Deepest condolences to the family of the deceased.

we have to understand that ejection seats are designed not to allow the pilot to hit the canopy, so while it undoubtedly happens sometimes, it is not a terribly common occurrence.Squadron Leader Prashant Bundela, a pilot in his early 30s, ejected but had a bad fall that has left him with a serious spinal injury. ...........
Bundela ejected and parachuted down but is reported to have landed on his back. He was first admitted to the military hospital in Jodhpur and has now been shifted to the speciality orthopaedic centre of the armed forces hospital in Pune.
Within days, the IAF and a team of aircraft designers will formally set up a joint committee to frame the specifications for India’s own MCA, which will be built largely in Bangalore.
According to Dr Subramaniam, the programme will aim to develop the MCA and build 5-6 prototypes at a cost of Rs 5000 crores.
I have no doubt we can pull it off in double quick time. But the radar and the engine needs great planning.Rahul M wrote:India set to build Medium Combat Aircraft
from ajai shukla's blog.
Good points. But apart from weapons bay, another great challenge is the engine. MCA would need to be able to supercruise and have thrust vectoring. Perhaps Kaveri could be modified for thrust vectoring, but I cannot see how two 53KN engines would be able to provide supercruise capability to MCA.SaiK wrote:afaik, the most dangerous technology that we are to attempt first time in MCA would be internal weapons bay. lotsa testing time needs to planned for that.. perhaps, we could phase that technology aspects in earlier prototypes, if need be a modified LCA would be enough.
Stealth technology and shapes are the newer technology aspects that needs a bigger budget here. I am not aware of the statuses of various research happened here in IITs and other DRDO labs for this to take off. I did read some where we are into MEMS/nano tech based radar absorptions technologies.
proper funding is required for netcentric approach, requiremetns analysis and lotsa stakeholder inputs from IAF. An integrated approach is required to have perhaps few LCA prototypes for this as well.
AESA radar is important.. which I am sure we are half way there already with LCA's Elta links. I hope, we come out success soon on that front.
The ADA labs could start off on the CFD wind tunnel experiments for various algos and simulations on the models.. can start off ahead.
Engines of LCA is important for MCA. Kaveri-X? status is really important. More budget required to suppor Kaveri program. If management and organization needs change, so be it. This puppy is really the crux of MCA (can't hear this K word in the ddm sense after 10 years now.. may be our kids could inherit better history here).
Rest is all we have already established for LCA.
Jai Ho to MCA.. if the news is confirmed.. its time for MCA thread #1 at BR.
I don't remember any indian paper or news channel reporting as such. I guess its not only desi media which is a dork.India has grounded its premier front line fighter planes, the Sukhoi 30 MKIs, following Thursday's crash of a fighter of this kind, local media reported Saturday
A day after Sukhoi crash, fleet grounded, checks underwayParijat Gaur wrote:^^Quote from xinhuanet.comI don't remember any indian paper or news channel reporting as such. I guess its not only desi media which is a dork.India has grounded its premier front line fighter planes, the Sukhoi 30 MKIs, following Thursday's crash of a fighter of this kind, local media reported Saturday
http://www.zeenews.com/news528368.htmlIAF orders precautionary checks on Sukhoi fighter jets
New Delhi, May 01: A day after a Su-30MKI fighter crashed in Rajasthan, the IAF on Friday refrained from flying the air superiority jet and ordered precautionary checks on the 60-aircraft Sukhoi fleet.
IAF sources, while rubbishing reports of the Sukhoi fleet being "grounded", said: "Yes, today we did not fly the Sukhois. We are certainly carrying out checks. But it doesn't mean we will not fly them tomorrow or on Monday. Grounding is a requirement only when a technical flaw has been identified. In the case of this mishap, the probe has been ordered and it has just started."
So can we expect to see work beginning on a next gen Kaveri, MMR, and maybe a fly-by-light control system in the near future?It should be a scaled model and therefore a LOT of thought should have gone into it - what kind of missiles - considering all are internal. They should have also got a very good idea which engine (or derivative) they would propose, radar should also have been pretty much been "selected".
Sure. But why would you want to?HariC wrote:Presumably our An-32s can also do the same thing?
err. not me. but the IAF probably did at some point. there was a demonstration in some firepower display an year or so back when IAF An-32s apparently displayed their bomb dropping for the first time. but never saw any pictures of thatvivek_ahuja wrote:Sure. But why would you want to?HariC wrote:Presumably our An-32s can also do the same thing?
Rahul M wrote:I could be wrong, but here's this archived report at Jagan's warbirds site.
http://warbirdsofindia.com/Crashes/crde ... p?crno=594we have to understand that ejection seats are designed not to allow the pilot to hit the canopy, so while it undoubtedly happens sometimes, it is not a terribly common occurrence.Squadron Leader Prashant Bundela, a pilot in his early 30s, ejected but had a bad fall that has left him with a serious spinal injury. ...........
Bundela ejected and parachuted down but is reported to have landed on his back. He was first admitted to the military hospital in Jodhpur and has now been shifted to the speciality orthopaedic centre of the armed forces hospital in Pune.
HariC wrote:err. not me.
I suppose the legacy of using transports as modified bombers has been there since the Indo-Pak wars with AN-12s etc. But in today's battlefield, is it still valid? Are we that short on bomb trucks that we need to push the transports in too?But the IAF probably did at some point. there was a demonstration in some firepower display an year or so back when IAF An-32s apparently displayed their bomb dropping for the first time. but never saw any pictures of that
good question. maybe there is some 'dooms day scenario' in the IAF that calls for usage of ALL aircraftvivek_ahuja wrote:HariC wrote:err. not me.
![]()
I suppose the legacy of using transports as modified bombers has been there since the Indo-Pak wars with AN-12s etc. But in today's battlefield, is it still valid? Are we that short on bomb trucks that we need to push the transports in too?But the IAF probably did at some point. there was a demonstration in some firepower display an year or so back when IAF An-32s apparently displayed their bomb dropping for the first time. but never saw any pictures of that
Hence my original question: why?
HariC wrote: quote="vivek_ahuja"quote="HariC" err. not me.
![]()
But the IAF probably did at some point. there was a demonstration in some firepower display an year or so back when IAF An-32s apparently displayed their bomb dropping for the first time. but never saw any pictures of that
I suppose the legacy of using transports as modified bombers has been there since the Indo-Pak wars with AN-12s etc. But in today's battlefield, is it still valid? Are we that short on bomb trucks that we need to push the transports in too?
Hence my original question: why?
good question. maybe there is some 'dooms day scenario' in the IAF that calls for usage of ALL aircraftthe only other thing i can guess is that the transport squadrons were doing timepass
. I mean what tonnage you can drop from an An-32, an MKI will do better.
A better answer might be if these pylons can carry Cruise Missiles or Anti-Shipping missiles that cannot be carried on a regular ac in numbers. Like an An-32 might just be able to carry two Brahmos that an MKI wont? But i am just guessing here
Well, i would suggest a higher Caliber main canon, say 25 or 30 mm... And a 105 mm howitzer.. to provide mobile artillery support to the infantry...Singha wrote:Aha loved the exploits. out-of-the-box thinking would suggest a half dozen AN32 could be converted into a gunship AN32G configuration using the old engines but night navigation and
targeting retrofit sourced from our other programs like the Hind upg.
A single 20mm cannon backed by 50cal coax HMG and AGL would sure make short work of
jihadi lashkars hiding in thick forest and help our ground forces immensely.
Valid concerns.Philip wrote:"5-6000 crores" for a few MCA prototypes.If you believe that ,then we are all fairies! The engine,a million times repeated,has been the achillies heel of all Indian desi aircraft programmes.Every aircraft and helo is flying with a foreign engine.If the ADA boffins imagine that the MCA will fly with a desi engine,then they should be sent to the nearest loony bin,as Tejas has yet to find a more powerful engine for the Mk-2 version! The decision to go ahead with the MCA when even the LCA has yet to mature is an act of acute imbecility.It is babudom wanting a huge chunk of the budget to spend upon a programme that will be academic,with no clear timeframe indicated.The project can spin itself,morphing into never before imagined of technologies a few decades down the line,getting more sophisticated as the years go by,producing nothing!
The MOD and IAF should have clear goals spelt out.The most important project is the 5th-gen fighter,which will supposedly give us an aircraft in the F-22/F-35 JSF class technologically,at a far lesser cost.This aircraft is supposed to be the backbone of the IAF from 2015+ onwards,with the first Russian version supposedly to fly later this year,as scheduled.Production is supposed to start by 2015.What chance that the MCA emerges before the 5th-gen fighter? One must be the most optimistic joker on the planet is one believes that the MCA (going by the LCA timeframe) will see the light of day before 2010.
The stage is set for replacing the Kiran aircraft with the Intermediate Jet Trainer (IJT) as the stage-2 trainer of the Indian Air Force, with the Russian AL-55 I engine being integrated with the airplane designed and developed by Hindustan Aeronautics Limited.
Highly placed sources connected with the project told The Hindu that HAL would start flight tests of the IJT with the Russian engine in May. The IAF’s Aircraft and Systems Testing Establishment would conduct the tests to evaluate the airplane’s induction into the force. The IAF, having acquired over the years capability in all areas of aircraft design, conceptualised the new stage-2 trainer replacement.
Sir,Rahul M wrote:bala, I needed to use the search function to find the original of the above post by rohitvats.
it's from 18th may 2008, page 1 of this thread !this one is page 56 !!
kindly don't bring back ancient posts out of context. discussion of international relations is anyway verboten in the military forum. if you want to do it, please visit the strat forum.
lastly, I suggest that you delete the post yourself.
thanks.
narayana wrote:After Taking so many years on LCA and still a couple of years of wait for it,we are planning MCA with tailless design almost like the X-36,are we overconfident?i Wish all the best anyhow
No, that was the proposed design during the early 2000s. Now we have chosen a more conservative approach to the design. That seems to tell me that we are a little under-confident about the first design which demanded very very advanced thrust-vectoring and digital fly-by-whatever capabilities. Now, realistically nobody will sell us such advanced tech( only the US seems to have such tech for now). So, the options are to develop your own engine with whatever capabilities you want or go for a more conservative design so that we could get off-shelf engines.narayana wrote:After Taking so many years on LCA and still a couple of years of wait for it,we are planning MCA with tailless design almost like the X-36,are we overconfident?i Wish all the best anyhow
The deal with the MANTA was that it had *no* aerodynamic control surfaces and all pitch, yaw, roll controls were to be done by thrust vectoring (simple, strong one piece airframe with no control actuators, cables, connectors was touted to improve stealth, reliability and manufacturability). The first design of MCA though, seemed to have control surfaces on the wings and was just a tailless compound delta aircraft, which is in a totally different league. Maybe it is not the confidence to achieve it which caused people to back off, but maybe the tailless platform didnt buy much in terms of stealth or aerodynamic characteristics (LCA tail piece is one piece composite honeycomb sandwich structure, the RCS of the tail cant be much).KrishG wrote:No, that was the proposed design during the early 2000s. Now we have chosen a more conservative approach to the design. That seems to tell me that we are a little under-confident about the first design which demanded very very advanced thrust-vectoring and digital fly-by-whatever capabilities.
not having a vertical stabilizer DOES reduce side on RCS. whether the stab is made of composites or not, doesn't mean that there is simply no radar reflectivity.Anujan wrote: The deal with the MANTA was that it had *no* aerodynamic control surfaces and all pitch, yaw, roll controls were to be done by thrust vectoring (simple, strong one piece airframe with no control actuators, cables, connectors was touted to improve stealth, reliability and manufacturability). The first design of MCA though, seemed to have control surfaces on the wings and was just a tailless compound delta aircraft, which is in a totally different league. Maybe it is not the confidence to achieve it which caused people to back off, but maybe the tailless platform didnt buy much in terms of stealth or aerodynamic characteristics (LCA tail piece is one piece composite honeycomb sandwich structure, the RCS of the tail cant be much).
Thanks Rahul, But i would appreciate if you'd tell me how to do it here... As i might need it some where else too...Rahul M wrote:narayana, where do you see tail less design ?? that was in 2001 !
bala, fine I'll do it for you. and please, no need for "sir".
regards everyone !
I have to agree with Kartik here...chetak wrote:narayana wrote:After Taking so many years on LCA and still a couple of years of wait for it,we are planning MCA with tailless design almost like the X-36,are we overconfident?i Wish all the best anyhow
Rather like the saras story.
Needless complication in design.
Many more PhDs can be obtained and countless research papers published to increase the paper count.
just that there's a 24 hour period I think, after which the edit button expires, set so by forum SW.Bala Vignesh wrote:....
Thanks Rahul, But i would appreciate if you'd tell me how to do it here... As i might need it some where else too...