BR Forums Feedback

Re: BR Forums Feedback

KMohan wrote:I don't know if it is appropriate to post here. Cam mods please change my nick to MKumar.
Done

hmm... wierd does not show up on the forum though... Rahul or someone else, can u pls check to see if I've screwed up somewhere... Don't think so, however.
M Kumar

Post by M Kumar »

Thanks JE Menon that was quick.

JE Menon wrote:
KMohan wrote:I don't know if it is appropriate to post here. Cam mods please change my nick to MKumar.
Done

hmm... wierd does not show up on the forum though... Rahul or someone else, can u pls check to see if I've screwed up somewhere... Don't think so, however.
saar jee, unfortunately that didn't work because MKumar is already taken.

changed to M Kumar.
M Kumar

Post by M Kumar »

saar jee, unfortunately that didn't work because MKumar is already taken.

changed to M Kumar.

Then change it to Mohan Kumar Saaar to avoid confusions (of course if you don't mind)

we can live with a small amount of confusion. after all, we may have a mohan kumar in the near future too.
M Kumar

Post by M Kumar »

we can live with a small amount of confusion. after all, we may have a mohan kumar in the near future too.
No problems, my only concern was the confusion and hope he doesn't take credit for my posts.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

M Kumar wrote:
No problems, my only concern was the confusion and hope he doesn't take credit for my posts.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Think positive. He might get some of the warnings or bans meant for you. :mrgreen:

archan wrote:Think positive. He might get some of the warnings or bans meant for you. :mrgreen:
Touche!
Sorry, couldn't resist :D

"archan"]
M Kumar wrote:we can live with a small amount of confusion. after all, we may have a mohan kumar in the near future too.

Think positive. He might get some of the warnings or bans meant for you. :mrgreen:
Too much!

Akshut

Post by Akshut »

Dear old(on the board) BRFites!

Did the title for US - 'Unkil', came up at BRF?

I saw some pakis using it in junior Deaf-n-Dumb, when referring to US. :shock:
Are they getting kuffr-flu unknowingly. :rotfl:

Akshut wrote:Dear old(on the board) BRFites!

Now that you have visited Deaf-n-Dumb, please cover your mouth when you sneeze here :wink:
Akshut

Post by Akshut »

vaman wrote:
Akshut wrote:Dear old(on the board) BRFites!

Now that you have visited Deaf-n-Dumb, please cover your mouth when you sneeze here :wink:
Don't worry Vaman-ullah ji...

I know I've got enough immunity by daily dose of BENIS dhaga. :mrgreen:

I think its high time private messages be enabled for everyone. This imho will help members sort out personal differences on board with other members or mods before things go out of control (I believe people behave and converse very differently in private as against on a Jingo forum where at times people tend to come across as arrogant and harsh just to make a point and be heard by everyone :( ) .As for the argument about people taking certain discussions offline well it should not be an issue as we know people do/can do that in any case.

[quote="negi"][/quote]
Woh sab to theek hai, but why didn't you show up at the meet? kafir.

Sorry sirji

I was looking forward to meet the who's who of BRF more than anyone else , but some of my 'chaddi' friends came down to my place hence could not make it.Hopefully we can plan something again in near future .

I was visiting Amazon today and there was a big splash about wishlists people had created over the past year. Given that On BRF we have a number of engineers who are good in their respective fields and also users who have on ground experience with various eqipment, can we in the MIL forum therefore, create wishlists for futuristic weapons, for example read up on available open source literature and then conjure a practical application for the theory. For example I was reading somewhere how UWB radars were used for scouring grounds in Bosnia for weapons.

It appears to me that new member Umrao Das is the same as John Snow, who used to be John Umrao, who used to be spinster

Are forum members allowed to have two identities? A mere change of name should reflect across all previous posts - but John Snow still exists on the database.

Note that others have been disallowed from having two identities.

if two identities are I would like an alternative identity as well.
veerav

Post by veerav »

Jagan, thanks for cleaning up some bad language in the LCA thread. But, may I know the reason for deleting my post?

suryag wrote:I was visiting Amazon today and there was a big splash about wishlists people had created over the past year. Given that On BRF we have a number of engineers who are good in their respective fields and also users who have on ground experience with various eqipment, can we in the MIL forum therefore, create wishlists for futuristic weapons, for example read up on available open source literature and then conjure a practical application for the theory. For example I was reading somewhere how UWB radars were used for scouring grounds in Bosnia for weapons.
If there is enough information on such weapons for a separate thread, go ahead and start one. In Econ forum we have a thread on leapfrog technologies; the Mil forum can have one of its own too. Just be sure it does not turn into hot air, we already have enough of that in the strat. :mrgreen:
PS: shiv ji, you know well what we think about two identities. If it were for me, then any member with two identities would be banned permanently, on both their identities. But I think I am in minority on that one. Anyways, RahulM has banned John Snow.

Thanks archan but I was hoping to get a second identity as FakRuddin so that I could make some posts as shiv and get F.uddin to say "Good post by shiv!" and " I agree wholeheartedly with shiv" or get F. to appear at timely intervals with some breaking news only to say "shiv had anticipated this long ago. Congratulations shiv"

:(( Sorry. Should go in the whine thread I guess.

Yes, and I am sure you would have "Fakhr" (pride) on Miyan Fakruddin. :mrgreen:
Rupesh

Post by Rupesh »

Admins..
Yesterday after posting one IB4TL, my post count was 230. Today after getting the opportunity to repeat the same my post count is still at 230. Any bug in the software. :(( :((

Post counts go down when threads in which users have posted are deleted. It is likely that the thread where you IB4TL'd was deleted.
But I never understood one thing, what is this fascination with post counts?

archan wrote:Post counts go down when threads in which users have posted are deleted. It is likely that the thread where you IB4TL'd was deleted.
Isn't it ironic that ppl IB4TL on a thread when they know that their posts won't increase by IB4TL'ing :D :D

perhaps along with post counts, we need lines of texts (LoT) and lenth of posts (LoP) too. just to see, how people fancy these numbers as well.

Jagan garu you have a mail (gmail id).

The text on New Post button on the right side should be changed to New Thread or something similar. It gets confusing at times.

jamwal wrote:The text on New Post button on the right side should be changed to New Thread or something similar. It gets confusing at times.
In fact if you change your default viewing theme of the forum, the buttons change. I selected a "Sublite" theme in the UserCP -> Board preferences and now I see the buttons both at the left, one says "New Topic" and one says "Post Reply".
So far I like this theme after years of staring at gray webpages.

jamwal wrote:The text on New Post button on the right side should be changed to New Thread or something similar. It gets confusing at times.
Good suggestion, but may take some time to implement.

Jagan wrote:
this is the __th time you are getting this good suggestion ? :D

Jagan wrote:[

Hey all the (n-1) suggestions were about the position of the button. This is the first one about the actual button image!
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

how come BR server is located in UK?
and BRF in US?

jaladipc wrote:how come BR server is located in UK?
and BRF in US?
CIA
vijyeta

Post by vijyeta »

and BRF in US?
Why are you located in Canada?

Be Indian, buy Indian!

However, the server is in the UK and BRF located in the US, most members are Indian or Indian origin is because of our modest effort to help globalisation and make it a global village since we are all villagers - the BRF village! :mrgreen:

Shiv was the CIA mole?!
Srivastav

Post by Srivastav »

Jagan wrote:

Hey all the (n-1) suggestions were about the position of the button. This is the first one about the actual button image!
It appears that BRF is using this button set (http://www.phpbbhacks.com/download/838)
Now this set also has a button called "new topic". The easiest way to change 'new post' to 'new topic' would be by making the file name of the "new topic" button exactly same as the "new post" and then uploading that image.

Iam sure the many ity-vity kind on BRF can do it in a jiffy, unless its a ploy by the ebil jirga to keep the jingo's alert.

Jagan wrote:
Rahul M wrote: this is the __th time you are getting this good suggestion ? :D
errr... no jagan. we have been crying for changing the wording from "new post" to "new thread" for the last one year.
My lord, I think I can unearth numerous posts and one email as evidence. :D

in fact, no one said a word about the position of the button till you changed the position couple of weeks back. I'm still mystified (and I'm sure many BRFites share this mystification) as to why you changed the position of the buttons. :wink:
jaladipc

Post by jaladipc »

vijyeta wrote:
and BRF in US?
Why are you located in Canada?
so you failed to pull my France,US,Indian,UK ip? :rotfl:
vijyeta

Post by vijyeta »

jaladipc wrote:
so you failed to pull my France,US,Indian,UK ip? :rotfl:
Paarth, the question was rhetorical - and based on the very visible 'location' on your profile.
I am way too old to be pulling anything but my grey hair

archan wrote:Post counts go down when threads in which users have posted are deleted. It is likely that the thread where you IB4TL'd was deleted.
Oh, come on Archan!! I fought the evil borg, and even wrote a novel. Doesn't that tell you something?

(but never ever did the evil IB***)