Indo-UK: News & Discussion

Re: Indo-UK: News & Discussion

Vasco da Gama's blood soaked sojourn and the later Inquisition in Goa don't seem to attract much attention either...
Good point. It should be widely known in yindia the excesses wrought by the churchists.
and i would also ask those following this thread about their views specifically on modern India's relationship with modern Iran and modern Uzbekistan?
Whats modern about these entities? Last I heard they weren't giong around bragging they 'civilized' India. And if they do (like the Bakis routinely do about 'ruling' India for 1000 yrs etc), they get shown finger up uranus onlee. Don't ya think so, venerable saar? :mrgreen:

Meanwhile, the great $hitish go:
"we're all reformed now. That was another era.

And didn't we give ya railways and democracy? So what if we civilizedly decided to keep colonial plunder from kohinoor to what-not as retainer onlee. In fair trust, no?

Now, now, lets be reasonable and talk about suttee, slums and untouchability that your disgusting system perpetrates for all to see.

And yup, (finger wagging) treat your muslims well. Remember we're watching you..... In fact we denied extradition of known criminals and fugitives from India law (like Nadeem) because our civilized courts deemed your courts discriminate against muslims..see.

And lets see. what about kashmir? Your oppression there is disgusting.

No?

Self Edited
Last edited by vsudhir on 01 May 2009 02:18, edited 1 time in total.
surinder

Post by surinder »

Even a sadistic rapist who has kept a woomen needs to feed & clothe her. The Austrian mad person who raped his own kids in a cellar also clothed and fed her. That food, even if gourmet, can hardly be considered a favor and a blessing.

Those who love freedom, consider even the best of treatment as disdainful. I certainly do, the British certainly value their own freedom much the same way: There is this song that goes something like this "We the British/Albion will never ever be slaves".

Those who enslave others have a need to justify their large-heartednesss, I don't understand why the enslaved have any reason to. The very act of slavery should be an abomination (there is no need for any considerations of benifits). Think of the raapist.

Abhi_G wrote: But the very fact of saying that the Brits did something good ..
and when exactly did i say this? it seems to me that everyone who wants to make this point is trying to use my posts as the catalyst for doing so. make your point by all means, but not through falsely representing me. let me be very very clear - i have not made any apologies for the british empire - and i don't appreciate those of you who are insinuating that i have.

surinder - brits react in two ways, 1. we conquered you, tough luck or 2. yes its very embarrassing, lets talk about something else. also, your comment about historians was totally misplaced - i never said ALL - so don't put words into my mouth

vsudhir - you have your own agenda buddy, so good luck to you. iran and uzbekistan are amongst many countries that speak of 'traditional ties, relationships and friendships' with india - nadir shah and tamerlane notwithstanding
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

Lalmohan wrote:
Abhi_G wrote: But the very fact of saying that the Brits did something good ..
and when exactly did i say this? it seems to me that everyone who wants to make this point is trying to use my posts as the catalyst for doing so. make your point by all means, but not through falsely representing me. let me be very very clear - i have not made any apologies for the british empire - and i don't appreciate those of you who are insinuating that i have.
Lalmohan, selective reading....I did not say that you said about der. I put that particular sentence since that line of thought was prevailing in this thread (or rather prevails in conversations regarding Brit rule) for a while and I did not accuse you of catalyzing that. I also made it very very clear what I meant if you read my post in entirety.
Last edited by Abhi_G on 30 Apr 2009 22:19, edited 1 time in total.

surinder wrote:It is important to note pre-Mughal India was remarkably free of any sort of torture techniques. It reflects the societies norms and modes of dealings. It reflects the values and sensitivies of the society. But those who only seek do demonify Indai, never point this out. Indians never investigate this either. A good and simple historian should write A simple book on History of Torture in India.
not quite surinder ji, I am afraid of going OT, so this will have to be short.
Indians weren't a particularly pacifist race, the useful myths notwithstanding.
peaceful yes, pacifist no.

the arthashastra for example carries many examples of such punishments, including death by burning alive, cutting off of organs etc. although, such punishments were usually reserved for the worst crimes like murder and conspiracy against state.
it also lists 18 torture methods to be used during interrogation though again there were strict regulations in place to prevent abuse.
the example of shul is far too prevalent in ancient stories to be an imagination.

the one difference that was there is the fact that genocide/mass killing as state policy was unknown in India, unlike in the west.

[Abhi_G]
Lalmohan, selective reading....I did not say that you said about der. I put that particular sentence since that line of thought was prevailing in this thread (or rather prevails in conversations regarding Brit rule) for a while and I did not accuse you of catalyzing that. I also made it very very clear what I meant if you read my post in entirety.
yes i know, i'm using you as a catalyst :)

Hyperventilation? Whoa! Must be true. Lalprafesor said so!

Of course, onlee Lalprofesor can decree (err, fatwa) what constitutes hyperventilation and what constitutes dismay at discovery of well camouflaged historical facts, I guess. :lol:
vshudhir ji, I do think you are misreading what lalmohan ji is saying. in any case, any difference in opinion that exists can be safely neglected, please do so.
Even a sadistic rapist who has kept a woomen needs to feed & clothe her. The Austrian mad person who raped his own kids in a cellar also clothed and fed her. That food, even if gourmet, can hardly be considered a favor and a blessing.
precisely, reminds me of a story :

person A threw a stone at a wandering mentally unstable person on the streets to get some sadistic pleasure out of the act.
miraculously, the said insane person was hit on the head and his insanity was cured. should A be credited for curing the person of insanity ?

do we see a parallel with british rule in India ?
surinder

Post by surinder »

Rahul M wrote:not quite surinder ji, I am afraid of going OT, so this will have to be short.
Indians weren't a particularly pacifist race, the useful myths notwithstanding.
peaceful yes, pacifist no.

the arthashastra for example carries many examples of such punishments, including death by burning alive, cutting off of organs etc. although, such punishments were usually reserved for the worst crimes like murder and conspiracy against state.
it also lists 18 torture methods to be used during interrogation though again there were strict regulations in place to prevent abuse.
the example of shul is far too prevalent in ancient stories to be an imagination.

the one difference that was there is the fact that genocide/mass killing as state policy was unknown in India, unlike in the west.
Rahul Ji,

I am not an expert so cannot speak with confidence. But the right question to ask is the following: Was there a quantum increase in torture after the advents of the M & B? Not just what is written in books, but the practice thereof. For instance, Manu's book says that a Sudra's ears should have molten lead poured in it if he hears the Vedas. But it was never carried out in practice.

Once again, if the evidence points to the fact that violence and torture did not increase (or even decreased) by the coming of M' or B's, I am fine with that conclusion too. I just want the truth. Satya Meyv Jayate.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

This clarifies the position of the Indic. I also read about similar comments by Megasthenes while he visited Pataliputra - nokilling of civilians during war, no uprooting of trees etc....something in those lines.

.......But it was never carried out in practice.
I'm aware that it may be the case with arthashastra too but chances are lower, since kautilya did have practical experience to back up his discourse.

my point was that while torture and brutal punishments were not unknown, these were never carried out against innocent people to serve political ends (at any rate, no evidence has appeared till date that it was and all evidence point to the contrary direction) unlike in the times of the muslim rulers where torture and persecution was state policy in general(the treatment of the sikh gurus for example).

the punishments prescribed in arthashastra (and we can safely take those as representative of ancient India due to the enormous influence of both chandragupta maurya and kautilya on subsequent hindu rulers) are entirely in tune with a benign just state but one that ruled with an iron hand.

so we can be in little doubt that the quantum of violence rose manifold with the muslim invasions into India.

p.s. I'll move this and related posts to the history thread.
surinder

Post by surinder »

That is why the Partion process was especially heineous. People of India had been accustomed to state changes and border changes, but not ethnic relocation at such a mass scale. Not even Babr etc. induced large swathes of population to simply pack up and leave. One of the constant refrains I hear when I hear partion stories is the ordinary Punjabis saying, "Sarkaran taaN badaldia see, per lokan noo taa nayi kadd dindiya san." They were simply shocked that people would be asked to leave lands they had lived since the dawn of civilization. Most of them simply thought it cannot happen (British pulled a fast one and confused the hapless). They thought they would hand over the keys of their houses to their neighbors and go to "India" and come back back when the danga-baazi subsides. None did. The left unplanned: some had gone to work, not knowiing they will never come back to their houses, some had left cooked food and just fled.

This was a new low in how a state waged war & violence on hapless people.

Surinder why blame the British ? when their two London educated agents carried out the task for their masters ?

note to self: breathe in, breathe out, relax. breathe in, breathe out...

surinder wrote:That is why the Partion process was especially heineous. People of India had been accustomed to state changes and border changes, but not ethnic relocation at such a mass scale. Not even Babr etc. induced large swathes of population to simply pack up and leave. One of the constant refrains I hear when I hear partion stories is the ordinary Punjabis saying, "Sarkaran taaN badaldia see, per lokan noo taa nayi kadd dindiya san." They were simply shocked that people would be asked to leave lands they had lived since the dawn of civilization. Most of them simply thought it cannot happen (British pulled a fast one and confused the hapless). They thought they would hand over the keys of their houses to their neighbors and go to "India" and come back back when the danga-baazi subsides. None did. The left unplanned: some had gone to work, not knowiing they will never come back to their houses, some had left cooked food and just fled.

This was a new low in how a state waged war & violence on hapless people.
I have met families who are deeply affected by the partition.
Read the book by Pat Buchanan Churchill, Hitler, and "The Unnecessary War": How Britain Lost Its Empire and the West Lost the World
by Patrick J. Buchanan (Author)

You will understand some of the decisions by the imperial powers.
In 1946 before the Indian partition the WWII victors also divided Poland after the war. There was mass transfer of population and Churchill presided over it.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Expulsion_ ... rld_War_II
Potsdam Conference: Joseph Stalin (left), Harry Truman (center), Winston Churchill (right)
Refugees from Pomerania, West and East Prussia arrive in Berlin, 1945

The Soviet Union transferred the territory to the east of the Oder-Neisse line to Poland in July, 1945.[73] All Germans had their property confiscated and were placed under restrictive jurisdiction.[73][75] Subsequently, most remaining Germans were expelled from pre-war Poland and the Recovered Territories (formerly eastern Germany) to the territory west of the Oder-Neisse Line. Some, prior to their expulsion, were used as forced labor in communist-administered camps[41] such as those run by Salomon Morel and Czesław Gęborski. Examples of these include Central Labour Camp Jaworzno, Central Labour Camp Potulice, Łambinowice, Zgoda labour camp and others. Besides these large camps, numerous other forced labor, punitive, and internment camps, urban ghettos, and detention centers sometimes consisting only of a small cellar were set up.[75] Germans considered "indispensable" for the Polish economy were retained until the early 1950s,[75] though virtually all had left by 1960.[74]Close to 165,000 Germans were transported to the Soviet Union for forced labor, where most of them perished.[75]

Thomasz Kamusella cites estimates of 7 million expelled during both the "wild" and "legal" expulsions from the Recovered Territories from 1945-48, plus an additional 700,000 from areas of pre-war Poland.[75] Overy cites approximate totals of those evacuated, migrated, or expelled between 1944–1950 as: from East Prussia - 1.4 million to West Germany, 609,000 to East Germany; from West Prussia - 230,000 to West Germany, 61,000 to East Germany; from the former German provinces east of the Oder-Neisse, encompassing most of Silesia, Pomerania, and East Brandenburg - 3.2 million to West Germany, 2 million to East Germany.[77]

This is a must for all Indians to read.
Expelling the Germans: British Public Opinion and Post-1945 Population Transfer in Context
Matthew FrankOxford: Oxford University Press, 2008
ISBN-13: 978-0-19-923364-9. ; 320 pp.; £55.00

http://www.history.ac.uk/reviews/paper/clarksona.html

Frank is right to contend that the ambivalent response of the British towards population transfer in Eastern Europe led British governments to ultimately reject the idea that this was an acceptable means with which to end ethnic conflict in territories outside of their direct control. Yet the issue is less clear cut when it comes to the use of similar tactics against ideological opponents within the (shrinking) British sphere of influence. As Frank himself admits, throughout the decolonisation process massive shifts of population took place across the British Empire.
Though he claims that the population exchanges that took place in India after partition had not been planned for by the Indian Civil Service, there is considerable evidence indicating that at least some British officials believed that the mass flight of Hindus to India and Muslims to Pakistan in the wake of the collapse of British control would ultimately lead to the creation of more ethnically homogeneous and stable states in South Asia.(3)

In stark contrast to Frank’s assertion that population transfer was a ‘limited solution but also a strictly Continental European one’ (p. 277), there is a considerable body of evidence pointing in the opposite direction. Even in situations in which the British had a much greater degree of control over the process of colonial withdrawal than was the case in India, officers and administrators were prepared to use forms of population transfer in order to achieve their long-term political goals. In the counterinsurgency campaigns against communist guerrillas in Malaya which began in the late 1940s and ended in 1957, British military commanders moved large numbers of Chinese and Malay peasants from their old villages into fortified encampments in order to achieve greater control over the countryside. This use of population transfer to win ‘hearts and minds’ and limit insurgent access to local populations was a strategy which was subsequently emulated by British as well as French and American officers in similar conflicts across the Third World.(4)

In his conclusion Frank claims that there were few connections between the ethnic conflicts caused by decolonisation and population transfer in Germany (p. 277). Yet many of the British officials and journalists stationed in Germany and Eastern Europe in the late 1940s went on to take a prominent part in the kind of conflicts in Asia and Africa in which the British forcibly relocated local populations in order to defeat their ideological opponents. For example, the Director of Civil Affairs and Military Government in the British zone, Major-General Gerald Templer, who witnessed the humanitarian consequences of the population transfer of ethnic Germans went on to become the commander of British forces in Malaya, where he initiated a ‘fortified encampments’ programme which led to another form of population transfer.(5)
#
# P. Brass, ‘The partition of India and retributive genocide in the Punjab, 1946–47: means, methods, and purposes’, Journal of Genocide Research, 5 (2003),
Last edited by svinayak on 01 May 2009 01:01, edited 2 times in total.

Yeah, we're all going overboard perhaps. I in particular have gone ballistic against the $hits, err, Brits of late and for good reason (IMHO).

There's been no word of apology, however insincere from the $hits. No expression of regret, however banal. Why should we desis be 'ok' with it? If past is indeed past, why not the $ritish acknowledge the past to let it go?

Chalo, my last on this, (for a while).

/Have a nice day, biraders.

British might have tried their best to screw us or other countries ; heck don't we dream of doing the same to TSP day in and day out . Point is in our case the Oxbridge returned liberal dawgs implemented the British plans.

Recession-hit UK cuts jobs for migrants
Responding to global economic downturn and job losses, a key Home Office committee has cut the number and categories of jobs available for migrants from outside the European Union, including from India.

The Migration Advisory Committee said 270,000 less posts should be on the "shortage list" of jobs, which allows employers to bring in foreign workers without trying to fill them with British staff first.
Well, porkis live off welfare anyway. And labor sarkar is loath to cut welfare rolls - their vote base. So expect the paki ques for UKstani visa to continue being busy onlee.

I've said it before and shall say it again - Gordon Brown pants and David Milipede are the best things to have happened to the erstwhile friends of UKstan in a long time. May they live long in politics and prosper. UKstan merits no less!

A couple of nights ago, there was BBC report on NPR about the pomp and circumustances of the British troops withdrawl from Iraq. The reporter waxed on a host of reasons why the British are withdrawing. A whole lot of H&D things were stated. The 'Last Bugle' was sounded all very koi hai and propah!

I wonder if the TSPA got its H&D mantra from the British?

India did not resort to all the H&D remarks for withdrawing the IPKF from Sri Lanka.

cool britannia onlee.... :mrgreen:

LeT commander among 22 barred from entering Britain

Now if only Dilli would un-ban their entry. Tihar mein bahut jagah hai....

How MI-6 tried to cut a deal with Camp Gitmo inmates!

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/ho ... 79884.html

Exposed: MI5's secret deals in Camp X-ray
Last edited by Gerard on 07 May 2009 20:03, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: copyright
tripathi

Post by tripathi »

Pakistan refuses visas to British officials
ISLAMABAD - The row between Pakistan and the United Kingdom over the detention of 10 Pakistani students and their expected expulsion from Britain has deepened further as Islamabad refused to issue visas to a team of the British officials intended to arrive here for signing MoU on extradition of unwanted people.
The British team was supposed to visit Islamabad a few days back to urge Pakistani authorities for MoU on extradition of unwanted people that, if signed, would provide UK with a legal instrument not only to expel the Pakistani students but also to frustrate any effort by them to move the British courts against their deportation.

a team of the British officials intended to arrive here for signing MoU on extradition of unwanted people.
Wah, what a MoU!!!! :roll:

Fast food chain KFC converts eight London restaurants to halal-only menu

By DEBRA KILLALEA
Last updated at 11:17 PM on 06th May 2009
Masood Khawaja, President of the Halal Food Authority, welcomed the trial and said it was good news for the Muslim community.

'Having worked with KFC closely, Halal Food Authority is delighted to accredit the usage of the HFA logo and symbol of approval on endorsed products,' Mr Khawaja said.

'The Muslim community can now enjoy all the products in this trial in eight participating halal-approved restaurants, as these have been procured with full adherence to both Islamic dietary rules and relevant EU hygiene, food safety and animal welfare regulations.'

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... -menu.html

UK's entire nuclear submarine fleet to be based in Scotland at Faslane
The decision to base all the UK's nuclear submarines at Faslane raises the prospect of a future nationalist government in Scotland forcing a referendum on independence and demanding the removal of the entire fleet to an English base.
Or they might just decide the take control over the fleet, with Scotland being the successor state to the United Kingdom wrt the NPT and the UNSC. :mrgreen:

Book Review from The Telegraph, 8 May 2009
FOUNDER OF A NEW VISION

Fearless speaker
Robert Knight: Reforming editor in Victorian India By Edwin Hirschmann,
Oxford, Rs 795

Very often, the grand narrative of history is notoriously punctuated with blind spots that cause collective amnesia. Robert Knight, the founder-editor of The Times of India, Mumbai, and The Statesman, Calcutta, is a tragic victim of this amnesia. This book is undoubtedly a commendable effort to salvage this illustrious figure in the history of Indian journalism from oblivion. Besides being a rather belated tribute to a great champion of liberalism, the book is also a tribute to liberalism itself.

For one thing, this biography by Edwin Hirschmann clearly shows the extent to which Knight was a product of his age: an age that was extremely significant not only in the history of colonial India but also in the history of British imperialism and Western liberalism. Hirschmann cites classical economics and James Stuart Mill’s grossly misleading History of British India as the background for understanding Knight’s reforming spirit. However, the background does not quite come through, and Hirschmann fails to provide an elaborate contextualization of his subject. He does not examine Knight’s reading habit or provide a sociological account of Knight’s reformist zeal. Similarly, he does not attempt to explain the glaring inconsistencies in Knight’s ideology — those represented by his assumed role of a liberal-minded imperialist — and his ambiguous advocacy of the Tories as the more capable administrators for India, despite being a liberal himself. Thus, Hirschmann’s “biography as history” remains only partially constructed.

What it chronicles in reasonable detail is the political history of British India, rather than a history of 19th-century Western ideas. Hirschmann’s approach unaccountably refuses to acknowledge the fact that the philosophy behind Knight’s editorial policy looked back on the triumph of reason heralded by the Enlightenment, which, according to historians like Hippolyte Taine and Alexis de Tocqueville, traced its roots to the French Revolution. While Edmund Burke’s Reflections on the Revolution in France (1790) articulated the premonition that the “abstract” revolutionary ideals, however magnanimous and purportedly rational, may actually turn out to be tyrannical, Enlightenment discourses glorified them, feeding into the Utilitarianism propounded by Jeremy Bentham and J.S. Mill. Utilitarianism professed freedom of expression, equal rights for women and an end to slavery, among other things. Utilitarian liberalism was trying to evolve a complete “ethology” for post-industrial Europe which would inform its politics and combine the apparently incompatible notions of public governance and individual liberty.

This perception of public governance as a process of authoritative decision-making by a select and knowledgeable few, which is conditionally exposed to rigorous, external verification, is integral to the understanding of Knight’s piquant chastisement of biased and ham-handed British policies. His criticism of British economic policies also needs to be put in the perspective of the 19th-century debates on laissez-faire economy.

The hard facts of Knight’s editorial career have been well-documented by Hirschmann. The author also divides Knight’s career into five segments
‘reformer’, ‘editor’, ‘dissident’, ‘imperial critic’ and ‘Statesman elder’. His narrative becomes an efficient documentation of the emergence of journalism as the ‘fourth estate’. Moreover, the narrative also offers valuable insights into the debates on Orientalism.

Hirschmann does not dwell on Knight’s family life for too long, but he refers to the crises in his life caused by litigation and libel. The book invites readers to judge whether it can be called the saga of a fearless speaker, bearing in mind Michel Foucault’s definition of parrhesia or ‘fearless speech’ in his last book that was produced from his tape-recorded lectures.

ARNAB BHATTACHARYA
I think these traits or guidelines are followed by the Indian elite.

Can BRFites tell if outdoor hindu style cremation is allowed in US ?

UK court rejects bid to allow Hindu-style funeral pyres
After years of campaigning and legal wrangling, a 70-year-old UK-based devout Hindu man on Friday lost a court bid to be cremated on a traditional open-air funeral pyre, a test case for the community in Britain.

The British High Court rejected the bid of Davender Ghai, from Gosforth in Newcastle, saying that pyres were prohibited by law. Justice Cranston said the prohibition was "justified" but allowed Ghai to approach the Court of Appeal.

If Ghai had won, the case could have opened floodgates for similar appeals for outdoor cremation to be made legal in the UK. Ghai was seeking to overturn a decision by Newcastle City Council in 2006 preventing funeral pyres from being held.

The Council had said the practice is impractical.

During a hearing in March, Ghai, the founder of the Anglo-Asian Friendship Society (AAFS), told a judge that a Hindu-style funeral pyre was essential to a "good death" and the release of his spirit into the afterlife. He said he wanted to die "with dignity" and not be "bundled in a box".

Justice Cranston said that Justice Secretary Jack Straw, who had resisted Ghai's legal challenge, argued that people might be "upset and offended" by pyres and "find it abhorrent that human remains were being burned in this way".

Ministers' 'Expenses' Prompt Explanation From U.K.'s Brown
LONDON -- The U.K. prime minister and several officials are embroiled in a public fray over their use of taxpayer funds to cover their expenses, giving rise to another embarrassment for Gordon Brown's government.

Mr. Brown was forced to issue an explanation Friday after a London-based newspaper, the Daily Telegraph, published details of the expenses he and other officials claimed while serving in Parliament.
Wow. Telegraf set out to embarass Sri Brown himself? Good luck with that!
The triviality of some expenses could prove embarrassing for politicians. Foreign Secretary David Miliband's claim for a £199 baby stroller was rejected. {:(( Waaaah! :(( } Former deputy prime minister John Prescott had a toilet seat in his home repaired twice in two years at taxpayer expense.{Wonder what he was flushing down the tubes so much....} Spokeswomen for Messrs. Miliband and Prescott and a spokesman for Ms. Blears said they followed the rules laid out by parliamentary authorities. {No doubt, they did}
Wish our netas could provide similar comic relief amidst so much ennui with their old corruption games....

Terror victim in Mumbai, now abandoned in Britain
Will Pike escaped with his life from last year's Taj Mahal hotel massacre, but suffered spinal injuries that left him severely disabled. His nightmare had only just begun. Here he tells Linda Grant about the cruel neglect and official indifference to his plight that have plagued him since his return to the UK

An irate caller from Kolkata told of a Communist CITU-led strike at the city’s airport, but one didn’t have the heart to ask if it was the virus or the swine that was to blame.
We would, however, do well to broaden the historical canvas to include the first half century of the British presence in the subcontinent. It was age of the enlightenment in Europe, when scepticism leavened belief and social Darwinism was still a distant fantasy. So William Jones presented his path-breaking linguistic studies on the common origins of Indo-European speech to scholarly acclaim, and Charles Wilkins published the first English translation of the Gita, with a foreword by his patron Warren Hastings, the first Governor-General of British India and a notable Orientalist himself.

“I hesitate not to pronounce the Gita a performance of great originality,” wrote Hastings, “of a sublimity of conception reasoning and diction almost unequalled; and a single exception, amongst all the known religions of mankind, of a theology accurately corresponding with that of the Christian disposition, and most powerfully illustrating its fundamental doctrines…”

The Governor-General observed that “Not so long ago, the inhabitants of India were considered by many as creatures scarce elevated above the degree of savage life.” Of the body of Sanskrit works that were being revealed to the European world, he ended on a high note of prophecy: “These will survive when the British dominion in India shall have long ceased to exist, and when the sources which it once yielded of wealth and power are lost to remembrance.”
derkonig
Location: Jeering sekular forces bhile Furiously malishing my mijjile @ Led Lips Mijjile Malish Palish Parloul

Post by derkonig »

vsudhir wrote:he ended on a high note of prophecy: “These will survive when the British dominion in India shall have long ceased to exist, and when the sources which it once yielded of wealth and power are lost to remembrance.”
AoA,
Simply unbelievable that Hastings could have said that.

Robert Clive, of the British East India Company, who played a major role in the establishment of British rule in India, is said to have presented an emerald necklace to this temple (the Clive makarakandi, still used to decorate the Lord on ceremonial occasions).
Link:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanchipuram

Pakis are #1 !

Shahid Malik, his house and the slum landlord: MPs' expenses
The controversial way in which Justice Minister Shahid Malik was able to run up the highest expenses claim of any MP can be disclosed by The Telegraph.

Prince Charles's gardening rewarded by the Queen
At a preview of the Chelsea Flower Show, which opens on Tuesday, the Queen presented her son and heir with the Royal Horticultural Society Victoria Medal of Honour.
John_H

Post by John_H »

India calls on Tesco to reform farming industry

By Barney Henderson in Mumbai and Damien McElroy
Published: 10:07PM BST 18 May 2009

The retailers, including Tesco, will be asked to overhaul the inefficient production and distribution systems which result in up to half of the annual crop rotting before reaching market.

Attempts to overhaul Indian agriculture under the outgoing Congress-led government were blocked by powerful communist parties within the coalition who refused to allow foreign companies to get involved.

Mr Gandhi, 38 has suggested that the expertise of Western retailers in modern sourcing and storage systems must be introduced to aid Indian farmers.

A Tesco spokesman expressed its interest in working with the project. "We would strongly welcome any steps by the government to improve infrastructure and create a solid, good quality supply chain," said a Tesco spokesperson.