Pokhran II not fully successful: Scientist - Part-2

Re: Pokhran II not fully successful: Scientist - Part-2

>>>Let them compute, recompute, 10000 CPU hours, whatever. What do we care about computations, sigmaX values, confidence levels, etc?

Do you think so? If that was the case, the megaton lobby would have still said:

"HA HA HA! Indian TN bum is a fijjle! nobody read the signal from the Indian Megaton Bum!! and RC liar claims success!!! HA HA HA!!! :rotfl: "

There is no escape - as the old saying goes, there are two opinions, even when you beat your mother!

ramana wrote:We will find out when Sikka delivers his talk.
I am told Chidambaram's disciples have developed cold feet and this will not happen now, not ever.

After all the curve fitting job, the curves starting to be weighed down, its a losign battle to sustain the fiction of invisible yield on the emperor's birthday suite.

Arun_S wrote: It cant be masked as 30 kT period !!
Yes but Seismologists may be tempted to admit that there are error margins is all seismological estimates. If they say 50 to 150 kt we will have to test 1 megaton so that they can say 200 kt to 1 megaton.
Shiv ji, clever to switch context. So let me set you back by posting the full context of that reply to Dileep.
Arun_S wrote:
Dileep wrote:I agree on the part that the yield verification by seismic data should be done by an unrelated organization.

If we do a 150kt phataka, the following would happen:

1. NPA will claim it is only 30KT, hence fizzle.
2. Hawks will claim it is FBF, too heavy to put on the tip of the missile etc, hence no deterrent
3. SuperHawks will :(( demanding 1MT bum onlee.

And the political leadership will still be patting their own musharraff, seeing if the backbone is being grown yet.

Point 1 is not correct.

Given what we have heard from "Don't test, India doesn't need H bomb, lobby" on BARC competence in characterizing the Pokhran range with the stimulus response characterization prior to 1998 to determine exactly how much TN fizzle is need to protect the Khetolai village from any damages more than just simple cracks; BARC will next time do the 150 kT at the optimal burial depth (given they are super competent in this SHOCK 3D etc etc, and the POK-II experience under its belt), the crater from 150kT will be of a size that no 30kT test out of thousands done by N5, match. It will only match those test that produced 150kT or more. There is no two way about in competently showing a test that yields 150 kT. It cant be masked as 30 kT period !! (unless of course SHOCK 3D decides to give its progenitor a shock and they over-bury the 150 kT into a 900 m deep shaft, or they continue to walk beaten tradition of Pok-II TN fizzle ;) )
As I said before credibility required is for Indian stake holders (Military, SFC, Start policy makers); who cares about NPA?
Dileep postulating NPA reaction, and I am onlee stressing the high competence of BARC in exactly knowing the yield of the "test" (sic) device, and using the hazaar complex SHOCK-3D on the stimulus -response calibrated (per N^3) test field somewhere in Indian, & placing at the right depth . all from first priciple and using FEA tools and computer code that runs for 4000 hrs to give credibelity to simulated cavity and crater formation). Generating largest possible crater while still containing the radiation. SHOCK-3D can do that right? The crater size and volume sets direct measure of MINIMUM yield.

Far field siesmic or other sensors in my home can go to hell. There is a saying in my rustic 'deyhaat':
  • Haath Kangan Tou Arsee Kya?

When you have "kangan" (ornament) in wrist that can be seen by naked eye (I.e. directly self evident), what is the need for a mirror to see it (indirect shake and bake evidence)?

Do you think so? If that was the case, the megaton lobby would have still said:
Perhaps you did not read my entire post.

salience of hydronuclear technology for India, given the reports that China and Russia were conducting hydronuclear tests to corroborate computer findings and/or simulations; making public a secret understanding of 1999 of the permanent members of the UN Security Council, which a US diplomat alluded to during a congressional hearing;
Qs
1) What hydronuclear tests?
2) What secret understanding among P5

shiv, Under extreme pressure(eg implosion) solid metals behave like liquid. This is to see how they can compress the metal to reduce its cross section. This is the conventional side of the technology.

Is "metallic hydrogen" a byproduct of this line of research? Just lower temperature, but very high pressures? If you hit metallic hydrogen with a suitable gamma ray burst, will it start fusion I wonder.

shiv wrote: 1) What hydronuclear tests?
Congressional Commission on the Strategic Posture of the United States, 2009
http://www.usip.org/files/America%27s_S ... uth_Ed.pdf
The Case Made by Opponents of CTBT Ratification

Third, the treaty remarkably does not define a nuclear test. In practice
this allows different interpretations of its prohibitions and asymmetrical
restrictions. The strict U.S. interpretation precludes tests that produce
nuclear yield. However, other countries with different interpretations
could conduct tests with hundreds of tons of nuclear yield—allowing
them to develop or advance nuclear capabilities with low-yield, enhanced
radiation, and electro-magnetic-pulse. Apparently Russia and possibly
China are conducting low yield tests.
This is quite serious because Rus-
sian and Chinese doctrine highlights tactical nuclear war fighting. With
no agreed definition, U.S. relative understanding of these capabilities
would fall further behind over time and undermine our capability to
deter tactical threats against allies.

Fourth, the CTBT’s problems cannot be fixed by an agreement that
all parties follow a zero-yield prohibition because it would be wholly
unverifiable. Countries could still undertake significant undetected test-
ing. The National Academy of Sciences concluded that underground
nuclear explosions with yields up to 1 or 2 kilotons may be hidden.
Consequently, even a “zero-yield” CTBT could not prevent countries
from testing to develop new nuclear war fighting capabilities or improve
existing capabilities.
Apparently that zero yield hydronuclear tests would not be considered nuclear tests.

As part of searching for information I came across Ashley Tellis' book (on Google books) on Emerging Indian nuclear posture ( I do not possess this book) - or some such name. Pages 486 to 490 that I sampled had some speculation that started from the mount of fissile material that India was guesstimated to have and an extrapolation from that to predict the number of "devices" India had, or would have.

The guesstimates were divided up into various numbers based on guesses of what the actual designs might be.

The first hurdle was that India uses Pu and the exact amount of Pu needed for a fission bomb is still apparently classified - but guesses range from 8 kg (for low tech nations), to 5 kg per bomb for more sophisticated nations to 3 kg for advanced tech nations. India has been classified as low tech nation.

But further a complication arises when you consider boosted fission - because boosting "saves" Plutonium and you get more bombs. The number of bombs estimate gets further muddled by guesswork on whether there are thermonuclear warheads or not.

Let me ask a question in the form of a puzzle:

If you were a weapon designer and you did not have the permission to test your designs (for political reasons), what would you do to make maximum use of your fissile material assuming you had some confidence in building a fission bomb and had access to all the raw material for any type of bomb?

Gerard wrote:
Apparently that zero yield hydronuclear tests would not be considered nuclear tests.
The map linked below show the hydroacoustic monitoring stations linked to teh CTBT
http://www.seismo.ethz.ch/bsv/ctbto/ims/hydro.html

This means that these stations are programmed to ignore hydoracoustic signals coming from tests from some directions of the globe while they will come down like a ton of bricks on nations that produce signals in other parts of the globe.

Sounds like the sort of thing that will be cooked up by a bunch of cheats.

shiv wrote: ...
The map linked below show the hydroacoustic monitoring stations linked to teh CTBT
http://www.seismo.ethz.ch/bsv/ctbto/ims/hydro.html

This means that these stations are programmed to ignore hydoracoustic signals coming from tests from some directions of the globe while they will come down like a ton of bricks on nations that produce signals in other parts of the globe.
Shiv ji, these hydroacoustic stations would detect fully-critical nuclear explosions in the sea or ocean - like the French did at Mururoa

This is different from hydronuclear tests which are conducted in a lab so that one can be absolutely sure that the chain reaction is quickly terminated before it blows the lab out of the map.

self deleted

I took the following
salience of hydronuclear technology for India
to mean that India either asked or asked and got the actual nuclear test data to conduct hydronuclear testing.

??????????

PratikDas wrote: Shiv ji, these hydroacoustic stations would detect fully-critical nuclear explosions in the sea or ocean - like the French did at Mururoa

This is different from hydronuclear tests which are conducted in a lab so that one can be absolutely sure that the chain reaction is quickly terminated before it blows the lab out of the map.
Ah OK - it was my misunderstanding of what was being done.

What you say is borne out here

http://www.globalsecurity.org/wmd/intro ... uclear.htm
In a hydronuclear test, fissile material is imploded, but a supercritical mass is not maintained for a long enough time to permit the device to deliver "full" nuclear yield. Depending upon the conditions of the test, nuclear energy releases may range from the unmeasurably small (milligrams or less) to kilograms or even metric tons of TNT equivalent yield.

Hydronuclear experiments, as distinguished from hydrodynamic ones, use actual fissile material assembled to form a supercritical mass in which a chain reaction be-gins. Normally, hydronuclear experiments are designed to use nuclear devices modified in one of several ways, including substituting inert material or less-fissile material for some of the HEU or plutonium in the pit, so that very little nuclear energy release occurs. Yields in experiments described as “hydronuclear” by various countries have ranged from much less than 1 kg TNT equivalent to many tons.
Interesting to note this passage:
The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty is a zero-yield ban because we determined that this was in our interest and because no threshold above zero yield would have been negotiable, for reasons that remain true. The original U.S. and British scope position, which would have allowed "hydronuclear" tests with yields up to four pounds, might have been reluctantly accepted by the non-nuclear weapon states. But it was vigorously rejected by Russia, France, and China, which preferred yield limits of 10 tons, 300 tons, or an exemption for "peaceful" nuclear explosions, respectively. Such yield thresholds would have been politically unacceptable to many non-nuclear weapon states, and the PNE exemption was rejected by almost everyone.

Subcritical tests have become largely accepted internationally for ensuring the safety and reliability of a nation's nuclear force without resorting to nuclear testing. Russia has been conducting subcritical tests involving both weapons-grade plutonium and uranium since 1995 at its Novaya Zemlya test site near the Arctic Circle.

Apologies if this has been posted before:

Satellite image of Nevada Test Range with test craters named

The biggest crater I could see is cheekily named "Easy".

The US subcritical or hydronuclear testing facility was named Low-Yield Nuclear Experiment Research (LYNER) but was later renamed the U1a facility.

The U1a / LYNER facility is a stone's throw from the crater farm as shown in this satellite image. Even this subcritical testing facility performs tests at 960 feet (~293 m) below the surface.

PratikDas wrote:Apologies if this has been posted before:

Satellite image of Nevada Test Range with test craters named

The biggest crater I could see is cheekily named "Easy".

The US subcritical or hydronuclear testing facility was named Low-Yield Nuclear Experiment Research (LYNER) but was later renamed the U1a facility.

The U1a / LYNER facility is a stone's throw from the crater farm as shown in this satellite image. Even this subcritical testing facility performs tests at 960 feet (~293 m) below the surface.
I recall reading in the last 2 weeks that 95% of US underground tests were deep enough to produce little or no surface disturbance.

The craters in the map can be clicked for more info. Randomly I found one air-drop and two with no available info saying "This article is protected" and Category military.

I had earlier posted a link to a hundred or more US underground etsts with their yields and depths

There are numerous very interesting references on the net that talk about bomb designs and the semantics of words like thermonuclear weapon and "Hydrogen bomb". If you really spend time reading and re reading them it gets easier to figure out who might be bluffing whom.

Anyway - I will post quotes from a very interesting source. Ignore it if you wish, and in any case understanding it requires the basic mental picture of a nuke as a fission ball of Plutonium, or a hollow ball of Pu with a fusion boosting dose inside the hollow. This sits next to a tube (in some designs) full of Lithium Deuteride for fusion. But this fusion fuel needs to be protected by a huge (and heavy) "tamper". Traditionally that tamper has been spent Uranium fuel which also undergoes fission so that maybe 85% of the yield comes from fission of the primary and the tamper. Thorium can also be used for the tamper. If you use a non fissile tamper such as lead - you get vastly lower yields - but yield comes only from primary (fission) and secondary (fusion)

From: http://nuclearweaponarchive.org/Nwfaq/N ... ml#Nfaq4.5
Whether to make a fission-fusion weapon into a fission-fusion-fission weapon is one of the most basic design issues. A fission-fusion weapon uses an inert (or non-fissionable) tamper and will obtain most of its yield from the fusion reaction directly. A fission-fusion-fission weapon will obtain at least half of its yield (and often far more) from the fusion neutron induced fission of a fissionable tamper.

The basic advantage of a fission-fusion-fission weapon is that energy is extracted from a tamper which is otherwise deadweight as far as energy production in concerned. The tamper has to be there, so a lighter weapon for a given yield (or a more powerful weapon for the same weight) can be obtained without varying any other design factors. Since it is possible to do this at virtually no added cost or other penalty, compared to an inert material like lead, by using natural or depleted uranium or thorium there is basically no reason not to do it if the designer is simply interested in making big explosions.
The end of surface testing of nuclear weapons after the atmospheric test ban treaty effectively removed "cleanliness" as a significant concern for designers. Complaints about fall-out vanished, and so did the ability of the international community to monitor weapon design through fall-out analysis. The cost-effectiveness of lighter weapons put great pressure on designers to extract weight saving however they could, and it is likely that the idea of using non-fissile tampers disappeared very quickly. There is scant evidence that so-called "clean" designs were ever deployed in any quantity.

The fission yield of the tamper can be increased even further by adding slow-neutron fissionable material to it. Basically this means using enriched uranium instead of natural or depleted uranium.

Highly enriched uranium is definitely known to be used in U.S. weapons. About half of the U.S. inventory of weapons-associated HEU is less than "weapons grade" (&lt93.4% that is). The probable use of most or all of this uranium (generally with an enrichment of 20-80%) was in thermonuclear weapon tampers.
And 'allo 'allo 'allo? Look at this
Now, once one considers using substantial amounts of HEU in the secondary, the question of why the fusion fuel is needed at all arises. The answer: it probably is not essential. The idea of imploding fissile material is what set Stanislaw Ulam on the path to that led eventually to thermonuclear weapons. But with the availability of large amounts of HEU, and the trend toward smaller weapon yields (compared to the multimegaton behemoths of the fifties), the Ulam's idea of using radiation implosion to create a light weight high-efficiency pure fission weapon returns as a viable possibility. It is an interesting question whether all modern strategic nuclear weapons *are* in fact thermonuclear devices!

Check this Wiki page on boosted fision wepons. The first crss ref is ISANW.org - "Indian Scientists Against Nuclear Weapons"

References

1. "Facts about Nuclear Weapons: Boosted Fission Weapons", Indian Scientists Against Nuclear Weapons
http://www.isanw.org/facts/weapons.html#node8

Who are these people. Their domain name is now for sale.

From Gerard's post: this is the part that should have caught a lot of attention.
This is quite serious because Russian and Chinese doctrine highlights tactical nuclear war fighting.
Not confined to mutual exchanges, either. Any weapon above Hiroshima level effectively threatens major population centers with annihilation. Hiroshima and Nagasaki did not have a lot of high-rise bldgs in 1945, AFAIK (sure didn't after the explosions..) but most big cities in China and India do. So any air-burst of a nuclear weapon of the Hiroshima class would cause a truly "mega" death toll.

C^3 facilities and other hardened facilities are going to survive in some form or other, at least because with modern networks, they can be distributed far and wide, and put under mountains or lakes. Big industrial plants will at least become non-functional following any nuclear blast in their parking lots - no need to really hit the nerve center.

So I still don't see the point in insisting on 200 KT weapons as the only propah demonstration of MAD. OTOH, see the point above re: Chinese doctrine. Even if India accumulates hajaar 1-MT or 10MT weapons, that just provides MAD for total Doomsdin. It does nothing at all to prevent terrorist strikes, and it does nothing to prevent invading forces from annihilating Indian defensive formations, leaving the border open to invasion. Unless these can be responded to in kind and quickly, there is no deterrence. No matter what India's doctrine says, there will be no Indian strike on cities unless there is a massive strike on Indian cities IOW, Doomsdin.

So there is no deterrence, unless India also collects quite a good number of SMALL tactical nuclear weapons, small enough for the effects to be confined to a valley or a pass. The Hiroshima class, weaponized from at least the POK-1 tests, along with ever-better delivery systems, provides enough strategic deterrent.

This shows the whole racket about fizzles and fyoozzles to be just politically-motivated noise-making and nothing else.

Again, please explain to me why the 200KT is such a sacred number. The C^ argument does not hold, nor is there any hope of building large weapons in sufficient numbers to hit every single missile silo or missile-armed warship. However, it IS possible to build quite a few weapons of 40KT class using fusion-boosted fission, with lead or whatever tampers.

shiv, those "spent" uranium tampers are not exactly U-238 - they seem to be 93.5% enriched U-235. So these fizz-fyooz-fizz (FiFuFi) weapons seem to be intended to be massive radiation weapons, to kill far beyond their blast range. Suffering-maximizers, rather than Instant Vaporizers (which actually don't deter ppl like me, for example - I have been living in a very "popular" Ground Zero for decades, comfortable in the thought that the place is targeted by so many megatons that a few will survive any BMD, and vaporize me instantly so I don't have to "experience" the Day After). Point is, that threat does not worry me at all, and does not affect my behavior in any way. I worry far more about the Paki with the BakPak Dirty Bum.

Same Max Suffering effect can be achieved per the shiv doctrine using several 5KTs spread out over a large area, with much better hit rate. Will let enough TV cameras and transmitters survive to also broadcast the pleasant Days After.

>>>It is an interesting question whether all modern strategic nuclear weapons *are* in fact thermonuclear devices!

But according to our resident Gurus, a TN weapon reduces the weight of warhead by hyndreds of kilos, if not more..Using enriched uranium to get the same amount of bang (iinstead of Li D) may not be a strategically wise option for India due to short supply of U.. But if Thorium can be replaced as tamper, then it would be cheaper than LiD (my guess).

Is the talk of using exotic materials in the sub kiloton devices alluding to such a scenario? I would take it with a bagful of salt going by the "Esimated" Capabilities of BARC gang, who can't even get a proper bang.
dinesha

Post by dinesha »

Progressive article by Howard Morland of November 1979 is till date the main source for the public knowledge about the design and working of the Thermonuclear bomb. It is also the simplest to understand and comprehend. I read it again today. It gives lots of insights to our own nuclear weapon program.
Relevant material starts from page9 to page 14 (Don't miss the corrections in page 37), but the entire article titled “The H-Bomb Secret” is must read.
Austin wrote: But he thinks it burnt only ~ 10 % , so my question is what is the % of burn needed to call a TN bum a success , certainly one can increase the quantity of LiD and can burn at 10 % and give a desired yeald , but that will not mean TN is successful.
As per the above article even if 1% of the secondary fuel undergoes fusion the thermonuclear device worked. But one needs higher efficiency so as to achieve the desired yield. I think it can be clearly deduced from the above article that Increasing the quantity of LiD will not have significant impact on yield. The efficiency of the secondary fusion is governed by the compression of the fusion fuel as well as the time gap between the arrival of radiation (x-ray and Gamma ray) from the primary and the arrival of “expending fireball from the fission of the primary” to the secondry.

The other option to achieve the desired yield, is to have bigger secondary as well as bigger primary thereby achieving the desired yiled at the given 10% fussion burn, which can lead to the increase in the dead weight of the weapon to undesirable level.

Geeth it is one thing to talk of what we want, but another matter to see what we have. The use of huge amounts of tamper are great for getting more fusion but the tamper itself can end up producing something like 70% of the yield by fission in huge weapons. For that reason the larger the weapon the more efficient it is in terms of kilotons(yield) per kilogram (weight of device).

The delivery vehicles are more costly to make and the bigger you make them the less mobile they are and more vulnerable to first strike. The US and France got extremely efficient warheads of 100 to 300 kilotons in the 150 to 250) Kg weight range - but this was done after much testing. It cannot be expected that India designs can risk being that light. They have to be heavy, inefficient, but sure to explode. I would guess that Indian weapons are heavier and may (I am guessing) give yields of 60-80 kiloton at weights of 500 kg. Probably mostly fission and boosted fission (which is fission-fusion-fission).

"True thermonuclear warheads" seem to come in so many designs and we don't know what design has been used. The only thing that is probably certain is that they are Plutonium based primaries. Is the boosting (if any) done by Tritium or LiD? Nobody knows - but LiD would be a good guess. Does India have the technology to fashion a Beryllium reflector? Nobody knows. Are we using Tungsten instead?

All open refs speak of a huge tamper and since they are all US refs all speak of tampers of U238 which will add to yield, and later even tampers of U 235 ("Oralloy?") that are great for huge bangs. There is no refercne that speaks of the percentage of Tritium that is "used up" in a fusion explosion although many reference say that the only way you can get a yield that is 80% from fusion is by adding a tertiary fusion stage such as that ins 60 megaton tsar Bomba. Apparently the design yield of Tsar bomba was much higer (maybe 200 megaton) - but it gave "only" 60 megaton of which over 90% of the yield was fusion. But if it was designed for a higher yield - it only means that perhaps 75% of the fusion fuel was blown away.

Apart from being currently out of reach of India, such bombs are currently out of fashion as well.

We seem to be using Lithium Deuteride for the secondary. So what are we using for tamper for the secondary? U 238? Thorium? Lead (which will reduce yield)? All references say that the actual fusion yield in such weapons can be small. In other words even a fusion fizzle produces so many high energy neutrons that they allow the tamper to blow away very efficiently in a huge fission explosion. Reading all this in open source refs gave me personally a completely different perspective of bomb design and what designers did in the 50s and 60s and what they may do today if they are unable to validate designs.

It would be a heavy and relatively inefficient warhead in terms of kilotons per kilogram. That puts the onus on missile designers to come up with missiles that are accurate but have relatively short ranges. And less stealthy.

Plutonium goes critical easily if you collect up 10 kg of it in a ball and makes an unsafe warhead. Safer is to have less - maybe 8 kg or 6 kg in a hollow sphere and use material for boosting. You get 20 kt per kg of Pu. At 20 to 30% efficiency you get 40 kt. How much would a warhead that does this weigh?

If you add a secondary stage - say 20 Kg LiD you would need a big tamper around that. 20 Kg LiD at 10 % burn (fizzle) should yield 100 kilotons but it would need a huge tamper - maybe 100 or 200 kg (I have no idea - no references). If that tamper fissions at 10% efficiency the bomb would be about 300 kilotons - more if more tamper fissions - but this would probably weigh at least 2000 Kg - too heavy for anything other than PSLV. Indian warheads need to be within 1000 kg given the level of development of our missiles. There is an outside possibility that there are untested and relatively ineffcient TN warheads with 6-8 Kg Pu and 4-5 Kg LiD with fissionable tamper to give 100 to 150 kt. All within 1000 kg Nothing proven of course. The only data we have is that fission bombs worked and fusion may have been 10%.

Just my guess.

dinesha wrote: As per the above article even if 1% of the secondary fuel undergoes fusion the thermonuclear device worked. But one needs higher efficiency so as to achieve the desired yield.

Dinesha - that "desired yield" is almost always obtained by fission of the tamper. The real difficulty is in making a a bomb in which you use only 3Kg of plutonium as a very efficient boosted primary - giving about a 20 kiloton primary that causes fusion followd by fissioning of a tamper to produce say 200 to 300 kt in w warhead weight of 250 kg

Your quote is probably for the LiD in boosted fission where 1% fusion greatly increases fission efficiency. But you need a lot more fusion to get at least 20-50% fusion yield. Note that there is no reference that I can find that says exactly what percentage of fusion fuel got used up. PKI is the first man on earth to talk about that 10%. I will be glad to be corrected with a suitable url or quote from a book or journal. NOBODY mentions percentage of fusion fuel burn. Refs regularly speak of high percentage of yield from fusion - in huge 3 stage "clean" bombs - 25 megaton upwards.

TN weapons appear to get 70-80% of their yield from fission - mainly from tamper. That means 160 kt out of 200 is from tamper an primary. If primary is 20 kt, that leaves 140 kt from tamper and 40 kt from fusion. The problem is efficiency and weight. It is apparently possible to design an overkill warhead that is very heavy (2500 kg) but gives 200 kt despite being a fizzle (megatons if it is not a fizzle) But can you make it 250 kg? Or 150?

Who in India will say in public what we have. After decades of testing the US and France got great designs that they can show off about. If any Indian shows off any design what reaction will it get other than ROTFL? Why have mealy mouthed talk about nationalism and patriotism when 50% of the sources of mockery are Indian.

If you recall the old days when Prithvi I was said to be able to carry a 1 ton payload 150 Km. Later we heard about Prithvi II with 500 Kg payload and 250 Km. Doesn't it seem absurd to have these stupidly small ranges? Even a MiG 21 can carry a bigger load of conventional weapons for a longer distance.

Imagine if we had nuclear warheads that weigh 250 Kg. How far would Prithvi go then? But I suspect our warheads are all in the 500 Kg to 1000 Kg range. No proof - only guesswork. We already know that there are warheads in the 80kt range as per some guys statement - was it Bheeshma Pitamah?

**** Classified Info Leak*****

My 6th cousin the paanwala in DrDO assures me that India does indeed have 10MT warhead, it is mated to Agni-IV which has range of 2 km. :mrgreen: System is called:
Bhas-Ma-Shoora-2
P.S. Pls don't tell anyone. This is Top Secret Classified Info, like Praful Bidwai quotes.
*******End Classified Info Leak *****

Per shiv's post above, the range and payload numbers sync quite well too.
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

A good Read on India`s Tritium production capabilities used for H-bum
Though its not clearly mentioned about the stockpile.On average we must be holding a min of 50 Kg of H3.
I came to the 50kg estimate while comparing the capabilities and enrichment levels of both Canada and India in Tritium.
OPG currently has a stockpile of over 27kg.
Bheem

Post by Bheem »

Re Shiv

Actually the nuclear physics package or the TN device itself is very small, something like 50kg for modern 100kt device. As a thumb rule (based on a link above) 50% of the payload should be nuclear payload while 50% of the nuclear device should be the "physics package". In case of prithvi - 2, as it does not have any MIRV or (perhaps) even decoys or jammers etc, therefore let as assume that 250kg out of 500kg is the weapon. The range of prithvi-2 is widely accepted to be 300km+.

My guess is that Indian TN is 250kg, FBF of 20kt 150kg and Simple Fission nuke of 10kt around 100kg or lower. My guess is that Agni -5 can / will carry something like 6 simple fission nukes of 10kt. While we may not have perfected the TN but our Fission device (not bomb) of 10kt would be less than 100kg. The air dropped bomb should also be around 400-500kg or perhaps much much lower.

Bheem wrote:Re Shiv

Actually the nuclear physics package or the TN device itself is very small, something like 50kg for modern 100kt device. As a thumb rule (based on a link above) 50% of the payload should be nuclear payload while 50% of the nuclear device should be the "physics package". In case of prithvi - 2, as it does not have any MIRV or (perhaps) even decoys or jammers etc, therefore let as assume that 250kg out of 500kg is the weapon. The range of prithvi-2 is widely accepted to be 300km+.

My guess is that Indian TN is 250kg, FBF of 20kt 150kg and Simple Fission nuke of 10kt around 100kg or lower. My guess is that Agni -5 can / will carry something like 6 simple fission nukes of 10kt. While we may not have perfected the TN but our Fission device (not bomb) of 10kt would be less than 100kg. The air dropped bomb should also be around 400-500kg or perhaps much much lower.
You may be right Bheem. I have no idea.

Incidentally have you any source outside of BR that attributes MIRV on Agni and does not use BR as source? Just curious. Ajai Shukla talks of MIRV in future.

K Subrahmanyam mentioned 80 kt warheads IIRC - but if we are talking of "proof" India has only 10-20 kt as you rightly point out.

Increasing the quantity of LiD will not have significant impact on yield.
This is t he reason people of the forum jumped all over bala garu when he suggested " add a few dollops of LiD .. etc etc) :mrgreen:

dinesha wrote:Progressive article by Howard Morland of November 1979 is till date the main source for the public knowledge about the design and working of the Thermonuclear bomb. It is also the simplest to understand and comprehend. I read it again today. It gives lots of insights to our own nuclear weapon program.
Relevant material starts from page9 to page 14 (Don't miss the corrections in page 37), but the entire article titled “The H-Bomb Secret” is must read.
A screen grab from 2 pages re testing of nukes

shiv wrote:I would guess that Indian weapons are heavier and may (I am guessing) give yields of 60-80 kiloton at weights of 500 kg. Probably mostly fission and boosted fission (which is fission-fusion-fission).
The highlighted part is incorrect.
In boosted fission there is no staging/sequence the way you put it. The fission never stops from beginning to end, while fusion is a brief flash in the beginning of fission {much like one (repeat one) dot of colured flash in a Diwali sparkler that burns for 50 seconds (with thousands of sparks); while the tiny fusion spark was one towards the begining and lasted barely 0.1 second, whose role is to greatly assist the buildup of fission generation (almost "binary" rate growth per generation) and that is the key to higher fission efficiency of FBF.
Plutonium goes critical easily if you collect up 10 kg of it in a ball and makes an unsafe warhead. Safer is to have less - maybe 8 kg or 6 kg in a hollow sphere and use material for boosting. You get 20 kt per kg of Pu. At 20 to 30% efficiency you get 40 kt. How much would a warhead that does this weigh?
For answer pls see BR's Agni missile page for 50 kt warhead.
If you add a secondary stage - say 20 Kg LiD you would need a big tamper around that.
Why not something more realistic like 1 kg or even 4 kg (given that you believe in PKI's statement of 400gm burn that was perhaps upto 10% of the fusion fuel) ? Unless you are bent on making a Tsara type bum, and you are in the camp of people on BR that want 1MT , 10MT test.

Either way what ever you choose, try to quantify the big tamper in terms of thickness or total mass of tamper.

20 Kg LiD at 10 % burn (fizzle) should yield 100 kilotons but it would need a huge tamper - maybe 100 or 200 kg (I have no idea - no references). If that tamper fissions at 10% efficiency the bomb would be about 300 kilotons - more if more tamper fissions - but this would probably weigh at least 2000 Kg - too heavy for anything other than PSLV. Indian warheads need to be within 1000 kg given the level of development of our missiles. There is an outside possibility that there are untested and relatively ineffcient TN warheads with 6-8 Kg Pu and 4-5 Kg LiD with fissionable tamper to give 100 to 150 kt. All within 1000 kg Nothing proven of course. The only data we have is that fission bombs worked and fusion may have been 10%.
One could just as easily narrate a TN configuration that can be much lighter :wink:

In fact why go so far to making a Tsara like bum, why not stay in vicinity of Chidambaram's "we can scale it to 200 kT" design ?

Do that you will find the warhead (including RV etc) will be around 200 and 300 kg.

Once Chidambaram's fizzle TN design is demonstrably fixed, you will find it is in synergy/harmony with much smaller missile like Agni series and not the PSLV you propose to load the Yindu Tsara on.
ArunK

Post by ArunK »

I found a pdf called "US_Nuclear_Tests__1945-1992___US_DOE__1993__WW.pdf" it is 13 MB. I have just glanced through it it is 109 pages and contains details including yield of all US (1100+) Nuclear tests.

Should I e-mail to BR Admins so they can publish it? Let me know please.
Bheem

Post by Bheem »

Shiv

I am not aware of MIRV on Agni apart from BR. As far as nuke weight is concerned the FAS site had/has data on US tests. In this data it was mentioned that by 1960s USA was primarily focused on reducing TN weights. All the US TNs are based on just a couple of core designs which have been tested hundreds of times. One such core design was tested in 1960s with a weight of around 40-50kg only with yield of 50-60kts. As the said design did not have spark plug or tertiary the primary energy waa fusion. This core ultimately became the source of almost all US TNs. Now too lazy to re-dig FAS site. This shows that US had perfected the core design by hundreds of tests in 1970s-90s and there was not much left to test. When the nuke weight falls to 50-60kg then there may not have been any real need to reduce the weight further. With India we are still at the initial stage. We do need more tests immediately unless off course few of low kt tests were actually TN tests (like your post above) then perhaps we stand on a better footing.
ArunK

Post by ArunK »

Yes but mine is Rev 14 published in Dec 1994. So this is the later version.

Bheem wrote:We do need more tests immediately unless off course few of low kt tests were actually TN tests (like your post above) then perhaps we stand on a better footing.
Unlikely that they were full TN weapons. They may have been TN related. The smallest TN test was for 2.3 kt.

shiv wrote:If you recall the old days when Prithvi I was said to be able to carry a 1 ton payload 150 Km. Later we heard about Prithvi II with 500 Kg payload and 250 Km. Doesn't it seem absurd to have these stupidly small ranges? Even a MiG 21 can carry a bigger load of conventional weapons for a longer distance.
Blasphamy !!! One cant speak against a 90 mile range mijjile that Ex-president APJ Kalam created.

Absurd or not Mig 21's air breathing jets ISP is much more than ISP of liquid rocket engine of Prithvi. I also think Prithvi flies faster than Mig thus almost impossible to be shot down by Indian enemies (just wait a little longer and TSP with its new ABM radar based system will be able to take down Prithvi).
Imagine if we had nuclear warheads that weigh 250 Kg. How far would Prithvi go then?
Of all the missiles made by IGMDP only one saw day of light in usable quantities, called Prithvi, and that too a lame duck with very short leg (BTW lower payload on Prithvi cant result in longer range, because the aluminum body missile is incapable of re-entry for those high velocity regime and will melt on re-entry) . Trishul is canned and dead. Akash is no where to be seen in Akash yet, and by the time it is deployed, the types of targets and war-fighting it has been designed would have aged and been long dead. Astra has only a tested rocket motor as yet, and barely a dozen or two of Agni-II are manufactured . All while Ex-president Kalam floated the IGMDP in DRDO, later spent time in the south block and even more later in Rastrapati Bhavan. His project management legacy has left a legacy of un-met commitments.

Here is an article that I largely agree with:
The issue is not "belief" but validation - by Manoj Joshi

Bheem wrote:Re Shiv

Incidentally have you any source outside of BR that attributes MIRV on Agni and does not use BR as source? Just curious. Ajai Shukla talks of MIRV in future.
Reminds me of Mav bhai.

Like it or not, the BR Agni page itself gives reference [115A] to outside source on MIRV. Embarrassingly its from the same reputable journal that RC and Sikka publish their research articles on the nuclear bum.

Composites: Use in saucepan handles, artificial limbs and the AGNI missile
Multiple Independently Targetted Re-entry Vehicle (MIRV)
Reusable missions and MIRVs are future systems that would gain from carbon nanotubes, nanocarbon reinforced ceramics, smart structures and advanced materials. India has developed propulsion and re-entry systems of aerospace vehicles that need to operate in high temperature regimes such as 3000–5000°C and meet the aero thermal environment of re-entry. Scientists have successfully flight-tested the unique all-carbon composite re-entry heat shield with multi-directional carbon–carbon re-entry nose tip and control surfaces in the AGNI missile systems.