India-Australia News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
ashish raval

Re: India-Australia News and Discussion

Post by ashish raval »

IndraD wrote:
Aha...I lived in leeds for 5 years...I was fortunate but this things happens...Btw, I graduated from Uni. of Leeds..do you have any Leeds Uni. connection !!
Yes Ashish I have worked in LGI and in hospitals around Leeds.. :)
World is turely so small, I lived up the road on Clarendon road couple of minutes walk from Leeds Dental College!! Good to hear about your leeds connection. :)

Why are the formerly cool n hip Aussies such racist jerks? Or were they always like this?

I also hope desis don't spend a cent of their hard earned money on racist trashcans like Air Fwance and $hitsih Airways. The more I hear about them, the worse it gets.

Yup, time also to shine a light on Ozzie apartheid and genocide against hapless aborigines, on the sidelines.

Course, expect them to digup every towel and blot about Yindia. Fair enough, take some when you dish out anyway.

Am touring Oz this moment, though am not exactly on it's soil. Detouring to New Castle. Will visit the rough end neighbourhodd. Old times sake. :mrgreen:
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

vsudhir wrote:Why are the formerly cool n hip Aussies such racist jerks? Or were they always like this?

I also hope desis don't spend a cent of their hard earned money on racist trashcans like Air Fwance and $hitsih Airways. The more I hear about them, the worse it gets.

Yup, time also to shine a light on Ozzie apartheid and genocide against hapless aborigines, on the sidelines.

Course, expect them to digup every towel and blot about Yindia. Fair enough, take some when you dish out anyway.
They were always like that, it is just that the earlier generation were a bit more hardworking than the present one so racism was something like a weekend pass time, now with the present young generation growing up in an atomsphere of decline in social values, this is what is to be expected
Harbansji has a valid point tough, some of the behaviour of entitlement shown by Pakis, Beedees and birathers in general exacerbates the fault lines, and the average gora OFCON( offspring of Convict) doesnt have the level of intellect to differentiate between SDRE and TFTA
Aussies are in short a nation of idiots, jerks and racist supremacist tw*ts who are now GUBOing up to America as the Queendom is staring down the Pakistan

Once the Indics finish their studies, the OZ land can go down the toilet for all I care

ashish raval wrote:
What makes them think that only Indians are vulnerable, not Chinese or Pakistanis or Bangladeshis... or Thais, or Indonesians, or whatever...
Man !! I know about Chinese embassies they are highly professional and act very swiftly in the matter of attacks on Chinese citizens abroad. I am telling you about one instance when this happened, a few years back my friend and colleage was biking in park in british summer and bunch of drunken thugs intercepted his bike, he told to let him go, but they started making row and hitting him wielding the knife, in reply the Chinese guy thought of hitting back and stabbed the massive 6.5 feet guy with his own knife in presence of his friends and then calmly left on his bike. The thugs went to police station which lodged the complain, however, the Chinese made a massive row over the incident in the university campus and made huge hue and cry in chinese media by cataloguing each and every event happened against chinese student in last 10 years in which police simply did not did anything. This prompted the british police to put the cachinesese in back burner and never produce the chargesheet against him. I saw Chinese ambassador visiting our office once...hehehe...I thought man when will Indian Embassy learn to extert this sort of pressure.
With this incident, I think they are taking steps towards it.
The difference between this chinese incident and the Indian one is that the chinese guy retaliated and stabbed back the attacker while the Indians rightly or wrongly are perceived as docile who wont hit back even when they are attacked. All this talk about chinese embassies being professional is bullcrap.Indonesia is notorious for anti-chinese riots but the chinese embassy there did zilch to protect their citizens.To be fair , the Indian embassies are more professional compared to their chinese counterparts when dealing with discrimination of their citizens.In the present case , the Indian students were attacked by teenegers more or less of their same age.The Indian students could not hit back (which is understandable) because the attackers came in packs.But in other situation where ever possible the Indians need to hit back at hooligans and attackers.or better still do what i did in my engineering days in India.A group of people attacked me when i was alone.The impression in that campus was Andhras are docile and wont retaliate.I remembered their faces.And the next three days i and my friends picked up one by one starting with their leader and beat the crap out of them.
mnag

Post by mnag »

The following article posted on rediff contains some tips from indians staying in Australia regarding staying safe

'Indian students are soft targets'
http://www.rediff.com/getahead/report/2 ... argets.htm

I'm surprised to see tips like these
Avoid speaking in foreign language in public places. This annoys the English-speaking people and leads to a negative impression about Indian mentality and culture

Never ever talk in Hindi or other languages when you are standing next to Aussies. This is a very big humiliating thing to those people. Always talk in English.
Definitely, this is triggerred by hatred of indians.

mnag wrote:The following article posted on rediff contains some tips from indians staying in Australia regarding staying safe
Avoid speaking in foreign language in public places. This annoys the English-speaking people and leads to a negative impression about Indian mentality and culture

Never ever talk in Hindi or other languages when you are standing next to Aussies. This is a very big humiliating thing to those people. Always talk in English.
How can a country claim to be a "multi-cultural" country and not tolerate people speaking in other languages?

A few points in this Indo-China comparisions:

1) Violence perpetrated on a white (however much you bawl self-defense) is the most horrific sin in front of Lord, FYI. So let us not start off with appreciation of that chinese guy with knife. He is an idiot and he is doing his compatriots no favors. Tomorrow, if a chinese student gets gunned down due to escalation in weaponry, what will the chinese embassy do? ship fake AK47s by the crateloads? Ask the Fiji Indians on what Oz govt does for such efforts.

All communities have people who violently fight white supremacist societies like Australia's. Has been happening since centuries. But ultimately, like any issue, it has to be sorted by with the ruling classes of that area. And economics and marketing around a certain image is a vital "jaguar" vein in the avarice ridden gora socieities. So Indians students' approach is more easily manageable than to knife up a skinhead. Even a stealthy approach towards violence (eg: to shiv up the kidneys of a skin-head using a screwdriver, while he pounds you with his fat fists) can boomerang if their law enforcement or press catches on. The remaining people of color has to use more subtle and non-disruptive efforts to twist the gora establishment's hand and shove their sausage finger up their asses.

2) A Chinese embassy is considered a scary place and any chinese citizen with bright prospects of legal immigration to a western country avoids it as much as possible. As I pointed out in another thread, there are no stories of Far-East Asian refugees smuggling themselves into china or bribing the chinese border officials for fake papers. And China apparently has a lot of jobs. Heck, more people flow into India than to China. And before RMehta starts beating the National ID band, it is not because of tight govt paperwork/IDs. They all can be bought very easily in China and the heavy flow into US will spike that theory. To summarize, poor wall paint and aunties with bad lipsticks that embellish our embassies does not mean Chinese have it good.

Someone rightly pointed out the fact that Indians pay through the nose so an India-hating Ozzie can get a subsidized education. Why cant GoI's HRD department rate their universities along with others in the world and see if they are as cool as they claim to be? I mean, Unkil is different (and knows the value of multi-culturism in education etc), but what does Oz science education/research have that we dont have? For all its posturings from hypersonics to skin cancer, Oz is yet to produce any pervasive product/expertise in a field that we use on a daily basis. Discounting the fake persona of Crocodile Dundee, the only area that I see their name mentioned in pop-culture is in sun-block ointments and tanning lotions. But then no other country had to deal with the deadly combo of "ozone holes + non-native skin type", do they? And as an Indian, I dont really need these creams, do I? :)
Last edited by hnair on 30 May 2009 06:25, edited 1 time in total.

imho just like the three ratings agencies and their (in)famous AAA ratings the periodic anglo-aus "times/thames higher edu supplement" is a rigged exercise to

[a] put as many british and aus univs as possible into the list to attract international student $$$. while in yindia students either go there due to lack of seats here, the 'ratings' or because they are a bit well off, the ASEANs are generally lacking in enough of higher edu and have a fascination for gora chamra.

the new places in HK, china, korea etc probably offer job opportunities for british and aus academics on a preferred basis - tfta, oxbridge credentials, english speaking, stiff upper lip, colonial history and all that. so they are kept placated. plus they are spending a lot of money lately to attract high profile western faculty and build up physical infra.

someone should do a sting on these 'ratings' agencies.

negi wrote:Indian students form the second-largest international student community after the Chinese

Gaurav,Andy et al... any idea about the similar 'coincidental' :roll: attacks on the Chinese students ?
Negi in my time here I have not heard of many attacks on Chinese students...in a way thats because there is a fairly big populace of Vietnamese and East Timorese a lot of these have close chinese relatives and both Vietnamese and The Timorese have been notoriously known by bashing goras and having fights. It is also the percieved impression that they are related. I have quite a few Vietnamese and Timorese friends as I used to work in a area called Richmond near the CBD where there is a lot of population of the aforementioned nationalities. The Chinese are not liked outright but they have been here for longer and thus IMHO are supposedly more acceptable...go figure!!!

Anyway GD to answer your question about bashings I would like to point out an example the Maccas that I used to work in for 2 and half years during Uni was located in Richmond on Church Street now this Maccas was notorious for drunks and druggies we used to work the night shift as well and it was me and a good chinese friend of mine both are of reasonable built and 6'2 we used to handle the cooking and customerservice and there was a manager and a girl for the customer service. There was alos a copper station right next door and these guys were quite alright and would help us most of the time. After a while though it started getting a bit of hand and we started taking things in our own hands we used to chuck the drunken buggers right out and I literally mean pick them up and just throw them the F%$K out as they would create trouble for us and other customers Cops didnt really care jack bcoz it saved them the trouble and although this sounds a bit disturbing I throughly enjoyed every second of getting to do some haath-laath safai and kickin some gora butt. :twisted: Same sort of thing happenend in Uni days as well where house parties would get very messy and people get too drunk and things get outta control very very quickly. Also retaliation needs to be thought of very carefully as IMVHO it can provide a nice jump start for a solution by the govt but may also end up escalating things out of control...JMT

My first 6 months through uni taught me that physical fitness is a must if you want to even try to repel or retailiate and all of started gyming or doing some sort of excercise and it does pay off in a lot of ways.... :twisted:

The same goes for Yindoo cabbies they do chuck the idiots out and throw their butts on the road as they should very rightly.

Multiculturism IMVHO is a farce no matter what country you are in...people will be acceptable to only a certain degree so I dont really believe that Ozzies are multiculture thats just jack s%$t, not to say that one should generalise this on all goras but most are not multiculture....

The academic prowess of Indian students hurts these buggers I can tell you that right now...they think how the eff do these curries do night shifts and three jobs and still manage to finish their degrees with decent or way better marks then these bogans..well they are just gonna have to deal with it bcoz its only gonna get worse as the Yindoos get to better positions employement wise and settle in more and more.

When it comes to shopfront Unis my best advice is to plainly avoid them they are trouble and that comes down to not having the correct information when deciding on which uni to attend while you are in India. Ba$t#@d agents hawk the uni that gives them the most commission and these poor buggers end up in these dodgy universities where education is a joke.

Us Yindoos also need to work on our perception become fitter, me and a friend go for runs around our neighbourhood in Hawthorn and I hardly see any desi at all while you will be running into umpteen number of goras and asian going out for runs and working out. I am ofcourse not advocating that everybody be gym junkies but we do need to get more physically active. Its not that hard to practice....

I have been living here for 6 years now done my undergrad and have been working for 3 and a half, while I do feel some sympathy towards the goras that I am friends with and some genuine people that dont believe in this racist rubbish a lesson must be taught. Students boycotting Oz would be a massive hit for these guys in these times. It will escalate very quickly if a drop in number of students is seen.

All that not talking in Hindi is jack shit onlee why shouldnt a person have the freedom to talk in his/her mother tongue. Ok I will admit that the tone is important here and I do admire the Asians in this regard that most talk in a very subtle tone while us Yindoos are used to communicate in a higher pitch. I frankly dont think that that's wrong however somehow these idiots think that it is... :-?

As an example of the "bogan syndrome" check the below link out its about a girl called Clare Werbeloff a true blue bogan who to get media attention gave falsifying evidence and in their infinite wisdom channel 9 of oz gave her coverage...she became known as the chk chk boom girl...now while I do admire her looks :twisted: I ask myself this question so who's more effing stupid this girl or channel 9...as it turns out both is the correct answer.... :roll:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdEOf6bX ... r_embedded

That's just pure white trash

pgbhat wrote:^^^
That's just pure white trash
No argument there Mr. Post Graduate saar :mrgreen: :P , just wanted to make a point...
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

mnag wrote:
I'm surprised to see tips like these

If we go by this logic Chinese should have been targeted first. Often came across Chinese, Vietnamese, Indonesians and Europeans also aged around 20-30 who can barely speak English. Are they targeted as well like Indians? No.

IMVHO the problem is these Oz's have got nerve of Indian students. They have read Indian mentality of 'chalta hai...' and just get residency.. who cares..!! Though this doenst apply to all students as they just want to return desh at the end of studies. Due to this mentality of gaining residency by hook or crook students are attracted towards shop fornt uni with low fees and courses like cookery are in demand which in turn helps them gain points towards residency.

OTOH, due to such 'Chalta hai' mentality Oz's have took Indian students as free baggage who comes for no extra cost. Such attacks have been happening every now and then since last many years. My cousin who came to Oz almost a decade ago have also been bashed once. But now its time to change this view by demanding more safety, security and stopping unethical, mal practises adapted by uni against Indian students. This things has surfaced in media and went to political level because these 3 attacks have happended in such a short span.

Indians are more skilled, peaceful, hardworking people and if Oz wants them they have to pay price by putting in better norms and practises. We deserve attention in every manner.

JMT though.

20 racial attacks on Indians in Sydney in one month
. . .most attacks on Indian students went unreported out of fear, a community leader has revealed. . . .The Sydney Morning Herald quoted Singh as saying that there had been more than 100 attacks on Indian students in the past 12 months. . . . many Indian students feared that lodging a formal report to police would harm their chances of permanent residency.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Some insider press information have told me that total number of complaints filed by Indians in last 6 months relating to racist attacks is more than 500 and Oz police had not arrested single culprit till recently.

And they have the impudence to claim these are not 'racial attacks'. Australia is certainly the most racist country today.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Sharma being hit

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WA_FG9CvqNQ

Looks like racial attack just for fun. Vic police calling such attacks as just opportunistic and not racial is absurd.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Amitabh Bachchan turns down Australian doctorate as mark of protest
The Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane had offered the 66-year-old veteran a doctorate for his contribution to the world of entertainment and Bachchan had earlier accepted the title.

"I have been witnessing with great dismay and shock, the recent violent attacks on Indian students in Australia, on the electronic media the entire day," Bachchan wrote on his blog.

"I mean no disrespect to the Institution that honours me, but under the present circumstances, where citizens of my own country are subjected to such acts of inhuman horror, my conscience does not permit me to accept this decoration from a country that perpetrates such indignity to my fellow countrymen," he added.
This guy is true gem NOT only because he refused honour but he knows what means being superstar in India.

Good for him.

The message being sent out should be stronger and more prolonged then it has ever been. I'm happy to see the media pursuing this relentlessly to keep the pot boiling in india at least , mere assurances would not be enough , it's time India demanded action and saw to it that things were implemented on the ground , be it TSP or Australia . We owe it to our students.

I am also a little bit surprised at the stance taken by the GoI. They are sending the right message. Media is also reporting GoI intentions to issue travel advisories.

x-post frm UK thread.

UK: IIT-IIM topper recounts trauma
Shirish Johri tells about the brutal racial attack he was subjected to in UK.
Hmmm.

Once the ball gets rolling, lots more cupboard-skeletons come tumbling out onlee.

Good, good. Enough of this silent sufferer nonsense. Put these haughty phoren univs and nations on notice that their racism smells and cannot be hidden by phoren media spin anymore. Especially not when desi students are paying customers in their lands, not welfare moochers and dole-addicts.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Schools could lose out after student attacks

Matt Wade Herald Correspondent in New Delhi
May 30, 2009
AUSTRALIA'S lucrative education industry could pay a high price for recent attacks on Indian students, agents in India who help arrange student placements have warned.

The assaults attracted a blaze of publicity in India for the third consecutive day yesterday, prompting some students and parents to re-evaluate plans to study in Australia.

Bubbly Johar, who runs Johar's Education Centre, an education consultancy in New Delhi, said many parents of students considering education in Australia had contacted him because they are worried about safety.

"These attacks will definitely have an impact on the market because parents are calling me up and they are very concerned," said Mr Johar, who is vice-president of the Association of Australian Education Representatives in India.

"The media coverage here is encouraging parents to rethink whether they should send their children to Australia for studies. We can't assure them that they will be safe - it's a very precarious situation for us."

Taxpayer-funded advertising in India that promotes Australian education services has been undermined by days of negative publicity about the violence.

Three English-language newspapers - Hindustan Times, The Times Of India and The Hindu - ran stories about recent student attacks on their front pages yesterday. The leading English-language news channel NDTV broadcast a report yesterday under the title "Racist Australia?" in which the parents of young Indians studying in Australia expressed fears for their children's wellbeing.

Education is Australia's third-largest export earner behind coal and iron ore. The number of Indians studying in Australia has more than doubled since 2006 to 93,000. It is estimated this group contributed about $2 billion to the economy last financial year.

But Arun Bhutani from AB Educational Avenues agency, which arranges for more than 1000 students a year to study in Australia, is bracing for a slump in demand.

"No one wants to go for education if they don't think they will be safe," he said.

Rupesh Duggal from Cambridge Immigration and Education Services in Punjab said: "There is a growing perception that people in Australia don't like students from India and this is affecting our business."

Most Indians who study in Australia are recruited and assisted by agencies like the ones run by Mr Johar and Mr Bhutani.

A team of Victorian police and fire brigade officers (???) :eek: :shock: will arrive in India tomorrow to brief students bound for Australia on staying safe.
Fire brigade officers coming to educate potential students what to do incase of petrol bomb attack..lol..
who issued them visas..!!
RavinM

Post by RavinM »

Godamn security forces! is this Somalia or Australia??? :cry:

GOI should use the travel advisory threat as a danda. Gone are the days when India and Indians used to take this kind of $hit lying down.
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Fire brigade officers coming to educate potential students what to do incase of petrol bomb attack..lol..
fire brigage officers should instead tell Indian students to use fair and lovely and become fair, this will end all attacks
Seriously, the racist jackasses seem to be woken up from their slumber after a few subtle pointers seem to have been made about these Unis, we should not let up and make sure that the guilty are punished for Race Hate crimes and not for mugging/looting or Ipod Cheening
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

GuruPrabhu wrote:
fire brigage officers should instead tell Indian students to use fair and lovely and become fair, this will end all attacks
Seriously, the racist jackasses seem to be woken up from their slumber after a few subtle pointers seem to have been made about these Unis, we should not let up and make sure that the guilty are punished for Race Hate crimes and not for mugging/looting or Ipod Cheening
All government formalities of welcoming these guys should be cancelled and their trip cut short by terminating visas early. All these are coming there to cover up their impotence and throw cold water over issue whilst cushioning the impact on education industry. Coverage by media has been enough to give them doldrums in this recession. This should send them right message.

Regarding the train video, they are just kids beating an Indian for fun :eek: Why did the guy not get up & beat those little OFCONs to pulp? One punch in the right spot & those gora version of Pukis would have dropped their balls & ran away. Why do the desis lick so much of gora ass? That IIT-IIM topper did'nt fight for justice for the fear of losing his job in Goraland UK. This kind of behaviour has to go. The goras come here & they see Indians falling over each other to 'welcome' them, and then they go back home & racially abuse the same people. Indians need to develop a spine, celebrating the tag of 'slumdogs' will not help I'm afraid. To hell with their jobs & to hell with their universities, stay in India & take over the whole bloody countries in a few decades.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Reason our desis don't retaliate is bcoz they have a 8202 condition on student visas which states they should not undertake in any activity which affects the community,however self defense is fine as stated by the coppers.Education agents in india who are not regulated often tell students 'not to get into any trouble' and 'lie low'.

Sujata Singh must have been the first envoy I have seen in 22 years of living outside India who had the guts to speak up against her host nation.These attacks didn't just start overnight,they have been taking place for a while now.Most of the Indian students reside in western suburbs of Melbourne which makes them vulnerable as these suburbs often have a reputation of being notorious.If the desis flash their sweet bling phones they get free bcoz of the plans they sign up for and IPods and often carry laptops to and fro work and colleges in the CBD this is bound to happen.

Mortgages are taken on their land and then kept in a bank for 6 months to show they have funds and when they reach OZ they have to fund themselves and their education plus even send some back home(thus exceeding the 20 hours work limit /week).How ironical that after cabs,the second biggest industry Indians are employed in is Security..!

:idea:

#1 Priority is to push the govt in Oz to bring about further reforms to the existing ESOS(Education Services for Overseas Students) act to allow funding for student organisations to provide vibrant campus culture and hire on campus which is practically non existent since the Liberals brought about the Voluntary Student Unionism act which curbed funding.

#2 Regulate agents,follow the model set up by La Trobe to inspect and rate their agents on basis of student feedback.Have a compliance team working 24/7 and carry out inspections.Don't allow non-MARA registered gaents to give Migration advice outside Australia.

#3 Have only ONE body to monitor education providers performance rather than having ambiguity between state and federal education departments.Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) has been mooted and supported for years now and also features in the otherwise biased Bradley review of Higher Education.

#4 Insist on education providers to have state owned accommodation on campus rather than having private affiliated commercial housing such as Unilodge and College House.

#5 Dedicate a team at all International Programs Offices at all private colleges to have a dedicated team to work on student welfare.Don't allow private companies like Campus Services(in case of CQU) run the administration.

#6 For a millionth time ,please have an independent ombudsman to look at student complaints outside the grievance framework of the provider.

#7 Actually give some attention to all the submissions made by the National Liaison Committee for International students(NLC) in the past 10 years.

#8 Don't allow the National Union of Students(NUS) to represent international students.They are just another arm of the Youth Labor (ALP) with Left wing and Right wing extremes fighting themselves.

#9 Dont discriminate against international students in NSW and VIC,give them travel concessions on public transport.

TAKE THE GODDAMN Overseas Students Experience Taskforce recommendations seriously and implement throughout Australia
http://www.diird.vic.gov.au/corplivewr/ ... kforce.pdf

I put in a hell of a time trying to get this Taskforce up and running! I hope it bears fruit.

Full stop! :mrgreen:
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Good work mmasand bhai, however i doubt if these TFTA aussies will ever give any concessions on travel to international students!

Whilst discussing this travel fare thing this SDRE recalled a incident that happened in Sydney with CityRail in 2004. Cityrail a.k.a Cityfail, had introduced higher pick hour rates in mornings (before 9am) to cover their higher train freqency costs.

Indian students who had to go to work next day before 9am started buying tickets from vending machines after 12am beforehand to avoid paying more. This worked for some months till cityrail realised.

We Indics never budge..do we..!! :rotfl:

Post by amdavadi »

can we rename australia to racist queen's land? like a terrorist state we have a racist state to deal with it now.

Some of my observations on why Indians and people of Indian origin are soft targets all around the world including Australia.

1.Indian community is too divided on the basis of state and caste even outside India.Regional and caste affliations are more important than a national perspective.As a result Indians are not able to present a unified front in face of such attacks.Hence they are sitting ducks.

2.Indians student community outside is not that financially well off compared to students of East asia(China,taiwan,korea etc).As such they cannot buy cars and are completely dependent on public transportation(including campus transportation).Hence they are more vulnerable to such attacks and other crimes such mugging etc.Likewise because of the lack of money they are forced to rent housing in not so good areas of the town which again renders them unsafe.

3.Indian expatriate population in most of the countries do not have guts to respond to such incidents even where they are present in large numbers.The exceptions are Canada and to a certain extent US.Other places where Indian community dominates are mauritius and carribean islands.Almost everywhere else people of indian origin are considered as soft targets.Be it Australia , UK , Europe , Russia ,Fiji ,Middle east or Africa.

I think the reason for this is mainly cultural.Indians are a peace loving and patient people.Nothing wrong with that except when you take these concepts to extreme you are being cowardly.In my opinion that is the state of indian society today.By and large we Indians(both in India and outside India) are cowards.We might be courageous as Punjabis,Marathis,Tamils,Jats,Brahmins,Yadavs etc but we are cowards as Indians.We are only interested in our individual well being and comforts.That is why we are such juicy targets.

Until unless we start acting and retaliating as Indians these attacks will be extremely common.

The above reasons of Internal disunity,poverty and cowardliness makes us such soft targets.In contrast if you target a chinese person abroad it will immediately bring a stronger response
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

mnag wrote:I'm surprised to see tips like these

:mrgreen: It is not triggered by hatred for Indians, but instead, Indians' hatred for themselves.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/My-s ... 598372.cms
Harbhajan's cousin Jagjit Singh claimed that his 26-year-old son Upkar Singh Babbal, who went to Australia in 2004 to pursue a course in hospitality management, was killed in a racist attack in Melbourne on May 7.

I am really saddened by what i hear. India is not like this. I saw the video of Sharma getting beaten up in the train.Even though the last guy looked like a 10 year old Samoan, he was already hit badly. Look at the kicks they landed from behind, forward every direction. This is really really sad. They were white predominently (note the white hood). Though not all white is trash as all brown is crap..this sort of hurt me. In India i have never been mugged, roobed, beaten. One single incident like this on anyone in India would be big BIG news, specially over the CCTV coverage revealed.

If Aussies say this is normal and everyone of all races get beaten up..then something is wrong with their country. Meanwhile friends in rough end neighbourhoods. My advise, if anyone behaves physically untowardly,don't hesitate in showing positively aggresive body language. This is really sad.

Australians will take certainly time to make up to this crap. :(
GuruPrabhu

Post by GuruPrabhu »

Harbansji

It is decline in society as a whole, most of these kids are products of broken marriages or homes where abuse was /is common, there is no hope as things will only get worse, western civilization has peaked and is in a steady decline, these twits are the new age adventurers who have scant regard for human dignity, life or for that matter respect for themselves, only a few nights in Indian hawalaats can cure these twits and pull their heads out fo their musharaffs
Best case scenario for the studnets is to get their education, some experience, some money while the exchange rate is favourable and get back to Bharat in about half a decades time, that is if the congress doesnt turn India into a Pakistan by then

Hmmm...lets see:

100,000 students * (A$15,000 per year tuition + A$ 12,000 living expenses per year) * two years post graduate degree = A$ 5.4 Billion. This number will only increase every year.

If Indian students stop coming to OZ (period), there will be a lot of OZ professors and assist professors out of work and many universities forced to cut back on services.

Think about it.