India-Australia News and Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Mathew G

Re: India-Australia News and Discussion

Post by Mathew G »

So now the Victoria A-G is saying the proposed ''Hate Crime Law" is toothless paper tiger only?

Hate crimes laws no tougher, says Attorney General Rob Hulls

That's tantamount of the govt saying to the racist teens: "It's alright guys, go back to your business - we won't come after you".
But as Prime Minister Kevin Rudd said those responsible deserve to feel "the full force of the law", Hindu hardliners in India burned effigies of Australia's leader in protest against the attacks.

1) Why is there no progress from the Victoria police on apprehending criminals of the existing crimes. I mean, they are serious enough (murder, serious injuries etc). Or are Indians supposed to be subservient, quiet, 2nd class citizens?
2) Why is the media over there reluctant to blame these crimes as racist, 30 per cent of VIOLENT assaults in Melbourne's western suburbs are against Indians, a grossly disproportionate figure in a city of almost four million with an Indian population of less than 50,000.

Time to colonize Australia?
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

SwamyG wrote:Time to colonize Australia?
It's already happening, give it time. Even the Indians fought a little bit when the British came, but they were ultimately "taken care of".
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

Tamang wrote:Indians are not the only ones attacked in Australia: Cops

Indian community members here point out that some Indian students do not behave properly in public places, especially in trains and market places. They play loud music and speak loudly on the phone in public transport, some can hardly converse in English and many choose to just stick to people from their own region. (What rubbish is that? How does all that justify the attacks that have happened on the Indians in recent times?)
An excuse can be found in any argument, if one looks for it hard enough. These goons are merely trying to duck and divert the issue among all the attention. They merely wish they could swipe it under the carpet.

I say more power to the desi media for all the attention.

SwamyG wrote:Time to colonize Australia?
Time for Indians to develop a superiority complex and look down upon only those whites who have "attitude", easier said than done...

A bit of "your ancestors lived in caves and were hunter gatherers while my ancestors built urban civilizations and wrote the Vedas" attitude towards the racist fascists will hit the spot....
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

Yogi_G wrote: A bit of "your ancestors lived in caves and were hunter gatherers while my ancestors built urban civilizations and wrote the Vedas" attitude towards the racist fascists will hit the spot....
I don't think any of Indians in question even know what the Vedas are.

Keshav wrote:
Yogi_G wrote: A bit of "your ancestors lived in caves and were hunter gatherers while my ancestors built urban civilizations and wrote the Vedas" attitude towards the racist fascists will hit the spot....
I don't think any of Indians in question even know what the Vedas are.
And how do you know that, mate? More self flagellation, more we r bad onlee stuff...
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

You know there is a saying..'Too many cooks spoil the broth'...well exactly the case with the Indian students who had aspiring dreams of getting Residency and exploited the system to do so.Anyway I assure you its not only Indians who get attacked,hell all my Aussie friends from the countryside are damn scared to step foot out in footscray at nights coz they fear getting stabbed by druggies (aka homeless ppl without jobs who pop pills or inhale chemicals).

Yes no doubt a significant proportion of desis do irritate not only the locals but me too,often these guys switch on the music on loudspkr in the trains and speak loudly in their native language thus provoking an anti Indian-sentiment.Charity starts at home,so lets train these kids on such menial matters before they leave overseas,cmon we are in their country at the end of the day right!On train stations there is a common rule of leaving the right side of the elevator free so people in a hurry can walk up,but our desi kids dont notice such things or perhaps are not aware,which needs to be instilled in them.

gaurav_s,in regards to the ALP regime and relation with India,ALP has been quite cold over the last 20 years.Bob Hawke didn't really take advantage when Rajiv Gandhi was in ACT to foster trade relations.Also on the other hand China means a lot to them (so much so the K Rudd speaks fluent mandarin).Majority of their exports go to China plus being in the Asia Pacific region with a massive military might means they would want to be more friendly towards them.Lord John So who was the ex Mayor of Melbourne was and internationals students from China himself when he first came to Oz.During the APEC and ASEAN summit China with the help of Australia tried to boot out India but oz wouldnt relent as they knew India was a Democratic superpower and was self reliant.Nevertheless the Libs actually stuck their hand out to New Delhi after Howard's visit.They saw the potential and it is under their regime that trade exports and imports are with Australia to the tune of $1 billion each way.They even have 2 Indian origin candidates in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.Kamal Nath paid a low profile visit last yr to Canberra to say hi to the Labor party.

BTW If im not mistaken the Victorian Taxi Directorate had promised to have all cabs installed with safety screens after last years protest,I wonder then how this latest cabbie got attacked in Blackburn if all the cabs were equipped.Oh and all Silver top and 123 cabs do have cameras in them,so they would have a visual on the guy.VicPol need some serious training in investigation procedures,my roomie a Nepalese was mugged in sunshine when his phone got stolen,they kept trying to interrogate him over repeated phone calls upto a month as to whose phone it was(was another friends phone).And the funniest one being when a constable (sri lankan origin) left the police folder on the back of his divvyvan and drove off,only to leave me and my fellow staff and the dorm covered in CONFIDENTIAL notes! They shut the road and had to pick up every single piece,and the constable got a public shouting by his lady boss!
Keshav

Post by Keshav »

mmasand wrote: Yes no doubt a significant proportion of desis do irritate not only the locals but me too,often these guys switch on the music on loudspkr in the trains and speak loudly in their native language thus provoking an anti Indian-sentiment.Charity starts at home,so lets train these kids on such menial matters before they leave overseas,cmon we are in their country at the end of the day right!
So... if I speak English loudly on the train, will you brutally beat me too?
mnag

Post by mnag »

From economic times: Aussie banks to move IT projects to India
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Oz- ... 610761.cms
MUMBAI: Even as Australia is making headlines for hostilities towards Indians, Australian banks are set to implement billions of dollars worth of IT
projects and could also outsource many of their functions to India.

Some of its top banks are looking to implement core-banking projects, and the first of these projects from the National Australia Bank has already gone to Oracle Financial Solutions, earlier i-flex Solutions.

These projects could range anywhere from $2-$4 billion, with the software licences alone costing $500 million. Unlike the US, banks in Australia are still very profitable. “Many of these banks are running applications on legacy systems and hardware that may not be supported anymore. They are shifting to core banking applications and awarding contracts

for their implementation,” said Tim Sheedy, senior analyst, Forrester Research. One of Australia’s big four banks, Commonwealth Bank, is also in the midst of a core-banking modernisation programme, while two of the other big four banks are also in similar discussions with vendors. These banks are looking at outsourcing their entire IT to select functions such as monitoring and maintenance, said Mr Sheedy.

The banks are outsourcing out of necessity to cut costs and move from a variable cost model to a more predictable cost model, he said. The findings of a report yet to be released by Forrester, show that the outsourcing is staging a comeback in Australia. “Australia had moved away from outsourcing but now cost is driving them to it again.

Australian banks have never outsourced but are now starting to. The outsourcing contracts that come up could be in hundreds of millions of dollars,” he said.

So, although IT budgets in the Asia Pacific are shrinking by an average of 9%, outsourcing has increased. “The banks are doing it to save money. So we will see a considerable offshoring component because price will be a key consideration,” said Mr Sheedy.
Gaurav_S

Post by Gaurav_S »

Keshav wrote:
mmasand wrote: Yes no doubt a significant proportion of desis do irritate not only the locals but me too,often these guys switch on the music on loudspkr in the trains and speak loudly in their native language thus provoking an anti Indian-sentiment.Charity starts at home,so lets train these kids on such menial matters before they leave overseas,cmon we are in their country at the end of the day right!
Keshav bhai, the point I think being made here is to have some balance between using some common sense and bit manners while at large. Its not MUST but its better to be aware of such things then face some kind of hostility later in phoren. Lets accept it that some desis have habit of too much chattering on mobile in mother tounge especially while commuting. IIRC there was survey saying Indians are among highest users of mobiles everyday (not 400% sure though). Using lower tone while using mother tongue is better idea. From my knowledge even constant staring at Oz's is also considered rude, not sure though if this applies to all goras. No one is perfect but bit of fine tuning is often required.

Gaurav_S wrote:Lets accept it that some desis have habit of too much chattering on mobile in mother tounge especially while commuting.
Hmmm, so let us stick a screw driver in their heads. In the meantime, the Ozie with 6 pack in his belly and another 18 pack in his hands mouthing off loud words entire day and rioting at night is just a gentle person who needs to be hugged and cared for.
IIRC there was survey saying Indians are among highest users of mobiles everyday (not 400% sure though).
All the more reason for Telstra and Optus-Singtel to offer them better deals.
From my knowledge even constant staring at Oz's is also considered rude, not sure though if this applies to all goras. No one is perfect but bit of fine tuning is often required.
Classic case, topless or bikini clad goris on bondi or cronulla or jarvis or other beaches do like it when other goras stare at them but not by those "rude" desis. Stick a screwdriver in their head, will teach them a lesson.

Actually, desis are at fault here. They need to invest in good sunglasses before they head out to the beach!

Gaurav_S, whatever you are suggesting is nothing but a different form of R&Dh (Rona and Dhona) where the victim is victimized further by blaming the victims.

Aussies as less cultured and as loud and as boorish as we accuse the victims off. If in doubt, check out the new year revelries at Kings Cross and Circular Quay. Yes, I was there. And yes I was alone! And yes, was there through the night so much that I actually missed my train and slept on a platform!!! Of course there are areas in around Sydney or Melbourne or Brisbane where a normal human would not like to go.

If you notice, the attacks are primarily in and around Melbourne. Part of the reason is that NSW with a large immigrant population has been softened. So has been Queensland. Now it is Victoria's turn.

Again this is the last hurrah of the whiter than white Ozie.
bhavin

Post by bhavin »

Bhailog - Reading all the tips and comments given by the Cops as well as other well meaning Aussie citizens, I cannot help but recall the righteous outrage that was poured out, a year or two ago, by the media and people, in Aus land, over the comments of a Aussie muslim cleric saying that "indecently" clothed women begged to be raped or something similar. That it was their fault that their visible 'items' were tempting 'upright' men etc...

Aren't all the tips and hints etc being given out very similar... Don't use ipods, laptops, don't flash your wealth etc.. etc.. with the message being that these items are tempting similar 'upright' men and teens to commit crimes... How come we don't see such outrage against the cops for making such suggestions... :roll:
Last edited by bhavin on 03 Jun 2009 10:07, edited 1 time in total.
bhavin

Post by bhavin »

Gaurav_S wrote:
Keshav wrote: !! snip !!
Keshav bhai, the point I think being made here is to have some balance between using some common sense and bit manners while at large. Its not MUST but its better to be aware of such things then face some kind of hostility later in phoren. Lets accept it that some desis have habit of too much chattering on mobile in mother tounge especially while commuting. IIRC there was survey saying Indians are among highest users of mobiles everyday (not 400% sure though). Using lower tone while using mother tongue is better idea. From my knowledge even constant staring at Oz's is also considered rude, not sure though if this applies to all goras. No one is perfect but bit of fine tuning is often required.
Gauravji, I think the habit of talking loudly on phone or listening to radio etc.. are not just the domain of us poor SDRE's... I was recently in 'windy city' and using their commuter rail where every so often a message was relayed over speakers advising commuters to not talk loudly or play music such that it disturbs other commuters. I am sure that the message is a response to the general habit of various ethnicities using the system to do such things.. I do agree that we should be mindful of common courtesies not only in foreign countries but also in India but that is a poor excuse to justify the hate crimes.. Also, I would presume that India and China will have highest number of cellphone users in the world simply because of the population size... viz.. even if 100% of US had cellphones, that is equal to about 33% of desh population (@300 million population).. with cellphones being cheap and very accessible, it is but natural that the ratio would be skewed in our favor.. Just an observation.. Sorry to butt in between you and Keshav

mmasand wrote:You know there is a saying..'Too many cooks spoil the broth'...well exactly the case with the Indian students who had aspiring dreams of getting Residency and exploited the system to do so.Anyway I assure you its not only Indians who get attacked,hell all my Aussie friends from the countryside are damn scared to step foot out in footscray at nights coz they fear getting stabbed by druggies (aka homeless ppl without jobs who pop pills or inhale chemicals).

Yes no doubt a significant proportion of desis do irritate not only the locals but me too,often these guys switch on the music on loudspkr in the trains and speak loudly in their native language thus provoking an anti Indian-sentiment.Charity starts at home,so lets train these kids on such menial matters before they leave overseas,cmon we are in their country at the end of the day right!On train stations there is a common rule of leaving the right side of the elevator free so people in a hurry can walk up,but our desi kids dont notice such things or perhaps are not aware,which needs to be instilled in them.

gaurav_s,in regards to the ALP regime and relation with India,ALP has been quite cold over the last 20 years.Bob Hawke didn't really take advantage when Rajiv Gandhi was in ACT to foster trade relations.Also on the other hand China means a lot to them (so much so the K Rudd speaks fluent mandarin).Majority of their exports go to China plus being in the Asia Pacific region with a massive military might means they would want to be more friendly towards them.Lord John So who was the ex Mayor of Melbourne was and internationals students from China himself when he first came to Oz.During the APEC and ASEAN summit China with the help of Australia tried to boot out India but oz wouldnt relent as they knew India was a Democratic superpower and was self reliant.Nevertheless the Libs actually stuck their hand out to New Delhi after Howard's visit.They saw the potential and it is under their regime that trade exports and imports are with Australia to the tune of $1 billion each way.They even have 2 Indian origin candidates in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.Kamal Nath paid a low profile visit last yr to Canberra to say hi to the Labor party.

BTW If im not mistaken the Victorian Taxi Directorate had promised to have all cabs installed with safety screens after last years protest,I wonder then how this latest cabbie got attacked in Blackburn if all the cabs were equipped.Oh and all Silver top and 123 cabs do have cameras in them,so they would have a visual on the guy.VicPol need some serious training in investigation procedures,my roomie a Nepalese was mugged in sunshine when his phone got stolen,they kept trying to interrogate him over repeated phone calls upto a month as to whose phone it was(was another friends phone).And the funniest one being when a constable (sri lankan origin) left the police folder on the back of his divvyvan and drove off,only to leave me and my fellow staff and the dorm covered in CONFIDENTIAL notes! They shut the road and had to pick up every single piece,and the constable got a public shouting by his lady boss!
Gaurav_S wrote: Keshav bhai, the point I think being made here is to have some balance between using some common sense and bit manners while at large. Its not MUST but its better to be aware of such things then face some kind of hostility later in phoren. Lets accept it that some desis have habit of too much chattering on mobile in mother tounge especially while commuting. IIRC there was survey saying Indians are among highest users of mobiles everyday (not 400% sure though). Using lower tone while using mother tongue is better idea. From my knowledge even constant staring at Oz's is also considered rude, not sure though if this applies to all goras. No one is perfect but bit of fine tuning is often required.
I absolutely agree with you, Gaurav ji. How dare the SDRE talk in Heendee, the evil SDRE language!! They must be stabbed with screwdrivers onlee. That is such good madrassa logic that even Pukis should take note. And ofcourse, not leaving the right side of the elevator free, how dare they!! Since no pious Aussie bhai ever occupies the right side, neither do the pious Aussie ever ogle at wimmen's naked body in Bondi, it's only the evil yindoos & Indians who outrage the modesty of aussie wimmens. They must be racially abused onleee.

Good, I shall take note of this pious behaviour and if you see on the nooj that a firangi speaking loudly in English on his cellphone was racially abused, stabbed with screwdrivers & beaten black n blue, you know who the man behind the halal act is. :lol: :wink:
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

The case of Aussies and the hypocritical gaandus in the west is one of sheer guilt. They act all so uppity and as if they are the guardians of human rights, civility, ethics, morals, rule of laws, and whatever else there exists in the so-called free-world. And these are the very same oiseaules who instituted 1) apartheid, 2) slave trade, 3) exterminating the aborigines, 4) colonialism, 5) threw two nuke bombs on civilians, 6) "with me or against me" politics, 7) LoN, versailles, UN, WB and other flunkies, 8 ) one rule for them, and another for others etc. etc. and more. While I dont agree with Chavez or Ahmedi-whats-his-name or Kim-the-buffoon, someone needs to question the hypocrites in the west about how so uppity the color of their skin makes em. And slowly, Indians are standing up and protesting. The gates opened with maaki, and will remain open till we are treated equally.

At the end of the day, its a war of ideas: the idea imposed by an inclusive India with diverse cultures despite its warts and moles which it slowly corrects, or the idea of a hypocritical 20% of the world population co-habiting in 60% of the world mass, cavorting and consuming a large share of the world resources and preaching to the rest of the population, or the idea of an order that flows from the top to the bottom in the form of a kleptocracy that passes along useless verbiage such as proletariat, bourgeois etc. to keep the bottom from realizing its true potential. There is only one idea that is sustainable in the long run, and we know what that is. We chose that in a bumbling way, based on our own traditional wisdom and after many trials and errors in the past. If inclusive India has to go up, the hypocritical west has to necessarily go down and so will the mass-murderers & co with them, and vice versa. The twain shall never meet cos these ideas are unsustainable together and unforgiving in direction.

The cover-up in the west is due to the paranoia of flopping, the insecurities caused by realization of brahman, the vulnerable veneer popping agape, and more. Onwards, I will go re-run my Bolero......
Mathew G

Post by Mathew G »

Chandragupta wrote:Since no pious Aussie bhai ever occupies the right side, neither do the pious Aussie ever ogle at wimmen's naked body in Bondi, it's only the evil yindoos & Indians who outrage the modesty of aussie wimmens.
Risking warnings from moderators (esp Narayanan) for treading off topic, but who finds oversized anglos sexy these days... C'mon..the very reason these hairy ones tan umpteen times is to look like our girls but still they end up getting skin cancer.

Here's a mugshot of a pious Aussie shirley.

And a comment from one pious Oz observer:
"No wonder she has problems finding men, she would scare a bulldog from a butchers shop with a head like that!"

Stan_Savljevic wrote:The case of Aussies and the hypocritical gaandus in the west is one of sheer guilt. They act all so uppity and as if they are the guardians of human rights, civility, ethics, morals, rule of laws, and whatever else there exists in the so-called free-world. And these are the very same oiseaules who instituted 1) apartheid, 2) slave trade, 3) exterminating the aborigines, 4) colonialism, 5) threw two nuke bombs on civilians, 6) "with me or against me" politics, 7) LoN, versailles, UN, WB and other flunkies, 8 ) one rule for them, and another for others etc. etc. and more. While I dont agree with Chavez or Ahmedi-whats-his-name or Kim-the-buffoon, someone needs to question the hypocrites in the west about how so uppity the color of their skin makes em. And slowly, Indians are standing up and protesting. The gates opened with maaki, and will remain open till we are treated equally.

At the end of the day, its a war of ideas: the idea imposed by an inclusive India with diverse cultures despite its warts and moles which it slowly corrects,
Excellent post Stanji. But I am wondering shouldnt we have to do all that those uppity westerners did to replace them. IMO, we would have to do exactly what they did, give two hoots for everything and anything when its about our interest but preach others about the morals.....
That means have one set of rules for us and another(tougher) set for others. If we do that we would simply become an indic version of them, isnt it!
So, its not really clash of ideas, simply change of guard with the old guard putting some violent resistance........
or the idea of a hypocritical 20% of the world population co-habiting in 60% of the world mass, cavorting and consuming a large share of the world resources and preaching to the rest of the population, or the idea of an order that flows from the top to the bottom in the form of a kleptocracy that passes along useless verbiage such as proletariat, bourgeois etc. to keep the bottom from realizing its true potential. There is only one idea that is sustainable in the long run, and we know what that is. We chose that in a bumbling way, based on our own traditional wisdom and after many trials and errors in the past. If inclusive India has to go up, the hypocritical west has to necessarily go down and so will the mass-murderers & co with them, and vice versa. The twain shall never meet cos these ideas are unsustainable together and unforgiving in direction.

The cover-up in the west is due to the paranoia of flopping, the insecurities caused by realization of brahman, the vulnerable veneer popping agape, and more. Onwards, I will go re-run my Bolero......
I agree that this part. A great post saar.
Last edited by johneeG on 03 Jun 2009 15:36, edited 1 time in total.

I think that all Indians in the land of Oz should start sporting khukris or kirpans.It's probably time for vigilantes like Bronson in "Death Wish" to deal with those Oz penal pigs.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Keshav wrote:

No coz Im Indian,not the stereotypical intoxicated 'Aussie' who is aggressive by nature! What would you do if a gora was slaughtering a cow n a busy marketplace in Varnasi? Butcher him probably...!

So lets respect their traditions too,some of these kids come from villages,never seen a metro in india either.They stare down women as if its a novelty.You can't clap with one hand right....so lets first fix our own backyard,then if anything happens take them to task.

The Indian media has been very 'irresponsible' in their reporting,they relied on youtube videos to show the kids being dragged from the sit in crowd at the Flinders/Swanson intersection,but these were not even indians,but members of the socialist left (aka trots) who have long known to disrupt rallies.

Besides the 18 kids who got arrested,they broke stained glass above the clocks at the station,so rightfully they got picked up and they should be very lucky to not have charges pressed against them on grounds of damage to public property which would be subject to deportation after spending a few weeks at Maribyrnong detention facility.In the past VicPol has know to be brutal but now they had powers to get these guys out as their permit for the protest had expired.If they stayed there and disrupted the trams during the daytime then people would be more agitated and vent their anger against them.

Philip wrote:I think that all Indians in the land of Oz should start sporting khukris or kirpans.It's probably time for vigilantes like Bronson in "Death Wish" to deal with those Oz penal pigs.
Actually, I was just thinking the same. Why not have them under the shirt or belt or something and display them when those aussie teens try to get adventerous(specially at nights in trains)?
Of course, if they have a gun, then its useless.

Philip wrote:I think that all Indians in the land of Oz should start sporting khukris or kirpans.It's probably time for vigilantes like Bronson in "Death Wish" to deal with those Oz penal pigs.

My brother, who emigrated to the US in the early 70s when the US was having an affair with the Shah of Iran told a story of a time when a gunman was seen walking up the street leading to the apartment block where he lived with a lot of Indian and Iranian students.

The Indians promptly went into their apartments, and so did the Iranians. But the Iranians came out with guns of their own...

mmasand wrote:

No coz Im Indian,not the stereotypical intoxicated 'Aussie' who is aggressive by nature! What would you do if a gora was slaughtering a cow n a busy marketplace in Varnasi? Butcher him probably...!

So lets respect their traditions too,some of these kids come from villages,never seen a metro in india either.They stare down women as if its a novelty.You can't clap with one hand right....so lets first fix our own backyard,then if anything happens take them to task.
Please, enough of your lahori logic. Just because the intoxicated Aussis is aggressive by nature, the Indians should just GUBO? Where does this madrassa inspired analogy of cow slaughter comes from? Are we hurting their religious sentiments? What do you mean by "their traditions"?? Not talking in Hindi? Or not ogling at women? These are traditions? As if the Indians are sex hungry horny animals who salivate & howl when they see naked australian women. You're trying way too hard to find faults in Indians, rather than address the problem at hand.

Time to launch an online petition calling for conceal-and-carry firearm permits to all phoren students in Ozland due to the rapidly deteriorating security situ there.

A million signatures on such a petition will spread awareness, maybe make the mainstream media as well, who knows?
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

Please, enough of your lahori logic. Just because the intoxicated Aussis is aggressive by nature, the Indians should just GUBO? Where does this madrassa inspired analogy of cow slaughter comes from? Are we hurting their religious sentiments? What do you mean by "their traditions"?? Not talking in Hindi? Or not ogling at women? These are traditions? As if the Indians are sex hungry horny animals who salivate & howl when they see naked australian women. You're trying way too hard to find faults in Indians, rather than address the problem at hand.
Lahori logic huh? neways i should have used the word 'customs' rather...no im not justifying the aussies here...all im saying is first lets fix our own issues....we exploited loopholes in the skilled migration program....didnt take up jobs which we were supposed to,and thus created a saturity in the lower income level careers of the already distraught farmer who moved to the urban side to feed himself bcoz of the draught...even the REAL students who came just to get a degree and some RELEVANT work experience were facing the wrath of the labor regime when laws were changed due to the actions of a few...

When FISA was asked to put lead the safety task force in March 08 they refused as they believed that it wouldn't change anything...they were given a chance and lost it..! Every country has UNSAFE zones....in this case being the western suburbs of melbourne....the indians chose to reside there bcoz they wanted to save every penny so they could supplement their tuition fees and besides braking the law of working more than 20hrs/week...im trying to show the other side of the coin too!

Maybe you should read my previous posts where i have also detailed the Aussie inaction which led to this...for instance how did sravan kumar reach australia when his father could not afford a airfare but signed a sponsorship letter declaring that he would cover all costs of tuition(around $20k) and living expenses($8k) a year...it was a screw up in the visa process....so such ppl would have never been there in the first place!
Last edited by mmasand on 03 Jun 2009 19:05, edited 1 time in total.

mmasand wrote:

Well Indians did not defile any religious symbols right or for that matter national symbols.
So as per your logic we Indians talk loud and do not speak in english so getting bashed up is our fault. Then any aussie or for that matter any gora or gori talking in englees in India should be bashed up and that too in phoren accent. They should talk in kangleese, hinglish, tamengleese etc etc onlee.

I went back several posts and found some referene to Indian kids ogling at Aussie women. Was this one of the reasons for the Aussie anger? Did the kids indulge in any uninvited sexual advances against Aussie women thinking they would be 'easy lay'? Was there any harassemnent involved? None of these, and certainly not ogling, call for the kind of retaliation the Indian kids suffered, but if in fact any sexual harassement was involvement, then, and only then, I would say there is a point to be made that Indian kids must behave themselves. Else its blaming the victim, and inferiority-ridden cowardice, "show the other cheeck" syndrome.

mmasand wrote: Lahori logic huh? neways i should have used the word 'customs' rather...no im not justifying the aussies here...all im saying is first lets fix our own issues....we exploited loopholes in the skilled migration program....didnt take up jobs which we were supposed to,and thus created a saturity in the lower income level careers of the already distraught farmer who moved to the urban side to feed himself bcoz of the draught...even the REAL students who came just to get a degree and some RELEVANT work experience were facing the wrath of the labor regime when laws were changed due to the actions of a few...!
Hmm let us see Indians are being sermonized about settling down by a culture and people who committed genocide on the original owners of the land and reduced them to penury and despair. Indians will take up jobs that come their way and mind you when they do those it is some Australian at other end that hires them so it is a two way street why is no employer being bashed up? Simple reason is that people like you who echo the mainstream opinion of a aggressive racist society which believes that anybody who comes to them should do so on their knees. No sir we wont! You think bashing some of us up is bravery? Or you are trying to tell me that honourable Ozzies are teaching those poor students a lesson in civilization? Ever heard of apartheid sir?
When FISA was asked to put lead the safety task force in March 08 they refused as they believed that it wouldn't change anything...they were given a chance and lost it..! Every country has UNSAFE zones....in this case being the western suburbs of melbourne....the indians chose to reside there bcoz they wanted to save every penny so they could supplement their tuition fees and besides braking the law of working more than 20hrs/week...im trying to show the other side of the coin too!
No matter where they are or what they do as long as they are not part of violent gangs beating people up is unacceptable and is racist.
Maybe you should read my previous posts where i have also detailed the Aussie inaction which led to this...for instance how did sravan kumar reach australia when his father could not afford a airfare but signed a sponsorship letter declaring that he would cover all costs of tuition(around $20k) and living expenses($8k) a year...it was a screw up in the visa process....so such ppl would have never been there in the first place!
So Australian visa office screws up but it still is the fault of Indians. I used to believe that Lahori logic had its limits but you have taken it to new heights.

PS: On the whole racist bit argument I have an interesting tale to tell. A while back when I used to be in Queendom and was working there I noticed that in my morning train (not London tube) commute I was the only guy amongst commuters who was stopped daily and had his pass checked while the other were let in without questions asked. This used to happen despite the fact that I had a monthly pass and the duty persons used to be the same each day. Technically the person was well within his right to stop anyone but it really got to my nerves and one day I told the guy that he was racist and the station is using discriminatory practices. The station guy stiffened his stance and told me that it was his power to check and I could do nothing about it. Well one flash of my UN Laissez Passer and a threat to unleash a barrage of barristers (all friends) from Oxbidge to sue him, his company and the train service for racism saw an apology being fished in 5 seconds flat. Even I was astonished at the pace of his downhill skiing. Needless to say I received a courteous good morning and through pass from next day onwards!
Lesson 101 stand for your rights, give two hoots to what they think follow the law and use the law to shut their racist trap up. Care about laws and not rules or what they think.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/ ... 62,00.html
As the Government response gathered pace, an Indian graduate revealed he endured racial taunts and verbal abuse from university officials while studying in Melbourne.

Richard Harvey, 38, said he was shocked after university employees ridiculed him when he requested toilet paper and drinking water be made available on campus.

The hospitality graduate was studying at the Meridian International School in 2007 when he asked that the supplies be made available.

"There was no toilet paper and no water to drink, it was unbelievable," Mr Harvey said. "I asked a number of times and was ignored."

After three months of lobbying officials, a quality control supervisor allegedly told him: "You come from a country where people s--- in a field and you're expecting us to provide for you here."

"I was just shocked," Mr Harvey said. "I had a meeting with the director of the university but he wasn't interested . . . I am yet to receive any sort of apology."
"We are being terrorised . . . these people are terrorising us. I feel like I am living in a concentration camp," he said.
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

rkirankr wrote:
Well Indians did not defile any religious symbols right or for that matter national symbols.
So as per your logic we Indians talk loud and do not speak in english so getting bashed up is our fault. Then any aussie or for that matter any gora or gori talking in englees in India should be bashed up and that too in phoren accent. They should talk in kangleese, hinglish, tamengleese etc etc onlee.
Certainly we dont insult other national symbols or religious values....but to them religion is not as big as their customs and manners are...they judge people by their attitude,i mean its common sense not to block the entrance to a train station by a mob of 20 guys....just move aside by a few metres guys....the students going there are not the techies from bangalore or hyderabad like the US.

Besides the attacks are not being done by adult educated aussies....its a bunch of reject teens simply bcoz they would rob anyone anyway...but if u had a to choice to rob someone who is an immigrant and has little money to hire a lawyer and carries the latest of the nokia series and commutes from and to uni with the newest notebook on the train in the most unsafe side of town what do u expect..???WHY DO WE DEFY LOGIC?? its like asking a lone woman to walk on the streets of delhi at 2am in the nite! TAKE PRECAUTIONARY MEASURES....message is simple!
munna wrote:So Australian visa office screws up but it still is the fault of Indians. I used to believe that Lahori logic had its limits but you have taken it to new heights.
Very much their fault bcoz of greed..but we took advantage of the situation...so we are facing a backlash...im surprised...that no furore has been created to genuine acts of apartheid in the gulf where thousands of indian workers are subject to discrimination officially by law!A consulate the size of a canteen is serving 1.4 million Indians in the UAE....wehre is the foreign minisrty then....oh i forgot...that all the babus have their black money stashed there in real estate and hotels and prostitution!

Everyone who applies for a visa to US/west, comes with the intention of staying, and as such they would be a bit economical with the truth during the visa interview :-). Come on, there is nothing wrong with this. At least in US, the authorities knows this, and in fact, there is an element of acceptance that people do that, but at the end of the day, they come here to work hard and thats what makes America.

Australia is not a 'racially intolerant country', insists Aussie Dy. PM
Under fire over the spate of attacks on Indian students, the Australian government on Wednesday insisted that it had "no tolerance" for racial violence.

mmasand wrote: Certainly we dont insult other national symbols or religious values....but to them religion is not as big as their customs and manners are...they judge people by their attitude,i mean its common sense not to block the entrance to a train station by a mob of 20 guys....just move aside by a few metres guys....the students going there are not the techies from bangalore or hyderabad like the US.
I do not care what they think or their customs are! Democracies are built on tolerance and when the so called developed world is short on it then they have no right to ask the immigrants to change when they cannot adjust themselves. I repeat and again say I dont care for their feelings, rules or customs all that matters is that no law is broken. In absence of no law being broken no one especially self loathing migrated elite on this forum have no right to judge the fellow compatriots.
Besides the attacks are not being done by adult educated aussies....its a bunch of reject teens simply bcoz they would rob anyone anyway...but if u had a to choice to rob someone who is an immigrant and has little money to hire a lawyer and carries the latest of the nokia series and commutes from and to uni with the newest notebook on the train in the most unsafe side of town what do u expect..???WHY DO WE DEFY LOGIC?? its like asking a lone woman to walk on the streets of delhi at 2am in the nite! TAKE PRECAUTIONARY MEASURES....message is simple!
Who so ever does it its immaterial! The fact is violence, murder and mayhem is being committed on legal student residents of Australia who contribute in billions to sustain the education exports of the country. It is Australia's responsibility to protect them period. Any other explanation is support for racism and bigotry which seems to be the hallmark of the said place.
Very much their fault bcoz of greed..but we took advantage of the situation...so we are facing a backlash...im surprised...that no furore has been created to genuine acts of apartheid in the gulf where thousands of indian workers are subject to discrimination officially by law!A consulate the size of a canteen is serving 1.4 million Indians in the UAE....wehre is the foreign minisrty then....oh i forgot...that all the babus have their black money stashed there in real estate and hotels and prostitution
Greed is good and we shall use all things by hook or by crook to create more opportunities for Indians and you have no right to judge or advocate/explain away racist violence against them and I really mean that your almost on the verge of justifying racism. Racism thrives on the defining characteristic of otherness and by reinforcing stereo types you are helping criminals!
As far as Indians in Gulf are concerned they are migrant labour and not student residents and hence legally there is only so much that we can extract from their home governments. In oz Indian students pay more fee than domestic students and then work to provide cheap labour in the economy and that too while abiding by laws and what do they get? Death, violence and broken bones and you are advocating all that in the name of some useless gripes shame on you sir.
Bottomline, none of your arguments and gripes can explain away dead sons and racism I hope you understand that before posting again.
Last edited by munna on 03 Jun 2009 19:42, edited 1 time in total.

CRamS wrote:Everyone who applies for a visa to US/west, comes with the intention of staying, and as such they would be a bit economical with the truth during the visa interview :-). Come on, there is nothing wrong with this. At least in US, the authorities knows this, and in fact, there is an element of acceptance that people do that, but at the end of the day, they come here to work hard and thats what makes America.
Corrections sir I have declined permanent residency in Both Queendom and Amirkhan. I dont care about feeling of host countries because migration is a transaction involving your tax paying ability on one side and getting a western passport in lieu. I spit on any passport other than Indian. Jai Hind

From the link above, some interesting comments. India's reaction seems to be turning a bit of heat on the Australians. Here's what vindicates earlier what i said, that Austrailians have to address the aggression in their society. Seems these guys beat up all sorts of folks with equal gusto.
This sudden concern from the government angers me immensely!!!!!...While I fully sympathise with international students who are being attacked violently...HOW LONG have we been writing in here???...beseeching that someone DO something about the knife epidemic,bashings and pathetically lenient judicial system,who all but CONDONE violent behaviour by slapping offenders wrists and letting them go without punishment!!! NOW that another country's government is condemning us....NOW our idiot prime minister says that offenders who attack Indian students will feel "the full force of the law"!!!!!!!!! What about the rest of us Mr. Rudd???...Don't OUR children matter as much as the international kids???? What about the fact that my own son was bashed unconscious and left on the side of the road a year and a half ago????...and that fact that his offenders got off scott free,while he had his facial bones kicked in???? Why don't the rest of Australia matter???...Is it because you don't want to look like the shabby man that you are in the eyes of India??? All of a sudden....I feel racially VILIFIED myself!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by: sharon of melbourne 4:36pm today
OUR leading national security expert has joined urgent efforts to halt brutal attacks against Indian students." You have got to be kidding. So all the years of attacks on other residents of Australia nothing ever gets done, now beause there are a few attacks on Indian students we throw all resources to fix the problem? Mr Rudd you are a disgrace, which country do you think you are the Prime minister of???? we should be stopping attacks on all people not just Indian students.....How about looking after the people that elected you and stop putting all your effort into saving face. The violence issue is against all people not just a select minority, try for a few days to be a leader, instead of a politician
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

munna wrote:
I do not care what they think or their customs are! Democracies are built on tolerance and when the so called developed world is short on it then they have no right to ask the immigrants to change when they cannot adjust themselves. I repeat and again say I dont care for their feelings, rules or customs all that matters is that no law is broken. In absence of no law being broken no one especially self loathing migrated elite on this forum have no right to judge the fellow compatriots.
If you dont give a damn of what their customs or respect them are then u dont deserve it, how can they reciprocate if u dont contribute
munna wrote: Who so ever does it its immaterial! The fact is violence, murder and mayhem is being committed on legal student residents of Australia who contribute in billions to sustain the education exports of the country. It is Australia's responsibility to protect them period. Any other explanation is support for racism and bigotry which seems to be the hallmark of the said place.
Rightly said there...we do contribute a major chunk....and we do deserve protection...but why blame the cops for it....i have explained before what led to this...it is the outrightly greedy shop-front providers(not the state owned universities) from which the students are being attacked bcoz support services do not exist on these campuses....no student accommodation...which leads to live in a crime prone area...http://www.abc.net.au/rn/talks/bbing/st ... 108907.htm
munna wrote: Greed is good and we shall use all things by hook or by crook to create more opportunities for Indians and you have no right to judge or advocate/explain away racist violence against them and I really mean that your almost on the verge of justifying racism. Racism thrives on the defining characteristic of otherness and by reinforcing stereo types you are helping criminals!
As far as Indians in Gulf are concerned they are migrant labour and not student residents and hence legally there is only so much that we can extract from their home governments. In oz Indian students more fee than domestic students and then work to provide cheap labour in the economy and that too while abiding by laws and what do they get? Death, violence and broken bones and you are advocating all that in the name of some useless gripes shame on you sir.
Bottomline, none of your arguments and gripes can explain away dead sons and racism I hope you understan that before posting again.
What do you have to say about this....http://www.theage.com.au/national/rogue ... -3tms.html

Colleges operated by Indians....!! besides there are hundreds of rouge colleges in NSW and VIC breaching the ESOS Code everyday...but who patronises them...who sends students to them....ask this question first....PLACEMENT AGENCIES IN INDIA....even SM Krishna acknowledged this today ..better late than never!

Recruiters and education in agents in India who are not regulated as of yet are not scrutinised as to what advice they give their students and where they send them,Indians in Melbourne team with agents in india to send these kids to be duped in Oz...wo thats why i am saying do what we can do from our end first...don't rely on the Oz govt...I mean if we had proper education in India,these students would never be there in the first place.

Similar to the system the Indian ministry of overseas indian affairs implemented of scrutinising recruitment agencies importing labour should be done in this case too.Insurance schemes should be mandatory for all students leaving India funded by the govt and students themselves.

I hope u understand what im trying to put across Munna! Dont get me wrong...I was a student in melbourne for 4 years,State President of the apex body representing International students(NLC) and the National Union of Students, we adopted the the Victorian Overseas student experience taskforce...the recommendations are being adopted in parliament in the next session which will protect the industry from the scum which have duped thousands of Indians in the dirty scheme of 'PR'

mmasand wrote:

Lahori logic huh? neways i should have used the word 'customs' rather...no im not justifying the aussies here...all im saying is first lets fix our own issues....we exploited loopholes in the skilled migration program....didnt take up jobs which we were supposed to,and thus created a saturity in the lower income level careers of the already distraught farmer who moved to the urban side to feed himself bcoz of the draught...even the REAL students who came just to get a degree and some RELEVANT work experience were facing the wrath of the labor regime when laws were changed due to the actions of a few...

Masandji, you're missing the whole point here. It's well in their right to refuse jobs to Indians, and if they cannot tolerate people 'who shit in fields' (as some pious Aussie said) they can very well ban our entry. Indians will find some other country to spend their money in. But they don't! They advertise themselves as a multi-cultural society where all is good. And then they bash up Indians because of the color of our skin. Do you think no other immigrant ogles at women, or talks in their mother tongue? There are tonnes of Italians in Ozzie land & their accent can be quiet a pain in the arse, but do we see them getting brushed up? Heck, the OFCONs have no balls to go & thrash the Lebanese or the Arabs because they know they will retaliate, so they vent out their anger on the timid Indians who are either driving cabs or studying and not selling coke & beating up Aussies like the former.

By your post, it seems that you justify the violence, like saying "Yeh to hona hi tha, yeh Indians waha gaye hi kyun?" (It was bound to happen, the Indians brought it upon themselves).

And your point about Sravan Kumar's father not having enough moolah & that he should'nt have been there in the first place, what is the need to raise such points? Does it justify the fact that the poor guy was beaten up, thrashed only because he was an Indian?
Certainly we dont insult other national symbols or religious values....but to them religion is not as big as their customs and manners are...they judge people by their attitude,i mean its common sense not to block the entrance to a train station by a mob of 20 guys....just move aside by a few metres guys....the students going there are not the techies from bangalore or hyderabad like the US.

Arey bhai, Indians always defy logic, don't you know? Indians sale hai hi aise, they should be thrashed, looted & shot in the head. Kill us all. :lol:

Don't mind me asking this(and I certainly don't mean any offence), are you employed or living in Australia?
mmasand

Post by mmasand »

chandragupta : not currently just came back last yr...but heading back in july.its just that there is a frustration among student leaders that both govts are not doing enough to fix the situation due to their trade relations....DFAT want the money so they wont tighten their laws...on the other hand the indian govt is not willing to o-operate with AEI and and OTTE in regulating the agents neither will they allow the High Commission to have a diplomat based in New Delhi to do the same...We tried tried and tried and managed to shut down 4 colleges in total...and stormed CQU's rockhampton campus after the mess up in Sydney and melbourne...http://nlc.edu.au/media_release2007_sub.php?newsID=57.

I explained the sequence which has led up to all this and will get worse if we reject the core issue rather than fix the problem from the grassroots ...viewtopic.php?f=1&t=3925&start=320