Indian Army Discussion

ParGha

Re: Indian Army Discussion

Post by ParGha »

Prem Kumar wrote:RayC Sir,

This question might have been raised in these forums before. So, apologies if its already been answered. In this operation, it seems like time, intel & the element of surprise was on our side. So, given that a "flushing out" operation is disadvantageous to the attacker (in terms of casualties), could we have done anything different to minimize casualties?

Take the case of air power, in particular. In COIN operations, we hardly hear about air power being employed. What are the reasons for its non-use? Is it logistics - terrain, visibility etc (or) is it mindset (COIN is an Army problem, not an AirForce one).

I understand the infeasibility of AF usage in populated areas - was that a constraint here?
Please refer to Page 3 of this thread, where Brig Ray has enumerated the India's rationale against using artillery and air-power.
Prem Kumar wrote:Just inquiring if we could have done anything different.
The main problem in that sector, as I understand it, stems from broken terrain of the LC which makes it hard to monitor and control. The terrain and/or the LC would have to be altered to more suitable disposition.

RayC wrote:Bose,
Ghosh is a chance I might take! ;)
Wouldn't it be a better idea to actually send the kits and then tell the media... knowing how these govt types respond, i would think taht they're also capable of stopping this thing...

BJP just released it's manifesto---

1) One rank one pension for armed forces
2) No income tax on salaries of armed forces personals
3) Paramvir/Mahavir chakra winners would get 10X increase in additional monthly income (Rs 5k to Rs 30K)
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

First, Defense deals. Now even the Defense Services are being used for petty political mileage?! :evil: This utter trash should stop now. Atleast BR can do its bit to not give bandwidth to such gimmicks.

KiranM,

We get upset when the Political Class does not do much for the Armed Forces. So when they have put up a manifesto, wherein they have provisions to help the Armed Forces, why should we criticize them?

If they win the elections and if they do not follow through with their manifesto then by all means tear them apart!

If however they do follow through with their policies, especially the one where they will not be taxing Armed Forces salary, they have in one master stroke given a fillip to the recruitment drive in these tough economic times and for the future.

Increasing the pay for the brave award winners is long over due!

S
KiranM

Post by KiranM »

Sanju, I would agree with you if the Indian political scene was even a tiny bit serious. Show me one issue or platform where Indian politicians regardless of their political hue, have not engaged in petty political games. Armed Forces are more than an organization or institution. If they get dragged into a political mess, the stink stays with the organization, even if the associated people leave the organization.

The manifesto of the BJP is a statement of intent.

If the NDA govt comes into power, there will be tinkering.

However, the measures for the Armed Forces being announced is interesting since it is for the first time it has been addressed.

Maybe such an announcement was necessary. Someone had to address the issues of the group who do not have a 'voice' in the public domain owing to service rules.

Further, there was a lot of things that were happening which were not quite in keeping with the image of the Armed Forces, like the retired Generals and others going on a dharna or returning of their medals and such like. Unheard of really! And then Col Bhainsla, leading the ripping up of railway lines and things like that because of the Caste divide. Caste or religion was never an issue in the Armed Force during service or when retired. The ethos was totally different. An indicator that things are changing in the mindset of the rank and file and it need not necessarily be for the good! All said and done, these acts were impinge on the young in the Army, even if they did not voice their discontent openly. Dangerous. I, for one, realise that the soldier or the officer is not the same as yesteryears. They are these days more aware and are more exposed to the general national environment more intimately and hence imbibe a greater 'cause and effect' of society.

Maybe this announcement will also give some fillip to the recruitment. Hopefully.

They have also promised a separate pay commission for armed forces from now on.

Retired Army officer Anil Bhat writes in The Asian Age about the ISI’s attempts at infiltrating or turning members of the Indian armed forces.

To beat Pak spy game, let’s check who we hire
The ISI’s footprints have been detected in and around key defence establishments, airbases and field formations across the country — from J&K and Northeast to Delhi, Jodhpur, Bengaluru, Kolkata and Mumbai. An ISI spy ring operating around naval installations was smashed in 2007. General Hamid Gul, a former chief of the ISI, is reported to have said that the ISI’s strategy to infiltrate the Indian armed forces is "as old as Pakistan" itself. While the ISI has been trying hard to penetrate India’s security forces and diplomatic missions for many years, the Union home ministry has neutralised 99 espionage modules of the ISI in India, between 2001 and 2005, and after 26/11 it has been in overdrive.

The ISI works on the principle of creating, exploiting and widening loopholes. It has many modes of espionage, sabotage and other disruptive activities, including circulation of fake Indian currency notes, subversion of Indian Muslims from liberal to fundamentalist and creating communal situations all over India. In the Northeast and West Bengal it has made use of countries like Nepal, Bangladesh and Burma as well as outfits like the United Liberation Front of Assam (Ulfa), Students Islamic Movement of India (Simi) for assistance to outsource. It also resorts to outsourcing between countries as in the case of Pakistan working for China’s interests against India. What Lance Naik Javed Khan leaked were operational details about the 4 Corps, including deployment and exercises along the Line of Actual Control with China.

After 8 days, Army calls off Gurez op
Failing to track down the militants who had sneaked into the Gurez Valley from across the Line of Control last week, Army now says the operation has been called off.

“The operation was called off by the Army on Thursday night,” said defence spokesman Lt Col J S Brar, refusing to divulge reasons for abandoning the operation.

Dammit...

So, we have 16-20 battle hardened pigs running free in the valley now!!!!

Retired Army officer Anil Bhat writes in The Asian Age about the ISI’s attempts at infiltrating or turning members of the Indian armed forces.
Im certain even we would have similar modules in Paki military though we dont go to the level of terrorism and counterfeit money printing...

bhailog....any progress on the blood clot kit front? Just wondering since no new posts/thread came up.
caesar

Post by caesar »

Im certain even we would have similar modules in Paki military though we dont go to the level of terrorism and counterfeit money printing...
why cant indians engage in the same tactics as the pakis,counterfiet currency ,providing arms to baluchis,sending a core of the indian army to help the americans(the americans would be so happy that theyll provide the indian forces with all types of arms,money,intelligence,theyll get whatever they need).this will corner the porkis so badly that theyll have to slug it out with indians on 2 fronts and the baluchis inside their own territory,fake paki currency will make make their country go bust.that would be a tit for tat for sending terrorists in kashmir n other parts of india. :D :D :D :D

Are we sure sure that we don't?

The Pakistanis are crying hoarse that we do! :((
caesar

Post by caesar »

RayC wrote:Are we sure sure that we don't?

but we havent heeded to the american request to send in troops,50,000 of our troops there will make porkis shit in their pants,the congress govt. isnt doing so coz they rely on muslim votes and dont want to antagonise them,what a bloody shame.otherwise we could have solved this porki problem long ago.

I am posting some ebook links here ive uploaded, they could be useful for injured army men:

Surgical Management of Spinal Cord Injury

Rehabilitation for Traumatic Brain Injury

Comprehensive Manual of Taping & Wrapping Techniques

if somebody wishes, i can post more links

I do not think our netas have real b#$%@s to do such a thing
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

caesar wrote:

but we havent heeded to the american request to send in troops,50,000 of our troops there will make porkis shit in their pants,the congress govt. isnt doing so coz they rely on muslim votes and dont want to antagonise them,what a bloody shame.otherwise we could have solved this porki problem long ago.
Caesar
Stick to a thought or opinion. You are jumping from one point to another. Why do we have to send our 50k troops? What has US has done for us lately. We are taking the brunt while US is rewarding Pakis with Billions of dollars of Militar and Economic aid. We can't even get engines on schedule unless we deal with Punk A$$ Childish Tantrums of American Administration and some Idiot Ayatollahs.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

Kersi D wrote:

I do not think our netas have real b#$%@s to do such a thing
Not sure of the current govt. but Rajiv G supported the covert operations in Sindh and probably even in Balochistan.
So we do have the assets in Pakland who are some source of trouble. However, ISI has created so many monsters that I am not sure what more can we really add except for a few more blasts and attacks everyday. Paki news is filled with the news of terrorism and violence only. NWFP and Balochistan are for all intent and purpose out of the control of the civilian govt. Today militants openly destroyed a checkpost and looted government buildings in Wana, while the paramilitary forces just looked on.

Caesar

When did the US want Indian troops?

As far as I know we offered but they did not agree since it would upset Pakistan! And they require Pakistan as it is their sole transit route to Afghanistan!

So we do have the assets in Pakland who are some source of trouble. However, ISI has created so many monsters that I am not sure what more can we really add except for a few more blasts and attacks everyday. Paki news is filled with the news of terrorism and violence only
Thats is true, actually...

It is very tough to muddy a already mud filled swamp!!! The faithful are anyways doing the job for us and so best might be sit back and watch the fun, all the while adding a few fuses whenever the heat starts getting less...

Watching the fun is fine.

But let them not bring Disneyland to India :)

Let's take it to them!

There has been another chaos/ blast in Pakistan.

Fun time!

Watching the fun is fine.
That is a minimum pre-condition for us...

As always drilled down to all BRFites, a chaotic, internally unstable Pak is the best for India since the moment they are stable, they gang up and start plotting on the next hare-brained scheme to dismember India.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

RayC wrote:Watching the fun is fine.

Let's take it to them!

There has been another chaos/ blast in Pakistan.

Fun time!
ISLAMABAD: Six security men were killed and several others injured in a suicide blast near check post of Frontier Corps (FC) in Sector F-7/3 Margala Road, Islamabad on Saturday, Geo News reported.

SSP Tahir Alam said security men were taking dinner when the attacker entered the check post and blew himself up, killing six of the security men and injuring several others.

He denied any exchange of fire, saying the security men fired in the air to scare away any other attackers.

Police has cordoned off the area.

The injured have been brought to Poly Clinic Hospital.

The incident has set off panic among area residents.
Can someone explain to me how firing in the air will scare away the attackers who are ready to die for a rotten cause. :shock:
I would love to hear how Mr. Hamid Zaid will react to this incident. It is a given that he will blame the Jews and Hindu zionists for this attack and make tall claims about how India will be destroyed.

RayC wrote:Caesar

As far as I know we offered but they did not agree since it would upset Pakistan! And they require Pakistan as it is their sole transit route to Afghanistan!
India offered? ulEven if US was all hunky dory for IA in Afghanistan, would it be feasible for IA to send 50,000 troops to Afghanistan? Would it not put too much of a strain on IA? After all 50,000 is a huge number.
caesar

Post by caesar »

Parijat Gaur wrote:

India offered? ulEven if US was all hunky dory for IA in Afghanistan, would it be feasible for IA to send 50,000 troops to Afghanistan? Would it not put too much of a strain on IA? After all 50,000 is a huge number.
Is raising a core difficult?there are so many jobless in india,the ground reality a recruit coughs up 1 lakh to become a jawan in the army,we raised RR why cant we raise another core,the americans helped indians raise a force of 10,000 tibetans they provided sikorsky choppers n M4,the army and airforce had emergency commission because the americans were to provide us with huge amount of fighters n weapons,but Nehru n Shastri became scared.
The americans want IA to do their dirty work because the american people cant see dead bodies,for that the americans would provide india with everything.If u think tht the USarmy is good then its all bull crap ,they just sit in their cosy fortified compounds,except for the special forces noone in the USarmy is capable.
If our political leadership was so strong then why didnt they attack pak after 26/11?firing a couple of brahmos at some important military targets would have proven a point,but they are scared to loose the muslim votes,they say its 15% but in actual 22% congress,samajwadi party,rjd n the cpm all want their votes,so why would they attack pak,they cant even kill the leaders of HUJI residing in bangladesh.
caesar

Post by caesar »

RayC sir by these articles one can clearly see what im talking about.

Indian Army presence in Afghanistan can ’squeeze’ Pakistan: Chief
January 14th, 2009 - 9:37 pm ICT by IANS -
New Delhi, Jan 14 (IANS) Indian Army Chief, General Deepak Kapoor, Wednesday agreed that Indian military presence in Afghanistan could give it some strategic depth against Pakistan. However, he added a decision in this regard has to come from the political leadership.

Speaking to the media ahead of the 61st Army Day, Kapoor said currently India has been providing “soft assistance” to Afghanistan and any decision regarding policy change has to come from political leaders.

“I think it will have to be a political decision if any change has to be there. We have been providing soft assistance in road construction, education and medical aid. Military support or whatever the decision has to come from the hierarchy of the political leadership,” Kapoor said.

“It can be a factor in the decision,” Kapoor said in reply to a query if Indian military presence in Afghanistan would “squeeze” Pakistan on its western front.

India has time and again ruled out sending troops to Afghanistan to be part of the US-led war on terror but has been providing developmental and medical aid as mandated by the United Nations.

India offers US 120,000 troops for Afghanistan

Please note that Pakistan has withdrawn a second divisional HQ from the NWFP. We assume its is HQ 23 Division plus the one brigade that went with the HQ to NWFP; Mandeep Singh Bajwa will let us know when he has confirmation. we are approaching the point where two-thirds of the reinforcements sent west are in the process of withdrawing. Please also note Bill Roggio at Long War Journal reports that in the Orakzi agency, one of the seven tribal agencies of the NWFP, Taliban has enforced Sharia law on 15 of 21 tribes in the agency. In other words, the Talibanization of the NWFP is proceeding rapidly. We also have an analysis on why Pakistani soldiers are refusing to fight the insurgents - we already knew why, but for the first time we have information from someone on the scene. We will give it to you tomorrow. But all in all, the US by insisting Pakistan fight the insurgents set itself up for failure. Again, we have said this before, we can now say it from another angle. US policy in the region has to change dramatically if there is to be hope of success in Afghanistan.

Our trusty correspondent, Mandeep Singh Bajwa, informed us this morning that India has offered to send 120,000 troops to Afghanistan. Naturally we asked Mandeep "are we being used by the Indians in a psyops game to put pressure on Pakistan?" Not that the Government of India knows we exist, but in all the movies about the media the Editor always asks if the paper is being played.

Mandeep's answer, paraphrased, was this: "I don't know at what level the offer has been made, but the Indian Army and Air Force are down to identifying specific units, formations, and squadrons..." - details, as we said, at Long War Journal - "...as well as discussing a specific name for force commander, plus working on the details of pre-deployment training, so this is a lot more elaborate than needed for a psyops game.'

We'd prefer to discuss this after we learn more, rather than waste your time with elaborate theories spun out of nothing ("Orbat.com's military sources say..."). But the following points are immediately apparent.

For the new US administration, this offer would be heaven-sent and just making it would put the US Government in debt to the Indians - "your other friends/allies talked, we walked." The administration could turn around to to its own people, and say: "Americans, you complain we are carrying the Afghan burden by ourselves, now we have a partner."

At Orbat.com we've been constantly talking about the need for more manpower; well, here you have a whacking big increment of manpower. With US/Allied troops it takes one to 75% of what Orbat.com considers a minimum force if Afghanistan is to be won.

In one deft swoop, India forces the Americans to chose Delhi over Islamabad. To the Indians the constant US attempt to "balance" the two countries has been a source of serious blood pressure since the 1940s; obviously if the Americans accept it has to be India First from now on and Pakistan gets marginalized. Moreover, the Indians put America up the creek without the paddle regarding Pakistan: "what is it your so-called ally is doing, compared to what we are willing to do."

The devious cunning of the Indian move becomes more apparent when you consider if the US government refuses, the American people are going to get on the Government's case: "The Indians are offering and you're still sticking with those slimey two-timers the Pakistanis?"

For India, offering a huge contingent takes the pressure off the Indian government to act aggressively against Pakistan. India does not have a launch a single sortie against Pakistan to punish it for acting against India. Indian government can tell its own people: "What good will a pinprick do? The Israelis have been bashing up the Palestinians for two decades, and where are the results? What we are doing is to strike a hard blow at Pakistan without crossing the Pakistan border and getting beat up by everyone for provoking war."

Plus India neatly destroys Pakistan's strategic depth objective. The Indians have been wanting to get into the act in Afghanistan for several years, because they know a Taliban government means more fundamentalist pressure on Pakistan and thereby on India. But the Americans have been refusing India help for fear of offending the Pakistanis. For India to get into Afghanistan in force is to again change the paradigm of Indian-Pakistani relations as happened in 1971 when India split East Bengal from Pakistan. For the last almost 40 years India's efforts to marginalize Pakistan have been stymied. If the US accepts the Indian offer, India gains hugely.

But right now a lot of American decision-makers do not care if Pakistan is offended because they see the latter has no interest in fighting the insurgents or helping the US against the Taliban. Once alternate supply routes are available, US can write off Pakistan and as a consequence, paradoxically, vastly increase its leverage in that country.

As for Pakistani/jihadi retaliation against India or the Indian contingent in Afghanistan, we've said before the Indians don't care. Their point is India is squarely in the sights of the jihadis: India is already under severe, sustained attack and unable to retaliate. As for the security of the Indian troops, that really is the last thing the Indians are concerned about. They want to go to Afghanistan to fight, not to protect their troops against suicide bombers.

Two other minor points in passing. By making this offer, India takes the wind out of Pakistan's sails because the latter has very successful turned the world's attention from the Bombay atrocity to getting the world to stop escalation between India and Pakistan. Every day that goes by, India has less diplomatic/geopolitical freedom to hit Pakistan. But if India has offered several divisions for Afghanistan, obviously the last thing the Indians are thinking of is attacking Pakistan - 3/4th of the Army troops (as opposed to the CI troops) India is earmarking for Afghanistan are from the three strike corps. So India undercuts Pakistani claims that Delhi is preparing to attack.

The second point we find interesting. PRC knows if Pakistan falls to the jihadis, Sinkiang is the next target. By offering to go to Afghanistan, India is directly helping Beijing. Which puts Beijing in a very awkward spot as India is a big rival for influence in Asia. Not only will Indians be helping PRC, if China does send troops to Afghanistan, Delhi will canoodle with Washington without competition from China. The Chinese will have no choice but to join the Afghan venture or lose influence in South and Central Asia, and with Washington.

To sum up: Orbat.com has been second to none in bashing the Government of India as incompetent and impotent. But with this offer, India has overnight changed the rules of game in South/Central Asia and struck a potentially fatal blow at Pakistan. In the end, this could become much, much bigger by an order of magnitude than breaking off East Pakistan in 1971.
http://beeqube.com/article/indiao

Mandeep Singh Bajwa says so.

He is not a govt spokesman and so one cannot take that as official.

What the Chief said is official:

“I think it will have to be a political decision if any change has to be there. We have been providing soft assistance in road construction, education and medical aid. Military support or whatever the decision has to come from the hierarchy of the political leadership,” Kapoor said.

Let us take the hypothetical case. India sends these many troops. How is it to be replenished?

Which route?

I think it is more of a psy war campaign to scare Pakistan into a more conciliatory mode towards the US.
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/index.php? ... leteview=1
MAJ GENERAL V. K. DATTA: Since I have been an operations man and whatever you people are thinking, we have been doing it at various levels at various times over number of years. :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: First is the question of will. The will, as far as we are now discussing is the will of the Government to decide if we should do anything what the enemy is doing to you today in the same manner.

That is the will of the Government. As far as the will of the people, the forces of India, are concerned, the people who are volunteers, people who are trained and motivated to go and do anything that is asked of them to do, depending on the clearance of the Government. And this I cannot openly share with the house here, but that I assure you that the people are willing, there are volunteers, there are more dedicated people who have the wherewithal to do it provided given the clearance. Now we come on the long term plan. The long term plan is absolutely inadequate. Why? Because this is a very superficial question.
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

"Attackers are Pakistani, no one came from outside: Malik"

Profound words of wisdom from Pak Interior minister Rehman Malik.
Mr Malik is famous for alluding to an invisible foreign hand in everything bad that happens in Pakland.
http://tinyurl.com/d6vfzu
ISLAMABAD: Advisor to Prime Minister on Interior Affairs Rehman Malik Sunday said the attackers are Pakistani and that they have not come from outside.

He said a suicide bomber is not under any compulsion to carry out attacks. “They are sold for money,” he added.

Rehman Malik said the family of a suicide bomber gets Rs500,000 for blowing himself up.

He hoped to flush out the terrorists out of the country.

The Advisor said a high level meeting will be held tomorrow to review security situation in the country.
Having said that, if one suicide bomber costs 500k, how much money does anyone needs to spends to carpet bomb Islamabad with such fidayeen.

MAJ GENERAL V. K. DATTA: Since I have been an operations man and whatever you people are thinking, we have been doing it at various levels at various times over number of years. First is the question of will. The will, as far as we are now discussing is the will of the Government to decide if we should do anything what the enemy is doing to you today in the same manner.

That is the will of the Government. As far as the will of the people, the forces of India, are concerned, the people who are volunteers, people who are trained and motivated to go and do anything that is asked of them to do, depending on the clearance of the Government. And this I cannot openly share with the house here, but that I assure you that the people are willing, there are volunteers, there are more dedicated people who have the wherewithal to do it provided given the clearance. Now we come on the long term plan. The long term plan is absolutely inadequate. Why? Because this is a very superficial question.
Wow... :eek:

I would assume that everything being dependent on the will of the GoI is no longer the impediment after 26/11 and am hoping/thinking that GoI would have set the wheels into motion.
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

sum wrote: Wow... :eek:

I would assume that everything being dependent on the will of the GoI is no longer the impediment after 26/11 and am hoping/thinking that GoI would have set the wheels into motion.
For some reason I believe that the Intelligence community (in any country) will have the conceit that they know what is best for the country, and have the institutional lack of transparency to get away with it. IMHO onlee!

"Attackers are Pakistani, no one came from outside: Malik"

Poor Malik!

Too many blasts and too many deaths not to face up to the reality!

The real Malik alone knows where Pakistan is heading!
asprinzl

Post by asprinzl »

Its about time the GOI marshals the citizenry of Gujerat, Punjab, Haryana etc to form local level frontier vigilante watch groups. Soon, once the $hit hits the fan, there will be massive influx of refugees spilling into India and among them will be jihadiots of all hews and colors. This will be a time to be extremely prejudiced and not allow "we are the same same only" bull$hit to cloud the sentiments. Must make sure the border is water tight and no one gets through. Absolutely no one. You let in one and that will lead to another and another and another and soon you will have a stampede which you cannot control. If you cannot control your border, soon you will lose control of your cities. Folks, this is reality. It is going to happen. The Pakiban are going to take over. Its a matter of "when". Please don't allow your government or anybody to pull the "We are holier than thou" gull$hit on you. There will be losers, WKKites, liberals, commies etc who will cry, beg, crawl and scream at India to allow them into India in the name of so called "Ghandian" philosophy. Watch out.

Similar idiots already did similar crap in Israel and we now have a few hundred refugees from Dafur in Israel. Muslims almost all of them. Funny thing is that when the Muslim sudanese government forces were busy cleansing Christian and animist villages, these Muslims happily either supported the government or took part in it. Now they want us to be sympathetic to them. And they are pulling the same $hit the Somalis are doing in Minnesotta- demanding Halal this and halal that.
So....pull up thy socks and off to the border.
Avram.

Rishi wrote:
For some reason I believe that the Intelligence community (in any country) will have the conceit that they know what is best for the country, and have the institutional lack of transparency to get away with it. IMHO onlee!
At one level, you are right. At another level, is it not true they have much much more information, than the ordinary citizen can ever hope to acquire/imagine?
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

ravi_ku wrote:
Rishi wrote:
At one level, you are right. At another level, is it not true they have much much more information, than the ordinary citizen can ever hope to acquire/imagine?
Each and every person in the intelligence community could be local or foreign level works for the country itself.Unless we do have to come across some assholes who onleee cares money but not the country.And these are those vultures waiting to feed on prey when time comes on.Recently some issues regarding the Indian intelligence book keeping records has seen light by those vulture hunters themself.Cant put every thing in detail.But wait for some more steep curves and deep valley rides once the election game is over.hoping for other party to come into power in the coming elections so that you people will know who is the real ******** selling the country.( i regret for my language)

If you guys know the real cause for stepping back after the 26/11 attacks,.........................u people will go and crush the balls of each and every ******* in the parliament.

So, it wasnt a unprepared IA which backed off?