J & K news and discussion

Re: J & K news and discussion

This is the sort of post that I keep trying to resist responding to, but you have got the better of me.
To expect Indians in the future to absorb over 200M raving lunatics into Mother India's fold is sheer idiocy. Nay, short-sightedness.

WHERE has Advani recommended anything of the sort? Can you please read it out real slowly to me because I must be too stupid to see it?

narayanan wrote:This is the sort of post that I keep trying to resist responding to, but you have got the better of me.
To expect Indians in the future to absorb over 200M raving lunatics into Mother India's fold is sheer idiocy. Nay, short-sightedness.

WHERE has Advani recommended anything of the sort? Can you please read it out real slowly to me because I must be too stupid to see it?
Here you go. Read it real slow...and enjoy.
He is holding out that slender ray of hope that one day, Pakis can aspire to be part of an actual nation again.

So your response is this:
Here you go. Read it real slow...and enjoy.
No, you don't escape with that - I wrote what you quoted there, not Advani, so you have just sunk a lot deeper with that attempt.

Again, second chance: WHERE did Advani say what YOU claim he said? Point it out, or withdraw what you wrote. Let me repeat what you wrote:
I am sorry but I think Advaniji has gone senile. Must have been that trip to Djinn-ahs tomb. To expect Indians in the future to absorb over 200M raving lunatics into Mother India's fold is sheer idiocy. Nay, short-sightedness.
Justify that description of what Advani said, or withdraw it and apologize.

JK CM resigns

narayanan wrote:Justify that description of what Advani said, or withdraw it and apologize.
\

My last post on this issue. I am quoting your own post. After this you are beyond help:
Now you will see why such a statement from no less than Advani is a devastating act of destabilization against the Paki power structure. He (Advani) is holding out that slender ray of hope that one day, Pakis can aspire to be part of an actual nation again.

My last post on this issue. I am quoting your own post. After this you are beyond help:
Yes, anupmishra, I am "beyond help" because I am way too stupid to continue to tolerate the behavior of disruptive postors who come into a reasoned discussion and fa*t in everyone's faces. No way of expressing that mildly - what you did is to post gratuitous, offensive sh*t about a venerated leader with absolutely no basis.

Let me quote your statement again:
I am sorry but I think Advaniji has gone senile. Must have been that trip to Djinn-ahs tomb. To expect Indians in the future to absorb over 200M raving lunatics into Mother India's fold is sheer idiocy. Nay, short-sightedness.
When asked politely to justify that from the report of what Shri Advani said, you responded with an in-my-face fa*t again, just copying what I wrote, and slimily trying to squirm out and evade the question.

That does not work.

I refuse to accept such behavior, because it destroys intelligent discussion, and has absolutely no justitfication, given that bad upbringing is not a justification.

Given every opportunity to defend what you wrote, or to be honest, withdraw your fa*t and apologize, your response is utterly dishonest, cowardly, and reveals far more about yourself than I wished to see. I am glad that this will be your last post - may I hope on this forum? Excellent idea, thanks.

CBI gives clean chit to J-K CM Omar Abdullah

Omar resigns, Governor asks him to continue
Srinagar, July 28 (PTI) On a day of high drama, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah today tendered his resignation to Governor N N Vohra asking him to go into a senior PDP leader's allegation of his involvement in the 2006 sex scandal and accept it if he was guilty.

The Governor is reported to have observed that he would be able to consider Omar's resignation only after being fully informed about the details of the allegation against him and verifying its basis.

The Governor has asked Omar to continue to discharge his responsibilities as Chief Minister till a final decision is taken, a Raj Bhavan spokesperson said in a statement.

Vohra, who was on his way to the airport to leave for Delhi to attend to certain engagements, deferred his departure on receiving a message that the Chief Minister wanted to meet him urgently.
Jaspreet

Post by Jaspreet »

Advani's statement:
I conceive that there would be a time when decades hence, both the countries would feel that partition has not solved matters.
I disagree with this.
(a) He seems to be implying that both sides wanted partition. In reality, only one did. Those who remained or resettled in India didn't want it.
(b) Partition, like amputation, is sometimes a good option.
(c) Initially, Indians didn't want partition. But now it appears that (and I have not conducted any scientific survey) that they're glad to be rid of the detritus. At least it isn't an obstacle to whatever India wants to achieve.

In order for Pakistanis to realize that partition was wrong, a lot has to change in their education system(both formal and informal) and other systems. This appears unlikely in their present state.
satya

Post by satya »

What's wrong with Sh. LKAjee's statement . It makes a perfect sense : Indians thought we had given them their own rag-tag country & they will live in peace & harmony but............. now we know its not true so Sh. LKAjees's statement is correct from an Indian PoV.

Let's see the side of TSPians , they always felt TSP will stand & one by one India will be taken over by them as new age Mughals but reality such a pain in b.... its otherway happening , Indians have come more closer thnxx to development of 2nd line of Metro cities in likes of Gurgaon where Indians from all corners are living & working together , in a way we are more integrating .Do i need to repeat the TSP's problem mantras we all know them so yes TSPians know partition never solved their problem , it actually brought out the rot that was always in them out simple.

A request for members here who get edgy on every Indian Politician's statement , take a deep breath & ask a question why he said so then ignore the answer that is he is a sell out . Ignore then 2nd answer that he has lost his mind. Ignore the 3rd answer he has found love in TSP . Ignore the 4th answer he has no brain . So by the time one has ignored all the obvious answers which may well run a max of 10 , we will find the obvious intent of such statements .

Let's enjoy the good times. Sh. LKA & Sh. MMS warm greetings , hulla bulla in parliament & now this so naive statement .

Seeking a clarification only:

Has anupmisra been banned? Or merely warned? His posts in the TSP thread are numerous, well aimed and entertaining. I certainly hope he'll continue to be active there.

Hari Seldon wrote:Seeking a clarification only:

Has anupmisra been banned? Or merely warned?
neither.

I have a question to the Gurus?

Indian citizens cannot buy property in J&K under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution. Fine!

Can India settle Hindu and Sikh refugees from Pakistan in the Kashmir Valley, under Army protection?

There are around 3,200,000 Hindus and 5000 Sikhs in Pakistan today according to Wikipedia.
Jaspreet

Post by Jaspreet »

Can India settle Hindu and Sikh refugees from Pakistan in the Kashmir Valley, under Army protection?
What's the point then? They'll have to live in constant fear.

I don't think there's any Indian law that allows foreigners to settle in any part of India without due process. And if due process takes place they will become regular citizens of India. If they are regular citizens of India, then they'll be subject to Article 370.

If they were Kashmiris(from POK) to begin with and have sought asylum in India then I don't know what rules will apply.

RajeshA wrote:I have a question to the Gurus?

Indian citizens cannot buy property in J&K under Article 370 of the Indian Constitution. Fine!

There are around 3,200,000 Hindus and 5000 Sikhs in Pakistan today according to Wikipedia.
Any such policy requires clear definition of "India", RajeshA-ji. India is not found (aka Israel), it has been there forever.

IMO, it will take a decade or two from now. Before doing anything that interesting, that PM of India must settle the Kashmiri Hindu's first with clear and tangible commitments on property, financial (monthly grants), physical security.

FWIW, states like Sikkim also forbid outsiders from buying land/property there. With good reason perhaps. Some domicile policy in effect to ID and protect the insiders. Their 6 lacs of popn will get swamped out in 6 days if the doors open.

Similar protection is also afforded other hill regions, if I am not wrong, as also some NE states.

A Possible Kashmir Solution

The logic behind my question goes as follows: -

a) Often the host population (in this case Kashmiris) hold the ethnic cleansers or human rights violators responsible, if there is a large-scale refugee crisis. For example, if Tibetans come streaming down to India, then we will hold Chinese responsible for causing the refugees to flee, etc. Similarly the Kashmiris would be angry at the Pakistanis for causing such an exodus, for which the Kashmiris have to suffer.

This is the usual dynamic. I don't know if it works in case of Kashmir.

b) Secondly when there is a population displacement, usually the host country (India) tries to decide, where the refugees will settle down. Often it is near the border region. If the refugees enter India, say through the various transit routes which have been opened for inter-Kashmir travel, then the refugees might end up settling down in refugee camps near those border crossings (in Kashmir itself).

So there is a perfect logic, why the refugees settle down in Kashmir.

c) A refugee exodus usually entails a humanitarian crisis, and for humanitarian reasons, it is not nice to deny them asylum and comfort.

So the Kashmiris cannot just deny the refugees shelter. They can deny Indian citizens the right to abode in Kashmir, but refugees from outside India are not Indian citizens.

d) The tent cities that will come up would at first be declared temporary. With time things become more permanent.

e) 3 million refugees in Kashmir Valley would change the ethnic complexion of Kashmir for ever.

f) There will be anger amongst the refugees towards the Pakistanis for causing them to flee their homes, and there will be anger amongst the Kashmiris towards the Pakistanis for causing them this trouble.

g) Hindu & Sikh refugees will organize themselves politically snatching the control of the Kashmir state from the hands of the thankless Kashmiri Muslims. Something like what the Muslim Urdu-speaking Mohajirs did to the Sindhis in Karachi, and the Pushtun immigrants have done to Mohajirs in Karachi.

h) After 10 years, the Hindu+Sikh refugees in Kashmir will be naturalized as Kashmiri Indians, giving them the right to abode in Kashmir itself. It will cause a lot of consternation, but what the hell.

i) Then the Kashmiri Pundits who fled Kashmir can start returning to Kashmir as the overwhelming number of refugee Hindus and Sikhs in Kashmir would provide a much more secure environment to the returning Kashmiri Pundits.

j) The Hindus and Sikhs from Pakistan are used to living in an extremist Muslim dominated area, so they are much more comfortable dealing with the associated problems.

k) Since J&K itself has been responsible for the displacement of so many Kashmiri Pundits from there, and other areas of India have had to take in these refugees, J&K has lost the moral space to complain about refugees coming from elsewhere. If other areas can take in refugees from J&K, J&K can also take in refugees from elsewhere.

l) The irony of it all would be that Pakistanis would have lost any chance of recovering Kashmir due to their own barbarity at home against the minorities.

m) India would have secured Kashmir for ever without violating Article 370. The Kashmiri Pundits would have returned. The Kashmiri Muslims would learn how to adjust to a Hindu majority. :twisted:

Omar resigns, Governor asks him to continue
On a day of high drama, Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Tuesday tendered his resignation to Governor N N Vohra asking him to go into a senior PDP leader's allegation of his involvement in the 2006 sex scandal and accept it if he was guilty.

The Governor is reported to have observed that he would be able to consider Omar's resignation only after being fully informed about the details of the allegation against him and verifying its basis.

The Governor has asked Omar to continue to discharge his responsibilities as Chief Minister till a final decision is taken, a Raj Bhavan spokesperson said in a statement
http://publication.samachar.com/pub_art ... extIndex=1

Excellent ideas RajeshAji.. very practical approach...

I hope our supreme leader and dear leader grow a pair of :idea: :idea: each or together...

narayanan wrote:Hello KVRao garu et al: Pls read carefully what Advani said. It's excellent pisskops.

"I conceive that there would be a time when decades hence, both the countries would feel that partition has not solved matters. "

There is an exercise that I would highly recommend to ppl who are not regular postors in the Lal Mullah University's BENIS thread. This is to close your eyes and imagine what it is like for a Pakistani who has access to TV, internet and news media, especially a RAPE, to wake up in the morning.

Now you will see why such a statement from no less than Advani is a devastating act of destabilization against the Paki power structure. He is holding out that slender ray of hope that one day, Pakis can aspire to be part of an actual nation again. It brings out all the contrast between the trajectories of India and their terrorist slum, and in that fleeting moment of subconscious reasoning b4 they actually open their eyes and become Pakis again, it occurs to them how stupid their many fathers were to not stay part of India. And then reality hits like a well-deserved kick in the musharraf.
Maybe pisskops but the prospect of undoing partition, and the idea that Advani may actually mean what he says, is frightening. I know what he said is more nuanced and perhaps doesn't deserve the tag of senility etc., however partition is an ideological mindset rather than a failed solution to a problem, and public discourse (outside of brf) hardly recognizes this.

A Possible Kashmir Solution - II
RamaY wrote:^^^

Excellent ideas RajeshAji.. very practical approach...

I hope our supreme leader and dear leader grow a pair of :idea: :idea: each or together...
Thank you RamaY ji.

On the one hand we see that only 3.2 million Hindus is all that is left in Pakistan. In a couple of decades, there may be none left. Those who were Hindus would have been converted by then, and there would still more Pakistanis to worry about. Indic values mean nothing if we can't show solidarity with those Indics who live in fear.

Elaborating on the above ideas -
n) The Islamists in the Valley would also not be able to point fingers at Indians, that we are conspiring against them, because those Hindus and Sikhs fleeing over the border/LoC into Kashmir would have been made refugees by Islamists themselves. How can they complain about a problem they themselves created?

o) The ever present 'international community' too would not be able to accuse India of anything sinister in the Kashmir Valley, simply because we could respond, that India is having to bear the burden of millions of refugees, and all the 'international community' can do is complain. If they have problems with how India is looking after the refugees, perhaps the Western countries themselves may be interested in adopting a couple of thousand refugees themselves. The 'international community' would be on a very weak wicket, should they so much as criticize the Hinduisation of Kashmir.

p) The Muslim countries too would not be able to complain about it, as their co-religionists - The Pakistani Jihadis - would have been responsible for ethnic cleansing themselves.

q) The Central Funds that flow at the moment to Kashmiri Muslims would start flowing to the refugees. The financial burden for India would be manageable, IMVHO.

Has anupmisra been banned? Or merely warned?
As Rahul said, neither, and AFAIK, no one has suggested anything of the sort. But he has complained to the Admins - and I have not read the complaint, nor plan to do so. Ppl who cannot defend their arguments on the open forum, and who get chased out of their hiding places behind smart-aleck remarks, generally go :(( :(( :(( to Momma or Teacher afterwards, nothing new there. Fits the profile perfectly.

The sequence of events is very clear above, and as MMS said on Balochistan, I have nothing to hide.

Let me post an illustration, OT, sure.

A long time ago I was stuck in a train going across South India, last train before a total Railway Strike. The 14-hour journey was nearing 30 hours, and no doubt, conditions were tense for everyone in the overcrowded "sleeper" coach. People had to sit in the aisles, etc.

There was this young couple with a baby, and they had a suitcase in the aisle. Along swaggers this (deleted), on his way to the restroom and an offensive cigarette in this mouth, and very very deliberately, he proceeds to stomp on their suitcase on his way. Totally unnecessary - we were all walking back and forth with no trouble at all.

The young husband protested politely, and pointed out in Hindi that the suitcase was a hard-earned possession, not a product of theft, and it should not be destroyed. OK, so the (deleted) had 3 choices:
1. The civilized, smart choice: apologize and walk away
2. Ignore and walk away
3. Do what he did: Laugh and proclaim loud enough for everyone to hear:
Teri chori ka phal tere paas hee baiththee hai

OK, now that left the young husband with very little choice. He got up. It occurred to me and maybe a couple of others, that few people in that S. Indian sleeper coach understood Hindi, which was a blessing, but we really didn't want to handle bleeding stab victims etc. So we had to intervene.

Let me just say that the only effective intervention there was to unhesitatingly, clearly and pointedly get in the face of the offender, point out that he had offended, and that he needed to back off right away. I did not know if he carried a knife or gun, or if he would beat me to pulp and throw me out of the carriage (the train wasn't really going anywhere..). moi being a SDRE wimp. Hesitation, equivocation, "not my problem I am not going to get involved" etc. would not have worked, not that those did not occur to me, but I was even stupider then than I am now. Other courses of action would not have resolved the situation. I gambled correctly that the guy, if he wasn't smart enough to apologize and move on, was a cowardly bully, and like all bullies, would back down if faced with an instant choice.

Once I had got in the (deleted)'s face, others backed me up. We took the best course and resolved the situation. The (deleted) when he dared to come back that way hours later, was very very careful not to touch the suitcase in any way or look at anyone in that compartment. No one was "banned", killed, hit, stabbed etc. Unfortunately, because we were not vicious, we did not explain to the other passengers what the (deleted) had done and said, and so he was not slapped silly, had his golas kicked and slammed in jail as he should have been.

I knew right then that with my famed "Insaniyat over Insanity" restraint and kind and gentle nature that saved the (deleted) from punishment, my future held great things, and that one day I would rise to the stellar heights of being a BRF admin, however temporarily.

But I don't need to use the vast powers of that 'office' to deal with people who have never learned not to give in-ur-face smart-aleck sh!t where a simple smile and quick withdrawal would have been the intelligent choice.

No intelligent or reasoned discussion can occur if this is the "chalta hai" mode:

Postor A posts some news item, carefully posting only the url and the title.
Postor B take the trouble to read the full article, think about it, and post a reasoned opinion.

Postor C comes in and says: "*&^%%^*(())*^&(()(^&^*("

When asked to justify that, Postor C's response is
Teri chori ka phal tere paas hee baiththee hai

anupmishra had a choice. Thrice. He made his, I made mine.

Cheers

RajeshA wrote:A Possible Kashmir Solution

.....b) Secondly when there is a population displacement, usually the host country (India) tries to decide, where the refugees will settle down. Often it is near the border region. If the refugees enter India, say through the various transit routes which have been opened for inter-Kashmir travel, then the refugees might end up settling down in refugee camps near those border crossings (in Kashmir itself).

So there is a perfect logic, why the refugees settle down in Kashmir....

The Islamists in the Valley would also not be able to point fingers at Indians, that we are conspiring against them, because those Hindus and Sikhs fleeing over the border/LoC into Kashmir would have been made refugees by Islamists themselves. How can they complain about a problem they themselves created?
RajeshA,

If history is any guide, these Hindus and Sikhs from Pakistan, will be settled not in the Kashmir region of J&K State but in Jammu.

In 1947 Hindus and Sikhs were massacred and the rest driven out from the Muzzafrabad-Mirpur belt of the J&K princely state by the Pakistani invaders. Muzzafrabad was part of the Kashmir province but the communal Sheikh Abdullah refused to let them settle down in Kashmir and they were forcibly pushed down to Jammu. The others from places like Kotli, Rawlakot, and Mirpur, which were all part of Jammu region, in any case made a beeline for Jammu.

But what is even more shocking is that after 60 years these refugees have ZERO rights in their own state:
Refugees from Pak occupied Kashmir (PoK) observed black day and paid tributes to the martyrs who laid down their lives while fighting with the Pakistani raiders in Mirpur, Kotli and Muzaffrabad area.

Several refugee leaders including Rajiv Chunni, Dr Gurmeet Singh, Amit Bali, Surjit Kour, R L Nehru, J N Thappar, Suchwant Singh and Sukhdev Singh and others addressed the gathering. They criticised the Government for not resolving their pending issue, regarding permanent settlement of the refugees. They also criticised several Valley based political organisations for their anti-refugees stance.
Daily Excelsior

This news item is from last year:
Strongly rejecting Rs 50 crore package offered to the refugees of Jammu by Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, SOS International, an organisation of PoK refugees has alleged that it was an insult and a cruel joke made with the displaced persons suffering for the last about six decades.

Addressing a press conference here today, Rajiv Chuni, chairman of the organisation, said that refugees of Pak Occupied Kashmir and those from West Pakistan and Chhamb have lost faith in the Congress, UPA Government and the leadership of Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh as he turned out to be the first PM who made the mockery of a most sensitive issue which is unique and amounts to breach of oath of equality.

He alleged that due to wrong policies of Pt Jawahar Lal Nehru, the then Prime Minister, the PoK refugees were made homeless and the area of three districts including Poonch, Mirpur and Muzaffrabad was stripped off from the State and the people turned homeless and refugees. Over fifty thousand people sacrificed their lives during massacre and the Government of India has now forgotten its claim over that territory and welfare and settlement of these hapless people.
Therefore any refugees from Pakistan will be dumped into Jammu, which is already Hindu-majority. It will not make any difference to the power-equation because despite a smaller population, Kashmir has more seats in the legislative assembly, and since the refugees of 1947 have not been given voting rights or extra seats, neither will the refugees of this century get any rights from the communal Kashmir-dominated polity.

Airavatji, delicate question to you and anyone else:

There is a website called "indiatogether". You can find it on google, easy. They have what they call the "official documents" etc. and a chronology of the "Kashmir problem". When I checked it, it seems clearly a paki propaganda website (though the originator of indiatogether is nominally of Indian origin, it is doubtful how much salt he remembers eating from India). They "cite" some "documents" but those are not hyperlinked, so one cannot verify easily. Also, it seems to me that their primary "reference" is one or 2 books by some very suspect entities.

Would u pls browse that (it is against policy to post urls of paki propagandoos here) and give us some good ammo to debunk that propaganda? in particular, this request is triggered by your mention of the massacres and refugees from Poonch and Mirpur. These fellows refer to some events that occurred long BEFORE october 1948.

Please don't lose your temper when you browse that site. Some of believe in 'don't get mad, get even'. The entities that run that site have had occasion in the past to feel major pain in their musharrafs, for which I take credit. :mrgreen:

The tragedy is that I took down the site I made which had links to the original documents. I thought the point had been made, that it was the Pakistani invasion of independent Kashmir that started the Kashmir standoff. The thrust of the above site is to make the Pakis look like liberators.

narayanan wrote:Airavatji, delicate question to you and anyone else:

There is a website called "indiatogether". You can find it on google, easy. They have what they call the "official documents" etc. and a chronology of the "Kashmir problem". When I checked it, it seems clearly a paki propaganda website (though the originator of indiatogether is nominally of Indian origin, it is doubtful how much salt he remembers eating from India). They "cite" some "documents" but those are not hyperlinked, so one cannot verify easily. Also, it seems to me that their primary "reference" is one or 2 books by some very suspect entities.

Would u pls browse that (it is against policy to post urls of paki propagandoos here) and give us some good ammo to debunk that propaganda? in particular, this request is triggered by your mention of the massacres and refugees from Poonch and Mirpur. These fellows refer to some events that occurred long BEFORE october 1948.
Indiatogether has elements of FOIL groups and other psec groups.

There seems to be a psy ops against Indians only now since Original docs are available online now and their earlier propaganda is not working.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Temptingly macho that it sounds, attempting a demographic change is easier said than done in a democratic country...To start with, we cant "force" people to migrate, or refugees to settle in Kashmir..We can only "incentivise"..Given the security situation in KAshmir, how many Hindus/sikhs will voluntarily migrate there? And what would be the incentives required? Israelis settlers are fired by religious zeal - no such sentiment for setttling in KAshmir exists among Hindus/Sikhs..

Further, for argument's sake even if we managed to attract some people to migrate, they cant obviosuly be settled in far spread out hamlets..We will need to create colonies/ghettos, that are substantially self contained...They would immediately be a target with a bulls eye painted for all manners of jihadi viokence and quasi jihadi protestors..Which would mean that we have to set up static security around these ghettos...The last example of any "planned settlement" of a large scale that we have seen is the settlement of ex-servicemen in the Punjab plains by the British..the closest post-independencce example is Chandigarh...But both these are very different cases..

an "easier" option is to create more opportunities for Kashmiris in the rest of India - most of the work for this has to be done in J&K - the Kashmirir education levels are really appalling...A greater economic engagement will result in automatically reducing the levels of alienation..

They would immediately be a target with a bulls eye painted for all manners of jihadi viokence and quasi jihadi protestors.
Somnath: The Pakis have a very simple solution for this: they hand out Homestead rights as rewards to their aphsars and other mass murderers. This is what they did in POK, forcing out the Kashmiris. IOW, most of the "kashmiris" who gloated at the murder and rape and expulsion of their Hindu and Sikh neighbors, themselves got booted out of POK by the Pakjabi fauji class and the "tribesmen".

Given that over 60 years have elapsed, I think India should likewise settle the Valley with a cadre of well-trained veterans who are willing to face the fact that there will be attempts to attack them.
somnath

Post by somnath »

narayanan wrote:
They would immediately be a target with a bulls eye painted for all manners of jihadi viokence and quasi jihadi protestors.
Somnath: The Pakis have a very simple solution for this: they hand out Homestead rights as rewards to their aphsars and other mass murderers. This is what they did in POK, forcing out the Kashmiris. IOW, most of the "kashmiris" who gloated at the murder and rape and expulsion of their Hindu and Sikh neighbors, themselves got booted out of POK by the Pakjabi fauji class and the "tribesmen".

Given that over 60 years have elapsed, I think India should likewise settle the Valley with a cadre of well-trained veterans who are willing to face the fact that there will be attempts to attack them.
If India could muster up a big enough community of ex servicement like that, well...My personal take is that there wont be too many volunteers for this, even if we did try..The Pak equivalent would be if theyr tried to colonise FATA/NWFP with Punjabis - the security element precludes such options..they didnt have to face an active insurgency in PoK when they did all the resettlements..

somnath wrote:..they didnt have to face an active insurgency in PoK when they did all the resettlements..
Sudhans rebellion against the Pakistan Army: Pakistan sent the Punjab constabulary along with a Brigade of Pakistan Army, to crush the rebellion. Sudhans were not given security clearance until 1972, and were not accepted in the Pakistan Military Academy regular course until 1965. Sudhans have suffered by the oppression of Pakistan occupation led by Military Dictators.

The Sudhan Revolt (The News 19 October 1997.) By Sardar M. Saleem Khan.
A peaceful march against Mangla Dam extension purposed by Pakistani Authorities turned into clashes between the local people and the Pakistani Army. The local police provoked clashes by use of tear-gas to stop the peaceful Marchers. It has been reported by an ABK member, Mr. Najeeb Afsar that most of Mirpur City was under curfew today, the police used tear gas to disperse the crowd. The Para Military was called in. Injured people were being taken into the local hospital.
Insurgency or not, there was resistance to moves by the Pakistani army to impose its will on the people of occupied Western Jammu. And any such resistance was crushed by this army and did not strike any chords of sympathy among its western supporters (assorted lambs, goats, and maro golis)
somnath

Post by somnath »

Airavat, what can be done in a military dictatorship cannot be done in a democracy..and even a quasi dictatorship cannot do this sort of thing in a security challenged environment - for example, settling Punjabis in FATA/NWFP..

A Possible Kashmir Solution - III
Airavat wrote:RajeshA,

If history is any guide, these Hindus and Sikhs from Pakistan, will be settled not in the Kashmir region of J&K State but in Jammu.

In 1947 Hindus and Sikhs were massacred and the rest driven out from the Muzzafrabad-Mirpur belt of the J&K princely state by the Pakistani invaders. Muzzafrabad was part of the Kashmir province but the communal Sheikh Abdullah refused to let them settle down in Kashmir and they were forcibly pushed down to Jammu. The others from places like Kotli, Rawlakot, and Mirpur, which were all part of Jammu region, in any case made a beeline for Jammu.

But what is even more shocking is that after 60 years these refugees have ZERO rights in their own state:
Airavat ji,

I appreciate your bringing some historical facts into focus on this issue. But I hope, that we do not make history into a guide here. I hope, we can break out of this mold where we think neither strategically nor empathize with other Indics in trouble, thinking that either they are by nature less troublesome, nor would they be making too much trouble for the state they identify themselves with. As such trouble-making minorities always get a sympathetic ear.

We can only make some suggestions here, which we believe can be helpful in healing some of India's strategic trouble-spots. We can hardly say or do anything, which can make the Indian 'leaders' think or act differently, give them a conscience, a nationalistic outlook, some courage.

There is however some rationale to think that knowing how they are, the Indian politicians could think differently on this issue:
I don't know how many of these refugees from PoK came into India, but I presume their numbers were not such to make a big dent in the composition of the local populace. The local Muslim population would still have remained a majority. Any major program of settling refugees in Kashmir would not have made much of a dent, but could have agitated the local population sky-high. At that point of time, India needed the support of the Kashmiri people to make J&K's accession to India official.

The different dynamic this time would be the Collin Powell principle - Either you don't go in, but if you go in you do it with overwhelming force. In case of ethnic engineering, this would read like - No point in changing the Kashmir population mix if one can introduce only a small number of Hindus at a time, as the reaction would be huge and ugly, but if there is a possibility to overwhelm the Kashmiri Muslims, with say 3 million Hindus over a short period of 6-8 months, then go for it.

Secondly for refugees coming from PoK Poonch etc. the closest area across the border would probably be Jammu, as was the case in 1947/1948. This time, the crossing can be somewhere else.
somnath wrote:Temptingly macho that it sounds, attempting a demographic change is easier said than done in a democratic country...To start with, we cant "force" people to migrate, or refugees to settle in Kashmir..We can only "incentivise"..Given the security situation in Kashmir, how many Hindus/Sikhs will voluntarily migrate there? And what would be the incentives required? Israelis settlers are fired by religious zeal - no such sentiment for settling in Kashmir exists among Hindus/Sikhs..

Further, for argument's sake even if we managed to attract some people to migrate, they cant obviously be settled in far spread out hamlets..We will need to create colonies/ghettos, that are substantially self contained...They would immediately be a target with a bulls eye painted for all manners of jihadi violence and quasi jihadi protesters..Which would mean that we have to set up static security around these ghettos...The last example of any "planned settlement" of a large scale that we have seen is the settlement of ex-servicemen in the Punjab plains by the British..the closest post-independence example is Chandigarh...But both these are very different cases..

an "easier" option is to create more opportunities for Kashmiris in the rest of India - most of the work for this has to be done in J&K - the Kashmiri education levels are really appalling...A greater economic engagement will result in automatically reducing the levels of alienation..
Incentive
I think there is more than sufficient incentive for the Hindus & Sikhs in Pakistan to migrate to India. It is like asking whether a dog likes a meaty bone. In Pakistan, there is systematic harassment of Hindus. There is the constant danger, that some Hindu will be blamed and even lynched for blasphemy. Their daughters are simply kidnapped and 'married' off to some goonda. They are hardly given facilities to progress in real life. Except for some exceptions used for display purposes, most of the Hindus live in poverty in Pakistan. Besides they are under constant pressure to convert, and even after conversion they probably would not be treated well.

In India, initially as a refugee they would be (let's presume) looked after well. Facilities will be provided. Food will be made available. Later on, they can hope for a brighter future, if they are willing to let themselves be educated and integrate into Indian society. Not to mention the backdrop of beautiful scenery of Kashmir!!!

Besides these realistic incentives, there can be many rumors of promises of ghee aur shakker just across the border.

So there are enough reasons for them to want to flee/migrate.

Herding to Kashmir
In times of tension, India usually closes the borders with Pakistan. It would be considered normal if LoC crossings between Kashmir and PoK are kept open, as it is officially "not to inconvenience the Kashmiris". India can let it be known to the Pakistani Hindus, that they would be let in into India only at the Kashmir LoC crossings, and nowhere else. If they wish to flee into India, they have to first travel to that crossing. The Pakistani Hindu community leaders can be informed of this through appropriate channels.

When to migrate
The situation in Kashmir is worsening by the day. Some day soon, the state will lose complete control over society, and Jihadi and ethnic gangs will take over. The first to suffer are always the weak. It is to be expected that the Hindus would be among the first to be targeted. We would know, when the Pakistani State has come to the tipping point, as far as governance and law and order is concerned. It is then, that India can let it be known, that Pakistani Hindus and Sikhs will be allowed in into India.

Is security situation in Kashmir a disincentive?
When the situation in Pakistan goes completely out of control, then any place on earth would be better for a Pakistani Hindu or a Pakistani Sikh. For an individual Indian Hindu or a couple of them to migrate to Kashmir may seem a scary prospect, but to a Pakistani Hindu it will be more like a picnic compared to the emerging situation in Pakistan. Besides they will be coming in groups and droves. When they arrive, there will be a sea of tents coming up in Kashmir. There is security in numbers. I think, the KMs should not underestimate the anger, that they will find in these people. So they better not fool around with them. These will be Hindus willing to hit back after years of subjugation. A Kashmiri Jihadi is hardly going to be more scary than a full Talibani Jihadi.

somnath ji,
as you pointed out, they will soon be setting up perimeter security around their tent colonies.

Besides these refugees would be organizing themselves and arming themselves. In the medium term, there is going to be conflict in Kashmir between the KMs and the refugees. But just as Sindhis and Mohajirs found a detente, so would these two groups as well.

This scenario allows the Indian Security Forces to transit into a new role. Instead of being the target of Kashmiri Muslim ire and brickbats, the security forces can become the guardians of peace between two rival groups.

In the end, there is only so much the security forces can do. They have to act within the straight-jacket of the laws of the land. The current posture of the security forces does not seem pose any threat to the KMs, so they continue with their street protests and Ajaddi demonstrations. They love to show street power. The only way to combat this street power is through a rival street power, which intimidates beyond the levels of law-enforcement agencies.

The model to be used here is really Karachi.
Last edited by RajeshA on 29 Jul 2009 20:24, edited 1 time in total.

RajeshA wrote:I don't know how many of these refugees from PoK came into India, but I presume their numbers were not such to make a big dent in the composition of the local populace.

Secondly for refugees coming from PoK Poonch etc. the closest area across the border would probably be Jammu, as was the case in 1947/1948. This time, the crossing can be somewhere else.
Forgotten People of Jammu and Kashmir
Thanks to the settlement politics initiated during Sheikh Abdullah's period, those who migrated from PoK even today live as 'tenants' in the Jammu region. Today, there are more than 1,200,000 people from PoK staying in and around Jammu with no political status, nor with any promise from the State and Union governments on where they stand in the Kashmir conflict.

Refugees from Muzaffarabad desiring to settle in Kashmir valley were not allowed to settle there. Some 300 families of Muzaffarabad who had settled in District Kupwara of Kashmir valley were uprooted again and pushed to Jammu.

Since PoK refugees were not Kashmiris, there were not allowed to settle in the Kashmir valley. The J&K Government never wanted PoK refugees to settle in the territory. It was the central government's support that allowed some refugees to settle in the Jammu region. Many others were forced to settle in other states like Punjab, Rajasthan and UP.

Can we say with any stretch of imagination that government of India will ever retrieve PoK territory? Has our government enough capacity to achieve that goal? Common sense would answer these questions in "No" and "Never" answers. The Government of India has been employing this excuse to delay this most vital issue of compensation for 60 years now. The fact remains that over a million PoK refugees are denied the right to their property. They are being grossly fooled. Even though the Government of India talks of retrieving PoK territory, it has practically closed the case of PoK refugees as a non-issue and is going to the extent of treating the holocaust of 1947 as a non-event and PoK Refugees as non-entities.
RajeshA wrote:There is however some rationale to think that knowing how they are, the Indian politicians could think differently on this issue
We know there is no hope from the Congress (I); as for the other national party, the BJP, it cruelly disappointed Western Jammu refugees before the last assembly election:

State Times
Taking a dig at BJP, he said that the only political party these refugees believed would do some thing for them has also betrayed them by not including anything for them and on the contrary the party has discriminated with them by announcing five seats each for Kashmiri migrants and these refugees.

"How could the Saffron Party have equalised us with Kashmiri migrants while we are 12 lakh in number while Kashmiri migrants are only two lakh," maintained Chuni. "Valley migrants are franchising their votes in their constituencies while being in Jammu and Delhi while same right has not been given to POK refugees.
somnath wrote:even a quasi dictatorship cannot do this sort of thing in a security challenged environment - for example, settling Punjabis in FATA/NWFP
Punjabis don't need to be settled in FATA/NWFP because these regions have always been home to the Islamist mindset, global jehad, and a terror factory. Allies and supporters of the Pakistan Army even today.

However Punjabis have been settled in a security challenged environment like Balochistan. Even after the targetted killings of these Punjabis by the Baloch fighters, they are not running away because of the protection afforded by the Pakistan Army.

Airavat,

would you be in the know, as to how RSS thinks on the issue of 1.2 million PoK refugees in Jammu and other parts of India?

It is indeed depressing to learn how little the Indian political class cares about Indics and India's strategic interests.

RajeshA wrote:A Possible Kashmir Solution

The logic behind my question goes as follows: -

a) Often the host population (in this case Kashmiris) hold the ethnic cleansers or human rights violators responsible, if there is a large-scale refugee crisis. For example, if Tibetans come streaming down to India, then we will hold Chinese responsible for causing the refugees to flee, etc. Similarly the Kashmiris would be angry at the Pakistanis for causing such an exodus, for which the Kashmiris have to suffer.

This is the usual dynamic. I don't know if it works in case of Kashmir.

b) Secondly when there is a population displacement, usually the host country (India) tries to decide, where the refugees will settle down. Often it is near the border region. If the refugees enter India, say through the various transit routes which have been opened for inter-Kashmir travel, then the refugees might end up settling down in refugee camps near those border crossings (in Kashmir itself).

So there is a perfect logic, why the refugees settle down in Kashmir.

c) A refugee exodus usually entails a humanitarian crisis, and for humanitarian reasons, it is not nice to deny them asylum and comfort.

So the Kashmiris cannot just deny the refugees shelter. They can deny Indian citizens the right to abode in Kashmir, but refugees from outside India are not Indian citizens.

d) The tent cities that will come up would at first be declared temporary. With time things become more permanent.

e) 3 million refugees in Kashmir Valley would change the ethnic complexion of Kashmir for ever.

f) There will be anger amongst the refugees towards the Pakistanis for causing them to flee their homes, and there will be anger amongst the Kashmiris towards the Pakistanis for causing them this trouble.

g) Hindu & Sikh refugees will organize themselves politically snatching the control of the Kashmir state from the hands of the thankless Kashmiri Muslims. Something like what the Muslim Urdu-speaking Mohajirs did to the Sindhis in Karachi, and the Pushtun immigrants have done to Mohajirs in Karachi.

h) After 10 years, the Hindu+Sikh refugees in Kashmir will be naturalized as Kashmiri Indians, giving them the right to abode in Kashmir itself. It will cause a lot of consternation, but what the hell.

i) Then the Kashmiri Pundits who fled Kashmir can start returning to Kashmir as the overwhelming number of refugee Hindus and Sikhs in Kashmir would provide a much more secure environment to the returning Kashmiri Pundits.

j) The Hindus and Sikhs from Pakistan are used to living in an extremist Muslim dominated area, so they are much more comfortable dealing with the associated problems.

k) Since J&K itself has been responsible for the displacement of so many Kashmiri Pundits from there, and other areas of India have had to take in these refugees, J&K has lost the moral space to complain about refugees coming from elsewhere. If other areas can take in refugees from J&K, J&K can also take in refugees from elsewhere.

l) The irony of it all would be that Pakistanis would have lost any chance of recovering Kashmir due to their own barbarity at home against the minorities.

m) India would have secured Kashmir for ever without violating Article 370. The Kashmiri Pundits would have returned. The Kashmiri Muslims would learn how to adjust to a Hindu majority. :twisted:
It is all about the political will, not finding the solution.
If there was a political will, then an area of 20 km x 30 km could have been fenced and made "safe haven" for the Kashmiri Hindus to return. Then settle 2-3 million in that area. Problem solved.
Understand the strength of the Muslim vote. Today they command 15% of the votes. within 50 years they will command over 20%. Get the picture. Muslims use their vote and are probably the strongest political force in India.
somnath

Post by somnath »

Do you really want a Karachi to be made out of Kashmir? For all the media coverage, the fact is that violence levels in Kahsmir in the last 4-5 years have shown a distinct downward trend, thanks to all the Israeli gizmos on the border and sharper political management....A Karachi redux would send Kashmir straight back into international limelight...

And your prescription will leaad exactly close to that - make a KArachi out of Kashmir...forever violent between groups with even greater security force interventions, leading to inevitably more issues with human rights etc...

I agree with Somnath's pov on the J&K issue for I don't see GOI pulling off a forced/incentive based settlement of Hindus/Sikhs in the valley to change the demographics and eventually the public opinion.

This makes more sense and seems practical to me.
an "easier" option is to create more opportunities for Kashmiris in the rest of India - most of the work for this has to be done in J&K - the Kashmirir education levels are really appalling...A greater economic engagement will result in automatically reducing the levels of alienation..
Having said that along with the above we need the GOI to curb the separatists from raising their head .In recent months after having been snubbed by the locals separatists have changed their strategy instead of demanding for a free Kashmir they have now started talking about Human Rights,atrocities by the IPS/IA and even clubbed the usual kapada,makan and roti with the rhetoric . Above is a dangerous development for it will be lapped up by the media and if consistently repeated over next few years will only worsen the situation.

And lastly I am baffled as to how a party like PDP is even recognized and allowed to carry out its illicit agenda in the state ; it is this sheer opportunism of Congress and lack of will as far as the GOI is concerned that makes me believe what Rajesh ji has suggested is not practical.
AjayKK

Post by AjayKK »

The tamasha of Abdulla's resignation continues..

http://ibnlive.in.com/news/jk-privilege ... 24-37.html

On tv news, while Mufti's actions were rightly criticised, Omar Abdulla was being moulded into some pious CM who could not accept injustice to himself and others especially, women. The mediamen, do they recollect that Abdulla was one of the most vocal supporters of the Jammu and Kashmir Permanent Resident Status (Disqualification) Bill 2004 ?

A Possible Kashmir Solution - IV
somnath wrote:
Do you really want a Karachi to be made out of Kashmir? For all the media coverage, the fact is that violence levels in Kashmir in the last 4-5 years have shown a distinct downward trend, thanks to all the Israeli gizmos on the border and sharper political management....A Karachi redux would send Kashmir straight back into international limelight...

And your prescription will lead exactly close to that - make a Karachi out of Kashmir...forever violent between groups with even greater security force interventions, leading to inevitably more issues with human rights etc...
Any analogy that one offers has to be seen as an analogy with applicability limited to only certain aspects.

The aspect of Karachi that I am interested in here, is that a community (Mohajirs) migrated from outside, forced its way into political supremacy in the area, was able to subdue the local culture and over a period of time was able to find its peace with the previous natives.

There are several things I expect to be different in the Kashmir scenario -
  • The Indian State would not allow the same amount of organized crime & lawlessness in Kashmir as is in the case of Karachi.
  • There will be a stricter curb on small-arm weapons on all groups in Kashmir.
  • The borders of Kashmir will remain tightly controlled. Less chance of smuggling of drugs or weapons.
  • The political process in Kashmir will not be interrupted. There will be regular elections.
  • There will be a much bigger dose of financial investment in the Kashmir Valley.
  • Education will remain a priority in Kashmir.
In the short to medium term my solution, i.e. of getting Pakistani Hindus and Sikhs to migrate to Kashmir is indeed more painful and more chaotic. In the long term though, a crucial part of India would have been secured against threats of secession.

While the Red Menace of Naxalism would over time be brought under control, Kashmir and increasingly the demographic change in India's North East through Bangladeshi influx & Evanjihadists would remain India's demographic Achilles Heel. These two spots would always be targets for exploitation by external forces.

Kashmir has made India tremble in the international fora for decades now, and kept us on the defensive. I am 400% sure, that had India had no open issues of legitimacy of J&K's accession to India, issues like Article 370, UN Resolutions, Dispute over the state with Pakistan, Plebiscite, etc. etc. out there India would have been a very different country. India became dependent on Soviet Union for support on J&K in UNSC. India was not willing to venture into Tibet. India became cowed down by PRC and its aggression into our North-West and North-East. We have always held a submissive attitude towards the Western powers, just in case they don't start some form of activism on Kashmir and expended huge political capital to ensure that they don't, we have made non-intervention in the internal affairs of other countries a cornerstone of our foreign policy out of fear someone might start meddling in Kashmir as well, etc. etc. Kashmir has punched us into a cowardly trembling elephant. Anytime OIC passes some resolution on Kashmir we used to go into a tailspin.

We have also watched how the 'Sufism' of the Valley is slowly making way for the Wahabbism of Arabia. How long would it be that the current bonhomie again takes a turn for the worse. It is extremely premature to feel that India has won over the Kashmiri Muslims or ever will. Their call for 'Azadi' can continue indefinitely. Islamism is on the rise to our West.

In my opinion, the only way to ensure that the Kashmiri Muslims give up their move towards Wahabbism or towards eventual 'Azadi' either as part of Kashmir or as an independent Emirate, or as part of a Caliphate, is when they are convinced that they will never enjoy a demographic majority in Kashmir to see through that change.

The Kashmiri Muslims need two things to really move forward - the Indian Dream of democracy, stability, prosperity, plurality on the one hand, but also Hopelessness of moving sidewards into Islamism and 'Azadi'. We have been pumping money into Kashmir for many decades now. That way we have been keeping the Indian Dream alive, but we haven't been able to kill the Hope of Islamism and 'Azadi', because Article 370 has frozen that Project in time.

A demographic change in Kashmir, without violating Article 370, would give India the last thing India needs as a great power - Confidence. No Plebiscite or UN Article would ever again make us tremble. No neighbor of ours would ever dream of snatching Kashmir away from us. If Pakistan or a future entity in its place has no hope of wrenching Kashmir away from India, there can be peace - the core issue would have disappeared, J&K would have ceased to exist as a Muslim majority State.

There will be many hiccups on the way, and many tantrums, but this is a final solution of Bharat reasserting control over a wayward peripheral region.

As far as a renewed international interest in Kashmir is concerned, it would be because of the many Hindu & Sikh refugees in Kashmir fleeing religious persecution in Pakistan. If anybody objects, they are free to share our burden of refugees.

^^^ RajeshA-ji,

This is question of philosophical-foundation for India. TSP is found as a haven for sub-continental Muslims. Does it make India the last resort for sub-continental Indic religions? BRF couldn’t and didn’t want to deliberate on this key aspect.

So it will be impossible for GOI to go overt on this. It has be forced upon GOI in a specific way to achieve the intended results. In order for your scenario to happen, we must have -

A (visibly) forced migration of Pakistani Hindus and Sikhs must happen. And somehow they all must be made to cross the borders thru POK area. This requires further heating up the pot and subtle influence of non-resident Sikhs who are currently sponsoring (this is my guess) the Jijya payments in SWAT areas. This can be done and has to be done.

Secondly, we would need a JK state govt which will be willing to play along but easy to disassociate with. IMO, NC will make the best partner at right price. The price could be that all these immigrants will be made into Valley voters list and will vote amass to NC

There will be tremendous pressure from APHC. It is possible that there will be a similar reaction from TSP/UK combine, in which some Muslim population also will be forced from POK to cross the border. APHC will try to create suitable conditions for this on our side of the border.

So the pre-requisites are:
1. A stable, strong and visionary Govt in dilli – Done (MMS +RG)
2. Suitable conditions in TSP – Done
3. Influence Pakistanin Hindus/Sikhs to cross the border at right location – To be done
4. Have NC in JK Govt – Done
5. Arrest all leaders and cadre APHC – To be done
6. Prepare the infra to create 2-3 tent cities – Can be done
7. Plan for 24x7 security for next 5 years for these tent cities – Can be done
somnath

Post by somnath »

RajeshA,

With respect, the formulation is precisely the type that would be loved by the "RSS types", but is not grounded in history or reality..

One, no democracy has ever attampted a demographic invasion of the sort you are suggesting, not in its own territory..Two, even a totalitarian state has not managed to do anything like that when the security situation is hostile..The only exception to both is Israel, and it is a very very specific situation that a) very different (they dont really have a militarily strong neighbour encouraging the jihadi/Palestininas) and b) not scalable (Kashmir is a very differnt size and scale compared to the occupied territories)...

First, we wont find that many people willing to migrate, whatever the incentives..Second, it will only raise another huge bogey for the jihadis to up their "international" campaign, while presenting new motivation for a renewed escalation of militancy violence..

Contrary to what you say, we have not been defensive about KAshmir, not in the last 10-12 years anymore..WE have simply asked the UN to bugger off, and Kofi Annan said "yes ok"!! the levels of violence has come down drastically, and our political management is far shrewder now, with the Hurriyat gettig increasingly marginalised..

the next step would have to be to bring to Kashmir the "Indian dream" - when more Kashmiri boys come to the IITs/IIMs (and thats the challenge - how do you get enough guys there trained up to be good enough for these elite institutions), they will seamlessly integrate with the Indian story..When more Indian businesses set up shop in Kashmir, there will be greater integration...Thats why the Railway project in Kashmir is so important, as are other "connectivity" solutions...What we need to do is just the reverse of what you are suggesting..We should get a lot more Kashmiris to settle in mainland India - they will see the difference themselves and influence others...

My take for doing that are the following:

1. Start a crash course in training Kashmiri kids to take the IIT/IIM exams - a bit like the Bihar experiment..Target at least 25-30 kids every year to joing these elite institutions..

2. Start a crash course in preparing kids for the NDA/CDS - more people joiinig the services at officer level will change mindsets and integrate them even more than PBORs.

3. Put the railway and road projects on the real fast track (Duronto scale, Mamatadi :) )..

There would be other measures, but giving them a flavour of the India story is the next phase in the Kashmir game..

And yes, we should rip that UNMOGIP office out...Another anachronism...

Somanath-ji

I have couple of questions for you.

1. In your definition of democracy, will there be multiple civil codes or a uniform civil code? Will the administration make a sincere attempt to fulfill a joint parliamentary resolution or not? Will the govt build a temple in a disputed area if such move has popular vote?

2. Will your democrtatic state has any responsibility to protect it's citizens from religious fanatics or just ends at putting them in refugy camps?

By the way does India has any role to play in protecting the Hindu and Sikh minorities in Pakistan and Bangladesh? Please note that neither of these states are truly democratic and are theocratic by formation.