Terror Attacks in Mumbai - IV

Re: Terror Attacks in Mumbai - IV

milindc wrote:Gober Khan taunting NDTV anchor. Your Army and Marine commandos were incompetent and it took them 60 hours. Your Intelligence chief was killed by terrorists or may be by your own men.

Man, I hope all the soldiers are listening this. Every soldier should hear this...
I hope his a*hole is brought to India and made to give BJs to every prisoner in India.
And broadcast live to Pakis
Good that this clown was put on air by NDTV of all channels...

Let even the dedicated viewers of NDTV's Pakis-are-friends spin get a taste of the real Pakis since Gobar can get any sane Indian's BP to shoot upto new levels with his evil smirk and taunting...
milindc

Post by milindc »

Raja Ram wrote:There is a danger here that the genuine anger that is coming out can be misdirected and a few self goals scored.

1. The outpouring of emotions can be hijacked by the DIE elite who will then obfuscate the real issue - Pakistan is the source of terror to something wishy washy and pansy and deflect the anger against the politicians. All anger will be then directed at them instead of Pakistan and they will go scot free

2. The DIE elite and their media bootleggers may dictate the agenda rather than national interest. They will demand for populist action and inane things rather than the destruction of Pakistani terror machine.

This is what I fear most. I really hope and pray that I am wrong.

I don't want any diminishing of the focus and attention on Pakistan, we have the proof, we have the means, and we do not have to care about any other country now. We have to use this window of opportunity to hasten the only peace mantra that is correct, concise and well thought out - GIVE PEACE A CHANCE, DESTROY PAKISTAN.
The initial protests were started by Channels and attended by DIE elites with candles up their butt.
Tide definitely turned when normal crowd started converging... these folks are very very clear and explicit on what needs to done. Destroy terrorist camps and attack Pakistan

Now, all you can hear
Vande Mataram
Bharat Mata ki Jai
Gali Gali me shor hai, Pakistan chor hai

One more clue is when NDTV kept repeating the Candles video....

Barkha is nowhere to be found and must be wailing somewhere on phone with Paki FM.
How I wish she was here and bitch slapped by normal Dhoni type guy on the road

Added later:
A guy on TimesNow is stating that all of them are going to Delhi on 10th from Mumbai.
He said we will meet MMS and convey our feelings. He said MMS be prepared for us...

bart wrote:Last time too, while the Mumbai police had dozens of people working on closing down dance bars while the terrorists walked in, blew up several train bogies and walked out. I don't think that closing down dance bars is an achievement.
Well if you ask me closing Dance Bar is a BIG achievement in Mumbai , considering there are so many vested interest involved with this business including but not limited to politician and gangsters having a good stake in this business , ultimately in the long run it affects National Security and is a social menace

Yes true there were bomb blast then and now , but RR guy is just a small pawn in this huge matrix , we are dealing with full scale war on India , directed by Intell of Porki land , there are many guys in the Top Echelon who I will hold more accountable than RR , RR also managed to control the gangster in Mumbai.

I am sure with RR exit many of the vested interest will be happy.

I feel sorry for him that he said that and rightly so asked to step down , its a lesson for him to always keep presence of mind and try to learn to deal with media ( many incompetent politician in this country do it very well )
maitya

Post by maitya »

Now are these just words or do they mean business this time? Only time will tell ...
US sets stage for strikes if Pak does not act
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

maitya wrote:Now are these just words or do they mean business this time? Only time will tell ...
The idea is they will wait till they act and by the time they realize that TSP wont act Barack will be prez and he will NOT allow India to do anything. Its Lame-Duck(Bush Gov) talking to another Lame-Duck(Kangress)

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/US_s ... 789520.cms
sivabala

Post by sivabala »

Why did not the politicians in Maharashtra employ part of their Z+ security guards for the hostage rescue?
Z+ security guards are part of the NSG also referred as Spl Rangers Group. For every Z+ security group guarding a politician, there is man power for 3 shifts. Part of this group if have been employed, we could have given more resistance to the terrorists in addition to MARCOs.
Last edited by sivabala on 04 Dec 2008 00:02, edited 1 time in total.

durgesh wrote:US sets stage for strikes if Pak does not act

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/US_s ... 789520.cms
Dear Sir,

If you read what is already posted, you will notice that same story had already been posted just 2 posts above your post!

Austin and bart, how long you both will waste bandwidth? Not in this thread.

Gobar doesnt realize that the same crazies@Taj can be "persuaded" by any one in the world to visit him too. Just ask his "Friend with benefits", Musharraf....

{edited. AmberG, "please exercise maximum restraint, pending investigation" 8)

JohnSnow: pls b careful - these are stressed-out times, ppl don't take kindly to what might be intended as gentle ribbing}

PS - Sorry, folks but I am in no mood to listen to wise cracks and scorn thrown at other BRF members, Indians or other leaders (even Delhi wallas / politicians)..It is one thing to do valid criticism but baseless/ ad homenim attacks and comments are counter productive.

Hope this helps

{I agree - but pls join us in the Myoosic Phestival. None of us feel very good right now.. but we can all join in dreaming of a peaceful, war-free, hate-free, meaning Pakistan-free world. }

AmberG, I couldnt find JS post again after first reading it.

JS , No baiting members despite whatever hurt you are in. So please desist.

From see enn enn. WARNING: WILL MAKE YOU WANT TO NUKE PAKISTAN
Police: Mumbai suspect admits Pakistan link

.. Maria identified the suspect as Mohammed Ajmal Kasab, 21, from the Faridkot village in the Okara district of Pakistan's Punjab province. He is the son of Mohammed Amir Kasab, the police commissioner said. Maria said all 10 attackers were Pakistanis...

Kasab spent the past 18 months training at various camps run by Lashkar-e-Tayyiba -- a Pakistan-based terror group allied with al Qaeda. Kasab told police he joined the group, known by its acronym LeT, six months before he began training.

The training primarily took place in the Kashmiri city of Muzaffarabad, Maria said.

"He was told things like, 'You'll come in through this door, then go over here, then go out through that door,'" Maria told CNN. "Very, very detailed, explicit instructions. The gunmen were hand-picked, but there were no examinations per se."

All of the attackers were trained in Kashmir by former Pakistani army officers, but apparently did not know each other, the investigator said.

"While in the camps they all had code names," Maria said.
" Kasab was trained to handle small arms as well as automatic weapons, the police commissioner said. He also received "explosives training, survival training, (and) nautical training."

During the last three months of the training, which focused on the Mumbai strike, Kasab was "shown photographs of the locations he was to target," including one of the city's main railway stations and a hospital."

Indian authorities Wednesday defused a bomb at the station -- one of the first locations targeted in last week's siege, CNN sister station CNN-IBN reported. They said Kasab had provided its location.

The officials said the explosive device was made from RDX, a powerful explosive. Four other RDX bombs planted during the well-coordinated attacks have also been defused and police believe there are no more, officials said.

He described the 21-year-old suspect as someone who would go unnoticed, with a criminal record in Pakistan only for petty theft. But he said Kasab is a cold-blooded killer. Kasab told police investigators that he shot a small boy and, because he was crying, "He shot him again, and killed him, to shut him up," Maria said.

Kasab told the Indian investigators that the mission to strike Mumbai began on November 23 -- the Sunday before the attack -- when the attackers loaded a boat with their weapons, ammunition and fake Indian identification documents, Maria said.

A few days later, they hijacked a Pakistani fishing vessel near Indian international waters, and used that vessel to cover most of the approximately 500 nautical miles from Lahore, Pakistan, to Mumbai, he said.

This account was confirmed by Mumbai's police chief in a news conference on Tuesday, who also cited the suspect's police interview.

Maria said, according to Kasab's account, that the 10 attackers killed the captain and the crew, left them on the boat, and headed ashore in inflatable dinghies on Wednesday, the day of the attack.

Asked if Kasab's testimony could be trusted, Maria said the suspect's description of the captain's body and the location of the attackers' satellite phone and global-positioning system matched what investigators found on the boat.

"The dead captain lay in the front of the boat face down with his throat cut, hands tied behind his back," Maria said.

He also noted that the weapons that were used in the Mumbai attack can be traced back to Pakistan.

Maria said none of the attackers was carrying their real identification documents because they did not expect to return home.

The police commissioner said the operation, as described by Kasab, was unique in its planning and execution -- not just in India, but worldwide. He said he expects Kasab to provide more details in his ongoing interrogation by Indian police, who have 90 days to charge him.
advertisement

They intend to charge Kasab with terrorism and ask a judge for the death penalty, which in India is carried out by hanging. They expect the whole process to cover the next year to year and a half.

Maria said Kasab is not being tortured for answers, stressing that that would be counterproductive.

(They reserve torture for innocents whom the Maharashtra guvrmand wants tortured. They treat paki terrorists like kings.)

How can we get "Times Now" in eyerope? Seems to be good channel. You have that booldy channel Zee tv that broadcasts nonsense imotional dramas and two day old news twice a day.

rsingh wrote:How can we get "Times Now" in eyerope? Seems to be good channel. You have that booldy channel Zee tv that broadcasts nonsense imotional dramas and two day old news twice a day.
rsingh Some one posted the streaming url so you can watch on Computer. I think go to their website and clcik on the streaming button. Should open in Windows Palyer.

rsingh wrote:How can we get "Times Now" in eyerope? Seems to be good channel. You have that booldy channel Zee tv that broadcasts nonsense imotional dramas and two day old news twice a day.
rsingh Some one posted the streaming url so you can watch on Computer. I think go to their website and clcik on the streaming button. Should open in Windows Palyer.
http://www.indiagalaxy.com/default.asp? ... imes%20Now

ps - not promoting the website, but its free of registration etc. always have good virus checks and firewalls when exposing yourself to random streaming media.

sivabala wrote:Why did not the politicians in Maharashtra did not employ part of their Z+ security guards for the hostage rescue?
We already have NSG contingents in all major cities, so no need to waste money in new recruitment. Henceforth divert these z-security NSG commandos to any local terrorist attack immediately, leaving the VIP with his gardner and cook for personal security. That will ensure better safety all around for you-and-me aam janta types.

bart wrote:Last time too, while the Mumbai police had dozens of people working on closing down dance bars while the terrorists walked in, blew up several train bogies and walked out. I don't think that closing down dance bars is an achievement.
Well if you ask me closing Dance Bar is a BIG achievement in Mumbai , considering there are so many vested interest involved with this business including but not limited to politician and gangsters having a good stake in this business , ultimately in the long run it affects National Security and is a social menace

Yes true there were bomb blast then and now , but RR guy is just a small pawn in this huge matrix , we are dealing with full scale war on India , directed by Intell of Porki land , there are many guys in the Top Echelon who I will hold more accountable than RR , RR also managed to control the gangster in Mumbai.

I am sure with RR exit many of the vested interest will be happy.

I feel sorry for him that he said that and rightly so asked to step down , its a lesson for him to always keep presence of mind and try to learn to deal with media ( many incompetent politician in this country do it very well )
I heard the same thing. Now this gang of Porki supported corrupt business-Politician nexus has put money into the 2004 election and got their buddies elected. This group is not committed to national security and has only one interest - business by any means. I meet their supporters in the massaland and these guys claim contacts inside the PMO etc.

This group wants status quo.

A week after, Mumbai groundswell against terror

Anupama Katakam

A rally with feeling converges on the Gateway of India area

MUMBAI: All roads led to the Taj Mahal Hotel this evening in Mumbai. In a show of solidarity, thousands of people marched to the hotel, often raising slogans against politicians, Pakistan and the reaction of the government to last week’s terror attack.

Wednesday marked the completion of one week since a group of terrorists paralysed the metropolis by killing and holding hostage hundreds of people in two of the city’s luxury hotels, at a Jewish religious centre and at the Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus.

What was to be a peaceful candlelight vigil to show unity against the attacks and to pay respect to those who lost their lives in the mindless killings, turned into a massive people’s protest.

There were people from across the city and from all walks of life holding placards, banners, distributing leaflets with charter of demands or just walking in the crowds.

Many who were just visiting Mumbai also participated in the march.

“Instead of taking the train home we all came here. We have to show our support and we have to protest. We must not sit back and take this drivel by politicians,” said Mukesh Mehta, an accountant with a firm in the Fort area.

Initially the crowd was calm, but as the numbers swelled the atmospehere became more charged and the sloganeering against Pakistan became the most vocal. “Hindustan Zindabad,” “Halla Bol,” “Bharat Mata ke Jai,” and “Hindustan ke shore hai, Mumbai meri jaan hai,” (loosely translated as “India’s pride Mumbai is our life”) were some of the cries.

Hundreds of people carried banners such as “Enough is enough,” “We want action, not rhetoric,” “Mumbaikars wake up, we need to act.”

Others were distributing leaflets, which listed demands that included a uniform civil code.

Street performers, a man dressed as Mahatma Gandhi and other celebrities added a touch of colour if not entertainment to the march.

“We need to be here. Look at the numbers. It is amazing. People are extremely angry. Too many people have lost near ones in the city. We have to show our solidarity. Mumbaikars are amazing,” said Mahesh Patel, a businessmen from Bora Bazaar.

“I got into the crowd and as we began to walk I felt a great sense of nationalism. We are a democracy. Our so called leaders have to listen to us. We have to protest this terrible act,” said Usha Sathe, a housewife from Dadar.

“I have come on work from Delhi, but I thought I had to do my bit for my country when such a terrible tragedy hits us. Participating in this is my contribution. ,” said Ajay Ahuja, a lawyer.

Sorry but I have to use 2 smilies in this post (a thousand apologies).

From the above article:
"He resisted at first, but soon he began to talk. We have our techniques, but we don't disclose our tactics." :shock:

Mr Bharti said Kasab is being held in an undisclosed location: "All I can say is that it isn't five-star luxury." :rotfl:
Long Live Kasab so that he may endure 10^100 times more pain than he inflicted on innocent people. Death is the easy way out for this guy.

Even while the ISI political wing was disbanded just days before the Mumbai attack, the shakeup atop the ISI is irrelevant without a trickle-down impact. And so long as ‘mid-level’ men such as Major Zakiur Rahman man posts and sign off on al-Qaeda affiliates’ massacres, there is little hope for Pakistan’s emergence from the tinderbox of terrorism without itself being consumed by the very fires it tolerates.

Westerners call it a ‘come to Jesus’ moment. Whatever the South Asian equivalent, Pakistan has yet to have its own. When it does, the fighting inside Pakistan, among Pakistanis (and assorted imported radical travelers) will be fierce and bloody. May the jihadiyun not be the only ones armed and willing to fight.

UPDATE: Also later included more at The Tank on National Review Online.

I have remarked before that America’s natural ally in the War on Terror is India. Elements within the Pakistani military and intelligence sympathetic to al-Qaeda will do the terrorists’ bidding and drive the final wedge. This probably isn’t it. But “the final wedge” will look very similar unless Pakistani leaders truly have a “come to Jesus” moment, as we Westerners like to call it. I am quite sure Pakistani Muslims would prefer a different choice of words. I am also quite sure that many of us presume a “come to Jesus” moment for Pakistan would be a moment where terrorists are categorically rejected. Yet it may well be in quite the opposite direction.

Either way, it will be a moment of clarity. That much, at least, will be welcomed by many, if not the events that follow
http://threatswatch.org/rapidrecon/2008 ... osis-mumb/

Raja Bose ji,
These terror types are not tortured to begin with. He has a very long story to tell, and torture will not bring it out.
Torture is used to extract some very small and vital piece of information that is critical enough to be needed immediately - say for instance where a bomb is located or the location of a hiding suspect.

This guy does not consider himself to be a criminal, he feels he is justified in his actions and more likely, he would have talked very quietly, his interrogators would have been firm yet very formal in their approach with him, quietly asking him their questions. At least for now no one would be laying their hands on him.

When he is of no practical use to the Law enforcement people, he will be humiliated and shown the absolute futility of his actions.

If you remember the clips of Maulana Masood Azhar's interrogation that were shown during the IA Hijack. They showed that he was surrounded by 3-4 interrogators who spoke to him very formally and in a businesslike manner, he was not humiliated during the interrogation per se.
His retribution will come from boredom from his prison sentence and from the inmates he will share his cell with. And finally if he is not freed by one of our politicians in a hostage exchange or escapes enroute to court, he will meet his maker via the hangman's office.

poor guy, stateless switch roles to statefull smart ISI gang member. What are we waiting for to declare ISI a terror org?

kamikazzi terrorists needs high level of education.. almost all of the world terror is done by well educated engineers, doctors and economic guys.. gone into wrong doing. poor guys understand losing life is difficult, since they have been there and done that.. of course, i am not taking jihadism into consideration here.

if they are stateless, then why bother in protecting them.. just fish them out. help us to bomb and smoke them out?

it is legitimate to ask why $10b arms were given to ISI terrorists, and their TSP state.

Perhaps, the whole of TSP is stateless.. which is correct per reality 1947. Instead of obstructing justice, TSP is given marching orders. They can divide themselves now, and be ready to surrender or get divided later based on how stateless they are going to become soon.

Dawood sitting pretty in Karachi

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/Dawo ... 789890.cms
Security agency sources told TOI on Wednesday that it's business as usual for the underworld kingpin. A few days ago, a couple of his relatives, including Salim Ansari, flew to Pakistan (using their valid Indian passports) to meet him. Sources said the don was so confident that he would not be touched by the Pakistani establishment that he had made no changes in his daily routine.

He continues to phone his contacts in Mumbai. Recently, a contact who fronts for him in the real estate business reportedly sent Rs 120 crore via hawala, sources in the government stated. The hawala channel between Mumbai and Karachi remains busy.
Sonia to PM
usko kyon taqlif karna yaar... janne do... :rotfl:

^^^^^^

While everyone talks of implicating Dawood!

Whatever happened to the Memon Brothers who were
equally involved in orchestrating the Mumbai blasts of 93
lakshmikanth

Post by lakshmikanth »

Faux News wants India to be poodle #2 of the US (poodle #1: UK)

Time for India to join the Global war on terror
maitya

Post by maitya »

Maoists give gun salute to Mumbai victims
A senior Left leader put it down to the desire to be on the right side of the middle-classes which have a disproportionate say in shaping political tastes. "No political party would like to antagonise them further by articulating ideological positions at this hour," he said
The fact that Maoists felt the need to hammer home their divergence from jihadis after a terror attack directed at luxury hotels and tourists from the US, UK and Israel is testimony to the groundswell of anger against terrorism.
chaitanya

Post by chaitanya »

It seems like some people are convinced that there will be some sort of strike against pakistan, maybe with american help...

my questions are:
a) how long will it take to mate nukes to delivery vehicles (BMs only) with credible first- and second-strike capability
b) how long will it take to plan a joint covert op between india/us to take out nukes in pakistan.

If these take significant amounts of time, it could be the reason why the whole process of going into battle is taking forever. It does seem that the two governments are getting pissed off, but slowly building up the situation.
AkshayM

Post by AkshayM »

Anyone who thinks there will be some action against pakistan are deluding themselves. Believe it, there will be absolutely nothing done to anyone responsible for the terror attacks. Absolutely nothing. Only selected useless, failed congress politicians will be booted out as has happened so far. Current government of India and Maharashtra govt have neither the intent nor the will to do anything about the terror attack.

I think they figured they need to do this after finding the missing bomb at CST. He was the one who planted it yet neglected to tell about it and was found by Railway staff. Yet he was telling stories most likely cover stories about his life etc. This guy assited in the murder over 60 people. (57 at CST, 8 policemen )
Read the news thread.

Chaitanya, Depend on it the nukes will be readied before the strike. As it was in 2001.
Last edited by ramana on 04 Dec 2008 03:14, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Corrected numbers. He is one mass murderer. No wonder Zardari wants to do NLI on him and calls him stateless!
R_Kumar

Post by R_Kumar »

lakshmikanth wrote:Faux News wants India to be poodle #2 of the US (poodle #1: UK)

Time for India to join the Global war on terror
India needs to maintain safe distance from US.

Why dont folks use Google earth and locate this rats nest in Manshera?

Gagan wrote:Raja Bose ji,
These terror types are not tortured to begin with. He has a very long story to tell, and torture will not bring it out.
Torture is used to extract some very small and vital piece of information that is critical enough to be needed immediately - say for instance where a bomb is located or the location of a hiding suspect.
Torture?!!! :shock: Holy smokes no! We are Gandhian nation onlee....we only know how to talk and turn other cheek to enable TSP/BD to get jhapad practice. We are now throwing open invitation to all SAARC nations to join in the fun also. We are totally equal-equal onlee in this aspect.

Seriously though,....he will be subject to mental torture (physical torture usually achieves nothing with motivated types) and if DDM be trusted, narco-analysis.

I think they figured they need to do this after findin gthe missin bomb at CST. He was the one who planted it yet negelcted to tell about it and was found by Railway staff. yet he was telling stories most likely cover stories about his life etc. This guy assited in the murder over 60 people. (57 at CST, 4 ATS squad members, the police inspector who wrestled with him.)
ramana saar,

He shot 8 policemen (Salaskar, Kamte, Karkare, 4 constables, police SI at girgaum chowpatty), not 5.
KSubramanian

Post by KSubramanian »

As this is my first post in this thread (had to read through 60 pages after power came back on sunday after being off for 3.5 days),
I salute the armed forces and the police forces of the country for exemplary courage in trying times. I salute the mango abdul on the street who is shouting and screaming for bloody murder this time. I salute people like Arnab who have let the public anger develop and "channel"lized it well.

We cannot let our leaders off the hook that easily this time. I believe that they are so afraid and really acting this time is because we are not just raising anti-pakistan slogans but also anti-politician slogans. They are worried as their entire source of funding is now threatened and hence they act.

We got to keep up the pressure on these guys through the media. Only then can we have a chance of getting better leaders with the political parties giving seats to better educated and more capable persons.

Now further,
Mr. 10 percent says it was stateless actors. As the responses to his comments have proved

you can fool some people all the time
you can fool all people for some of the time
but you cannot fool all people all the time

Maybe they caught on that the government planned only 10% of the mission. the rest was done by the Porki Armed establishment including the ISI.

about my reading of the situation

India has more than its letting on :twisted: . I believe that there are 2 more terrorists sitting pretty in "5 istar luxury" of some government "safe house" spilling their guts out (literally too.. hopefully). They had to reveal about the third porki because he was caught while on camera.

The reason for the issue of the demarche I believe was giving Pakistan a chance to fail and reject the deportation of its "Citizens" so that we can raise our hands and say, we tried our best, gave them chance, now we have no choice but to do what we must do.

I hope it is what I suspect and not just empty posturing because any empty posturing will not let these politicians continue in their seats. the people will overthrow each and every one of them.

Oh! and btw I really liked the idea of the bharat-rakshak political party. we could give tickets to ex-armed forces and/or strategic thinkers once we have demonstrated the ability to bring in 50000 votes (most seats are won or lost by 5000-6000 votes) we become an important power group for any political party to woo and hence get some leverage on their policies. JMHO

Some readings of the writing in the wall......

New template for terror?

By Mark Sappenfield – Wed Dec 3, 3:00 am ET
New Delhi – Sixty hours in Mumbai have begun to change the calculus of global terrorism.

New reports suggest that both Indian and American intelligence agencies had foreseen the threat to Mumbai (formerly Bombay). Yet the manner of the attack – with 10 heavily armed, highly trained fighters clinically fanning out across the city – meant that no "police force anywhere would have been prepared to counter this type of operation," says Bruce Hoffman, a terrorism analyst at Georgetown University in Washington.

Armed sieges are not a new terrorist tactic, but never before has one been used to such effect. Some experts suggest this could be the most sophisticated terrorist attack since 9/11. Now, other militants might consider copycat operations – and the world's cities will have to be ready for them.[/b ]

"It was not so much of a success in terms of people killed – it was more the publicity they got for three days, and their ability to project the Indian state ... as helpless," says B. Raman, former head of counterterrorism for Indian top intelligence agency, the Research and Analysis Wing (RAW). "Others will want to repeat it," he predicts.

The paroxysm of the bombings was replaced by 60 hours of uncertainty. The militants moved through the city with military precision, killing as they headed toward three rendezvous points – the Taj and Oberoi hotels and Nariman House, a Jewish community center.

In fact, during the fight for the Taj, Indian commandos expressed grudging admiration {:roll: Talking about the opponents planning == admiration?} for the terrorists. They admitted that the terrorists knew the hotel better than the commandos did themselves, and they fought more like soldiers than terrorists.

Employing only guns and grenades, "the individual tactics they used were not that sophisticated," says John Harrison, a terrorism analyst at the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies in Singapore. "But how they put them all together showed a tremendous amount of strategic thinking."

The simpler parts of the operation are easily copied. Terrorists in Kashmir, for instance, have long used similar sieges, albeit on a much smaller scale. "I believe this will become the new popular terrorist tactic since no police force in the world is prepared for ... such an attack," says Georgetown Professor Hoffman by e-mail.

He says that even an attack as complicated as the one in Mumbai could be reproduced. It is "very replicable – provided you have the training facilities, skilled trainers, time, and the ability to engage in pre-op [operation] planning and preparation," Hoffman says.

Others disagree, saying the Mumbai attack, with its multiple targets and coordinated movements, was more akin to 9/11, requiring such exhaustive preparation that it cannot be repeated easily.

"The complexity and scale might not be replicable elsewhere," says Professor Harrison, of Singapore. {what complexity, if the planners can be inserted with minimal chatter?}

The proficiency of the Mumbai terrorists has led to questions about Indian authorities' insistence that there were only 10 people involved. But Harrison says the figure "is very plausible," citing how a few terrorists at the 1972 Munich Olympics held off security forces for hours.

In a hotel like the Taj, "it is incredibly difficult for urban commandos to get control of a situation," he says.

Police have since revealed that the militants booby-trapped dead bodies with hand grenades to slow the commandos' progress. They set fires to add to the confusion. They even took cocaine, police reported, so that they could stay awake for 60 hours straight.

It seems likely, however, that the fighters had help in some form from local contacts – perhaps scouting sites or gathering information, experts say. The Indian police say they have not dismissed that possibility.

Their difficulties in coming to grips with the attacks as they happened will now become a global lesson, says Hoffman. Police worldwide will have to match terrorists' rising sophistication – from rescuing hostages quickly to knowing the layout of all potential targets.

"Police forces will have to prepare for more than one major operation," he says.