Should we discontinue EVMs?

Re: Should we discontinue EVMs?

Rahul Mehta wrote:Talking to EC is waste of time. I am better off translating the pdf in Gujarati and distributing copies locally.
You mean confronting person responsible for holding elections is a waste of time because he is corrupt and in the payroll of CIA ? 8)

Rahul,

It is not just the EC. The representatives of BEL and ECILs will be present. They are required to explain the security measures against definitive attacks.

You can very well ask the following questions, without disclosing your out of the world scenarios

1. What are the security measures adopted to prevent the insertion of a trojan at the time of the software development? Was the software developed in-house, or subcontracted?

2. What are the security measures adopted to prevent the insertion of a corrupted binary in the production area?

Let us see whether the answer relies upon "Activation of trojan is impossible". If so, tell them that it is no security measure, and there should be systems independent of that aspect. There is no need to drill holes in the system then and there. Once you get enough information, leave that subject.

3. What are the security measures in place to make sure that the chips itself are not corrupted?

Ask them what they have to offer in this case, assuming the "seemingly impossible" task of replacing the chips somewhere in the chain". No need to go into details and argument there.

This way, you can get all the information you want, and you will be in a position to make a better informed campaign.

And be a nice guy, and share the experience here.

^^^ Are you casting aspersion on RM ji's tactical brilliance?! :eek:

If he was serious about the EVM issue he would have gone there to ask the questions that you listed above. In fact in one of my posts, I asked him to do the exact same thing (when it became evident he has no code or trojan to show). Yet from his response it is pretty clear that the last thing he wants to do is publicly present his allegations in front of anyone even remotely qualified to prove/disprove it! :twisted:

Well, if he does it, we will get a reliable platform to debate. If he doesn't, then we ger a reliable allegation to confront him.

pgbhat wrote:
Rahul Mehta wrote:Talking to EC is waste of time. I am better off translating the pdf in Gujarati and distributing copies locally.
You mean confronting person responsible for holding elections is a waste of time because he is corrupt and in the payroll of CIA ? 8)
EC is corrupt and his being CIA agent is very much possible. The roots of US are not quite deep, SeS being one explicit example. But his being corrupt is enough. I have enough experience in field to conclude that speaking to corrupt people is waste of time.
Dileep wrote:Rahul,

1. It is not just the EC. The representatives of BEL and ECILs will be present. They are required to explain the security measures against definitive attacks.

2. You can very well ask the following questions, without disclosing your out of the world scenarios

3. What are the security measures adopted to prevent the insertion of a trojan at the time of the software development? Was the software developed in-house, or subcontracted?

4. What are the security measures adopted to prevent the insertion of a corrupted binary in the production area?

5. Let us see whether the answer relies upon "Activation of trojan is impossible". If so, tell them that it is no security measure, and there should be systems independent of that aspect. There is no need to drill holes in the system then and there. Once you get enough information, leave that subject.

6. What are the security measures in place to make sure that the chips itself are not corrupted?

7. Ask them what they have to offer in this case, assuming the "seemingly impossible" task of replacing the chips somewhere in the chain". No need to go into details and argument there.

8. This way, you can get all the information you want, and you will be in a position to make a better informed campaign.

And be a nice guy, and share the experience here.
The BEL and ECIL people are TOLD to speak only certain things. Thats how it always goes in all "public" meeting. If BEL and ECIL chiefs had any shame, they would have publicly disclosed many information without asking such as who makes the chip, who are the owners of the chip, what precautions they followed to ensure that chip doesn't have extra ROM with shadowcode in it to do the manipulation etc. If a person in Govt is interested in establishing truth, he would give answers WITHOUT waiting for questions to come. And based on the information they have revealed so far, which is almost zero, it is clear that they have no intention to give any information.

If a person claims that his EVMs cant be tempered by anyone outside, why doesnt he give it to anyone who asks for say production cost? If person from outside cannot temper it, how can anyone from outside temper it? And if not one from outside can temper/replace EVMs, then why be afraid of giving it out.

Not even one EVM is given to anyone, and outsiders are asked to show how EVMs can be tempered. Thats like asking locksmith to make duplicate key without letting him even see the lock, and then claiming "see, no one can make duplicate keys for this lock".

The whole conference is farce.

I am communicating with my friends who had worked on ASIC design in past (they are all Java programmers now). Their stand is that once the chip is out, not even God can say what is inside it. If the chip has some functions missing, the client side testing will prove that. But if the chip manufacturer has put some additional functionalities, then there is no way to find them out. So putting a small number of extra functions in an additional ROM inside chip is possible and undetectable. Once that is cleared out, the modulo-5 tempered code theory is complete.

Raja Bose, Dileep,

I explained why I dont want to see EC. Can YOU now explain why you oppose letting us commons register YES/NO on Section 61A of PRAI (and all other laws for that matter) in Govt books? Why do you insist that citizens opinions on Section 61A, PRAI (or any law) must not be registered inside Govt?

Rahul Mehta wrote: EC is corrupt and his being CIA agent is very much possible. The roots of US are not quite deep, SeS being one explicit example. But his being corrupt is enough. I have enough experience in field to conclude that speaking to corrupt people is waste of time.
That is a lame argument. You can very well use their responses to bolster your campaign.

The real reason is that you don't have the backbone to stand up to the task. That is all. Just admit that.
The BEL and ECIL people are TOLD to speak only certain things. Thats how it always goes in all "public" meeting. If BEL and ECIL chiefs had any shame, they would have publicly disclosed many information without asking such as who makes the chip, who are the owners of the chip, what precautions they followed to ensure that chip doesn't have extra ROM with shadowcode in it to do the manipulation etc. If a person in Govt is interested in establishing truth, he would give answers WITHOUT waiting for questions to come. And based on the information they have revealed so far, which is almost zero, it is clear that they have no intention to give any information.
You wouldn't know until you ask. What are you going to loose by asking? You can use the answers to bolster your campaign as well!!

You don't have the backbone to go face-to face, stand up and back up your arguments. All you are capable of is making posts on web fora, and taking ads in papers.
I am communicating with my friends who had worked on ASIC design in past (they are all Java programmers now). Their stand is that once the chip is out, not even God can say what is inside it. If the chip has some functions missing, the client side testing will prove that. But if the chip manufacturer has put some additional functionalities, then there is no way to find them out. So putting a small number of extra functions in an additional ROM inside chip is possible and undetectable. Once that is cleared out, the modulo-5 tempered code theory is complete.
Well, moving to Java programming from ASIC design gives a very good impression on the competencies of those friends. I would br glad to debate them here on BR. Let them back up their claim.
I explained why I dont want to see EC. Can YOU now explain why you oppose letting us commons register YES/NO on Section 61A of PRAI (and all other laws for that matter) in Govt books? Why do you insist that citizens opinions on Section 61A, PRAI (or any law) must not be registered inside Govt?
That is totally OT for this thread, and I have no dog in that race. No discussion on those shall be permitted on this thread.

Rahul Mehta wrote: The BEL and ECIL people are TOLD to speak only certain things. Thats how it always goes in all "public" meeting. If BEL and ECIL chiefs had any shame, they would have publicly disclosed many information without asking such as who makes the chip, who are the owners of the chip, what precautions they followed to ensure that chip doesn't have extra ROM with shadowcode in it to do the manipulation etc. If a person in Govt is interested in establishing truth, he would give answers WITHOUT waiting for questions to come. And based on the information they have revealed so far, which is almost zero, it is clear that they have no intention to give any information.
RM ji, none of us live under a rock or were born outside India/never lived in India during their adult lives. All of us have a pretty good amount of so-called experience on how things in India work so please spare us this "I have been to public meetings and know what goes on BS". Despite BEL and ECIL people having being tutored to "Speak only certain things", exactly how do you think they will dodge tough questions in a public meeting for a controversy which has massive national implications. This is not some local police meeting either. And tutoring only works when the flow of information is uni-directional....it has no meaning when the audience is free to ask whatever they want in public. Moreover, if the corrupt officials do try to dodge tough questions, were you planning to sit quietly in a public meeting? (unless you are hand-in-glove with them or just doing it for cheap publicity).

Without one iota of proof you have alleged that EVMs can be hacked, BEL+ECIL are corrupt and resort to fake answers and yet when the time comes to confront these so-called corrupt bodies you back out - its pretty clear who is the fake one.
The whole conference is farce.
Sure! We can take your word it for I guess, given your impeccable habit of providing solid proof for your allegations. :-?

I am sorry but the first sentence and what follows tells me a lot about your friends' competencies. If thats the kind of technical "expertise" you are relying on, I can imagine where all those fantastic theories of yours are coming from.
I explained why I dont want to see EC.
Your explanation for not going to the EC meeting simply proves that all you are interested in is making noise and getting some publicity. You are not serious about the EVM issue and are simply using it for your own benefits.
Can YOU now explain why you oppose letting us commons register YES/NO on Section 61A of PRAI (and all other laws for that matter) in Govt books? Why do you insist that citizens opinions on Section 61A, PRAI (or any law) must not be registered inside Govt?
And this statement proves one for all what you are - a 2 bit neta. Kindly quote any sentence from any of my posts where I even talked about your Section 61A PRAI whatever. Across every thread you post in, I see you make vague allegations, twist facts and make shrill arguments - yet in none of the threads you have proved any proof whatsoever.

Mr. Mehta, just in case you didn't notice, India is NOT your baap ka jaagir. You are not the only one calling the shots - what makes you so special? Despite all the pretenses of being a common, you seem to behave and act as if you deserve special treatment from the Govt. If you want to bring change, you can try to do it within the current system. If you have something to say or prove, do it even if conditions are imperfect. And whatever you do, stop making lame excuses to hide your bluffing and shortcomings. Mouthing grandiose allegations and then claiming that everything must be picture perfect according to your whims before you condescend to back up your allegations with proof, just goes to show the fundamental dishonesty of your actions period.

Well, moving to Java programming from ASIC design gives a very good impression on the competencies of those friends. I would br glad to debate them here on BR. Let them back up their claim.
Your habit of insulting is never ending. Many people who came in India in early 1990s did not find ASIC jobs in cities like Ahmedabad etc. And so they had no option but to change career paths. Many wanted their own business, and ASIC business is hard to start compared to webs designing and Java coding. For that matter, many in physics move to finance. You can go around insulting them (which seems to be your only specialty these days), but it is pure career, monetary etc reasons.

---------
Rahul Mehta: The corrupt PL can change the source code to remove unused functions, add function to favor ((n + k) mod 5 + 1) and recompile the code. But he would prefer to ensure that size and checksum is same, so that if there is a way to extract checksum from 6 months old EVM, it would give same checksum as unrigged binary.

Dileep: The unused functions will not survive a code review, but of course in RahulWorld, everyone, including the code reviewer is corrupt.
I have gone thru innumerable code reviews including many in Fortune-100 companies who follow best practices blah blah. Leaving unused function is accepted to reduce number of builds. There are many functions which have value in debugging and development, are harmless and can be put in final build even though never called. In code review, the main person is team lead and person is a peer of senior level appointed by some very senior executive like CTO or CEO. So unless function is shown harmful, the peer will not object if team lead insists on keeping this function. And even if the peer person minds, the decision will be finally taken by CTO and not the peer.

Essentially, you are passing YOUR BELIEFS as facts. You believe that chip in EVM supports MD5 hash - you pass it as fact. You believe that Japanese will not alter the chip and keep same part number, and you pass it as fact. You believe that team lead will not sell out, and you pass it as fact. And to cover this disguise, you throw insults and sarcasm ("RahulWorld" etc) hoping that these sarcasm and insults will hide your attempts to pass beliefs as facts.

The technical parts are pretty much over. Enough people I have spoken to believe that it is possible for BEL to put altered code in chip. They see no logistic hurdle here. And enough believe that Japanese company for cash will alter the chip without changing part number etc. And such believer includes many IT people. And with these two practical assumptions, the modulo-5 code can go in. Now you are welcome to hold YOUR beliefs. And you are welcome to state them as FACT. But even people in IT field will NOT accept your arguments that CEO in BEL cant get an altered code in chip and that Japanese company will never send an altered chip with same part number.
You have claimed that you can drill holes on the actual EVM chip, then why can't you try drilling this chip?
I could not find how checksum or hash is obtained AFTER code is entered and lockbits are set, It only shows how checksum is obtained while ROM is being written. Pls show me the section number or the exact checksum computing function.

-------
Rahul Mehta: I explained why I dont want to see EC. Can YOU now explain why you oppose letting us commons register YES/NO on Section 61A of PRAI (and all other laws for that matter) in Govt books? Why do you insist that citizens opinions on Section 61A, PRAI (or any law) must not be registered inside Govt?

Dileep: That is totally OT for this thread, and I have no dog in that race. No discussion on those shall be permitted on this thread.
Errr... HowTH is this OST? The topic of this thread is "Should EVMs be discontinued" and the topic means "Should citizens of India use EVMs anymore". So methods to resolve this debate in citizenry are very much part of OT. You perhaps insist that words of BEL, ECIL and ECI should be taken as final words. I am not sure how many believe that.

You asked me how people visit my blog. I dont know, and I couldn't care less at this time. But I searched on google on "Rahul Mehta"

http://www.google.co.in/search?hl=en&q= ... =&aq=f&oq=

I am not sure if google will show you URLs in same order as it showed to me. But this query showed my webpages on top.

And following query was for on "Rahul Mehta EVM"

Take it for whatever it is worth.

Btw, I am ONLY replying YOUR question. I do not put any value on all this. I believe that commons in India are wise and smart enough to separate wheat from chaff, and distinguish between lie and truth. I am only replying the question you asked.

Rahul Mehta wrote: Your habit of insulting is never ending.
Deal with it!
Many people who came in India in early 1990s did not find ASIC jobs in cities like Ahmedabad etc. And so they had no option but to change career paths. Many wanted their own business, and ASIC business is hard to start compared to webs designing and Java coding.
Lame explanation like many of your others.

Bring them in with their arguments. We will see.
I have gone thru innumerable code reviews including many in Fortune-100 companies who follow best practices blah blah. Leaving unused function is accepted to reduce number of builds. There are many functions which have value in debugging and development, are harmless and can be put in final build even though never called. In code review, the main person is team lead and person is a peer of senior level appointed by some very senior executive like CTO or CEO. So unless function is shown harmful, the peer will not object if team lead insists on keeping this function. And even if the peer person minds, the decision will be finally taken by CTO and not the peer.
Not in a security sensitive application. You better go to the EC meet anf find out what BEL does.
Essentially, you are passing YOUR BELIEFS as facts.
You are trying to put YOUR strategies on me here. It is YOU who passing your fantasies as facts, not me.
You believe that chip in EVM supports MD5 hash - you pass it as fact.
I never said that. The EVM chip will have a 'suitable means' of binary verification, like every OTP chip has. That is an industry standard.
You believe that Japanese will not alter the chip and keep same part number, and you pass it as fact.
Your old strawman again. The point is, the fabs work in a production system, which is impossible to modify for one run. No one here has forgotten your allegation that CIA has created their own modified fab line. Is that a fact?
You believe that team lead will not sell out, and you pass it as fact. And to cover this disguise, you throw insults and sarcasm ("RahulWorld" etc) hoping that these sarcasm and insults will hide your attempts to pass beliefs as facts.
A team lead selling out will not do anything, because of the system in place. If someone is disguising here, it is you.

And yes, RahulWorld is a place in your mind, where logic, rationality and laws of physics do not apply.
The technical parts are pretty much over. Enough people I have spoken to believe that it is possible for BEL to put altered code in chip.
Sure. They would have also agreed that CIA have made own semiconductor fabrication lines. No one has forgotten your cock-a-mamie schemes, like applying a sticker to the finger to defeat the ink mark.

Probably these "people" exist only in RahulWorld!
They see no logistic hurdle here. And enough believe that Japanese company for cash will alter the chip without changing part number etc. And such believer includes many IT people. And with these two practical assumptions, the modulo-5 code can go in. Now you are welcome to hold YOUR beliefs. And you are welcome to state them as FACT. But even people in IT field will NOT accept your arguments that CEO in BEL cant get an altered code in chip and that Japanese company will never send an altered chip with same part number.
People in IT are your "Java Coder" friends?

Can your "IT Friends" make a debate based on the reference platform?
I could not find how checksum or hash is obtained AFTER code is entered and lockbits are set, It only shows how checksum is obtained while ROM is being written. Pls show me the section number or the exact checksum computing function.
It is very much there in the data sheet. See if your "IT Friends" can read and understand it.

I am not going to explain anything till you agree to debate taking it as a reference.
Errr... HowTH is this OST? The topic of this thread is "Should EVMs be discontinued" and the topic means "Should citizens of India use EVMs anymore". So methods to resolve this debate in citizenry are very much part of OT. You perhaps insist that words of BEL, ECIL and ECI should be taken as final words. I am not sure how many believe that.
You want to bring your pet themes anywhere. I have no interest in debating that. The question in front of me is "Can the EVMs be corrupted". The answer is NO.

You have the right to post anything here, and it is an admin call to decide if they belong here or not. I am no admin.
You asked me how people visit my blog. I dont know, and I couldn't care less at this time. But I searched on google on "Rahul Mehta"

I am not sure if google will show you URLs in same order as it showed to me. But this query showed my webpages on top.

And following query was for on "Rahul Mehta EVM"

Take it for whatever it is worth.

Btw, I am ONLY replying YOUR question. I do not put any value on all this. I believe that commons in India are wise and smart enough to separate wheat from chaff, and distinguish between lie and truth. I am only replying the question you asked.
Add a hit counter to the page, so that anyone can see the counts.

Rahul, why don't you bring your expert friends here to debate?

The point is, the fabs work in a production system, which is impossible to modify for one run. No one here has forgotten your allegation that CIA has created their own modified fab line. Is that a fact?
Yes, I used the word "CIA". And whether it is CIA or US Military or NSA, it does not matter. Basically, US Gov owns enough manufacturing facilities where they will do whatever known technology allows to make a tempered or an altered chip if they want to and falls within say Rs 5000 cr of budget. You can try throwing your jargons ("production system") and process related tales. We will see how many believe your claim that CIA etc are simply incapable of making an altered version of chip such as 8051. Because people have officially made 100-200 mutants of 8051 like chips and thus anyone can make another mutant. As per putting same part number, that is some human decision somewhere in chain. If the fab-owner directly instructs technicians to alter it, they would alter it. All in all, we will see how many people accept your claim that "no one can make altered chips with same part number".
A team lead selling out will not do anything, because of the system in place.
Everyone does not know everything about the system. It is possible that only 2-4 persons in BEL have access to final build of the binary. Now if chip has MD5, then altering binary is difficult. But if the chip is only supporting ordinary checksum, then chip tempering is must. In case, chip tempering will be sufficient to install a tempered code in EVMs
Sure. They would have also agreed that CIA have made own semiconductor fabrication lines. No one has forgotten your cock-a-mamie schemes, like applying a sticker to the finger to defeat the ink mark.
They did not accept "sticker on finger". They also did not accept that passkeys based trojan can work because number of people needed would be too high. But they do believe that altered version of chip with same part number can be made. But they do believe that one can make "receive only" radio-enabled EVMs by adding a small antenna in PCB which will not be noticeable by naked eyes.

It is very much there in the data sheet. See if your "IT Friends" can read and understand it.
Which section, page? I looked only at section 9.3 you had shown. That shows how checksums comes during ROM burning, not after lockbits are set.

Rahul Mehta wrote: Yes, I used the word "CIA".
<anip>
Did you tell them about the five different versions?
Everyone does not know everything about the system. It is possible that only 2-4 persons in BEL have access to final build of the binary. Now if chip has MD5, then altering binary is difficult. But if the chip is only supporting ordinary checksum, then chip tempering is must. In case, chip tempering will be sufficient to install a tempered code in EVMs
It is also highly probable that the systems (like the one I suggested) are in place at BEL. The only way to resolve that is to go to the EC meet. Why don't you do that?
They did not accept "sticker on finger". They also did not accept that passkeys based trojan can work because number of people needed would be too high. But they do believe that altered version of chip with same part number can be made. But they do believe that one can make "receive only" radio-enabled EVMs by adding a small antenna in PCB which will not be noticeable by naked eyes.
Who are THEY? What are their credentials? Bring them on here tpo present their arguments.
Which section, page? I looked only at section 9.3 you had shown. That shows how checksums comes during ROM burning, not after lockbits are set.
If you know how to read english, you can find it in the data sheet. The entire security feature is explained there.

Ask your expert IT friends for help.

Rahul Mehta wrote: The technical parts are pretty much over. Enough people I have spoken to believe that it is possible for BEL to put altered code in chip. They see no logistic hurdle here. And enough believe that Japanese company for cash will alter the chip without changing part number etc. And such believer includes many IT people.
The validation of technical parts may be over in your mind, but not as per any scientific norms used in the real world. And as usual you are back to your vague statements. Who are these so-called "enough people"? How many are they? Who are these so-called "IT people" - are they qualified to assess an embedded system or are they simply another bunch of Java coders?
Rahul Mehta wrote: They did not accept "sticker on finger". They also did not accept that passkeys based trojan can work because number of people needed would be too high. But they do believe that altered version of chip with same part number can be made. But they do believe that one can make "receive only" radio-enabled EVMs by adding a small antenna in PCB which will not be noticeable by naked eyes.
I also believe that there are martians hiding in my cupboard - that does not make it true! In science beliefs don't make something true, proofs do! But then, that is exactly what you want to conveniently avoid providing and therefore, keep resorting to evasive statements and vague insinuations.

Perhaps B-R admins need to move this EVM thread to the B-R Strat forum so that the commons (via Google bot) can also read what their self-proclaimed "dear leader" is propagating in the name of science and common sense! :lol:

ALL FOURTEEN of them!!!

Only two kind of people would support RM. Extreme activists who lost their logic to the activism, and extreme stupids who didn't have it to begin with.

Let me note that NO ONE here supported any of his out of the world claims. I am sure his "IT Friends" will also desert him if he gets into the details of his scenario.

If someone comes to me and ask the question "is it possible to manufacture a modified version of a microcontroller?" I would readily say "Sure". Similarly, you can get honest and technically accurate answers if you frame the questions correctly, and leave the context out.

The devil is in the details.

Dileep wrote:Did you tell them about the five different versions?
There need not be five altered codes and five altered chips. eg The BEL chief can ask chip manufacture to follow a strict ChipUniqueID convention going from 1,000,001 to 1,100,000 . And deliver them in order so that chip in 1st lot have serial number 1,000,001 to 1,020,000, second lot as 1,020,001 to 1,040,000 etc. So the chip's number determine the type. OR there are too many read only registers in a chip for identification of chip, serial number, mask, vendor etc. One can create one more "hidden" register to put the type.

It is also highly probable that the systems (like the one I suggested) are in place at BEL. The only way to resolve that is to go to the EC meet. Why don't you do that?
YOU claim that EC, BEL etc are interested in revealing the truth. I dismiss this as naive assumption. If they wanted to disclose, they would have FIRST put names of chip manufacturer, chip details etc.
If you know how to read english, you can find it in the data sheet. The entire security feature is explained there.
Will try, but due to lack of time, I can read whole manual. If you give me page number or section number, that would help. Basically, some code inside chip goes thru ROM and calculates checksum. So person who is writing this code inside chip has to write a different code, which instead of calculating real hash would calculate planted hash. I can tell more after I get how hash is extracted AFTER lockbits are set.

===================

Folks,

Following is worth a read. Straight from BEL

http://www.bel-india.com/BELWebsite/ima ... atures.pdf
The Control unit contains a Micro-controller Integrated Circuit with the main program codes permanently fused into the device, which is manufactured as a proprietary item for
BEL and a Non Volatile Memory that stores the polled data. ....

Micro-controller has a One Time Programmable Read Only Memory (OTPROM). Program codes are fused in this OTPROM permanently. Program codes once written and fused in this OTPROM cannot be read back or altered by anyone including the manufacturer. Thus, it is 100% code protected from either altering or decoding the contents.
It is not clear, but it appears that ROM is burned in Japan itself. BEL, in the name of cost cutting has out-sourced code burning to Japan. We have many RTI-lovers here (and I am not one of them). Can an RTI-lover rise and ask BEL whether OTP-ROM is burned in their premises or burned in Japan?

And it is also established that lockbits are set and hence code cant be read back. So now if the tempered chip supports planting fake hash and reporting fake hash, then we have NO way to know what code actually was sitting inside EVMs used in May-2009 elections.

Rahul Mehta wrote:It is not clear, but it appears that ROM is burned in Japan itself. BEL, in the name of cost cutting has out-sourced code burning to Japan. We have many RTI-lovers here (and I am not one of them). Can an RTI-lover rise and ask BEL whether OTP-ROM is burned in their premises or burned in Japan?
Well, Why don't YOU go to the EC meet and ask that?

Dileep wrote:
Rahul Mehta wrote:It is not clear, but it appears that ROM is burned in Japan itself. BEL, in the name of cost cutting has out-sourced code burning to Japan. We have many RTI-lovers here (and I am not one of them). Can an RTI-lover rise and ask BEL whether OTP-ROM is burned in their premises or burned in Japan?
Well, Why don't YOU go to the EC meet and ask that?
Because RM is scared that if he asks point blank which company makes the chips etc., the Tutored Corrupt BEL engineers at the EC meet will grow horns and gore him to death! :twisted:

Rahul Mehta wrote: There need not be five altered codes and five altered chips. eg The BEL chief can ask chip manufacture to follow a strict ChipUniqueID convention going from 1,000,001 to 1,100,000 . And deliver them in order so that chip in 1st lot have serial number 1,000,001 to 1,020,000, second lot as 1,020,001 to 1,040,000 etc. So the chip's number determine the type. OR there are too many read only registers in a chip for identification of chip, serial number, mask, vendor etc. One can create one more "hidden" register to put the type.
You can not fabricate a serial number on a chip. The chip is just a circuit crated by a sequence of mask/etch operations, so any information you store on that will be the same for the whole lot.
YOU claim that EC, BEL etc are interested in revealing the truth. I dismiss this as naive assumption. If they wanted to disclose, they would have FIRST put names of chip manufacturer, chip details etc.
And you assume that they will not, even in a public hearing. I think that is not naive, but malicious.
Will try, but due to lack of time, I can read whole manual. If you give me page number or section number, that would help. Basically, some code inside chip goes thru ROM and calculates checksum. So person who is writing this code inside chip has to write a different code, which instead of calculating real hash would calculate planted hash. I can tell more after I get how hash is extracted AFTER lockbits are set.
The mechanism is explained in the datasheet, and it is NOT code execution.
Following is worth a read. Straight from BEL

http://www.bel-india.com/BELWebsite/ima ... atures.pdf
The Control unit contains a Micro-controller Integrated Circuit with the main program codes permanently fused into the device, which is manufactured as a proprietary item for
BEL and a Non Volatile Memory that stores the polled data. ....

Micro-controller has a One Time Programmable Read Only Memory (OTPROM). Program codes are fused in this OTPROM permanently. Program codes once written and fused in this OTPROM cannot be read back or altered by anyone including the manufacturer. Thus, it is 100% code protected from either altering or decoding the contents.
It is not clear, but it appears that ROM is burned in Japan itself. BEL, in the name of cost cutting has out-sourced code burning to Japan. We have many RTI-lovers here (and I am not one of them). Can an RTI-lover rise and ask BEL whether OTP-ROM is burned in their premises or burned in Japan?

And it is also established that lockbits are set and hence code cant be read back. So now if the tempered chip supports planting fake hash and reporting fake hash, then we have NO way to know what code actually was sitting inside EVMs used in May-2009 elections.
Where does it say it is done in Japan. You are expert in reading what is not there. What it says is that the OTP ROM can't be modified even by the manufacturer. That is true. Once it is programmed, it can't be modified. Where does "programming in Japan" comes in there?

It has been shows that a fake hash is not possible. Repeating the same discounted argument again and again doesn't make it true.

Rahul Mehta: The technical parts are pretty much over.[/b] Enough people I have spoken to believe that it is possible for BEL to put altered code in chip. They see no logistic hurdle here. And enough believe that Japanese company for cash will alter the chip without changing part number etc. And such believer includes many IT people.

Raja Bose : The validation of technical parts may be over in your mind, but not as per any scientific norms used in the real world. And as usual you are back to your vague statements. Who are these so-called "enough people"? How many are they? Who are these so-called "IT people" - are they qualified to assess an embedded system or are they simply another bunch of Java coders?
I will skip general arguments.

Consider chip like 8051. There are many mutations - probably more than 100-200. IOW, people have officially altered 8051 chip and added functions, ROM, RAM, Flash memory etc as they pleased. IOW, alteration of chips is beyond dispute. Now question is using different part number. eg say you asked for a chip A which is (8051 with 128 k ROM) and manufacturer gave you a chip-B with 256 k ROM but had part number, mask id etc of Chip-A . Can manufacture make such a chip with different part number etc in its read only registers? I claim that manufacture can do so, if he wants. None My claim is because the read only registers which store chip ID, mask ID etc are "written" in fab and they can put any value they like. You claim that there are some tech barriers which will stop him. Now if you claim that there are some factors that PHYSICALLY stop manufacturer from doing so, pls mention them.

Essentially, you have to show that chip manufacture cannot add functions in the chip.

Btw, lets say you asked for ASIC with 64 kb OTP-ROM and manufacture gave ASIC with say 64 kb OTP-ROM and extra 1kb of factory programed ROM with trojan code in that factory programed ROM. Which tech exists to scan the chip and say that the chip is different from what you asked?
Last edited by Rahul Mehta on 07 Aug 2009 16:35, edited 1 time in total.

Rahul Mehta wrote: You claim that there are some tech barriers which will stop him. Now if you claim that there are some factors that PHYSICALLY stop manufacturer from doing so, pls mention them.
Once again you are back to twisting words and taking them out of context. The tech barrier is NOT in making mutants rather the barrier is in the practicality of the whole process and the impossibility of getting away with such subterfuge on a massive scale with nary a peep. In your mind you can keep creating all sorts of delusional strawman arguments but that doesn't mean that the question of tech barriers is solved. BTW IC design and fabrication is not your Java and VB programming that you can modify and mutate at will - Dileep has pointed that out to you numerous times but ofcourse since you consider everything trivial I guess practicality of the whole hair brained scheme is not your concern. Perhaps that is why you prefer not to publicly confront BEL or EC face-to-face in front of a knowledgable audience since you are afraid that your strawman arguments will get blown away in ridicule - maybe that is why you are so eager to run to the "commons" knowing fully well that they are not qualified to get the detailed nuances and will believe whatever you are peddling as an "Engineer".
Rahul Mehta wrote: Btw, lets say you asked for ASIC with 64 kb OTP-ROM and manufacture gave ASIC with say 64 kb OTP-ROM and extra 1kb of factory programed ROM with trojan code in that factory programed ROM. Which tech exists to scan the chip and say that the chip is different from what you asked?
Ever heard of: Decapping, SEM and FIB? - These are standard tools used by hardware hackers. Maybe you can ask your Java programming friends.

And before you start alleging where is the proof BEL or anybody does any random inspection using them...why don't you got to the EC meeting and ask? And before you again start parroting your standard line about tutored corrupt engineers....
Answer this question: Assuming you go to the meeting, stand up and publicly ask tough questions about the chip manufacture and validation process, what do you expect the corrupt BEL engineers to do....fly away or vanish??? There are plenty of people who are going to be there at the meeting...are you claiming they are all naive fools and only the almight-Mehta knows whats best? - Now that would be elitist (as if there was any doubt to begin with) :twisted:

If you had gone to the meeting you would still have respect left on this forum, despite having your hot air punctured regarding having a trojan ready to go. I was frankly expecting you to go and at least ask some meaningful tough questions. Unfortunately, the silly excuses given by you and petulant attitude that you displayed, confirmed to me once for all that you are just one of the many netas we have in our country, who deceive the common man and take him and his emotions for a ride, all in the name of nationalism.

Rahul Mehta wrote: Consider chip like 8051. There are many mutations - probably more than 100-200. IOW, people have officially altered 8051 chip and added functions, ROM, RAM, Flash memory etc as they pleased.
WRONG!! People have taken the published architecture of 8051 and made their own implementation of that architecture. You are implying that someone took the 'source code' and did some cut&paste job. That doesn't work in IC design. From a fab point of view, each type is a different build.
IOW, alteration of chips is beyond dispute.
Absolutely not. You can not take an existing IC design and do a cut&paste job on it. If you want to add even a single register, you have to go to the source level code, do the modification, go through the entire process of simulation, place&route, verification and tape out. And the end result will be a chip that is entirely different from the one you begun with.

'Alterastion' of a chip is impossible.
Now question is using different part number. eg say you asked for a chip A which is (8051 with 128 k ROM) and manufacturer gave you a chip-B with 256 k ROM but had part number, mask id etc of Chip-A .
First of all, you don't order chips like you order a pizza. You provide the CAM files to the fab. Those files don't have any design information. They provide silicon and interconnect geometries of the chip. So, someone delivering something else is impossible.
Can manufacture make such a chip with different part number etc in its read only registers?
No. Someone needs to get hold of the original design files, make the modification and pass through the full design cycle to get new CAM data, and of course that will be under a different mask set, hence a different mask id.
I claim that manufacture can do so, if he wants.
That claim is incorrect, and from your side, remains unsubstantiated. Bring your experts and debate it here if you can.
None My claim is because the read only registers which store chip ID, mask ID etc are "written" in fab and they can put any value they like.
That is incorrect. Nothing can be WRITTEN into the logic at fab stage. The mask id is assigned at the fab for handling and tracking in the production line, and they MUST be unique within the fab system.
You claim that there are some tech barriers which will stop him. Now if you claim that there are some factors that PHYSICALLY stop manufacturer from doing so, pls mention them.
Read above. The CAM data is generated from the design files, and the fabrication runs from the CAM data. The data is just silicon geometry information, and can not be modified in that form. That is the technical barrier.
Btw, lets say you asked for ASIC with 64 kb OTP-ROM and manufacture gave ASIC with say 64 kb OTP-ROM and extra 1kb of factory programed ROM with trojan code in that factory programed ROM. Which tech exists to scan the chip and say that the chip is different from what you asked?
You need at least some basic idea on IC design and manufacturing flow even to imagine things.

ICs are NOT ordered like you order a pizza. Your question is like, you ordered a vegetarian pizza, and how would you find if they hid a piece of meat to "taint your caste".

First you get enough information to ask sensible questions.

http://news.rediff.com/slide-show/2009/ ... oversy.htm

Must read in full.

Should note:
Professor S Sampath of the Defence R&D Organisation headed the committee, which included Dr P V Indiresan of IIT Delhi, and Dr C Rao Kasarabada, Director Electronic Research and Development Center, Trivandrum.

Dr Indiresan gathered four of his brightest research students and gave them five days to subvert the EVM's source code. Their only restriction: there should be no external damage to the EVM.
Colonel Shankar says that BEL gave Dr Indiresan's team all the EVM circuit diagrams and design drawings; only the encryption-coded software was withheld. "After five days of struggling, they admitted that the EVM was tamper-proof."
At the core of the EVM is a micro-controller chip, built by Hitachi of Japan, called an OTP-ROM (one-time programmable read-only memory).

Onto this, the Indian EVM contractors -- BEL and Electronics Corporation of India (ECIL) -- "burn" the algorithm that makes it record votes. The microprocessor's "non-volatile" memory ensures that, once the algorithm is written, it can

How many guesses that Mr. Mehta will claim DRDO and Prof Indiresan is corrupt? Or better still, Hitachi is operating a CIA fab?
Last edited by Tanaji on 07 Aug 2009 15:22, edited 1 time in total.

For defeat, DSK puts blame on EVMs, says machines not reliable
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/for-d ... e/497242/0

Blaming the electronic voting machines (EVMs) for his defeat in the recent Lok Sabha elections, Pune’s BSP candidate D S Kulkarni has demanded a re-election in the constituency.

“I have come to the conclusion that faulty EVMs have actually pushed me to defeat, else I would have won the election, or at least would not have faced such a debacle,” he said.

DSK, who held a press conference on Friday, said he has been collecting proofs for this all the while. He said he was going to file a writ petition in the high court demanding that the traditional ballot paper system should be reintroduced, “Printouts should be provided after casting a vote through EVMs, which could be deposited in a ballot box,” he said.

“My projection of 2.60 lakh votes was based on the huge support that I experienced from citizens. However, I was pushed to the fourth position unexpectedly, bagging just 62,981 votes. In many pockets of the city, like Wadgaon Sheri, Shivajinagar, Parvati and even Cantonment, I was the leading candidate. Therefore, such poor score is not understandable and only EVMs are to be blamed for it,” he said.

DSK said, “The EVMs are vulnerable and its software could be hacked. Many European countries, including Germany, have put a ban on these EVMs. In America, as well, there is a debate going on regarding this. Therefore, I have come to the conclusion that EVMs have actually pushed me to defeat, or else I would have won the election.”

Exemplifying his argument, DSK said, “A total of 43 family members, including two of my bosom-friends, cast their votes at Sant Namdeo School. But the EVM showed that I received only 18 votes. And there are more such examples.”

Without holding any of his political rivals responsible for the defeat, he said, “I am dejected not because I lost the election, but because the people who sincerely voted for me did not get their due. I do not know whether I would contest the next elections, but I will file a writ petition in court demanding a ban on these machines, till their reliability is proved.”

Exemplifying his argument, DSK said, “A total of 43 family members, including two of my bosom-friends, cast their votes at Sant Namdeo School. But the EVM showed that I received only 18 votes. And there are more such examples.”
Yes, that is proof positive that EVMs are wrong... we should take DSK's family's word over anything.... :roll:

EC fails to respond to RTI query!
EC under scanner, critics to show EVMs not foolproof
http://ibnlive.in.com/news/ec-under-sca ... 48-37.html

Prarthna Gahilote / CNN-IBN

NO CLUE: EC refused to answer questions put up to the Commission through a RTI.

ibnlive.com is on mobile now. Read news, watch videos
be a Citizen Journalist. Log on to m.ibnlive.com NOW!

August 06, 2009

New Delhi: Under fire from political parties and NGOs over the credibility of electronic voting machines, the Election Commission on Friday will allow its critics to demonstrate that the EVMs can be tampered with.

The Commission will meet political; leaders and technical experts who claim they have developed software that can manipulate EVMs.

But the Commission is still cagey with information on the EVMs, refusing to answer many details asked for in an RTI application.

Former Bharatiya Janata Party MP Kirit Somaiya will represent political parties to provide proof for their claim.

"Neither Election Commission nor state authorities nor companies BEL and ECIL can check the chip whether it is hacked or not," Somaiya claims.

Then on Saturday, Omesh Saigal, a retired bureaucrat, who first spoke about how EVMs can be manipulated, will display his new software to the Election Commission.

Based on a source code like the EVM, Saigal claims that the software can ensure that EVMs can be manipulated even after the election is over and the machine locked.

"I can tell the EVM that I want the manipulation done in any fashion at the any stage - during mock poll and during actual polling, says software expert Anil Lall.

"We will prove this within the premises of Election Commission," adds Saigal.

While it may have agreed to meet, the Election Commission has refused to answer many questions that Saigal had put up to the Commission through an RTI application.

The Commission so far has been claiming that EVMs cannot be tampered without knowing the source code of the machine. Yet crucial questions about the source code and the assembling of the EVM are what it has decided to duck in the RTI.

What's unanswered includes:

*Names of companies involved in assembly of EVMs?

*Who prepared source code and when? Is it exclusive to the Election Commission?

*Did they itself check the software including the programming code of the machines at the time of delivery?

*How does the EC satisfy itself that the program was the same as the program in the source code?

*Who are the manufacturers of the chip placed in the EVMs?

*Name of the companies apart from Election Commission with whom the source code is available?

*How is the source code burnt into the chip/printed circuit of the EVM and the company doing it?

"By withholding this information they are enabling me to raise my finger at them," says Saigal.

However, another critic VV Rao feels the Commission is dodging the issue. Rao who had filed a case against the EVMs in the Supreme Court is still waiting to meet the Commission. His technical team had made a dummy EVM to test the tamper software.

"It is the holding the country to ransom. They have to look into this," says Rao.

The demonstrations will be a a test of fire for the Election Commission and its much talked about EVMs.

While the Commission has said that it will videograph the demonstrations and make it public later but its reluctance to divulge details will only fuel rumours.

Tanaji, thanx for the rediff article.

So, it is Hitachi, Japan who supplies the chips. That is good info.

The circus in the media is nothing compared to the deeper levels we have gone here. Unavailability of source code etc are claimed to be a deterrent. We have assumed that EVERY piece of design is stolen, no less. Still, we have shown that it is impossible to corrupt the program.

Dileep wrote:People have taken the published architecture of 8051 and made their own implementation of that architecture. You are implying that someone took the 'source code' and did some cut&paste job. That doesn't work in IC design. From a fab point of view, each type is a different build.
No. What I meant was that many people made 8051 mutants from scratch and if the maskid, chipid and vendorid registers are made to have same data that intel 8051 had, then no one can distinguish between the too. By "altered chip" what I mean is that a chip with a different design which is superset of given chip.
You can not take an existing IC design and do a cut&paste job on it. If you want to add even a single register, you have to go to the source level code, do the modification, go through the entire process of simulation, place&route, verification and tape out. And the end result will be a chip that is entirely different from the one you begun with.
Yes, I know that small change in chip means re-design. And thats also often the case with PCB -- small change a new gurber file and too many changes. What I meant is that people have made 100-200 different types of 8051. The chip in EVM is similar to 8051 and so if someone wants to make chip with same pin layout, same size but additional functionalities (like accepting planted hash and reporting planted hash), it is do-able.

First of all, you don't order chips like you order a pizza. You provide the CAM files to the fab. Those files don't have any design information. They provide silicon and interconnect geometries of the chip. So, someone delivering something else is impossible.

.... No. Someone needs to get hold of the original design files, make the modification and pass through the full design cycle to get new CAM data, and of course that will be under a different mask set, hence a different mask id.
So the Japanese company makes the chip and they have the original design files. So for them making a chip which has same pin structure, same size, all same functions, PLUS 1-4 additional functions is piece of cake. eg if someone can make 8051 which calculates hash of ROM, they can also make 8051 which gives wrong hash of the ROM. No commercial value, but useful for EVM tempering.
Nothing can be WRITTEN into the logic at fab stage. The mask id is assigned at the fab for handling and tracking in the production line, and they MUST be unique within the fab system.
The chips come with values in these read only registers. So at some point, they are written. My point is : if a chip can have 5 read only registers, there is no tech barrier in putting one more register to support tempering type. There is no tech barrier in putting any value in any of these read only registers.
Rahul Mehta: Btw, lets say you asked for ASIC with 64 kb OTP-ROM and manufacture gave ASIC with say 64 kb OTP-ROM and extra 1kb of factory programed ROM with trojan code in that factory programed ROM. Which tech exists to scan the chip and say that the chip is different from what you asked?

Dileep: You need at least some basic idea on IC design and manufacturing flow even to imagine things.
Why dont YOU answer the question? Say manufacture supplied you a chip which has 2 k of extra ROM with some hidden codes. What PHYSICAL tests now you have to say that chip has extra functionality? Would you do X-analysis? Would that reveal a proof that chip has 2k more ROM that it is supposed to have? Would that reveal that chip has some functions extrac which it is not supposed to have?

Tanaji,

What DRDO and Dr Indirsen have done is of now value. My point is that code was tempered at point of ROM burning or chip manufacturing. I never claimed that EVMs once made can be altered. Now burden of proof that chip does NOT have code I mentioned is on you. You better find a technology to read the code in ROM with lockbits. Or else, you have NO proof that my proposed modulo-5 code is not inside the chip. And hash value is no good, as the chip maker could have made chip which reports planted hash and not real hash of the ROM code.

Can you, Dileep, Raja Bose, Indirsen etc prove that chip does not have function to report planted hash? Can you people prove that code is what BEL says and not what I say? Machine is rigged untill proven unrigged.

5 students cant rig the machine in 5 days and hence EVM is untemperable at factory level !! With logic like this, I can prove that over 99%L traffic constables in India are honest.

Dileep wrote:We have assumed that EVERY piece of design is stolen, no less. Still, we have shown that it is impossible to corrupt the program.
No. You have merely assumed that source code in EVM is same as what BEL claims to be.

You merely assumed that chip did not have any additional functions.

And using these two assumptions, you have "proved" that EVMs are untempered.

Big deal !!

And thats what EC is also doing.

--------

And we have people here who (foolishly) believe that Hitachi will NEVER ever give a chip with added functions, even if US Gov is willing to pay say $500 mil to Hitachi for adding them. Hell, you guys call commons gullible but IMO your gulliblity is crossing all sane levels now. You guys should get award for Hitachi bhakti. Given the relation Hitachi has with US Govt, Hitachi would do whatever possible within tech limit and $500 million to add functions in chip that would support rigging. And btw, do you guys have any proof that Sonia has not invested money in Hitachi via Mauritius? Hitachi was in a financial stress and if Sonia gives help of $500 mil as investment, Hitachi would do everything undetectable within tech limits to give a different chip.

You guys start looking for some PHYSICAL tests (X ray analysis or whatever) by which code inside chip and ROM can be read. Otherwise, you have NO proof that chip you have doesnt have a pro-Congress code. Your Hitachi-bhakti and process-bhakti will not get many followers in commons.

Rahul Mehta wrote:

in the fab system.

Tanaji,

What DRDO and Dr Indirsen have done is of now value. My point is that code was tempered at point of ROM burning or chip manufacturing. I never claimed that EVMs once made can be altered. YouNow burden of proof that chip does NOT have code I mentioned is on you. better find a technology to read the code in ROM with lockbits. Or else, you have NO proof that my proposed modulo-5 code is not inside the chip. And hash value is no good, as the chip maker could have made chip which reports planted hash and not real hash of the ROM code.

Can you, Dileep, Raja Bose, Indirsen etc prove that chip does not have function to report planted hash? Can you people prove that code is what BEL says and not what I say? Machine is rigged untill proven unrigged.

5 students cant rig the machine in 5 days and hence EVM is untemperable at factory level !! With logic like this, I can prove that over 99%L traffic constables in India are honest.
Sire there is a misunderstanding, it was you right from the start who had brought about the theory of soldering some chip
tampering or hacking and re soldering it it some remote warehouse and then activating some code on election day all this
by a measly 20 CIA agents. Sire what ever you may call it in politikal speak, "Al-Commons" call it lying.

and I can prove 100% of them are honest, what you call bribe, I call it Chai-paani, which people taking pity on their plight
donate. prove me wrong, and i promise i will suck me thumb for 1 hour.

ajay pratap wrote:Sire there is a misunderstanding, it was you right from the start who had brought about the theory of soldering some chip tampering or hacking and re soldering it it some remote warehouse and then activating some code on election day all this by a measly 20 CIA agents. Sire what ever you may call it in politikal speak, "Al-Commons" call it lying.

ajay pratap,

There is some small confusion.

My (old) theory was BU or CU or Both replacement theory, not un-soldering and re-soldering.

And the 20 CIA agents are NOT needed to send radio signals to van. CIA owns many TV channel companies in India. And they can use vans of TV company, put RF sending equipment inside and send the journalists to collector's office for coverage. The journalist wont even suspect that he is going there to send candidate number to EVMs. So in "RF enabled EVM theory", number of field agents needed to send activation signals to EVMs are ZERO. Just use one of the TV company they own.

In RahulWorld the CIA owns
  • Sonia
  • MMS
  • Home Minister
  • CM
  • EC
  • Hitachi fabs
  • TV companies in India
  • Miscellaneous BEL/ECIL elements
Anything else

Rahul Mehta wrote: No. What I meant was that many people made 8051 mutants from scratch and if the maskid, chipid and vendorid registers are made to have same data that intel 8051 had, then no one can distinguish between the too. By "altered chip" what I mean is that a chip with a different design which is superset of given chip.
Of course, it is possible to make an exact functional alternate. But the electrical and timing parameters are going to be different.
Yes, I know that small change in chip means re-design. And thats also often the case with PCB -- small change a new gurber file and too many changes. What I meant is that people have made 100-200 different types of 8051. The chip in EVM is similar to 8051 and so if someone wants to make chip with same pin layout, same size but additional functionalities (like accepting planted hash and reporting planted hash), it is do-able.
Of course it is doable. Doing it without a chance of finding out is what is impossible.
So the Japanese company makes the chip and they have the original design files.
No. They don't. They only have the CAM output files.
So for them making a chip which has same pin structure, same size, all same functions, PLUS 1-4 additional functions is piece of cake.
It is not a piece of cake, because they don't have the original design.
eg if someone can make 8051 which calculates hash of ROM, they can also make 8051 which gives wrong hash of the ROM. No commercial value, but useful for EVM tempering.
I told you time and again that you can't fake the hash.
The chips come with values in these read only registers. So at some point, they are written. My point is : if a chip can have 5 read only registers, there is no tech barrier in putting one more register to support tempering type. There is no tech barrier in putting any value in any of these read only registers.
The read only data is put in at the design time, in the design source. They are never WRITTEN.
Why dont YOU answer the question? Say manufacture supplied you a chip which has 2 k of extra ROM with some hidden codes. What PHYSICAL tests now you have to say that chip has extra functionality? Would you do X-analysis? Would that reveal a proof that chip has 2k more ROM that it is supposed to have? Would that reveal that chip has some functions extrac which it is not supposed to have?
OK, I will take it as a hypothetical question.

1. The electrical characteristics will be different. The added circuitry (it is not CODE. It is circuits on the chip) drains power, and it readily shows up in testing.

2. As part of failure analysis, chips are routinely de-packaged and the silicon visually inspected. ONE LOOK under a regular microscope (or most probably under naked eye) will show the difference in the circuit. Adding ONE BIT will show up on the chip, because that bit involve several transistors.

Rahul Mehta wrote: You guys start looking for some PHYSICAL tests (X ray analysis or whatever) by which code inside chip and ROM can be read. Otherwise, you have NO proof that chip you have doesnt have a pro-Congress code. Your Hitachi-bhakti and process-bhakti will not get many followers in commons.
You have lost the arguments, so you are calling names now. I can understand your desperation.

There are established technologies to detect modified chips. All you need to do is de-package a sample and compare the top layer with the original mask image. If you change one bit or one interconnect, that will show up on the image.

The machines that do this are widely available.

Let me ask you this. Would any company do this kind of a stunt, knowing very well that it can be found and traced, even years later?

Tanaji wrote:In RahulWorld the CIA owns
  • Sonia
  • MMS
  • Home Minister
  • CM
  • EC
  • Hitachi fabs
  • TV companies in India
  • Miscellaneous BEL/ECIL elements
Anything else
I am waiting for him to accuse ME of a CIA agent.

It is standard for the commies here to call anyone who had been to USA as a CIA agent.

please to be re perusing your own posts. this is from first 4 pages, there are 25 more left at the moment.

To rig EVM, you need a few people at EVM storing warehouse and support of CEC. Something that can be managed.

To rig even 5% of 700,000 booths i.e. 35000 booths, you need 3 criminals per booth i.e. 100,000 criminals at least. Not as easy as CEC bribing.

So paper ballot with camera at polling booths are safer than EVMs
The people who rigged EVMs are smart enough that they would have replaced the software now.

So audit will be buy NOTHING.
T
he EVM setup has two parts - EVM with 16 ballot buttons and Control unit. Control units are 1 per booths, where as EVMs can be 1-2 and rarely 3 per booth. There are about 11,00,000 EVMs and 800,000 control units.

With support of Chawla, CIA is capable of putting rigged 700,000 control units in warehouses before elections, and then replacing them by right non-rigged EVMs after counting is over and EVMs come back to warehouse.

So if EVMs were rigged, now they are all replaced by non-rigged EVMs.

they would just replace all unrigged Control Units with rigged ones before shipping from warehouse to District Collector, and then when CUs come back to warehouse after counting is over, they will replace it it original ones.

The units are randomized before agents ONLY at district level. When EVMs are sent from EC warehouse to district, there is no randomization. And randomization does not give any guarantee against following way of rigging : The CU is rigged to subtract 5% votes of all candidates and add them to say candidate no. 2 after 100 votes are cast.

Now EVMs arrive AFTER candidate number are assigned. So lets say in Gandhinagar Constituency, Congress candidate is no 2. Some 1500 EVMs were shipped from EC warehouse to Gandhinagar after candidate number was given. So before shipping EVMs, the EC guy replace the 1500 real Control Units with 1500 Control Units given agency which supplies rigged Control Units. And the Control Unit is rigged to give 5% more votes to No. 2 guy and 5% less votes to rest. And once counting is over and CUs come back to warehouse, they will replace back with original unrigged control units.

a person has pre-fabricated rigged CUs, with support of Chawala, he can replace actual 1500 CUs with rigged ones within few hours. EVMs dispatching is centralized --- everything in from CEC warehouse and everything under CEC Chawala, who is well known for his corruption. While in paper ballot, EVERYTHING is 100% decentralized -- printing is done at district level, boxes are made at Tahsil level, etc.
So Dileep, you say that I want paper ballots so that I can rig them at booth level. :D

And I say that you want EVMs so that CIA can rig them at warehouse level. :D

In the rigging mechanism I suggested, the EVMs are replaced BEFORE polling, right before they are dispatched to the Constituency.

Let me tell you the exact steps how EVMs are shipped today

1. Say polling in a Constituency is on April-30.

2. Then District Collector gives serial number to candidates on April-15th

3. Some 1500 EVMs and Control Units are shipped from warehouse to District Collector on April-18th, i.e. after candidate numbers are given. Say Congress is no. 4

So my claim is : at the warehouse, on 16th April CIA guys will replace 1500 good EVMs with 1500 pre-rigged EVMs which favor candidate no. 4.

Now in most cases, Congress candidate will be no. 1 to no 4, not below that. The reason is that recognized parties get top ranking spots. So CIA will keep say 100,000 EVMs which favor candidate no. 1, some 100,000 EVMs which favor no. 2 and so forth.

Now say poll is on April-30 and so EVM shipping date is 18th. Say 1500 EVMs are to go to constituency-A where Congress is no.2 . Then CIA guy, who has support of Chawala, will replace these 1500 EVMs with EVMs that favor candidate no. 2. And say 1500 EVMs are to go to constituency-B where Congress is no. 3. The CIA will replace these 1500 with EVMs that favor candidate no. 3.

Say one carton has 20 EVMs. So to replace 1500 EVMs, CIA guy needs to replace some 75 carton. How much time does it take to replace 75 cartons of real EVMs with 75 cartons of EVMs rigged in favor of candidate no. 2? Not even 1 hour, assuming that top IAS in CEC are co-operating with the CIA guys at the warehouse.

So please note - in the replacement scheme I suggest,

1. the EVMs are replaced by rigged EVMs somewhere between date when candidate numbers are decided and EVMs are shipped.

2. All this needs just a few guys at warehouse which is under Chawala and few top IAS of CEC.
To make EXACT copy of 1400,000 EVMs and 700,000 CUs is child's play for CIA. They will make it in US and ship it to India at CEC warehouse just 2-3 days before dispatch from warehouse to Collector's office were to happen. Of course, I am assuming that top CEC officials are on CIA payroll. Without them, it cant happen.

Dileep wrote:Of course, it is possible to make an exact functional alternate. But the electrical and timing parameters are going to be different.
Let me restate.

You asked Hitachi to provide a chip which can do 16, 32, 64, ... 256 FFT.

Hitachi provided you a chip which can do 16, 32, 64, ... 256 FFT, and with some hidden instruction, it can do 512 point FFT.

Now how will you come to know that you have an enhanced chip, a chip which is doing more that what you asked for?

If Hitachi sells you a chip that computes FFT incorrectly or does not compute 256 point FFT you will come to know. But if there is an EXTRA hidden functionality, how would you figure that out. Which physical tools would you use? Or, are there any physical tools to ensure that chip which has come does NOT have anything more than asked?

-----
Rahul Mehta: Yes, I know that small change in chip means re-design. And thats also often the case with PCB -- small change a new gurber file and too many changes. What I meant is that people have made 100-200 different types of 8051. The chip in EVM is similar to 8051 and so if someone wants to make chip with same pin layout, same size but additional functionalities (like accepting planted hash and reporting planted hash), it is do-able.

Dileep: Of course it is doable. Doing it without a chance of finding out is what is impossible.
No one will bother Hitachi in Japan. Now tell us how do you find that out in India?

No. They don't. They only have the CAM output files.
Big deal. Then some mole will leak them the design files. Now is design file some un-steable secret? Somebody in BEL has the original design file for the chip. And we have assume dthat top 3-4 guys in BEL has colluded. So getting this design file is now trivial.
I told you time and again that you can't fake the hash.
I will show you how hash can be faked AFTER you tell me how hash is obtained after lockbits are set.
Rahul Mehta: Say manufacture supplied you a chip which has 2 k of extra ROM with some hidden codes. What PHYSICAL tests now you have to say that chip has extra functionality? Would you do X-analysis? Would that reveal a proof that chip has 2k more ROM that it is supposed to have? Would that reveal that chip has some functions extrac which it is not supposed to have?

Dileep: OK, I will take it as a hypothetical question.

1. The electrical characteristics will be different. The added circuitry (it is not CODE. It is circuits on the chip) drains power, and it readily shows up in testing.

2. As part of failure analysis, chips are routinely de-packaged and the silicon visually inspected. ONE LOOK under a regular microscope (or most probably under naked eye) will show the difference in the circuit. Adding ONE BIT will show up on the chip, because that bit involve several transistors.

1. If the chip has even twice the ROM, power consumption increase will be unnoticeable. The testing will be acceptance testing, and as long as it is within the range as per the contract and usability, BEL CEO will not raise any objection. And we have assumed that BEL CEO is mole in the game.

2. There are millions of transistors on a chip. No naked eye analysis or even examination under microscope will reveal anything. Poeple are making chips which microscope can barely see. And you claim that one can see the "internals" of chip under microscope. This is pure bluff. But in any case, show me URLs which claim that you can sniff additions in chips by examination under microscope with human eyes.

Rahul Mehta wrote:1. If the chip has even twice the ROM, power consumption increase will be unnoticeable. The testing will be acceptance testing, and as long as it is within the range as per the contract and usability, BEL CEO will not raise any objection. And we have assumed that BEL CEO is mole in the game.
You say this because you have no clue about the circuits involved.
2. There are millions of transistors on a chip. No naked eye analysis or even examination under microscope will reveal anything. Poeple are making chips which microscope can barely see. And you claim that one can see the "internals" of chip under microscope. This is pure bluff. But in any case, show me URLs which claim that you can sniff additions in chips by examination under microscope with human eyes.
Get some background information on IC design and fabrication first.

Failure mode analysis is routinely done by inspection of the circuitry on the chip. After exposing the top of the chip by decapping, The layout is compared to the original mask. If you add circuitry, that will immediately show up.

And how much circuitry are you going to add. A simple register is 8 bits, with hundreds of transistors and round 20 IO lines on either side. Addition of that anywhere is going to move around the other features, and the end result will be a visibly different layout.

Regarding feature sizes on ICs, see this Link

From Table 15.4, we see that the die area for a simple carry-save adder needs 28,000 I^2 units PER BIT. Where I is the half feature dimension. For a 0.1 micron die, that will be 0.05 microns. This translates to 70 square microns PER BIT, so 560 square microns for the 8 bits adder. This is equal to a square of 24 micron side.

A human hair is around 25 microns in diameter.

Now, this is only the circuit area for the adder. You need 8+8 16 inputs, and 8 outputs, and 8 control lines. Total 32 lines, which will be 6.4 microns wide in total.

Now think how many such registers and interconnect will be needed just to fake a hash? I would say at least 20?

That will be 20-25 human hairs. Can you see it or not?

Rahul Mehta wrote: 1. If the chip has even twice the ROM, power consumption increase will be unnoticeable. The testing will be acceptance testing, and as long as it is within the range as per the contract and usability, BEL CEO will not raise any objection. And we have assumed that BEL CEO is mole in the game.
What is your definition of unnoticeable?? Do you have any idea how precisely voltages and signals are measured on ICs? - If not, please stop making ignorant statements. This is precisely one of the issues I have - people don't care to learn in-depth about a topic and consider themselves qualified to judge based on some casual internet browsing and wikipedia reading. Half-baked knowledge is dangerous indeed.
Rahul Mehta wrote: Say manufacture supplied you a chip which has 2 k of extra ROM with some hidden codes. What PHYSICAL tests now you have to say that chip has extra functionality? Would you do X-analysis? Would that reveal a proof that chip has 2k more ROM that it is supposed to have? Would that reveal that chip has some functions extrac which it is not supposed to have?

I have already posted previously what equipment is used for such physical verification of ICs after it has been fabricated and packaged. Science has progressed enough to move away from eyeballing circuitry and claiming that "only God can unravel an IC's content after it has been sealed". For your benefit I will re-quote my original post:
Ever heard of: Decapping, SEM and FIB? - These are standard tools used by hardware hackers.
Perhaps before acting as a know-it-all you might want to take the pains to learn about existing methods. These tools have been available for a long time and are now used even by individual hobbyists and hackers. If you want a truly layman's introduction, read any of the well-know hardware hacking books - they cover all the aspects you are questioning (in fact if I remember correctly Andrew Huang's original hack of the XBox included reading off the console's OTP ROM and detection of decoy code).

Now I will repeat my question to you. It is not even a technical one. Answer it and don't try to run away or back-pedal:
Assuming you go to the meeting, stand up and publicly ask tough questions about the chip manufacture and validation process, what do you expect the corrupt BEL engineers to do....fly away or vanish???
Please answer the above question.
Rahul Mehta wrote:Machine is rigged untill proven unrigged.
How convenient and what impeccable logic to supports bogus claims. You are the one making allegations - the burden is upon You to back up your allegations. You want to have the luxury of making whatever allegations catch your fancy and expect other people to jump up and down to disprove them, while you don't even want to lift a finger. If that is not elitist thinking, I don't know what is, frankly.
Rahul Mehta wrote: 5 students cant rig the machine in 5 days and hence EVM is untemperable at factory level !!
If Indersen or whoever has actually used such a dubious way to conclude that EVM cannot be hacked, I would consider him equally ill-informed.