India's Sharm-el- Sheikh Harakiri...

Re: India's Sharm-el- Sheikh Harakiri...

g.kacha wrote:With my limited understanding of International relations and geo-politics, my opinion is that India has been handed a knife by including the Baluchistan issue in the joint statement. Now, whether we use it to carve up Pakistan or use it to commit harakiri remains to be seen.
That is what my thinking is :) ..... may be India handed them a paper knife :P may be not .... either way we need to make good of the available situation.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

sanjaychoudhry wrote:It is a wetdream that Pakistan has asked India to discuss with it its "Baloch problem."
100% agree.

IMO, Pakistan is using the combined lesson of Junagadh + Hyderabad of for hooking (un)Chanakyan diplomats so that it can sharpen the K stick to beat the Indians.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

pgbhat wrote:
g.kacha wrote:With my limited understanding of International relations and geo-politics, my opinion is that India has been handed a knife by including the Baluchistan issue in the joint statement. Now, whether we use it to carve up Pakistan or use it to commit harakiri remains to be seen.
That is what my thinking is :) ..... may be India handed them a paper knife :P may be not .... either way we need to make good of the available situation.
What India has been handed is the assassin's knife dripping with blood. Now get ready for Pakistan's accusations of "killer killer, he is the one who is stabbing us."

sanjaychoudhry wrote:
archan wrote:Plus, the evidence has to be "enough" and "actionable" and not "outdated information". :P
ISI will have no dearth of this evidence, believe me, and in very joint meeting, they will produce dossiers after dossiers. This "evidence" will be discussed in newspapers. Essentially, India has put itself on exactly the same pedestal as official supporter of terrorism as Pakistan.
Should we be worried about H&D damage ..... my point is what if INDIA is not really involved in "freedom fight"?
then Pakis are truely fecked evidence be dammed.
If India is involved then then we have no choice but to play Paki tactics of course.... it will never be easy but we need to make good of available situ. :(

Sanjay, You have made your point. Next.

sanjaychoudhry wrote:
archan wrote:Plus, the evidence has to be "enough" and "actionable" and not "outdated information". :P
ISI will have no dearth of this evidence, believe me, and in every joint meeting, they will produce dossiers after dossiers to derail any meaningful discussion on Paki support to terrorism in India. This "evidence" will be discussed in newspapers. Essentially, India has put itself on exactly the same pedestal as official supporter of terrorism as Pakistan.
I am not sure playing a victim all these years has helped. I am all for Bharat shunning its good-boy image and be prepared to give it back exactly as it gets. If you make yourself important enough, your actions are ignored - in the international politics. Look at China - everyone knows what they do but does it matter...
From what I have learned from Pakis - you can continue to do the dirty job and continue screaming at the top of your voice that you are a victim and "i didn't do it" you will still find a ton of people who will believe you. The international opinion does not mean a whole lot. If you have the markets, if you can provide a safe trading environment, if you can negotiate arms deals etc. you are in business, regardless.

What tripe... the fact that it is gonna be a part of Dialogue process between the two countries means that India has acknowledged its involvement direct/indirect , is it too difficult to understand ?

TSP is already in dire states , it is being bombed by drones and under tremendous pressure from Unkil,ISI and Talipaan , bringing Baluchistan issue to international limelight is essentially for gaining sympathy and aid , the India angle just gives it additional authenticity.

And mark my words how much ever Chankians on board dream about breakup of TSP ...it is not gonna materialize unless Unkil supports the idea ; it is the latter which has equally big stakes if not more than India in the region. A dismantled ,unruly and unstable Pakistan with Talibaan and LeT cadres without leash is a scary situation for US .

And btw what did India do with the Tibetan freedom struggle ? what did all the moral support and asylum to Dalai Lama yield .... :lol: ?

With the kind of presence in P'stan unkil has he would have known this "involvement" for a LONG time...... even when he was Pakis best friend. :mrgreen:

What if GOI has decided to have an active role in Balochistan and Central Asia for its own interests? Till now every initiative is checkmated by either US or PRC separately or in combination. For instance US doesn't want India to have a military role in Afghanistan. PRC doesn't want India in Central Asia stans. And they both prop up TSP with military and economic aid as good cop-bad cop or Janus faced.

Baloch self determination wont effect TSP state integrity as much as NWFP Pashtun self determination, for that is linked at the hip with Pakjab (West Punjab). Sindh self determination would cut off Pakjab access to sea and would rile the Anglo-Saxon West. And this keeps Western interests intact.

So Baloch aspirations are a way to support Indian interests in Central Asia for starters. This way we dont get entangled in the Pashtun question. And the Khan of Kalat was not subservient to the Viceroy of India and was like Nepal: an independent entity. So the Indian Independence Act of 1947 is not affected.

So if East Timor and Eritrea can have self determination so can the Balochis.

ramana wrote:What if GOI has decided to have an active role in Balochistan and Central Asia for its own interests? Till now every initiative is checkmated by either US or PRC separately or in combination. For instance US doesn't want India to have a military role in Afghanistan. PRC doesn't want India in Central Asia stans. And they both prop up TSP with military and economic aid as good cop-bad cop or Janus faced.

Baloch self determination wont effect TSP state integrity as much as NWFP Pashtun self determination, for that is linked at the hip with Pakjab (West Punjab). Sindh self determination would cut off Pakjab access to sea and would rile the Anglo-Saxon West. And this keeps Western interests intact.

So Baloch aspirations are a way to support Indian interests in Central Asia for starters. This way we dont get entangled in the Pashtun question. And the Khan of Kalat was not subservient to the Viceroy of India and was like Nepal: an independent entity. So the Indian Independence Act of 1947 is not affected.

So if East Timor and Eritrea can have self determination so can the Balochis.
Balochis, right from Independence, have been seeking self determination.

If Balochis quit, then all the minerals, gas and the nuclear site goes into thin air.

If they quit, others will follow suit!

Pakistan is in a bind!

ramana wrote: Baloch self determination wont effect TSP state integrity as much as NWFP Pashtun self determination, for that is linked at the hip with Pakjab (West Punjab). Sindh self determination would cut off Pakjab access to sea and would rile the Anglo-Saxon West. And this keeps Western interests intact.
To add to Brigadier's comment....it would set the Chicoms alarm bells ringing with Gwadar going off the radar.

Archan your argument does not hold ground ; infact by playing such blame game we are playing into the hands of TSP. A stalemate and a never ending debate is what they want .Common everyone knows the last thing TSP wants is a resolution to J&K issue.

As far as Balochistan is concerned we need to realise that it is US which has huge stakes involved in the region probably even more than India ; a dismantled and unstable TSP is the last thing the paranoid folks in US want , they would pour in aid and $s in order to keep ISI and TSP leadership interested in GWOT and this would need Baloch movement to be suppressed by money or force.

So chankians can keep dreaming, last time I heard about a plan to send zillion soldiers to kabul..whatever happened to that

Isnt that less money for 'cashmere' given the resource crunch?

^ Saar padosi has been eating grass all these years but still has managed to pile up a decent nuclear arsenal and the extremism in J&K is being funded by a wide array of channels (hawala, ME, UK ,drug trafficking etc) , I don't see the trend changing unless we do something to tackle this head on trying to hold the nose around the head will only make us more vulnerable and look stupid.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

pgbhat wrote:
ramana wrote: Baloch self determination wont effect TSP state integrity as much as NWFP Pashtun self determination, for that is linked at the hip with Pakjab (West Punjab). Sindh self determination would cut off Pakjab access to sea and would rile the Anglo-Saxon West. And this keeps Western interests intact.
To add to Brigadier's comment....it would set the Chicoms alarm bells ringing with Gwadar going off the radar.
I think we are underestimating the Chicoms ... If baluchistan going independant seems certain they will suddenly cozy up to the new baluchi govt. to protect their investment. They might even beat India to locking up the resources in that region.

ramana wrote:Isnt that less money for 'cashmere' given the resource crunch?
x2 we need to keep raising the cost of keeping Pakis together as a country.

Sonia meets Pranab, Antony, discusses ties with Pak, US
In a sudden development, Congress president Sonia Gandhi [ Images ] on Wednesday sought the views of senior Congress leaders, over the recent diplomatic developments involving Pakistan and United States.

Gandhi, after hearing Bharatiya Janata Party's [ Images ] opposition to the End-Use Monitoring Agreement with the US, decided to seek the opinion of senior Congress leaders about the issue.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi is understood to have discussed the Indo-Pak join statement, issued at the sidelines of the Non-Aligned Movement summit, and the defence agreement with the US on the EUMA, with Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee [ Images ] and Defence Minister A K Antony in her Parliament office on Wednesday.

Sources said the two leaders were called for the discussions in view of media reports about Mukherjee's reservations on the Indo-Pak statement and the Defence Ministry's misgivings about being bypassed in the EUMA deal.

Gandhi reportedly told the two senior leaders that such reports provided additional leverage to the Opposition to criticise the government. Sonia asked the two leaders to stand by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh [ Images ] on both initiatives and dispel the notion that the Congress had distanced itself from the government on such issues.

However, the gag order on Congress spokespersons continued with Jayanthi
Natarajan reiterating at the daily press briefing that the party has nothing more to add to what the prime minister has already said in the Parliament.
ramana wrote:OK now that the experts(outside GOI) and the establishment(inside GOI) have agreed, that it was mistake and possibly due to a 'drafting error', can we focus on why such a cognitive dissonance occured? How was the establishment so focussed on the joint statement that they allowed a drafting error to creep in? What were the root causes and the underlaying circumustances for that to prevail?

Ramana garu, there has been no new information added to the thread (after 24 hours of the thread start) except for MEA admitting the neglect on its part. IMO, the "original" plan besides obvious propping of Gilanahi was to create a "material" distraction from the potential censure of EUMA. The critical mindshare of analyst community was deprived from EUMA and the deal obviously will be provided as a fait-accomply.

However, the credit goes to our analyst community that has covered both the issues in detail and bought people's attention.

Our focus should be to change MMS's modus-operandi of bulldozing internal stakeholders by bringing pressure on the party.

Philip wrote:The astonishing admission from Menon that the " drafting" of the joint statement was not well done is a severe indictment upon the Indian MEA and the diplomutts who were responsible for it.Had they peformed so in Stalinist or Soviet times,they would've been sent to Siberia on a one way ticket if they were lucky,normally ending up as targets for practice shooting.They reward that these unworthies deserve is a one-way ticket to Siachen.Under no circumstances must those responsible for this catastrophe and abject surrender to Pak be allowed to get off scot free.They must be held accountable and divested of whatever important posts they hold.A purge is needed of all those involved in mollycoddling Pak for its history of terror against India.Menon and Co. have made Indian diplomacy the laughing stock of the world.Who will take us seriously now if we cannot deal with a disgraced terrorist entity,a failed state like Pak?

The mistake we are making is that we think that the fiasco was an Indian draft.

The true fact is that after much pappi jappi in panjabi, some tandoori and lassi, our Fearless Leader ("we have nothing to hide") signed the porki drafted statement.

The statement makes eminent sense now since it was porki drafted onlee.

Sign in haste and repent at leisure.

Now somebody has to tell our diplomutts ( borrowing from Philip!)
that the erect phallus has to point in the other direction. And also that it can be used for other things than pissing into the head wind.

To think that we got taken by a wimp like gilani is to add serious insult to injury.

To quote from another blog, and not repeat not meaning any offence, it seems that we have the same number of people from a particular southern state in the Defence ministry now that we had in 1962.

Scary thought that.
Last edited by chetak on 22 Jul 2009 22:03, edited 1 time in total.

The cat is out of the bag, and it is not going back in.
MMS's actions have released the balochistan genie. Now here is what is happening:

1. Pakistan is openly accusing india of terrorism via balochistan BLA (OK they were doing this earlier too, but now that the balochis are associating their liberation with calls to india to intervene, pakistan's lie gets a new life of its own).
2. With the balochs getting all excited about freedom, and openly calling out to india, the pak army will have to go in and perform another genocide there to quell this round of uprising. The pakistanis are already talking of extending their war against the taliban into balochistan.
3. India has minimal involvement there currently, and is in no position to increase its involvement there rapidly. Besides, MMS is no statesman internationally to be able to highlight the oppression of the baloch people, much less to rally support for an independent balochistan.

This will only get the balochis killed, India and MMS will stand by, and continue to parrot 'we are doing nothing in balochistan onlee'. Ultimately, the balochis will end up hating india for not coming to their rescue when they were being massacred.

negi wrote:
As far as Balochistan is concerned we need to realise that it is US which has huge stakes involved in the region probably even more than India ; a dismantled and unstable TSP is the last thing the paranoid folks in US want
What about a stable and US-friendly Balochistan right next to Iran. :twisted:
negi wrote: So chankians can keep dreaming, last time I heard about a plan to send zillion soldiers to kabul..whatever happened to that
This is getting old. Will you kindly stop trying to make fun of others in every post of yours? a humble request onlee. This does not make for a good debate and debate is all we are having right now here. And every one of us is learning something from each other, aren't we? I'm tired of reading this misspelled chankian chankian all over the thread.

ISLAMABAD, July 21: Pakistan has handed over to India comprehensive evidence of Indian involvement in a number of terrorist acts on its soil.

According to sources, a dossier containing proofs of India’s involvement in subversive activities in Pakistan was handed over by Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani to his Indian counterpart Dr Manmohan Singh during their recent meeting at Sharm el-Sheikh in Egypt.

Pakistan has also shared these evidences with the United States and Afghanistan, specifically asking the latter to prevent the use of its soil for disruptive activities against it.

Although the information given to India is being kept highly secret, broad outlines of the dossier available with Dawn reveal details of Indian contacts with those involved in attacks on the Sri Lankan cricket team and the Manawan police station.

More at:

Paksitan at its Best
Goodness Gracious me!

negi wrote:^ Saar padosi has been eating grass all these years but still has managed to pile up a decent nuclear arsenal and the extremism in J&K is being funded by a wide array of channels (hawala, ME, UK ,drug trafficking etc) , I don't see the trend changing unless we do something to tackle this head on trying to hold the nose around the head will only make us more vulnerable and look stupid.

Yes even the grass is donated by the West. And it wasnt grass eating that got them their nukes. It was PRC transfer under benign eye of US. Thnaks to the financial meltdown of 2008 there is a small window of opportunity. And to exploit that we need unity and single minded purpose.

I know people dont like my quoting panchatantra tales but the one about the Brahmin, tiger and jackal is apt. What we need is the native wisdom of the jackal of that story. The Tiger (West) is caged and lets not release it. They need more stimulus and are tied up in their own cooked books.
-------
Just saw the other posts.

Its the Balochis who will get their freedom with or without Indian help. Right now all they need is non-interference in their fight. Yes TSPA will behave par for the course. And that alienates it even further and relegates it to a state force from a national force.

Whats new and West will ignore it. By the way recall the righteous anger the West had with Saddam using Air force against the revolt in Basra? Well using airforce for that purpose was British RAF innovation during early 1930s against the Waziris. And Zulfi Bhutto used the Fizzle ya againt the revolting Balochis in 1976-77. And not a peep from the paragon of Human Rights Jimmy Cretin.

So why are we blaming MMS and GOI for what TSPA and the West will do anyway? If the drafting error gives support to the Balochis more power to them. Or are we the new weeping brigade for the long suffering people of TSP aka PONAM?

From the POV of the ordinary abdul in pakistan:

1. Kashmir is a legitimate struggle of the muslims against hindu india. Kashmir = jihad, a religious struggle which is the duty of a muslim.
2. Hindu India is sponsoring terrorism in balochistan, just like in east pakistan. This is totally unjustified and calls for a jihad against hindu india and the munafiqs in balochistan.

Another reason to raise the already high BP of the paki abdul gets created. :rotfl:

What about a stable and US-friendly Balochistan right next to Iran.
Why would US want only Balochistan when they have entire Af-Pak region under their control ?

negi wrote:
Why would US want only Balochistan when they have entire Af-Pak region under their control ?
It is in addition to Afghanistan and parts of NWFP.

Check UNOCAL and the Gwadar port!

Rest of Pakistan is not material!

chetak,

Please leave the ethnicities of those responsoble for the disaster at Sharm-el-sheikh out of the picture.

RayC wrote: Rest of Pakistan is not material!
That is if you assume US has no interest in J&K.

negi wrote:
RayC wrote: Rest of Pakistan is not material!
That is if you assume US has no interest in J&K.
Not as yet.

They have a pliant India.

Kissinger Doctrine!

Will you kindly stop trying to make fun of others in every post of yours?
Sir I never saw similar request when the said group was making fun of so called :(( group .So I thought game was on . :mrgreen:
Last edited by RayC on 22 Jul 2009 22:21, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Negi, Take it easy and look busy. Don't upset folks!

Regarding Menon's statement that it might have been a drafting error, was he covering his bases or was it a cover up for the PM?

RaviBg wrote:Regarding Menon's statement that it might have been a drafting error, was he covering his bases or was it a cover up for the PM?
Definitely latter case. He is finishing his job on July 31st. He wanted to be away for the next 3 months. So he can take the heat and MMS need not. He would be expecting some work later on form MMS.

If India were operating from a position of strength, and in fact TSP is getting hurt by Indian involvement in Balochistan, I would say joint declaration was a Chankyan move. India can say, you stop your hanky panky in J&K and elsewhere in India, and we stop our involvement. If India were even stronger and courageous (like if my aunty had b@lls, she wuld be my uncle :-)), India could say, you give Baluchis freedom, and we stop our armed support :-). Heck, even TSP knows its claims of Indian involvement are bogus, but it still can use it for equal equal for India. But even on this count, TSP is on a winning wicket, simply because after 60 years of whining, they are recognized as a party to contend with in J&K, and big cheese USA has sanctified that LeT terrorism is a justified consequence of irresolution of Kashmir by India. India enjoys no such international support on Baluchistan. All in all, mention of Balochistan in the joint statement was an unmitigated disaster.

Ok let me put this straight (without spin and antics); I don't buy into the 'drafting error' theory .

It is obvious that the request to include 'Balochistan issue' was brought up from either of the sides, according to DDM it's TSP so for now I would take it fwiw.The fact that GOI has agreed it to be a part of the JS to me is an endorsement of TSP pov i.e. India has a role (direct/indirect /diplomatic ..whatever you may wish to call) in the Balochistan issue .

But then isn't TERRORISM supposed to be delinked from the composite dialogue process according to the joint statement ? and ofcourse it goes without saying that J&K will be an outstanding issue as far as TSP is concerned. So learned folks what is it that Indian contingent will talk about in such meetings ?

Gagan wrote:From the POV of the ordinary abdul in pakistan:

1. Kashmir is a legitimate struggle of the muslims against hindu india. Kashmir = jihad, a religious struggle which is the duty of a muslim.
2. Hindu India is sponsoring terrorism in balochistan, just like in east pakistan. This is totally unjustified and calls for a jihad against hindu india and the munafiqs in balochistan.

Another reason to raise the already high BP of the paki abdul gets created. :rotfl:

The isi will leverage this "legitimate struggle of the muslims against hindu india" to whip up local passions and divert attention from local issues and focus on India.

The sheer cultural insult and the deep seated fear that India will partition the porkis a second time even though the partitioned off peoples are "muslim" but not "their muslim" will sear the bottom of the local abdul.

porkis never considered bangladeshis or baluchis as "their muslims"
hence the easy zulm against them with no public outcry.

I am sorry what is the latest justification of putting Balochistan?

This gets totally tying ourselves in knots now.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ah and with the focus on Balochistan!! What about dilinking everything else from terror? Why is that not a issue anymore haan?

Boss(es) before you censor negi for taking a mocking line towards some explanation, please also restrain N^3 from doing the same to perfectly reasonable arguments.

X-posted...
Gagan wrote:The 'dossier' is likely a collection of under lungi photo shots that the pakistani newspapers and TV presenters have been talking about.

The phone intercept transcript is likely to go like:

Terrorist: "Helooo, Jai shri ram, I am ravi uma bahrati calling from waziristan"
Handler: "Jai ram ji ki, I am Advani narender modi talking from the RSS office in delhi"
Terrorist: "Saar, I am finding indulging in terrorist activities in the pure land of pakistan very difficult. There is no vegetarian food here"
Handler: "Don't worry, you go and plant the bomb and kill those pakistanis, we are sending you a tiffin with vegetarian food from the 4 million consulates we have established in afghanistan onlee"
Terrorist: "Wokay, saar. Namaskaaram"

This dossier is going to provide good comic relief to the babooze in nai dilli.
So its the South Indians again! Instead of saar you should have said ayya!

negi wrote: Sir I never saw similar request when the said group was making fun of so called :(( group .So I thought game was on . :mrgreen:
So I guess you assumed that you were a part of the :(( brigade? :mrgreen:
See, it was SSridhar sir who reported this harakiri and started with a strong criticism of the deed. Do you think anyone called him a whiner? He knows pak more than many of us combined and when he says something, I listen. Few would say that GoI does not deserve criticism. We all criticize them from time to time. But please note his demeanor... he doesn't start off as "MMS is a traitor!!" "Impeach him" "He is on American payroll" "These people will sell Kashmir" ... and the like.
It seems that some users here start criticizing each other right from the word go, instead of simply presenting differing points of view.
It is talk like this that constitutes for a :(( , not criticism of GoI / MMS.
1) If I am to believe Shri Menon ji, then a drafting error is unpardonable. For this is international document we are dealing with, not a love letter to your chat-girlfriend.
2) If this was not a drafting error, then it could be that MMS/his advisors knew it and did not realize the importance/consequence of it. That is a bigger mistake which should not go uncriticized and should be raised in proper circles in the country.
3) If it was neither a drafting error, nor they understimated its consequences, then either it was MMS going by the Punjabi pappi-jhappi emotion ( PPJ: copyrighted by someone in this thread) or they had some other plans. If it was the former, it was a big mistake again, that should not go uncriticized. If it was latter, we would not know now, or maybe never.
4) Maybe it was not MMS's choice at all. Maybe unkil has more control over things than some of us realize. Again, undesirable, but a fact regardless (if true). In that case one can lament that MMS does not have the spine of IG, but we can only wish for a leader with spine for now. The Modis aren't winning national elections.

Now I don't know if putting Balochistan was a great move or a self goal. But it is done and all I can try to see now is what would be the consequences. The Baloch leaders have responded quickly and now it is up to the Indian leadership how they handle it.

ramana wrote:So its the South Indians again! Instead of saar you should have said ayya!
Kannadigas use saar a lot instead of ayya ;) ......
Okay if pakis have "conclusive evidence" then we will know the extent of Indian capabilities in Blowchistan......but what was unkil doing all this while? if he truly did not support Indian "involvement" then he would have raised the issue regardless of joint statement no?? .... Pakis being his MuNNA and all.

negi wrote:
While I admit I just floated that idea as a random thought but see..
Haven't the pakjabis given unkil a real pain in the butt in lieu of doing their bidding from time to time? hasn't unkil shown tardiness in continually pumping $s and arms-technology to the pakjabi army only to see most of the $s go waste (or in swiss bank accounts) and the technology get sold to their biggest Asian competitor/challenger with a near 2Trillion forex reserve? now what would unkil do to have a more pliant, less fanatic, less resource hogging, less ambitions (no Kashmir-like infatuation) ally next to their nemesis in the region? also, the pakjabis have been a roadblock in unkil's dealings with India and unkil sees a lot of profit potential from India.

Sanku ji....fwiw I have no issues with N^3's posting style infact I sit back and enjoy his sense of humour and then he never objected to my posting style either, he unlike me comes with a lot to contribute and as long as it does no get personal its cool. 8).

Archan maharaj I have never used phrases like "MMS is a traitor!!" "Impeach him" "He is on American payroll" "These people will sell Kashmir" ... and the like. (last time I called him 'napunsak' I was banned :) , I have stopped using any adjectives for PM since then).

As far as I am concerned I have no issues people labeling me :(( but then they should be sporting enough and be ready to take some on the chin it makes exchanges colorful only :mrgreen: .If admins are not for it then I will desist .