Discussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

Re: Dicussion on Indian Epics, Texts, Treatises & Kathas

If it is "Sri Yukteswar's" calculation, then it goes back the reverse way - isnt it? That means "Dwapara" calculated from the end of ascending end of Kali in 1699 CE. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Holy_Science On the other hand, do you agree or disagree with the translation given in the last part http://ww-iii.tripod.com/hindu.htm where it refers to Shree Veera Brahmendra Maha Swami. Why is he mentioning 1000 years before?

B-ji

Interestingly the dating of Sri PVBS is confusing from records point of view. I am trying collect more info on it. The 1000 yrs before seems plausible given the fact that his predictions include vijayanagara empire details, but I do not know for sure. One of my relatives are good at astrology and he is a professor in that subject. I would like to crack the samkalpam logic (pradhama Pada) and see if these years make any sense.

Few years ago there was a kalki swamy in andhra area who turned out to be fraud case. One my friends used to say that transition will be less violent, but given the world situation I doubt that.

Regarding Kalki Avatar per Srimad Bhagvatam it is predicted to happened in anther 425,000 years later. SO no point looking for it now.

Regardign Iskon translation, please note A.C Bhaktivenda swami passed away before translating the 12th canto of Srimad Bhagvatam. The 12th Canto was translated by his devotees in order to publish the full set. So 12th Canto translation may not exactly correspond to what A.C Bhaktivenda Swami would have done.

shyam wrote:
RamaY wrote:A man wearing turban from saptasindhu area will rule Bharat and the nation will grow militarily under his rule.
Maharaja Ranjit Singh? Or Sri Man Mohan Singh?
This will be in future , Ramakrishna said he will take birth wihin 300 years in North India and come back as a warrior or ruler and will be known by his Pagri. :D

RamaY wrote:B-ji

I am watching the video "the great year". Talks about the cyclical nature of time and Kali yuga. Per this theory we left kaliyuga in 1600s and entered treta yuga. I have to check why we read "kaliyuge pradhama pade" in samkalpam.

Perhaps I will enquire about it in my desh yatra.
Nope we are still in the Kaliyuga. End of pandavas' rule in Mahabharata is approximately start of kaliyuga. So we are just 5000 years into this Yuga. As per scriptures it is going to last 4 lakhs plus years. We are in first phase and hence prathama (first) pada is correct. So no hope of seeing kalki
kittoo

Post by kittoo »

rkirankr wrote:
RamaY wrote:B-ji

I am watching the video "the great year". Talks about the cyclical nature of time and Kali yuga. Per this theory we left kaliyuga in 1600s and entered treta yuga. I have to check why we read "kaliyuge pradhama pade" in samkalpam.

Perhaps I will enquire about it in my desh yatra.
Nope we are still in the Kaliyuga. End of pandavas' rule in Mahabharata is approximately start of kaliyuga. So we are just 5000 years into this Yuga. As per scriptures it is going to last 4 lakhs plus years. We are in first phase and hence prathama (first) pada is correct. So no hope of seeing kalki
Isnt there another interpretation that says that Kaliyuga isnt actually that long? Wikiepedia says-
Some, such as Swami Sri Yukteswar, David Frawley, and Paramhansa Yogananda believe that it is now near the beginning of Dvapara Yuga.

Interpreting scriptures is best done by a person who has Guru and been associated with MUTT fo atleast 20 years for Knowledge to pass. Otherwise too much psy-ops has been done in the past with knowledge of them.
paramu

Post by paramu »

I too would say that interpretations we see in wiki, youtube, and assorted websites are to confuse Hindus or written by other confused people who try to mix Hindu scriptures with other global materials they read. Most of these people make arbitrary claims without providing the details of how they came to that conclusion. Of course, they can make mistakes too.

Most of the short Kaliyuga claims breaks our common knowledge of the yuga order, Sathyayuga, Threthayuga, Dwaparayuga and Kaliyuga. When people claim Dwaparayuga comes after Kaliyuga, their entire claim become questionable.

I began to research the "prophecies" mainly because I saw that they reflected a lot about the political and military delusions of the west. But realized as I went on, that they could be also very clever manifestions of desired outcomes. That they had the potential for mobilizing different groups. This was why I came to finding out what was available on the similar genre within Bharat.

The main ones that I got to get a whiff of were about Kalki, the Sikh prophecies, the Kalachakra prophecies (now mainly confined to the Tibetan school of Buddhism).

In researching Kalki, I also came across the Yuga problem. I also had a great deal of discomfort about the mismatch between geological and paleoanthrological records and the Yuga interpretation of apearnce of humans on earth. My proposed line was to think of the yuga system as a dually representative framework. That real, human historical experience of much shorter scales were used to encode geological and astronomical events of much larger time scales.

I am rather sceptical of claims by various people to be already born Kalki's, and attempts at stretching out the "prophecy" to fit themselves. However if this remark hurts anyone's faith, my sincere apologies. But these prophecies from within India are important also - because they are often hijacked by both the proselytizing branches of the Abrahamic with hilarious results.

brihaspati wrote:In researching Kalki, I also came across the Yuga problem. I also had a great deal of discomfort about the mismatch between geological and paleoanthrological records and the Yuga interpretation of apearnce of humans on earth. My proposed line was to think of the yuga system as a dually representative framework. That real, human historical experience of much shorter scales were used to encode geological and astronomical events of much larger time scales.
My thinking on the matter is (since a day of Brahma is equivalent to the currently known life time of the universe) that the Yuga cycle is not only dual, its probably multi cyclical with cycles within cycles, sort of like fractals.

Such concepts of infinite recursion do happen in Hindu texts, so people do use the concept of Yuga its just that its context dependent.

I have been looking for the following
http://kalyan97.googlepages.com/dateofmahabharatawar
Dr. Shambhu Shastry (Franklin, USA) and Dr. Venkateswar Reddy (Sunnyvale, USA)

Natural Cycles in the Solar System and the Chaturyuga Cycles
If some can find it, it would be very nice, the original link is broken it was briefly available before it died out (Is the swaraswati colloquium available on Kaushal's site?)

Sanku-ji,
in the linked general summary, I find the dismissal of "meteor" effects in the 3000 BCE period as SciFi a bit curious. There appears to be good reason to believe that such a mega-meteorite crash actually happened somewhere in the middle east, in this period. There are corresponding climatological after effects in the sedimentary records, and archaeological "disruptions".

brihaspati wrote:Sanku-ji,
in the linked general summary, I find the dismissal of "meteor" effects in the 3000 BCE period as SciFi a bit curious. There appears to be good reason to believe that such a mega-meteorite crash actually happened somewhere in the middle east, in this period. There are corresponding climatological after effects in the sedimentary records, and archaeological "disruptions".
Bji I am confused, as far as I see the work of Narhari Achar does not dismiss the meteor phenomena but does use it, he is saying that in prior efforts many folks dismissed the meteor phenomena.

Can you please point me to the right piece within the article so I may be able to answer better.

Sanku-ji,
my error probably - I was looking here:
http://www.indicstudies.us/Astronomy/Gr ... tawar.html
the description of the planetary positions, meteor-showers, diffused atmosphere, reduction in gravitational force which are narrated in chapter III of Bhishma Parva is totally scienfe fiction, making us believe that in those days some comet-like shoemaker moved around the earth and bursted. The author has therfore totally ignored the contents of the said chapter.

brihaspati wrote:If it is "Sri Yukteswar's" calculation, then it goes back the reverse way - isnt it? That means "Dwapara" calculated from the end of ascending end of Kali in 1699 CE. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Holy_Science On the other hand, do you agree or disagree with the translation given in the last part http://ww-iii.tripod.com/hindu.htm where it refers to Shree Veera Brahmendra Maha Swami. Why is he mentioning 1000 years before?
Dwapara yuga is correct for the current cycle.

brihaspati wrote:I began to research the "prophecies" mainly because I saw that they reflected a lot about the political and military delusions of the west. But realized as I went on, that they could be also very clever manifestions of desired outcomes. That they had the potential for mobilizing different groups. This was why I came to finding out what was available on the similar genre within Bharat.
Prophesies in the west are manufactured to fit into their belief system and the aim is the create a world which is in their time line.

ramana wrote:Gurucharan Das writes new book
Gurcharan Das’ new book delves into the Mahabharata to understand our moral dilemmas

Something interesting is happening to Indian psyche. Its reformed secularists who are talking about Hindu epics. It might be an epic but it does have Krishna's teachings.
They are still using Marxist language and interpretation of Indian history - Brahmanism is a British created term for social engineering.
shyam

Post by shyam »

brihaspati wrote:If it is "Sri Yukteswar's" calculation, then it goes back the reverse way - isnt it? That means "Dwapara" calculated from the end of ascending end of Kali in 1699 CE. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Holy_Science On the other hand, do you agree or disagree with the translation given in the last part http://ww-iii.tripod.com/hindu.htm where it refers to Shree Veera Brahmendra Maha Swami. Why is he mentioning 1000 years before?
Can you throw more light on to your assertion?

shyam wrote:
Can you throw more light on to your assertion?
There is entire forum and thread discussing this
http://www.india-forum.com/forums/index ... 843&st=120

>> Dwapara yuga is correct for the current cycle.

where I live it is definitely kalyug .. terminal stage hopefully.

brihaspati wrote:I began to research the "prophecies" mainly because I saw that they reflected a lot about the political and military delusions of the west. But realized as I went on, that they could be also very clever manifestions of desired outcomes. That they had the potential for mobilizing different groups. This was why I came to finding out what was available on the similar genre within Bharat.

The main ones that I got to get a whiff of were about Kalki, the Sikh prophecies, the Kalachakra prophecies (now mainly confined to the Tibetan school of Buddhism).

In researching Kalki, I also came across the Yuga problem. I also had a great deal of discomfort about the mismatch between geological and paleoanthrological records and the Yuga interpretation of apearnce of humans on earth. My proposed line was to think of the yuga system as a dually representative framework. That real, human historical experience of much shorter scales were used to encode geological and astronomical events of much larger time scales.

I am rather sceptical of claims by various people to be already born Kalki's, and attempts at stretching out the "prophecy" to fit themselves. However if this remark hurts anyone's faith, my sincere apologies. But these prophecies from within India are important also - because they are often hijacked by both the proselytizing branches of the Abrahamic with hilarious results.
Yuga also means two, Brihaspati ji.. According to few verses in Srimad Bhagvatam (Pardon me, I can't quote them verbatim at this moment, as I don't have access to the text) say that "one Ahoraatri (24 hours) is symbolically same as one Samvatsara (year)". I recommend some search in Bhagvatam text for those who have access to the book.

If this is to be true, then the duration of Kaliyuga is about 4800 years (???, please do some math, guys). Discounting the Sandhikala between two Yugas, and given the tradition that Kaliyuga started with death of Parikshita in 3101 BC, assuming the Sandhikala of 100 years; the Kaliyuga is supposed to end around 2001. plus or minus 50 years from 2000 AD, given 1950-2050 as the Sandhikala. Since this is a completion of a cycle, a Pralaya is to be expected, if we go by texts, along with emergence of Kalki and re-establishment of Dharma.

This interpretation of Yuga-cycle will help in rallying the Indics against the idea of "second coming", "return of Mahadi", "Maitreya"; " Nostrodamus's prophets" bla bla... The equilibrium will be achieved, and Indics too will have something to boast about when some confident missionary tries to sell them the idea of second coming of christ.

There should equilibrium of ideas in India from the side of Indic Sanskriti..

*edited later to add - Kalki's promise of arrival is perhaps more important than Kalki himself. The rallying quotient of such stories is immense.

This is a very good angle! Thanks Chiron-ji! I will look into this.

Kaliyug Yuga will literally end with the end of Adharmiv IEDologies on Indian soil which i think its on the last leg and will happen soon in next 2 decades or so. Past 2030 shall usher in Satyug. The first sign being advnacement in medical science will extend human life span close to 150.

Poeple, I know we are not happy in the world and want Kaliyuga to end in the next 2 decades and all. Stop the doomsday propehcies , Kaliyuga will end in anther 425,000 years as the scripture says.

The world however, today has many wrongs and we may have a world war III situation tanks to the geapolitical BS thats going around. When will it go the breaking point God knows.

I just know that, GOD does not intend how much ever you want to know the future exactly. How much ever we may try we cannot predict the future accurately.
kumarn

Post by kumarn »

Sri Yukteswara's disciple Sri Yogananda paramhansa in his autobiography of a yogi expands on this further. He says there are two cycles, one larger one and the other smaller one inside each yuga of the larger cycle. This current yuga is Dwapara yuga inside the Kalyuga of the larger cycle.

2012 predictions seem to be apoplyptic christo predictions.
Also, India is missing in all prophecies/predictions. Can someone shed light on whether this is completely bogus or India is not impacted?

No, India appears quite a lot of the times. But as is expected, from predominantly "western" Christian sources and interpretations - India plays a subsidiary role, almost that of a servant in the grand plan of Abrahamic cataclysms. Islamic sources are a bit more lenient - they either identify their own prophet as fulfilling Indian prophecies and therefore all non-Muslim Indians automatically ripe for conversion or they tout the "ghazwa-e-Hind" mixed in with "apocalyptic" stuff to predict fall of India to Islam around 2012.

There are at least two to three sources which give a more active role to India - primarily based on a reinterpretation of Nostradamus with generous help from the literature on Kalki.

Search for "revelation13" for the standard "western" blast, and look for "Antichrist+Kalki+Nostradamus" for the latter.

brihaspati wrote:No, India appears quite a lot of the times. But as is expected, from predominantly "western" Christian sources and interpretations - India plays a subsidiary role, almost that of a servant in the grand plan of Abrahamic cataclysms. Islamic sources are a bit more lenient - they either identify their own prophet as fulfilling Indian prophecies and therefore all non-Muslim Indians automatically ripe for conversion or they tout the "ghazwa-e-Hind" mixed in with "apocalyptic" stuff to predict fall of India to Islam around 2012.

There are at least two to three sources which give a more active role to India - primarily based on a reinterpretation of Nostradamus with generous help from the literature on Kalki.

Search for "revelation13" for the standard "western" blast, and look for "Antichrist+Kalki+Nostradamus" for the latter.

Cool thanks. I'll google it.
What is your perspective on what will happen to desh?

Jarita wrote:2012 predictions seem to be apoplyptic christo predictions.
Also, India is missing in all prophecies/predictions. Can someone shed light on whether this is completely bogus or India is not impacted?
Feb 2013 is the Mahakumbh which occurs every 12 years. This is significant for Hindus and will signify the end of Kaliyug

2012 phenomenon was propagated by the Mayans. Now a less known fact is that Mayan civilization was supposedly Godfathered by their namesake Maya Asur/Danava who was the great architect and astrologer in Indic mythology.

role of Maya asura in construction of a civilization in South America is a less known and even lesser discussed and debated fact.
so it is not as if there is no Indian link.

Jarita wrote:2012 predictions seem to be apoplyptic christo predictions.
Feb 2013 is the Mahakumbh which occurs every 12 years. This is significant for Hindus and will signify the end of Kaliyug

Thanks. Could you refer me to sources? I've been googling the combination Brihaspati gave but have not come across the Mahakumbh reference (I saw it in the India forum link though but the events leading up to that and the consequences thereafter are not elucidated).
I apologize but many of the gurus I have come across are unable to answer questions such as these. They always end up giving obscure responses.
I have a series of questions (references would be great - I'll do the research)
- Is Hindu concept of time linear - are we looking at a sequence Satyug, Treta, Dwapar and Kaliyug? What are the correct timelines? Is the Yukteshwar assessment accurate?
- Will a kalki avatar arise? I just recently got into an arguement with a Guru who said that Krishna did not exist, Mahabharat was symbolic of internal conflict, pandavas were 5 indriyas etc?
-If a Kalki avatar has to arise, it means he exists right now. A lot of bogus folks are claiming that they are Kalki, what is the truth?

Jarita wrote:-If a Kalki avatar has to arise, it means he exists right now. A lot of bogus folks are claiming that they are Kalki, what is the truth?
Then, how will you recognize him?

Concept of time in Indic system is that of a giant circle. It is so giant that for all practical purposes, the time is linear. This is the 28th version of universe. previously, maha-pralay has happened 27 times; that is, the four-yuga cycle as completed 27 times.

Brahma dies after few Manvantara and a new Brahma replaces him. Vishnu lives for certain more years than brahma and dies too, eventually to be replaced by another next Vishnu. I recommend the reading of "Param-Mahan" concept of time given in Srimad-Bhagvatam. Nothing in this universe is constant, except Brahman. It is the ultimate "Sat" which came into existence after moment of creation. What was there before creation?, no body knows and nobody can know. However, it is sure that there was no "Satya" nor there was "Asatya". Perhaps there was zero.. OR perhaps there wasn't..

This is the official stance of Shruti (Rigveda, Nasadiya Sukta Book 10, hymn 129)..

People are calling Mullah Omar, Osama Bin Laden and MMS :rotfl: the third anti christ.
Don't see much of Kalki.

Chiron, am aware of Hindu time sequence as you described it. Not sure if the 4 yugas cannot occur simultaneously.
The time sequences are so long that satyuga is virtually when human beings were closer to being primates. Somehow science and this does not dovetail - unless we escaped another planet and came to earth. That is the only thing that will explain why there are no fossils or signs of developed civilization a few million years ago. An that itself is a pretty far out idea.

Jarita wrote:People are calling Mullah Omar, Osama Bin Laden and MMS :rotfl: the third anti christ.
Don't see much of Kalki.

Chiron, am aware of Hindu time sequence as you described it. Not sure if the 4 yugas cannot occur simultaneously.
The time sequences are so long that satyuga is virtually when human beings were closer to being primates. Somehow science and this does not dovetail - unless we escaped another planet and came to earth. That is the only thing that will explain why there are no fossils or signs of developed civilization a few million years ago. An that itself is a pretty far out idea.
I would recommend not to reconcile this time-cycle with human existence. Human beings are just another species according to Indic system. This time-scale is more in sync with actual time of universe which is hypothesized by modern science.

Indic concept of "Supreme principle" is not anthropomorphic, unlike that of Abrahamic religions whose supreme figure is a distinct sky-daddy with white flowing beard and requires an agent to deal with humans. "Brahman" need not depend upon human beings; rather it need not depend upon anything else. It has no specific function to do, it is just there.

Since existence of civilization, Dharma is given utmost importance by Indic thinkers, above anything else. Dharma and human beings need not have place in universal space and time. One should be proud of our ancestors that they were humble enough to acknowledge that universe and time is infinite and the place of humanity in this giant cosmos is that of a tiny speck of sand in a vast desert. They were not disturbed by this idea, unlike our abrahamic counterparts.

There are times when definitions of Dharma are fairly clear in minds of common abdul. And there are times when common abdul is fairly confused about what Dharma and Adharma is. This state is confusion is called "Glaani of Dharma". The open-ended and free-rationalist society of India have produced great reformers, kings, saints, warriors who have dispelled this confusion from the minds of Abduls and given them a clear definition of Dharma in their space and time. They all are Avatars. One of such people will be Kalki. May be people will accept Kalki. May be not. May be people will accept him as some reformer, teacher but not as avatar. OR may be he has already happened and men mistook him as just a profound teacher and reformer.

Dharma demands that the stories which are being concocted up by the abrahamic religions are to be neutralized as they are used for influencing people and changing demographics. Hence, arrival of Kalki is important. May be he will arrive in coming few years. And people will know that he was Kalki after his death. The sign to look for is, whether Dharma was reinstated OR not? at least whether it was on its path of re installation or not. As long as this is happening, he won't bother about what people call him.

PS. MMS and antichrist? I thought he was supposed to be leader from land of three oceans wearing blue turban and saving the world !!!! :mrgreen:

Can we stick to classical Indian epics and leave the "End of Times" stuff to the Westerners? No more Nostradamnus stuff here. Leave the ones as is.

Thank you. Lovely. I'll get on to the other forum to continue this discussion

Brihaspati ji: You ought to check the Yahoo groups: "The Heathen in His Blindness" http://groups.yahoo.com/group/TheHeathenInHisBlindness/

कृष्णाय वासुदेवाय देवकी नन्दनाय च
नन्दगोपा कुमाराय गोविन्दाय नमोनम ह|

I am not good in Hindi, please correct me:
http://www.google.com/transliterate/indic/HINDI
Krishna's birth is well known.. but he was sent by Vasudev to Earth to bring about blissful love to people, from heavily imbalanced Evil forces taking over, by destroying them.

Govinda was his name in the place called Govardan [not the one on Earth].. he was the only man, and rest were all gopikas and cows, giving only love. He was the embodiment of love and nothing but it.

So, onlee he knows he is the super natural power coming to earth, and none of those thousands of gopikas knew that they are to go to Earth for creating the right balance.

Every living being and Cows came to Earth along with him with totally erased memory.

Agni, Varun, Vaayu et al where totally suprised when Krishna was playing with the boys on Earth one day.. they take human forms, and come down to play with Krishna. Krishna knew who they were. The boys as usual where jumping over Krishna, and these three greats could not since when they were about to jump, they realized its Vasudev, and touch his feet they could not do so.

Krishna, tells them that only by pure love one do something like that. Something that no other stories or kathas or religious text talks about. Don't think about the Mighty Universe (Vasudev), but think about love.

Jarita wrote:

Thanks. Could you refer me to sources? I've been googling the combination Brihaspati gave but have not come across the Mahakumbh reference (I saw it in the India forum link though but the events leading up to that and the consequences thereafter are not elucidated).
http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=5612107567
The Maha Kumbh Mela is held every three years in each of four different locations (Allahabad, Haridwar, Nasik and Ujjain), returning to each of four places every twelve years. Besides the regular Kumbha Mela, an Ardh (half) Kumbha Mela (festival) takes place six years after the Maha Kumbh in each location. The Maha Kumbha Mela will again be held at Allahabad (Prayag) in the year 2013. This is a group of individuals who are interested in attending the Allahabad Maha Kumbh in 2013.

http://www.kumbhamela.net/ardh-kumbh-mela-2007.html

http://www.kumbhmela.org/KM10home.html
http://www.kumbhmela.org/KM24Dsatpic.html

Chiron _> source for saying where Vishnu dies?