A look back at the partition

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: A look back at the partition

brihaspati wrote:Most people are not "native" if we go back sufficiently in history. Both Angle's and Saxons were not native to Britain, if we go back a couple of thousand years. Saxons appeared as mercenaries and colonizers in Britain after the withdrawal of the Roman legions from Britain. They derive from "Saxonia" in Germany.

One of the problems about those who mock people raising concepts of "Bharatyia" or "Hindu" as abstract, ephemeral and constructed and not reality usually glibly also talk of "Indian" as if it is not abstract, ephemeral and constructed as a civilizational category. Legally, it is possible to define a category of "Indian" by saying all who are Indian citizens. Is that sufficient to characterize the civilizational aspect of "Indian"? But people refuse to see the jump they are making in starting from the legalese characterization and constructing a whole homogeneous civilization from it.

"Indian" is as much an abstract concept and hoped for construction as "Bharatyia" or "Hindu". There is no need to mock one at the cost of the other. "Indian" is the category now sought to be created which hopefully ignores all the divisions and fractures - especially that of the Abrahamic and non-Abrahamic. But fun part of this is that "Indian" is insisted on to be the only acceptable category as a single homogeneous one that maintains at the same time the distinctive, separatist claims of the Abrahamic. So we have a supposed homogenous identity which can only be defined by either a legal term (which again by even law does not treat all "Indians" uniformly in civilizational terms and claims) or an abtract "homogeneous" concept that can only be defined as a conglomerate (and not a merger) of distinct faith based claims of identity.

Moreover, the attitude appears to be that only the claims of the "Hindu" as an identity should be mocked or suppressed, but none at all of the Abrahamic. There is a consistent line from the British times, that "Islamism"
and "Islam" should be completely separated. The strategy appears to be to create a false separation between the two. This helps in passing off those aspects of Islam that make it difficult to sustain in the face of altered concepts of humanitarian values in the modern period, as something not rooted in "Islam" proper, but in "Islamism". To be fair this can be imagined to help in a reverse social engineering - based again on the false calculation that the Muslims themselves will buy into this disjunction and not be persuaded by the texts in original Arabic (the only medium through which theology is drilled in at the higher levels).

But those who follow the persistent trends in islamic scholarship and continuing modern representation of Islam by Islamists note that the disjunction is adopted only when the audience is known to contain non-Muslims. Within Islamic circles this disjunction is never accepted. There are many documentaries and investigative reports as well as academic studies (many of which are restricted to general or unlimited public access) on this.

We, non-Muslims can hope to propagate this myth that "Islamism" is not sourced from within "Islam", and pretend to believe when "Islamists" say - "oh so and such is not supported by Islam - these are deviations by people who have misunderstood" (ask them if they would declare this as "ANTI"-Islamic punishable by the full penalty under Islamic jurisprudence meant for Muslims who do anti-Islamic activities - you will get a big blank stare, at most a mumble that Islam is "forgiving" and that these "misguided" interpreters should be "persuaded" to "correct" themselves). But those who insist that we must believe in this myth ourselves are doing as much disservice to the "nation" (yes even their constructed homogeneous "Indian" nation) and even towards those "Muslims" they claim are "nationalists" just as a whole lot of characters have done in the past like Siddharaja Jayasimha of Gujarat - who seems to have turned himself blind to the activities of Islamists in his kingdom perhaps swallowing the glib myth of "Islam" being completely separate from "Islamism".
It is always enjoyable to be given a lesson on Ethnohistory.

It is amusing to find a simple post should be turned into an exercise of cerebral showmanship and contrived into context.

It takes two to tango, but this will be my last Coup déjà lance.

The example of the English is an old hat. No one is native of any country since transmigration has been a part of civilisation. Who does not know that?

On England, since it has been raised, it might interest that if one went back into history, the present England was connected to Ireland and Iberia and Eurasia!!

A survey of Y chromosomes in the British Isles suggests that the Anglo-Saxons failed to leave as much of a genetic stamp on the UK as history books imply The Celts weren't pushed to the fringes of Scotland and Wales; a lot of them remained in England and central Ireland, This is surprising: the Anglo-Saxons reputedly colonised southern England heavily.

The Anglo-Saxons and Danes left their mark in central and eastern England, and mainland Scotland, the survey says, and the biological traces of Norwegian invaders show up in the northern British Isles, including Orkney.

The Y chromosomes of men from Wales and Ireland resemble those of the Basques.

It is enough to prove that no one in the world (if the English example given is to be taken as the base) is native.

On civilisation, it is not a construct of one community following one religion. It is a misconception to popularise for political reason, this Indic or Bharatiya homogeneity. Even religious practises and rituals and deities are different, even if accepted. I won’t go into details because that would be a waste of time since most of the posters are well aware of the same even if they don’t indicate that they are ‘scholars’ to impress.

A Hindu can be a Hindu worshipping many gods or one God or no God. The fulcrum of Hinduism lies not in God but respect for truth-Sraddha!

Like it or not, Hinduism is abstract! That is why it has survived. It has the tolerance to ambiguity! Therefore, the attempt to structure Hindusim is misplaced and if it can be structured, then it will die a natural death or, if that is not so, decline!

I may not be a Hindu, but I enjoy the freedom and breathe its fresh air that unstructured Hinduism, gives me. It is a beautiful and a happy feeling!

I just spoke to a Hindu friend of mine who is another Hindu diehard. This is what he had to say –

The Hindu doctrinal tolerance of all religions is not enough, as it is often expressed as an intolerance of exclusivism. Hindu theologians need to explore how they can accept and tolerate exclusivism without compromising their conviction of the transcendence of truth. A clue can be found in the Hindu attitude toward Ista Debata. A Hindu who is totally dedicated and loyal to the Ista would not even recognize other manifestations of the same deity. This is Ista Nistha. The gopis of Vrndavan are examples. They were dedicated to cowhand Krsna of Vrndavan, so they would not even look at King Krsna of Dwaraka.

Indeed, it is wrong to mock the Hinduvta and Indic adherents. However, Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. If other religions can be bashed and buffeted, what makes Hindusim and Indic stuff beyond analysis? Is it fair?

Why have we to raise our differences? What is wrong to bury the hatchet and think we are ‘Indians’. We have seen how even this is dissected in a parochial way where Bal Tahckeray is justified to throw out Biharis for the Marathi manus. Soon, our divisions will go to district levels, even if we are of the same religion and community! Is that what we want?

Islam and Christianity are mocked in this forum, so what is your howl of Abrahamic distinctions? The fact that that there is only a few Christian and possibly no Muslim in this very active forum is your witness before God!

I could go on, but it is boring!

Get a life.

We are Indians.

Like it or not, Hinduism is abstract! That is why it has survived. It has the tolerance to ambiguity! Therefore, the attempt to structure Hindusim is misplaced and if it can be structured, then it will die a natural death or, if that is not so, decline!

I liked the way you phrased that Brig Ray. I'll take your permission to use that phrasing in some other places if you don't mind. This dilemna is evident in how Hindutva parties struggle to find acceptance. Really well put!

Islam and Christianity are mocked in this forum, so what is your howl of Abrahamic distinctions?

I don' think Christianity has been mocked here. Evangelism has been. But IMHO i think Christians are far more capable of taking criticism objectively (like us Dharmics) than Islamics. Chrisianity has evolved, and if you've missed it there was a good talk on this in the US-India thread. You'll like it and it's associated spins/ spin offs Ray ji. Specially with the part where some of us liken evolved 'non evangelic' Christianity and Hinduism.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

The Hindu doctrinal tolerance of all religions is not enough, as it is often expressed as an intolerance of exclusivism. Hindu theologians need to explore how they can accept and tolerate exclusivism without compromising their conviction of the transcendence of truth. A clue can be found in the Hindu attitude toward Ista Debata. A Hindu who is totally dedicated and loyal to the Ista would not even recognize other manifestations of the same deity. This is Ista Nistha. The gopis of Vrndavan are examples. They were dedicated to cowhand Krsna of Vrndavan, so they would not even look at King Krsna of Dwaraka.
There is a problem of understanding here. The devotion to Ishta Devata has never translated into destruction of temples, sacred places of others and enslavement of other people. Adi Shankaracharya debated with people who had different approaches and developed the Advaita framework. The dvaita-advaita tussle is in the spiritual plane of the devotee and not in an actual political battlefield. The case with Abrahamics has been different.

harbans wrote:Like it or not, Hinduism is abstract! That is why it has survived. It has the tolerance to ambiguity! Therefore, the attempt to structure Hindusim is misplaced and if it can be structured, then it will die a natural death or, if that is not so, decline!

I liked the way you phrased that Brig Ray. I'll take your permission to use that phrasing in some other places if you don't mind. This dilemna is evident in how Hindutva parties struggle to find acceptance. Really well put!

Islam and Christianity are mocked in this forum, so what is your howl of Abrahamic distinctions?

I don' think Christianity has been mocked here. Evangelism has been. But IMHO i think Christians are far more capable of taking criticism objectively (like us Dharmics) than Islamics. Chrisianity has evolved, and if you've missed it there was a good talk on this in the US-India thread. You'll like it and it's associated spins/ spin offs Ray ji. Specially with the part where some of us liken evolved 'non evangelic' Christianity and Hinduism.
I am totally against what was known as ''Rice Christians".

The latest is that that the Bishops of the Catholic Church are not ready to hand over their vast properties to the govt, even thought they , the crooked Bishops are themselves are making a quick buck!
Check Telegraph.

Herbie,

The sad part is that essence of Christianity has been forgotten. Its all about numbers!

The British used to frown on their colleagues who married local women of Hindusthan. The pharse used was so and so "went native". Its in that connotation that we should not use the same word to describe conjugal relations between the British and local women. Its fractal recursivity at work. By usig such a word we continue to denigrate the women who are our aunts and grand aunts in an extended sense.

I also think we should debate whether Nehru and the Constituent Assembly was right in naming the country India that is Bharat. I think it should have reverted to Hindusthan or just Bharat. The word India leads to complications- Indian XX this or that. Otherwise it would have been Hindu XX or Bharat XX.

XX = Minority under discussion.

I know the CA thought they were being modern by picking the name India instead of the antiquity name of Bharat or the medieval name of Hindusthan.

Self Deleted... OT Post
Last edited by RamaY on 27 Aug 2009 20:05, edited 2 times in total.

RamaY wrote: One cannot remove Islamism without deforming Islam, which goes against the foundations of Islam, thus they are one and same.
There is logic in this statement

Abhi_G wrote:
what do you make of Gandhi's suggestion to Hindus to accept death and rape in a certain way so as to calm the riots? Is that a slip of tongue or an extremely insensitive way of washing off hands from responsibility using his elevated almost divine status?
What is interesting is not many writers and historians including marxists have discussed this aspect of non violence which is submitting to mass killings.

Every Indian knows the Tryst with destiny speech that JL Nehruji gave on August 15th 1947. Here is his speech one year later on August 15th 1948.

India will be what we are

Please read and reflect.

Abhi_G wrote:
Sanku wrote: Thats why reading of Anand Math should be in Jingo 101, but Alas....

Why did Bankim put "Hare murare...." (Dashavtar Shloka) in that book, from Swamiji's mouth carefully inserted when one of the leading characters is going through a tough time?

"Maalech nivahe nidhane, kalyasi karvalam......"

Actually given the psec environment, its a surprise the book isnt banned really
Sanku-ji, the dasavataram shlokas in Anandamath are written by Jayadeva Goswami. MS Subbulakshmi has a vocal rendition of this.
Abhi_G I am aware that the Shlokas are by Jayadev, from Gita Govinda actually. My point was the use of the same in the book, which I consider a metaphor for exactly what Brihspati has been saying. Please also share the link of Sh. Subbalakshmi's rendition.

I love the one in by Hemant Mukharjee in the film Anand Math.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Our troubles during the past year were largely the result of this narrowness in outlook and pettiness in action which is so foreign to India’s great cultural inheritance. Communalism threatened to crush the free spirit in us, the communalism of the Muslim, of the Hindu and of the Sikh. Provincialism came in the way of that larger unity which is so essential to India’s greatness and progress. The spirit of faction spread and made us forget the big things that we had stood for.
One thing's for sure. Pandit Nehru liked to talk big. He just wasn't much of a walk the walker and the devil, if you will, was in the details.

S

Sanku wrote: "Maalech nivahe nidhane, kalyasi karvalam......"
Translation please . What does it mean as AFAIK there is claim that the last line of Jaydev's Granth Gita Govinda was written by Lord Himself when the author went to take morning bath in the river when he was struggling to give finishing touch to the Granth. Jaydev is one of the recognized Sant in Guru Granth Sahib.

Prem wrote:
Sanku wrote: "Maalech nivahe nidhane, kalyasi karvalam......"
Translation please . What does it mean as AFAIK there is claim that the last line of Jaydev's Granth Gita Govinda was written by Lord Himself when the author went to take morning bath in the river when he was struggling to give finishing touch to the Granth. Jaydev is one of the recognized Sant in Guru Granth Sahib.
Here you go...

http://www.guruvayurappantemple.org/pdf ... nskrit.pdf

Oh Lord, in the form of the Kalki! For the destruction of the maalech, you carry a
meteor-like sword in your hand, trailing a train of disaster to them. Hail! Hari, God
of the World, Victory to Thee!

ramana wrote:Every Indian knows the Tryst with destiny speech that JL Nehruji gave on August 15th 1947. Here is his speech one year later on August 15th 1948.

India will be what we are

Please read and reflect.
Sounds like a speech fit for an Obama. Can mean anything you want it to!
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

One thing's for sure. Pandit Nehru liked to talk big. He just wasn't much of a walk the walker and the devil, if you will, was in the details.
He never put his money where his mouth was. There was a huge chasm between his speeches and his actual actions. He was merely a speech artist.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

sanjaychoudhry wrote:
He never put his money where his mouth was. There was a huge chasm between his speeches and his actual actions. He was merely a speech artist.
When I look at what people of other countries like China (the great leap, cultural revolution), Korea (north and south), Pakistan, Sri Lanka had to go through in the last 50-60 years and I feel we must have been blessed with lot of great leadership, even if deficient in some respect. Please give some credit also :)

RayC wrote
It is amusing to find a simple post should be turned into an exercise of cerebral showmanship and contrived into context.
It has always been amusing for me to note how you cannot pass by without attacking the person and not his statements. I just hope, that there are not too many like you walking in the corridors of power and decision-making.
A survey of Y chromosomes in the British Isles suggests that the Anglo-Saxons failed to leave as much of a genetic stamp on the UK as history books imply The Celts weren't pushed to the fringes of Scotland and Wales; a lot of them remained in England and central Ireland, This is surprising: the Anglo-Saxons reputedly colonised southern England heavily.
No, it has never been claimed that they replaced the population completely. Proportionatley more of the males are descended from later Germanic groups, and the Germanic stock dominates more among elite groups or aristocracy. The upper echelons of British society, especially the males, show predominance of the Germanic.
The Y chromosomes of men from Wales and Ireland resemble those of the Basques.
No, only certain populations in the west of Ireland, especially the so-called "Black Irish" who show genetic proximity to the Basques. They are much older than the supposed Celts - and are actually remnants of ice-age refugia in the southern Spain. Geneticists refer to them as Iberian paleopopulations and not as Celts.
This is a fundamental error of understanding at the least. It is the British style of patronizing undermining the "Hindu". There is no tolerance of ambiguity in Bharatyia philospohy. Philosophical conclusions have never given in to ambiguity. Existence of multiple conclusions or alternative conclusions do not indicate ambiguity. This logic of abstraction is typically given so that the concrete aspects and derivation of concrete methods are not undertaken by the "Hindu".
I may not be a Hindu, but I enjoy the freedom and breathe its fresh air that unstructured Hinduism, gives me. It is a beautiful and a happy feeling!
This is really illuminating. Those who are not "hindu" are most comfortale if and only if "Hinduism" remains unstructured. They do not say this of the Abrahamic. This reveals that the thought process is actually Abrahamic - where it expects any "legitimate" faith to be oppressive on non-believers by default.
I just spoke to a Hindu friend of mine who is another Hindu diehard. This is what he had to say –
Yes, there are lots of people who do not identify with the suffering of followers of their birth-faith at the hands of the "exclusive" Abrahamic faiths. They are either victims of the colonial brainwashing programme that still continues through supposedly independent regimes, or are scared of the responsibilities and the tasks that may fall on their shoulders, if the true role of Abrahamic is acknowledged. It appears not very difficult to wax eloquent on the need to "tolerate" intolerance when it can be done at the cost of others' suffering or when one is trying to flee duty towards eliminating ideological prescriptions like Islamic Jihad.
Indeed, it is wrong to mock the Hinduvta and Indic adherents. However, Do unto others as you would have them do unto you. If other religions can be bashed and buffeted, what makes Hindusim and Indic stuff beyond analysis? Is it fair?
[...]Islam and Christianity are mocked in this forum, so what is your howl of Abrahamic distinctions? The fact that that there is only a few Christian and possibly no Muslim in this very active forum is your witness before God!
Islamism has never been mocked on this forum fas fars as I have seen from the time I have joined. Yes Pakistanis have been. Neither Islamism not Islam has ever been mocked here - any hint even of serious deconstruction were immediately suppressed either by deletion or removal.
Why have we to raise our differences? What is wrong to bury the hatchet and think we are ‘Indians’. We have seen how even this is dissected in a parochial way where Bal Tahckeray is justified to throw out Biharis for the Marathi manus. Soon, our divisions will go to district levels, even if we are of the same religion and community! Is that what we want?
No problems, lets start with reducing the constitutional reconition of differences and special status - no separate civil law based on faith communities, and no virtual blasphemy laws. How about that?
Get a life.
What makes you think we don't have our own lives? Its quite a bit presumptious - don't you think?
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

So BRF is against eradication/suppression of any ideology. Does it apply to Maoism and other such ideologies? If my to-be-registered-religion “JingBangJabaraha” calls for certain intolerant practices towards non-believers, will I still be allowed to safe-guard my religious beliefs?
The problem here on BRF as well as in the wider world is that people are unable to distinguish between ideologies and religions. Not all ideologies are religions, regardless of the claims of their founders or believers. An ideology doesn't become a religion either merely because it originated one or two thousand years ago.

This confusion can be solved if you arrive at a definition of a legitimate religion. Then it will be easy to identify which ideologies are merely maquerading as religions and illegally benefitting from the respect people automatically extend to legitimate religions.

The confusion will remain as long as you don't learn to distinguish between ideologies and religions. For example, I will start a new "religion" that allows believers to rape their neighbour's wife. Will this ideology be valid as a religion, or will it be identified as a rogue ideology that is merely a pretender to religionhood?

However, a legitimate religion may also have some practices that may be only ideologies. Thesse practices deserve no respect and action against these practices must not be considered as an assault on that religion.

For example, bowing to Kaba seven times a day may be a legitimate religous practise but declaring war against non-believers and plotting thier downfall through increase in numbers, is not a religious practice and any action against the latter must not be considered an assault on that religion as a whole.

Same with Hinduism. Worshipping many manifestations of God is a legitimate religious practice but not discriminating against a group of people by declaring them as lower caste.

Same with Xianity. Believing in the son of God is a legitimate religious practice but not burning non-believers on the stake for not believing in that son of God too.

When the ideological components of a religion are attacked, it is not an attack on that religion. So, Islam is religion, but Islamism is an ideology. The attack on the latter is not an attack on Islam.

The believers of these religions will, of course, try to convince you to acccept even the ideological components of their religions ("we have to rape the neighbour's wife because our founder asked us to do so") and extend the same respect to them too, but they should be rebuffed. Only legitimate religious practises are to be given respect, not ideologies.

{The problem is that some postors come here to post just to vent their hate. I think Sridhar tried reasoning and explaining all this to RamaY multiple times, and we have all tried reasoning with the same postor numerous times. Too many times. }
Last edited by sanjaychoudhry on 27 Aug 2009 02:26, edited 1 time in total.
samuel

Post by samuel »

We've seen a few aspects of partition.
1. Nehru in a hurry to get Brits out.
2. People held on and were told to hang on.
3. A massive undercurrent of splinter deobandi and barelvis
4. Jinnah and Nehru off with the begging bowl to Mountbatten.
5. Mahatma's method did not work in the face of islamism.

Let's go back in time and see how this came about. We can start with Morley-Minto and go on to Montague-Chelmsford, then to Quit India and so on, but the origins are circa 1857. Before we do that, let's look at how the boundary itself started forming. For such a huge issue as partition (logistic), all of it was done in a month or two. Here is what Lucy Chester writes in 2002:

It was not until the summer of 1947 that British and South Asian leaders began serious discussions about the format and procedure of a boundary commission. All in all, however, the central parties agreed on all aspects of the Boundary Commission arrangements with surprisingly little wrangling. There would be two commissions, one for Bengal, in northeast India, and one for Punjab, in the northwest. The same man, Sir Cyril Radcliffe, would chair both commissions. Radcliffe was widely respected for his intellectual abilities, but he had never been to India. Paradoxically, this fact made him a more attractive candidate, on the theory that ignorance of India would equal impartiality. Each commission would consist of four South Asian judges, two selected by Congress and two by the League. In the end, this two-versus-two format and the judges’ strong political biases produced deadlock, leaving Radcliffe the responsibility to make all the most difficult decisions himself. The commission’s terms of reference directed it to "demarcate the boundaries of the two parts of the Punjab on the basis of ascertaining the contiguous majority areas of Muslims and non-Muslims. In doing so, it will also take into account other factors."13 These terms, with their vague reference to "other factors," allowed the Chairman enormous leeway. However, after the final boundary decision, known as the "Radcliffe Award," was announced, all sides complained that Radcliffe had not taken the right "other factors" into account.

This structure limited the commission’s effectiveness, but the most serious flaw was the extremely tight timetable that the British Government, Congress, and League imposed on the entire partition effort. Radcliffe arrived in India on July 8 and met with Mountbatten and the nationalist leaders soon thereafter. It was at this meeting that Radcliffe learned, apparently for the first time, that the boundary must be completed by August 15. He protested, but Mountbatten, Nehru, and Jinnah stood firm. Despite warnings that the time restriction could wreck the end result, they wanted the line finished by August 15.

Radcliffe’s efforts were further hampered by the fact that he was almost completely ignorant of the information and procedures necessary to draw a boundary, procedures that were well established by 1947.14 Moreover, he lacked any advisors versed in even the basics of boundary-making, and only his private secretary, Christopher Beaumont, was familiar with the realities of administration and everyday life in the Punjab. Radcliffe’s South Asian colleagues, all legal experts like himself, were as ignorant as their Chairman of boundary-making requirements.

However, Radcliffe was not as unbiased, nor as ignorant, as the Indian leaders assumed. On the contrary, his wartime experience as director-general of the British Ministry of Information, along with his sound Establishment background, left him intimately familiar with the goals and interests of His Majesty’s Government. There is no evidence that Radcliffe was biased against Hindus, Muslims, or Sikhs, but he was certainly biased in favor of preserving British interests. As far as its undeclared political ends were concerned, then, the Radcliffe Commission was well arranged. Unfortunately, the forces that shaped the commission to fulfill political needs also prevented it from following well-established boundary-making procedures.

The commission’s membership, composed entirely of legal experts, hampered its boundary-making effort but added a valuable veneer of justice and legitimacy to what was, in reality, a chaotic jumble of events. Its composition of equal numbers of Congress and League nominees paved the way to deadlock but created an appearance of political balance. The presence of these political nominees came at the expense of the use of the necessary geographical experts, but satisfied the demands of Congress, League, and of course the British Government to have their own men on the commission. The absence of outside participants—for example, from the United Nations—also satisfied the British Government’s urgent desire to save face by avoiding the appearance that it required outside help to govern—or stop governing—its own empire. The Commission’s extremely tight timetable made it impossible to gather the survey and other information vital to a well-informed decision, but speedily provided all parties with the international boundary that was a prerequisite for the transfer of power.

Posted in Full from a TSP newspaper Opinion article by Ahmed Quraishi who works for Geo TV. No Comments.
'Pak-nationalism'
Wednesday, August 26, 2009
Ahmed Quraishi

While we should thank India's former foreign minister for his courage in praising Mr Jinnah, we should stop behaving as if we are seeking validation and vindication. Mr Jaswant Singh's book is not a Pakistani victory. It is a sincere attempt by an Indian citizen to probe what is commonly known as partition, which itself is based on the false notion that a sovereign India was wrongly divided. For us in Pakistan, we should realise that our independence – and not "partition" – is steeped in both modern and old histories and requires no explanation.

Pakistani intellectuals continue to be afflicted with low self-esteem that prevents them from fashioning an interpretation of history supportive of the idea of Pakistani nationalism. In this, our intellectuals are far behind the thinkers in Israel, for example, who achieved the impossible by reviving a 2,000-year-old dead language to gel a nation of diverse peoples.

Our politicians and thinkers failed to make something out of Pakistan in the past six decades mainly because of the lack of pride that comes from a sense of being, a sense of destiny, a sense of history. This discussion is important because we have seen brazen attempts during the last two years, especially in the US media, to promote the idea of Pakistan's balkanisation.

Finding a nationalistic motivation, a sort of 'Pak-nationalism' -- is essential.

The first thing Pakistanis need to know is that Pakistan was destined to happen. Mr Jinnah made it happen through his sheer brilliance because he was there. But Pakistan was going to happen anyway, in some shape or form and at an opportune time, because of the force of history. Pakistan was not a historical coincidence that the common historical version suggests and which Mr Singh reinforced. There is no coincidence in the fact that a quarter of a century before Quaid-e-Azam's rise, a poet who wore a Turkish tarboosh (hat) and wrote Persian poetry predicted such a country. Pakistan's rise came exactly 90 years after the formal fall of the Mughal Empire, Pakistan's predecessor, which was the only India the world had known for centuries. Except for that 90-year-long gap, Pakistan had existed in several shapes and forms, and for at least ten centuries.

Our Indian friends have the right to debate the question of India's supposed division. But today's India, born in 1947, was never divided or partitioned. It is a historical fallacy to think that Pakistan was ever part of any united and sovereign Indian state. The only thing that was divided in 1947 was a British colony that, in turn, was based on a defunct Muslim empire. The Indian grievance about the "partition" that is at the core of Indian animosity toward Pakistan is without base.

What is more surprising is how Pakistan's intellectuals were drawn by Mr Singh's book to conclude that Pakistan's founding father was an "Indian nationalist" who did not want Pakistan as a first choice. This is incorrect, because it negates the force of history that favoured Pakistan. Tens of millions of people wanted to be future Pakistani citizens before the country even existed. The leadership of Mr Jinnah was an instrument, not the cause.

Sixty-two years later, Pakistanis shouldn't be discussing details. We know there was a Pakistan independence movement. We know it was anchored in history. We know that the fourth and fifth generations of today's Pakistanis are more integrated than ever.

This is the reality of Mr Jinnah's 'Pak-nationalism'. And this is the only thing that matters.

The writer works for Geo TV. Email: [email protected]

N3-ji

That makes sense. I really didn't contribute much to this discussion.

RamaY, These are testing times for all nationalists to stand together. Some thing more drastic is wafting. So lets show some togetherness.

Thanks for the cooperation,

samuel

Post by samuel »

So, allow this timeline with some snapshots on it.
1857 - 1909 - 1920 - 1930 - 1940 - 1942 - 1946 - 1947(J) - 1947 (M) - 1947 (Jun) - 1947 (Jul) - 1947 (Aug) - 1947 (post).

We've had samples of Hindu-Muslim riots through Baba Ambedkar's writing (and Shiv points out in N. Chaudhuri's too) between 1920 and 1940; almost every year, like clock work. Let's go to 1909 now, where we first had a "separate electorate for Muslims of India." This was a key point that led to such a feeling of entitlement and to see its genesis, consider some articles from the period; I will only post headlines here, and sparsely, full text (each costs $3).

Just before 1909 when the reforms were starting, something was brewing:
WHY THERE IS A SPIRIT OF REVOLT IN INDIA; A High-Caste Native Describes the Silent Revolution That Is Taking Place and Which He Believes Will Overthrow British Rule.
Sign in to Recommend
By SAINT NIHAL SINGH OF INDIA.

December 20, 1908, Sunday (New York Times)

Section: Part Five Magazine Section, Page SM9, 2498 words

INDIA is dissatisfied with its present day alien administration. This discontent is deep rooted. It has existed for a number of decades, becoming progressively acuter and angrier, until to-day it unmistakably leans toward revolution and portends a total demolition of England's prestige in Hindustan
THE PROBLEM OF INDIA.
Sign in to Recommend

October 26, 1906, Friday (New York Times)
Page 8, 822 words

An incident in the history of India which may prove of great and lasting importance has passed almost without notice in the press of the United States. An address has been presented by the representatives of some 70,000,000 Mohammedans to the British Viceroy, Lord MINTO, and has been answered in the most sympathetic spirit.

If the drastic is negative, then those who have brought it upon us, have to go. We can all pitch in together, but this shifting of responsibility and callous gaming using the "nationalistic" feeling as capital to preserve personal or coterie or dynastic power must stop once and for all. If it is drastically negative, all holding key decisionmaker posts, in the GOI, in the babudom, and those who work as kingmakers, all have to be swept off - that should be the price and condition for "nationalist" support.

An empiricist's view

Prof. Kathleen Burk of Gresham College London.

British Empire Rise and fall

India: Jewel in the Crown

RayC wrote:[

This is classic of the exclusivists. Well what is mine is mine and what is yours is negotiable. What exactly are exclusivists willing to bring to the table; other than saying we will keep what is ours and let's start negotiating how what you have, can be restructured and modified, to accommodate the destruction and smiting of you as proposed by me.

That completely lacks sensitivity to practicing hindus who would not like to limit to one particular ishta devata. The practicing hindus would be open to worship many dieties or no diety as one wishes. There is no need to narrow the scope of the repotire of hindus. When exclusivists bring something serious and tangible to the table for negotiation of what they are willing to do to curb exclusivism, other than frivolous suggestions of what non-exclusivists should be doing, then there can be dialogue.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Here, we see (1906) that the partition problem was well and alive and whatever happened between this time and 1947 was all for naught for creating a united India.

Please see article here: http://img405.imageshack.us/i/101715665.pdf/

And I quote:
The Problem of India
An incident in the history of India which may prove of great and lasting importance has passed almost without notice in the press of the United States.

An address has been presented by the representatitves of some 70,000,000 Mohammedans to the British Viceroy, Lord MINTO, and has been answered in the most sympathetic spirit. The basis of the address was the assumption that Great Britain is on the eve of granting some degree os representation to the natives in the legislative and executive departments of the Government of India, and if this be done, the Mohammedans urge that they be secured in what they consider to be their expecial rights. As the are in hopeless minority--hardly more than one-fifth of the total population--and are not segregated, but scattered throughout the vast peninsula, representation in the ratio of numbers would leave them practically subject to the majority, whom they regard with jealousy, suspicion, often with contempt, and with an ineradicable animosity that is held in control only by the rule of the British white caste.

Obviously the demand the Mussulmans make of the Viceroy is intrinsically most difficult to satisfy. They suggest that representation, if accorded, be by creeds and not by numbers, and The London times regards this as neither impracticable nor undesirable, while Lord Minto significnantly declines to reject or even criticise it. But in application it bristles with difficulties. Even the mere adoption of if, if recommended, would encounter stubborn opposition in England; it would defy every notion of fairness and contradict the whole tendency of English political sentiment for the past three-fourths of a century. It would be practically hard to secure its acceptance by the party now in power, whose fundamental principles wuld be stultified by putting one-fifth of the population of India on equality with four-fifths. Mr. Morley once distinguished himself in English literature by printing in one of his books the name of GOD without a capital initial and that of Mohammed with one, but he could hardly defend that standard of relative importance applied to the Government of India.

It is not, indeed, unfair to suggest that the demand of the Mussulmans in India is treated with a certain expression of respect by the Viceroy and by some of the press in England precisely because it presents an impossible condition to the adoption of serious representative institutions in India. If representation were granted without this condition and the Mohammedans were relegated to what they regard as the oppressive domination of the Hindus, there would be grave danger of political disorders throughout the Empire. The Mohammedans as a class are much more energetic, capable, coherent and aggressive than the remainder of the population. Not that they are of a different race; they are substantially of the same race, or races; but their religion attracts the men of strength and of action, inspires them with fiercer resolution, teaches them to look forward to ultimate conquest as their invevitable destiny and literally trains them to habitual scorn of all unbelievers. They endure the rule of the British because it is established on that success in war which Allah has permitted. Even this they endure only as something that in time must end. The rule of those they look upon as inferiors would be a very different thing; it might prove intolerable to them and they might challenge it with the sword. The risl of such a catastrophe is good ground for refusing representation to the natives on the basis of numbers. If no other basis is acceptable the thing falls on the ground.

Unquestionably, however, there is a distinct unrest in India of which the British Government is taking cognizance. Mr. Morley, at the head of the Indian Department in the Ministry, in substance admitted the fact in his remarkable speech on Indian budget. Its origin is much more simple than is the problem of satisfying it. The spread of Western education in India during the past generation has created a class of literates who now seek a share in the government of the country. To some extent their desire has been gratified, especially as to the courts and the minor civil service. But from the army and from the higher offices, involving discretionary authority, they have been excluded. Such recognition as they have received naturally whets their appetite for more, and has tended directly to the creation of a fervent aspiration toward complete self-government. The literate class is not large--probably not more than one in twenty of the population; but it naturally includes the brightest and most eager minds, and it is bound to increase in relative strength and, even more, in influence. What in the long run the British will do with it, or what it will do with British rule--this is an intensely interesting and very puzzling question.

Ahmed Quraishi :
Finding a nationalistic motivation, a sort of 'Pak-nationalism' -- is essential.

The first thing Pakistanis need to know is that Pakistan was destined to happen. Mr Jinnah made it happen through his sheer brilliance because he was there. But Pakistan was going to happen anyway, in some shape or form and at an opportune time, because of the force of history. Pakistan was not a historical coincidence that the common historical version suggests and which Mr Singh reinforced. There is no coincidence in the fact that a quarter of a century before Quaid-e-Azam's rise, a poet who wore a Turkish tarboosh (hat) and wrote Persian poetry predicted such a country. Pakistan's rise came exactly 90 years after the formal fall of the Mughal Empire, Pakistan's predecessor, which was the only India the world had known for centuries. Except for that 90-year-long gap, Pakistan had existed in several shapes and forms, and for at least ten centuries.

Our Indian friends have the right to debate the question of India's supposed division. But today's India, born in 1947, was never divided or partitioned. It is a historical fallacy to think that Pakistan was ever part of any united and sovereign Indian state. The only thing that was divided in 1947 was a British colony that, in turn, was based on a defunct Muslim empire. The Indian grievance about the "partition" that is at the core of Indian animosity toward Pakistan is without base.
Yes all the quintessential Pakistani arguments. The ultimate acknowledgement that there was no history behind some event, is to say that it happened because it was destined to happen. The same cliche based on a false British and "Hindu" collaborator reconstruction of Indian history - as that of British taking over from the Mughal empire. The Pakistanis are never asked to give the names of "Islamic" rulers who actually seriously fought the British anywhere in India. Those three who did were either independent or semi-independent. Two of them did it on territory most of which actually seceded from Pakistan in 71. The Pakistanis are never shown that all the major wars that the British ahd to fight in order to colonize were with "Hindu" regimes, and in fact no resistance can be seen from the Islamics in the heartland of later Pakistan.

But then again, formally India never challenges this propaganda by the Pakistanis. Is it because then it will reveal a facet of Indian history that is politically problematic for existing regimes in India? All claims of Pakistani "nationality" are based on the twin claims of an "Islamic identity" which is non-Indic, and "Muslim empire" both of which are blatant historical falsehoods. These are two that is also used to negate the perception of the Partition.
samuel

Post by samuel »

Absolutely nothing change viz Hindu-Muslim relationships between here and Independence and the Brits were, as in 1906, in full control of the process. Now, it is certain that some of the article is justification offered through an assumed racial superiority by the Brits; what is not is the fact that they were approached and delighted to be. Let's see what happened between 57 and 06 now.

Thursday,
It has always been amusing for me to note how you cannot pass by without attacking the person and not his statements. I just hope, that there are not too many like you walking in the corridors of power and decision-making.
Maybe this will jiggle you memory:
One of the problems about those who mock people raising concepts of "Bharatyia" or "Hindu" as abstract, ephemeral and constructed and not reality usually glibly also talk of "Indian" as if it is not abstract, ephemeral and constructed as a civilizational category.
Two injunctions from the Bible may help explain:

1. "Do unto others as you would have others do unto you."

2. "Let He Who Is Without Sin, cast the first stone."

Getting a trifle OT and so I will leave it there and let the rivers roll on!

Take thy beak from out my heart, and take thy form from off my door!'
Quoth the raven, `Nevermore.'

The Russo-Japanese war of 1905 awakened among the Indians a renewed awareness that Europe can be defeated. I think one missing link is the idea of Japan among the Indians was an impetus to divide Bengal.

ramana wrote:The Russo-Japanes war awakend among the Indians a renewed awareness that Europe can be defeated. I think one missing link is the idea of Japan among the Indians was an impetus to divide Bengal.
From what I have heard from my elders, you are spot on about the fact that it did excite the Indians that the Europeans can be defeated!

A very valid point raised by you that one forgets.

I am looking for the quote of Rabindranath Tagoreji.

One of my distant relatives in those days went to Japan to study and used to be called Japan Sastry!

Not Hari Prasad-ji?

http://science.jrank.org/pages/10584/Pa ... anism.html

Japan's 1905 victory over Russia, a European power, was received as an exhilarating event throughout Asia. During the following decade, a large number of students and revolutionaries from China, Korea, Philippines, India, and other areas of Asia came to Japan hoping to find encouragement for their nationalistic causes. Sojourners in Tokyo developed a sense of community as Asians. In 1907 Zhang Binglin, Zhang Ji, Liu Shipei, and other revolutionaries from China organized a Yazhou heqin hui (Asiatic humanitarian brotherhood) with revolutionaries from India, Vietnam, Burma, Philippines, and Korea, as well as Japanese socialists, to help each other's anti-imperialist activities. Among its members and their associates were Phan Boi Chau of Vietnam and Mariano Ponce of Philippines. This organization and other similar associations did not last long because Tokyo became a less hospitable place for expatriate
revolutionaries. Other Asians increasingly criticized Japanese Pan-Asianism as mere rhetoric for Japanese imperialism. In 1919 Li Dazhao wrote that weak nations in Asia must unite themselves to form a "new Greater Asianism" to defeat Japan's "Greater Asianism." Sun Yat-sen gave a lecture on Pan-Asianism in Kobe in 1924 and tried to persuade the Japanese to join a truly pan-Asian movement instead of becoming a watch-dog for Western imperialists. To the 1926 Japanese call for a Pan-Asian conference in Nagasaki, Chinese and Korean newspapers responded with strong protest against Japan's "Twentyone Demands" on China and imperialist oppression of Koreans.

In India, in the early decades of the twentieth century, Bengali intellectuals had lively debates on the civilizations of the East and the West. Rabindranath Tagore (1861–1941) eloquently advocated the revival of Asian culture and the unity of Asia, but was against political nationalism. Jawaharlal Nheru followed Tagore in spirit in promoting the ideal of united Asia giving peace to a troubled world.

Read more: http://science.jrank.org/pages/10584/Pa ... z0PLbogaRL

samuel wrote:Here, we see (1906) that the partition problem was well and alive and whatever happened between this time and 1947 was all for naught for creating a united India.

I quote below from my post of May, 2009 in another context.
The seeds for separation were probably sown in 1906 when Lord Minto, the successor to Curzon, declared to the elite group of Mussalman who called upon him, the so called All India Mohammadan Deputation, that the Muslims of India “were descendants of a conquering and ruling race” forgetting conveniently that but for a minuscule descendants of Turks, Persians, Pathans or Mughals, the vast majority of the Indian Muslims were converts from the Hindu religion. The delegation was led by 'Aga Khan of Bombay' who was the 'Leader of the Indian Muslims'. This deputation made several demands, among which were:

Separate electorate for the Muslims (This really laid the foundation for Pakistan later on)
• The British should not place the "Muslims' national interests at the mercy of an unsympathetic majority"
• Due share for Muslims in the gazetted, subordinate and ministerial services
• Not to place the Muslims as an 'ineffective minority' in the Imperial Legislative Council

Minto replied to these demands saying he 'appreciated the just demands of the Muslims which centered around the fact in any electoral system, Muslims should be treated as a 'community'. He referred to India as 'this continent of multiple nations' and said that any legislation that did not take into account various 'communities' was mischievous and doomed to failure.

Among the delegation that called on Lord Minto was the founder of the Aligarh Muslim University, Sir Syed Ahmed Khan, who said “No Mohammedan can say that the English are not ‘people of the Book’. No Mohammedan can deny this: that God has said that no people of other religions can be friends of Mohammedans except the Christians. . . . Now God has made them rulers over us. Therefore we should cultivate friendship with them, and should adopt that method by which their rule may remain permanent and firm in India, and may not pass into the hands of the Bengalis. This is our true friendship with our Christian rulers . . . for we do not want to become subjects of the Hindus instead of the subjects of the people of the Book." No wonder then that the AMU at Aligarh has played a significant role in creating Pakistan and causing permanent divide between the Hindus and the Muslims.

ramana wrote:I am looking for the quote of Rabindranath Tagoreji.

One of my distant relatives in those days went to Japan to study and used to be called Japan Sastry!
Are we related? My grandfather did that (In 1914 or thereabouts) and he had that surname.

I quote below from my post of May, 2009 in another context.
Can you give a link where we can save this pdf file

also the second link to your post is not working