Indian Core: Ideas and descriptions-I

Re: Indian Core: Ideas and descriptions-I

brihaspati ji: Time to return to the "Indian core" discussions :?: If Ramanuja and Sankara could not agree, who am I. Just a chotta baccha.

Is "Indian core" defined as the values of an "Indian core" -> by default does it mean Gangetic Plains people? Or does it designate a block of people who have shared values with differences -> by default people following Indic traditions.

What are Core values? An organization perspective.

Core values from a Business perspective
Operating philosophies or principles that guide an organization's internal conduct as well as its relationship with the external world. Core values are usually summarized in the mission statement or in the statement of core values.
Let us take a look at our Constitution Preamble
WE, THE PEOPLE OF INDIA, having solemnly resolved to constitute India into a [1]SOVEREIGN SOCIALIST SECULAR DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC and to secure to all its citizens:

JUSTICE, social, economic and political;
LIBERTY of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship;
EQUALITY of status and of opportunity;
and to promote among them all
FRATERNITY assuring the dignity of the individual and the [2]unity and integrity of the Nation;

IN OUR CONSTITUENT ASSEMBLY this twenty-sixth day of November, 1949, do HEREBY ADOPT, ENACT AND GIVE TO OURSELVES THIS CONSTITUTION.

In the above:
[1]: Subs. by the Constitution (Forty-second Amendment) Act, 1976, s. 2, for "SOVEREIGN DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC" (w.e.f. 3-1-1977).
[2]: Subs. by s. 2, ibid., for "unity of the Nation" (w.e.f. 3-1-1977).

SwamyG wrote
brihaspati ji:
Naughty! and unfair! you demanded to drop the -ji (not to me but in general). Now that I go for it, you tag the ji back to me? :D
Time to return to the "Indian core" discussions :?: If Ramanuja and Sankara could not agree, who am I. Just a chotta baccha.
Ah, so I have managed to confuse you about what I subscribe to? That "quest" is a personal one, and with all humility, no Shankara or Ramanuja will convince me until I convince myself. That I think is still a long way off.
Is "Indian core" defined as the values of an "Indian core" -> by default does it mean Gangetic Plains people? Or does it designate a block of people who have shared values with differences -> by default people following Indic traditions.
No it cannot be the proprietary asset of one particular region. It resides in people in the form of a concept and an idea. It could be found in the frozen wastes of the Tibetan plateau or a tip of the AnaiMudi. Moreover, I would be rather cautious about taking everything being practised or held as a belief as being necessarily part of the core. They could be impositions and deriving from specific historical peculiarities.

It is true that mission statement is a form of expressing the core. But core is also just not a statement of objectives, it is also a framework to create, generate and evaluate objectives appropriate for each given situation.

The Constitution of India is a rather sensitive object to start with! My first critique will be that it does not contain any evaluatory system by which different ojectives or criteria can be relatively ranked in terms of priority. It suffers from exactly those weaknesses which are shared by all "law texts". They have to be concrete enough to be applicable to specific time, place and people. Thus the Indian constitution cannot distinguish and order between different social and immunity claims by different faiths. It has no way of establishing the superiority of the Right to Free Speech say, on the one hand, and the right of religions to claim immunity from any criticism or non-favourale discussion on the other. Thus justice and equality for all can be challenged by separate justices in civil law for different communities.

Brihaspati ji: Let me give one more link that I found during my search. This defines the "Indian Core Values" from a Marketing and Consumerism perspective.
Consumer Behaviour and Branding:Concepts, Readings And Cases - The Indian Context
Core values are those (i) which are adopted by a significant number of people (ii) which are enduring and are follwed by people for a long period of time and (iii) which enable marketers to understand the behavior of consumers.
I will just list the main areas, Ramesh Kumar (the author) points out:
1) Family-Orientation
2) Savings
3) Festivities - Celebration of festivals

He goes to describe several characteristics.
samuel

Post by samuel »

To me, The Indian Core consists of
a. must become engineer or doctor.
b. go to usa or uk (or germany and grudgingly, australia and nz).
c. ms or double ms, phd, mba.
d. Have lots of money or lots of power.
d. when are you coming home...

Brihaspati ji:
One of the core Indian values is to respect elders :-)) No you did not confuse me, I had my own interpretations; but just did not want to get into that subject in this thread.

Yudhajit wrote:Shiv sir, you have coined the term Indic core, you define it.
Here is a word search result for Indic core. Please see how many times it was used before I butted in
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/search ... id%5B%5D=1

Yudhajit wrote:If a certain skill is available in plenty, it's value will go down. With too many people eager to take up the same kind of job, exploitation will eventually creep in. That is inevitable, unless the govt enforces certain minimum standards. Why do you think minimum wages exist in the US. They do not suffer from any Indic core syndrome, or do they? Why do you think employers there honor the laws, and here they don't?
Two points

1) You are still trying IMO to pass off humans as a commodity.This has been a fundamental aspect of human behavior that is, in fact mentioned as a very matter of fact thing to do in the Koran - i.e using humans as a commodity (as slaves). The same Koran is purported to be the fount of egalitarianism. Indian culture too does not seem to find any specific problem with using humans as a commodity. There appears to be nothing special in Indian attitudes that look upon using humans as a commodity at the going market rate. The morality of this is a separate discussion - but the fact that humans are treated as commodities is once again being accepted and justified by you.

2) You have said "That is inevitable, unless the govt enforces certain minimum standards" . EXACTLY!! And this is the point that I have found very ve-ry difficult to get across. The Indian government is made up of Indians who are Indic to the core and they are incapable of bringing about change because the fundamental values of the people who make up the government (from small moffusil offices to the center) are accepting and tolerant of the abuse of humans as a commodity. It is part of their core culture, their core attitudes and they do not see what is wrong. They are blind to it.

When I accuse the "Indic core" of being faulty I am not accusing forum members who are sticking up for it but I am accusing the vast mass of people - including almost the entire government machinery - who together represent the "Indic core" of having faulty attitudes. They just don't realise what they are perpetuating. Unless those attitudes are changed India can never come up IMHO

The core values of Indic civilization...read abt them somewhere....are (in the descending order of priority)
aayu, vidya, yasho, balam
So first, deference to age/seniority. In case disagreements etc, the views of the more senior person by age would be seen to have more weight.

Then, defer to vidya or theoretical knowledge. The more learned person (more degrees) has a greater weight for his views.

Then, defer to Yash - I interpret this to mean reputation built on competence.

Finally, when all fails, defer to 'bal' - force. The stronger guy is right.

Ideally, the order of priority should have been Yash, vidya, ayu and bal. IMVVHO, of course.

brihaspati wrote: Naughty! and unfair! you demanded to drop the -ji (not to me but in general). Now that I go for it, you tag the ji back to me? :D
This reply is not specifically directed at brihaspati, but on the general subject of the use of suffixes like "ji" and "garu" The formalism of Indian languages demands that people give each other a degree of respect - so the suffix "-ji" does not indicate that i think you are an old codger like my grandpa used to be (before he attained the lotus feet of the almighty :lol: )

Towards the last stages of my education in India and before I travelled the seven seas - my peers who had gone abroad earlier proudly stressed on me the fact that "In phoren there is no need to call your boss "Sir". They were factually correct but they were taking false pride in being able to address their teachers in first person when they were talking about a cultural difference. It is part of the "Indic core" to address others with a "ji" or a "garu" as a suffix. Trying to weasel out of being addressed that way is completely unnecessary. For example any one of us on here may have been addressed as "ji" even as youngsters while talking to a shop assistant or a watchman. When such a person uses it the usage is perfectly natural and you may have addressed him in a similar way. I doubt if anyone wasted bandwidth in arguing with the guy and asking him to drop the "-ji"

SwamyG - which would you find more appropriate if you visited me in my home and heard me saying to you:

"Vanakkam Swamy. Vaango"
"Ullai vaaya Swamy"

Hari Seldon wrote:
Ideally, the order of priority should have been Yash, vidya, ayu and bal. IMVVHO, of course.
Well said - Hari. I think you have got the priorities right and I have learned something from you.

shiv wrote: When I accuse the "Indic core" of being faulty I am not accusing forum members who are sticking up for it but I am accusing the vast mass of people - including almost the entire government machinery - who together represent the "Indic core" of having faulty attitudes. They just don't realise what they are perpetuating. Unless those attitudes are changed India can never come up IMHO
Actually the people who deleted up the country real bad were the westernized elites like Jawaharlal Nehru, through lunatic policies and vicious corruption. Their horrific failures, which deprived millions or a basic standard of living, were blamed on the Indic core by using labels like "Hindu rate of growth".
Last edited by RayC on 20 Oct 2009 10:01, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: using unparliamentary language be avoided.

Pranav wrote: Actually the people whodeleted up the country real bad were the westernized elites like Jawaharlal Nehru, through lunatic policies and vicious corruption. Their horrific failures, which deprived millions or a basic standard of living, were blamed on the Indic core by using labels like "Hindu rate of growth".
One Word: Socialism.
Nehruvian Socialism

Lot of winding post will come to explain that Nehru is not here. The fact is socialism is a western invention which has no place in India.
Even if Nehru is not here the socialism has been implanted deep inside the policymaking and the poverty has remained for 60 years.

The new argument is to skip the socialist record of the past 60 years after independence from 1947 as old and not relavent. The ruling group and the the current ruling generation wants to perpetuate the socialism and all the evils of socialist policy making even after 60 years. The rich and the industrial class which has taken power with the political elite makes money but keep the masses under the socialist policy
Last edited by svinayak on 21 Oct 2009 01:01, edited 3 times in total.

Pranav wrote: Actually the people who deleted up the country real bad were the westernized elites like Jawaharlal Nehru, through lunatic policies and vicious corruption. Their horrific failures, which deprived millions or a basic standard of living, were blamed on the Indic core by using labels like "Hindu rate of growth".
Pranav - I am not disputing what you are saying. I am trying to point out that no "matter who deleted up the country" teh problem now lies elsewhere and blaming the original guy who did that is going to get us nowhere.

I will use an analogy

Imagine a guy with cholera who defecates into a town's drinking water supply. Once the bugs get in the water - nearly the whole own is infected and sick. At this stage someone comes up and says "Deepak contaminated the water supply". At this stage - even if Deepak is alive - it is too late. The entire town is infected. It hardly matters if Deepak contaminated the water or Mehul contaminated the water. The town is deleted.

India attitudes regarding using other humans as a commodity are so widespread and rampant that we need a fundamental change in attitudes. The entire nation is infected. I gave an example of 13 year old servant girl working 24x7. That example is so common that I estimate that 90% of government servants, judiciary and Police in India do not see anything wrong with that. They may pay lip service, but at home it is business as usual - market forces and cheap humans.

There are well known standards of how much food a family must get to feed a baby or a small child and the amount of money that family will need to meet that standard. Because of market forces, a family with fewer mouths to feed can work for less than a family with more mouths. The latter family will be forced to seek work that pays less than they need and depending on family dynamics, someone or the other will starve - often the girl child, leading to death.

Death itself is not seen as an end in the India ethos and even death means nothing to many Indians because Indian philosophy explains why death is not a problem. In some instances - this attitude is a liability. An Indic millstone around Indic necks.

shiv wrote: SwamyG - which would you find more appropriate if you visited me in my home and heard me saying to you:

"Vanakkam Swamy. Vaango"
"Ullai vaaya Swamy"
The second sentence is usually used with very intimate people - very close friends and relatives. Also it could be used to show a sense of hierarchy.

If you are elder or in my age range +/- 3 years to me, then I would prefer : Ullai vapa Swamy or Ullai va Swamy. The word Vaango has a distinct tamil brahmin dialect, not many would use it. So I would not mind Vaanga if you are like 10+ years younger to me. :mrgreen:
Yudhajit

Post by Yudhajit »

1) You are still trying IMO to pass off humans as a commodity.This has been a fundamental aspect of human behavior that is, in fact mentioned as a very matter of fact thing to do in the Koran - i.e using humans as a commodity (as slaves). The same Koran is purported to be the fount of egalitarianism. Indian culture too does not seem to find any specific problem with using humans as a commodity. There appears to be nothing special in Indian attitudes that look upon using humans as a commodity at the going market rate. The morality of this is a separate discussion - but the fact that humans are treated as commodities is once again being accepted and justified by you.
The services offered by humans are like commodities. Humans are not commodities. I don't know why you brought in slavery and Koran. Services can have their own demand and supply equilibriums, just like commodities. People get paid as per the market rate of the services they offer. They are treated as per the skills they possess. But yes, in some cases people do forget that they have only bought a service, not a human being. That's where laws of the land have to step in. This behavior is not unique to Indian society, and blaming some Indic core will not lead to any solution.
2) You have said "That is inevitable, unless the govt enforces certain minimum standards" . EXACTLY!! And this is the point that I have found very ve-ry difficult to get across. The Indian government is made up of Indians who are Indic to the core and they are incapable of bringing about change because the fundamental values of the people who make up the government (from small moffusil offices to the center) are accepting and tolerant of the abuse of humans as a commodity. It is part of their core culture, their core attitudes and they do not see what is wrong. They are blind to it.
Leaders of our country made some mistakes during the initial years after independence. They did away with the Jury system, they did not make Police force accountable to the citizens, they did not implement right to recall. Now we are too deep into the mess. People who are in power, are in power precisely because the current system suits them. They would never, ever want anything to change. If there is anything that can bring about a change in the core values of people who make up the government, it is these reforms.

Yudhajit wrote: Leaders of our country made some mistakes during the initial years after independence. They did away with the Jury system, they did not make Police force accountable to the citizens, they did not implement right to recall. Now we are too deep into the mess. People who are in power, are in power precisely because the current system suits them. They would never, ever want anything to change, unless they are pushed really hard. Only these kind of reforms can bring about a fundamental change in the core values of people who make up the government.
I repeat my allegation although you have clearly explained your disagreement with me. There are fundamental issues with the "core behavior and attitudes" of a huge percentage of Indians. You may dislike my blaming Indian core values but that does not deter me from pointing out that certain core values in India do exist and some are positively harmful to India. The fact that the same problems might exist elsewhere is of no consequence to my view on this.

India, and Indian views of the world really are different and unique. That is easier to swallow as long as good things are said, but more difficult to swallow when dirt is raked up.

Fundamental reforms can come only after changing core attitudes. The greater the number of individuals whose core values are modified, the greater will be the impact, but it is also time critical because new children are being born every day and they become teenagers and adults while we are still busy trying to teach government servants right from wrong

I am content with disagreeing with your view on this. If you have any further need to discuss despite open disagreement, please post and I will answer to the best of my ability.
Yudhajit

Post by Yudhajit »

Shiv saar, no problemo. I enjoy reading your opinions and will continue to lurk around.

i agree with shiv on the basic ailment of india. lack of respect -- what an irony! we talk about respecting elders as the hallmark of our culture etc and here i am saying that the ailment is lack of respect.

a famous quip in TN when a old man is doing something that might "slow down" people -- enna perusu thalli po -- old man move away.

whenever i go to india on vacation -- one thing that strikes me is the coldness of people. they dont smile that much, greet that much at all. we are either too busy - which i find hard to believe or something is just not right.

There are well known standards of how much food a family must get to feed a baby or a small child and the amount of money that family will need to meet that standard. Because of market forces, a family with fewer mouths to feed can work for less than a family with more mouths. The latter family will be forced to seek work that pays less than they need and depending on family dynamics, someone or the other will starve - often the girl child, leading to death.

Death itself is not seen as an end in the India ethos and even death means nothing to many Indians because Indian philosophy explains why death is not a problem. In some instances - this attitude is a liability. An Indic millstone around Indic necks.
Indian plilosophy explains how death is not a full stop, but also explains how human life is a priceless opportunity to grow. So don't put the blame at the door of Indian philosophy.

But yes, we do have a problem - the destitution, the corruption, the garbage strewn everywhere - all of those are symptoms of the lack of a feeling of civic responsibility.

From where does this attitude come? Partly it comes from the behavior of the westernized elite who were installed as ruling classes by the colonial powers. When the Minister sees that the Prime Minister is corrupt, why should the minister not help himself? Not a single Minister or bureaucrat is ever punished. And that attitude trickles all the way down to the lowliest peon.

A second factor is that we have not had self-rule for past 800 years or so, the ruling elites were rapacious and violent, and the only semblance of security was in caste and clan loyalties. This also led to a lack of civic responsibility and pride, and it has sunk very deeply into our social attitudes.

OT-deleted
Last edited by svenkat on 20 Oct 2009 16:08, edited 1 time in total.

Shiv wrote
India attitudes regarding using other humans as a commodity are so widespread and rampant that we need a fundamental change in attitudes. The entire nation is infected. I gave an example of 13 year old servant girl working 24x7. That example is so common that I estimate that 90% of government servants, judiciary and Police in India do not see anything wrong with that. They may pay lip service, but at home it is business as usual - market forces and cheap humans.
Why do they do that? This 90% of the govt servants you say are nothing but the continuation of the attituteds which was present during British Raj and the Arab/turk/mongol rulers or whatever ruled India for last 1000 years.
There might have been exploitations before these 1000 years but they were seen as something wrong. During the last 1000 years it was seen by the elite as their right. The one who is more powerful will exploit the one down below. We just are seeing the continuation of the same. If you have authority(danda) everyone will bow to you if not they will step on you.

Shiv : Now look at the example of a "wealthy man" in India (Income US $ 6000, six thousand a year plus house) who needs to have his house-work done. Typically he will employ a man or a woman whose condition might have been otherwise have been that of the woman "L" in Brihaspati's memoir. I can list at least 20 houses near where live where this is being done. This is true of million of homes across India. On the face of it the arrangement looks good. The entire family of the servant is accommodated in a "servant's quarter" - usually a single room. Since the family are getting accommodation, free water and electricity, the salary can be kept low - often below Rs 2000 a month (US $ 250 a year) . Since India ethos is that work needs to be dome every day, the woman of the servant family is available 24 x 7 to do housework. In the morning she does the cleaning and laundry and last thing at night she does the dishes.There is no "weekly day off" No Sunday holiday. The only way the family can get away is to return to their village for "festivals" - at which time their salary is cut. The husband may double up as gardener or watchman - but he may be allowed to work outside.

Yudhajit: What you have described above is the result of perfect market competition . Do you think workers in the west are treated relatively better because their employers are more generous? Blaming an imaginary 'Indic core' for the behavior is just a wasteful exercise, typical of an Indic intellectual onlee.
AWMTA :) . The servant has to accept this deal, as no one else is paying Rs 2500 . And why is no one willing to pay Rs 2500? Because poverty, under-employment etc is so high, that if I give ad for servant for Rs 2000 a month, I get 100 phone calls, if I give address in that ad, then 100 more will show up without phone call. Demand and supply.

And forget this problem, EVERY "problem" you see in India, that West solved, is ONLY because of differences in administrative structure and laws , and has NOTHING to do with culture (aka core). Culture is NOT the reason

Culture (aka Indic core in this thread) exists, but culture is useless as culture does no good and culture does no harm.

IOW, Culture is like God. We all know God exists. But we all also know that so far, as far as anyone can see, hear or tell, God did nothing good and did nothing harmful.

==========
rkirankr wrote:.... This 90% of the govt servants you say are nothing but the continuation of the attituteds which was present during British Raj and the Arab/turk/mongol rulers or whatever ruled India for last 1000 years. There might have been exploitations before these 1000 years but they were seen as something wrong. During the last 1000 years it was seen by the elite as their right. The one who is more powerful will exploit the one down below. We just are seeing the continuation of the same. If you have authority (danda) everyone will bow to you if not they will step on you.
Errr ... Blaming Arabs, Turks and British for what babu do today is like blaming Britishers for collapse of a railway bridge they made 100 years ago that too with a stipulated life of 60 years.

The problem is very few understand are even aware that this bridge is not built by "us" meaning Bharatiyas and we have internalised them as our own. FYI today's Babu is still called "collector". Collecting what?

V_Raman wrote:i agree with shiv on the basic ailment of india. lack of respect -- what an irony! we talk about respecting elders as the hallmark of our culture etc and here i am saying that the ailment is lack of respect.

a famous quip in TN when a old man is doing something that might "slow down" people -- enna perusu thalli po -- old man move away.

whenever i go to india on vacation -- one thing that strikes me is the coldness of people. they dont smile that much, greet that much at all. we are either too busy - which i find hard to believe or something is just not right.
That is not a trait of India - in busy places, one does not get that much attention. 'Perusu thalli po' type of quips are not the norm. And that is not an ailment that keeps India lagging. Lament on the loss or erosion of values is a cross-cultural phenomenon.

by Hari Seldon
Yash, vidya, ayu and bal.
Excellent!!! But...

What is Yash? is it Competence or Fame?
What is Vidya? Is it acquired knowledge or acquired certificates from various schools?
What is Ayu? Is it aged respect or your time on earth irrespective of what you have done?
What is Bal? Is it your own personal Mental/Physical strength or Hired strength (goons)?

Sandeep
Umrao Das

Post by Umrao Das »

What Indric core values with out me?

Shivji is excellent, as he can easily weave piskology, Marxism, nationalism, secularism, Hinduism, Islamism and to give higher yields he even applies boosted fission by adding a bit of sarcasm.

Human exploitation exists every where, during the 1960s and 1970s everybody who was cleaning floors and toilets in Heathrow was Indian or Paki.

Then came the Gulf surge (1974 Yom Kippur war and oil shock) every ayah in gulf was a Indian woman, mason ( not James) carpenter ( not the pop group) were from India, they are still there exploited.

Take the case of Mexicans in USA they are exploited, why even Indian workers were living in enclosed sweat shops in Houston TX till some brother Mallu with Marxist Leninist inspiration (residue from home revolted) started hunger strike.

You talk less about China the better.

Money is the core value aka Crores are core of the matter.

Dhanam moolam idam Jagat, other wise why become a Dr.

But still all said and done USA has lot more charities and lot more souls who care for the fellow citizens.

I dont know how many crores YSR can disgest distribute to his kith and kin, I dont know how many crores SG Lallu Patil BCCI chief can digest but I have never seen any big donations from Ambani etc new rich to institutions or human welfare or development.

You may dislike my blaming Indian core values but that does not deter me from pointing out that certain core values in India do exist and some are positively harmful to India. The fact that the same problems might exist elsewhere is of no consequence to my view on this.
I still dont understand what "Indic core values" (whatever they might be ) have got to do with this. You have not coined the term, but you are using them. The issues that you have brought about regarding exploitation, lack of minimum wage etc are universal, what is "Indic" (whatever that means) about them?

There was an excellent article some days ago about exploitation of Indians in Dubai. Stray incidents of exploitation are reported in the West. The less said about Middle East and Africa, the better. IMHO, exploitation is a basic human trait, if given the opportunity every one will do it. Your argument is somewhat on this lines:

Stones sink in water in India
Stones sink in water elsewhere in the world too, but "its of no consequence to my view on this"
Indic core is to be blamed for stone sinking in India.

Yes, definitely agree with you that attitudes in India need to change. But blaming something called Indic core for this is strange, especially if you have not defined it completely yet. (Or maybe you have, could you point me towards a link that defines it since you use it regularly?)

I agree with Rahul Mehta on this actually:
And forget this problem, EVERY "problem" you see in India, that West solved, is ONLY because of differences in administrative structure and laws , and has NOTHING to do with culture (aka core). Culture is NOT the reason

Culture (aka Indic core in this thread) exists, but culture is useless as culture does no good and culture does no harm.

IOW, Culture is like God. We all know God exists. But we all also know that so far, as far as anyone can see, hear or tell, God did nothing good and did nothing harmful.
Well said... see, I dont disagree with you all the time, we agree on other points as well!

Snow garu: I respect you so much, please leave out teasing or taunting Shiv. You two might be the best friends behind the scenes and wouldn't mind pulling each others legs for all we know. But hopefully jest does not pull down this thread. And if you are not friends, it is all the more important that you don't do what you are doing.

Tanaji Indian culture (in my view) prevents the setting up of a just and efficient administration such as the one Rahul Mehta yearns for. The theory is all there, the laws are there but India has a very "backward" culture that prevents the implementation of even existing laws like child labor, womens rights and minimum wage.

The law makers and the law enforcers are also law breakers. In India any law designed to stop some form of exploitation treads on the toes of so many people that the law cannot be implemented. The culture in India is one of exploitation, flouting of laws and apathy. For the purpose of this post I will not launch off into how a culture of exploitation translates into a body of desperate deprived people who have to stay down.

A lot of posts have been made in this thread trying to define certain core characteristics of India, or "Indic core" culture (Cultural characteristics pertaining to India). All that I am doing is to point out that the culture of apathy and exploitation among Indians could also be called "Indic culture" and part of the core behavior that defines Indians. The culture of exploitation and apathy are widespread among Indians. Why should anyone shy away from calling that culture part of the "Indic core" (or Indian core, if you like) ? Other than feelings of shame, embarrassment and anger at what are plain facts, there is no reason (in my view) to deny that the culture of exploitation and apathy are Indic culture.

As Rahul Mehta himself points out it matters little whether this core culture of apathy and exploitation came from Norway or Arabia. it is now part of India. IMO right down to the core.

India survives on a strange blend of ancient core laws and modern laws - each being implemented and used where convenient. This results in a chronically dysfunctional state. The Indian paradigm/blend is not useless. It works, but it makes India sub-optimal. And in being suboptimal it gives a place for suboptimal people to survive and thrive. The mediocre is given a a place in India - it is not ruthlessly discarded. And the nation pays a price for its own unique character that allows everything to survive - mediocrity and excellence, exploitation and selfless service. This is part of the "indic core'

Snow gaaru,

You are a legend in the forum.Your ability is known to everyone here.

Yet,I have to second SwamyG's remarks.The one on Dr,Dhanam was not in good taste,to put it mildly.

krishnapremi wrote:Snow gaaru,

You are a legend in the forum.Your ability is known to everyone here.

Yet,I have to second SwamyG's remarks.The one on Dr,Dhanam was not in good taste,to put it mildly.
Shiv, Amit, Umrao have all been at it frankly. Shiv brought up the Fakhruddin angle implying Umrao and Snow are supporting each other instead of just asking one of the IDs to be closed. Amit cannot let go of Arun_s' ghost. Snow cant do that either ..

Viv:
It does not matter what happens in the other threads. Lots of mud was flung by many people. Let the gurus not bring their differences from other threads into this thread.

All: This thread is under "Strategic Issues & International Relations" forum; and in my opinion, the first few pages of this thread was discussing 'Indian core' from that perspective. So let us keep that in the perspective.

SwamyG wrote:Viv:
It does not matter what happens in the other threads. Lots of mud was flung by many people. Let the gurus not bring their differences from other threads into this thread.

All: This thread is under "Strategic Issues & International Relations" forum; and in my opinion, the first few pages of this thread was discussing 'Indian core' from that perspective. So let us keep that in the perspective.
SwamyG, Agree. Was only saying that this is angst spilling from other threads.

(edited.)

JwalaMukhi wrote:
There are two ways to look at this. One is like: physicians depend on patients and hence they encourage people to be sick. The other is physicians are just forced to treat all the sickness that exists in the world. Physicians do not prescribe sickness, but may accept sickness as part of existence.

I don't know if you are a physician but this may be a better example that you imagined. In India physicians are respected but not paid well. For this reason increased sickness is to their advantage. In many Western nations physicians are paid so well that they genuinely seek reduction in ill health.

The connection being postulated between Western physicians' salaries and their "genuine" quest for reducing ill health is demonstrably bogus.

In countries with a National Health Service this might be true to some extent. But in the US (where physicians get paid far more money than say the UK or France which have government-subsidized healthcare)... they don't have a healthcare system at all. They have a Disease Management Cartel.

A lot of people make money out of disease in the USA. (Perfect market competition, anyone?) Not just the doctors, nor even the pharmaceutical and health insurance companies, but even lawyers who specialize in medical malpractice. Which causes the doctors to charge still more so that they can pay still more to still other insurance companies for medical malpractice insurance.

All of these institutions' profits would be history if genuine reduction in ill-health were adopted and conscientiously pursued as a societal goal.

This commodification of health care in the United States is something in which all people, even the consumer/patients, are ultimately complicit. It is a direct result of the American "core" of freedoms, individual liberties/responsibilities, free-market capitalism and of course litigation. The US, at its core, is a litigophobocracy (government through fear of lawsuits).

When the first American patient who lost a fingertip from a doctor's mistake realized he could sue the doctor for millions of dollars, and went to see a lawyer... the commodification intensified exponentially. In a society where people are willing to put dollar amounts on "pain and suffering" etc. etc., trust and respect for institutions... such as the institution of medical practice itself... become attenuated proportionally.

There is also a distinct atmosphere of fear and cover-your-a$$ bureaucracy surrounding the business of falling sick in the USA. One has to plan a sickness weeks in advance. Getting an appointment with a doctor can be a matter of waiting many weeks, as opposed to same-day call-ins or even walk-in appointments being common in India. That's why the Emergency Departments at hospitals are overwhelmed.

Even once you get an appointment with an American doctor, your visit will last an hour for maybe ten or fifteen minutes of the doctor's time. That's because of all the paperwork and non-liability issues involved. Then you see the doctor, who has been encouraged by the way of medicine in the American core to abandon whatever intuitive talent for clinical diagnosis his trainers may have tried to cultivate. Nine times out of ten the doctor will not even hazard to guess at a diagnosis without first ordering a battery of tests (so that the labs make money). When finally he has a diagnosis he will prescribe some nonsense medication that his pharmaceutical company rep has been pimping (with dinners at fancy restaurants, lavish vacations and boldfaced payouts offered to the doctor as incentives).

Then of course there is the fun part of getting your hands on the medicine at a pharmacy, and having to go back again and again for "refills" so that you're essentially a captive of inconvenience.

And all of this you deal with when you *have* health insurance! For those without, the best thing to do is die.

In India the family doctor would often diagnose you over the phone (and actually be available to talk to you on the phone, if not see you in person the same day you fell sick). At least the symptoms would be immediately attended to, by the same professional who knew your case history well, and who would eventually attend to the cause of your disease in the context of that same familiarity with the state of your health. A pharmacy right outside the doctor's clinic would often provide you with the necessary medications then and there.

And there is no question that where American doctors will immediately promote some allopathic medication that the pharmaceutical companies are bribing them to push... Indian doctors in my experience have been far, far more holistic in their approach, emphasizing wellness over profit, paying attention to whole-body functioning, treating with food, diet, lifestyle and home remedies as often if not more than with some pharma-manufactured compound.

Of course there are exceptions. Of course, you hear of Indian heart surgeons who will suddenly demand an extra x-lakhs from the patient's family while the poor b@stard is on the table. Villains are everywhere if that's what you're looking for.

But in general, despite the relatively modest incomes of Indian doctors, it seems that the socio-economic realities of India (to whatever extent they derive from the "Indic core") have actually led to middle-class and even lower-middle-class Indians having access to better overall healthcare than Americans who earn many times as much.

And of course, there continue to be hundreds of millions of Indians with no access to any healthcare. But to trash our healthcare system as "useless" simply because it isn't reaching 100% of the population, is a canard. Read Shiv's superb example of "eggs in a box" from the introduction of his Pakistan: Failed State book to see what I mean.

The Indian healthcare system and its benefits to Indians above a certain standard of living, is a sort of mirror-image to the situations this thread has been describing with much angst... the glorification of poverty, the absence of minimum wage standards, the household servant being no better than a bonded laborer. On this side of the coin, you see a healthcare system with profit NOT being its sole motivating factor, in which doctors make modest livings compared to their Western counterparts, but yet... more people achieve greater benefit. I would say that the Indic Core is about equally responsible for both sets of circumstances.

In itself the Core is not something that enables the fetishization of poverty... neither is it something that provides healthcare benefits to large numbers of people. To accuse or credit it with either of those things, is to confuse it with some retarded set of ultra-simplistic instructions like the Shari'a. It is a set of values. The way in which those values are interpreted, prioritized and converted into socio-economic behaviour are a quality of the age and its people, rather than any intrinsic property of the core itself.

A very interesting comparison between the US and Indian Healthcare systems follows. To what extent the Indian healthcare system is actually characterized by what we have been calling "Indic Core values", would make for an interesting discussion.

http://www.salon.com/news/feature/2009/ ... index.html
SALON.COM

How I got well in India for $50
My cheap, fast and effective treatment in New Delhi reminded me of everything wrong with American healthcare

By Aruna Viswanatha

Sept. 3, 2009 | I moved to New Delhi a year and a half ago from New York for a new job with a newspaper. When I arrived in India’s capital, I figured if I was going to live in the country, I might as well get used to the food, the water and the bacteria that doesn’t seem to bother too many natives. I ordered juices, ate cold salads and drank the un-bottled water that restaurants bring customers for free. But I learned the hard way there are better methods for adjusting your body to the new climate. Less than two weeks into my time there, I found myself vomiting at the foot of a 12th century monument, the Qutb Minar.

I had anticipated getting sick in India. Since I had elevated carelessness to the level of doctrine, I had almost guaranteed it. But it was something I hadn’t prepared for. I had no idea how to navigate the Indian healthcare system. How would I find a doctor? What if I had to go to the hospital? How different from the American system would it be?

What I hadn’t anticipated was that India’s treatment would turn out to be so good. And cheap. Unless you happen to be one of the hundreds of millions of Indians who are poor and don’t live in a major metropolitan area. The Indian healthcare system is an anarchic hodgepodge, with little insurance, little regulation and a range of services offered by hundreds of government-run, trust-run and corporate hospitals. The care it produced for me was fast, effective, courteous and cheaper than American medicine, even when adjusted for the lower cost of living. But that was the care it produced for me, a middle-class woman in the big city. As America considers healthcare reform, the Indian system is a testament to both the triumphs and the pitfalls of letting the free market heal people.

At first I fought the suggestion to visit a doctor with my stomach bug. I rested and didn’t eat much for a few days, hoping it would disappear on its own, like stomach bugs tend to do. I thought that making an appointment, and waiting to see a doctor, and getting ahold of any medication in India, would take more time than just getting better on my own. After all, it took almost 17 hours of phone calls and store visits, and two instances of crying hysterically to customer service reps, for my cellphone to work. If just getting a basic telephone connection was so much effort, I didn’t want to think about what a visit to the doctor would be like. But after the third day of diarrhea, and continued inability to eat anything without being hit with an overwhelming wave of nausea, I caved. "OK, let’s call a doctor," I told my friends who were taking care of me.

It was about 9:30 in the morning. My friend, who works for an outsourcing firm, called a gastroenterologist -- not a general practitioner but a specialist -- and set up an appointment for 10 a.m. We drove to the hospital, a mile away. It looked brand-new; the floors were shiny and everything glistened. The staff was courteous and the whole place was quiet. The doctor called me in at 10:02. He diagnosed the problem as a bacterial one, gave me a list of what to eat and prescribed a course of antibiotics. The pharmacy counter where I could pick up the drugs was just outside his office. The cost to see the doctor? $6. The pharmacy bill was about $1. Total cost, $7, with no insurance company involvement whatsoever.

Before I left New York, I had spent $20 just on a copay to visit a doctor and get a blood test done, another $20 copay to pick up the test results, and a third $20 installment for a tetanus shot. That was $60, plus whatever my insurance company paid, just so I could get a clean bill of health.

A couple of weeks after my first encounter with an Indian doctor, I had another bout of stomach problems. This time, it was probably a glass of watermelon juice that did me in, and the next morning, I couldn’t even keep water down. We called the same doctor on his cellphone, and he prescribed the same antibiotic. When I threw that back up, we called him again, and he said to try a more powerful anti-vomiting drug. We called the pharmacy, which delivered the drugs for free.

It worked, for the most part, but when nausea was still bothering me a few days later, I paid another $4 visit to the doctor. He told me to go to a lab down the street from his hospital and have a blood test and stool sample done. I went in without an appointment and walked out 20 minutes -- and $20 -- later. That afternoon, I picked up the results and read them to my doctor over the phone. The liver function test came back a little high, so he said to take it easy and go back two weeks later for the same tests. I did, and the levels were almost down to normal. The phone calls were free.

Even emergency care in India seems to work along the same lines. The same friend who first called a doctor for me had been in a horrific car accident about eight months before I arrived. He was taking a right turn at 2 in the morning when a truck came from the opposite side, ran into his car and just kept going. His femur was broken like a twig, as were his collarbone and wrist. His lip was split and his nose was hanging off his face.

Two months and a few surgeries later, he walked out of the hospital. He walks now without any aid and has had no major complications. The total bill, paid by his Indian insurance company, was less than $10,000. A similar accident in the U.S. would run up a $200,000 bill and bankrupt almost anyone who didn’t have health insurance.

How is this accomplished? Largely through supply and demand. Almost 25,000 doctors graduate from India’s medical schools every year. Because there is so much competition, doctors and hospitals are forced to keep their prices low to get patients. Residents, who go to medical school straight from high school, only make the equivalent of a few hundred dollars a month. An average surgeon’s salary would be around $8,000 per month. The take-home pay to fix a hip fracture, for example, might run between $100 to $300, out of the $1,000 fee to the patient, says orthopedic surgeon M.S. Phaneesha. At his hospital in Bangalore, he says, there are 20 orthopedic surgeons alone on staff. For 1,600 beds, the hospitals employs around 700 doctors full-time; 300 of them are surgeons. In the U.S., by comparison, a first-year resident might take home around $2,500 each month, and the average surgeon more than $20,000 per month. A hip fracture would cost a patient around $30,000, of which the surgeon’s charge is $5,000. Even general practitioners in America earn on average more than $100,000 a year.

Another factor in India’s costs is the tiered system of beds that most hospitals employ. One night in a general ward at the private Artemis Health Institute in a New Delhi suburb, for example, costs around $20 per night. One night in a single room, or a deluxe, or a suite, though, will cost you between $100 to $200. Services are similarly tiered. A general ward patient at Artemis would only pay $2 for an X-ray, while single-room patients would pay more. There are so many hospitals, says Artemis’ chief operating officer Jose Verghese, that rates at the lower end stay low.

Unsurprisingly, for the urban middle class, says Ajay Mahal, who teaches international health economics at Harvard University’s School of Public Health, finding medical care isn’t a major problem. Referrals through friends and family work as a check on quality. And in general, those in the middle class, like my friends, are connected enough to find the best private doctors.

But this type of care isn’t available to all Indians, since the average income in the country is still around $65 per month, and more than 300 million Indians out of a population of 1.2 billion still live on less than $1 per day. The poorest residents, just as they do in the U.S., often skip out on expensive treatments, and visit doctors only in serious situations. They do have access to free top-tier government hospitals for serious medical conditions. The national government and some state governments are trying out models to cover medical costs for its poorer residents, such as paying for certain surgical procedures or providing yearly vouchers that cover around $600 in expenses, to mixed results. Only 8 to 9 percent of Indians even have private health insurance, so most expenses are paid in cash, by the patient.

And about those doctors: Only a handful are from reputable institutions, explains Mahal. Quality of care varies throughout India, and is a big concern in smaller towns, where the more questionable institutes are based. But it is also a concern in the big cities. The sheer number of doctors is one of the main downward pressures on healthcare prices, but it’s a good thing I had the name of a good doctor and didn’t wander in off the street to the offices of a poorly trained M.D.

In some ways, the Indian system is like the U.S. system before the spread of private insurance -- that extra layer of bureaucracy is still not a major factor in Indian healthcare costs. Private insurance costs help explain why the U.S. spends a greater percentage of its GDP on healthcare than the European democracies. The Indian system of health insurance also works differently, in a way that holds down costs. Those Indians who do have private insurance pay their bills out of pocket -- to doctors who don’t charge much because of all the competition -- and then get reimbursed. The insurance companies aren’t the ones setting the rates or acting as the middle man.

In other ways, the Indian system is like the current U.S. system, except writ very cheap and very large. Just as in the U.S., healthcare is better the bigger the town, the bigger the wallet. It is out of reach for the poorest segments of both populations because of simple economics. Both governments have partial safety nets -- though public costs are a far smaller percentage of GDP in India and a smaller portion of all healthcare spending.

There are also some differences that seem largely due to culture. A tiered system of care might be untenable in the U.S., where more patients have insurance and everyone expects the best available care. There is also a different expectation and feel to the actual doctor visits. Raj Sringari, the surgeon who treated my friend, and who also practiced in the U.K. for seven years, says the Indian doctor-patient relationship is an extension of a culture built around social visits. "If you want to see a doctor, he is available from 9 in the morning till late in the evening. A patient can walk in, and if the doctor is free, he is happy to see you."

Still, it is remarkable that the healthcare system of the world’s most powerful country has anything at all in common with the healthcare system of an emerging industrial nation, and so little in common with the systems of the other Western democracies.

By the way, in July, I moved back to the United States. I bought travel health insurance from Tata-AIG, which is available to anyone who has spent at least six months in India. I’m covered for three months, up to $200,000 in expenses. I paid $100 for it. When it expires, I will likely get health insurance from Blue Cross. It will cost more than $500 per month.

Indian culture is high on morals and pontification.

When reduced to action, it does not show.

All talk; no go!

That is what troubles me.

Where have all the good men gone?

Look at the pro Maoist chaps. High on moral claptrap, low on reality and no care of a proper administration that can deliver!

Self serving. Hit the limelight and forget everything else!

Nandini Sundar and Gautam Navalakha!

All big talk!

Maoist beheading is fine. Not govt action thereafter!

Odd!

RayC wrote:Indian culture is high on morals and pontification.

All talk; no go!

Your last line contradicts the first three lines. Your last line implies there were men of action earlier, and since they were in the Indian culture it means there were people who valued action.

SwamyG wrote:
RayC wrote:Indian culture is high on morals and pontification.

All talk; no go!

Your last line contradicts the first three lines. Your last line implies there were men of action earlier, and since they were in the Indian culture it means there were people who valued action.
Life is but a contradiction!

Think.

Think deep beyond dogmas!

I am a realist. Men are good but with human foibles. It is you and your ilk that places men in God's level of purity!

That I find is totally beyond reality.

Good men, but not PERFECT men!

Your Hinduvta pizazz that you purvey has only perfection with no flaws!

I don't buy that!
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

RayC wrote: Life is but a contradiction!

Think.

I am a realist. Men are good but with human foibles. It is you and your ilk that places men in Gods level of purity!

RayC, realists are also not beyond dogmas.

RayC wrote: Life is but a contradiction!

Think.

I am a realist. Men are good but with human foibles. It is you and your ilk that places men in God's level of purity!

Good men, but not PERFECT men!

Your Hinduvta pizazz that you purvey has only perfection with no flaws!

I don't buy that!
For your information, you are not the only person who thinks. Your tone is quite condescending and patronizing. Yes, I have read so many posts from you about who you are and what you are.

Can you substantiate the line that I highlight above? I have never claimed India or Hindus to be perfect without any flaws. Do not create straw-men and tear them down.

RayC wrote:It is you and your ilk that places men in God's level of purity!
And RayC, I would also like to get an explanation for the above lines. You are accusing me of something that I have never ever demonstrated in these forums (let alone in real life).

You are flame-baiting without any provocation on my part; and in one of my earlier posts I even plead that I do not think in terms of Gods and divinity.

SwamyG wrote:
RayC wrote:It is you and your ilk that places men in God's level of purity!
And RayC, I would also like to get an explanation for the above lines. You are accusing me of something that I have never ever demonstrated in these forums (let alone in real life).

You are flame-baiting without any provocation on my part; and in one of my earlier posts I even plead that I do not think in terms of Gods and divinity.
If you can read and understand what you write, you would realise the same!

Every other input in India is bogus, but the Indic!

Should be enough of an explanation, not that I have to give you one!

Quit acting moralistic and holy!

I don't flame bait. I control it. My job!

So, take it easy and look busy!