Indian Military Aviation

Re: Indian Military Aviation

A Mig-21 is reported to have crashed in Jodhpur but the pilot is safe , no links as of now though but it's a flash on most news channels.
Indrajit

Post by Indrajit »

Times Now reporting it was a refurbished AC,could have been Bison,bad news,3 crashes within a month. :(

the A330MRTT deal is sure one. offers a lot of payload vs IL76 and can carry cargo pallets also. Airbus MRO offset-e-khyber in India should be able to take care of these birds without burdening the IAF shops. for fully topping up a large troop of Su30
on oceanic or dpsa missions into mulk-e-panda, A330 > IL76

the A330 (no passengers but full fuel) probably holds the world distance record doing a 22hr nonstop london-sydney flight.

Indrajit wrote:Times Now reporting it was a refurbished AC,could have been Bison,bad news,3 crashes within a month. :(
I googled for it and found this. A pakistani news website
http://www.app.com.pk/en_/index.php?opt ... 8&Itemid=2

And it IS a Bison! :(
kidoman

Post by kidoman »

Indrajit wrote:Times Now reporting it was a refurbished AC,could have been Bison,bad news,3 crashes within a month. :(
really has been a inauspicious month for IAF..The tally is 5 for this year i guess.

As usual, all talk but no action finally:
iaf-had-option-of-deep-strike-inside-pak-soon-after-26-11

India had various options vis-a-vis Pakistan following the 26/11 Mumbai attacks and the force had "enough" intelligence to do what it wanted, Air Chief Fali Homi Major said on Wednesday.

"There were certain options, which were certainly discussed. Depending on the objective and the task given, IAF had enough intelligence to do what it wanted to do then," Major told reporters here during a joint press conference with his successor and chief-designate Air Marshal P V Naik.

However, Major, who will be retiring from service after nearly four decades in the IAF and over two years as its chief, said the present situation along the International Border and the Line of Control were "absolutely normal."

He refused to reveal what the government had discussed with the armed forces immediately after the Mumbai terror attacks that claimed nearly 200 lives, including NSG commandos and senior Maharastra police officers.

Voicing concern over India knowing "little" about China's capability, the IAF chief said, however, there was "no escalation" of tension between the two countries at present.

"The threat word was removed from IAF dictionary many years ago. We do not want to be threat-centric, but want to be capability-based. Threat and Intent are two different things. We have certain capability to deal with conflict situation in its entire spectrum," he said.

Asked how IAF was placed vis-a-vis China in terms of its fleet and equipment, Major said: "We are placed very well. We are taking more measures to further improve our combat efficiency and proficiency."

And

We Know little about China's combat capability
We know little about China's combat capability: IAF chief

2009-05-27 17:49:14
Last Updated: 2009-05-27 18:00:05

New Delhi: Little is known about China's "actual capability" in the defence sector, Indian Air Force (IAF) chief Air Chief Marshal Fali Homi Major said Wednesday, as he clarified his previous remarks that Beijing was the biggest threat to India.

"I meant to say that we know very little about the actual capability of the country... You do not want to be threat-centric, you want to be capability-based," Major said here.

While asserting that IAF was placed "very well" vis-a-vis China, the IAF chief said: "We need to improve our combat edge.

India plans to fit BrahMos missile on Su-30MKI

"We certainly have plans to improve infrastructure in the northeastern region. We are in the process of developing four-five airfields and advance landing grounds and put our assets there. Soon we will be moving our one squadron of Sukhois (combat jets) to the northeast," Major added.

In an interview to a newspaper, the IAF chief had said earlier this week that in the wake of its military expansion, China is a "bigger threat" than Pakistan.

A K Antony, immediately after taking charge as defence minister Monday, said his ministry had taken note of the rapid development of infrastructure by China on its side of the border.

"Infrastructure development in the northeast and other border areas (and) modern equipment in coastal areas is more important and will require fast track procurement," he had said.

IAF personnel to be on first manned space mission

"India wants to have friendly relations with all its neighbours. We have to not only maintain but improve relations with China. At the same time, we have to be eternally prepared for any challenges to our security," Antony had said.

"I meant to say that we know very little about the actual capability of the country... You do not want to be threat-centric, you want to be capability-based," Major said here.
Absolute shocking and scary statement...

Are we so thinly spread in China in terms of intel assets?

Absolute shocking and scary statement...

Are we so thinly spread in China in terms of intel assets?

Sum - the statement has a double meaning. You are reading only one meaning. :wink:

One must not be "unready" but resources are not unlimited and there may the problem of being "too ready" in the absence of information.

So it's just a statement thrown into the air...
Himanshu

Post by Himanshu »

Sum..
What do you want him to say.. that we know about all of their capabilities.. all these are nothing but planted news.. and we have become quite expert in planting news that spreads confusion..

Just saw Shiv's reply.. most apt description.. I would say..

Reassuring to hear that..

Maybe its just the paranoid jingo in me which panics on the smallest things!!! :oops:

This might be going a bit OT, but i have a question. Isn't Shri Major supposed to know the "actual capability" of the most dangerous country next to us? Ok, suppose he doesn't. Then where was the need for Shri Major to say such a thing? Commoners and Govt. alike, trust our Military heads and look up to them for confidence. This indeed is shocking and scary. There is a time for everything and this was not it. And its not like his words were some pearls of wisdom.

And like Shiv says, If Shri Major just threw those words in the air, can't say it suits an Air Chief. That too of an Air Force as professional as the IAF.

Classic way to get more money for his force from GOI , after all he is the head of IAF and has many projects where he would like GOI to put in more cash , the China statement is the right sound bite.

Austin wrote:Classic way to get more money for his force from GOI , after all he is the head of IAF and has many projects where he would like GOI to put in more cash , the China statement is the right sound bite.
its not a classic way,classical way used to be pakistan centric, you can say its semi modern,
only part better is that they are slowly widening scope and vision,, I am sure within a decade iran and n.k. will also be in line.

Austin wrote:Classic way to get more money for his force from GOI , after all he is the head of IAF and has many projects where he would like GOI to put in more cash , the China statement is the right sound bite.
geeez...my point is, if he wants money from the GOI, tell these horror stories to GOI and not the DDM/public! Anyway, I've had enough of Fali bashing. But he must mind what he says in future.

Dmurphy wrote:geeez...my point is, if he wants money from the GOI, tell these horror stories to GOI and not the DDM/public! Anyway, I've had enough of Fali bashing. But he must mind what he says in future.
May be it fell on the deaf ears of GOI , so he resorted via media

Austin makes a good point. This is typical - IIRC, ACM Tyagi too resorted to a letter to the DM, which was "leaked" to the media, "exposing" the falling numbers in IAF sqds. Ultimately ended up in a pretty quick decision to buy 40 extra MKI for the IAF, nice move.

More :(( to open sources is needed. Isn't there an imminent threat from BD to increase its force levels with stealthy chinki types? We want Pakfa NOW!

CM.
nikhil_p

IJT News!

Post by nikhil_p »

I think we missed this...from the current issue of MSM (25th May 09).
Bangalore: May 9,2009 was a very important day in the IJT programme. At about 1200 hrs, IJT Prototype One,Serial No.S-3464 rolled down Runway 27, and after just about900 metres of ground roll, was airborne with the new Russian AL-55 I engine. At the controls of the aircraft in the front cockpit was the Executive Director and the Chief Test Pilot of HAL, Sqn Ldr (Retd) Baldev Singh, with Wg Cdr K.D. Bhat in the rear cockpit. The IJT steadily climbed upward to an altitude of 3 km where Sqn Ldr (Retd) Baldev Singh put the aircraft and its new engine through a series of tests to assess its stability margins, power and acceleration/ deceleration characteristics. After about 30 minutes of engine testing the aircraft touched down. With this flight, a major milestone has been achieved in the IJT programme.
The AL-55 I engine provides more thrust than the current Larzac engine. Speaking to MSM on the flight, Sqn Ldr (Retd) Baldev Singh remarked: "The engine was very responsive, with very precise control. The AL-55 I is a very modern state-of-the-art engine fitted with a FADEC. This feature would provide total care-free handling of the engine for abinito pupil pilots and drastically reduce their cockpit workload. Also the auto relight facility of the
engine is a very good safety feature.
Integration of the engine on the IJT was a Herculean task and the designers and shop floor personnel of ARDC along with the Russian specialists put in very long hours over many months to achieve this success. My flight test team and I salute them on this accomplishment."
Also News on the Landing gear of the Naval LCA.......

Re: IJT News!

nikhil_p wrote:I think we missed this...from the current issue of MSM (25th May 09).

Also News on the Landing gear of the Naval LCA.......
Link to the HAL Newsletter
Juggi G
Location: Martyr Bhagat Singh Nagar District, Doaba, Punjab, Bharat. De Ghuma ke :)

Post by Juggi G »

AWACS will Alter our Dynamics Like Never Before
Rediff India

M P Anil Kumar, a former IAF fighter pilot, looks at how it will redefine battlefield surveillance, and totally revolutionise the IAF.
p_saggu

Post by p_saggu »

I think service chiefs are given a course on dhimmi speech making for the benefit of the Netas and DDM. All those long years out of active service and in the corridors of power is a must to pick up this art of speaking dhimmitude. It never affects the actual intelligence or the capabilities or even the lethality of the person.

I agree that the air chief is pushing for some increase in capability to snoop the chinese airspace to know more. There is always room for improvement for means that allow real time intelligence gathering - UAVs, Satellites, JSTARS or AWACS etc. I think this is what is being hinted at.

How equipped IAF really is can be gauged from the 5000 targets within pakistan statement.

Well, for the record, the Indian Army Chief has called to cap the Pakistani nukes!!!

There SEEMS to be a change since the elections. Krishna (FM) seems to be more vocal (specially than MMS), CAS (outgoing) has been more forthcoming too.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

Pakistan to get Awacs by October: Air chief
In reply to a question he said India had already possessed 3,500 Beyond Visual Range (BVR) missiles while Pakistan is in the process of acquiring 500 such missiles to maintain the required level of deterrence.

TOI video on ACM Naik's parade....in the end of the video, soldiers doing "Jai ho" thing..no offense...doesn't it look strange? or am I ignorant on this?

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/PV-N ... 601198.cms

kancha

Post by kancha »

@ Venkarl

It is a tradition followed in many units of the armed forces, to hail the motherland, the regiment or even the unit. Nothing wrong with it, especially, given the primarily rural background of a majority of the soldiers / airmen.
Juggi G
Location: Martyr Bhagat Singh Nagar District, Doaba, Punjab, Bharat. De Ghuma ke :)

Post by Juggi G »

Tezpur to host four Sukhoi 30Mki - Squadron base means air force moving powerful assets near China
New Delhi, June 1: Four Sukhoi 30Mki will land in Tezpur on June 15 to turn the tea-town base in Assam the third in the country to host a squadron of the frontline combat aircraft.

The basing of Sukhoi aircraft in Tezpur — a second Sukhoi squadron is to be based in Chabua, also in Assam — is in keeping with a policy in which India’s military has been beefing up assets near its borders with China. It began in Ladakh, where the western air command revived two airfields, Daulat Beg Oldi and Chushul, and has continued in the Northeast.

“Our assessment is not threat-centric but capability-based,” said Air Chief Marshal Fali Homi Major, who retired on Sunday, in his last meeting with the press. (Air Chief Marshal P.V. Naik has taken over). Referring to China, he said: “There is no escalation in threat perception. We know very little about the capabilities of that country.”
m mittal

Post by m mittal »

Does anyone know any updates to status of HJT-36, LCA, N-LCA, LCH, Saras????
vishal

Post by vishal »

Tata, L&T, Godrej & Boyce put in bids for drone project

Extract: Bangalore: In a first for an Indian military aircraft programme, private sector firms Larsen and Toubro Ltd (L&T), Godrej and Boyce Manufacturing Co. Ltd and Tata Advanced Systems Ltd have bid to develop and build an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), or drone, used in surveillance operations.
The three companies, and a fourth bidder—a combine of state-owned defence equipment makers Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd and Bharat Electronics Ltd—submitted their bids on 15 May to the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for the medium-altitude, long-endurance (MALE) aircraft, named Rustom, which will be designed to fly at least 250km at a stretch.
::
::
Typically, the cost of producing one set of five Rustom vehicles with five sets of spares, payload and ground handling equipment would be around Rs250 crore, ADE said in its tender.
The partner, once selected, will build the drone, test and certify it, and provide maintenance services. It will also work on converting Rustom into an unmanned combat aerial vehicle, in addition to developing future versions of the drone.
saptarishi

Post by saptarishi »

LCA-Tejas has completed total 1123 test flights successfully

http://www.ada.gov.in/

Primer course on IAF's inventory : Courtesy Rediff. In one page it mentions bharat-rakshak.com as the source for all the inventory details. Way to go guys!
The IAF and its magnificent flying machines

Nikhil T wrote:Primer course on IAF's inventory : Courtesy Rediff. In one page it mentions bharat-rakshak.com as the source for all the inventory details. Way to go guys!
The report says 63 Su-30s are in service. Is that true? Isnt it closer to 100?
SivaVijay

Post by SivaVijay »

According to the report....

Jags to be phased out because MCA will enter MASS production in 2015....

karan_mc

Post by karan_mc »

Singha wrote:Bear refueling a Midas lol

http://im.rediff.com/news/2009/jun/05sld06.jpg
its other way round ,Midas refueling Bear

Nikhil T wrote:Primer course on IAF's inventory : Courtesy Rediff. In one page it mentions bharat-rakshak.com as the source for all the inventory details. Way to go guys!
The report says 63 Su-30s are in service. Is that true? Isnt it closer to 100?

Right after the Sukhoi crash, there were tons of reports all mentioning that we had 55 only. Its 3.5 squadrons afaik.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

HAL choppers going places but unable to meet domestic demand
http://andhracafe.com/news24/index.php?m=show&id=17283

US offers to lease choppers to India for coastal security
http://www.livepunjab.com/articles/us-o ... 16760.html

Tata-Sikorsky Deal Ends HAL Aerospace Monopoly
http://www.defensenews.com/story.php?i= ... =AIR&s=TOP
JaiS