The Technology & Economic Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to Technological and Economic developments in India. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Singha wrote:the 3com center in Hyd is already closed because H3com wanted
all dev centralized in china.
They have/had one of the former Huawei devpt centers in BLR on Airport Road.
A portion was carved out of Huawei India as well. They used to frequent the Huawei co canteen even after the breakup as for the their Chinese staff, the Huawei canteen was one of the few 'Genuine' Chinese food joints available to them in BLR.
Nortel will be filing its business plan for the creditors in a month or two. That will decide which of its assets are sold. What emerges in the end will be a smaller player definitely without the breadth of portfolio of the old nor the geographical presence.
The whole India telecom scene has been a graveyard for the telecom providers. They were lured by the sheer size of the contracts, but had no plans for executions. Already operating with wafer thin or no margins, they quickly found that they were running at losses when operating in India. AlcaLu was no different in that...
the real power center in ALA-LU is the ALA part though they like to give the MUTU impression to keep the fat gotus/dod contracts. ALA is tight with most of the big euro markets and important emerging markets compared to LU. ALA does have a stanglehold in some areas like DSL and a strong edge router portfolio (timetra) among other areas.
I feel if anyone gets shafted in the shakedown it will be the LU part.
- CCDP (Cisco Certified Digital Photographer) course.
- You need a CCDP to configure the camera for anything more than P&S
- A 1000 page manual, that only a CCDP can understand.
- Ethernet port on the camera, which is the primary interface
- Plug the cam into a switch, and:
* It charges via POE
* It authenticates itself by radius, and syncs the pics to a server
* Fetches the profile changes from the server and sets the camera accordingly.
Singha wrote:I was reading a analysis of IBM vs HP yesterday in terms of revenue breakup from various things.
seems HP is far more dependent on recession hit areas like laptops, desktops, small servers and printers than IBM who sold it off to Lenovo. with SUNW IBM would gain a range of very robust
high end servers popular in financial and scientific world to further strengthen their product portfolio.
IBM , not HP is the real Mahdi it says. and led by Adm Isoroku Yamamoto himself, with Air Cmdr Genda in close touch.
IBM = Musashi + Yamato + IJN 6-carrier strike force + Adm Spruance's carrier strike force (15 Essex class carriers in a line 30 miles long with full embarked Hellcat sqdns)
HP = Adm Halsey's battleship flotilla + Bismark + Tirpitz + Ark Royal + Wasp + Zuiho
Dell = King George V + Rodney + Price of Wales + Repulse
gorilla = SSN22 USS Connecticutt (1 S6W reactor, steam turbines, 1 shaft, 45,500 shp, 35+ knots )
Lenovo - 200 Chipanda class FFG
Sirjee,
can you plzz explain what gorilla and netzilla mean?
Raja Bose wrote:Well MSFT used to make deskphones sold under Nortel name too. Bade company Bade khayal!
ok, the big gorilla is msft while the network domain is netzilla. I always used to get confused by this. I searched BR acronyms for this, but couldnt find it. I think we need to add this to it.
Let me add to your confusion...we also have most admired company, instant banana mousse, hickory pork, rubber gumboot manufacturing company so on..... BTW here's a hint all real names don't have a 1-1 relationship with code names
imho the price tag for FLIP is way too high at $550mil. csco has a long record of caving
in and paying high prices even when people have no leverage. what was FLIP going to
do in this environment...either they could sell themselves at any price or die.
in some of these deals even the employees dont get much..something like a years salary
as bonus but not the big bucks...the principals pocket most of it.
to some extent there seems to be old boy networks between execs , VCs and entrepreneurs...they mutually support each other.
getting into low priced consumer gadgets is a game csco cannot play with such a high
proportion of employees in costly markets and not pakistan.
Oh, you can. The manufacturing, shipping etc will be done from China or other low cost centers like Vietnam and manufactured by Hon Hai/Foxconn or whatever. There will be only a very thin layer of guys in the "developed" world (MBA types and UI designer types, even the Yingeneers will be in Yindia ). So all very sunnah and halaal onree
still...Flip doesnt sound like a co with much of unique tech worth buying at such prices.
paris hilton types carry a flip to record their parties. even picasa from google and many tools offer direct uploads to youtube. sony-ericsson has release such a phone in india.
have to admit it looks like a handy tool for homemade p0rn
I wish they had roped in Canon or Nikon to take DSLRs to the next phase - datalinked,
heavy EW resistance, networked "virtual aesa" imaging grid, auto crowdsourcing,
inbuilt ethernet(poE), cellphone type periodic OTA (over the air) firmware patches,
ability to use cellphone infra to transmit images from the field at 54mbps....
Raja Bose wrote:Let me add to your confusion...we also have most admired company, instant banana mousse, hickory pork, rubber gumboot manufacturing company so on..... BTW here's a hint all real names don't have a 1-1 relationship with code names
Dont forget Motor-oil company, live free or die etc etc...
http://www.eye.fi/ - it seems its a SD card but with integrated wifi. can wirelessly upload all images. should be std in all cams I say.
meantime, Vina will be pleased how the deal is structured.
all of the $590 mil is stock onree. with a $10 worthless stock, sure it will dilute
but who cares about stock valuations right now...troops are happy to have a job
and anyway esop doles were stopped last year.
krishnan wrote:whats with CISCO and digital cameras? Are we going to see CISCO brand digicams
A few months back read an article about Cisco and their push in teleconferencing field. A whole lot of conf rooms upraged with Cisco hardware to enable video conferencing. They also bought Webex as part of this play.
in late 90s there was massive hype on IPv6 .... is it in wide use on public networks? I read code written in
early 2000s and there are parts where people havent even cared to add support for V6 addresses in stuff
like applications that use sockets. nobody I know at work uses ipv6 addrs internally to setup their lab eqpt.
does anyone care?
what happened - the world was supposed to be running out of V4 addrs...who found the new kimberly?
Fairly slow to load - seems to be built in "slices" - the "best viewed in IE 5 or above" message gives away its age so this can be forgiven. This site offers user-friendly navigation, site search and contact numbers. Not bad for an older site but surely Indian technicians - renowned for being some of the brightest in the world - can do better than this?
Yes can we overhaul appalling web site design for central /state govt. ? I am sure there is no set “Standards” across the board. NASSCOM only worries about out sourcing contracts never keen on developing standards in govt. sector. I could be barking on a wrong tree here. Ministry of Information Technology may be shed some light on developing standards across the govt.
IPv6 is widely used in Japan and some European countries. Ofcourse, as you know, we support it extensively on all our routers and switches. There is a new industry rising in the sensor networks area, albeit not at the speed I want, where IPv6 will be very important. We are part of such an alliance - IPSO. I will send you an internal link for the same later.
Having said that, I am not sure when there will be widespread use of v6 in countries of the future - India and China. I think only these countries have the capability to tip the balance in favor of v6.
yes I was indeed aware that japan is pretty hard n fast about ipv6 for long now. products like esr10k had to
bolt on support later to enter that market. but I was referring to some parts of nx-os ...
Fairly slow to load - seems to be built in "slices" - the "best viewed in IE 5 or above" message gives away its age so this can be forgiven. This site offers user-friendly navigation, site search and contact numbers. Not bad for an older site but surely Indian technicians - renowned for being some of the brightest in the world - can do better than this?
Yes can we overhaul appalling web site design for central /state govt. ? I am sure there is no set “Standards” across the board. NASSCOM only worries about out sourcing contracts never keen on developing standards in govt. sector. I could be barking on a wrong tree here. Ministry of Information Technology may be shed some light on developing standards across the govt.
I was thinking about it too. Rajyasabha's official site looks like a relic from the dinosaur age. Scrolling marquees, 'Best viewed on IE' etc
L.K.Advani's site in contrast is very nicely done.
IPv6 is widely used in Japan and some European countries. Ofcourse, as you know, we support it extensively on all our routers and switches. There is a new industry rising in the sensor networks area, albeit not at the speed I want, where IPv6 will be very important. We are part of such an alliance - IPSO. I will send you an internal link for the same later.
Having said that, I am not sure when there will be widespread use of v6 in countries of the future - India and China. I think only these countries have the capability to tip the balance in favor of v6.
Japanese were pretty hardcore into development and deployment of IPv6. http://www.kame.net/
The Kame Project was a joint effort of six companies in Japan to provide a free stack of IPv6, IPsec, and Mobile IPv6 for BSD variants.
Unfortunately there are quite a few issues with IPv6 deployments. For one, the designers of IPv6 designed it as a replacement for IPv4 instead of a modification of IPv4. This means that a public IPv6 address cannot send any packets to a public IPv4 address and vice versa. Then there is the problem of converting apps over to IPv6 as well. There isn't a clear migration plan either.
Eshwar wrote:There is a new industry rising in the sensor networks area, albeit not at the speed I want, where IPv6 will be very important. We are part of such an alliance - IPSO. I will send you an internal link for the same later.
Amazing how the world turns.....when my advisor and I had advocated IP for sensor networks so many years back, we were laughed out of the room. 'Learned' idiots of UCB, MIT, Brown, UCLA and Stanford ridiculed us, saying that the ad-hoc BS they were developing will be the new networking standard. Now they stand with their hoity toity shalwars in tatters and non-existent mijjiles exposed...ad-hoc is going nowhere , even ZigBee which is not really ad-hoc is slow on the uptake (though I am much more confident of its utility). It is IP which rules as MSR, chipzilla and a few smaller yahoos like Arch Rock 'claimed' to discover in 2007 albeit belatedly. These blinkered mofos never understood that ad-hoc is cute and lovely but fragile....takes too long to setup and is virtually useless (and dangerous!) for command-and-control (where you have actuators which can kick and not just passive sensors which just watch) and is as useful as a paki in most use cases I have seen (except the DoD use case of airdropping 1000s of sensors to detect Saddam's truck/bowel movements).
Japanese are way ahead in many areas involving smart spaces. Just google 'Echonet' and be amazed. It is just a darn shame that all that work is largely known within Japan while blinkered researchers reinvent the wheel in massa (and to some extent in Europe).
For those uninitiated in BR Speak:
Gorilla = Netzilla = Cisco
Chipzilla = Intel
Instant Banana Mousse = I've Been Moved = IBM
Hickory Pork = Hewlett Packard (HP)
Rubber gumboot manufacturing company = Nokia (They used to make rubber gumboots and cables early in their history)
Vegetable oil company = Wipro (The name itself is an acronym of Western India vegetable PROducts Ltd which was their original business)
most admired company = Mac? = Apple??
Motor-oil company = Motorola
Wampum - new international reserve currency invented by Vina sir to replace the dallah.
japanese toy cos seem to focus on really small items. I have seen remote control cars half the size of a typical matchbox in a speciality japanese dept store but never seen such in yindian and yemerika. unless its big , noisy and has 20" wheels yemerikan kids wont like it.
Singha wrote:Wampum - new international reserve currency invented by Vina sir to replace the dallah.
Unlike most 'international' currencies with no backing, Wampum is fully backed with horseshit. However, to take away your share of horseshit for the Wampums you own, you must be present when the horse shits. The wise men of Goldman Sachs put this condition in place otherwise the world would have suffered horseshit inflation.
This is for Singha - remember you talked about the state support for the Chinese telcos like Huawei - here's more, but for the 'National Champion(wannabe)' http://www.cellular-news.com/story/36613.php?s=h
China's ZTE Corp. has reported that its full year net profit jumped by 32.5 percent to reach US$239 million and revenue rose by 27.4% to US$6.4 billion. At the same time, the China Development Bank has agreed to advance a US$15 billion credit line to cover ZTE's overseas project financing and credit limits.
ZTE has come from nowhere to be the No.1 vendor in CDMA handsets in terms of unit sales, almost entirely on the back of sales to the Indian CDMA operators. Their victory here was the reason LG was forced down one notch in the global sales rankings IIRC. LG just couldn't compete with them on price and the entire Indian CDMA market was almost handed on a platter to ZTE(sometimes rebranded as the el cheapo 'Classic' handset).
Crossloop co-founder Mrinal Desai shares his story of a long stint he spent being unemployed after the dot com bust earlier this decade, in hopes that it might help a few of the many high-quality technology professionals searching for work right now.
When Desai’s high-paying gig at Silicon Graphics (SGI) dried up, he was forced to move, work odd jobs (like stringing Christmas lights), take contract work, and set up a makeshift office at Starbucks. He ultimately dug his way out by doing some creative professional networking that led to learning opportunities and, eventually, job opportunities.
Listen to Mrinal’s story in this edition of the Tech Sanity Check podcast, or read the transcript below. As he mentions in the interview, you can find Mrinal on Twitter and Linkedin, as well as on his personal blog.