Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
vijyeta

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

Post by vijyeta »

KiranM wrote:One thing that always puzzled me was how a small arrow head of Rambo had the explosive potential of 155mm 52 cal shell. But then it is Rambo.. :shock:
Rambo uses Depleted Uranium arrowheads designed to penetrate the six inch thick skulls of "Spettznazz"

KiranM wrote:
HariC wrote: plus BR - Mohtarma and MotorHam are both used on the fly to mean the same thing.
Is MotorHam a tongue twisting interpretation of Mohtarma by some firangi birather of BR? Or is there some other legacy behind it?
The correct term is Motorhama. Also, the Alice and Bob generic names in english are translated into Ayesha and Abdul. BTW please to visit BENIS thread for urgent crash course in Pingreji-101 in Kave Kamplex 13 Tora Bora. Many eager (and starving) Maulanas are waiting for you there :mrgreen:
HariC

Post by HariC »

by saying MotorHAM - and the connections to bacon and pigs - the idea is to make them less edible.. err. attractive.

but we kafirs will eat anything.

CalvinH wrote:^^ thats a very old snap. From 80s/early 90s if I am not wrong. There was an article in India today and IIRC i saw the snap there.

I dont think they use it anymore.
Very recently - not more than 3-4 years back - MARCOS contingent at the Republic Day parade appeared with X-bows. There is a picture from that event on Sainik Samachar as well where the commado is wearing a khaki cap - you can find it every where on the net.
Brando

Post by Brando »

Look at some of the headlines that are up on BR:
14 Feb IAF Rave reviews of LCA Tejas (The Telegraph)
14 Feb IAF Deccan Herald's advertisement of Gripen's pitch (Deccan Herald)
14 Feb IAF LCA naval version to fly this year (Deccan Herald)
14 Feb IAF Tejas stars in Aero-India 2009 (Asian Age)
13 Feb Missiles India to fire 5,000 km range Agni missile by December 2010 (The Hindu)
13 Feb Navy India's indigenous N-sub secret is out (India Today)
13 Feb IAF MCA to be developed soon (Zee News)
13 Feb Missiles India to have 5,000 km range Agni missile next year (Indian Express)
13 Feb Navy Navy has given more than required for Dabolim airport: Mehta (Zeenews)
12 Feb IAF Tejas Mk.2 unvieled ! Approaches MRCA capability ! (Flight Global)
All quite fascinating but nothing really surprising.

But this is what gets to me, I also have noticed that it is a common practice by the Indian media to publish the aims and ambitions as fact. They are constantly talking about what will happen and what people plan on doing. I dont understand why they cant report news more dispassionately rather than writing some feel good article laced with glowing adjectives. I think that kind of journalism promotes a false sense of reality. Same goes with the 5000 km missile. Headlines that state that 'India to "have" 5000km range Agni next year' are ludicrous when they havent even tested the missile yet and even when they do a lot of things can go wrong. Stating the goal as fact already is merely misleading and dubious journalism. Let me also cite the "IAF MCA to be developed soon" headline as yet another example of BS that these alleged "journalists" and "editors" put out. There should be a way to sue these newspapers for false reporting when they claim to be reporting the "NEWS".

Thats my 2 cents.

Brando wrote:Look at some of the headlines that are up on BR:
14 Feb IAF Rave reviews of LCA Tejas (The Telegraph)
14 Feb IAF Deccan Herald's advertisement of Gripen's pitch (Deccan Herald)
14 Feb IAF LCA naval version to fly this year (Deccan Herald)
14 Feb IAF Tejas stars in Aero-India 2009 (Asian Age)
13 Feb Missiles India to fire 5,000 km range Agni missile by December 2010 (The Hindu)
13 Feb Navy India's indigenous N-sub secret is out (India Today)
13 Feb IAF MCA to be developed soon (Zee News)
13 Feb Missiles India to have 5,000 km range Agni missile next year (Indian Express)
13 Feb Navy Navy has given more than required for Dabolim airport: Mehta (Zeenews)
12 Feb IAF Tejas Mk.2 unvieled ! Approaches MRCA capability ! (Flight Global)
All quite fascinating but nothing really surprising.

But this is what gets to me, I also have noticed that it is a common practice by the Indian media to publish the aims and ambitions as fact. They are constantly talking about what will happen and what people plan on doing. I dont understand why they cant report news more dispassionately rather than writing some feel good article laced with glowing adjectives. I think that kind of journalism promotes a false sense of reality. Same goes with the 5000 km missile. Headlines that state that 'India to "have" 5000km range Agni next year' are ludicrous when they havent even tested the missile yet and even when they do a lot of things can go wrong. Stating the goal as fact already is merely misleading and dubious journalism. Let me also cite the "IAF MCA to be developed soon" headline as yet another example of BS that these alleged "journalists" and "editors" put out. There should be a way to sue these newspapers for false reporting when they claim to be reporting the "NEWS".

Thats my 2 cents.
we get a lot of ignorant BS from the media.

Here a reporter has writen about a dreadfully noisy aircraft with nylon nets instead of seats that has taken 30 minutes to climb to 10,000 feet (as per his report) -i.e. 300 feet per minute - a rate that the Hansa can better, and flew at 350 kmph and the article reads like a cruise on a luxury spaceship.

talk about the halo effect. Or lifafa. Pah! :roll:

http://www.deccanherald.com/Content/Feb ... 118433.asp

Very recently - not more than 3-4 years back - MARCOS contingent at the Republic Day parade appeared with X-bows. There is a picture from that event on Sainik Samachar as well where the commado is wearing a khaki cap - you can find it every where on the net.
MARCOs had a contingent in R-day parade?

Do not remember that!!!! :-?
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

^^^ Yup, I too remember. They had a marching contingent and a display with Commandos in full frogman gear.

KiranM wrote:^^^ Yup, I too remember. They had a marching contingent and a display with Commandos in full frogman gear.
Holy #@$%.... does anyone have a archive pic of that?

I think it was in 2000

Aditya,

Sharp memory boss! Yes I remember....BTW they were wearing khaki berets (not cap) and B-R jingos had a page or 2 of discussion whether he was really MARCOS or SSG(Navy).

Here is the pic, complete with crossbow (Republic Day 2000):

Sometimes you post gems which beat anything in the humour thread!! :rotfl: :rotfl:
Piloted by Lt Col Jeff Gast and Capt Steve Massie of the USAF, the support crew welcomed us and handed over an envelope, with containing a plastic bag with a instruction ‘For use during moments of stomach upset’ (Some passengers on-board a military aircraft can experience occasional motion sickness during take-off and landing).
On reading it a thought struck me that I am not boarding an ordinary airplane, but one that is manufactured for deployment in the most dangerous of wars.
The reporter must have never set foot in any aircraft in his life given by his awed commentary and yindoo love for all things gora. I guess going by above statement every civilian airline (not just Ariana and PIA) fly through dangerous warzones since they all provide bags which have that label. :mrgreen: Boeing and Airbus can sure use this reporter dude as a sales rep to sell run-of-the-mill 747s, Dreamlines and A320s as being 'exclusively manufactured for warzones'!

mgill
Post subject: US fighter jet’s tyres burst at Aero India show
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2009 09:46 pm

Bangalore, Feb 15 (IANS) Two rear tyres of the US fighter jet F-16IN Super Viper of global aerospace major Lockheed Martin burst Sunday afternoon while landing after a regular sortie at Aero India international air show, the company said, but added that no one was injured.

“Both the left and right rear tyres burst one after the other due to heat and friction. An indication that the right tyre was going to burst before landing was shown on the flight control panel before landing,” Lockheed’s test pilot Paul Randall told reporters near the runway.

The incident happened on the last day of the five-day biennial mega event being held at the Indian Air Force (IAF) station in Yelahanka, about 20 km from India’s tech hub.

The second or left tyre burst when Randall piloted the strike fighter to a screeching halt at the end of the runway.

“Since I knew the tyre was going to burst on landing, I didn’t apply brakes and allowed the aircraft to wobble till the end of the runway,” Randall clarified.

Within minutes after the incident, three fire engines, one ambulance and one air force police van were rushed to the spot where the aircraft got stranded.

The fighter was towed away from the tarmac to facilitate resumption of the flying display of various aircraft, choppers and aerobatics by IAF’s Surya Kiran sub-sonic trainer jets.

“The tyres were changed within 30 minutes to put the aircraft back into action,” the company said in a statement later.

Indian ace-shooter and Olympics gold medallist Abhinav Bindra was flown in the F-16IN Super Viper by Randall during the air show Thursday.

The Super Viper is in the race for the IAF order, floated to induct 126 medium multi-role combat aircraft (MMRCA) into its depleting fleet and replace its ageing Russian-made MiG-21 fighters in phases.

Source: http://fighterjets.blogsite.org

Lol Thats not good if India ends up getting F-16's they will get get flat tyre's because of the Indian Heat

Post subject: Re: US fighter jet’s tyres burst at Aero India show
PostPosted: 15 Feb 2009 09:48 pm

you have been asked repeatedly not to start new topics at the drop of a hat.
read the forum guidelines.

Rahul M ji,

Judging from the frequency of new posts causing problems for the admins... :)

I do not think its being done purposely.

The New post and Post reply buttons may easily confuse a newbie.

Could not some one separate the two or better still label them somewhat more clearly or differently or put a tooltip whatever.

English is after all a foreign language to many of us and a newbie bravely and with trepidation preparing to post on a blog for the first time is very likely to hit the new post button rather than post reply because to him new post sounds more logical.

Being Indian onlee not many will read forum guidelines before posting :(

If all people read all guidelines, condoms for one, would not fail quite so often and the world would doubtless be a more pleasant place :D :D

Just my two paise :)
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

What is Google[Bot] at the bottom of the page in the online users row?? Any one please??

akshut, answered in last page.

chetak ji, yes those icons are a problem.
Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

Jaisalmer 'bombing': IAF team visits site, denies role
16 Feb 2009, 0319 hrs IST, Vimal Bhatia, TNN

JAISALMER: An Indian Air Force team visited Jaisalmer's Mohangarh village on Sunday to inspect the spot where a fighter jet had allegedly dropped a
bomb two days ago.

The six-member team, headed by a wing commander, inspected the remains of the bomb and the crater it had created but failed to figure out the explosive's nature and origin.

Gandhinagar-based IAF PRO S Menon said, "The high-power IAF committee from Jaisalmer went on a fact-finding mission to the place where a bomb had reportedly exploded. But the ground zero report indicates that it might not have been caused due to a bomb dropped from a fighter plane."

He said aluminium parts were recovered from the site while as IAF bombs are mostly made of iron. "Also the crater has a depth of 2-feet and width of 5-8 feet. But the bombs dropped from a fighter plane create much bigger craters," he said.

The Army has also denied any connection with the explosion. An officer said the Army's Lathi field firing range was more than 40-km away from the site, ruling out the possibility of the explosive being an artillery shell. Defence Research and Development Organisation, which has been reportedly testing its projectiles in the area, has also denied its role.

Locals maintain that a misguided bomb from the nearby Changadh firing range could have caused the explosion, which the IAF has also rubbished.

Dost Ali, a local resident, who had filed an FIR claiming that an IAF fighter had dropped the bomb on his village, said sound of jets flying past his house followed the explosion. "I shiver every time I hear the sound of jets which frequently hover the skies of my village," he said.

Another villager, Talab Khan, said had there been people near the bombing site, the damage would have been much more devastating.

Ali claimed that the bomb destroyed five bighas of his farm and caused partial damage to his house, about 60-km from the India-Pakistan border

News appeared in TOI.

Guess it must be parts falling down from the satellite crash (US-Russian). Parts reported falling in Texas, US.

Post Deleted
Last edited by Shameek on 17 Feb 2009 00:07, edited 1 time in total.

edited.
thanks shameek.

^^ No probs!
swaroopshere

Post by swaroopshere »

Hi guys,
Ive been a lurker for quite a while and this is my first post, which is well.. a link to something interesting..
Musharraf's double game

wasn't sure which thread to post this into, so posted into the newbie thread.

regards,
Swaroop
dorai

Post by dorai »

swaroopshere wrote:Hi guys,
Ive been a lurker for quite a while and this is my first post, which is well.. a link to something interesting..
Musharraf's double game

regards,
Swaroop
lol "big conspiracy" against Pakistan he says. I am sure he took money from all sides... I still think we have not heard the full story on this especially the support from Tony Blair.

swaroopshere wrote:Hi guys,
Musharraf's double game

regards,
Swaroop
This neeeds to go in here
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... f=1&t=4689
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

There is a lot of discussion in the threads about developing our own technology vs ToT. My question to the experts is regarding Pakistan state of defence technology. How have they developed the nuclear and missiles from Chinese tech. What is the type of ToT that China provides them? Or is it the case of just empty vessels make more noise.
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Guys I visited a Baki forum and found a person named Satish Chandra. He has a blog or something.

He claims that RAW is a branch of CIA. :shock:

And wait he is also claiming that ALL THE MODS ON BR ARE RAW-CIA OPERATIVES. :eek:

MAY I KNOW SOMETHING ABOUT THIS NUT??

oh, he is a nice chap. :)

claimed Indira gandhi ran economy according to his instructions given by (hold your breath !) letters !!

many of us new mods wanted CIA badges after reading that only to be disappointed bigtime (purra KLPD). :(

I have a NLCA question and will start by posting here:

Based on rakall's post, 3 bolt-ons will be tried before the NLCA is diverted to base. During each attempt, the control tower will instruct the pilot to cut throttle if "caught". If not, the second attempt it made. Therefore, it looks like only the engine throttle is being used to bring it to a halt but the control surfaces would be in take-off position.
Assuming my assumptions are true so far, what are the difficulties in interfacing a accelerometer with the FADEC ?

Why should the tower be involved at all?
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Rahul M wrote:oh, he is a nice chap. :)

claimed Indira gandhi ran economy according to his instructions given by (hold your breath !) letters !!

many of us new mods wanted CIA badges after reading that only to be disappointed bigtime (purra KLPD). :(

Oh nice... :mrgreen:

And one more thing, aren't baki pigs allowed on BR?? or, they don't come here fearing??

Would love to rip them off....... 8)

Akshut wrote:Guys I visited a Baki forum and found a person named Satish Chandra. He has a blog or something.
He is a "citizen journalist" at merinews. He lives in Boston.

Mad as a hatter. If you're bored for a few hours, it may be mildly amusing to mock him there.
See this thread as an example. It appears BENIS thread alumni frequented there.

http://www.merinews.com/commentAll.jsp?articleID=138816

better yet, read this.
http://satyamshivamsundaramsatishchandra.blogspot.com/

but don't bring it here.

Wow!

I am just wondering if he is the long lost brother of defence expert Zaid Hamid!!!

Rahul M wrote:better yet, read this.

but don't bring it here.

Rahul M wrote:better yet, read this.

but don't bring it here.
Gawd!!! :eek: I was having a boring day at work today....not any more... :rotfl:

Aaaaiiiiyaaaa Karamba!!! all this time I thought I had a wild imagination.... :twisted:

Rahul I have sent you a couple of emails on yar gmail address have you had a chance to read em???

boss, I've replied too. this was a couple of weeks back wasn't it ??
about the airshow ?
btw, the fella reads BR regularly. :D

what won't I give for half an hours(not more !) conversation with him. the stuff he smokes is even more potent than the paki stuff !!! :eek:

Rahul M wrote:boss, I've replied too. this was a couple of weeks back wasn't it ??
about the airshow ?
btw, the fella reads BR regularly. :D

what won't I give for half an hours(not more !) conversation with him. the stuff he smokes is even more potent than the paki stuff !!! :eek:
Rahul my work address gets a bit iffy every now and then idiots tend to block everything sometime soz.

If you could please re-send it at my work email at address that would be great. I will shoot an email off to your gmail address in the next 5 mins.
Rahul M wrote:btw, the fella reads BR regularly. :D
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: Well now he knows that he's got a few more people appreciating him for his true smokin talent.... :twisted: But seriously though the first thing that I always wonder when I come across a case like this guy is what would a person be thinking to write such stuff I mean their psychie and beliefs etc.....wow!!!

Rahul email sent try now please,

Cheers.
Hari

Post by Hari »

I dont know anything about Su-30 MKIs, Please forgive me If I am asking a foolish question.
In several exercises SU 30 MKIs performed extremely well in WVR scenarios.
so no pilot will ever involve in any close range fights will Su 30 MKIs, they probably will use any BVR missiles. I have seen in some Pakistani forums that MKI's have very high RC signature and can easily be detected. So in real war situations can we expect too much from Su 30 MKIs

Hari wrote: I dont know anything about Su-30 MKIs, Please forgive me If I am asking a foolish question.
Wikipedia has very good article about Su-30MKI. Please refer to it.
Hari wrote:
I have seen in some Pakistani forums that MKI's have very high RC signature and can easily be detected.
Well, if you are going to believe in everything that the paki forums say then you should be ashamed of India right now. According to most of their forums, we are a supposed to be a technologically obsolete country who have a big mouth. I have read in many of their forums how they can defeat us any time they want. So please don't discuss such rubbish here.
Hari wrote: so no pilot will ever involve in any close range fights will Su 30 MKIs, they probably will use any BVR missiles. I have seen in some Pakistani forums that MKI's have very high RC signature and can easily be detected. So in real war situations can we expect too much from Su 30 MKIs
Su-30MKI can use bvr missiles too you know.
Hari

Post by Hari »

I m not believing all the information in Paki forums. About the RC signature, I thought I would ask any one who knows it properly.

Thanks Parijat for replying.

Hari wrote:I m not believing all the information in Paki forums. About the RC signature, I thought I would ask any one who knows it properly.

Thanks Parijat for replying.
No Problem. :)
Hari

Post by Hari »

I came across this news about INSAS

Can any one give more information on this:

http://www1.timesofindia.indiatimes.com ... 706828.cms

Or is this just a media speculation.

I expect reply from people who used it

Hari wrote:I came across this news about INSAS

Can any one give more information on this:

http://www1.timesofindia.indiatimes.com ... 706828.cms

Or is this just a media speculation.

I expect reply from people who used it
There were some problems found in INSAS during Kargil war but they have been rectified a long time back.
Refer to "Understanding INSAS" thread and "Small Arms thread" of BR.
Please do some research yourself before posting such and old info.