What works in Singapore, can also work in India. The question is weather GOI is interested to learn from Singapore. It is not rocket science, just allowing simple and practical approach by management.
Hmm. Sure, if a donkey can turn into a steed , it too will win a race. Until such miracles happen donkeys will remain donkeys and horses as horses!.
I think you are suggesting the impossible. Given our very different political and economic systems, you are advocating that PSU in India suddenly "operate" like the ones in Singapore. Does Singapore have independent unions (yes.. there is a PAP controlled NTUC , but it is sort of like unions in CHina), Singapore is more a corporation than a country, their PSUs like CAAS (which runs Changi airport) and SIA and Singtel etc firmly put profitability first before everything else!.
Now our commies come on TV in opposition to Delhi and Bombay airport privatization and proudly say that they told the Singapore Govt , when your country's public sector can run airports that are world class, why not ours. Just step into the loo in Changi and one in AAI run airport and you will immediately know why (just for starters). The entire mindset is different. It wont happen in India under a govt /PSU management. Look at the Air India farce!.
Some here seem to think that Privatisation is going to solve all problems. Well, they are living in a fools paradise. Private playes have their problems. Just look at the misrable quality of Bangalore Airport. It is miles behind Singapore airport ,which is a PSU.
Oh, but look at how the old HAL airport was. The new BIAL is light years ahead of it. Yeah, it might not be Changi yet, but it will get there in due course. What facilities that have been built at BIAL is pretty good. The only thing is it is not big enough and it needs more terminals, which will get built once the downturn lifts in the sector.
I think you are underestimating Indians, with your claim that PSU's are "junk" and can never work in India. It is completely wrong. But a reform is urgently required in the PSU sectors.
Oh, I am not "underestimating" Indians. Why just last week, after defaulting on "irrevocable sovereign guarantee", the govt wrote of Rs 3000 crores of ITI's accumulated debt!. Ok.Ok. The problem is just in 2005 or so, they did exactly similar thing and wrote off Rs 1200 crores to "clean the balance sheet". Let me make a big bet with you, in another 5 years, the govt will be writing off something similar. All this for just safe guarding 13000 jobs. Basically each employee had close to Rs 4200 crores /13000 , approx 32Lakhs of capital written off !.
Imagine Rs 32Lakhs PER JOB! .
The numbers when it comes to Air India is mind boggling. Can anyone here PLEASE PLEASE tell me when over the last 25 years did AI make profits for 3 years in succession and what was the level of profits . Can anyone even know over the last 25 years , how many years did AI make losses and what is the total losses ?. And mind you , for much of the 25 years, the IA/AI parasites were the only game in town, lording over everyone, tilting tables, having monopoly status..
If AI and ITI cannot be put out of their miseries and killed, there is really now hope of stanching the bleeding of tax payer's money. We keep continuously pouring good money after bad and keep feeding these parasites. Enough is Enough. No more tax payer money for them. Heck, I dont get my tax refunds back from the govt (I have got only ONE refund in the years since I moved back from Massa), and I sure as hell dont want ANY of my money to feed the IA/AI , ITI kinds of parasites who basically made my life and all other Indians miserable for all those years. Time to send them to their graves.