India's Sharm-el- Sheikh Harakiri...

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan - July 07, 2009

:eek: The Communists support the Congress.

CPI leader D Raja and CPI MP Gurudas Dasgupta:
Joint statement will help India win intl support: CPI

New Delhi, Jul 17 (PTI) The government today got support from an unexpected quarter on the Indo-Pak issue with CPI saying the joint statement will help India win international support. ……………...........

PTI
Last edited by arun on 17 Jul 2009 17:11, edited 2 times in total.

Looks like India has shifted from Speak Loudly Of Befitting Replies and Turn the Other Cheek (SLOBRTOC) to
Be Agreeable and Kick Them (BAKT). This GOI seems to be operating on the notion that 4 years is plenty of time to make the Pakis pay.
N^3 sir,
you still believe that we have emulated Chanakya in Egypt?

Meanwhile:
A-repeat-of-Havana-compromise
The compromise by India during PM Manmohan Singh's meeting with his Pakistani counterpart Yusuf Raza Gilani has brought back memories of similar concessions by India during the meeting between Pervez Musharraf and Singh in September 2006 in Havana during the NAM summit, in the aftermath of the Mumbai suburban train blasts.

India had stalled the dialogue process after the Mumbai train blasts in July but, in a turnaround similar to that in Sharm el-Sheikh, agreed to resume foreign secretary-level talks when Musharraf met Singh in Havana.

The two sides had then agreed that the peace process must be maintained and its success was important for both countries and the future of the entire region. In this context, they directed their foreign secretaries to resume the composite dialogue at the earliest.

The two sides had then agreed to set up an India-Pakistan anti-terrorism cooperation mechanism. Weeks later, however, differences cropped up between the two countries as Pakistan sought to make a distinction between terrorists and freedom fighters.
As it later became evident, the mechanism was nothing but another forum for India to spell out its grievances and frustration and for Pakistan to dole out lame excuses for not doing enough to tackle India-specific terror. The leaders had then decided to continue the joint search for mutually acceptable options for a peaceful negotiated settlement of all issues between India and Pakistan, including the issue of Jammu and Kashmir. Musharraf then went on to claim that Hava had "sown the seeds'' of solution of all disputes between India and Pakistan including Kashmir.
Our motto seems to be:
Slap me once, shame on you..slap me a hundred times, shame on you itself!!! :roll:
Raja Ram

Post by Raja Ram »

In Sharm al Sheik, India's Pride (Singh) became India's Sharam

arun wrote: The Communists support the Congress.

PTI
Nothing surprising. They simply follow the diktats from their superiors.

Man Mohan Singh ties himself in knots in the Lok Sabha
. . . "any meaningful dialogue" will depend on actions by Islamabad to end cross-border terror and hoped there would be "forward movement" in the coming months. . . ."action on terrorism should not be linked to the composite dialogue process and therefore cannot await other developments."
So, India will have meaningless dialogue till then ? Our Foreign Secretary will meet Pak FS "s often as necessary" according to the joint statement. SS Menon will hold 'meaningless talks' in these meetings ? The PM then goes on to immediately contradict himself by saying composite dialogue cannot await actions by Pakistan on terror. Is the inevitable senility overtaking our PM ?

I am perplexed as to how nearly all of the robust demands claimed by our Prime Minister as having been made of the Pakistani’s in the below statement to our Parliament is missing from the joint declaration.

Surely the “accommodative” spirit that permitted Balochistan to have been inserted into the joint declaration by Pakistan could have been reciprocally used to add in the more robust of our Prime Ministers demands on terrorism:
Statement by the Prime Minister in Parliament on his visit to Italy, France and Egypt

17:12 IST

Following is the text of the Prime Minister, Dr. Manmohan Singh’s statement in Parliament on his visit to Italy and to France and Egypt: ……………...............

During my meeting with Prime Minister Gilani of Pakistan yesterday, we discussed the present condition of India-Pakistan relations, its future potential and the steps that are necessary to enable us to realize the potential.

I conveyed to him the strong sentiments of the people of India over the issue of terrorism, especially the terrorist attacks in Mumbai. We are reviewing the dossier of investigations into these attacks which Pakistan has provided to us. I also conveyed to Prime Minister Gilani that sustained, effective and credible action needs to be taken not only to bring the perpetrators of the Mumbai attack to justice, but also to shut down the operations of terrorist groups so as to prevent any future attacks.

It has been and remains our consistent position that the starting point of any meaningful dialogue with Pakistan is a fulfillment of their commitment, in letter and spirit, not to allow their territory to be used in any manner for terrorist activities against India .

Prime Minister Gilani assured me that Pakistan will do everything in its power to bring the perpetrators of the Mumbai attacks to justice. He also told me that there is consensus in Pakistan against the activities of these terrorist groups, that strong action is being taken and that this is in Pakistan’s own interest. The distinguished parliamentarians from different parties who accompanied the Pakistan Prime Minister also said to me that there was political consensus in Pakistan on this issue.

As the Joint Statement says, action on terrorism should not be linked to the composite dialogue process, and therefore cannot await other developments. It was agreed that the two countries will share real time, credible and actionable information on any future terrorist threats.

Whether, when and in what form we broaden the dialogue with Pakistan will depend on future developments. For the present, we have agreed that the Foreign Secretaries will meet as often as necessary and report to the two Foreign Ministers who will meet on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly.

As I have said before in this House, India seeks cooperative relations with Pakistan , and engagement is the only way forward to realize the vision of a stable and prosperous South Asia living in peace and amity. We are willing to go more than half way provided Pakistan creates the conditions for a meaningful dialogue. I hope that there is forward movement in the coming months. .................

PIB

pressure to talk is coming from unkil. strobe talbot in today's FT says that madame klingon is in dilli to give 2 harsh messages - 1 on greenhouse gasses and the other on CTBT/NPT part II/III whatever. these are of higher order strategic importance than the next 2-3 year use and abuse of pakistan to progress the war on terra. in the meantime, to keep pakistan from throwing its toys out of the pram, we must talk to them. does that mean progress has to take place? can any indian pm admit in public that unkil is twisting his arm?

Unconvinced by PM's reply, BJP stages a walkout :

Times Now

I for one will not stop criticising this PM on this forum when he does something that is to be rightly criticised.
Raja,

Indeed.

Constructive criticism is fine, but no foul epithets, please.

Saw what happened to the poor Bahuguna Joshi?

Many, I am sure, appreciates your anguish.

Raja Ram wrote: I for one will not stop criticising this PM on this forum when he does something that is to be rightly criticised.

This PM has let down India badly. There is nothing that we gain by starting talks with Pakistan. The leadership of this government has too many enslaved minds. One cannot think freely if the mind is shackled.
Raja Ram,

What would have you done if you were the PM of India ?

Don't you want a peaceful Afghanistan.... :?:

shravan wrote:Don't you want a peaceful Afghanistan.... :?:
Why, we want a peaceful world. There was a talk at the time of Independence of why a pacifist beacon such as Bharat must have armed forces.
kenop

Post by kenop »

When LKA stared to speak, the look on MMS's face showed the gap in the words and reality.
There is tremendous pressure on the gormint. They have done it knowing fully well that it was not to be done.
I would like to see discussion on the Baloch aspect of the Joint Statement. The "structured debate" in the parliament should be illuminating on this aspect.

The spinelessness,subervience and senility of Dr.Singh has never been in better evidence then in this,his performance at Cairo,the most pathetic and sordid display in statesmanship ever from an Indian PM.An outraged nation which has been repeatedly raped by Pakistan through decades of undiminished terror,is now faced with the ultimate display of dereliction of duty by the surrender of Dr.Singh to Pakistani terrorism.Faced with another 5 years of this surrender,India's enemies must be gloating in their lairs and planning the destruction of our nation.God help India!

arun wrote:I am perplexed as to how nearly all of the robust demands claimed by our Prime Minister as having been made of the Pakistani’s in the below statement to our Parliament is missing from the joint declaration.
The wide variance between what our PM says in parliament and what is GoI signs when with external countries is now becoming a habit. First seen with the Nuclear deal, this pattern is now fairly predictable.

If I was to do it, I would be called a liar at the very least, but for Oxbridge educated, premier economists like him clearly different rules apply.

SSridhar wrote:Why, we want a peaceful world. There was a talk at the time of Independence of why a pacifist beacon such as Bharat must have armed forces.
I want to see a second front for Pakistan. I don't know what are your views on that.

Perhaps besides having a Thread "Strategic leadership for the future of India", which sometimes seems to ease with its name, there could be a Thread on "Leadership Vacuum in India"! We shouldn't have to be indulging in self-flagellation on the TIRP Thread.

What does flirting with Pak ( which openly says it will not rollback its jihadis against India) have to do with a second front?

The second front can be opened even without making love ( and giving legitimacy) with a Pak which is getting away with each brazen attack on India. Notice how only 26/11 accused figure in the list of to be punished. What happened to the Kabul bombing accused( the ISI higher ups)? Have they been forgiven by GoI since we now plan to share "real time intel" with the same chaps.

( I wont even get into the tons of other Paki "incidents" in India)

Philip wrote:The spinelessness,subervience and senility of Dr.Singh has never been in better evidence then in this,his performance at Cairo,the most pathetic and sordid display in statesmanship ever from an Indian PM.An outraged nation which has been repeatedly raped by Pakistan through decades of undiminished terror,is now faced with the ultimate display of dereliction of duty by the surrender of Dr.Singh to Pakistani terrorism.Faced with another 5 years of this surrender,India's enemies must be gloating in their lairs and planning the destruction of our nation.God help India!

Philip ji,

Couldn't agree more with you.

But fear not saar, rahul baba will soon come to the rescue!

His superman cape is yet to return from the laundry.

He apologises for the delay.

In the meanwhile, enjoy the ride. :)

chetak wrote:But fear not saar, rahul baba will soon come to the rescue!

His superman cape is yet to return from the laundry.

He apologises for the delay.

In the meanwhile, enjoy the ride. :)
:idea:

So that was the idea all along. Sonia Gandhi wants to make MMS's position so untenable, that there are loud voices for change to make Rahul baba the next PM. Sharm-al-Sheikh was then a Soosai mission by MMS!

And all the while we thought it was Moorkhta or lack of Desh-Bhakti that was plaguing PMO. We are simply too much Chanakya in Chanakyapuri onlee!

May be one should oblige Sonia Gandhi so that she doesn't need to send MMS on more Soosai missions, which has much collateral damage in India.

Of course there will be more Soosai missions when Mrs Klingon comes calling!
Last edited by RajeshA on 17 Jul 2009 18:54, edited 1 time in total.

Interesting thought...

The next attack, when it occurs (will be very soon) will leave egg on MMS's face and a few more such "incidents" will mean MMS will have to go.
We all know who will be the logical replacement.

Interesting that we use our Chankyan-ness in such matters instead of where it is actually required!!! :oops:

(Sorry for the OT but feeling really low today)

I think the Chanakyanness was with respect to Pakistan. Mr. Singh was very tough on Zardari in Russia whereas, within two weeks, he surrendered to Gilani in Egypt. Now, this is going to cause a popularity upsurge for Gilani and the Zardari-Gilani relationship, already teetering, will break. That will also remove the PM-Kiyani proximity, based on which Gilani has been teasing Zardari. Zardari, by virtue of him being the Chief of PPP, will get a more compliant PM. Knowing Zardari's frequent references for having better relationship with India, and with the PM-Army relationship also broken, the Indo-Pak relationship will see better times. That is our Chankian calculation.
Duangkomon

Post by Duangkomon »

What perplexes me more is how did MMS end up mumbling his way into an unjustifiable capitulation and seemingly petty equal equal outcome with a cesspool of a nation and its equally ridiculous leader Gilani who obviously has some form of serious retardation??
If a moron like Gilani can extract such concessions from MMS, then I think India has a serious problem and it ain't gilani.

SSridhar wrote:I think the Chakyanness was with respect to Pakistan. Mr. Singh was very tough on Zardari in Russia whereas, within two weeks, he surrendered to Gilani in Egypt. Now, this is going to cause a popularity upsurge for Gilani and the Zardari-Gilani relationship, already teetering, will break. That will also remove the PM-Kiyani proximity, based on which Gilani has been teasing Zardari. Zardari, by virtue of him being the Chief of PPP, will get a more compliant PM. Knowing Zardari's frequent references for having better relationship with India, and with the PM-Army relationship also broken, the Indo-Pak relationship will see better times. That is our Chankian calculation.
Now I am really Groping in the dark! :shock: So now MMS thinks he is more beautiful than Kiyani. Or does he think that he can be better friends because his ancestral village is closer to Gilani's as Kiyani's village to Gilani. There is proof!

ImageImageImage
Chakwal (Gah) -- Multan -- Rawalpindi

MMS wins. So let's do the jhapphi-pappi jig!
Baljeet

Post by Baljeet »

Raja Ram wrote:Mark my words gentle readers, now there will be a concerted effort by the media to paint and hail MMS as a statesman who has a vision of peaceful growth oriented South Asia. The usual suspects of "intellectuals" and "liberals" and peaceniks will come out in force. Congress will claim that this is the Gandhian legacy and continuation of Nehruvian policy.

The visiting dignitary, Hilary Clinton, will commend and praise India to the hilt and this will be seen as a great visionary move. The educated telegenic new age leaders of the congress will come out in the media and say what we can achieve if move past the hostilities, how India's tryst with destiny is at hand. How inclusive growth must include neighbours. All this will be seen as India's arrival on the world stage. Backed up with fawning and condescending opinion pieces in "influential" foreign publications and media.

And yes, even in BR forum this will be hailed and some virtue seen in this PM. He is after all the PM of our country and we should not attack him would be the argument, even if the critque is directed at his actions and not him personally.

I for one will not stop criticising this PM on this forum when he does something that is to be rightly criticised.

This PM has let down India badly. There is nothing that we gain by starting talks with Pakistan. The leadership of this government has too many enslaved minds. One cannot think freely if the mind is shackled.
Raja Ram ji
I am with you. There are some Forum Moderators who are just like the PM. Maybe we should ask the Webmasters to remove those Forum Moderators and put them in Trainee Mode till they learn the art of national security, there is nothing sacred only thing sacred is Integrity, Honor and Dignity of our beloved nation. By their behaviour I have concluded they are in the same age group, senility, lucidity as the Statesman PM. :rotfl:

The only way to save this nation is to join the Rahul baba club for the next 4 and a half years, and plead with him to become PM and save the nation! From MMS!

After 4 and a half years one can then jump to BJP, if one wants!

It is time we thank Dr. Manmohan Singh for his services to the nation and bid him a happy retirement! He deserves some rest!

RajeshA wrote:The only way to save this nation is to join the Rahul baba club for the next 4 and a half years, and plead with him to become PM and save the nation! From MMS!

After 4 and a half years one can then jump to BJP, if one wants!

It is time we thank Dr. Manmohan Singh for his services to the nation and bid him a happy retirement! He deserves some rest!

Don't forget the Bharath Rathna.

The porkis are already going to give him the Nishan-e-porkistan.
This the highest of civil awards and decorations given by the Government of porkistan for the highest degree of service to the state.

By the way, Nixon was also a previous recipient of this singular honor!!! along with our own dear dilip kumar
Last edited by chetak on 17 Jul 2009 19:44, edited 2 times in total.

I don't know! I think MMS has gone Gah-Gah!

I hope the plane is safe..

Raja Ram wrote:Mark my words gentle readers, now there will be a concerted effort by the media to paint and hail MMS as a statesman who has a vision of peaceful growth oriented South Asia. The usual suspects of "intellectuals" and "liberals" and peaceniks will come out in force. Congress will claim that this is the Gandhian legacy and continuation of Nehruvian policy.

The visiting dignitary, Hilary Clinton, will commend and praise India to the hilt and this will be seen as a great visionary move. The educated telegenic new age leaders of the congress will come out in the media and say what we can achieve if move past the hostilities, how India's tryst with destiny is at hand. How inclusive growth must include neighbours. All this will be seen as India's arrival on the world stage. Backed up with fawning and condescending opinion pieces in "influential" foreign publications and media.

And yes, even in BR forum this will be hailed and some virtue seen in this PM. He is after all the PM of our country and we should not attack him would be the argument, even if the critque is directed at his actions and not him personally.

Saar, you should respect copyright laws :-). You take the themes that one CRamS has been shouting from the roof tops ever since not-worth-a-singh and his Sonia madam took office, remote controlled from US/UK, and not acknowledge the source :-). Just kidding boss, this is exactly the scenario that is going to be played out. Look for Hilary showering praises and DDM going bersek with euphoria. Several of my 'elite' friends with whom I had a chance to discuss MMS's shameful capitulation are already dimsissing me as a "Hindu extremist". Some are hailing Singh as king for having his 'eye on the ball' whatever that means. I cannot think of another country or civilization that is comprised of such deluded eunuchs who can internalize such a caricature of reality. Next capitulation: Kashmir.
Last edited by CRamS on 17 Jul 2009 19:47, edited 1 time in total.

chetak wrote:By the way, Nixon was also a previous recipient of this singular honor!!! along with our own dear dilip kumar
And, Morarji Desai.

Rahul baba coming in might not be enitrely bad for India.
See, sonia-ji and the congress is not going to allow an Indo-pak war with anyone other than a gandhi at the helm, since any war with pakistan will mean a victory for India.
A gandhi has to be in power in Delhi to savor the fruits of victory and be immortal in Indian history.

If Rahul baba is suitably coached by our babooze,
and he can overcome the years of indoctrination the west has obviously given him,
and if he has not managed any serious skeleton in his proverbial closet ( :wink: ),
and he goes on an ego trip where Rahul = India,

then we can rest easy, for the outcome will be a most pleasurable one for all of us.

However the risk remains of us slipping back to those, humein dekhna hai-hum dekhenge-hum dekhtey rahengey days. :evil:

arun wrote:Unconvinced by PM's reply, BJP stages a walkout :

Times Now
The final stand of a bunch of idiots, the very same folk who in some sense brought us here; first tested a few fire crackers in a show of machismo, and when TSP upped the ante backed off, not to mention paying obeissance to 'my friend Strobe'; same jokers who 'won' Kargil by not crossing the yellow-sea even after a brzen attack; same set of jokers who invited a mass murder like Mush to Agra and humiliated the nation; same set of jokers who huffed & puffed after TSP attacked Indian parliament and then backed off, and last but not the least same set of jokers allowing a bunch of sex-starved louts in their midst to attack women in pubs and making an ass of themselves costing them the election.

OT here but ... its a whine holiday!

Rahul baba can't become PM because his Mummy ji won't let him, until he finds himself a wife.

Can somebody imagine Rahul baba as PM going around flirting with girls looking for a wife? Okay, even if one can imagine it, he won't really have time as PM is full-time job.

So oh girls of the India, save India! I hope Rahul baba likes girls! Or do we need a Mohini! But wasn't article 377 removed for an easier transition in leadership!

List of PMs who have been less than effective in foreign policy - for No0bs

Vs China:
1. Jawahar lal nehru Wiki quote:
Nehru assumed that as former victims of imperialism (India being a colony itself) they shared a sense of solidarity, as expressed in the phrase "Hindi-Chini bhai bhai" (Indians and Chinese are brothers). He was dedicated to the ideals of brotherhood and solidarity among developing nations. Nehru, naively, did not believe that one fellow Socialist country would attack another; and in any event, he felt secure behind the impregnable wall of ice that is the Himalayas. Both proved to be severe miscalculations of China's intentions and military capabilities. Following reports of his intention to confront Chinese occupation of the disputed areas—summarised in a memorable statement that he had asked the Army to "throw them (Chinese) out" - China launched a pre-emptive attack.[18]
Vs Pakistan
1. Lal bahadur shastri (return of the haji pir pass in '65)
2. Morarji desai (his yeoman services to pakistan earned him the Nishaan-e-pakistan). From wiki:
Morarji Desai had described the Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW), India's external intelligence agency, as the praetorian guard of Indira Gandhi and had promised to stop all activities of the R&AW after becoming prime minister. He closed down much of the agency, and reduced its budget and operations. B. Raman, the former head of the Counter-Terrorism Division of R&AW and noted security analyst, reveals that, in an unguarded moment, Morarji Desai indiscreetly told Pakistani President Zia ul-Haq that he was aware of Islamabad's nuclear schemes.[1]
3. I K Gujaral . Wiki quote:
It has come out in India Today, an Indian news magazine, that I K Gujral, during his tenure as PM, as part of his doctrine, wound up the Research and Analysis Wing's (R&AW) - India's external intelligence agency - covert operations in Pakistan. Acting in the belief of earning the 'goodwill' of Pakistan, he shut down R&AW's covert activities, and gave details of R&AW's assets in Pakistan, which were painstakingly built over many years. It has been alleged that this led to physical elimination of R&AW's human assets through extrajudicial means by Pakistan's intelligence agencies. This has been severely criticized in the light of the November 2008 Mumbai attacks and signifies the final futility of his doctrine - belief in the 'inherent goodwill' of openly hostile neighbours. This is his defining legacy.
4. Man mohan singh. (First Havana, now Sharam-e-sharif, very nearly in the Nuclear deal)
Last edited by Gagan on 17 Jul 2009 20:08, edited 1 time in total.

Back Pakistan in terror fight, Clinton tells India --- Reuters :rotfl: Mummy-ji is admonishing MMS

What's wrong with having a columbian wife? At least columbia will never sell arms to India so we are safe onlee.
Or has the columbian chapter come to a close?
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

I wonder why our esteemed BRFites think that MMS hs betrayed the common citizens of India.
Do the common citizens care about what happened in Egypt. Forget the rural heartland which is victim to a different kind of terror, even those who bore the brunt of the Paksitani sponsored Jihad are least bothered. The two major cities which faced repeated terror attacks have voted back the same govt back to power in their respective cities. So why should the congress care about the fallout of this.

By the time the next election comes around, except for the BRFites and the like minded folks, this will not even be a consideration when voting. Even if the opposition brings it up, it will either be totally ignored by the DDM or DDM will again bring up Kandahar and try to create perception of equal-equal only (though after seeing how the BJP is handling its defeat, I have lowered my expectations from them as well).

The age-old saying "yatha raja, tatha praja" is now modified to "yatha praja, tatha raja" .. :roll: