India-Australia News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: India-Australia News and Discussion

Has there ever been an anti-white racist incident in our history? I know there have been many chauvinist anti-white racist incidents in China which partly led to the opium wars. The Symonds incident doesnt count...

Yogi_G wrote:Has there ever been an anti-white racist incident in our history?
That idiot Robert Mugabe.

pgbhat wrote:
Yogi_G wrote:Has there ever been an anti-white racist incident in our history?
That idiot Robert Mugabe.
Oops, sorry, looks like I dint frame my question properly...

Has there ever been an anti-white racist incident in our Bharatiya history?
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Trujillo's parting shot at 'racist, backward' Australia
Former Telstra boss Sol Trujillo has taken a parting shot at Australia after his controversial reign at the telco, labelling the country racist and backward
In February, Prime Minister Kevin Rudd selected just one word to respond to news that Mr Trujillo was leaving Telstra and Australia: Adios.
R Vaidya

Post by R Vaidya »

Aussie style Supari—pay to get Killed

http://www.expressbuzz.com/edition/stor ... GntEw72ik=

What we need is protection, not tips
The parents and relatives of the Indian students in Australia take out a protest rally in Amritsar on Friday against the recent racist attacks on thei

R Vaidyanathan
First Published : 31 May 2009 12:11:00 AM IST
Last Updated : 31 May 2009 12:21:19 AM IST
Indian students in Australia make a massive contribution to the Australian economy.
It is estimated that one lakh Indian students are studying in Australia. Most of them pay hefty fees for the courses.
Assuming that each student spends around Rs 20 lakh for a two-year course, including tuition, travel, stay and food — as a conservative estimate — the total comes to Rs 20,000 crore.
That is what they spend. They are thus an important resource for the Australian education system. So, when they are attacked and injured or killed by thugs in public places the least they can expect is proper protection by the system.
Instead, the government of Australia offers tips to Indian students about behaving in public places. It is shameful that the government has not categorically, unequivocally and unambiguously condemned these attacks even after learning that the gangs are celebrating what they call “Indian hunting month”. The racist undertones are apparent, but it is not clear that the authorities are addressing the issue.
The Australian police maintain that these are “opportunistic crimes” — whatever that means. In a crowded running train when thugs were beating up Indian students mercilessly, no one came to help the victims. Another student was beaten up on a crowded railway platform. Again, there was no one to rescue him. It is hard to believe that they would have shown such indifference if one of their own was being so belaboured. Their behaviour makes one suspect a revival of embedded racism in that society. The sort of treatment Indian students have been subject to should have moved India’s Ministry of External Affairs to call the Australian High Commissioner and give him a mouthful.
Just suppose a single Australian student had been hit in India. Our entire TV and print media would have gone wild about it. They would have had debates about how unsafe India is for foreigners and how much “fascist groups” are growing in Gandhian India, and why the chief minister concerned should be punished, and so on and so forth. There would be national hysteria at least in the electronic media about how Indo-Australian bonds should not be weakened.
Interestingly, the coverage, at least initially, by the Australian print and electronic media was, to say the least, frugal.
Later too, the coverage has been more concerned about the image of Australia as a destination for foreign students rather than the menace of racist thugs in Australia.
The reason is pretty simple. Unlike India, Western (one can include Australia here) nations are concerned about their interest, primarily financial interest, before anything else.
Educational institutions in Australia (as in Britain and the US) are starved of funds and so they go around the world begging for funds in the guise of “educational opportunities” or “educational fairs”. They are encouraged in this by the Indian media in terms of coverage and obeisance.
It is also a sad commentary on our own complexes that we should prefer to graduate from a third-rate foreign university to struggling to get degrees here in India.
The problem, however, is more deep-rooted.
Why do students go to these universities to study? Part of the responsibility lies with our system.
Many of our universities favour casteism and there seems to be little concern for quality education. The appointment of many vice chancellors is based on considerations other than professional. The government still controls higher education and its hold is getting stronger. Another major attraction of foreign universities is that there is no concept of failure once you pay the requisite fees. And a foreign degree, whatever the quality of the institution, is respected.
The only way out is for the government to throw open the entire spectrum of higher education to the private sector and create a SEBI-type monitor to ensure transparency and accuracy of information. Every institution under its purview should be required to provide information on faculty, facilities, course content, previous year’s placement, etc. The key is transparency as the present process of approvals is full of corruption and nepotism.
The amount of Rs 20,000 crore spent by Indians on education in Australia is but one part of the story. If we add all other countries, the figure could be Rs 1 lakh-crore spent on foreign education. It is a standing irony that domestic institutions should be starved of funds in the midst of this plenty. To top it all, the government last year in an obscene gesture provided more than Rs 100-crore to Cambridge and Harvard — to the former to celebrate Nehru entering its portals and to the latter to study India.
It is suggested that education is a state subject. Then why have a ministry of HRD at the central level? In any case, the very idea of government babus directing higher education is not a feasible proposition in the 21st century. The new HRD minister should try to make his job redundant since that would be a measure of his efficiency.
It has always been suggested that the government should focus on primary education and leave higher education in private hands. That would be like asking quacks to treat babies while qualified surgeons take care of the elderly. The better idea is the voucher system if the government wants to help the needy — wherein students can choose the institutions in which they want to learn. That will weed out the “shops” masquerading as educational institutions.
The idea of government in education is as dangerous as government in business. Let the government be a facilitator and arms-length-distance regulator.
The ex-chief of Telstra has said that “Aussies are racists”, but why are we getting maimed and murdered after spending Rs 20,000 crore to sustain the Australian educational system? Maybe our embedded colonial genes have suggested this new type of supari — that we pay to get killed.
— The author is Professor of Finance, Indian Institute of Management-Bangalore, and can be contacted at [email protected].
The views are personal.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Thousands protest attacks on Indians in Australia
Thousands of Indian and Australian students gathered outside the Victorian parliament on Sunday to protest a string of attacks on Indians in Australia that many say are racially motivated.

The students, including many from other Asian countries, shouted slogans against the Australian government and the police for failing to protect the Indian students.

The students were joined by many members of the Indian community from all over Melbourne.

The rally was organised by the Federation of Indian Students of Australia (FISA) and the Melbourne University's Graduate Student Association.

The protest followed growing anger in the community over the assaults on Indian students in Melbourne and Sydney that have left one of the students battling for life.

Graduate Student Association president Paul Coats called on the Australian government to immediately implement a policy aimed at curbing the "growing culture of racial intolerance".

"I am opposed to calls for more police as it appears that the police have been part of the problem... They blame Indian students for 'making themselves targets' rather than blaming the climate of racism in Australia and racist governments that exploit Indian international students through the commodification of education," Coats told the Herald Sun.

"The purpose (of the protest) is to create awareness about an increasing number of hate crimes within the state and to promote racial harmony and peace," FISA said in a statement on Saturday.

It appealed to Australians to support people from different ethnic backgrounds. There are over 80,000 Indian students in Australia.

There have been four attacks on Indian students in quick succession, with the first incident reported May 9 and the most recent one Monday.

Hospitality graduate Rajesh Kumar received 30 per cent burns a week ago after someone hurled a petrol bomb through the window of his Harris Park home in Sydney.

Three attacks on Indian students took place in Melbourne.

Sravan Kumar Theerthala, 25, was assaulted a week ago with three other students. The attackers allegedly hurled racist abuses at the Indians and hit Theerthala with a screwdriver.

Another Indian student, Baljinder Singh, was robbed and stabbed on Monday.

The victim had left a railway station when two men carrying weapons approached him and demanded money. As he searched through his bag, he was stabbed in the abdomen.

Sourabh Sharma, 21, was beaten by a group of young men as he travelled on a train May 9. Sharma suffered a fractured cheek bone and a broken tooth in the attack, captured on closed circuit television cameras.

He said he was racially abused and robbed during the attack.

Excellent article R Vaidya. Thank you.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

R Vaidya wrote:We need is protection, not tips
The parents and relatives of the Indian students in Australia take out a protest rally in Amritsar on Friday against the recent racist attacks on thei
This view has been severly expressed by students in Melbourne today. Their target was not the Oz government but police. Police directly came under fire for playing blame game by saying "Indians are soft targets". This is called "patthar ka jawaab int se"
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

How ironical that the President of Melbourne Graduate Association,Paul Coats is accusing the state govt. of exploitation otherwise termed as 'cash cows'.He is the son of Victorian Minister of Health Bronwyn Pike (ALP).Although he is a socialist alternative factional head.I suppose the students should do a sit in protest at the corner of Flinders & Swanston St like the cabbies last year over the attacks on drivers.And don't get up until the state ALP wing brings about reforms.BTW protest went of OK,but Ted Ballieu didn't show up like last time!

I think this needless Oz bashing should not occur so blatantly lest Indo-Oz relations are spoiled and we don't get greencake for Uranium.

Humanitarian intervention
“Nationalist thug terrorises, massacres civilians in drive to crush separatists.” A story from southeast Europe a decade ago...Ten years on, it’s been replayed in south Asia, with the bloody end game of Sri Lanka’s war against the Liberation Tiger
China is building up a “hinterland” of influence in the international community as a bulwark against destabilisation and possible attack; fears stoked by such episodes as Kosovo - when a NATO bombing “error” flattened the Chinese embassy in Belgrade - along with rapid military build-ups in such places as Australia, as the US raises the stakes in what is, in strategic terms, China’s backyard. Asia-Pacific was one of three key regions identified in Defense Planning Guidance where the US must forestall the emergence of alternative centres of power.
The UN needs its own personnel to send in to places like that rapidly shrinking sliver of jungle and sand where Tamil families were reduced to cowering from artillery fire in makeshift trenches. Anyone entering such a situation would need the protection of a ceasefire, along with personal protection weapons, but they would also need to be decisively differentiated from the armies of member states.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgN8WtBeZzM
Indian community showed their unity when thousands of indian cabbies and international students protested over the matter of an indian cabbie attacked and stabbed 7 times brutally. The cabbies protested for more than 20 hours in the freezing Melbourne cold with their clothes stripped off.

Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

shiv wrote:I think this needless Oz bashing should not occur so blatantly lest Indo-Oz relations are spoiled and we don't get greencake for Uranium.
I don't know who deleted my previous post but any ways...

Shiv
Nobody is doing needless bashing of Aussie. We will get our yellow cake from other sources like Nigeria, Kazakhstan, Canada, Brazil. I don't know if you are implying, we should GUBO to Aussie because we need yellowcake from them. No matter how you look at it, racist attack on Indians cannot be justified by any means even if it means we will not get "GreenCake" from them.
I am not sure what kind of "Khujli" are you having, whatever that is better find an ointment for it. Where is MMS now, he was losing sleep over detention of a Muslim Doctor but he is sleeping sound and deep while Hindu and Sikh students are beaten to pulp.
tejas

Post by tejas »

I think now would be a good time for the GOI to not only issue a travel advisory on visiting Australia but to also announce that India is not interested in purchasing uranium from Australia as there are multiple other countries that are willing to sell India uranium.

The Aussies can continue to supply yellow cake to countries that harvest organs from live prisoners and proliferate every WMD known to man to upstanding countries like Pakisatan, NoKo, Saudi Arabia and Iran. Australia was one of the most vociferous and demeaning countries in denouncing India after Pokhran II. Which is particularly rich coming from a country that allowed the UQ to to do atmospheric testing on its soil. I say cancel Rudd's visit to India. We don't need Australia for anything and its time this poodle is shown its place.

http://www.theage.com.au/photogallery/n ... tedImage=1

http://www.theage.com.au/national/india ... -brrm.html Bloody mofos dont have enough coppers to maintain vigil around the train stations but they have more than enough cops to dismiss a protest...hypocrite ba$ta#$s

http://www.watoday.com.au/national/indi ... -brl9.html

http://www.theage.com.au/national/overl ... -bs2r.html
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

From The Age
Nearly 2000 students chanted as they marched down Melbourne's streets, carrying signs which read "I pay fees, I pay tax, I get stabbed in Oz" and "Racism is more dangerous than swine flu". While there was widespread support for the rally, there was also evidence of the racism the students were protesting against.

Several bystanders yelled racial slurs, one man shouting at the protesters to "f--- off home".
This is real Oz spirit? Really doubt if this would be the way things get handled in massa.
"There have been some racially based attacks, and they're completely repugnant and unacceptable,'' Mr Brumby said.
Why then Vic police straighaway issues statements as attacks not racial but soft targets.
Opposition is cooking its roti BTW.
Last edited by Gaurav_S on 01 Jun 2009 06:27, edited 1 time in total.

Bhai log just check out the comments from wannabe cool desis in TOI , they are bringing up ragging in IITs ,Godhara,Kandhamal and killing of foreigners in GOA as a equal equal argument. :roll:

negi wrote:Bhai log just check out the comments from wannabe cool desis in TOI , they are bringing up ragging in IITs ,Godhara,Kandhamal and killing of foreigners in GOA as a equal equal argument. :roll:
BRF paklurks vent off on TOIlet paper boards, looks like.

But desi propensity for scoring self-goals apart, am pleasantly surprised to see GoI showing some steel will in dealing with the racist bigots down under. Hope that steel won't evaporate into thin air.

Baljeet wrote:
shiv wrote:I think this needless Oz bashing should not occur so blatantly lest Indo-Oz relations are spoiled and we don't get greencake for Uranium.
I don't know who deleted my previous post but any ways...

Shiv
Nobody is doing needless bashing of Aussie. We will get our yellow cake from other sources like Nigeria, Kazakhstan, Canada, Brazil. I don't know if you are implying, we should GUBO to Aussie because we need yellowcake from them.
Harbans I am angry that criticism of the US on this forum has been censored in the act of locking up and throwing away more than one thread in which criticism of the US gets out of hand. If we are to follow the same standards on an "International Relations" forum we must hide our feelings about Australia.

It is not just the GoI that wants to GUBO to someone or the other - the same blood runs among us Indians. Even the criticism of Pakistan must not cross certain limits. The actions of these nations against India and Indians are reprehensible and cross all limits. But when it comes to mere talk, leave alone action - we do not have what it takes. We want to "be diplomatic" and stick to niceties let it hurt hajaar feelings.

Please do me a favor. The news reports speak of Australian fora that talk about what Aussies think of Indians/foreign students. Can you locate them and link them here please? If you are looking for "diiplomacy" then it is not difficult to reach cultural understanding about why Aussies find Indian behavior objectionable and why such behavior is not actually objectionable. Once again it just goes to cultural roots and etiquette. But explanations aside - the Ozzies have no intention of changing. Only we are being "Oh so British" understated, stiff upper lip diplomacy.

Oz: Indians clash with police, 2 held
Rally of Indian students to protest the brutal attacks turns violent

shiv wrote: The actions of these nations against India and Indians are reprehensible and cross all limits. But when it comes to mere talk, leave alone action - we do not have what it takes. We want to "be diplomatic" and stick to niceties let it hurt hajaar feelings.

Please do me a favor. The news reports speak of Australian fora that talk about what Aussies think of Indians/foreign students. Can you locate them and link them here please? If you are looking for "diiplomacy" then it is not difficult to reach cultural understanding about why Aussies find Indian behavior objectionable and why such behavior is not actually objectionable. Once again it just goes to cultural roots and etiquette. But explanations aside - the Ozzies have no intention of changing. Only we are being "Oh so British" understated, stiff upper lip diplomacy.
Here is a racist blog, the attacks on Indian are justified because Indians are casteist. That is what this blog says:

http://surind.blogspot.com/2009/05/indi ... -hate.html

Some highlights from above:
http://surind.blogspot.com/2009/05/indi ... -hate.html

It is only fair however, that I use this opportunity to whack India and have some fun with this issue as well.

Isn't it ironic how (hypocritical) India is so full of shit and crap themselves - racism, tribalism, nationalism, cast system, corruption, violent hate crimes on students (Darker South Indians being attacked in the Northern states & Fairer Norther Indians being attacked in the Southern states, African students being bashed up in Mumbai, Religious Fanatics, etc.) , supporting Sri Lanka at the U.N. HRC, etc.
I have lived in Australia and have borne the brunt of several racist attacks. And when I was discussing the fact that Oz is a racist country, the same above argument was put forward by well meaning educated desis.

All the above such self scoring desis have done me a huge favor. Next time they get hurt, it is definitely not on my conscience!

This might be OT but I am sure in the present context it is of some relevance . Apologies if already posted and discussed on BRF.

Why has it become so cool to hate India? by- Arindam Banerji {anek bhalo lekhe cho... 8) }

posting in full..
Saturday morning, last week was a bad one for me – the first thing I read, was an article from Dilip D'Souza. He pontificated,

"Then what do we say about those who might plot against the obscenity that blights their land, as Stauffenberg did, who fight to free India of it? Are they patriots? If so, what if they welcomed a force from abroad that toppled this hypothetical regime, as many Iraqis did? Are they still patriots?" (http://www.rediff.com)

I was stunned. D'Souza a recognized and very visible journalist, was insinuating and subtly recommending a foreign invasion of India to get rid of the current government; pretty much like the US did in Iraq. Let's be sure of one thing- I will die defending D'Souza's right to criticize, fight legally against, decry or vote out of office the current Indian government – but, calling for foreign invasion?? Now, that's beyond hate.

All this, when I was just beginning to get over the fact that after the Indo-Pakistani thaw had been announced, Praful Bidwai gleefully announced that India "must give up its inalienable right to Kashmir". No word on strategic goals for India, nothing about not rewarding terrorism. When did this happen? Leading journalists, openly publishing anti-India, hate-India propaganda in Indian dailies, and not a word is said – not a single editorial, no public criticism, nothing? When did it become so cool to hate India? Before we sink into the rhetoric of calling me a scoundrel for bringing up the patriotism issue, let us look at what's really happening.

Blame India first
Immediately, after the Nadimarg massacre of 24 Indians, including women and children, Farzana Versey wrote a scathing article, criticizing the Kashmiri Pandits, blaming them for leaving the valley – essentially the they-asked-for-it point-of-view. Times of India editorials and Kuldeep Nayar came out and blamed the Government of India. Mind you, not a word – not one word, criticizing either the Pakistani generals or the LeT. Akhila Raman blamed India directly and of course, a columnist in Greater Kashmir blamed the Pandits for it all. All these people, subtly yet completely undermined the case the GOI was trying to build in international media on the persistent and genocidal nature of Pakistani terrorism. In essence, these Indians equated the victims with the perpetrators, and made the case on behalf of Pakistan. After all, nobody in international media would cast any doubt on "Indian" writers, when they place the blame on GOI and the Pandits for such a heinous massacre.

The jury had declared their verdict – the ever-so erudite Hafeez Sayeed who postulated "Killing Hindus is the way to move forward" came out looking lily-white, while 4-year old Suraj, who died in his mother's arms was found guilty – he was an Indian, you see. Remember, the Chattisinghpora incident where 35 Sikhs were killed – some Indian journalists even those writing in international publications, declared that the GOI was to blame. It took an American, Barry Bearak of NYTimes to chase the whole thing down and visit the home of one of the perpetrators in Pakistan. No matter what happens and how it happens, it is India that is at fault, Indians are responsible. Journalists tell me that they must remain balanced. That word again?

The whole balance thing – never allow any good news on India.

This balance thing, happens not just about the Hindu-Muslim issue or India-Pakistan issues. Let me give you another example from a different area - Mr. Vishal Thapar's article on the LCA/Tejas in the Hindustan Times. As you may have heard about the LCA was renamed to Tejas, yesterday. Here is how it was projected in one of the most widely distributed national newspapers in India: "For those ecstatic at the projection of the Tejas' , this all means that the 'Made in India' tag as a symbol of indigenous capability, a sobering thought. Its engine is American, its avionics a combination of French, Israeli and Swedish components, and its carbon composite wings Italian. Given that the three basic components of an aircraft are the engine, airframe and avionics, 'swadeshi' pride gets a dose of reality."

In spite, of the fact, that a simple internet search, would have given Mr. Thapar access to all possible details on LCA – he either chose not to do so or prefers to remain balanced. So, let us take each of his facts one by one. What he did not tell you was the GE engine is a test engine, to be replaced soon by an India's Kaveri. Another fact, the most advanced fourth generation fighter called Grippen, also uses the same GE engine, but nobody calls the Swedish Grippen non-indigenous. It also turns out that the new fifth generation aircraft from the US (F/A22) uses Israeli avionics. Truth is, that apart from a few measly displays, almost everything else in the LCA's avionics- Mission Computers, Radar, Display Processors, Avionics LRU's, databus associated control equipment -is Indian [Nitin, BRF]. The composite wing technology was co-developed with the Italians – in fact, some of the associated software was sold by INDIA to Airbus. No mention of the most-advanced Fly-by-Wire technology in a fourth-generation aircraft, no mention of the sale to Airbus – simply the balanced approach to hide India's accomplishments. Remember, the Americans cherish their flights to the moon, in spite of the fact, that many of the leading scientists were Nazi Germany's rocket scientists. They cherish their jet aircraft which was helped tremendously by Nazi German designs of jet aircraft.

So, why was it so important for us to sound balanced – was it important enough to hide the facts and true achievements? Note - not a single clarification issued by the Hindustan Times either. It is fair to point out however, that the Hindu carried a much more positive article on LCA on the next day. Of course, not to be left behind the ever so-prolific India hater, Praful Bidwai writes "India . . . ranked 54th of 55 countries in an IT survey by International Data Corp. Its score is 871, compared with China's 915, or the US's 5041. (The highest is Sweden's 5062, the lowest Pakistan's 719.) The penetration of Indian households by PCs is under one-fifth the world average. Today, it stands at three machines per 1000 people."

Probably true – but, no mention of the fact that the Indians are designing some of the most advanced routers in the world, they are at the fore-front of telematics technology and developed the first products on web services, which has now become a $50B technology. So, why the lack of balance on this issue? Would not serve our purpose to make India look good, would it, now.

Protest and you get called Names
Everybody has heard about the Bangladeshi infiltration into India. Most people do not know that large parts of the border areas are now run, owned and practically ruled by Bangladeshis. I have nothing against Bangladeshis – but, when they come to my country, ethnically cleanse Indians out of large areas, happily help the ISI and demand sovereignty for areas that they are squatting on, I have a problem. However, the fact that I have said the above, labels me a Hindu Fascist and supremacist. Never mind, that in the last 17 years in the US, I've never visited a temple – never, mind that I've probably spent more time in a catholic church in my life-time than a Hindu temple – I'm still a fascist.

The recommendations from the Farooquis, Pamelas and Bidwais is very clear – let the flow of Bangladeshis continue. Imply they, that there is nothing wrong in the steady Arabization of most of the border areas and even secession is fine – whatever happens, we must not listen to the fascists. I'm sorry this is not OK with me – I'm concerned about the great Indian culture – the one that includes Syrian Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains and Muslims, as much as it does Hindus. Unfortunately, we become fascists for trying to stem the tide of Bangladeshi Taliban from entering our country, the same people who for long had an "enemy property act", essentially treating minorities as enemies.

Not only, will many news dailies prevent the publication of anything that is strongly pro-India or happens to protest anti-India activities; but, the name calling against the pro-India crowd definitely gets published. All of you must have heard about the slanderous IDRF campaign, but how many of you got to read the excellent de-bunking done by the Friends of India – very, very few. This seems to happen more and more frequently these days –

· protest against subsuming India within groups and academic departments that call themselves South Asian (not Indian) – you're a fanatic

· protest against Romila Thapar's writings – you're a Hindu supremacist

· protest against stopping charity to innocent Indian kids through false and unproven allegations – you're RSS, VHP or worse

Openly anti-India activities
Kamal Mitra Chenoy, a professor from JNU, actually testified before the USCIRF on Gujarat, with the sole purpose of having sanctions declared on India. While, what happened in Gujarat was vile and reprehensible, how does it make sense to help other countries declare sanctions on India? Who does it hurt most? As a Friend of India member wrote, "In other words, here was an Indian zealously participating in a charade meant to impose hardship on his own country, collaborating with a wing of a government that his own comrades are given to routinely denouncing as "imperialist" and hegemonist." Canvassing for anti-India acts are the norm now. The Indian Muslim Council, in the US, very rightfully concerned about what happened in Gujarat, is openly courting and canvassing congressmen and congressional staffers on "Hindu fanaticism". Very thoughtful, but how do we expect the US Congressmen to help? Take action against India!!

Mind you - I'm happy to join their protests in front of the Indian embassy, if they spend an equal amount of time, protesting the killing of twice as many Indians (as killed in Gujarat) every year by Islamic terrorists. Or, will they please tell their US legislators, that India actually has minorities, but minorities have for the most part vanished in the rest of South Asia (Bangladesh has gone from 33% to 7%). Will they please tell, the Americans that from negligible numbers, Andamans now have 60% Christians? Why not present the whole picture – who does it help not to do so? Everyday in the Bay area, Indian speakers are feted by large crowds of Indians and Pakistanis, for claiming how bad India is? How the Hindus are killing all the Muslims? Association of words like genocide, fascist and fundamentalist with India are common. Not a word on the Islamic terrorism that kills thousands every year, not a word on state support for it, not a word on the complete ethnic cleansing that has happened in the rest of South Asia (3% minorities in Pakistan, down from 20%) – no, that would offend our Pakistani friends.

Our own, Arundhati Roy, who feels compelled to go all over the world and announce that "India is an artificial state", recently along with some other anti-India stalwarts attended a meeting to remember Marxist-Leninist separatist Naxals. Mind you, these are the same Naxals who recommend partitioning the country and happily extort and kill innocent Indian citizens. The Bidwais, Pandeys and Roys had to honor them, but, would they ever visit the families of soldiers who died at Kargill? Nope, and nobody called them on it – no protests, no editorial scolding. Our politicians outdo all this. While Congress and the left encourage anti-India elements to settle in India, the right has proposed sundry localized sun-of-the-soil theories. All this just to win a few votes. Who does this hurt? You, me and India. I'm not suggesting that all Indian politicians become honest – that would be a stupid expectation. But, where is our press? Where are the national scolds, which are handed out so readily when we dare to kill a terrorist or two, without reading them their rights? Never surprises me that, more people jumped up to help the professor who facilitated the Parliament attack; than ever did to help the Sikh widows of the 1984 riots.

National Lack of Confidence
I'm keenly aware of the impact of history on national psyche and attitudes – let's face it, at least in the recent centuries, we Indians have been raped, massacred and indoctrinated with gay abandon. But, history in itself is not an acceptable excuse – where are our leaders? Leadership means breaking the mold – not just our politicians, but our managing editors and our news outlet owners – they just standby, they don't feel the need to direct their ire. I have come to believe that our educational institutions have a role here. Passing through the IITs, nobody ingrained in me or my friends, the arrogance to believe that we could do intellectual work better than the best in the world. Result – we all end up believing, like Mr. Vishal Thapar above, that Indians cannot do the kinds of things that the Anglo-Saxons can – how could they? Other educational institutions are worse – try holding a pro-India, anti-Pakistan program in JNU – chances are you'll get beaten up. Writes Vrin Parker, an American who has spent time in India,

"After having been forced to learn a lot misinformation about India in American schools I became fed up … I began my own research and soon discovered that it was the Indians themselves … who are at the root of all the nonsense taught about Hindus in the West."

Acceptance as Normal
It isn't what D'Souza said that has surprised me – it is that this has become accepted behavior in India. Nobody protests, when Arundhati makes up stories that make the Gujarat incidents much worse than they actually were (and they were bad enough), nobody blinks when Bidwais of the world spew their anti-India venom day in and day out, nobody cries foul when anti-India groups are feted by prominent/respected Indians within India and nobody editorializes when Indians go around canvassing foreign governments to take actions against India and Indians. When did this happen? When did it become so acceptable to hate-India openly? Please do not get me wrong – we Indians have our faults. Our caste-system, our riots, corruption, fundamentalism, most of our politicians, extreme poverty and our apathy to all this. Protest against all this, change it, elect someone else, expose it, and write about it – that's all patriotic. But asking for foreign invasion, supporting secessionists, canvassing for US sanctions, inviting arabized Bangladeshis into India, absolving Pakistani terrorism or minimizing Hindu deaths is NOT – it's anti-India.

Remember, that there is a lot of good – ask the Tibetians who have taken refuge in India, ask the Chakma Buddhists, ask the Bangladeshi Hindus, ask the Pakistani Hindus, ask the Afghans who're being treated and taught by Indians, ask the CEOs of the top five technology corporations in the world and ask the Bangladeshis who remember. Let's not hide all this or minimize it, but let's not be satisfied with it, either.
Last edited by negi on 01 Jun 2009 07:31, edited 1 time in total.
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

Amitabh Bacchan refuses Australian honor
http://www.newkerala.com/nkfullnews-1-47472.html

http://tiny.cc/j2NlL
On Friday, New Delhi ratcheted up pressure on Canberra to protect Indian students, summoning Australian High Commissioner John McCarthy as Australian Foreign Minister Stephen Smith telephoned External Affairs Minister SM Krishna.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh has also conveyed his concerns to counterpart Kevin Rudd.

Last weekend, another Melbourne student, Sravan Kumar Theerthala, 25, was stabbed with a screwdriver at a party and earlier this month, Sourabh Sharma, 21, sustained a fractured cheekbone and broken tooth after being assaulted on a train in Melbourne.

Indian High Commissioner to Australia Sujatha Singh dismissed police suggestions that these students were in the wrong place at the wrong time, admitting that “there is a racism element,” given the sheer numbers of Indian students attacked.

Singh confirmed that police presence would be bolstered around trouble spots in Melbourne to curb the attacks.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Stop the spin! The attacks on Indians are simply racist
SAM Varghese, The Age.
ONE night last week as I approached the city by bus, on my way to work at about 7pm, a sense of fear suddenly enveloped me as my normal stop loomed ahead.

A walk of a kilometre from Myer in the city to The Age is my normal exercise of a working evening, but I kept wondering: would it be safe to walk the streets any more? Should I ride the bus right up to my office instead?

You see, I'm Indian. My appearance is distinctly sub-continental. And I wouldn't like to end up in hospital, looking like one of those poor lads who has suffered at the hands of hooligans in this fair city.

In 12 years of living in Melbourne, I've felt afraid just once, in Footscray around dusk. On Thursday, I was scared to walk down Lonsdale Street in the heart of the city.

I guess part of the fear comes because of the reaction by the authorities.

Nobody, but nobody, is willing to call a spade a spade and slam the perpetrators for what this is — latent racism in society coming to the fore. Everyone, the police first and foremost, is pussyfooting around the problem and trying to characterise the naked violence as anything but an expression of racial hostility.

As long as this goes on, we'll continue to see more of such senseless violence in the suburbs. And it will embolden others in other regions of the country who have feelings of the same kind to express themselves with sticks, stones and knives.

It amazes me that the authorities don't realise that the need of the hour is to out the cause. Yes, these savage beatings are one of the effects of a feeling of hostility within, fed by ill-informed radio jocks and others, over the perception that a foreign race is taking over the suburbs.

Fears about a bunch of "inferior" people taking over all the jobs that otherwise would go to "Australians". About a group that is unwilling to be quiet and behave as migrants and visiting foreigners "should".

My biggest fear is that, if nothing is done to stop this scourge, if the authorities do not stand up and shout with one voice, then the violence will start to bear fruit. And the other side will begin to think that it should assert itself.

That would be really ugly. The Indian boys who are being beaten up have kept quiet so far. It would be a tragedy if they decided that enough was enough and took the law into their own hands.

And as these things generally happen, they would unerringly pick on a decent soul, one of those who form the majority of Melbourne's populace, a person who goes about his or her business without bothering others.

If that kind of reaction does take place, then the authorities in Melbourne would suddenly find themselves in the midst of a turf war that they have helped create.

When Pauline Hanson came up with her famous statement about Asians crowding the country, there were people like Jeff Kennett around, leaders who fearlessly condemned her for what she really was.

We don't see anything like that when Indians are being beaten up by the dozen. And unless we do, it is only going to get worse. Remaining in a state of denial in the belief that labelling racism for what it is will give Australia a bad name is only going to exacerbate the problem.
You know there are supermarkets pre-dominantly employing desis, bd's, nepalese, vietnamese et al.. in their front-end roles which often leaves Oz's feeling uncomfortable.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

ToI EDITORIAL COMMENT | Check It, Mate
It's difficult to put down the attacks on Indian students in Australia as stray incidents any longer. Instances of Indian students being assaulted there often grievously have been one too many recently. These students, like thousands of others, went to that country in search of educational opportunities to fulfil their dreams. Recent incidents, though, will not inspire confidence among current or prospective Indian students considering Australia as a destination.

What's worrisome is the fact that there appears to be a racist undertone to these incidents. They are apparently part of a new fad 'curry bashing' a term used to describe the act of assaulting Indian students with an intention to rob. However, we, in India, must desist from calling Australia a racist country or painting all Australians alike. In any country, there are bound to be extreme elements. It's worrisome that the tribe of extreme nationalists who champion an exclusivist, white Aussie identity seems to be increasing in Australia. For its own sake, Australia must crack down upon this trend in no uncertain terms. It cannot shut its doors on outsiders without the risk of hurting its interests. At a time when its demographic profile is changing because of a reoriented immigration policy, the nation's political leadership should steer it clear of inevitable ethnic tensions in Australian society.

India has conveyed its concern at the highest level and, to be fair, the Australian government has responded swiftly, condemning the attacks unequivocally. The statement made by Prime Minister Kevin Rudd reveals the fact that they are in damage control mode, fully aware of the adverse publicity these attacks are generating for a country that depends heavily on international students. Rudd said he was "concerned... particularly when we are obviously hosts to students from around the world".

For the record, education is Australia's third largest export industry. It generated $15.5 billion last year, with 4,30,000 international students visiting Australia. Of these, an estimated 96,739 last year were Indian, a 54 per cent increase on 2007. Australia is the second preferred destination, after the US, for Indian students going abroad. Clearly, Australia cannot afford to be seen as a hostile country to foreigners if it wants to continue attracting talent, and money, from outside its shores. To be honest, Australia has been punching way above its weight in the global ring so far. Perhaps aware of the limits of its influence, Canberra is seeking better ties in the Asian region, with Beijing, Tokyo and New Delhi. There is much that India and Australia can achieve together. But such ugly incidents are simply unacceptable, mates.

the nincompoops have arrested 18 Indian students while not a single conviction has been handed out for over 500 rumored assaults.

this has crossed all limits now.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 62,00.html

Gaurav_S wrote:Stop the spin! The attacks on Indians are simply racist
SAM Varghese, The Age.
Much as the argument has merit, the author loses it by resorting to the Paki tactic of threatening retaliation.
pratik

Post by pratik »

Now it is a time for INS TALWAR or INS BEAS to visit Australia on goodwill visit. And do some Power Projections.
It is a time for backward whites to know New India, New Indians...And the outcome they will face, if they will mess with INDIANS.

Jai Hind.

Guys:

remember Graham Staines who was burnt alive by some thugs in India? Do you recall the worldwide revulsion and the enmasse propaganda on so called Hindu extremism? Not even a fraction of that outrage, even in DDM, on these attacks on Indian students.
pratik

Post by pratik »

CRamS, Agree with you.

1. you are refering to is isolated attack in India, and if i remember correctly that person was linked to Hindu-to-Christians conversion activity which is sensitive in India.
And the issue here in Australia is, Indian students studying here are attacked by white thugs...I have lived in India for 17-Years, and outside of India for remaining 17. And i can see the clear difference.

What is happening in Australia is pure racism.

If any Indians telling me that it is not racism then i will say show some guts, and take the train ride after 10pm, from flinders street to Werribee in Melbourne. and prove your point.
Last edited by pratik on 01 Jun 2009 10:21, edited 1 time in total.
Atish

Post by Atish »

If the scrawny kid next door keeps beating you up, and gets away with it, pretty soon every kid in the school is gonna think of you as a punching bag. Thats the way the world works.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

From vsudhir's link of 2 students detained.

"There were a lot of local people asking what this rally was all about. Most of them didn't know about the attacks on Indian students. "The people with turban (Sikh students) are Muslims, aren't they," asked Diana, a passerby. "Is this something about Sri Lanka," asked another onlooker." :roll: {Are they so ignorant? partly due to attempt of cover up by media}

Media here only started to roll when things quickly flared up in Indian media. It only pinches when Oz impression is tarnished overseas resulting in economic doldrums..isn't it?

Latest is all students detained have been released.

In todays' TOIlet there's a story of a man who's working in Australia & in his own words, he has been 'kicked, spat on, racially abused, mugged & beaten black & blue", but then our guy says "All said & done, I'm happier there than in India. India's corrupt politics, inter caste/religion fights, poverty, the inherent nepotism, the government's lack of foresight to plan and develop infrastructure all amount to issues larger than dealing with ignorant & sporadic acts of racism. It's a balance of trade-offs. "

Good then, after every Indian flies out of Australia, the OFCONs will have someone to keep them busy.
pratik

Post by pratik »

I am happy with the coverage in Indian Media. Now let us see, Indian Government has any courage to deal with the issue? OR as usual, forget it...as we meant to follow Gandhiji's principles.

But as i know, most of us (< 40 years) believe in SHRI BHAGAT SINGH

Any reports that our Maananeeya Pradhan Mantriji has lost atleast few minutes of sleep?

Shhh....Zzzzzzzzzzz

CRamS wrote:Guys:

remember Graham Staines who was burnt alive by some thugs in India? Do you recall the worldwide revulsion and the enmasse propaganda on so called Hindu extremism? Not even a fraction of that outrage, even in DDM, on these attacks on Indian students.
CRS, in Graham Staines' case, a case where there was a lot of evidence of that gentleman and his wife converting simple and trusting Hindus to Christanity through deceit and fraud, Indians in large numbers, Indian media and the secular Indian Government took action. The GoI even gave a Padma Shri award to his wife. One must have seen the great outpouring of the secular Indians then because it cannot be described today. OTOH, there is not even a murmur from the general public in Australia. Again, there is nothing surprising because we are like that only :wink: and they are like that only too. The Aussie Government is unwilling to accept these are even racial attacks. The Victoria police chief rather quickly dismissed them as 'nothing racial'. I wish Mrs. Gladys Staines goes back to her country, if she continues to be in Service of God in India, and set about the bigoted minds of her fellow Australians.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Chandragupta wrote:In todays' TOIlet there's a story of a man who's working in Australia & in his own words, he has been 'kicked, spat on, racially abused, mugged & beaten black & blue", but then our guy says "All said & done, I'm happier there than in India. India's corrupt politics, inter caste/religion fights, poverty, the inherent nepotism, the government's lack of foresight to plan and develop infrastructure all amount to issues larger than dealing with ignorant & sporadic acts of racism. It's a balance of trade-offs. "

Good then, after every Indian flies out of Australia, the OFCONs will have someone to keep them busy.
I think this guy deserves it for rest of his life and India does not need him either. We are talking about the people who are unhappy about the attacks aren't we ? not about the people who wants to be treated like punching bags, the day he will realise the gravity of the situation I hope God forbid do not come is the day he receives some grave news about his loving ones. Why this as** ho** talk about inter caste thing now a days, I personally know atleast 50 brahmin/upper caste guys/girls who have married either in OBC/SC/ST. Why dont they look at their own $hit where they still live in feudal system where a person with higher standing does not marry with a girl/boy from lower standing !! My friend is a Doctor in English History and I can just thrash these rampant thugs toiling over the caste system to look inwards and stop being hypocritical ba$tards.