Must be Hindu extremist groups as you suggested in your previous post. :evil:
Probably. :evil:

Question. We have seen so many pictures of Pakis. Do those pictures look like the TFTA? What part of TSP? This is what troubles me. The hair styles are not right, the round face is not right, the clean-cut chin on the tall one is not right. One has Mongol features - only part of TSP where people have that is the Northern Areas of POK.

These seem to be recruits from some other part of the duniya, no comment on where because I can't place it. Never seen the Faithful looking like these. I assume they have not caught any alive? No "AllahoAkbar!" yells?

Something is just very very scary here. A whole mini-army of suicidal gunmen? With no escape plan?

Mathew,
You saw what happens when "Hindu extremists" attempt something like this - they get caught even before they carry out fully their heinous plans at the hands of ATS ! no it is not the act of incompetents in the terror department like the Hindus.

It appears that an almost endless source of ammunition is in the hands of those terrorists holed up inside! grenades are being thrown at the commandos - continuous gunfire has been goin on for now almost half a day. All of it carried only in standard backpacks? or was ammunition smuggled in before and stored in these locations with the help of inside collaborators. The commando operations are not going on that fast it appears - either because of clearing operations or hostages or acombination of both. Why do we not use "gas"?

Hostages have been rescued at Taj? CNN reporter just said so.
ss_roy

Post by ss_roy »

I have lurked on this blog for years and I have started posting only recently, because of my interest in space exploration.

{Thank you for your enlightening perspective, which I am now going to deny to the vast general public. If you have been lurking on this blog for many years, you must be aware of the general etiquette. Any more bigoted comments like what I just deleted, and I may have to deny all of us the benefit of your further perspectives. }
Last edited by enqyoob on 27 Nov 2008 09:01, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Deleted gratuitous bigotry.

Everytime a terror happens, a new outfit claims responisbility.. and there goes the tiger tail catch.. and Everytime we show idiot face. People dont think. Brasstaks are important to flush unwanted elements. It begins with inside job and final justice.
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

sunilUpa wrote:Hostages have been rescued at Taj? CNN reporter just said so.

Question - why did they take the hospital? Probably knew some of their guys would get wounded, hence required a hospital where the doctors could be held under seige, to treat them. Very cleverly planned.
Y. Kanan

Post by Y. Kanan »

I'm getting a little annoyed with these descriptions of the terrorists as "superbly coordinated", "brilliant", "clearly military trained", etc.

Give me a break, people.

When you unleash 50 or 60 men with AK-47's, RPG's, and grenades onto a defenseless population you're going to get "spectacular" results even if your gunmen are lousy shots. Keep in mind only the police had guns to fight back with, in most cases bolt-action rifles onlee, and there weren't many cops on hand anyway. There's nothing "well coordinated" or "professional" about this attack. In fact it's looks pretty badly executed to be honest; given the large #'s of terrorists I would have expected a much bigger death toll.

And by the way, this may be premature but kudos to our police for their aggressive and rapid response; they moved in quick and stormed the buildings taking heavy losses as a result. In so doing, they probably saved hundreds of lives.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »

Nayak wrote:Mir Jaffer being interviewed in CNN.
I wish his Indian citizenship be revoked, and he should be declared persona-non-grata.
http://www.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/1 ... ra.mumbai/
He is an american, what did you expect? Atleast he is being open in crediting this to islamic terrorism. Contrast that to your indian christian guy who is ready to point figure at hindu terror concoction inspite of plenty of evidences to the contrary.