Su-30: News and Discussion

Re: Su-30: News and Discussion

akshay wrote:As for hoipolloi, i do consider the archives semi official. Since you have more idea..
Since links are given importance i found this bout Cope 08..hopefully recent enough

Su 30MKI Arcticle Nov 08
Sure, an article about Col. Fornof's commentary :shock: :eek: should shut everyone up here :P :mrgreen:

I think the article is serious enough to merit a dhaaga on its own. Continue discussions in this dhaaga "Su MKI not fully successful: Colonel"
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

Searched a lot.. :( I give up. Please can someone post the info card of MKI from Aeroindia. Thanks.

Thanks Jagan. It's interesting the infocard says Al-31fp and 12700 thrust. Still far from the 13300 thrust figure.

Anujan wrote: Sure, an article about Col. Fornof's commentary :shock: :eek: should shut everyone up here :P :mrgreen:

I think the article is serious enough to merit a dhaaga on its own. Continue discussions in this dhaaga "Su MKI not fully successful: Colonel"
Your post makes no sense!
Why are you suggesting having a red flag discussion in POK-2 forum?
And you should know that Col. Fornof's comments have been much discussed already.
Look for red flag thread in the archives.

ADDED LATER: Was there supposed to be some hidden humor in your post that I missed?
vavinash

Post by vavinash »

akshay wrote: Think I tread on lots of toes with my topic, nothing intentional for su 30 fans. As I seen the Archives thats what I got,you guys feel otherwise. my post said "Did we win 90%?"
Cuz that putting a big figure.
As for Mig levelling of thats because the M29 was built to respond to F15 threat. This ain't the forum for that.

As for hoipolloi, i do consider the archives semi official. Since you have more idea..
I found arcticles bout Cope 08..so i asked.
Nope but it does look like a F-15 fan is pissed off that the precious plane was turned into a Shitting duck by the MKI. Don't worry it happens. F-15 had a good run with almost no competition it had to get dethroned some time. American propaganda apart is the F-15 is even capable of taking on vanila MKK's than panda has? Singapore and Japan certainly don't think so.
George J

Post by George J »

krish.pf wrote:.........Still far from the 13300 thrust figure.
For the final time.......WHO SAID it was 13,300? Whoever said that has to prove it, BRF is not meant for people to start wild goose chases. And there are only THREE types of information that are considered proof (OEM/IAF/RMAF, OEM infoboard, OEM boss) even if you got this from Janes it's on THEM to tell us WHO said it? So if there is no evidence from any of the three then its not true. The corollary if ANY of the three claim something then it MUST be true...which is why even today we stick with N011M performance as stated by OEM, if they say it can track 20 and engage 4 then it MUST be true. :)

Here is another example (trying my best to bring it back to topic): DARE says its developing MAWS for AEW not for fighters. BEL annual report says its mfg MAWS. So what part of that applies to MKI? Can we still go off on a tangent saying MKI has this or that?

On Col. Fornof:
The Daedalian story broke in early November 2008, the video itself was around since October 2008. IAF itself privately rubbished nearly everything Col. Fornof said. Vishnu was supposed to draft up a detailed rebuttal but then 26/11 happened. And if folks don't know how to use the search function to find Red Flag thread and read from November 4th onwards how is that BR's fault???

I am sure you kids are not familiar with this thing called Google but if you ever manage to figure out how to use it you will find it pointed back to BR or AFM archives on pretty much anything with MKI in it.

krish.pf wrote:Searched a lot.. :( I give up. Please can someone post the info card of MKI from Aeroindia. Thanks.

Thanks Jagan. It's interesting the infocard says Al-31fp and 12700 thrust. Still far from the 13300 thrust figure.
Krish, you are right - it is virtually impossible to find the infoboard with 13.3kgf AB thrust for AL-31FP. I feel your pain. At least I have not found said inforboard despite multiple searches. Rest assured though, the thrust is definitely higher than the what is seen in most open sources. It stands to reason; also there is have been noises about this from a few sources:

eg. The phil camp/watson book on the flanker in IAF service does mention the need for a higher thrust engine (compared to the older ones of course) for the structurally beefed up MKI.

FWIW, here is one source that dates around from way back but puts the engine thrust @ ~ 13 tons, btw they get their info from Fomin (2000) i think:
Specifications Su-30MKI Multi-Role Flanker

Powerplant: two 130 kN (29,400 lb st) Saturn Lyul'ka AL-31FP TVC afterburning turbofans

Dimensions: length 21.935m (72 ft 9 in) ; height 6.357m (21 ft 5 in); wing span 14.7m (48 ft)

Weights: empty 18400 kg (40,564 lb); Max Take-Off Weight 34000 kg (74,956 lb)

Performance: max level speed at high altitude Mach 2.0 or 2125 km/h (1,320 mph); at sea level 1400 km/h (870 mph); service ceiling 17,500m (57,410 ft)

Armament: one internal GSh-301 30mm cannon with 150 rounds; up to 8000 kg (17,637 lb) of ordnance carried on up to twelve external hardpoints, including R-60, R-73, R-27, RVV-AE (R-77) AAMs, freefall and cluster bombs, unguided rockets, external fuel tanks, guided bombs and air-to-surface missiles.

Specifications Su-30MKK Multi-Role Flanker

Powerplant: two 122.58 kN (27,550 lb st) Saturn Lyul'ka AL-31F afterburning turbofans

Dimensions: length 21.935m (72 ft 9 in) ; height 6.43m (21 ft 5 in); wing span 14.7m (48 ft)

Weights: empty 18400 kg (40,564 lb); Max Take-Off Weight 38000 kg (83,775 lb)

Performance: max level speed at high altitude Mach 2.0 or 2125 km/h (1,320 mph); at sea level 1400 km/h (870 mph); service ceiling 17,500m (57,410 ft)
http://www.milavia.net/aircraft/su-30/s ... ations.htm

The difference between the MKK and MKI is v.clear. The MKK is as heavy (probly heavier considering the MKI has slowly been incorporating composites, 6% by weight iirc), but uses the regular AL-31Fs @ 12250kgN. The MKI is @ 13000KgN.

Also keep in mind KN > KgF even if only marginally, which would put the Al-31F at the oft published 12500kgf and the MKI's AL-31FP @ 13300kgf. Resident experts can explain the difference far better i am sure.

Happy now? :D Sleep easy mate, the IAF's got it covered!

CM.
George J

Post by George J »

Actually I am glad CM brought up Fomin. Only Fomin 1998 was published in English, Fomin 2000 was supposed to be only published in Russian. But even then unless Fomin is quoting Chepkin its pretty much moot, coz Chepkin's company still maintains 12,500 Kgf on NPO Saturn Website. http://www.npo-saturn.ru/!new/index.php?pid=53 (see you dont need to use a translator, they do have an English site...you just need to look)

So no matter what Fomin says (and he might be absolutely correct) if NPO says AL-31FP is 12,500 KgF then that's what it has.

George J wrote:Actually I am glad CM brought up Fomin. Only Fomin 1998 was published in English, Fomin 2000 was supposed to be only published in Russian. But even then unless Fomin is quoting Chepkin its pretty much moot, coz Chepkin's company still maintains 12,500 Kgf on NPO Saturn Website. http://www.npo-saturn.ru/!new/index.php?pid=53 (see you dont need to use a translator, they do have an English site...you just need to look)

So no matter what Fomin says (and he might be absolutely correct) if NPO says AL-31FP is 12,500 KgF then that's what it has.
I could be wrong, but IIRC - an english version came out in 2004-05. I believe Fomin was "corrected" and went to the official figures in the later edition :twisted: So ya, officially, the 12.5kgf figure stands for the most part.

CM.b

I had taken this photo in Aero India 2005. Check out the board where it says the thrust is 12700 KGs each
George J

Post by George J »

RaviBg wrote:I had taken this photo in Aero India 2005. Check out the board where it says the thrust is 12700 KGs each
That's the one !!!!! Are you sure its on BR AI05 album?

Ok so now here is the conundrum:

You have Ravi's pic from AI05 and you also have this pic from AI05 from HAL. The link may not work...I have been trying to open the pic with no luck, only thumbnail works.

If these pics convey the same info then its 12,700 if not then we are back to 12,500 coz NPO and HAL say the same and IAF does not know the difference between 5 and 7.

George J wrote:
RaviBg wrote:I had taken this photo in Aero India 2005. Check out the board where it says the thrust is 12700 KGs each
That's the one !!!!! Are you sure its on BR AI05 album?
I don't know if it is on BR AI05 album or not, but I remember Jagan or someone else asking me permission to use some of my photos in BR album to which I had consented.
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

For the final time.......WHO SAID it was 13,300? Whoever said that has to prove it, BRF is not meant for people to start wild goose chases.
It was BR. I clearly remember the 13300 fig in BR. After searching in vain, I finally got to the source BR/BRF.

The specs have been removed but here are a few forums which displays BR's MKI specs:

http://www.echarcha.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9166

http://forum.keypublishing.co.uk/archiv ... 31898.html
I see a George J there, is that you?

Krish, you are right - it is virtually impossible to find the infoboard with 13.3kgf AB thrust for AL-31FP. I feel your pain. At least I have not found said inforboard despite multiple searches. Rest assured though, the thrust is definitely higher than the what is seen in most open sources. It stands to reason; also there is have been noises about this from a few sources:

eg. The phil camp/watson book on the flanker in IAF service does mention the need for a higher thrust engine (compared to the older ones of course) for the structurally beefed up MKI.

FWIW, here is one source that dates around from way back but puts the engine thrust @ ~ 13 tons, btw they get their info from Fomin (2000) i think
Thanks much Cain. :D So later they went back to the 12.5 t thrust later on. Was the earlier fig a mistake or is it trying to heed IAF's request to not publish the actual thrust. So BR got that figure from Fomin/Milivia and used that fig in their site? I saw BR with 13300 many years ago and the forum links posts are old, so did BR update their site with the 12,500 fig later on? So many questions. But I think I'll stick with 12.5t for now.
The difference between the MKK and MKI is v.clear. The MKK is as heavy (probly heavier considering the MKI has slowly been incorporating composites, 6% by weight iirc), but uses the regular AL-31Fs @ 12250kgN. The MKI is @ 13000KgN.

Also keep in mind KN > KgF even if only marginally, which would put the Al-31F at the oft published 12500kgf and the MKI's AL-31FP @ 13300kgf. Resident experts can explain the difference far better i am sure.
No... 130kn would be 29,225lbf
29225 < 13300(29321) ~ 29400

Yeah, but MKI puts on a lot of weight than MKK in additional avionics, heavier radar(?), canards, thrust vectoring, strengthening for Brahmos. 6% isn't much to cover for all that weight. BTW, by what factor does Russian/our composites reduce weight?
see you dont need to use a translator, they do have an English site...you just need to look
You could see the numbers. But I had to navigate to that page you know.

It's strange that http://www.npo-saturn.ru page displays the Al-31 page if visited the second/third time. But the same page displays another page if you clear the cache/cookies or use a different browser and access it the first time. Weird. Or is it my browser which is at fault.
If these pics convey the same info then its 12,700 if not then we are back to 12,500 coz NPO and HAL say the same and IAF does not know the difference between 5 and 7.
It could be that Al-31f/fp can be said as a 28k lbf Class engine(27600 ~ 28k class, or a number with a 1000 multiple). 28000lbf = 12700.72 kgf ... accurate to the last digit excluding decimals.
I had taken this photo in Aero India 2005. Check out the board where it says the thrust is 12700 KGs each
Thanks Ravi! :)
Last edited by krish.pf on 26 Oct 2009 11:34, edited 1 time in total.

AL-31FP Thrust rating of ~ 12,500 kg in A/B mode is the right figure , the ~ 12,700 kg A/B mode is the additional emergency thrust which can be generated for short duration.
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

I see.. thanks Austin.
Does the same 200kgf emergency thrust apply to Al-31f as well?

Edit:

Hey hold on... I remember Mig-21Bis having such a thing-

MiG-21bis 40.2/69.6KN (97.1*) 9040/15650lbf (21825*)

* = limited (3-minute) "extra-power" reheat at altitudes 4000m (13,120 ft) or less.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mikoyan-Gurevich_MiG-21

The difference between 21825-15650 is huge. more than 6000lbf. So much extra power!!!! The difference between 29,400-27,557 is 1843 well within an achieved massive 6000lbf(it's another engine ofcourse). So maybe...? If you think about it, afterburner/re-heat is dumping fuel after the turbines/near the nozzle. So the new Thrust vectoring metallurgy maybe be able to easily/safely handle the increased temp associated with extra-power for a short duration?
George J

Post by George J »

krish.pf wrote:.........http://forum.keypublishing.co.uk/archiv ... 31898.html
I see a George J there, is that you?.........
Now you know why I am a cranky old man who gets irritated when you kids still discuss the SAME thing that we have beaten to death five years ago. Trust me 99% of the stuff you find has already been dealt with. All you have to do is search and you will find it.

NO MORE RED FLAG/YOU TUBE TERRY DISCUSSION. TAKE IT ELSEWHERE. TRUST ME YOU DON'T WANT ME TO SHOO YOU.

If you ask me personally, I feel this is why Nitin left and I don't blame him.

George J wrote: If you ask me personally, I feel this is why Nitin left and I don't blame him.
He's taken enough of a break. He should return.
George J

Post by George J »

Vivek K wrote:He's taken enough of a break. He should return.
To what? We are back to discussing things that we discussed 5 years ago....because janta don't know how to use Google. Every time a new jingo finds BRF its his fundamental right to regress the discussion back to what they care about...COPE INDIA/RED FLAG and You Tube Terry......
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

Now you know why I am a cranky old man who gets irritated when you kids still discuss the SAME thing that we have beaten to death five years ago. Trust me 99% of the stuff you find has already been dealt with. All you have to do is search and you will find it.
Well, first I'm not registered in that forum and that is a multinational forum, and second I felt BR would have some explanation/inside info on the 13,300 fig, it was the fig which their site published afterall. Nothing beats asking the source directly, when the said source is reputed and deals with Indian defence extensively.

George J wrote: To what? We are back to discussing things that we discussed 5 years ago....because janta don't know how to use Google. Every time a new jingo finds BRF its his fundamental right to regress the discussion back to what they care about...COPE INDIA/RED FLAG and You Tube Terry......
Well, the new BRF has an ignore feature built in. Gurus can put newbies on their ignore list. Maybe some ity-vity guy can add a feature to add newbie posts on Gurus ignore list upto 500 posts etc. Also, Gurus do not have to respond to all the Newbie posts. Let him/her travel into cyber space for the answer. JMT.

Vivek K wrote:
George J wrote: If you ask me personally, I feel this is why Nitin left and I don't blame him.
.. shiv ji has a diff take. btw, i agree with the "other aspects" of gurus., and imho, leaving and joining are individual options as well, largely speaking /OT.
George J

Post by George J »

krish.pf wrote:..Well, first I'm not registered in that forum and that is a multinational forum, and second I felt BR would have some explanation/inside info on the 13,300 fig, it was the fig which their site published afterall......
If its posted there then its THEIR job to tell you how they got it, its not BRs job to correct stuff that you pick up and you don't need to be registered to find archives from there.. That site also has the distinction of breeding the Oracles of Twu BVR, and the BR also contracted the same disease. BR has gotten to where it has due to meticulous moderators and strict entry criteria where people were supposed to do their own research and back up their posts with references and even in the references the same hierarchy applies 1) OEM website 2) OEM brochures/info boards 3) OEM boss direct quotes. Also we DO NOT discuss anything that is NOT OPEN SOURCE. It can be attributed to a Panwallah but you are not required to believe anything, in fact its best if you don't. You are not doing anyone a favor by posting NON OPEN source info.

For example just because you saw the KAB-500, Kh-59 and Kh-31A on the MKI in Lohegaon does not mean you can talk about it till there is actually an open source pic/IAF reference of the same. Till such time there is no such thing as the Kh-59 or Kh-31 on the MKI. I onleee flies with dumb bombs and R-73/27/77 since that's the only open source pics released in 2003.
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

If its posted there then its THEIR job to tell you how they got it, its not BRs job to correct stuff that you pick up
I was referring to BR's site. The 13,300 fig was posted on BR's site.

For example just because you saw the KAB-500, Kh-59 and Kh-31A on the MKI in Lohegaon does not mean you can talk about it till there is actually an open source pic/IAF reference of the same. Till such time there is no such thing as the Kh-59 or Kh-31 on the MKI. I onleee flies with dumb bombs and R-73/27/77 since that's the only open source pics released in 2003.
By this logic quite a few of the threads will have to be locked down on the BR forum. Actually, come to think about it, why have BR at all? If *only* official specs are to be discussed and "you cant talk about anything else" (paraphrasing), all we need is the GoI website. No forum necessary.

krish.pf wrote:
If its posted there then its THEIR job to tell you how they got it, its not BRs job to correct stuff that you pick up
I was referring to BR's site. The 13,300 fig was posted on BR's site.
krish, when was that. I remember checking about a week ago, it was the accepted figure only.

Re: Su-30: News and Discussion/ http://www.tribuneindia.com/2002

George J wrote:For example just because you saw the KAB-500, Kh-59 and Kh-31A on the MKI in Lohegaon does not mean you can talk about it till there is actually an open source pic/IAF reference of the same. Till such time there is no such thing as the Kh-59 or Kh-31 on the MKI. I onleee flies with dumb bombs and R-73/27/77 since that's the only open source pics released in 2003.
It is armed with the latest RVV-AE air-to-air and Kh-31, Kh-29 and Kh-59 air-to-surface missiles, state-of-the-art avionics and phased array radars. :twisted:
Last edited by SaiK on 27 Oct 2009 00:50, edited 1 time in total.

George J wrote: Also we DO NOT discuss anything that is NOT OPEN SOURCE. .....

Errrr! George.........! Nice way of giving info without giving it. :rotfl:

well.. read for yourself.. an open source link (oldie one)
http://www.tribuneindia.com/2002/20020927/nation.htm
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

krish, when was that. I remember checking about a week ago, it was the accepted figure only.
That's a long time back. I posted a couple of forum links before which posts BR's MKI page which talks about 29,400 fig.
George J

Post by George J »

Tanaji:

Like what threads? Don't say Hot Air Forum or any of the Nuke threads....that's a Hot Air Forum extension. :D

If GOI>MOD>Services did a meticulous job of collecting (or disputing) all open source info and putting them in one place to discuss, argue, split then there was no reason for BR or BRF. I totally agree.
George J

Post by George J »

krish.pf wrote:.....That's a long time back. I posted a couple of forum links before which posts BR's MKI page which talks about 29,400 fig.
You mean you STARTED a tangent...and accuse BR for it and CANNOT post a link to it? :evil:
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

What..? I saw the 29,400 fig in BR. Now BR is currently under maintenance and the specs are gone. I posted some forum links before which copy-pastes the BR's page validating what I saw. Since I saw it in BR I came to the source and asked about it.

moral: call for backup, before you go post-al!

krish.pf wrote:What..? I saw the 29,400 fig in BR. Now BR is currently under maintenance and the specs are gone. I posted some forum links before which copy-pastes the BR's page validating what I saw. Since I saw it in BR I came to the source and asked about it.
:mrgreen: hate to throw petrol into a flame but .....
http://74.125.93.132/search?hl=en&sourc ... f&oq=&aqi= :mrgreen:
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

So you guys did change the specs. That answers one of my questions. I saw the specs a while ago.

krish.pf wrote:So you guys did change the specs. That answers one of my questions. I saw the specs a while ago.
Unless you saw it like - five years ago..
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

lol.. maybe. I clearly remember seeing the 29,400lbf since it was higher than the MKK's engine.

And I see there is no mention of tail radar in the updated page. George just said the Bars can engage only 4, wiki says that too with the Tikhomirov website as reference. The BR's page says it can engage 8. Any inside info? Or am I missing something?

Vayusena tripod and Paul's pages (overscan) too say can engage 4 simultaneously ; The ACIG page states "and can track 20 targets, while engaging 8".

These Jingos na.. :mrgreen:
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

Don't know who owns vayu tripod, but ACIG generally uses other references. They often take their info from BR.

Krish NIIP Tikhomirov says '4' here

BARS
#Support up to 15 targets on the aisle in order to assess the tactical situation of group actions airplane without an end to search;
# Precise tracking of up to 4 targets for the use of weapons without an end to search;
krish.pf

Post by krish.pf »

Thanks for the exact Tikhomirov page negi. :) I saw the "4" targets in wiki with a reference to the main Tikhomirov page.