Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Yogesh

Re: Possible Indian Military Scenarios - XII

Post by Yogesh »

asbchakri wrote:
ticky wrote:Paging Vivek_Ahuja, Shankar et al...

tried to do with a bottle of vodka but still was not sufficient. Let us drown our sorrow in the death and Destruction of the pakis and chinkis

So boss bring it on :P :P
asbchakri, they too are like us and may be shell shocked by the results :wink: :-?

So lets give them also some time to come up with something of the standard they have been giving to us :!:

Nitesh wrote:
Shankar wrote: Down below the remains of a full regiment T-80 s burnt and smoldered bearing witness to the terrible strike power of Indian air force
AoA all met the 72's without any pain :evil: :evil:
But all in vain , the tool to exploit the benefit of 72 was completely destroyed by IAF . This was the double defeat inflicted by cowardly Yindoo pilots. Pakis made the clasic mistake of not wrapping and protecting the most important part of their A/ornament.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

Prem wrote: But all in vain , the tool to exploit the benefit of 72 was completely destroyed by IAF . This was the double defeat inflicted by cowardly Yindoo pilots. Pakis made the clasic mistake of not wrapping and protecting the most important part of their A/ornament.
you evil yindoo you can do only :(( :(( :(( :((

but seriously :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
aditp

Post by aditp »

^^^.....er..what is this cryptic 72 ?
Shyam_K

Post by Shyam_K »

aditp wrote:^^^.....er..what is this cryptic 72 ?

I guess it stands for the 72 virgins in paradise

This needs to go to the humor thread but couldnt resist posting here. This is Bill Maher's (American comedian/talk show host) theory on how the 72 came about. Enjoy :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LhefWmeAydE
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

1430 HRS, 2:00 PM, XXXI corps HQ, Bahawalpur, TSP’s Punjab

Lt Gen Muhammad Yousaf has just got his orders to move his corps consisting of 26th Mechanized Division, 35th Infantry Division and 14th Infantry Division. The plan of action was suicidal but then again, somebody has to reclaim the honor of PA and he was proud that his corps has been chose to do just that.

The plan was really simple. They were to go to Islamgarh and from there move to Jaisalmer from three sides using roads through Kishangarh, Bhuttewala and Sarkari Tala. According to the Satellite imagery from their Chinese friends Bhuttewala will be a hard nut to crack due to the possible placement of India’s 12th corps main elements. FYI, India’s 12 corps consists of 4 Armd Bde, 340 Mech Bde, 11 Inf Div and 12 Inf Division.

Lt Gen Muhammad Yousaf’s plan was to first send in 14th Infantry and some elements of 26th Mechanized to fight a war of attrition with India’s 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde and try to draw them near the border.

In the mean time majority of 26th Mechanized Division will go to Kishangarh, hopefully bypassing Indian’s 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde based in Bhttewala.

Going through Kishangarh was a lengthy route but Lt Gen Yousaf hoped 26th Mechanized will be able to move in faster, and concurrently send in 35th infantry via Sarkari Tala to meet up at the rear of Indian’s 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde. If they can do that then India 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde will be rendered useless and it will be easy sailing to Jaisalmer.

And of course this plan will work only if IAF was unavailable.

Lt Gen Yousaf has been promised all the help he will need, so he decided to call on some favors and call in heavy armor elements of 25th Mechanized from Karachi to face 340 Mech Bde.

By vshar99 at 2009-05-19
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

1434 HRS, 2:14 PM, XXXI corps HQ, Bahawalpur, TSP’s Punjab

Multan Ali was a non-descript man, NOW. Two years ago in Quetta he will wear jeans and t-shirts and go partying with his friends, but that all changed on that unfortunate day when his sister was stoned to death by the jihadi zealots.

Soon enough he was a RAW operative who was promised a new identity in Lucknow after 5 years of keeping an eye over XXXI Corps movements in Bahawalpur. As soon as Multan saw the army trucks leaving Bahawalpur he called the American number with VOIPBuster and soon was talking to his handler.

1435 HRS, Indian Satellite in the orbit.

The long convoy of trucks was a dead giveaway. The camera onboard the satellite snapped pictures and started sending them down to the command centre of ISRO, which further relayed the information National Security Council’s analysts. At 2:48 PM IST, it was clear that PA was in the process of XXX1 corps to Indian border. A conference call was set up to review the Pakistani army’s ORBAT and next phase of operations.

1500 HRS, PMO, New Delhi

Foreign Minister JP Yadav was the first one to go, “Shastri Ji, we must publicize the F-16 incident. It will be a big boost for us and morale breaker for them. Singh saab, don’t you agree?”

Defense Minister Singh replied, “Yadav, I agree with your assessment. It will be a good victory to begin with!”

The meeting was to discuss the public relations side of the war. Other then RAW Chief Ahuja and PM Shastri every body wanted to make sure whole world hears of TSP’ s losses. But PM Shastri had made it amply clear that PR for this effort war should be handled differently.

RAW chief JP Ahuja said, “On a slightly different note, let’s not forget why we are here. We have hard intelligence and confirmation from birds in the sky that TSP is moving its assets closer to our western border. Let’s make sure we first agree whether we escalate to second stage or not”

Home minister Bhardwaj almost instantly volunteered, “I think there is no doubt in this room that escalation should go ahead.” Everybody looked at PM Shastri and nodded.

PM Shastri continued, “We are going to escalate, but we will not divulge TSP’s losses just yet. If we do that, there will be questions on how we did that and that is something we do not want to divulge at such an early stage. We have to hold this trump card closer to our chest as long as we can.

We have been victim of plausible deniability for so long; let them suffer the same pain. This is asymmetrical warfare at its best!

If TSP wants to divulge their losses, it’s their prerogative. In the mean time we will cling to no comments.”
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

1600 HRS, Somewhere in New Delhi

It has been a good day for Ramesh Gudipati. Some big orders have come in, and to him business was good for January. Ramesh was lost in his thoughts when out of his eyes he saw the Ashok Chakra come up on TV. He immediately unmuted the TV and all of a sudden, PM Shastri was on.

“Brothers and sisters of India, Pakistan has continued to play its treachery. Instead of responding to our proposal it has started to move its assets closer to the border. As I outlined yesterday, we are taking next set of steps. As of now, our navy is moving to enforce a naval blockade of Pakistan. Any ships in the waters of Pakistan will be allowed to leave in next 24 hours, but no ship will be allowed to go in.

Threatening moves by any ships will be responded with full force available to our ships. All friendly ships in the area are advised to contact Indian Navy at the frequencies which will be provided at the end of this transmission.

We are not patient any more. If Pakistan does not stop moving its forces to our satisfaction in next six hours, we will be forced to move to next phase of blockade.” And so he continued.
“Here goes my business and my dreams of buying a Scorpio”, thought Ramesh. “War is never good. What good will this bring to us?” but all of a sudden he realized his selfishness and stopped thinking about it.

1615 HRS Navy Western Command, Mumbai

As soon as Admiral Vikrmaditya got the official orders from Chief of Staff of the unified command, he was on the horn personally making sure that orders for the operation are passed on to his ships.
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Day 4 begins.

Day 4, 0110 HRS, Indian Navy's Western Command, Mumbai

Admiral Vikrmaditya had been waiting with abated breath! Ever since he had heard of the Agosta in Arabian sea, he had been of two minds. One wanted to find and destroy the paki sub, other part wanted that sub to go back where it belonged, in the Karachi Harbour!

He was lost in his thoughts when the comm officer signaled him for an incoming message. it was captain Urvashi at the other end, "Sir, this is Captain Urvashi here, Authorization Code Baker Omega 92348. I have got a status report on the paki sub."

"Go ahead captain, this is Admiral Vikrmaditya here, " replied Admiral.
"I didn't expect you here at this moment Sir." replied a startled Urvashi.
"Ahh, the joys of leadership! So what's the status?" asked Admiral.

Captain Urvashi explained the whole scenario and the good news too. Admiral congratulated her and the team and as soon as communication was over shouted to everyone in the command room "Hip Hip hooray guys! We did it, this blockade is starting to become a tight noose now. Let's wake up everyone!" and so the celebration was on!

For this was beginning of the end for the current establishment in the land of pure.

1200 HRS, Ali ka Dhaba, Village of Bhimbhar, PoK

Lt Amit along with his team of 12 saw the 6 truck convoy with its pre arranged tell tale sign, “Rice” written in urdu on one side and “Atta” on the other side. They waited till everybody got out of the trucks and started ordering food.

Lt. Amit walked to the person dressed in all black “Wale-kum-salaam Mian, 6 bakre daari waali hein”. Jarnial khan immediately recognized the code and answered with the confirmation code, “Pashmina bakre hein, Gabbar saare akela khayega kya?” and the deal was done.

With in 15 minutes, 6 trucks were on their way, each to a different destination and Jarnial Khan was many lakhs richer. Based on their destinations, the teams will be in position in 3 days with all the work done. Plan was going well and “Operation Ahimsa” has moved to next stage.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

vivek.sharma wrote: but all of a sudden he realized his selfishness and stopped thinking about it.
Right decision, time to crush :evil: :evil:
karadi

Post by karadi »

Dear Vivek Sir,

Your next installment is long over due.... PLease :)

kaRadi

Indeed Ahuja Saar.

While we understand that day job and other commitments keep you busy but do drop a line on this thread as to when we can expect your next installment so it spares us the pain of an anxious wait. Not that I mind waiting for your Commie blasting scenarios. :lol:
sarabpal.s

Post by sarabpal.s »

Where are you guys, u have task to complete. everybody watching you :|
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Story Recap
Day 1
Chapter 1: Hunted becomes the hunter
- Peshawar under Siege

Day 2
Chapter 2: The Tiger Awakens
- Peshawar falls
Chapter 3: The Tiger Growls
- Indian PM declares TSP airspace blockade
- Task Forces 1-4 get ready to be deployed

Day 3
Chapter 4: The Tiger shows its teeth,
- Indian Ultimatum results in 16 F-16s crashes
- TSP Missiles commit Fratricide
- TSP’s XXXI corp begins movement

Day 4
- Paki Sub destroyed
- Lt Amit and Lt. Punit on their way to covert operations inside TSP
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Day 5 begins

1100 HRS, Village of Bhuttelwala, Jaisalmer Sector, Mobile HQ of Indian 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde

“At least the days are sunny. Not that for a soldier for it really matters but hey any thing to keep up the morale before the fighting begins”, said Brigadier Sher Singh to Lt. Khan.

Lt. Khan replied, “Yes sir! Need some sun to unfreeze frozen parts of my body. But I’d rather take the heat of exploding bombs and bullets.”

Sher singh replied, “Don’t worry Khan, that day is not far. But what makes me furious is we are being told to fight with one hand tied behind our backs! Oh well, its’ like those old days of fighting insurgency in Punjab!” and so their discussion continued.

1110 HRS, 10:10 AM, Village of Islamgarh, Pakistan, Temporary HQ of XXXI corps

Lt Gen Yousaf was busy finalizing his plans along with the COs of 25th mechanized, 26th Mechanized Division, 35th Infantry Division and 14th Infantry Division. Lt Gen Yousaf has finalized the plan as below

• 26th Mechanized and 14th Infantry to engage Indian 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde at Bhuttelwala and try to draw them to the border by pulling back.

• 25th Mechanized to move to Jaisalermer via Kishangarh and possibly annihilate Indian 11 Inf Div or 12 Inf Division

• 35th infantry to move via Sarkari Tala and try to break through Indian 11 Inf Div or 12 Inf Division

• In case of tough Indian resistance, pull back through Bhuttewala, sandwitching Indian 4 Armd Bde and 340 Mech Bde, possibly annihilating them

For Lt Gen Yousaf this was a win-win scenario, although casualties may be high on his side. Intelligence has confirmed that India’s UAV’s last flypast is around 10 AM and then again at 2 AM but once in a while it can be random too. So the plan was to play a game of mouse and cat for two days or so till they are completely ready to move at lightening speed.

Colonel Ahmed commanding the 35the infantry interjected his thoughts, “Sir, we should send some scouts tp Indian side.”

Lt. Gen. replied, “You go ahead and do that, but I believe their usefulness is quite limited. Remember, Indian have a canal running parallel to the border and I am pretty sure they have already set up forward posts from that canal to the border, since they were here in this sector first. Your scouts will surely be detected and caught.”

Colonel Ahmed being a professional soldier still insisted and got his approval to send a small scouting team to cross the border and try to gather some information.
Last edited by vivek.sharma on 27 May 2009 03:04, edited 1 time in total.
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

By vshar99 at 2009-05-26
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

2000 HRS, International border, Jaiselmer sector between Bhuttewala and Islamgarh

It was dark and cold night, not a soul was venturing out on the cold sand of Thar desert, except Lt. Kareem his team of 2 soldiers, who were all set to cross the international border.

They knew their chances were very slim because Indians will be watching the border with night vision equipment, and in such a cold night their body heat will surely be a give away. So, instead of walking on the feet they decided to roll on the ground when moving from one sand dune to another, hoping to dodge the night vision equipment.
Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

What happened, seems the scenarios have all dried up.
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Shankar, Vivek A,

Come on guys, Please post something...

For both of you are the inspiration to many of us...
pralay

Post by pralay »

awaiting for next post from vivek ahuja & shankar :)
Your posts are really interesting.
sunny_s

Post by sunny_s »

Vivek sir desperate to see HOW LCH is going to spitfire on the chini maal..shakar da time finish some unsettled bussiness,plzz ur posts highly awaited.its tme we rain havoc on the enemies,.

Nihat wrote:Indeed Ahuja Saar.

While we understand that day job and other commitments keep you busy but do drop a line on this thread as to when we can expect your next installment so it spares us the pain of an anxious wait. Not that I mind waiting for your Commie blasting scenarios. :lol:
too true... i can't wait to see how the chinese counter the threat from an dedicated attack helicopter designed to operate in these conditions... And when are we gonna take out the S300 that's preventing us from getting complete air dominance in that theatre... Oh btw if you don't mind me asking why aren't the chinese fielding their SU-30 MKK.. :?: Since i guess it will be their premium air dominance weapon, to be used in countering our SU-30MKI...
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Day 5 Continues…

2143 HRS, Indian Forward Post, Between International Border and Village of Bhuttewala

For a fleeing moment in the corner of his eye Subedar Chauhan noticed an infrared signature behind some dunes, but when he concentrated his vision there, nothing was visible. Subedar Chauhan didn’t believe in chances, so just to be sure he called up the spotters on his left and right field of vision, “Alpha 1 to Beta 5 and Gamma 3, can you keep your eyes on Grid Sector XXXX…. I just noticed something but wasn’t sure.”

2144 HRS

The silence of the desert is beautiful especially with twilight from shining stars and Naik Singh was looking forward to gaze at start as soon shift is over, but he was startled by the transmission on his long range Motorola radio. Just as soon as he confirmed the transmission, Naik Singh woke up sepoy Jeevan at his side and explained the situation to him. In a minute three snipers from teams Alpha 1, Beta 5 and Gamma 3 were looking at the grids mentioned with the night vision scope.

2152 HRS, Recon Unit Abdullah 1 attached to 35th Infantry Division

Lt. Aziz had a bad feeling about the whole recon idea, but being a proud solider he had never aired his thoughts and now was on Indian side of the border hopping from one dune to another. There were 2 NCO’s with him, he had known them for quite some time, he asked one of them, “Mian, anything on night vision?” Mian replied, “Nothing sir, I can not detect anything. Either there is nobody here or….” and then suddenly he started gurgling and fell down, a bullet has pierced his back and exited from front puncturing his heart. As Mian fell down, blood started coming out of his mouth and nose, both Lt. Aziz and sepoy Adnan instinctively jumped to the ground, and in the process bullet marked for Lt. Aziz’s chest caught him in his head. He was dead before he hit ground. Sepoy Adnan was lucky and the bullet meant for him has just bruised his arm.

Adnan immediately rolled towards the nearest ditch, he wanted to get his head out and watch where the bullets were coming from, but he was too scared.

It will be another hour before he will have the courage to get out and limp back to his unit.

2155 HRS

Naik Singh radioed again to Beta 5 and Gamma 3 to confirm if they are seeing any movement and replies came in negative. Singh faithfully handed over the radio and the post to sepoy Jeevan and laid down mesmerized by the beauty of stars.

vivek.sharma wrote:Day 5 Continues…

2152 HRS, Recon Unit Abdullah 1 attached to 35th Infantry Division

Lt. Aziz had a bad feeling about the whole recon idea, but being a proud solider he had never aired his thoughts and now was on Indian side of the border hopping from one dune to another. There were 2 NCO’s with him, he had known them for quite some time, he asked one of them, “Mian, anything on night vision?” Mian replied, “Nothing sir, I can not detect anything. Either there is nobody here or….” and then suddenly he started gurgling and fell down, a bullet has pierced his back and exited from front puncturing his heart. As Mian fell down, blood started coming out of his mouth and nose, both Lt. Aziz and sepoy Adnan instinctively jumped to the ground, and in the process bullet marked for Lt. Aziz’s chest caught him in his head. He was dead before he hit ground. Sepoy Adnan was lucky and the bullet meant for him has just bruised his arm.

Adnan immediately rolled towards the nearest ditch, he wanted to get his head out and watch where the bullets were coming from, but he was too scared.

It will be another hour before he will have the courage to get out and limp back to his unit.
May be I am just being too much of a jingo but the above encounter could me made into a stunning movie scene :twisted: good work Mr. Sharma keep it coming....I hope Mr. Ahuja and Shankarda are doing alright...Cheers.
Nitesh

Post by Nitesh »

vivek.sharma wrote: It will be another hour before he will have the courage to get out and limp back to his unit.
Why? Is he not ready to meet the 72 :!: What vivek saar send him also to 72 please :mrgreen:
VijayV

Post by VijayV »

Nitesh wrote:
vivek.sharma wrote: It will be another hour before he will have the courage to get out and limp back to his unit.
Why? Is he not ready to meet the 72 :!: What vivek saar send him also to 72 please :mrgreen:
Well he realised that he is not going to meet the 72. But the 72 :twisted: are going to meet :(( him. :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Viveks,
Have already considdered a joint TSP -PRC move against India? What are potential areas they will move in coordination? With massa making appropriate soothing noises to prevent India from going all out?

Ajit.C

Post by Ajit.C »

Hello, Viveks and Shankar awaiting your posts.
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Ramana,

I am not thinking joint TSP -PRC move against India. The reason being by the time this scenario may happen massa will have realized that TSP by itself can not stop terrorism (doesn't matter how many towns TSP's army take). It needs a brand new approach with regional players in lead.

To that end, for my scenario, massa will make sure PRC doesn't move against India, provided

1). We make sure TSP has only enemy to fight i.e. Terrorism not India
2). PRC's territorial integrity is not threatened.

PRC's number will come after we have put TSP where it belongs i.e. garbage can.
vivek.sharma

Post by vivek.sharma »

Day 5 continues...
2200 HRS, Jaipur Cantonment Area, UAV Command attached to SouthWestern Command.

The UAV Nishant was flying quietly at 25000 ft over Jaiselmer sector and merrily sending a live feed to HQ somewhere in Jaipur. Everything was standard till the drone’s sensors hit the limits of village of islamgarh. Infrared sensors were off the chart. Heat of all the engines firing up against the cold sand was a dead giveaway.

Lt. Pooja at the helm immediately alerted his CO, “Sir, I am picking up movement by Paki Armor, looks like they are getting ready to move!”

CO Chauhan immediately looked at the feed and asked Lt. Seema, “Seema, confirm this with the AWACS and as soon as you have confirmation, get me in touch with 12th corps command.”

Within 15 minutes double confirmations have come in and 12th corps had been alerted. The alert went to COs of 4 Armd Bde, 340 Mech Bde, 11 Inf Div and 12 Inf Division, which in turn alerted all the teams on the ground..

Day 6 Begins

0632 HRS

Needless to say it was a cold sleepless night for all the 12th corps personnel, with no heat from fire or exploding ammunitions. Lt. Khan stood up from the bunker and vaguely referred to backend of the Pakis and continued “B***, what a waste! The afternoon sun will make me sleepier now.”

2200 HRS, Jaipur Cantonment Area

Lt Pooja again alerted his CO about off the scale infrared sensors and the whole process was repeated again.

Day 7 Begins

0635 HRS

As soon as the first light broke, Lt Khan’s morning started with the choicest of expletives in all the languages he has known. The spiel went on for at least an hour before the orderly brought his morning tea.
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

SOUTH WESTERN AIR COMMAND –GANDHINAGAR -2000 HRS

Air officer commanding south western air command looked once again at the large number of satellite imagery showing massive accumulation of Pakistani armor along the international border. It was obvious this was no exercise and the situation was surely critical . While army was ready for any sudden outbreak of hostility the location of possible thrust can never be known till the last moment and then it may be too late for effective use of strike air power
He believed in the age old proverb –offense is always the best form of defense .
Just now the formal clearance has come in from the air headquarters allowing him to involve all the resources at his disposal in one single decisive strike to neutralize the war fighting potential of the enemy .He had 24 hrs to put the operation in motion and then wait for the final clearance from PMO via vayu sena bhavan before sending the war birds of his command into air
Air vice marshal sodhi picked up the digitally scramble intercom to staff officer and asked for quick base commanders conference in 6 hours time .
His next call was to base repair depots and put them on war time alert –all leaves cancelled
And finally he called up the aero space command hub in jodhpur –making some special requests
OPERATION DESSERT THUNDER was now in motion
Jai Shree Varte Veeram, meaning victory garlands the gallant, is a bye word to the soul and spirit of one of the most operational commands of the Indian Air Force, the South Western Air Command.
Originally established as No 1 Operational Group at Jodhpur on 21 Sep 1972, it was subsequently rechristened as the South Western Air Command on 23 Jul 1980. The operational area, carved out of the Western Air Command, included most of Rajasthan and the entire Gujarat. he crest of the South Western Air Command depicts the national emblem on the top as a pendant of a garland of flowers with "Dakshin Paschim Vayu Kaman" encrypted inside in a semi circle. The centre is adorned by a dagger with wings. At the base, under the inscription 'Bharatiya Vayu Sena', is a scroll with the command motto "Jai Shree Varte Veeram".
In a major expansion in the mid eighties, the units located at Pune and Mumbai were transferred from Central Air Command.
Goa area of Southern Air Command was also added to the jurisdiction of this Command. Thus, the entire south western area of the country came under the air defence umbrella of SWAC. Keeping in view the increasing operational importance of the command, it was decided by Air HQ to move the Command Headquarters from Jodhpur to Gandhinagar. The new HQ was inaugurated on 01 May 1998by the then Chief Minister of Gujarat, Shri Keshubhai Patel. The grand ceremony held on the occasion included a fly past by fighters and helicopters, an aerobatics display by SU-30 and Surya Kiran aircraft and a free fall display by the Akash Ganga para-jumping team.
SWAC was converted from the No.1 Ops Group of WAC which was then located at Jodhpur. In May 1998, it moved its HQ to Gandhinagar. It controls air operations in the south western air sector, which includes most of Rajasthan, and south through Gujarat to Saurashtra, and Kutch to Pune. Because SWAC has no sensitive adjacent areas, its task has been largely air defence, however, it is now reported to have a strike mission profile. South Western Air Command features permanent airbases at Bhuj, Jaisalmer, Nalia, Jamnagar, Jodhpur, Barmer and Poona with forward airbases at Ahmedabad, Nal, Suratgarh and Uttarlai. The SWAC features air defence squadrons consisting of the MiG-21, MiG-29 and Su-30. The ground attack squadrons consist of the MiG-21 and the MiG-23. SWAC also has a maritime attack squadron, which consists of the Jaguar IM
he multi-role strike fighter squadrons of Sukhoi 30MKI, which had moved out of Lohegaon Air Force station have now returned in style - after a successful Red Flag exercise in the US. In the next few months, the fleet will be enforced with a third squadron, making it one of the strongest airbases in the western region.

Although the squadrons returned from Jodhpur a few weeks ago Saturday's comeback was more apt following the multinational air exercise in the US.

The Air Officer Commanding-in-Chief (AOC-in-C) of South Western Air Command (SWAC), Air Marshal K.D. Singh said that the Lohegaon Air Force base will get a new Su-30 MKI squadron by Dec 2009. Currently, the Lohegaon Air Force base has two squadrons of Su-30 MKI, 'Lightnings' and 'Rhinos'.

The Su-30 MKIs will roll out from the Hindustan Aeronautics Limited factory at Nasik. Recently, the Jaguar Squadron was shifted and located to Jamnagar airbase in Gujarat for strategic reasons. "Pune was primarily developed as a base for the Sukhois and a lot of investment has gone into this," said another Air Force officer.

On Saturday afternoon a batch of four Sukhoi 30 MKIs arrived, flying side-by-side, then peeling off one by one, signalling their arrival after a successful mission at Exercise Red Flag at Nellis US Air Force base in Nevada.

The team comprised eight Sukhoi-30MKI fighters, two IL-78 mid-air refuellers, one IL-76 heavy-lift aircraft and about 250 air warriors (90 among them were officers). They pitted their skills against American F-15s and F-16s, as well as French Rafale fighters and South Korean F-15K jets.

Air Marshal K.D. Singh welcomed the IAF's top-gun pilots as Sukhois returned to Pune from Abu Dhabi - their last stopover - while the other aircraft went back to their respective units. Also present was NDA Commandant Air Marshal T.S. Randhawa, who is the Commodore Commandant of the no 20 squadron (Lightnings).

An elated group leader Wing Commander George Thomas said, "It was a great training opportunity for IAF to integrate our assets in an adverse environment thousands of miles away along with a country (USA) which is technologically quite advanced."

"Each mission was done to perfection. The main thrust of the exercise was on training. The threat environment was tailored to what your needs are - air, ground, space and water," he said.

It was a triumphant return for the Indian Air Force (IAF) team, which impressed the mighty US in this two-week exercise, indicating that more such wargames could be in the offing on a regular basis. It was one of the rare occasions in the 33-year-old history of the Red Flag that an invitation was extended to a non-NATO nation and the first time the IAF participated.

Air Marshal Singh said: "We would like to have more such exercises. But it's a decision taken at the government level."

Giving details about the exercise, Wg Cmdr Thomas said, "During this phase, a present-day air campaign was replicated, in which opposition forces or the 'Aggressors' F-16 and F-15s, were threats to the Blue Land (IAF) and its forces.

"The tasks are carried out by 'Strike Packages' comprising Su30s flying along with the US Air Force, French Air Force and Korean Air Force.

"The main challenge during the exercise for the team IAF was to adapt to the USAF network and also carry out 'Stand Alone' tasks simultaneously. Our young IAF pilots (average age: late 20s) have done this with amazing dexterity," he said.

The exercise was preceded by two weeks of work-up training at the Mountain Home Air Force Base of the US. The IAF flew over 200 so
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

IAF STATION LOHEGAON – 0600 HRS NEXT DAY – RHINO 1 -1XSU 30 MKI

Air commodore Chauhan checked the course of Mullah Mutha river as he lined for the final approach to runway 27. The meeting with air officer commanding has not gone very well .He was explicitly ordered to put all the four squadrons of Su 30 mki on combat ready status in less than 12 hours and armed up in less than 18 hrs. That meant almost 80 front end aircrafts including those in maintenance and in training will need be combat ready by this evening for a surprise massive strike mission on the desserts .A maximum of 6 of the birds have been cleared to carry air to air ordnance rest all will be configured for ground strike mission – a role none of the flanker pilots liked

- tower – rhino one – to make full stop landing –request clearance
- stand by rhino one – zulu flight on final approach –low on fuel
- zulu flight –clear to land immediately – rhino one on hold –over
- copy that tower –zulu flight lead – committed to land –over
- rhino one – cleared for final approach

Chauhan quickly finished the pre landing check list with his WSO – flaps set to 30 degree – flight computer set to landing mode –under carriage down – power down to 705 military powers – descent rate 200 meter/min –hydraulics 200 bar gauge

The runway lights were in centre of his sight as he carefully guided the heavy bird into main runway and the main undercarriage touched the tarmac with barely a whisper and the brake chutes deployed automatically quickly beinging the aircraft to speed less than 40kmph as he turned into the taxiway .

Shankar sir, welcome back... Thanks for the fresh post. Now, forgive me for being selfish but could you please post a few more times today/tomorrow???

Thanks Vivek. Shankar what is your opinion?

^^To borrow Col Wu's expression, "PRC will fight India to the last Pakistani soldier!"
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

Have already considdered a joint TSP -PRC move against India? What are potential areas they will move in coordination? With massa making appropriate soothing noises to prevent India from going all out?

like Pakistan uses terrrorists as proxy china uses pakistan as proxy power to contain india sinec Pakistan is important to usa for its own war in Afghanistan

Joint operation against India not likely since that will surely trigger the Russian factor-Russians dont like china at all -they will surely activate the eastern front and china will have too much to handle

us may change its degree of support to ,hardening its stand on pakistan and and then pakistan will have a serious problem

look how us neutralized iraq -first support then go against same thing i feel they will do with pakistan -the sops they are giving now is just a hog wash when real situation develop they will go india way

after all we are their biggest potential market for US goods and at the day US will support the country which gives its business maximum return

GE/LM /RT/BOEING WILL not allow us government to go against india in any decisive way just like they are doing now with china

after all poilitics is a big money game
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

American Companies in India

At 9.4% of Annual growth India Inc. is on the upswing of economic renaissance. ' American Companies in India' forms the major chunk of the foreign companies operating in India.

Apart form the core sectors like IT and Telecom, sectors like Automobile, Pharmaceuticals & Biotechnology, Semiconductor, Aviation, Infrastructure and Defense are witnessing tremendous growth. ' American Companies in India' that set their foot post 1990 had reaped tremendous profit and still going great guns. Technology, Colas, Automobiles, Agriculture, Equipment companies and Finance & Banking sectors have been reporting double digit year-on-year growth. American Chamber of Commerce in India reports, that its membership base has grown from zero in 1992 to more than 300 till date. The ' American Companies India ' community has registered maximum success in the technology space, in terms of investment and growth. ' American Companies in India ' like Cognizant Technologies (largest export revenue earning MNC) IBM, Oracle, GE, Cisco, Compaq and Intel lead the MNCs in the IT sector. Out of the top 20 IT firms operating, 9 are from the pool of ' American Companies Operating in India ' . These ' American Companies in India' account for around 37% of the turnover of the top 20 firms operating in India.

Some heartening facts about the operation of ' American Companies in India ' are -

* Coke's one of the most profitable global markets is India.
* Citibank and Bank of America generate more profits in India than their global average.
* General Electric did $ 1 billion worth of business here three years ago, and have the second largest base in Bangalore, India. It invested around US $ 600 million in India; this money has generated domestic earnings of US 1 billion and exports worth another US $ 1 billion and generated 22000 jobs.
* Reebok's fastest growing market in the Asia Pacific is India.
* India is Motorola's 3rd largest market.
* Retail food chain giants McDonald, KFC etc. are registering growth more than their global average.

The monumental growth of the ' American Companies in India ' is not restricted to IT or manufacturing, India's massive farm sector, which employs 70% of the population either directly and indirectly has created huge investment opportunities. Agro-chemical giant 'Monsanto' is working on GM modified crops and fertilizers. It is also gaining huge popularity in the Forging sector. 'Wal Mart' the retail giant, in collaboration with Bharti enterprise sees huge opportunity in the retail sector. ' American Companies in India ' are also benefiting from the growing size of the domestic market apart from the established sectors working for foreign markets.

With improved government policy, strong legal enforcement, bullish Stock Market, better infrastructure and above all low-cost highly skilled work-force, India is racing ahead to emerge as a global hub for the ' American Companies in India
this is why US will always extend real support both political and military to India -pakistani bo hemie is just to lull them before snatching /destrying thier nuke arsnel to oblivion .then pakistan will go afganistan way -a place on the planet where no one wants to go

Just like Iraq -somalia -afganistan -
Shankar

Post by Shankar »

SOUTH WESTERN AIR COMMAND –GANDHINAGAR –GUJRAT -0900 hrs

Air vice marshal sodhi looked at the final strike plan “operation dessert thunder” before signing and making it operational .On paper it looked good and effective but he hoped it will stay that way when under combat stress .

The basic elements of operation dessert thunder revolved on timely execution of the plan and high rate of sortie generation under stress

Bikaner will launch 32mig 27s with 8 mig 29 escorts on S hour
Jaisalmer will launch 24 mig 27s on S= 1 hour with an its own mig 29 escorts
Agra will launch 2 phalcons – s-1 hour
Lohegaon will launch 80 su 30 mkis s+ 2 hours
Jodhpur will launch 24 mirage 2000 s=3 hrs with 12 mg 29k as escorts

The phalcons will control the ground battle with phalcon 1 exclussively vectoring the 80 odd su 30 mki s the other phalcon will control the shorter range jets

First strike will be carried out from forward bases of jaisalmer,Bikaner,jodhpur to minimize warning time
The final killing strike will be by the 80 plus sukhois on a traditional fighter bomber roles

If any mopping up is required it will be done by the mirage 2000 in asecond turn around from jodhpur (which he thought unlikely)

The sukhois alone will carry close to 2000 bombs and air to surface missiles
The mig 27s will carry out the strike with 57 mm rockets amd guns in a role that suit them best
Mirages will carry laser guided bombs and anti radiation missiles for high value targets including command tanks

16 sukhois will take off at time at 15 minutes interval –drop the load and come back for rearming in a continuous merry go around till no semblance of resistance or armor remain on the dessert floor ( a lesson learned from USAF in gulf war)

Others will do two sorties per aircraft maximum

If necessary jaguars from Ambala will be used –again highly unlikely

For few hours the entire air defense will be handled by su-30 s from barilly and mig 29/k from pathan kot and jamnagar along with point defense by bisons .

The secure phone bleeped softly –it was the air chief confirming the current status and informing him the final political decision is expected in a few hours
kaangeya

Post by kaangeya »

Shankar that's a lot of sorties, committing >20% of the IAF's battle strength to interdiction. Unprecedented?