BR Forums Feedback

Re: BR Forums Feedback

Rahul M wrote:ajatshatru, "a nation on the move" thread is till there I think.

regarding the new post button, isn't
[CAUTION: You will be starting a new thread!]
enough or do people have a problem reading two sentences in the span of a minute ?

I agree, but I have myself made the dumb mistake of using it to create a new thread when I wanted to reply. My guess is it is because it i right below the quote button of the lastpost.

I have interchnged the buttons. will revert if there are more issues.

expect to see a lot more IB4TLs in the next few days !! :D
(along with a meteoric rise in RayC's BP !)

can't the icons simply be changed ?

Rahul M wrote:expect to see a lot more IB4TLs in the next few days !! :D

The good thing about the New Post button and operation is it forces you to put a Subject Text, without which it wont create a new thread. Thats the point i realised I wasnt replyin to but creating a new thread.
VikB

Post by VikB »

^^^ The interchanging of buttons almost got me starting a thread today :!: The subject line safety is a good poka yoke.

Please reply to my query about knowledge on defence related courses in India/online.
regards

Jagan wrote:
Rahul M wrote:expect to see a lot more IB4TLs in the next few days !! :D

The good thing about the New Post button and operation is it forces you to put a Subject Text, without which it wont create a new thread. Thats the point i realised I wasnt replyin to but creating a new thread.
my question was can't the lettering be changed to "new thread" instead of "new post" ?

vik, all I know is some univs and colleges offer courses in defence studies.
may be the net will help you locate those.
sumeet_s

Post by sumeet_s »

@vik
Pune university offers MA & MSC in Defence and Strategic Studies.
I just know abt pune univ cos i am doin this course..
Other univs also have such courses such as delhi and meerut but dunno much details abt it.
Rishi

Post by Rishi »

Rahul M wrote: my question was can't the lettering be changed to "new thread" instead of "new post" ?
Yes. I am sure we have many photochor experts here to change the graphic. Is it not as simple as replacing the button in the 3 different source directories:
"/styles/subsilver2/imageset/en/button_topic_new.gif"
Suneet

Post by Suneet »

I will use this thread to ask questions and enlighten my knowledge...
Please guide me if I should be doing it differently....

REF: Nuclear Test controversy..

I am getting pessimistic... please say something to lift my spirits...

what I understand...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_st ... ar_weapons

its obvious no one can touch US or USSR with the kind of toasting capability they possess. US provides nuclear security cover to few nations as well.
India cant rely on USSR or USA, and at present is at best nearby capacity of Pakistan. regardless of sanctions, since 74' the progress made even in civil nuclear research is below expected. China's stockpile, development history both are better. So noone is fighting noone in top nuclear bracket.

Pakistani Prime Minister Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto promised in 1965 that if India built nuclear weapons Pakistan would too, "even if we have to eat grass."

... they are eating grass but have a comparable if not better stockpile than India.

Imagining we have working and proven 100 warheads, I will sleep so much better...

please correct me where I am wrong. I am a civilian, who can fight for his nation with even bare hands if need arises. but I hope it never comes to that.

Rahul M wrote:regarding the new post button, isn't
[CAUTION: You will be starting a new thread!]
enough or do people have a problem reading two sentences in the span of a minute ?
Rahul,

Its not a question of reading the red lines below the button. When a person starts a new reply (w/o quoting) out of habit, he is barely looking at the button he clicks (less than 10 ms actually).

It is simple HCI principle onlee - English is read left-to-right, right-handed people have the right hand biased towards the left ityadi hence, tendency is to click the button on the left (as opposed to the right) - notice how your mouse pointer is also biased and leaning towards the left (hence proving Bill G./Jobs/PARC wallahs are closet commies). Hence, whichever button has a higher click-rate must be placed on the left. The world is a right handed one with the left handers just adjusting "temporarily" :P These HCI principles get used in console design (incld. MFDs of aircraft) so all halal onlee. :mrgreen:

Hence, if possible please re-place the "Post Reply" button to the left again since that is clicked more often than the "New Post" button. And the meaning of "New Post" is ambigious as per shararat laws - Does "New Post" mean "new post in old thread" or "new post in new thread"?? hain?! I may be posting on an old thread but my post may not be in response to someone else's existing post - doesn't that make it a "New Post" instead of a "New Reply". The "New Post" button graphic needs changing ....unless this is an evil chaal to eradicate all militant IB4TL wallahs who are currently under deep cover.

Suneet wrote:I will use this thread to ask questions and enlighten my knowledge...

Wrong thread. Please use the Newbie Thread for such questions.

Raja Bose wrote: Hence, if possible please re-place the "Post Reply" button to the left again since that is clicked more often than the "New Post" button.
I too would find that much more convinient. Its more natural for the pointer to go towards left hand side.

RB, all blame should be directed towards jag, who changed it in the first place ! :P

since the flip I've had to edit 3-4 replies and endure endless hovering over the left button before realising I was on the wrong side of the border !

=========

suneet, wrong thread.
Suneet

Post by Suneet »

Raja Bose wrote:
Suneet wrote:I will use this thread to ask questions and enlighten my knowledge...

Wrong thread. Please use the Newbie Thread for such questions.

thanks, how can I shift the question above to that thread?

Rahul M wrote:RB, all blame should be directed towards jag, who changed it in the first place ! :P

since the flip I've had to edit 3-4 replies and endure endless hovering over the left button before realising I was on the wrong side of the border !

=========

suneet, wrong thread.
ah so Jagman is behind this latest set of left-leaning right buttons...and top of that he gets 4 pegs of whisky from Air India?!!@#$%&^ :evil: :evil:

Jagman, please report with your best warbird to Kave Kamplex #420 for "vigorous" debriefing :mrgreen:
VikB

Post by VikB »

^^^ :rotfl:
Rahul M wrote:vik, all I know is some univs and colleges offer courses in defence studies.
may be the net will help you locate those.
Rahul, most of our univs are pathetic in terms of online updation. I have requested a friend in JNU to find out for me. Hence my query was that does it merit a thread so that we can have all the info collated at one place. I dont want to start a thread for the heck of it (and get IB4TLed :shock: -worse than a courtmartial :D )
This may help some of us here to join such courses. This is much on the lines of Army recruitment thread - info sharing.

OT- a wild hat thinking that I was getting that maybe some of us here at Bharat-Rakshak should take up learning Pashtun at JNU as last time during Kandhar crisis, the security establishment was found to be woefully lacking in language skills (compare this with the Uncle). Can come handy in future.

I believe Kings College, London gives a post graduate degree in War Studies which is wholly web delivered.

Maroof Raza can be contacted at
(011) 69416615 or 69416616

E mail:
[email protected]

RayC wrote:I believe Kings College, London gives a post graduate degree in War Studies which is wholly web delivered.

E mail:
accessabroadindia at-the-rate-of geemale
Ray sir,

Not a good idea to post phone numbers on public forums (unless it is already available online and is not his personal number) - in case of pvt. phone number, IMing it to the concerned member is probably better. For e-mails please remove the '@' and 'gmail dot com' with some gibberish like 'at' and 'gmail dat kawm' to prevent automated bots from harvesting email address for spamming purposes.

Example: From another postor's post "....chirag dot s dot 08 at geemail dot com"

Raja Bose wrote:
RayC wrote:I believe Kings College, London gives a post graduate degree in War Studies which is wholly web delivered.

E mail:
accessabroadindia at-the-rate-of geemale
Ray sir,

Not a good idea to post phone numbers on public forums (unless it is already available online and is not his personal number) - in case of pvt. phone number, IMing it to the concerned member is probably better. For e-mails please remove the '@' and 'gmail dot com' with some gibberish like 'at' and 'gmail dat kawm' to prevent automated bots from harvesting email address for spamming purposes.

Example: From another postor's post "....chirag dot s dot 08 at geemail dot com"
I am quoting from the magazine 'Salute to the Indian Soldier' of which Maroof Raza is the MD.

^^ I checked - those phone numbers are of a business - accessabroad (same as in the e-mail) and available online on commercial websites. In that case its fine.
VijayKumarSinha

Post by VijayKumarSinha »

Bhagvan Mod's ji,

Aap subko mera sat sat pranam.

I have a little prashan. Do we have a Maoist/Naxalite/Insurgency forum?

If yes, can you please tell me where it is?

If not, why is there no topic on the biggest threat faced by us, according to our pujaniya pradhan mantri MMS ji.

Jai Bhagwan mod ki!

VijayKumarSinha wrote:I have a little prashan. Do we have a Maoist/Naxalite/Insurgency forum?

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... &start=560
VijayKumarSinha

Post by VijayKumarSinha »

Sriman wrote:
VijayKumarSinha wrote:I have a little prashan. Do we have a Maoist/Naxalite/Insurgency forum?

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... &start=560
Wah!

If mod bhagwan don't give sakshat darshan they send in an avtaar to do the job for them!

Bhagwan ki leela aprampaar!

VijayKumarSinha wrote: Wah!

If mod bhagwan don't give sakshat darshan they send in an avtaar to do the job for them!

Bhagwan ki leela aprampaar!
Beta Vijay Kumar, please report to BENIS Dhaaga Kave Kamplex #420 for "vigorous debriefing" with utmost haste ji! :twisted:
jimmy_moh

Post by jimmy_moh »

Hi mods...

am goingthrough BR for last 8 months , eventhough i didnt contribute anything , i love to read the healthy discussions happening in BR

But one thing am feeling is , lots of members represent our neighbours as "porkis" or "chinkis"
i dont thing it is fair use such words ...

just my thoughts..
AmitR

Post by AmitR »

jimmy_moh wrote:Hi mods...

am goingthrough BR for last 8 months , eventhough i didnt contribute anything , i love to read the healthy discussions happening in BR

But one thing am feeling is , lots of members represent our neighbours as "porkis" or "chinkis"

just my thoughts..
I totally agree with Jimmy here. We love to call Americans, Chinese and Pakistanis in a derogatory manner but start cribbing when Indians are called names.
nikhil_p

Post by nikhil_p »

AmitR wrote:

just my thoughts..
I totally agree with Jimmy here. We love to call Americans, Chinese and Pakistanis in a derogatory manner but start cribbing when Indians are called names.
Dude...we call ourselves SDRE's and what not...These names are meant in jest...take it with a pinch o' salt.

I do not know about porki, but the mods had recently edited a post containing the word "chinki". I too have no issues with "porki" but detest the use of word "chinki" because the latter can also be misused as a derogatory term for many Indians of certain areas.

AmitR wrote:

just my thoughts..
hello there, chinki is not acceptable and always edited out when it comes to admin notice. as is any other racist term. I don't know what you mean when you are talking of derogatory names being applied to americans. I would like to see an example of this alleged use. In case this has happened why was the post not reported by the said members who noticed it ?

kindly note that this does not mean any country/govt is above criticism, even bitter ones. if people expected no criticism of US/country XYZ then I'm sorry to disappoint them.
that's not going to happen.

p.s. paki is not a racist term(as far as race is concerned Indians belong to the same race as pakis) and we find no reason to be ultra PC about it.
anyway, pakistan is a special case as far as BR is concerned.

paki is not a racist term(as far as race is concerned Indians belong to the same race as pakis
Says who?

Pakistanis are of central asian descent with Arab, Persian, Turkish blood in that order, the final touches were given by the caucasians and neanderthals. In fact, Alexander once commented about how beautiful the Pakistani men were compared to the dark Hindoos to the east.
It is high time we get over our inferiority complex and stop dreaming about being the same race as the obviously superior Pakistanis, no amount of name calling( Piggystani, Porkistani, Cousin-nikahistani etc etc) will change the reality

I fully endorse the views of Jimmy and Amit when it comes to the Pakistanis. No name calling please..full stop.

Rahul M wrote: anyway, pakistan is a special case as far as BR is concerned.
Amen brother. :D

vaman

Amit and jimmy,
for further re(al) education, please visit the BENIS dhaaga!
nikhil_p

Post by nikhil_p »

tsriram wrote:vaman

Amit and jimmy,
for further re(al) education, please visit the BENIS dhaaga!
VAMAN...you had me in splits bud...reeks of sarcasm with a cool twist!
You deserve the BRFite tag!

vaman, guilty as charged ! :mrgreen:

Can the mods please cleanup the "China Military Watch" thread!

Many members here are obliquely making remarks that "majority of the citizens of India" have a thief type mentality.

Is making such remarks, of course in very indirect and oblique way, allowed on BR?

If admins state that such posts are non-koshers for BR, I would cite examples where members are making such posts. If making such posts is cool or considered egalitarian, then I see no point in citing these posts.

Rahul Mehta wrote:Many members here are obliquely making remarks that "majority of the citizens of India" have a thief type mentality.

Is making such remarks, of course in very indirect and oblique way, allowed on BR?

If admins state that such posts are non-koshers for BR, I would cite examples where members are making such posts. If making such posts is cool or considered egalitarian, then I see no point in citing these posts.

RM,

please report those posts. Action will be taken where needed.

-Jagan

Why does BRF log you out if you are inactive for some time? Users should be allowed to adjust that feature from their user control panels. :x :-?

Gagan wrote:Why does BRF log you out if you are inactive for some time? Users should be allowed to adjust that feature from their user control panels. :x :-?
It doesn't do that to me. What browser do you use and are there any settings that wipe out your cookies from time to time?

archan wrote:
Gagan wrote:Why does BRF log you out if you are inactive for some time? Users should be allowed to adjust that feature from their user control panels. :x :-?
It doesn't do that to me. What browser do you use and are there any settings that wipe out your cookies from time to time?
nope, check your login screen. There is a button asking if you want to stay logged in.