This applies to Indian commies as well
Apologists for evil
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4FpTvp0 ... annel_page
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4FpTvp0 ... annel_page[/youtube]
Apologists for evil
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4FpTvp0 ... annel_page
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4FpTvp0 ... annel_page[/youtube]
Re: The Red Menace
The title and the contents are psy-ops by Toilet. However, the threat is there.
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news ... 931338.cms
Suspected Maoist rebels blew up a train station and a wedding hall and torched more than a dozen vehicles in eastern India on Tuesday, police said.
About 100 suspected insurgents raided a village in Aurangabad district of Bihar state and blew up a building used for weddings, said state police official Neelmani, who uses one name.
In Orissa, 20 suspected rebels blew up a railroad station {Isn't the terminology "railroad" used in the US? I never heard "railroad" in India} and torched 15 vehicles on a highway in Sundargarh district, said R.K. Bal, a superintendent of police.
Suspected insurgents also abducted three railway workers but freed them hours later unharmed, Bal told The Associated Press.
Any updates on Lalgadh near Kolkata? Have naxals been kicked out or do they still rule Lalgadh?
Do we have any BRite who lives in Lalgadh and can give us direct report?
If not, anyone who lives in Kolkata and knows someone who lives there, and gives us second hand account?
Do we have any BRite who lives in Lalgadh and can give us direct report?
If not, anyone who lives in Kolkata and knows someone who lives there, and gives us second hand account?
long distance source says - they are still very much active. The police are confined to the village. CPI(M) has no political presence left there. It is the anger against the previous activities of the CPI(M) local leadership which is still sustaining the support for the Naxalites.
X Post.
Excerpted, portion devoted to Naxalites from interview of Home Minister P Chidambaram by Al Jazeera’s Hamish Macdonald:
UPDATED ON:
Monday, September 07, 2009
10:22 Mecca time, 07:22 GMT ………………..
India's biggest internal security challenge
Let's stick with internal security in that case. Back in August you addressed chief ministers from all of the states. You stated that there are three challenges really that India is facing at the moment. Firstly terrorism, secondly insurgency in the north-east states and thirdly left-wing extremism or Naxalism. In the lead up to the Commonwealth Games, due to be held here next year, how big a factor is the concern about the Maoist insurgents posing a threat to the staging of the games?
None. The Commonwealth Games will be held in Delhi. And full and fool-proof security will be provided … Naxalites will not and cannot do anything to disrupt the games.
You quoted though in that speech the prime minster who said on a number of occasions that the single biggest internal security challenge to India is the Naxalites?
… That's true.
Is it bigger than the threat from home-grown [groups] or individuals here that are in some way supported by Pakistan?
See, the Naxalites operate largely around seven states. That's where they have influence. So that's a problem that has to be dealt with in those states. Where as terrorism is more capable of spreading anywhere in India. If you have home-grown terrorists, supported by Pakistan, they can theoretically strike in any part of India. So I think the two are not comparable, that's why I said the response to each of these threats, while they will have some commonalities, … the response will be totally different.
How serious are you though about eradicating the problem caused by the Naxalites? There are 230,000-plus police posts that are vacant in India. I mean if you’re seriously going to tackle this issue, you need to have enough police on the streets?
You are saying what I told the chief ministers. I recognise that we underestimated over the last five to 10 years the menace of Naxalism. In this period, they have grown, they have recruited, and they have acquired more arms and weapons. Therefore, the states now are in overdrive to fill the vacancies. As we speak, I know that they are recruiting, training about 85,000 people. There is still a gap and I have told them that this should be completed by the March 31, 2010. I hope they will heed that advice. I know that we have to do a bit of catching up but that's precisely what I have told them both in January 2009 in the first conference and August 2009 in the second conference. We are very serious.
You said that "the states have allowed themselves to bend before insurgent groups". Do you think the states are failing?
That is in context of the North-East state insurgencies. I said some states have allowed themselves to bend before the insurgent groups which indulge in rampant extortion. That is a very different problem.
On both of these fronts do you think the states are failing you? I mean you've got a pretty clear direction as to how this should be dealt with?
The seven states affected by Naxalism are on board. They are on the same page as the central government. We have jointly resolved that we will jointly, collectively fight the Naxalites.
Well do you think that this issue has a long time left to run? How long is it going to take India to deal with Maoists?
Oh, it will take some time. They have entrenched themselves in certain parts of India. It will take some time. But we will prevail.
It's a problem that seems to have a constant presence in Indian life?
It is. In fact, it is I who first said that we have underestimated the problem. It is the prime minister who first said that it is the most serious threat to internal security in terms of its spread and intensity. But we will tackle this menace and we will overcome the challenge.
How much territory do the Naxalites actually control?
There are pockets in seven states. In Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand it is very large number of districts. But in Orissa, Bihar, Maharashtra, the numbers are smaller. It's not the whole states. It is many districts in the states.
Al Jazeera
The most dangerous thing of the naxalite movement is that some intellectuals(self styled) too parrot their cause. I have seen that it influences lot of well meaning people who think that these are innocent modern day robin hoods. Also some telugu cinema has contributed to this such as Yarra sanyam(Red Army) or something. In the Kannada media too , in a popular TV serial few years back , there was a naxalite angle in the story. The leading lady playing a role of an officer in the Govt has her former flame as a Naxalite. The makers of this serial used to hold "discussions" at public places and invite the general public(one way to boost TRP). One of the ladies of the cast said in the public discussion after speaking something sympathetic about the naxal movement said that, the director, producer so and so had lot of causes to fight in their youth such as fight against emergency , now we have this movement (naxal)!!! Meaning the Naxals are ideals and equating it with emergency struggle.
The whole Naxal angle was dropped when 7 or more policemen were killed in their sleep by Naxals somewhere near dakshin kannada district and there was considerable public anger against naxals.
The director gave a lame excuse as not supporting violence, equality blah blah.
The whole Naxal angle was dropped when 7 or more policemen were killed in their sleep by Naxals somewhere near dakshin kannada district and there was considerable public anger against naxals.
The director gave a lame excuse as not supporting violence, equality blah blah.
In Kerala too the last remenants of such "intellectuals"rkirankr wrote:The most dangerous thing of the naxalite movement is that some intellectuals(self styled) too parrot their cause.

Naxals are killing civilians and villagers in the name of informers now - that cannot be good for their ground support at all.
Didn't know where else to post this, but here's an article i came across in one of the mock CAT test papers i solved today. Found it to be quite a good read. Author unknown.
Terrorism is not mass or collective violence but rather the direct activity of small groups. Terrorism is a conspiratorial style of violence calculated to alter the attitudes and behavior of multiple audiences. However authentically popular these groups may be, and even if supported by a large organization or political party, the number of active militants who engage in terrorism is small. These few may be isolated from the broader society; on the other hand, they may act as an extremist offshoot of a larger social movement, profiting from the patronage of a significant segment of the population.
Moreover, governments and their agents can practice terrorism, whether to suppress domestic dissent or to further international purposes. Such use is usually carefully concealed in order to avoid public attribution of responsibility. There is nothing automatic about the choice of terrorism. Like any political decision, the decision to use terrorism is influenced by psychological considerations and internal bargaining, as well as by reasoned or strategic reactions to opportunities and constraints, perceived in light of the organization's goals.
Both causes and consequences of terrorism can only be understood in terms of interactions among political actors, primarily governments and oppositions, at specific points in history. The impact of terrorism is often lost in a tide of sensational exaggerations. Furthermore, terrorism shapes interactions among political actors over long periods of time through a dynamic process in which violence alters the conditions under which it initially occurs.
Many consequences are unintended, but it is rare that terrorism (or, more frequently, the government's reaction to terrorism) does not alter political institutions, values, and behaviour as well as the functioning of society. In modern societies, political conceptions are communicated and even originated by the news media, an institution that serves not only as a channel for transmitting information about terrorism but also as a magnifying glass.
It simplifies the problem of terrorism by focusing the attention of the public on the newsworthy aspects of the phenomenon, which tend to be its extraordinary or shocking characteristics, rather than on any banal or mundane qualities it may possess. Thus, terrorism is described as dramatic, outrageous and objectionable. At the same time, many oppositions that use terrorism are fully aware of the opportunities for publicity inherent in this environment and exploit their own newsworthiness with varying degrees of deftness.
Since "terrorism" is a political label, it is an organizing concept that both describes the phenomenon as it exists and offers a moral judgement. A label is a useful shorthand, combining descriptive, evocative, and symbolic elements but its meanings are inherently flexible and ambiguous. They may even be contradictory. Political language affects the perceptions of audiences and their expectations about how the problem thus evoked will be treated. That is, by defining and identifying a problem, labels may also indicate preferred solutions. Politics involves competition to define terms, as actors attempt to impose their own interpretations of history.
In contemporary politics, calling adversaries "terrorists" is a way of depicting them as fanatic and irrational so as to foreclose the possibility of compromise, draw attention to the real or imagined threat to security, and promote solidarity among the threatened. An underground organization using terrorism probably defines terrorism as warfare in order to acquire political recognition and status, which in turn can confer legitimacy, which is exactly what governments resist. To be engaged in warfare is a justification for terrorism as well as a claim to powerful status. The smaller and the more extreme the group becomes, it seems, the more likely it is to call itself an "army" such as the Red Army Faction, the Japanese Red Army, or the Red Brigades; but one would not want to overlook the Irish Republican Army, which uses the term to remind us of its heritage.
Most underground groups borrow the symbols and trappings of military discipline and procedure. Yet acts of terrorism do not typically resemble act of warfare. "Hard" or well-defended targets of military or defensive value of the enemy are rarely the targets of terrorism; to the contrary, terrorists seem to prefer noncombatants. [However] even the best scholarly intentions may not suffice to distinguish terrorism from protest, guerrilla warfare, urban guerrilla warfare, subversion, criminal violence, paramilitarism, communal violence, or banditry. One reason for the power of terrorism as a political label, and hence for its controversy, is not only its usefulness but also its symbolic appeal.
Terrorism has acquired a political value that can outlast short-term strategic failures. It persists despite negative outcomes. Terrorism projects images, communicates messages, and creates myths that transcend historical circumstances and motivate future generations. It may be true that audiences react with both admiration for its daring and revulsion at its cruelty. It is easy for terrorism to become the cutting edge of a movement and to define an ideology. Undeniably it possesses an aura of perversely tragic glamour.
India is 'losing Maoist battle'
"I have consistently held that in many ways, left-wing extremism poses perhaps the gravest internal security threat our country faces," Mr Singh told a conference of Indian police chiefs in the capital, Delhi.
"We have discussed this in the last five years and I would like to state frankly that we have not achieved as much success as we would have liked in containing this menace."
Mr Singh said a more sensitive approach was necessary in dealing with the Maoists.
"Dealing with left-wing extremism requires a nuanced strategy - a holistic approach. It cannot be treated simply as a law and order problem."
What MMS is saying is reminiscent of Shivraj Patil, whose calls for "sensitivity" basically amounted to abdication.pgbhat wrote:India is 'losing Maoist battle'"I have consistently held that in many ways, left-wing extremism poses perhaps the gravest internal security threat our country faces," Mr Singh told a conference of Indian police chiefs in the capital, Delhi.
"We have discussed this in the last five years and I would like to state frankly that we have not achieved as much success as we would have liked in containing this menace."Mr Singh said a more sensitive approach was necessary in dealing with the Maoists.
"Dealing with left-wing extremism requires a nuanced strategy - a holistic approach. It cannot be treated simply as a law and order problem."
Maoists have very powerful political backing - recall how a big group of Maoists was let off in AP in 2004 after being surrounded by police. Can only wait and see if UPA-II is any less bad than UPA-I.
Operation Red Hunt by Chattisgarh
A combined team of the elite anti-Naxal force, the Commando Battalion for Resolute Action (COBRA) and the Chhattisgarh police killed around 30 Maoist rebels on Friday in Dantewada district, about 450 km south of state capital Raipur. On Thursday, the force, comprising around 650 policemen, found and destroyed an arms manufacturing base of the Maoists as part of its Operation Red Hunt in Palachalma forests near the state’s border with Andhra Pradesh. On its way back on Friday, the team found and attacked another Maoist base. Two helicopters were used in the four-hour-long encounter.
How is it that some mediafolk are reporting the same as Op Green Hunt?!
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_24 ... nt_1291447
http://www.ndtv.com/news/india/9_naxals ... ounter.php
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1090919/j ... 515486.jsp
http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_24 ... nt_1291447
http://www.ndtv.com/news/india/9_naxals ... ounter.php
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1090919/j ... 515486.jsp
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Six-elite ... 55888.aspx
6 of our best have died but the Mao wannabees have been dealt a blow several times bigger.
I hope we will learn our lessons from this and hit them back even harder until such time that there are no blood thristy commies left.
6 of our best have died but the Mao wannabees have been dealt a blow several times bigger.
I hope we will learn our lessons from this and hit them back even harder until such time that there are no blood thristy commies left.
May our brave RIP.VijayKumarSinha wrote:http://www.hindustantimes.com/Six-elite ... 55888.aspx
Hopefully the police've caught some of the Maorderers alive and will have many a merry chorus singing sessions with 'em mighty soon. Useful info will reflect in further successes down the line in the near future.
Jai MaoHo
CoBRA men trap Maoists in their den
The death of six commandos in an offensive against Naxalites in Chhattisgarh should not be seen as a reverse.
The Centre feels security forces for the first time stormed the Maoist stronghold, setting the stage for a bigger, bolder strike.
At least 24-30 Naxalites were killed in the offensive in the dense jungles of Dantewada in Chhattisgarh, an official in the ministry of home affairs (MHA) said.
"Retreating extremists took away most of the bodies. Security forces found nine bodies. We have the Naxalites on the backfoot now... they are feeling the pressure," the official said.
{Yup, and unlike in UPA-I there's no Prakassh Karat who can save their hides and backsides this time.}
Six commandos of CoBRA or Commando Battalion for Resolute Action, an elite anti- Naxalite force, died battling Maoists, as part of Operation Green Hunt that began on Friday and continued on Saturday.
The Centre, which has lost a record 260 securitymen to Naxalites this year, feels the tables are finally turning.
{OMG. Those numbers are stunning. WHoever is pulling media strings to get the PRC threat much attention, kindly focus on this horrific internal threat too.}
For the first time, MHA officials say, security personnel in large numbers - almost 600 men - could enter the Naxal stronghold on the border of Chhattisgarh, Orissa and Andhra Pradesh to launch a strike and bust a factory that produced guns for the Maoists.
{The turds have guns, ammo, advanced comm devices, moles high up in gubmint, a friendly media section.... all in the middle of nowhere in a landlocked underdeveloped zone. If one doesn't smell foreign involvement, then one's nose is useless only}
"This lays the foundation for a bigger offensive to follow. Naxalites are for the first time worried about their losses and were forced to retreat," said Chhattisgarh DGP Vishwaranjan.
{Nice. Play near their goal rather than play defense perennially at ours.}
Naxalites control nearly 40,000 sq km of countryside - mainly in Dantewada - on the Chhattisgarh-Orissa-Andhra Pradesh border, Union Home Secretary G.K. Pillai recently told a parliamentary panel.
The MHA, planning a big offensive in November, is moving five BSF battalions and two ITBP battalions to Chhattisgarh next month to bolster the strength of 14 CRPF battalions stationed there for anti- Naxalite operations.
"Eighteen more CoBRA teams will join the battle. Crucially, BSF intelligence units have also set up their base in Chhattisgarh. We expect them to provide pinpoint intelligence on Naxalite hideouts," a top MHA official said.
{whoa! BSF intell teams in Dantewada? Hmmmm. Tell me now phoren mischief ain't afoot.}
Whether to enlist the Rashtriya Rifles in the battle is still being debated. The Indian Air Force has assured to provide four-six choppers for ferrying paramilitary forces.
"Twelve helipads are being constructed in Chhattisgarh. The civil aviation ministry has also been asked to make Raipur airport operational at night to allow 24X7 operations," the official said.
In all, 22 paramilitary battalions are being pushed into Naxal-affected states next month to supplement the existing 40 battalions there. "That means there will be almost 75,000 securitymen deployed for taking on Naxalites in November. The forces will move in after the Maharashtra polls are over," the official said.
{No fan of MMS but he stated a few months back that the maopests are our biggest internal threat and sure enough in a few months the pieces on the chessboard have moved from defense to offense. I hope the gubmint does not let up. As for phoren awardee NGOs wailing about the inhuman rights of the maopests, less said the better}
The initial strike at the arms factory between Kistaram and Chintagufa villages by a joint team of CoBRA and the Chhattisgarh Police on Friday morning was successful and left 24 Naxalites dead.
But CoBRA suffered casualties that evening as some of their wireless messages being radioed to Jagdalpur base were apparently intercepted by Naxalites, who launched a guerrilla attack.
{OMG. Thats fairly sopissticated capability, IMHO. Not that I now a lot about these things}
Two CoBRA assistant commandants, S. Manoranjan Singh and Rakesh Chaurasia, were killed along with sub-inspector Sushil Kumar and constables Lalit Kumar, Manohar Lal and Uday Kumar.
Silver-spoon Maoist held
A Maoist politburo member, who studied in Doon School and Elphinstone College before he went underground with his wife, has been arrested in Delhi, sources said.
Khobad Ghandy, the 58-year-old member of the CPI (Maoist) politburo, was apparently arrested last night but police did not make any official announcement through the day. The politburo has 13 members, which puts Ghandy among the top 13 Maoist leaders in the country.
Aaah. How chweet.Gerard wrote:Silver-spoon Maoist heldA Maoist politburo member, who studied in Doon School and Elphinstone College before he went underground with his wife, has been arrested in Delhi, sources said.
Khobad Ghandy, the 58-year-old member of the CPI (Maoist) politburo, was apparently arrested last night but police did not make any official announcement through the day. The politburo has 13 members, which puts Ghandy among the top 13 Maoist leaders in the country.

When all is done, have a show trial a la kasab.
These arsoles should get as much mercy as they showed our poor tribal citizens in their homes.
from the article ...Gerard wrote:Silver-spoon Maoist held
So ... the ideology has not changed... only the methodology ....Ghandy’s reported arrest swings the spotlight back to the early seventies when a generation of the brightest used to be drawn to extremist ideologies.
The couple chose not to have any children because of the risks associated with their lives, the friend added. “He is the only one in our circle to have joined the Naxalites. Most others are now in the corporate sector or, of late, with NGOs,” the friend said.

Also, the current action against the Maoists reinforces my strong belief that when it comes to Internal Security, the Indian state has tremendous capability. Its the political will that is usually lacking. One anecdote that comes to mind is what a friend of mine whose dad used to be IG in UP police told me. We were having a friendly argument about the (in)efficiency of the UP police in tackling the Gorakhpur mafia in the mid 90s and he told me that not to blame only the cops. As per him, the cops had up-to-date knowledge of every activity which these gangs were upto but it was the Pols who would make the decision on who to arrest or let go.
Maoists have made "progress" in the sense that they have become so strong that regular policemen cant defeat them and elite police forces, that too indirectly aided by Military personnel had to be called. And policemen had to use helicopters and other hi tech weapons to deal with them. And they managed to kill 6-8 elite force policemen too. The direct-indirect costs of an elite policeman runs into tens of lakhs of rupees. While naxals get and train their men for pittance.
So when Maoists get next shipment of anti-helicopter missiles (like Stinger) from Christianists/CIA and China, they will become more lethal force. IMO, this is a bad sign.
IMO, it is time we arm commons to an extent that they can kill Naxals. This strategy has plus points over using helicopters and elite police forces. Because stingers etc missiles will not help Maoists against armed citizenry. And it will be cheaper to give weapons to all commons than train, lose, compensate etc elite policemen.
=======
So when Maoists get next shipment of anti-helicopter missiles (like Stinger) from Christianists/CIA and China, they will become more lethal force. IMO, this is a bad sign.
IMO, it is time we arm commons to an extent that they can kill Naxals. This strategy has plus points over using helicopters and elite police forces. Because stingers etc missiles will not help Maoists against armed citizenry. And it will be cheaper to give weapons to all commons than train, lose, compensate etc elite policemen.
=======
Yes, Ministers and MLAs do block police operations because criminals give them money. But IPS is equally gets the blame. IPS have cultivated a habit of blaming everything on Ministers, MPs, MLAs etc but in a large number of cases, they also get huge bribes for protecting criminals.g.kacha wrote:... We were having a friendly argument about the (in)efficiency of the UP police in tackling the Gorakhpur mafia in the mid 90s and he told me that not to blame only the cops. As per him, the cops had up-to-date knowledge of every activity which these gangs were upto but it was the Pols who would make the decision on who to arrest or let go.
Last edited by Rahul Mehta on 22 Sep 2009 07:11, edited 1 time in total.
Wasn`t that what Salwa Judum was all about ?Rahul Mehta wrote:Maoists have made "progress" in the sense that they have become so strong that regular policemen cant defeat them and elite police forces, that too indirectly aided by Military personnel had to be called. And policemen had to use helicopters and other hi tech weapons to deal with them. And they managed to kill 6-8 elite force policemen too. The direct-indirect costs of an elite policeman runs into tens of lakhs of rupees. While naxals get and train their men for pittance.
Fierce Exchange of gun-fire...will election commission take note? Interesting to see rapist goons and eye-gougers killing each other though..the competition for who will bring the carcass of Indian economy to their paymasters and collect commission hots up...
http://www.hindu.com/2009/09/22/stories ... 610100.htm
I support SJ, except one glaring flaw, which was deliberate IMO. SJ involved arming only those who supported BJP and not all. So these SJ people killed a few Naxals but also unleashed a terror, rape and loot on other unarmed commons. This will backfire and only add manpower to Naxals. So my suggestion is to arm EVERY citizen so that no small group can then terrorize the large group. Putting it other way, make every citizen part of SJ. Make SJ all-inclusive. Only when that happens, naxals will either get killed or melt away. The police action MUST go on and become more hi-tech. But police action alone without arming citizens will not help much. When Maoists get more weapons from Missionaries, CIA, ISI and China, more policemen will die. And when Maoist get stinger type rockets, helicopters will become useless. What will happen then? The ground policemen without helicopters will get killed en-masse. Even if the kill 50 naxals for each policeman who dies, Naxals will have upper hand. So we need a stinger-proof strategy for long run and all-inclusive SJ is what I support.Rahul Mehta : Maoists have made "progress" in the sense that they have become so strong that regular policemen cant defeat them and elite police forces, that too indirectly aided by Military personnel had to be called. And policemen had to use helicopters and other hi tech weapons to deal with them. And they managed to kill 6-8 elite force policemen too. The direct-indirect costs of an elite policeman runs into tens of lakhs of rupees. While naxals get and train their men for pittance. So when Maoists get next shipment of anti-helicopter missiles (like Stinger) from Christianists/CIA and China, they will become more lethal force. IMO, this is a bad sign.
g.kancha: Wasn`t that what Salwa Judum was all about ?
Rahul Mehta wrote:I support SJ, except one glaring flaw, which was deliberate IMO. SJ involved arming only those who supported BJP and not all

Good catch Avinash. If anything grassroots level political workers of all mainstream parties were facing deadly maopest threat and were united in conceiving, launching and supporting Salwa Judum.
Would be nice if Sri Rahul Mehta can acknowledge that even he can fall victim to ignorance.
Are you feeling very optimistic today vs? Per chance because of upcoming holsHari Seldon wrote: Would be nice if Sri Rahul Mehta can acknowledge that even he can fall victim to ignorance.

In 99% cases this is true. The police how much ever we caricature or ridicule them, they do have the capabilities of getting grass-root level knowledge. I don't think there are cases where the SHO is absolutely clue-less of what is happening in his jurisdiction. At times the police keep quiet because i) they have been paid off ii)their bosses the politicians have been paid off.g.kacha wrote:As per him, the cops had up-to-date knowledge of every activity which these gangs were upto but it was the Pols who would make the decision on who to arrest or let go.
Naxalism in Kerala was crushed ruthlessly by the perfect coordination between the politicians and the police. A CPI led ministry with a Chief Minister who could be bye-passed (C.Achutha Menon), a go-getter Home Minister (K. Karunakaran) and an efficient CB CID police officer (Jayaram Padikkal IPS) and his team of hand-picked officers. Things were so bad in Kerala, that the naxalites even managed to chop the head of the uncle of the state IGP V.N Rajan

^ From the link
Is this person an idiot. Ghandy is one of the chiefs of a group which aims to overthrow democracy and bring in his dictatorship. This person who is waging war against the nation is caught and this lawyer will defend this criminal "if i feel he is being unnecessarily targeted". I hope some of the maoist thugs land up at bhushan's doorsteps and kill and eat his family members like they did in orissa. It would clear his doubts about maoists.Kobad Ghandy, 63, the highest-ranking Maoist to be captured so far, had come to Delhi for medical treatment.
...Ghandy was particular about the lawyer he wanted to defend him — legal activist Prashant Bhushan. “Somebody did contact me. But I don’t know much about the case,” Bhushan told HT. “If I feel he’s being unnecessarily targeted, I’ll help him.”
Good strategy, chops all the heads of hydra at once.Security sources revealed that Ghandy’s capture came following a change of strategy, in which they decided to target the top leaders of the Maoist movement and track them down. They have specially focused on members of the Maoists’ highest decision making body, its Politburo, comprising — according to police estimates — between 11 and 14 people.
Four of them, including Ghandy, have been captured so far.
His shq went to her heavenly reward some time ago.Hari Seldon wrote: quote="Gerard" Silver-spoon Maoist heldA Maoist politburo member, who studied in Doon School and Elphinstone College before he went underground with his wife, has been arrested in Delhi, sources said.
Aaah. How chweet.Make the turd sing and break-dance in the pulis lockup onlee.... seize all named and benami property, analyze all fone records, investigate every hi-hello-bathroom break the turd and his shq took in the last 58 yrs, lean on everybody that did business with these turds, display the full glory of bloody maopest atrocity to their entire socialite circle
get out every detail.
When all is done, have a show trial a la kasab.
These arsoles should get as much mercy as they showed our poor tribal citizens in their homes.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/cinema-ne ... 56970.aspx
The funny thing is Ghandy is the same last name the Feroz Ghandys had before it became Feroz Gandhi. The rediff report also says Kobad Ghandy was a schoolmate of Sanjay Gandhi at Doon. Bugger got indoctrinated in UK, wonderful if we could dig this character further.
Stan_Savljevic wrote:The funny thing is Ghandy is the same last name the Feroz Ghandys had before it became Feroz Gandhi. The rediff report also says Kobad Ghandy was a schoolmate of Sanjay Gandhi at Doon. Bugger got indoctrinated in UK, wonderful if we could dig this character further.
Funny how most "ghandy's" of any description and spelling seem to have damaged India the most!
Orchestrated sympathy wave for Ghandy: Kobad Ghandy was an inspiration, say friends - http://www.mid-day.com/news/2009/sep/24 ... Ghandy.htm
So many of the "beautiful people" of our media turn out to be linked with this Ghandy fellow. Interesting that he was radicalized in UKstan.
I think the government will have to let him go, like that Binayak Sen dude. Too many powerful foreign forces supporting him. Government has to dance to their tune since all their money is in Swiss bank accounts, and it can be exposed or confiscated by the West at any time.
So many of the "beautiful people" of our media turn out to be linked with this Ghandy fellow. Interesting that he was radicalized in UKstan.
I think the government will have to let him go, like that Binayak Sen dude. Too many powerful foreign forces supporting him. Government has to dance to their tune since all their money is in Swiss bank accounts, and it can be exposed or confiscated by the West at any time.
Last edited by Pranav on 24 Sep 2009 09:06, edited 1 time in total.
Looks like he is an informer for the UK and the west for so many decadesPranav wrote:Orchestrated sympathy wave for Ghandy: Kobad Ghandy was an inspiration, say friends - http://www.mid-day.com/news/2009/sep/24 ... Ghandy.htm
Interesting that this Ghandy fellow was radicalized in UKstan.
I think the government will have to let him go, like that Binayak Sen dude. Too many powerful foreign forces supporting him. Government has to dance to their tune since all their money is in Swiss bank accounts, and can be exposed or confiscated by the West at any time.
Try googling Jyoti Punwani, who is a leftist, anti-"communal" journalist and was a friend of Ghandy's wife. Here is a sample:
There are lots of connections that will come crawling out of the woodwork with a little digging.Driven to Despair http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/arti ... 218494.cms
These double standards are now part of being a Muslim in India's "vibrant" democracy. We should be thankful hundreds of Kafeel Ahmeds haven't produced a swadeshi version of jehad.
We have all kinds of Gandhis, sacrifice Gandhi, fake-rifice Gandhi, bumbling oaf Gandhi, Arrogant go-getter Gandhi, Hindutva defender Gandhi, tree and animal hugger Gandhi and now Comrade Gandhi..
It seems our comrade Gandhi had written a strategy document of how to attract middle classes to the naxal movement. I have a tip for him. Every now and then, Deccan Herald, ToI, IE, Hindu etc., publish news of Lokayukta raids on government servants amassing huge properties. Even today there is one in DH of a village accountant having Rs. 1.65 crore of property all amassed through bribes and many others.
Since these crooks rarely get prosecuted and manage to bribe their way out 99.99% of the time, our comrades should pay them a visit and give them 14 days to surrender all wealth to govt if not suffer the same fate that poor CRPF policemen, railway passengers, villagers and others suffer at their hands.
If they do that, they will have hundreds of middle class recruits to their cause...

It seems our comrade Gandhi had written a strategy document of how to attract middle classes to the naxal movement. I have a tip for him. Every now and then, Deccan Herald, ToI, IE, Hindu etc., publish news of Lokayukta raids on government servants amassing huge properties. Even today there is one in DH of a village accountant having Rs. 1.65 crore of property all amassed through bribes and many others.
Since these crooks rarely get prosecuted and manage to bribe their way out 99.99% of the time, our comrades should pay them a visit and give them 14 days to surrender all wealth to govt if not suffer the same fate that poor CRPF policemen, railway passengers, villagers and others suffer at their hands.
If they do that, they will have hundreds of middle class recruits to their cause...
Holes in Maoist arrest date claim
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1090924/j ... 535811.jsp
Centre for new war on Maoists
...the Manmohan Singh government is considering a major escalation of its war against Maoist insurgents across the country.
..official sources said the Home Ministry’s proposal for the use of special forces, including air power, was being considered
The sources criticised what they said was the media’s unwillingness to focus on the violence perpetrated by the Maoists. “Despite the fact that naxalites have been carrying out the worst atrocities, there is very little public outcry. When Kopad Ghandy is arrested, we see intellectuals are protecting him. But when tribals are killed by the Maoists, the intellectuals and NGOs [are silent.]”
Kobad Ghandy: The gentle revolutionary

"Kobad is extremely determined, tremendously self-disciplined, and a person with simple habits and lifestyle," says Sunil Shanbag, the well-known theatre personality and Ghandy's brother-in-law.
Like him Anuradha too came from a remarkable background. Her parents Ganesh and Kumud Shanbag owned coffee plantations in Coorg. Her father ran away from a life of luxury to join Subhas Chandra Bose's Indian National Army during the freedom struggle.
Anuradha and Kobad decided to not have children so they could devote their life full-time to the cause. His family members say he is gentle and affectionate, and doesn't discuss his revolutionairy work with them.
His arrest is not totally unexpected, and always lurked in the background. "His arrest is a blow, but not unexpected. It was part of our mindspace," says a family member.
Someone who sympathises with him is livid that a television news channel compared him on Tuesday night to Lashkar-e-Tayiba [ Images ] founder Mohammad Sayeed.
"It is ridiculous," this individual said, "TV is helping whitewash the State's violence. There is no comparison between the two. The Maoist movement is against State violence. TV anchors, who do not believe in anything but provocative news, are defending the State's unconstitutional acts. Are they not supporting violence themselves?"
Across India Kobad Ghandy's many supporters and friends are watching the situation closely in the hope that he will not end up the next Binayak Sen. Will he?

A Khoja-Parsi by birth, Kobad Ghandy completed his schooling in India's elite Doon school and St Xavier's College in Bombay. He went to London to pursue studies in chartered accountancy.
His friend PA Sebastian told the BBC that it was in England that Mr Ghandy first became involved in political activities. After returning to Bombay, he was active during Mrs Gandhi's emergency (from 1975-1977), when democracy was suspended.
While his jhola (cotton shoulder bag), his self-discipline and his commitment come up often in his friends' memories, they also mention how he loved mixing with people from all walks of life.
"Kobad and Anuradha gave up their lives to work with the poor but never said anything about it. He was always enthusiastic and he liked to mix with people. He could interact with people from every class and make friends and joke about many things. He is the most unlikely revolutionary, he liked to have fun - he was an ideologue but not an intellectual," Ms Punwani reminisces.
A police official who has investigated several cases in areas of Maharashtra state where Maoist rebels are active said that Mr Ghandy was also known by the names Kamal and Azad.
"He is a strong ideologue. He has organised demonstrations and written articles and other publicity material," he said.
"He is a senior in their ranks. Cases are registered against him in Nagpur and Chandrapur. However, charges against him are not of a serious nature," he said.
Mr Ghandy has been remanded in custody and it is not clear if he will be transferred out of Delhi.