India-US News and Discussion

Re: India-US News and Discussion

Intriguing spy scandal involving a top US scientist.

Excerpt:
Top US scientist accused of trying to spy for Israel
A top American scientist who once worked for the Pentagon and Nasa was arrested on Monday night, accused of trying to spy for Israel.

By Toby Harnden in Washington
Published: 11:57PM BST 19 Oct 2009

Dr. Stewart Nozette at a press conference at the Pentagon in 1996 Photo: AFP Stewart Nozette, 52, developed an experiment that fuelled the discovery of water on the south pole of the moon, and held a special security clearance at the United States Department of Energy on atomic materials.

He has been charged with “attempted espionage for knowingly and wilfully attempting to communicate, deliver and transmit classified information relating to the national defence of the US to an individual that Nozette believed to be an Israeli intelligence officer,” the US Department of Justice said.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... srael.html

I resonate with members who think we need to keep our emotions under control when innocents are dying - even if they are dying in Pakistan.

And one must. Because that keeps you on the right side of Dharma. Thanks for the thumbs up. :)

Agree with the above, but this natural sympathy also becomes a slippery slope of, "see we are victims also, so please don't complain when we send terrorists against you." Indians are in this sense more sentimental and tend to buy this fallacy more easily (BRF excepted).

Rao Ji, that sympathy i don't dole out to the Paki establishment and state. WKKs and left liberals doctrinally confuse the issue. BRF is not a left liberal site. Left liberalism is apt naturally in an environment where the right veers to unknown factors on it's right fringes. But where established parameters of doctrines and behavior prevail, left liberalism and associated attitudes play into the wrong hands.

This is simple. You love muslims but hate Islam. You love the people but hate their idealogy and you tell them on their face. You really practice Insaniyat but not Islamiat. Since Islamiat is opposite of Insaniyat people who are practicing islamiat are by definition against insaniyat. They only practice insayniat inside their own group while you practice on a person to person basis without any regard to color, creed, sex, caste, economic, religion, etc classifications.

Bajwa ji, the battle will always be ideology. Ideology defines which side of Dharma one is. Drona refused to teach Eklavya i am reminded by many who talk on India's caste..yet Drona however brilliant a Military strategist ended on the wrong side of Dharma. Yudhistra OTOH, was asked a last question on how a Brahmin is defined..a multiple choice type one. Y said on the basis of his deeds alone. That got him a ticket to heaven. The question was put IIRC by Yama in disguise himself.

Yes i believe Chinese are inherently wonderful people too, at the mercy of an ideology that brutalizes them too. Muslims are too and victims of an ideology that commits a minority of them to acts of violence against a humanity that has nothing against them except being and believing in something different. The individuals on all sides are victims too. Read again in this light what Krishna says in BG.."i am doing all this. You are just playing a role. I only take those on the side of Dharma to mine. And whenever Dharma is being destroyed, i shall manifest myself time to time to destroy Adharma. That is natural..Arjuna, you're just a tool"..

Once one understands that, one will understand who exactly is the enemy. Who exactly is the victim. And what exactly is Dharma. And what force levels are required to project the Dharma of compassion. And you know the irony of it all..my countermeasures against a nuke attack that kills a million of those that follow dharma, are infinitely more damaging than anyone here can imagine. I have put those views here once. Arjuna balked at Krishna advising him on that pending destruction. Lets define our compassion, our humanity..which by our Dharmic standards is more immense than any other creed on Earth has tolerated in it's history. We have and do have our aberrations, but we don't and will not politically implement those and strive to eliminate those from our society by law, education, literacy. These however unlike what the Western and Islamic media would like to project our exceptions and not the rule. The difference is becoming stark to all. US included.

Violating and trying to destroy the Dharmic path that Indic civilization has laid out in favor of half baked ideologies has to come to an end. India must develop economically to show that we can do what you do with more humane means than a cultural revolution the type that has killed a 100 million more than both WWs combined. It is not for no reason that India is in the roughest neighbour hood in this era at this period of time. It's not for no reason that Indians all over are disgusted by the wimpish leadership that we have today. We know we deserve better, and the nature of things says we will get it one day. Thats my article of faith..
Last edited by harbans on 21 Oct 2009 05:04, edited 1 time in total.
komal

Post by komal »

Spy was working for India?

The criminal complaint makes reference to both Israel and "Country A". And there's circumstantial evidence suggesting one "Country A" candidate is India

http://tpmmuckraker.talkingpointsmemo.c ... ?ref=fpblg

copy of the criminal complaint

http://www.talkingpointsmemo.com/docume ... php?page=1
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Indian Americans Priming the Pump - about the increased amount of donations from the Indian American community for Indian American political candidates.

http://www.rollcall.com/issues/55_43/po ... 676-1.html

Ameet wrote:Indian Americans Priming the Pump - about the increased amount of donations from the Indian American community for Indian American political candidates.

Some people have met Dr. Ami Bera of UC Davis. If healthcare reform passes he has less chances. But that will not deter supporting him.

Good article but has some bad/unfortunate choice of language. Its all about marginal utility of extending support. Due to demogrpahics its very unlikely and Ind American will get elected. As such its more advantages to provide support to winning party.
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Ameet wrote:Indian Americans Priming the Pump - about the increased amount of donations from the Indian American community for Indian American political candidates.

Some people have met Dr. Ami Bera of UC Davis. If healthcare reform passes he has less chances. But that will not deter supporting him.

Good article but has some bad/unfortunate choice of language. Its all about marginal utility of extending support. Due to demogrpahics its very unlikely and Ind American will get elected. As such its more advantages to provide support to winning party.
Here is a link for a rebuttal of the first article. Standard fair, however one line caught my eye. Good to see that others are also aware.

http://politics.theatlantic.com/2009/10 ... ington.php

"I even pitched an article to The Atlantic about what I see as the real story on Indian-American political involvement, which is how people in American are funding parties that promote hate and divisiveness in India. I hope to write that article at some point in the near future."

Ameet wrote:
"I even pitched an article to The Atlantic about what I see as the real story on Indian-American political involvement, which is how people in American are funding parties that promote hate and divisiveness in India. I hope to write that article at some point in the near future."
Good catch. Usually Columbia graduates have this attitude towards Indians and Indian view point. I know one desi Columbia graduate. But they dont have clue to the politics inside India. It is ok. But they get the information from other desi leftist.

Two posts...
manish wrote:
Answering my own earlier question...

[manish]

Singha...
these dogs are rich beyond what normal people like us can even dream of. yet they keep on cheating and cheating. its like some kind of addiction I guess - tough to get off the needle.

On a lighter note, that's way too many yeevul SDREs in a single scam.
Is Preet Bahara, the prosecutor, an SDRE as well? I tried to find out, but failed.

Here's short bio that I could find, which is a Google Cache of an article from 2007.
But behind the familiar faces, in the far-right side of Room 216 of the Hart Senate Office Building, will sit a man who is as responsible as anyone for bringing the leadership of the Justice Department to its knees.

That will be Preet Bharara, 38, chief counsel to Sen. Charles Schumer, D-N.Y., and a former assistant U.S. Attorney in the Southern District of New York, who has spearheaded the three-month investigation into the firing of eight U.S. Attorneys.
Edit: Found some more at WSJ:
Bharara, 40, has served as Schumer’s chief counsel on the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee since 2005. He oversaw the congressional investigation into the Bush administration’s firings of eight U.S. attorneys in 2006, which led to the resignation of U.S. Attorney General Alberto Gonzales. Prior to that, Bharara was an assistant U.S. attorney in Manhattan for five years, where he brought criminal cases against Italian-American mobsters and Asian gangs in New York City.
WSJ: Desi vs. Desi
It seems like a courtroom drama made for Bollywood: The Sri Lankan hedge-fund kingpin being prosecuted by a fellow immigrant, the Indian-born U.S. attorney for Manhattan.

But the case against Raj Rajaratnam is very much an American story. Mr. Rajaratnam, the billionaire founder of the Galleon Group, and Preet Bharara -- the Indian-born, Ivy League prosecutor – are both South Asian, a term that actually gained popularity (and possibility) overseas to refer to the collective people from India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, among others. The relatively small immigrant group has formed a power elite in the U.S., from positions in corporate boardrooms to the governor's mansion.
Also note the neat hijacking of the term desi to refer to the TFTA/BD/SL crowd along with us poor yindoos. Looks like they are trying to make it 'official' - this may end up with the word having the same negative connotations that 'paki' today has.[/quote]

manish wrote:
Continuing with the curious WSJ article on 'Desis' from 'South Asia' and the 'South-Asian Community':
Such prominent South Asians include PepsiCo Inc. Chief Executive Indra Nooyi, Louisiana Gov. Bobby Jindal and Silicon Valley financier Vinod Khosla.
Hey, all are from a country called India in the South Asian region. How about balancing it with names like Mir Aimal Kasi (of Langley Shootout fame) or those of some leading luminaries from the Virginia Jihad Network? Then it would be truly 'South Asian'!

Also, continuing on the Galleon Scandal:
Mr. Bharara "has to walk as fine a line as there is," said Sonjui L. Kumar, president of the bar association. "White prosecutors arrest people all the time, but here you have this financial mogul who happens to be South Asian and then you have a South Asian attorney. That's just where we are. … It's a testament of where we've come as a community."
Its all South Asian ya know :roll:

The Scientist Who Mistook Himself for a Spy

Could The Israeli Spy Case Really Be An Indian Spy Case?
a curious section in the criminal complaint suggests that there was a foreign country -- identified only as "Country A" -- to which Nozette may have passed information.

And there's circumstantial evidence suggesting one "Country A" candidate is India.
Karan Dixit

Post by Karan Dixit »

Gerard wrote:The Scientist Who Mistook Himself for a Spy

Could The Israeli Spy Case Really Be An Indian Spy Case?
a curious section in the criminal complaint suggests that there was a foreign country -- identified only as "Country A" -- to which Nozette may have passed information.

And there's circumstantial evidence suggesting one "Country A" candidate is India.
I read the whole list of charges against Nozette and the supporting list of evidence. There was nothing in the list that proves that he did anything wrong.

Examples:

1. He left the country with couple of hard drives and returned with none. Unless you know the content of those hard drives, you cannot say for sure that he transported classified data out of country.

2. In his entire conversation with the FBI agent, Nozette did not reveal any sensitive information.

It seems like Nozette was working as a consultant on side. As long as he did not reveal any classified information then where did he go wrong?

Could it be a witch hunt?

I have deleted the post about the California beauty queen and her implants.

Please remember the focus of BRF.

There are many fora on the Internet where this news item would be relevant.

Very interesting article - cross post from the Interests thread. It reveals the ideological basis for a thread that I had started earlier - the US and Pakistan perfidy thread.
Malayappan wrote:An interesting article in today's Express by Pratap Bhanu Mehta. For the core BRF beliefs, not much new, but I could categorise his views as 'useful', coming from someone not exactly in our camp! Definitely worth a read and even circulating to our liberal friends, especially in the US! :)

The liberal paradox
Pratap Bhanu Mehta

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/the-l ... x/526490/0
Despite the direst constructions of the Pakistani state, the Pakistani ruling establishment still has an odd allure. Its generals — even the ones that let the Taliban lose, and brought their own country to ruin — are often described as “professional”. And there is often a barely suppressed fascination with the aristocratic character of the Pakistani elite, compared with India’s decidedly more humdrum, middle-class public face. Even though India and Pakistan are in a sense de-hyphenated, Pakistan still remains a source of American liberal ambivalence in relation to India. In some ways, American liberals are receptive to the argument that despite all that has transpired in the last couple of years, Pakistan needs some reassurance against India. It is India’s responsibility to ensure that it is not up to funny tricks in Afghanistan, it is India’s responsibility to reassure Pakistan by withdrawing troops. India’s policy of self-restraint is prudent, but there is something distinctly odd about the way in which liberals sanctimoniously counsel it. Richard Holbrooke is a prime example. The implicit construction of India as a “threat” is still prevalent; the liberal establishment still has not entirely got over its protective instincts about Pakistan.

There may also be another curious social dynamic at work. It is fair to say that by and large Indians (and those who work on India) in the humanities and social sciences, who have access to the public discourse, in the East Coast are left-liberals. This reinforces the two dynamics mentioned above: a culturally protective instinct on Pakistan (the Hindu-Muslim question is still centrally conflated with the Pakistan question), as a manifestation of their own liberalism, and a more relentless questioning of India. And second, a refusal to see India in a comparative geo-strategic frame. So what is excusable in China is not excusable in India. In short, a free culture of self-criticism of India is made to feed easily into a discourse of putting India on the defensive.

Ameet wrote:
Good catch. Usually Columbia graduates have this attitude towards Indians and Indian view point. I know one desi Columbia graduate. But they dont have clue to the politics inside India. It is ok. But they get the information from other desi leftist.
Isn't there more to it than that? I think every "Indian" involved in American politics is expected to conform to this attitude if they wish to progress in American public life. It is more an extension of the long-standing Western attitude than a reflection or statement on India.

Rich countries keep polluting, blame India

NEW DELHI: The rich countries blame India and other developing nations for the world's rising emission levels. Here is proof that the boot is on
the other foot. Fresh data released by the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change says greenhouse gas emissions from the rich nations increased by 12.8% between 1990-2007, the latest period for which figures are available.

While the industrialized countries are now gunning for India and China to take on stronger commitments and obligations under the new deal to be possibly thrashed out by the Copenhagen round of UN negotiations in December, the data from UNFCCC showed that most of the reductions had come from the "economies in transition" -- mostly eastern European and Balkan countries whose economies have crashed.

Carbon dioxide emissions from the US increased by 20.2% between 1990-2007. US has not ratified the Kyoto Protocol as it refused to enter a regime which would have obliged it to reduce its emissions by a fixed percentage below 1990 levels. The US, even after Barack Obama took over the presidency, has not shifted from its Bush-era stance and has refused to sign on to the protocol.

Even as it played the blame game, its own targets for the period closing 2020 would not even reach the 1990 levels. Developing countries, in contrast, have stated that the science demands US and other developed countries take emission reduction cuts of at least 40% below 1990 levels to keep temperatures under control.

Carbon dioxide emissions, embarrassingly for Denmark, increased by 1% between 1990 and 2007. With the carbon space in the atmosphere already swallowed, even small percentage increases are seen as a serious threat and with Denmark being the host country for the final round of negotiations this year, the statistics will not help convince emerging economies that rich nations are doing enough.

Turkey's emissions grew at 118% while that of Spain by 60% and Japan's at 14%. While these are high-growth or developed economies, India has argued that they have had more than their fair share of the carbon dioxide budget.

"The continuing growth of emissions from industrialized countries remains worrying, despite the expectation of a momentary dip brought about by the global recession," Yvo de Boer, executive secretary of UNFCCC, said in a press statement.

Emissions are explicitly linked to the levels of economic activity of a country as higher production levels require greater fossil fuel based energy. While some countries like UK have been able to achieve some gains, these have come out of one-time events such as switching much of its energy source from coal to gas. Experts warn that these do not reflect a declining long-term trend or the rich nations having drawn long-term trajectories towards emission decline.

Putting the countries on low-carbon pathways can have substantial impact on economic activity and most of the rich nations have shown reluctance to take any actions that may hamper lifestyles as it remains politically unfeasible for them.

US wants India as 'major player' in a new NPT regime: Hillary
Viewing the landmark India-US civil nuclear deal as part of a broader strategic dialogue with New Delhi, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has said the US wants India to be a ''major player'' in working out a new non-proliferation regime.
"But we want India to be part of our overall non-proliferation efforts," she said. "And we want them to really be a major player at the table in trying to figure out how, starting from where we are right now, we go forward in an effective, verifiable manner to reinstate a non-proliferation regime that can prevent further countries acquiring nuclear weapons, or even peaceful nuclear capacity without the safeguards that we envision."
"So - India we see as a full partner in this effort, and we look forward to working with them as we try to come up with the 21st century version of the NPT (Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty)," Clinton said.

an effective, verifiable manner to reinstate a non-proliferation regime that can prevent further countries acquiring nuclear weapons, or even peaceful nuclear capacity without the safeguards that we envision."
The policy of selectively proliferating nukes to pak and then trying to co-opt India in preventing Iran from gaining nukes is a real slight of hand.

The irony is that one of the main reasons Iran needs nukes is because of Pakistan.

India crucial
If the Obama administration is to achieve success, it will have to convince India, the more populous and economically vibrant of the two countries, to work toward a better relationship with Pakistan.

vera_k wrote:India crucial
If the Obama administration is to achieve success, it will have to convince India, the more populous and economically vibrant of the two countries, to work toward a better relationship with Pakistan.
IOW India has to be "magnanimous", we have heard that before. :roll:
Umrao Das

Post by Umrao Das »

When you go to bed with uncle, he will grope anything he can grab.

"Keep at a safe distance" said Naked Fakir Fakuruddin PUBH

US wants India as 'major player' in a new NPT regime: Hillary
Seems like the memo got stuck in transit. Dilli maybe doesn't want anything to do with your NPT regime, madame secret-tarry.

Xpost:
Sorry if already posted:
US Congress imposes 'India-centric' riders on aid to Pak

FYI the 29 Nay sayers in US senate are;
Alexander (R-TN)
Barrasso (R-WY) Bennett (R-UT) Brownback (R-KS) Bunning (R-KY) Burr (R-NC) Chambliss (R-GA) Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS) Corker (R-TN) Crapo (R-ID) DeMint (R-SC) Enzi (R-WY) Feingold (D-WI) Graham (R-SC) Grassley (R-IA)
Inhofe (R-OK)Isakson (R-GA)Johanns (R-NE) Kyl (R-AZ) LeMieux (R-FL) McConnell (R-KY) Risch (R-ID) Roberts (R-KS)
Sessions (R-AL) Shelby (R-AL) Thune (R-SD) Vitter (R-LA) Wicker (R-MS)

vera_k wrote:India crucial
Amazing. some of these editorial writers surely don't re-read what they have written, otherwise I have to believe the absurdity of what they are writing would have been obvious.

Neshant wrote:
an effective, verifiable manner to reinstate a non-proliferation regime that can prevent further countries acquiring nuclear weapons, or even peaceful nuclear capacity without the safeguards that we envision."
The irony is that one of the main reasons Iran needs nukes is because of Pakistan.
And to think that the porkis practically kick started the irani nuke program!

Did not the sunni shia divide work here ?

or was the dollar simply god for the porki beggars?

Amber G. wrote:Xpost:
Sorry if already posted:
US Congress imposes 'India-centric' riders on aid to Pak

FYI the 29 Nay sayers in US senate are;
Alexander (R-TN)
Barrasso (R-WY) Bennett (R-UT) Brownback (R-KS) Bunning (R-KY) Burr (R-NC) Chambliss (R-GA) Coburn (R-OK)
Cochran (R-MS) Corker (R-TN) Crapo (R-ID) DeMint (R-SC) Enzi (R-WY) Feingold (D-WI) Graham (R-SC) Grassley (R-IA)
Inhofe (R-OK)Isakson (R-GA)Johanns (R-NE) Kyl (R-AZ) LeMieux (R-FL) McConnell (R-KY) Risch (R-ID) Roberts (R-KS)
Sessions (R-AL) Shelby (R-AL) Thune (R-SD) Vitter (R-LA) Wicker (R-MS)
This has more to do with voting on party lines and against anything the ruling party (Democrats) propose. The India specific rider amendment was proposed by a Democrat. The Republicans smell blood and through a campaign of media, organized tea party protests and the public's genuine distrust of the Obama administration will try to win back a majority in the Senate. There are 49 Republican senators and 28 voted against this amendment. Those that did are the most rabid EJ racists out there. If it wasn't for this glaring fact, the Republicans are far better than Democrats as far as NRIs are concerned.

Folks, folks, folks........... do not fall in the trap of Republicans or Democrats being friendly or not-friendly towards India. They are cloth cut from the same fabric. A blind trust in any one party or ideology is very naive and myopic. USA system is setup in such a way that their politicians will take stance in the interests of their country first. We do not go with a begging bowl to Unkil like Pakis do. Whatever happens in the relationship, what our leaders do matter too.

BRFites are thinking too much along party lines. Nobody, nobody is going to look out for Inda, we do not want India to get into that position as well. Time and time again we get into this pissing contests of Republicans/Democrats thingie.

disclaimer: I was an Obama supporter during the elections, as I did not like the other candidate.
Malayappan

Post by Malayappan »

Interesting one in yesterday's Telegraph. Did not see it posted yet!

May be I am too naive, but I felt quite happy to read this! If MMS really and consciously stuck an ungli at the clearly anti-Indian US president, well.....

Bush dinner tastes sour for Obama - PMO decision to entertain former President causes hurt in Washington
K.P. NAYAR
http://www.telegraphindia.com/1091025/j ... 655878.jsp

Some excerpts
in private conversations, officials of the Obama administration, especially Democratic political appointees, make no secret of their sense of hurt over New Delhi’s decision.
Said a Congressional aide: “In New Delhi people have been complaining for nine months, quite mistakenly, that Obama has downgraded the relationship with India. You have complaints about Obama’s nuclear policy, his climate policy and his trade policy.

“So the President decides to organise a grand show of bonhomie with your Prime Minister in the White House. Instead of making the most of this opportunity by both sides, your response is to slap us in the face by inviting the one man who is responsible for most of the problems on Obama’s shoulders.”

^^^ I don't think it is any snub to Obama or Obama will take it as such. MMS can invite any one he likes, and inviting Bush should be positive as far as USA (or OBama ) is concerned. Bush is former POTUS so there is no question of this as taken as a snub by Obama. IMO Nayar's imagination ran wild, and I am not surprised that the reporter does not name the aide or the story is not picked up anywhere else.

Just for FYI, this is the first state dinner given by Potus. This too on Thanksgiving day, where traditionally in US people spend time with their family. FWIW there is a story here:
Obama consider Manmohan 'part of his family'
"This is the reason why I decided to invite Manmohan Singh, who I admire a lot, on the first State Visit of my presidency on the Thanks Giving Day," Obama was quoted as saying by Chatwal, who met the President along with Senator Christopher Dodd, Democratic Co-Chairman of Senate India Caucus.

"He told me that he considers India and Singh as part of his family. This is something, which we are very proud to hear from him," Chatwal told
Also FWIW: As to "clearly anti-Indian President" to me at least, it is not clear at all, otherwise many (actually majority of Indian Americans - according to all the polls I have seen, voted for him) would not have voted for him.

How many voted for him from American interests point of view and how many from Indian interests POV? I suspect the majority is the earlier.

Amber G. wrote:Also FWIW: As to "clearly anti-Indian President" to me at least, it is not clear at all, otherwise many (actually majority of Indian Americans - according to all the polls I have seen, voted for him) would not have voted for him.
Well, all Presidents tend be anti-India by default due to overriding American interests, so Indian-American voting decisions would hardly have been based on this aspect :P. Bush is seen as pro-India because he bucked the default positions in a major area that mattered to India.
Malayappan

Post by Malayappan »

Amber G sir, Just wanted to clarify!

I am not a US citizen nor do I live there. So I had no role in Obama's election :) . Nor do I have any idea on why Indian Americans voted for him or against him.

Since I am not a voter I was not really concerned with Obama's pre-poll talk. The little I had seen him on TV, I must say I was quite impressed with his communication abilities (although I kept wondering, albeit lazily, what he actually stood for!)

My comment that he is "clearly anti Indian" is purely based on his actions as President. I do not find his stances on practically all Indo US issues - nuclear, Af-Pak, climate, China to be helpful to India, to put it mildly! Of course, he has invoked Gandhi's name some times and has plans to give a great treatment to MMS when he visits him.

KP Nayyar can be 'non serious' at times (remember his gushing piece on where MMS and his daughter will be staying in the US!), but I have found that he often writes with access to information.
Last edited by Malayappan on 26 Oct 2009 10:52, edited 1 time in total.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Amber G. wrote:As to "clearly anti-Indian President" to me at least, it is not clear at all, otherwise many (actually majority of Indian Americans - according to all the polls I have seen, voted for him) would not have voted for him.
To add to Ramana's comment, note that there were hints of things to come (in the runup for elections), but the few concerns got overwhelmed by the charm offensive.

Also, I can't believe you are expecting Indians to vote with a long-term strategic interest in mind :shock:

ramana wrote:How many voted for him from American interests point of view and how many from Indian interests POV? I suspect the majority is the earlier.
I think Palin/McCain ticket did not provide confidence and they expected the long-term strategy to continue along the lines set by GWB. Even that was seen as having started with the last year of Clinton's - so there was certainly some view of the continuity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJBnxL1bhfw
Youthanasia And Sterilization Was Authored In The United States And Adopted By Adolf Hitler

Prad,

You are correct, there are only 40 Republican senators, and 28 voted against the India specific amendment.

The problem is that the Republicans are EJs and hate mongers, but they are beholden to large business interests and at this time, some these interests coincide with India's business interests. It is ONLY through this 2-way trade that overall the relationship can improve. China's trade with the US stands at $450 billion and India-US trade is at $45 billion. If you recall, it was Nixon, a Republican that created a US opening to China as a counterweight to the USSR. The Chinese played their cards well. It was George W. Bush that created a US opening to India and now it is India's turn to play its cards well. The Democrats speak ideally, but when it comes to trade of large ticket items that are deemed dual use or aerospace/defense related, they slap an alphabet soup of treaties and sanctions, and quietly support EJ activity. The Democrats are useless in this regard and NRIs should view them with as much or more suspicions than the EJs.

>>>>Also, I can't believe you are expecting Indians to vote with a long-term strategic interest in mind :shock:
If they voted in US elections, they can at the best have been OCIs.
S.Gautam

Post by S.Gautam »

How many voted for him from American interests point of view and how many from Indian interests POV? I suspect the majority is the earlier.
Considering we don't have multiple citizenship, these voters either a) voluntarily gave up their Indian citizenship in favor of foreign citizenship or b) weren't born in India. So you are almost certainly right and it's a pretty safe bet that the first group is large, large majority. In any case, anti-incumbent feeling was a far bigger factor than Obama's perceived competence or policy positions.

This Thanksgiving dinner nonsense is nothing more than a generic PR event, and just preys on Indian desperation for recognition and flattery. When will we lose this pitiful trait? :((
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

>>>>Also, I can't believe you are expecting Indians to vote with a long-term strategic interest in mind :shock:
If they voted in US elections, they can at the best have been OCIs.
Gosh, it was implied (badly) that folks of Indian origin in US (Indian Americans) are an extension of Indians afterall.

Man.. you took all the fun out! :((.
Umrao Das

Post by Umrao Das »

Firstly Clintons are no friends of India, secondly neither is Obama.

It is naive to think Indian Americans vote enmass democratic.. actually lot of Indians vote republican because the average Indian American household is greater than 80,000.

Especially Indian American doctors are very pro Republican.

are you sarah failin for 2012?