1) It will be good for India if TSP becomes stable.
2) TSP can never become stable.
hence, things will never be good for India!

First of all the concept is hypothetical and hence policies, laws and timelines etc does not make any sense. Taking it as a concept, I say yes to that though my view will be in a minority. Nothing really to worry to have Pakjabs and Pashtuns. There is a history in which we have dealt with them. Entire Uncle+Panda dance will be over in our neighborhood. Innmerable number of oppurtunities.RamaY wrote:I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
What should be the Indian response if Kayani/Jardari/Gilani calls MMS tomorrow morning and make an uncoditional request to merge Pakistan in India?
Kindly exlpain your thoughts interms of policies, laws and timelines
thanks in advance
Step IRamaY wrote:I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
What should be the Indian response if Kayani/Jardari/Gilani calls MMS tomorrow morning and make an uncoditional request to merge Pakistan in India?
thanks in advance
Peace talks have to complete and then more talks to decideRamaY wrote:I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
thanks in advance
RamaY, it is not easy to answer the question. Unlike what Pakistanis falsely propagate to build up their security apparatus, there seems to be no inclination in India for a merger. Even if a union of sorts has to come about because of overwhelming force of events, India will be careful about what can be absorbed and what would be a certain 'no go'. As a first cut, PoK, Balawaristan and eastern portions of West Punjab may be merged with India, the Sind & Balochistan becoming independent entities while the Durand Line is obliterated to let NWFP merge with Afghanistan or Pashtunistan.RamaY wrote:I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
Kindly exlpain your thoughts in terms of policies, laws and timelines
Step 1) Plan and execute a full accounting and securing of Pakistan's nuclear weapons, components, nuclear materials, designs. Same goes for missiles.RamaY wrote:I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
What should be the Indian response if Kayani/Jardari/Gilani calls MMS tomorrow morning and make an unconditional request to merge Pakistan in India?
Kindly explain your thoughts in terms of policies, laws and time-lines
thanks in advance
According to media reports the prices of sugar, rice, vegetables and other elementary food stuff have gone up by 20-25% in the recent days. That is happening just before the advent of the holy month of Ramadan. People in Pakistan fear a price hike during the days and weeks to come. In fact, volatile prices of necessary goods and services have been enervating the economy of the country for decades with the exception of very few short-lived periods of relief. Nevertheless, the present outcry of the people over substantial upsurge in the prices of rudimentary food stuff and other necessities of life is a strong message to the government that it either lacks an inflation control policy or indeed the policy is toothless and not working properly. Undoubtedly this perpetual inflationary pressure has not only stricken the poorest low-income groups hard but also has ravaged broader fixed-income sections of the society.
I am in favor of stopping all Indian exports of food-items to Pakistan. Also meat export to Pakistan should rather be diverted to other Muslim countries - either the Gulf or Bangladesh or become a part of India-ASEAN FTA.Inflation is a noxious thing with horrendous impact on national welfare. By definition it measures successive increases over time in the general level of commodity prices in an economy. Given a nominal level of income an increase in prices results into a decreased buying power so that people can not afford to buy goods in quantities they need which leads to a lower level of welfare in the society. Economists usually consider inflation as the mother of all ills for a country’s economic health. Therefore, the degree of price stability also serves as an indicator of how nicely or badly an economy is managed. In Pakistan where a large part of population lives upon lower incomes far below and in close neighbourhood of poverty line, continuous inflationary trends pose a serious threat to already strained existence of the poor.
I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
What should be the Indian response if Kayani/Jardari/Gilani calls MMS tomorrow morning and make an unconditional request to merge Pakistan in India?
Sometimes the difference between biting the bait and jumping at an opportunity is simply one of marketing. If however the the group espousing the "not bite the bait" wins, it can very well be that the nation remains passive and lets an opportunity slip through the fingers. "Not biting the bait" should not mean inaction. It should mean one makes use of the opportunity to the fullest, and still prevent the other side, which throws the bait, from catching the fish.RayC wrote:Even if such a hypothetical situation arose, one should not bite the bait!RamaY wrote:
I reread this entire thread and I have an honest and serious question to gurus!
The gain is exactly because of this reason. If the opportunity allows to take on these terrorists and rabid fundamentalists in a sort of a Kristallnacht type action, or setting up a determined security infrastructure in place in Pakjab and Sindh to hunt down such elements and eliminate them, then this opportunity should be used.RayC wrote:Pakistan is a failed state in all aspects, be it political, moral or economic. There are rogue elements within it. There are hardened terrorist and rabid fundamentalists.
Therefore, what is there to gain?
Whenever India plans on integrating these regions into India proper, India would have to create a confederation in order manage the new land, so we will have to negotiate the number of seats each new province would get in India. This number should remain constant and not increase because of population increase. Furthermore these regions should have a system of provincial citizenship so that they do not spread out throughout India skewing the demography and voting patterns in other states.RayC wrote:As it is there is a great fear amongst many in India that Muslims will one day swamp India. If Pakistan joins India, it will fan paranoia in them, leading to social unrest.
The solution is as fanciful as the unrealistic question was.RayC wrote:Rajesh,
When we are unable to handle the Naxals, who have no religious ideology to pursue and have no oil money to support them, I wonder if we can accommodated wild, illogical and senseless fundamentalist.
No Harbans. No editing. You write a timeline from what you think if you want. I am not going to argue with it. Waste of time. The purpose is not to write the history of Pakistan, but to point out that Pakistan is inimical to India, stable or unstable. It hardly matters if you think it was stable for 2 years here and I think it was unstable. This thread, with my first post has been there for 16 months and this is not the time to nitpick the first post. It's a different matter if you disagree with the premise of the thread.harbans wrote:Shiv Ji, Pakistan was pretty stable in the 90's. Both Benazir and Nawaz had long healthy stints at Office. Nuke proliferation went on full swing. The Taliban were sponsored to screw Afghanistan and sent across. Terror was spawned in J & K elsewhere in India. I'd say Pakistan was stable and sponsoring terror, Wars, hijacking planes and chaos throughout the 90's except the last year or so of the decade. So it goes to prove that a stable Pakistan will create terror and chaos, indulge in proliferation etc.. Can you please edit that, 8 stable years out of 10 for the decade indicate pretty good stability? In fact it was pretty stable when Mushy took over from Nawaz also. I never saw any cracks in the union of Pakistan then..