Indian Railways Thread

Gaurav_S

Re: Indian Railways Thread

Post by Gaurav_S »

More detailed list of stations to be upgraded but not complete yet. This is from IR site budget highlights. My take is remaining stations to be upgraded are yet to be deciced.
Some of these stations are
CST Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Howrah, Sealdah, Bhubaneswar, New Delhi,Lucknow, Varanasi,Amritsar, Kanpur, Guwahati, Jaipur, Chennai Central,Tiruvananthapuram Central,Secunderabad, Tirupati, Bangalore City,Baiyapanahali (Bangalore), Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Habibganj, Gaya Jn., AgraCantt., Mathura Jn., Chandigarh, Kolkata, New Jalpaiguri, Majerhat, Mangalore,Porbandar, Anand Vihar, Bijwasan, Ajmer Jn. and Puri.
I guess judgement is made based on not only revenue generation and also how many phoren tourists flock it which is obvious.
Adarsh Stations
Madam, we will develop Adarsh stations with basic facilities such as drinking water, adequate toilets, catering services, waiting rooms and dormitories especially for lady passengers, better signage and other basic facilities are universally available. This year we are taking up 375 stations for inclusion as Adarsh stations.
List of Adarsh stations can be found here in budget highligts pdf.

http://www.indianrailways.gov.in/Budget ... 009-10.pdf
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

ashish raval wrote:
Notice the number of stations from West Bengal : 3 blatant favouratism. Making WB stations world class which gives 1/4th revenue than that of stations in Gujarat is absolutely bo*ke*s. The only thing I like is Izzat scheme which helps poor travel around cheaply. Very nice step.
you think howrah, sealdah and NJP generate 1/4th revenue of stations in gujarat ? :lol:

AFAIK only ahmedabad and surat are the big league rail stations in Guj. also, do note that this is an incomplete list. anyone has the complete list ?
Did you ever visited Gujarat, if yes you may not have said what you have said ? BTW, I have visited those stations in West Bengal. I dont mind what is done in WB because it ultimately is helpful to country but it should be in proportion to the revenue it generates. IMO, I would say even Rajkot, Valsad, Bharuch, Gandhidham will be generating more revenues than those stations. There are 4 big trains to Mumbai from Rajkot / day and I dont recount a single day in the year that you can get reservation if it is not done atleast 30 days in advance. Sometimes the waiting lists is above 600. Same applies to trains from Ahmedabad to mumbai.

Having said this, I had mis-judged on the basis of partial list being propagated earlier. Sorry about it. Peace.

ashish, yes, I have visited ahmedabad very recently and suffice to say that there are any number of stations in WB that are as large or handle as many passengers. just off the top of my head I can name at least 3-4 of them.
you have no idea of the number of passengers carried by howrah and sealdah, to say nothing of the freight ! it doesn't even bear comparison.
NOTE : I'm not disputing that mamata is biased (which is a no-brainer) but your assertions about howrah sealdah etc frankly make no sense.

this is just about sealdah :
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1080815/j ... 697453.jsp
Sealdah is among the busiest railway stations in the country, the average daily traffic being 15 lakh people. More than 600 suburban trains (Up and Down) and 50 long-distance ones ply to and from the station every day.
keep in mind that the entire daily passenger load of Indian railways is around 13 million, sealdah alone handles about 12 % of the passengers carried by Indian railways ! :eek:

howrah handles lesser number of suburban trains as it is primarily a long distance trains station. this is what wiki says. unofrtunately the irfca site is down so couldn't corroborate the data.
Trains from this station serve the Kolkata urban area via the Kolkata suburban railway, the state of West Bengal, and most major cities of India. Its twenty-three platforms handle over three hundred trains each day, serving more than a million passengers. It is served by two zones of the Indian Railways: Eastern Railway and South Eastern Railway.
the reasons why stations serving kolkata tend to be busier than those in gujarat are not too far to seek,
a) west bengal is the most densely populated state in India, it is four times more densel;y populated than gujarat !!

b) in eastern India, due to lack of development of road infrastructure, trains are the mainstay
of transport, that is not true for states like gujarat.

c) kolkata is one of the most important rail nodes of the country, connected to all the metros, not to mention the gateway to the northeast.

all this doesn't include the freight carried which too is considerable. why ?
think thermal power, think coal. then you have the daily demands of the city itself.
and of course there is still the kolkata port.

the demands on these two stations have grown so huge that two entirely new stations kolkata station and shalimar had to be created just to give some breathing space to sealdah and howrah respectively.
There are 4 big trains to Mumbai from Rajkot / day and I dont recount a single day in the year that you can get reservation if it is not done atleast 30 days in advance.
that is to one destination. here you have that situation to ALL stations, 365 days a year !!
virtually each and every long distance train departing from sld/hwh has extra compartments attached to it at the last moment to accommodate the huge number of wait-listed passengers. what is usually a special case elsewhere has become a necessity here, so much so that travel agents are supremely confident that a person with waiting list no 70-80 will get a seat !! :wink:

just a tidbit, sealdah was at one time the busiest station in the world by train frequency, with a train departing every 52 seconds on average during peak hours. this was in the mid 90's.

==============
why on earth did I write so much on an irrelevant issue ? well mostly because somehow I'm very itchy to wrong information. call me pedantic or whatever, a BRFite is expected to be sufficiently aware of an issue before he/she starts commenting on it, this much is expected.
regards.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

^^ Ok. Rahul I agree that number of passengers will be significantly larger but my assertion was only about higher revenue generating routes. Anyway, I didnt knew the complete list and that played a part in my comment. I do agree that Railway needs to be proactive in place where road infrastructure may be relatively less developed.

Rahul I agree that number of passengers will be significantly larger but my assertion was only about higher revenue generating routes.
ashish, no offence but you will be way off target on that assertion too. the statistics shows that together, hwh and sealdah cater to about 15% of all passengers carried by the whole of Indian railways daily !

there is absolutely no way the revenue generated will be lower. in fact if figures are available on revenues generated by routes, I suspect ahmedabad/surat/rajkot will be at the similar level as stations like jamshedpur/burdwan/asansol etc.

but all this is just hair-splitting ! :P sorry for my pedantic streak !
Anyway, I didnt knew the complete list and that played a part in my comment.
in fact I agree wholeheartedly with that comment ! :mrgreen:

as I see now, you made the right comment for the wrong reasons. here is the updated list posted by gaurav_s.
CST Mumbai, Pune, Nagpur, Howrah, Sealdah, Bhubaneswar, New Delhi,Lucknow, Varanasi,Amritsar, Kanpur, Guwahati, Jaipur, Chennai Central,Tiruvananthapuram Central,Secunderabad, Tirupati, Bangalore City,Baiyapanahali (Bangalore), Ahmedabad, Bhopal, Habibganj, Gaya Jn., AgraCantt., Mathura Jn., Chandigarh, Kolkata, New Jalpaiguri, Majerhat, Mangalore,Porbandar, Anand Vihar, Bijwasan, Ajmer Jn. and Puri.
the ones in bold are in WB ! :mrgreen: of that I can understand the need to improve NJP but spending money on making majerhat or kolkata station (which after all is just built) world class should have been spent on stations more in need of facelift.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

^^ Western railways transfers highest number of passengers perday according to their website. Out of 14 millions passengers travelling per day in Indian railway, 6 million travel using western railway which is nearly 40% of people. If we discount mumbai suburban passengers which are nearly 3 million, we still have 3 million passengers travelling per day which are mostly from Gujarat or passes through it. This 3 million is clearly higher than 2.2 million carried by Eastern Railways. For this reason I dont believe that Railways in West Bengal generates more revenue than Gujarat. I may dig in some more and come up with accurate statistics. BTW Railway routes in Gujarat are more than 6800 km which is higher than 4500 kms in WB.

could I have the links to go with the data please ? I couldn't find the data for WR and SER.
If we discount mumbai suburban passengers which are nearly 3 million, we still have 3 million passengers travelling per day which are mostly from Gujarat.
what ? other than gujarat WR serves :
Western Railway serves the entire state of Gujarat, the eastern portion of Rajasthan, some portions of Western Madhya Pradesh, and coastal Maharashtra.
these places contribute nothing ? :shock:
This 3 million is clearly higher than 2.2 million carried by Eastern Railways.
ah, but the HQ of south-eastern railway is also in kolkata. count it in too !
and then tell us the figures. and do give the other parts of WR their due weightage.
(p.s found the data for ER, it says 2.7 mn/day not 2.2
https://www.easternrailway.gov.in/erweb ... tatics.asp)
For this reason I dont believe that Railways in West Bengal generates more revenue than Gujarat.
there is no such thing as "revenue generated by states", IR isn't organised like that. for all practical purposes it is not even a quantity that can be defined in the Indian context.

now wait a bit, I didn't realise we were discussing WB vs gujarat ( :roll: ), I had no intention of indulging in a juvenile pi$$ing contest !
I'm sure you had none too !

your initial comment was :
Making WB stations world class which gives 1/4th revenue than that of stations in Gujarat is absolutely bo*ke*s.
with reference to 3 particular stations, 2 of which are among the busiest in India.
this was a very illogical and uninformed comment to say the least and I put in the relevant info to correct it. I used a known relevant metric i.e passengers carried/day for the station.

using the data for zones has no bearing on this discussion since zone /= a station included in the zone. a zone may carry 5 mn/day through 50 small stations or it may carry 4 mn/day through 20. zone data means nothing to this discussion. (I would still like to have the sources though, thanks in advance ! :) )
BTW Railway routes in Gujarat are more than 6800 km which is higher than 4500 kms in WB.
thanks for the info. could I have the source too ? it is nice to have the data.
btw, this data point actually bolsters my argument that railways is much less important to gujarat.
calculate rail km/ sq km of area :
gujarat : 0.035 km/ sq km
wb : 0.051 km/ sq km !! almost 150% of that of gujarat !

now do you get my point ? at least a part of it ?
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Rahul M wrote:could I have the links to go with the data please ? I couldn't find the data for WR and SER.
Hi I just found link here,http://www.wr.indianrail.gov.in/introduction.htm
Western railway is primarily concerned with Gujarat. Now here are the divisions for it
Mumbai, Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Ratlam, Rajkot and Bhavnagar. I am discounting 3 million mumbai suburban passengers (which are mainly from coastal north west maharastra going in and out of mumbai every day) which if added totals 6 million passengers / day. Rajasthan is no longer a part of Western railway since it got merged in North-West and West Central railway. Now if you think Ratlam in MP is a significant contributor to the route, I dont know what to say and I dont believe MP contributes a million passengers/day to it.

We keep Kolkata out because my original issue dealt with WB stations - Kolkata station definately needs to be world class for sure due to ample reasons. I agree that I may have quoted an 3 year old figure about number of passengers being 2.2m and not 2.7m. Thanks for correcting it. Now, with respect to South East railway being counted in then you have to count in additional 3 million ferried within mumbai by western railway too in addition to 3 million non-mumbai contribution.
there is no such thing as "revenue generated by states", IR isn't organised like that. for all practical purposes it is not even a quantity that can be defined in the Indian context.
I mean revenue generating routes and not states in this context.
now wait a bit, I didn't realise we were discussing WB vs gujarat ( :roll: ), I had no intention of indulging in a juvenile pi$$ing contest !
I'm sure you had none too !
Of course not.
With reference to 3 particular stations, 2 of which are among the busiest in India.
this as a very illogical and uninformed comment to say the least and I put in the relevant info to correct it. I used a known relevant metric i.e passengers carried/day for the station.
Well I purely believed that because most of Western railway revenue generating routes were to and fron Gujarat. I am not sure being busiest means the most profitable.

BTW Railway routes in Gujarat are more than 6800 km which is higher than 4500 kms in WB.
thanks for the info. could I have the source too ? it is nice to have the data.
This is an old data of year 2002 which lists 5310 kms inside Gujarat. http://www.gujaratindia.com/stateprofile/profile3.htm,
http://business.gov.in/investment_incen ... ure_wb.php,
http://business.gov.in/investment_incen ... re_guj.php
I know atleast 3-400 kms were added in new lines. I quote 6800 including western railway.
btw, this data point actually bolsters my argument that railways is much less important to gujarat.

OK, surely you have /km data which in context of Gujarat is 0.00369 and not 0.0035 as quoted. If you consider in context of rail km/sq km/person, it actually works out better data for Gujarat because population of WB is more than 150% of Gujarat. This is when you had Mamta in Vajpayee govt. as Railway minister and Left in Congress government.

Having said this, most of this discussion has spilled because of partial list which was posted. However, I learned many new things in effect.

Rahul M wrote: now the bad part :
The railway ministry estimates its cash surplus (earnings net of operating expenses & pension) after dividend of Rs 5,479 crore to the Centre will be Rs 8,722 crore, 31% lower than the Rs 12,683 crore (actuals) in 2008-09.
That means the organisation’s dependence on budgetary support and market borrowings heightens as the cash surplus, the amount available for capitalisation (transfer to the development fund and capital fund), is down to Rs 2,642 crore from Rs 6,356 crore in the revised estimates for 2008-09.
They have an additional expanse of Rs 14K+ corer this year on account of 6th pay commission. A large part of this additional expense is the last of the two installments of arrears (remaining 60%). This large expanse will diappear from next year....

BTW, local Mallu media have started wailing that AC double decker coaches would not be reaching Kerala any where soon. These coaches are to be introduced in inter-city day express trains. The coaches are supposed to be made by BHEL. I checked up their web site, but could not find any information about the coach.

1. Are they being put to use on any train as of now?
2. How are the seats arranged? Do they follow the design used by Bombardier etc. During my travel in Europe, I saw that most of the various railway companies used the Bombardier double decker coaches.

suryag wrote:On a side not have any of you seen yellow boards adjacent to a track which says W/L cee/faa what does it mean ?
IRFCA web-site have some good information on these signs. W/L (in English) and Cee/Pha (in Hindi) means "Whistle/Level crossing". This is an indication to the driver that there is a level crossing coming up, and he is expected to sound the horn/blow the whistle. Another common board is "W" which means "Whistle". This is placed before sharp curves, tunnels etc. Driver expected to sound horn there too 8).

Other common ones:-
T - Caution Termination, loco can resume normal speed on track
T/P - Caution Termination, passenger trains can resume normal speed
T/G - Caution Termination, Goods trains can resume normal speed
T/BOXN - Caution Termination, Goods trains with BOXN type rake can resume normal speed

sachin, hwh to dhanbad coalfield exp used to run with some double decker coaches. unfortunately never got to check them out.

ashish raval wrote:

OK, surely you have /km data which in context of Gujarat is 0.00369 and not 0.0035 as quoted.
I calculated the figure from the data you gave. which does come out to ~0.0035.
ashish raval wrote:If you consider in context of rail km/sq km/person, it actually works out better data for Gujarat because population of WB is more than 150% of Gujarat. This is when you had Mamta in Vajpayee govt. as Railway minister and Left in Congress government.
rail km/sq km/person would be the wrong metric in this case, where we are trying to find out rail's profitability.

the correct metric will be person/rail km and you can guess what that datapoint will show.
that IR serves much more people per km and hence would be more profitable(or at least carry more passengers).
then consider the huge mineral wealth in eastern India which is almost exclusively transported by trains unlike in western India where most of the goods are transported by road.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

^^ In that case WB probably can/will top whole India because it has high density and smaller size viz Gujarat. A slightly better pointer will be average distance travelled per person/day/sqkm of railway line.
I think probably WB being the gateway to the east, it may have higher number of people at any onetime.

ashish raval wrote:^^ In that case WB probably can/will top whole India because it has high density and smaller size viz Gujarat. A slightly better pointer will be average distance travelled per person/day/sqkm of railway line.
I think probably WB being the gateway to the east, it may have higher number of people at any onetime.
If it is average distance travelled/per person/per day/ sq km, it would be quite a large number since Calcutta is the only commercial and administrative hub and whole of Bengal, less extreme North seems to converge!!

ashish, just a nitpick, it would be avg dist traveled per person/day/rail km and not average distance travelled per person/day/sqkm of railway line.

but that's a really good metric you have come up with. would have been nice if we could calculate those.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Rahul, yes, the revised pointer of avg distance travelled/person/day/rail km will definately more realistic than /sq. km. My instincts tell me that you are either an expert in statistics or certainly know data management. I will definately try to dig out avg. distance data/person/day, however, I am not sure such type of data collection is actually done by railways. I am sure ISI, Calcutta will be interested in those numbers. :D
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

Rahul M wrote:sachin, hwh to dhanbad coalfield exp used to run with some double decker coaches. unfortunately never got to check them out.
Rahul saar, I think it is Howrah Dhanbad Black Diamond Express; used to leave very early from Howrah.

IIRC The Flying Rani from Bombay to Surat/Baroda (? not sure) is a double-decker train. Not sure if it still is in operation though.

Lalu now claims that world-class railway stations was just an idea and cannot be implemented in India

He should be tried for lying to the people then because he was the one who initiated that project.

The sixth pay commission also reduces the capital allocation to technological upgradation by the railways:
Railway budget sidetracks freight
Unfortunately, the dream run of the Railways over the last five years has been interrupted by the current economic slowdown and its finances have come under pressure since the second half of 2008-09. Following the industrial slowdown and declining exports, the Railways could load freight cargo of only 833 million tonnes during 2008-09 against a target of 850 million tonnes.

The target for 2009-10 has been lowered to 882 million tonnes from 910 million tonnes given in the Interim Budget. The achievement of even this lowered target would largely depend on the extent to which the economy recovers this fiscal with some pick up in industrial production and export shipments.

The path-breaking financial performance of the Railways from 2003-04 to 2007-08 that brought about a dramatic improvement of railway finances, had coincided with the high growth phase of the Indian economy with GDP growth averaging 8.9 per cent per annum. True, it was also aided by better utilisation of existing assets, some additional freight loading per wagon dynamic, pricing of freight and passenger fares, as also the faster turnaround of wagons.

The cumulative cash surplus of the Railways before dividend during the four years ending 2007-08 was Rs 68,778 crore. The cash surplus of over Rs 25,000 crore during 2007-08 was 25 per cent higher than that in the previous year. However, the cash surplus declined to Rs 17,400 crore in 2008-09 and it is projected to go down further to Rs 14,201.27 crore this fiscal.

This is, in part, due to the Sixth Pay Commission award entailing an extra outgo of Rs 13,600 crore in 2008-09 and another Rs 14,600 crore this fiscal. After meeting dividend and pension liabilities, the cash surplus for 2009-10 is projected at Rs 8,722 crore, 31 per cent lower than Rs 12,683 crore in 2008-09.

The amount available for capitalisation (transfers to the Development Fund and Capital Fund) will be just Rs 2,642 crore in 2009-10, down from Rs 6,356 crore in 2008-09 and a hefty Rs 13,431 crore in 2007-08.

With fuel costs slated to increase further this fiscal, unless employee productivity increases significantly, the Railways is in danger of ceasing to generate any net surplus. In this context, a worrisome development is the steep fall in the Railways’ operating ratio — an indicator of efficiency. It declined from 75.9 in 2007-08 to 88.3 in 2008-09 and is projected to go down further to 92.5 per cent this fiscal.

Despite lower resource generation, Ms Mamata Banerjee has been able to raise the overall Plan target for 2009-10 to Rs 40,745 crore from the actual Plan expenditure of Rs 36,336 crore during 2008-09 by persuading the Finance Minister to enhance the budgetary support by Rs 5,000 crore to Rs 15,800 crore and raising the market borrowing target to Rs 9,170 crore from the Interim Budget provision of Rs 7,190 crore.

Suraj wrote:The sixth pay commission also reduces the capital allocation to technological upgradation by the railways:
Railway budget sidetracks freight
Unfortunately, the dream run of the Railways over the last five years has been interrupted by the current economic slowdown and its finances have come under pressure since the second half of 2008-09. Following the industrial slowdown and declining exports, the Railways could load freight cargo of only 833 million tonnes during 2008-09 against a target of 850 million tonnes.

The target for 2009-10 has been lowered to 882 million tonnes from 910 million tonnes given in the Interim Budget. The achievement of even this lowered target would largely depend on the extent to which the economy recovers this fiscal with some pick up in industrial production and export shipments.

The path-breaking financial performance of the Railways from 2003-04 to 2007-08 that brought about a dramatic improvement of railway finances, had coincided with the high growth phase of the Indian economy with GDP growth averaging 8.9 per cent per annum. True, it was also aided by better utilisation of existing assets, some additional freight loading per wagon dynamic, pricing of freight and passenger fares, as also the faster turnaround of wagons.

The cumulative cash surplus of the Railways before dividend during the four years ending 2007-08 was Rs 68,778 crore. The cash surplus of over Rs 25,000 crore during 2007-08 was 25 per cent higher than that in the previous year. However, the cash surplus declined to Rs 17,400 crore in 2008-09 and it is projected to go down further to Rs 14,201.27 crore this fiscal.

This is, in part, due to the Sixth Pay Commission award entailing an extra outgo of Rs 13,600 crore in 2008-09 and another Rs 14,600 crore this fiscal. After meeting dividend and pension liabilities, the cash surplus for 2009-10 is projected at Rs 8,722 crore, 31 per cent lower than Rs 12,683 crore in 2008-09.

The amount available for capitalisation (transfers to the Development Fund and Capital Fund) will be just Rs 2,642 crore in 2009-10, down from Rs 6,356 crore in 2008-09 and a hefty Rs 13,431 crore in 2007-08.

With fuel costs slated to increase further this fiscal, unless employee productivity increases significantly, the Railways is in danger of ceasing to generate any net surplus. In this context, a worrisome development is the steep fall in the Railways’ operating ratio — an indicator of efficiency. It declined from 75.9 in 2007-08 to 88.3 in 2008-09 and is projected to go down further to 92.5 per cent this fiscal.

Despite lower resource generation, Ms Mamata Banerjee has been able to raise the overall Plan target for 2009-10 to Rs 40,745 crore from the actual Plan expenditure of Rs 36,336 crore during 2008-09 by persuading the Finance Minister to enhance the budgetary support by Rs 5,000 crore to Rs 15,800 crore and raising the market borrowing target to Rs 9,170 crore from the Interim Budget provision of Rs 7,190 crore.
Hence Lalu proved his mettle, and now we are back to lame excuses of politicians unability to manage PSU's. In stead of Kicking Lalu out, he should have been make head of all PSU's. Too bad he miscalculated the political sene.

Do accounts of the Railways dept come under the ambit of C&AG? If so then all this surplus snake oil that Lalu peddled would easily be caught isnt it ?

E Sreedharan has tendered his resignation as chief of Delhi Metro after this accident. As much as I think someone should be held accountable for it, he is far too important to be lost, and I hope Sheila Dixit rejects his resignation and has him stay on.

Delhi Metro is an anomalous infrastructure project. Instead of being behind schedule and over cost, it is well ahead of schedule and below budget, not just by Indian standards, but world standards; Delhi goes from having no metro until the first line was inaugurated on 26 Dec 2002, to over 200 route kms of metro in Sept 2010. Delhi Metro is probably the world's fastest growing metro - I cannot think of any other metro that has expanded from 0kms to 200kms in under 8 years; even Shanghai Metro had a smaller route length 10 years after its inauguration in 1995, and currently has 250kms.
mohan

Post by mohan »

Suraj wrote:E Sreedharan has tendered his resignation as chief of Delhi Metro after this accident. As much as I think someone should be held accountable for it, he is far too important to be lose, and I hope Sheila Dixit rejects his resignation and has him stay on.

IBNlive reports that Sheila Dixit has asked him to stay.

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/delhi-cm-ref ... 6960-3.htm

Indeed, I seem to have not kept up with the latest news:
Delhi CM Sheila Dixit rejects Delhi Metro chief Sreedharan's resignation
Good job on Dixit's part.

Abhi_G wrote:
Rahul M wrote:sachin, hwh to dhanbad coalfield exp used to run with some double decker coaches. unfortunately never got to check them out.
Rahul saar, I think it is Howrah Dhanbad Black Diamond Express; used to leave very early from Howrah.
of course you are correct !

black diamond == coal == confused moi ! :oops: :((

Looks like the CW games was the sole reason why his resignation was rejected. Would have been interesting to see how they reacted if CW games wasnt next year

Railways steps up fees for film shoots
Film producers will now have to shell out a lot more to shoot on Indian Railways. Citing “steep rise in input cost”, the Railway Ministry has more than doubled the daily “minimum charges” to shoot on special trains and also revised the haulage and other charges.

Earlier, the ministry used to charge a minimum of Rs 94,000 per day on special trains. Now, it will charge Rs 2.31 lakh per day. The revision came into effect from July 1 this year. The last time the charges for booking of special trains were revised was in 1997.

Train in Kashmir

you think howrah, sealdah and NJP generate 1/4th revenue of stations in gujarat ? :lol:
Howrah is a hub. Many trains terminate and start from there.

Tourists, including international tourists, land out there to go to visit tourist spots in Orissa, Bihar, North Bengal, Sunderbans, Sikkim, Bhutan (low budget tourists) etc. These areas attract tourist traffic and so Howrah has to be neat, clean and efficient in handling traffic and hospitality needs. Further, it is the main railway station of a Metro.

Sealdah caters for North Bengal, South Bengal and Bangladesh traffic. Same tourist issues are there.

NJP is the gateway to North Bengal, Sikkim and Bhutan (especially low budget tourists). Same reasons.

Currently, these stations are in a mess!

One can notice that there are many low budget tourists from abroad (backpackers). They require to take home pleasant memories and not grouses that India is horrid and inefficient with hardly any amenities even if they are backpackers. On tight schedules and low budget, it is boon to have efficiency and amenities and cleanliness!

One would prefer to travel by a Rajdhani or a Satabdi rather than other trains that have unclean toilets and stops at every station on the way! Therefore, cleaner, efficient and amenties filled stations, which are at tourist spots or are en route to such spots must be refurbished to attract a large number of tourists.

BTW, I am not a fan of the compulsive bandh caller!

JMT.

India to build rail line to Ladakh
By: PTI Date: 2009-04-26 Place:New Delhi

The ambitious and strategically crucial project to link mountain-locked Ladakh region of Jammu and Kashmir with rest of the country by train has moved a step closer to fructification with the Railways finalising the feasibility report in this regard.

The first rail link is proposed to be between Leh and Bilaspur in Himachal Pradesh and six passenger trains and nine goods trains are planned on the 498 km-long section.

"The feasibility report of Leh-Bilaspur rail link project is almost ready and it will be submitted to Railway Ministry shortly for scrutiny. After the scrutiny, the report would be sent to the Planning Commission before being sent to Parliament for final approval," said a senior Railway Ministry official involved with the feasibility study.

The project is strategically crucial as it is part of India's efforts to improve infrastructure in the border region considering that China has already built a rail link to Tibet.

More at:
http://www.mid-day.com/news/2009/apr/26 ... Ladakh.htm
It will be a Herculean task, but a very essential one.

It will reduce the value of the NH1A and would allow the tourist traffic to Leh, which is on the rise.

It will also ensure a great saving in the Defence budget since road transport on a long circuitous route will be elimated, apart from the strategic reasons.

I think a rail link over Kishtwar is also in the offing, apart from linking Jammu to Srinagar!

Once travel becomes easy, less ardous and cheap, more interaction will happen between the people of Kashmir and hinterland India. It will lessen the import of the propaganda by the Hurriyat and will allow interaction and trade.

I hope they run trains like in konkan railways, where loaded trucks can climb onto the rakes and be transported by rail. This will be a very necessary step.

From Leh, one more long tunnel under Khardung-la and we will be in the Nubra valley, thoise and siachen base camp.

RayC wrote:Once travel becomes easy, less ardous and cheap, more interaction will happen between the people of Kashmir and hinterland India. It will lessen the import of the propaganda by the Hurriyat and will allow interaction and trade.
A rail link to Leh would be indeed great. It becomes a good alternate route for transporting goods across. Regarding the line to Sri Nagar, I do support it whole heartedly but then there are chap who are not very keen on it (read Jehadis and some Kashmiri back-stabbers). My guess is that providing security for the railway link would be a cumbersome task (unless by then Kashmiri militancy has been wiped out for good).

Cumbersome, but of vital national interest all the same. The new line alignment means much longer tunnels, somewhat reduced security issues.
ashish raval

Post by ashish raval »

Ray, nobody says these stations or indeed any stations should not be modernised. However, I was arguing based on the fact that Mamta banerjee announced that 137 out of 280 or so railway stations to be modernised are in WB. Common do you think there should be glaring discrepancy in the number of stations to be modernised in WB and rest of India. Surely it is railway budget for India and not state Budjet. BTW, I have checked the Railway statistics on revenue and Western Railway revenue is nearly 1.5 times the revenue it generated in ER. Having said this the issue is on rest and we may need more statistics to further it.

I see your point.

However, I did not find outrage when two successive Railway Ministers from Bihar presented largesses for Bihar.

If I am not mistaken, before that was Ram Bilas Paswan.

That makes it three!

They made long distance and prestigious trains to stop at one horse towns of Bihar!! And recently, when such silly halts were stopped, there was unrest!

As far as Revenue is concerned ER was truncated.

Compare the kilometerage and connectivity to various tourist spots.

Revenue is made on freight and not on passenger traffic.

I will also admit that there is a political angle.

The Congress want to wrest the power from the Communist in WB.

They are succeeding!

ashish, don't want to get into this again but remember that the large SER also caters to this region, so take it into account while comparing data for WR and ER.

rayc sir, you have (again) edited ashish' post instead of quoting it ! :lol: