Afghanistan News & Discussion

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Malayappan

Re: Afghanistan News & Discussion

Post by Malayappan »

Steve Coll weighing in The New Yorker...

What If We Fail in Afghanistan?
Some excerpts
In the humiliating circumstances that would attend American failure, those in the West who now promote “counterterrorism,” “realist,” and “cost-effective” strategies in the region would probably endorse, in effect, a nineties redux—which would amount to a prescription for more Afghan civil war
In this scenario, as in the past, Pakistan’s generals would be tempted to negotiate an accommodation with the Taliban, Afghan and Pakistani alike, to the greatest possible extent, in defiance of Washington’s preferences.
London might well be more vulnerable than New York during the ensuing five or ten years after an Afghan Taliban revolution. The Afghan Taliban are essentially inseparable from the Pakistani Taliban. Because of the size and character of the Pakistani diaspora in Britain, currently, there are about six hundred thousand annual visits by civilians between the two countries, a flow of individuals that is almost impossible to police effectively.

brown is already taking of an afghan exit strategy, buying off taliban, ring fencing afghanistan. yet in the same breath he includes threats to security from afghanistan and PAKISTAN... possibly he's angling for a military withdrawal and a ramp up of the covert intel war. the talibs will ultimately fall upon each other cos thats what they like doing. the bad-jehadis in pakistan will be crushed by the PA, and the good-jehadis in pakistan by the IA when they come visiting or by unkil as they siesta on rooftops. maybe the west is even trying to push pakistan into a full scale civil war and self cleanse?

KV Rao wrote: Other moves we can make for leverage, besides the thermonuke one are to pass a unanimous Parliamentary resolution affirming our fraternal cultural ties with the Tibetan people, cozying up to the outer Mongolians, getting good ol' dar-ul-uloom guys to set up a branch office in Urumqui :-) or at least offering AMU / JNU scholarships to Uighurs (a bit of a risky move in that the Ulema might get ideas above their aukat, but I assume that we can more or less control these sarkari maulana-types, and it is time all the toadying to the left and to the Muslim ulema paid off) etc.
hmm... there is a writer whose brother is a religious teacher in the concerned region. such cases might be individual one off cases though. but it exists.

Shaurya, KVRao, Muppalla, AKumar, Johann: Thanks for the interesting extrapolations and views along the new line of discussion. I have had to be away from the forums, and will be for a few more days, owing to emergency travel. Will definitely get back to you as soon as I can, and I look forward to continuing the discussion then.

-Rudradev

Ombaba's visit to China was historic.

1. Ombaba may have hinted at creating a pseudo G2 where Amrikhans take care of Europe and South Amrikha; and Chinis take care of Asia. I don't think that he loved relinquishing the control to Chinis but you see "eventually" all superpowers slow down and realize that their vast empires are difficult to support. Brits realized the same after 100 years.

2. I bet the Babus in New Delhi and their "so called" foreign experts are feeling the same way a girl feels when her boyfriend (Amrikhans) dumps her for a better looking girl (Chini) across the street. Actually, I should not blame them b'cas there was very little they could do.

3. Is the world (Amrikhans) ready to dump Afg. again? Ombaba hinted at closing Afg. before he leaves office. Since there are very little chances that he will be re-elected, does this mean a winding down in 2-3 year? I read about Holbrook visiting Russia for help in Afg. Are the plans brewing to hand over Afg./Pk to Russie+Chini+(Hindi?)?
Johann

Post by Johann »

Hi Chanakya,

I think we have to separate economic and geopolitical groupings to a degree.

When I say economic I'm not talking about 'thematic' economic groupings - energy exporters vs. energy importers, or countries with lots of poor farmers (i.e. 'developing') vs. countries where the rural poor are a small minority('developed').

China and America are an economic dyad. The Democrats from Clinton onwards prefer to focus on economic cooperation, while attempting to soften geopolitical tensions. The Republicans on the other hand fear the kind of world Chinese power will create

Russia and Europe are fast becoming another economic dyad, even though their remain significant geopolitical rivalries in the buffer zone between them.

The point is that these economic relationships, even under hawkish governments affect how far each party is willing to go in a crisis. Both China and America do not want to see a real confrontation with each other over Taiwan. Russia and the EU do not want to see a real confrontation with each other about Ukraine. Economic interdependency create real incentives to meet each other halfway.

While India is increasingly important to everyone, there isnt the same kind of mutual economic interdependence with any of the big economic players. It gives India greater independence, but it also means less influence. Interestingly, one of the most likely candidates for an exceptionally close economic relationship is the Middle East - a place with large energy surpluses, domestic technology deficit, serious needs for skilled manpower, and chronic insecurity. Despite political differences with the GCC over Pakistan and Sunni activism, and Iran over the nuclear and pipeline issues, I believe economic forces will draw India closer to both at least in the medium term.

Whether its the GCC, Iran, or both will I think have an indirect influence on India's approach to Afghanistan and Pakistan in the same time frame, and will influence the GCC and/or Iran's approach to the region as well.

Ombaba's visit to China was historic.
I believe the reason for his visit is to avert a trade war with China over the issue of inflating away the dollar at their expense.

I also think its a snub to India for buying the IMF gold and igniting a rally in gold prices - which has shown the USD in a poor light.

I expect India will play the 'swing' trader going forward - buying up any gold that's put on the market. China cannot do the same as they are trapped holding and accumulating ever more dollars.

Interestnig book review:

From Telegraph, Kolkota....

REASONS BEHIND THE RETURN OF THE CARAVAN OF TERROR

Better prepared
Decoding the New Taliban: Insights from the Afghan Field
Edited by Antonio Giustozzi, Foundation, Rs 795

The editor of this book does not mince words. The book, in fact, is not only an acknowledgement of the growing strength of the neo-Taliban, but also a polite admission of the West’s failure at grasping the intricacies of the Afghan problem. Antonio Giustozzi tries to set right some of the misconceptions by drawing on the vast experiences, mostly first-hand, of specialists who have, because of their professional or academic interests, either travelled extensively in Afghanistan or researched particular issues. The contributors to this volume are well-known journalists, academics, social workers and members of the think-tank who remain involved with the ever-changing social and political realities in Afghanistan and provide the most contemporary insight possible into specific regions or issues.

Giustozzi’s overriding concern is to unearth the command-and-control structure of the neo-Taliban, as they have evolved since the Taliban, in their previous incarnation, was pushed out of power by the West-backed operation in Afghanistan post-9/11. The picture is diverse for each of the regions under investigation. The specific reasons for the return are also different, although there are significant overlaps. An indifferent government, the corruption among the Afghan police and State officials, the growing distance between the administration and the populace and wrong war tactics of the Nato forces seem to have hastened, and even encouraged, the Taliban’s comeback. But to blame bad governance entirely for the turn of events would be to misjudge a very complex situation. Taliban efforts to regroup were, in many instances, given a fillip by tribal infighting (Alokozai versus Ishaqzai in Helmand) or by a more unholy concern to secure the drug traffic across Afghanistan’s borders. While discussing Taliban networks in Uruzgan, Martine van Bijlert, in fact, reiterates an earlier observation on the Taliban movement by comparing it to a “caravan” to which different people attached themselves for various reasons.

Whatever the reason for the attachment, neo-Taliban groupings have grown in strength over the past few years. In their assessments of the past and recent Taliban organizations in Kabul, Andar, Uruzgan, Herat, Farah, Baghdis, Ghor, Helmand and in north Afghanistan, the contributors have shown how from small, unwelcome fighting units, the Taliban have come to establish parallel governments and courts in many of the districts. The Taliban, of course, have not met with equal success in all the provinces. In a number of provinces, they remain disorganized or confused units of fighters under self-aggrandizing commanders or unruly men uncontrolled by the central leadership. But in many, they are already a coherent unit with an established hierarchy and command structure, and this is what Giustozzi tries to establish by papering over what he believes to be minor aberrations to this conclusion.

In his study of the insurgency in Helmand, Tom Coghlan delineates the basic structure of the command. The basic military formation, he says, is the mahaz or front. It would typically consist of around 20 fighters under a single charismatic leader. It would “arrive” in the Taliban as a formed band with fighters connected to each other (andiwals or comrades) through blood ties, or tribal, village, locality or madrasa links. The commander is still not a full mahaz commander and would require some more experience in combat to be acknowledged by the leadership (the Quetta shura or the Taliban Leadership Council) to qualify for independent charge. Till that happens, he is only sub-commander. The Taliban claim there are as many as 25 mahazes in a single district.

What Giustozzi tries to put a finger on is the development of the hierarchy with a definite command. Strict control, apparently, is maintained by the central leadership over commanders, who are transferred regularly and rested, along with the fighters, at certain intervals. The command structure has a lot to do with the financial control maintained by the leadership. Commanders, as Gretchen Peters points out in her study of the importance of the drug trade in financing the insurgency, are required to give to the leaders a steady amount through their collection of drug money via taxation at several junctures. The money comes back from the high command in the form of cash or weapons or other assistance.

Giustozzi does not seem to completely agree with this assessment of the importance of the drug money in retaining the command structure or estimates of how much it amounts to. And that leaves the readers with some discomfort. Contributors repeatedly point to the fact that the organization of the Taliban are “far from unified”, and at times even chaotic. Yet Giustozzi seems to insist that the Taliban have crossed a certain threshold in the development of the command structure, with definite ideas about the use of resources. They may have. But this growth is definitely not uniform or consistent. Moreover, without a more comprehensive explanation of how the leadership executes its command (they seem to be putting heads together only in planning major offensives) and how it reins in its diverse and diffuse force down the line, the fog will remain about the structural organization of the Taliban, who give remarkable freedom to their men to seek personal revenge and do anything possible to keep the State and society in a perpetual limbo.

The book otherwise provides some remarkable insights into how the neo-Taliban, a more radicalized breed than their progeny, are adapting to the changed circumstances of battle. Earlier reservations about pictures, television and the media have been thrown to the winds to promote the global image of the Taliban as an organization that transcends the limits of tribal and national linkages. The Taliban are also fast changing their harsh ways to co-opt the public in their drive for an Islamic Emirate, especially those who believe that the Taliban are a “castle of butter”, which will melt as soon as the harsh responsibility of governance falls on them.

CHIROSREE BASU
I long ago watched the TV serial Chanakaya and am struck at the neo-Taliban being described above is a clone of the units depicted in that serial, developed to overthrow the remanants of Alexander's invasion.
Small distributed units with local support overthorwin alien culture.

The US seems to be going the "Village Defense Council" route, a la J&K, by paying villages to defend themselves against Taliban:

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/11/22/world ... itias.html

Via Retd. Col W. P. Lang, Green Beret Major Jim Gant's paper on Afghanistan (pdf format).

BRFers might find it interesting.
I emphasized at the beginning of this paper that I am neither a strategist nor an academic. I know there will be many criticisms that span all levels of war, from military personnel to pundits; but I also know this: I will get on a helicopter tonight, armed with an AK-47 and 300 rounds of ammunition and put my life on the line and my strategy to the test. Will you do the same?

Bottom line: There may be dozens of reasons not to adopt this strategy. but there is only one reason to do so—we have to. Nothing else will work.

http://nightwatch.afcea.org/NightWatch_20091112.htm
NightWatch’s open source-based data base on clashes shows that clashes have more than doubled during the past year in the Afghan provinces through which the northern route runs. However, the Taliban threat is persistent, but not consistent. The number and nature of attacks last month in Konduz Province, for example, do not indicate a large, capable Taliban fighting force in the province, such as operate in the eastern provinces near Pakistan.

Karzai thumbs his nose at the US & co.
Karzai refusing to sign ministers' arrest warrants
(Marai Shah)
Hamid Karzai promised to stamp out corruption at his inauguration last week

Jerome Starkey, Kabul

Afghanistan's chief prosecutor has enough evidence to charge at least five government ministers with crimes including embezzlement and fraud, officials said today.

But President Karzai has so far refused to sign their arrest warrants - despite very public pledges to crack down on corruption.

"We have indictments with sufficient proof against five ministers," said the Attorney General, General Mohammed Ishaq Aloko.

"Two of them are in the current cabinet and three are former ministers. The President only has to grant his approval, then the trials can proceed."

Related Links
British to train Afghan militias against Taleban
MoD spent £149m on tanks unfit for service
Afghan tribal splits: ripe for exploitation?

Mr Karzai pledged to clean up his government and root out corruption during his inauguration speech last week as he began his second five-year term.

But General Aloko's deputy, Fazel Ahmad Faqiryar, told The Times that Mr Karzai is yet to waive their ministerial immunity. "We still haven't received any warrants from the President to arrest the ministers," he said.

Both prosecutors refused to identify the ministers under investigation because Afghan law prevents suspects being named until their convictions are upheld in the Supreme Court.

But Mr Faqiryar confirmed the Ministry of Haj was under investigation for receiving more than a quarter of a million dollars in kickbacks linked to the recent pilgrimage to Mecca.

"Two staff went to Mecca and rented accommodation for the Afghan pilgrims and took a $360,000 bribe," he said. "Maybe some higher ranking people in the ministry also had a hand in it."

The minister, Sadiq Chakari, confirmed two of his staff were the subject of an inquiry.

Mr Faqiryar also denied claims that the second cabinet official under investigation was the minister of mines, Muhammad Ibrahim Adel, who was accused of taking a $30 million back hander in exchange for the rights to the regions largest untapped copper reserve.

"There's still no proof against Adel," Mr Faqiryar said.

In a separate development, the United States today signed an agreement giving $38.7 million to 27 Afghan provinces that eliminated or significantly reduced opium production in the world’s biggest country supplier.

A memorandum of understanding extends the money to Afghanistan’s counter-narcotics ministry, which will disperse the cash to the various provinces to finance development or alternative crops.

“This money will benefit 20 provinces (out of 34) which are poppy-free and seven provinces where poppy cultivation has significantly decreased over the last year,” said General Khodaidad, the Counter-Narcotics Minister.

“We expect that in 2010, four to five more provinces will be poppy free. We hope in the future all of Afghanistan will be poppy-free."
Ameet

Post by Ameet »

Obama plans to send additional 34K troops to Afghanistan

http://www.mcclatchydc.com/227/story/79380.html

President Barack Obama met Monday evening with his national security team to finalize a plan to dispatch some 34,000 additional U.S. troops over the next year to what he's called "a war of necessity" in Afghanistan, U.S. officials told McClatchy.

Obama is expected to announce his long-awaited decision on Dec. 1, followed by meetings on Capitol Hill aimed at winning congressional support amid opposition by some Democrats who are worried about the strain on the U.S. Treasury and whether Afghanistan has become a quagmire, the officials said.
Malayappan

Post by Malayappan »

US confirms Saudi role in talks with Taliban
From the link -
US Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan Richard Holbrooke has confirmed that Saudi Arabia has initiated a dialogue with the Taliban and that the United States would support any Saudi initiative
The US ambassador offered to recognise the Taliban rule in several provinces, including Kandahar, Helmand, Arzakan, Kunar, and Nuristan.
In return, the US ambassador demanded that the militants stop their attacks on US forces and bases in the country.
But may not work, according to 'sources' -
The sources also said the US ambassador’s talks with Mullah Mutawakil might also fail to produce results.
Mullah Mutawakil, Mullah Abdul Salam Zaeef, the former Taliban ambassador to Pakistan, and Mullah Mohamed Tayeb Agha are looked upon by the Taliban leaders with disdain after they surrendered to the US early in the war.

Sorry for the delay in taking up the conversation, but here goes.

Muppalla:
Mupalla wrote:
There is a solution without giving an inch of land if India really plays chanikian. May be India is already doing it. Here are steps that needs to be done:
1) India tells firmly to Uncle that you exit from AFPak then we are going full blown Nuke country with allround tests of Air/space and land and we are going to mark an Island either in Lakdeep or Andaman to show to the world of poweress. We will then followup with a bunch of anti-balastic ones along with Agni-4. However, we needs to clearly tell that this nothing against west but to take care of China. (May be this is being the dialog with US at this time. Read the MMS comment about asking west to stayput in AfPak)
2) If Amrikhan exits and we test again then declare a stockpile of 1243 Nukes (50Kil tons) and 75 ( TNs of 1MT) and 7453 Tacticals. Sign the CTBT a la France.
3) Anyone venturing against India's Territorial integrity will be attacked with Nukes and we are out of no-First use crap.(May be this is what Army Cheif Deepak Kapoor was aluding to)

CTBT, Indo-US Nuke deal may be a hedge afterall to keep Amrikhan focussed in AfPak. The cost of not Testing and signing CTBT is making the area Nuke nood and destroying TSP forever with a clearly demarcated Pasthunistan. In addition India can offer itself as a hedge to China's super power ambitions. No land from the divided TSP will be allowed to be transferred to China.
As I see it your proposal is essentially that we should keep Amirkhan involved in AfPak by stating that we will react to his withdrawal by undertaking aggressive nuclear testing and weaponization, making it clear that these are measures directed specifically towards China. That is intriguing, but will Unkil not call our bluff?

Playing the devil's advocate in Unkil's role, I might say, go ahead and do your worst; we will sanction you, continue to arm Pakistan with even more advanced conventional weapons systems and even missile defense, as well as extend an unprecedented level of diplomatic solution to Pakistan on Kashmir. This would suit China very well, since it would cripple any hope of our being able to catch up with them economically if comprehensive sanctions were imposed. And what do we come out of it with? Maybe a very large strategic arsenal, but will that by itself be enough to dissuade even the Pakis (if openly and vehemently backed by Unkil) let alone the Chinese?

The one flaw I see in this strategy is that it offers a clear avenue of rationale for Unkil-China cooperation to an extent that will be far more detrimental to us than at present... strengthening the Obama peoples' conception of a G-2, which in fact is exactly what we want to see fail. If we are going to defy Unkil, it may be critical that we do not simultaneously alienate China but in fact hedge our bets (as the English did in the Rennaissance age, being often at war with either Spain or France but never with both of these more powerful nations at the same time).

KV Rao:
[I do appreciate the astuteness of your analysis Rudradev and the spirit in which you posed the challenge; likewise I assume you expected nothing less than a strong response on this forum?]
A "strong response" is all very well, and it is certainly better than no response :mrgreen: However, my point is this: even now, we're dealing with a government that has made such alarming compromises on our fundamental national interest that it may well be on its way to giving up Indian territory without even gaining anything. This has already been indicated, as by Sharm el Shaikh, and by the "MMS-Musharraf plan" to make borders "irrelevant" in Kashmir... a sure-shot track to giving up the whole territory of J&K quite inevitably. If that weren't bad enough, what would we get in return for it? America giving up the Indian subcontinent to Chinese dominion, as quite clearly suggested by the "monitoring role" Obama has stated that he favours for China in our region? America walking out of Af-Pak, bribing the TSPA to launch fresh offensives against us on a conventional and sub-conventional level in exchange for allowing the occasional predator mission to take out specifically anti-Western Jihadis? That is exactly what Biden and Jones are suggesting.

Compared to this... however appalling it may be to consider giving up territory to China, if there were something to gain out of it geopolitically, it would still be better than giving up territory to Pakistan at America's behest and getting *nothing*. Which is the situation we find ourselves facing now. That situation is not a matter of a forum post... it is impending reality being facilitated by Indian government policy of today. Where is the forumites' strong response to that?

Of course a third way that doesn't involve giving up any territory and accrues the most gains, is to be preferred. That's what I think we should be focusing on, rather than reactivity.
Making a gesture that is the equivalent of the fearsome trumpeting of an enraged bull elephant would have the effect of focusing the minds of these various powers on what it is they are dealing with in India. On the contrary, without this kind of clear message, we keep running the risk that no one really knows where India's red line is, or to what lengths India is prepared to go; hence there is a likelihood that they will miscalculate, and we'll actually end up with a global nuclear holocaust.

I am not seriously advocating becoming an actual rogue state like Iran or NKorea--rather, following a powerful gesture, we can continue with normal diplomatic engagement and process (there will be the usual enraged and frustrated noises but US today is far weaker than it is 1998, and we should make it our job to send the message that we were driven to this move by continuing US perfidy and appeasement of Pak; a target date of Nov 26, 2010 would send the message nicely), and hope to make better progress with the give-and-take of negotiations, with better assurance that there will be real stability and good behavior by our adversaries.
The two questions to be answered here, again, are (1) assuming all goes well and we scare the bejesus out of Washington by convincing them that we will test nukes, will they decide that the best course of action is to placate us by ensuring stability and good behaviour by our adversaries? As opposed to teaming up with our adversaries to call our bluff. and (2) Even if the Americans do respond to the threat of our "dand" as we would like them to... what are they even capable of doing to ensure these demands of ours are met?

The US, ultimately, isn't going to stay in AfPak for our sake. It will, therefore, necessarily take such measures in Pakistan as it feels are necessary to safeguard its interests in our region given the necessity of withdrawing its military presence from there. If we had even a third as much of trade volume with the US as China does, our non-cooperation would have been a threat of sufficient import that we could have influenced or circumscribed those measures. As things stand, the current GOTUS has calculated that it doesn't really need India. They will make the right noises, throw state dinners and so on, but they seem to have plenty of confidence in China's cooperation to cover all the angles which they can't themselves influence, simply by bribing Pakistan.
As to the specific question of leverage in the face of a US pullout from Af/Pak, I think a big part of it is psychological--Pakis as well as Afghans (for that matter anyone who is a fighter) have a way of respecting and stepping back in the face of an adversary / interlocutor who they believe is capable of, and wiling to, do serious damage to them. I think the Afghans like what we are doing with their infrastructure etc., and would stay on our side for what they can gain in that direction, if they knew that we have the independent wherewithal to stay put, and punish on our own anyone who interferes with our presence. We have no enmity with any of the Afghan factions as such, except for those that are creatures of Pakistan, so we should be building a pro-India consensus in Afghanistan (which wouldn't include the paki faction, obviously) that is hostile to Pakistan, and will, in time, reduce the paki element to a marginal terrorist nuisance that will be dealt with in KPS Gill fashion over time.
This is a best-case scenario w.r.t. Afghanistan itself, and I dearly hope that things do indeed end up this way. However, I do see some difficulties. As you've noted, the Afghans are happy and appreciative of the aid we've been giving them, and all of that is an incentive for a substantial constituency of Afghans to side with India... given that essential stability can be maintained. If the US pulls out, chances of that essential stability being maintained decline to almost nil. Our independent wherewithal to stay put will then have to be backed up with Indian military presence on the ground in Afgh, and we would have to tackle all the attendant problems of deploying it and sustaining it.

We would essentially be fighting a proxy war against Pakistan in Afghan territory, a war that the USSR and the USA both found too taxing of their resources to keep up for too long. Pakistan doesn't need development or stability in Afgh... that gives them an advantage. Instability, and a dominance of Islampasand warlord factions with constantly flexible loyalties, is in fact to Pakistan's benefit. All the Pakis need there is "strategic depth"... enough real estate under their control to train terrorists and deploy a second-strike capability against India. As far as the Pakis are concerned the rest of Afgh can go to hell...and in fact, better if it is in hell because a real nation tends to develop nationalist ideas such as correcting the Durand line.

Meanwhile we, like the Russians in the '80s and the Americans today, would be invested in "nation-building"... the achievement and maintenance of an economically productive, politically stable status-quo. What is worse, it won't be just the Pakis trying to disrupt what we build but the Chinese too... for the Chinese have been invited into Afghanistan by Obama in no uncertain terms.

Is this *really* a challenge we can take up and meet while simultaneously tackling the vast number of other challenges... internal security, development etc. that we already face?

Of course, the point here is we don't have the luxury of a choice such as the US or USSR had. They could ultimately go home without incurring existential threats to their national security as a consequence. We can't... we *have* to have a stable Afghanistan. If America pulls out, AND with China + Pak working together to sabotage us, do we really have a hope of achieving it?
I see that I didn't say anything about the SCO scenario--I am not really sure what its future importance really is, but I see it as primarily a Chinese show (on the lines of the WWII Japanese "Greater Asian Co-Prosperity Sphere" thingy) , with Russians & ex-Soviets being second-fiddle right now. China will grab as much as it can; I don't see any meaningful leverage accruing to India with the status quo. Any leverage we have has to be with China and no one else.

Other moves we can make for leverage, besides the thermonuke one are to pass a unanimous Parliamentary resolution affirming our fraternal cultural ties with the Tibetan people, cozying up to the outer Mongolians, getting good ol' dar-ul-uloom guys to set up a branch office in Urumqui :-) or at least offering AMU / JNU scholarships to Uighurs (a bit of a risky move in that the Ulema might get ideas above their aukat, but I assume that we can more or less control these sarkari maulana-types, and it is time all the toadying to the left and to the Muslim ulema paid off) etc.
I do agree with you here. The SCO may not have any relevance in the future, and it would be preferable not to get too deeply invested with them, especially when further down the line an inevitable China-US conflict does crystallize.

However, they may be useful to us in a short-term sense. What I am considering is some sort of (for lack of a better word) "hudaibiya" approach to China. Of course it cannot be all GUBO... we have to have the leverage of "dand" as you say, and for those reasons making calculated overtures of just the right degree of ambiguity towards the Uighurs, Tibetans, Mongolians etc. is a good idea. But at the same time, "dand" is only one component.

We can assume that there exists a potentially pro-India constituency somewhere in the CCP, made up primarily of pro-business leaders who have realized that China needs to diversify its portfolio of international trading partners given the current economic situation in the West.

Our gaining, and demonstrating the capability to fundamentally harm China's interests will have two effects. One, it will alarm the paranoid anti-India constituency in Beijing, the PLA etc., who will respond by loudly raising the temperature (see how they have responded to the Nuclear Deal and to Arihant). But two, it will also alert the latent pro-India constituency (the pro-business types etc.) that pushing India too far will lead to disaster, and hence some amount of accommodation and understanding with India is a necessity. This faction will also be galvanized into pushing their viewpoint, by our demonstrated capacity to offer China "dand".

However, our demonstrating the value of a mutually beneficial relationship with India, at the same time, will strengthen the hand of the pro-business faction over the paranoids. A good helping of "Sama" with a whiff of potential "Dama" has to be offered, but offered from the position of strength that our visible capacity to inflict "Danda" confers. Not that Panchsheel nonsense.

Going from the philosophical to the practical, what combination of "Sama", "Dama", "Danda" and "Bheda" can we present to the Chinese that convinces them to cooperate with us? I think "Bheda", or at least diplomacy that exploits the existing divergences, is where the SCO comes in. To whatever extent we can acquire leverage over China through influencing its SCO partners, Russia and Iran, we should certainly do so. It is in this context that I suggested engaging with the SCO as a means to addressing our security concerns in an Afgh abandoned by Amirkhan.

Entirely agree with your point on the need to demonstrate our inner steel.

Chiron:
Chiron wrote: The nuke bunkers should be built under guise of something else, civilian drills can be conducted on the notice of 5-6 months once the shelters are built, anti-BM project should continue along with building up of naval prowess. Testing some new designs will be enough to show the rogue side of the elephant. That is intricately linked with US pull-out. I guess Bhaarat will show the rogue elephant side when US decides to pull out permanently.. They of course will not do it in one go, they will show Salami tactics - slice by slice.. What is the threshold before India can display the rogue-side of the elephant by testing some more designs?
Very good points on how we could put up a measured show of our capacity to inflict punishment. One possible threshold could be the deployment of any Paki or Chinese regular military in Afgh territory as ostensible cover for the American withdrawal process. TSP proxies such as Haqqani etc. we can't do much about... they're already operating inside Afgh with impunity and the challenge is to get them out. But I think it is very likely that, in the event of an American withdrawal the TSPA will try to send its regulars to occupy territory north of the Durand line under the guise of "protecting FATA/NWFP from TTP attacks", and the Americans will agree. It is typical of the Pakis to not rely too much on its proxies to hold land and quickly consolidate their gains by deploying regular forces... a la Kashmir '47. Of course that should be an unmistakable red line for India.

We must make it clear to the US that the Pakis or Chinese cannot be part of any overt post-withdrawal dispensation in Afgh, otherwise all bets are off.

Shaurya:

I agree entirely with the Karnad article, thanks for posting it.

On your point that
Alliances formed for purely tactical reasons do not last, as proven by the US-Pakistani relationship.
Yes, alliances formed for tactical reasons aren't meant to last... being short term by definition. What is at issue here is not a geopolitical relationship you can make a long-term investment in, but how you can manage a tactical alliance for the necessary duration so that your needs are fulfilled, your benefits are maximized and your costs are minimal.
What the US will not do and should not be expected to do is to fight India's battles. If India refuses to make the necessary investments in her capabilities then it is moot to complain of US funding the Pakjabi army or wreck Afghanistan to serve her immediate interests, regardless of unintended casualties.
These are two different things IMO. There is no excuse for India not to invest in her capabilities, even if all was well with Pakistan. Such investment, or the lack of it, does not however make it moot that the US is (perhaps inadvertently, but very actively) aggravating existential threats to India within our neighbourhood.

The present GOI apparently has deluded itself that the US will fight India's battles, and is prepared to make appalling concessions in the name of US interest, while labouring under this delusion. Nothing else explains Sharm-el-Shaikh or the "irrelevant borders in J&K" travesty.

I won't get too deep into the civilizational proximity of our values with the Chinese vis-a-vis the US. Other than the Communist Party of China, which is definitely a hostile near-emperor from India's point of view, I think we may well have a lot more in common with Chinese civilization than with anything spawned in the Judeo-Christian levant. And in ignoring this I think we often trap ourselves into thinking of China the same way as we think of the irrational, implacable, Abrahamic swine to our West. China will not screw itself to harm India as the Pakis will. The right combination of Kautilyan principles if applied thoughtfully, and from a position of multi-dimensional strength, may in fact have a more profound effect on China than it could ever have on an Abrahamic nation state... including Amirkhan, who has his own bigotry, prejudices and preconceived notions where we are concerned.
Even if the idea you have speculated was plausible, the secret to Afghanistan lies in the demographics and geography of the greater Afghanistan region and no geo-political game changers will affect that in the medium term. Paul's prognosis is more closer to the truth, IMO.
I'm in no way suggesting that we can entirely solve Afgh to our satisfaction merely by allying with the SCO. I do, however, suggest that an accommodation with the SCO might be *necessary if not sufficient* in managing the aftermath of an Amirkhan withdrawal from the region.
The best that we can hope to achieve is for this "state" of affairs to continue for a decade or two but most critically, we can hope to milk it, only and only if India invests in her capabilities and hard power and to use the same, to truly control the region from the Hormuz to the Malacca.
No argument whatsoever, on the need to develop hard power. Yet we're not only failing to do that, but making concessions that direly threaten our security in the hope that Amirkhan will be pleased with us and protect us from the consequences. That way lies disaster.

A_Kumar:

First, let me respond to something in an earlier post you made.
a_kumar wrote:Do you think once US-Iran relations improve, Iran will even care about India? Persians are the perfect partners for Americans if they get along well, so even US will probably not care so much for India. US would have gotten all it needs to keep the region (including Pakistan) in check.
Sorry, I think you are quite wrong. Persians may very well be the worst partners for the Americans in our entire region, with the possible exception of ourselves.

The Americans do not want partners, they want subsidiary allies and they want to dictate the terms of any partnership. This does not sit well with any nation-state that sees itself as the legate of a civilization... which we, and the Persians, certainly are. We have too strong a sense of ourselves, our history and our destiny to have the terms of an alliance dictated to us.

Nomadic rabble with no civilizational heritage (like the Saudis), and groups who have a history of collaborating with conquerors in the subjugation and enslavement of their own people (like the Pakjabis) are the most amenable partners... or should I say clients... for the Americans.

Not the Persians. Even today much of the rage against America in Iran is not "Islamist" as it is in Af-Pak or Saudi Arabia. Much of it derives from resentment against the CIA's removal of democratically elected Mossadegh, and the backing of the repressive tyrant Reza Pehlavi. In fact, the revolt against the Shah in Iran was a secular nationalist one, which Khomeini et al hijacked only after the fact.

Anyway back to the main issue:

a_kumar wrote: Rudradev, I see the message I think ("Lets be pragmatic?"). What I object to is the suggestion of ceding territory. For example, Aksai Chin is one example. But, Ladakh is undisputed with China. And ArP? what kind of message are we giving to the Indian citizens in NE? I believe that even a mention of such a solution is a Lakshman Rekha no country which wants to be intact should cross.

With no dearth of Chindus ready to kiss PRC's feet, any suggestion of giving up on our own citizens is irresponsible at best.
I don't think it's a good idea to let the terms of our discussion be circumscribed by our anger against the Chindus. They are traitors, that's well known, let's not get besieged by the existence of their point of view. I've made it clear that "giving up territory to China" was part of a speculative post and not being proffered as any sort of viable solution. However, if we start proscribing even the *mention* of certain things as taboo, we're the only ones who end up losing anything as a result. Meanwhile, avoiding the mention of those things doesn't offer us any protection from losing them.

All of us good citizens consider the integrity of J&K as a part of India to be a Lakshman Rekha and treat it as such. I myself have sent many emails of protest to Western media outlets who depict maps where COK, POK and Northern Areas are shown to be outside India. Yet, our treating the subject as taboo hasn't prevented MMS from proposing an "irrelevant borders" solution that will inevitably lead to the loss of J&K if put into practice.
Fair enough. To add to above comments,
(1) The only way India can play an unhindered role in SCO or any of the organization is by loosing the albatross on its neck.. Pakistan.
(2) China is unlikely to give any value to India, unless it is dependent on India. Be it trade or access to IO. So got to work on it.
(3) Northern Areas are China's weak link and they are reinforcing them with all sorts of projects while India is twiddling its thumbs.. yeah.. I heard the comment on projects in PoK, but that was only a reaction to China's belligerence on ArP, rather than on policy. (Thank You China!)
(4) Start a new org for India/SL/Bangladesh/Nepal/Bhutan/Burma. Afghanistan may be added as an observer to start with and later on expand.
(5) Lastly, invest heavily on future technologies and leapfrog to next generation. For god sake, where are we on GREEN?
To (1), is there a way we can actually use a relationship with the SCO to lose the albatross around our neck? After all Pakistan's value to both blocs (West and SCO) is its worth as a hedge and a proxy... against India, but also against *each other*. If the West withdraws from our neighbourhood, then Western reliance on Pakistan decreases but the latitude of Pakistan to act on its own increases. So how can we engage the remaining player in our neighbourhood, ie. the SCO, to reduce Pakistan to irrelevance? Will that be made easier at a time when one of Pakistan's sugar daddies has left the region?

On (2) please see my earlier points on a comprehensive posture towards China. I do agree that we have to work on it.

On (3), you're right, Northern Areas is what binds China's and TSP's destinies together more than any other single factor today. Without TSP control in that region the utility of Gwadar to China becomes moot. If we want to influence China to stop backing Pakistani claims on Kashmir, including POK/Northern Areas... what combination of threats and incentives would we have to present to China? Is there any possible combination that would compel/persuade the Chinese, that doesn't cost us too much?

On (4), a SAARC-minus-Pak does seem like a very good idea, especially if we can use it to engage more effectively with the ASEAN countries and with the newly emerging trade bloc of Japan, China and Korea that the Japanese PM has postulated.

Rudradev et al excellent discussions.

I just have one point to make -- in the discussions above, I see of lot debate about ceding territory as a part of agreement or tactic.

Now it may just be me that I have failed to understand the discussion well -- however I have a one point.

There is no comparison between the territory you hold and promises or treaties that can be made. Outside India promises are worth less than a Paki life. Further loss of territory in plan 1 and loss of territory in plan 2 both lead to issues, so a plan HAS to be formulated where there is no loss of territory.

So essentially what I am saying is that loss of territory is a capital asset that can not be offset by any amount of treaties et al.

I do have my own take on solutions which involve no loss of terriotry and yet a partial achivement of goals in Af-Pak -- and it will take some time to express properly, but I think a solution can be found by Russia-Iran-India-CAR agreement.

I dont think we can ever break G2 -- or we can but the price will be two high. G2 will happen in short span and in fact we should in some sense welcome it for the quagmire it will eventually draw both G2 in (its at best a short sighted alignment) -- I believe our efforts should be on surviving G2 rather than trying to break it down or reduce its importance.
Krishna_V

Post by Krishna_V »

Rudradev,

Giving up Indian territory to Pak or to China will be an absolute tragedy in the history of India. Giving up territory to china is like accepting our defeat and becoming part of akhand china.

what do we get by this sell out??

how about this we keep our territory and grow at a lesser pace than sell out. if the world gangs up against us we will show them the middle fingure. what can worst happen to india?
As I see it your proposal is essentially that we should keep Amirkhan involved in AfPak by stating that we will react to his withdrawal by undertaking aggressive nuclear testing and weaponization, making it clear that these are measures directed specifically towards China. That is intriguing, but will Unkil not call our bluff?

Playing the devil's advocate in Unkil's role, I might say, go ahead and do your worst; we will sanction you, continue to arm Pakistan with even more advanced conventional weapons systems and even missile defense, as well as extend an unprecedented level of diplomatic solution to Pakistan on Kashmir. This would suit China very well, since it would cripple any hope of our being able to catch up with them economically if comprehensive sanctions were imposed. And what do we come out of it with? Maybe a very large strategic arsenal, but will that by itself be enough to dissuade even the Pakis (if openly and vehemently backed by Unkil) let alone the Chinese?

If US exits Af without stabilizing the region then we are left with no option but to go nuclear. its a message to US, China or who ever it is that we are prepared for a conflict and if we have to go down we will also take u down. If US and China can help and weaponise TSP and play their cards so can we..gift nuke tech to all nations for world stability, form alliance with Russia and iran and pledge support to iran.

Krishna_V wrote:Rudradev,

Giving up Indian territory to Pak or to China will be an absolute tragedy in the history of India. Giving up territory to china is like accepting our defeat and becoming part of akhand china.

what do we get by this sell out??
We gain nothing.

Now ask yourself, what are we gaining by the MMS proposal (at Amirkhan's behest) to "make borders irrelevant in Kashmir" i.e. demilitarize Kashmir, allow Paki terrorists full access, expedite the complete ethnic cleansing of non-Muslims from J&K and guarantee the inevitable secession of J&K from India?

Even less than nothing. We will do all this, and Amirkhan who asked us to do it will pack up his bags and leave AfPak.

What are you going to do about that?
how about this we keep our territory and grow at a lesser pace than sell out. if the world gangs up against us we will show them the middle fingure. what can worst happen to india?

Nice proposal, but how will you convince all the very powerful interests who do not want to grow at a lesser pace? Some of our IT-Whiz Kids heavily pressured the NDA government, not to attack Pakistan following the Parliament attack of 2001... because they didn't want to jeopardize their economic prosperity by going against Amirkhan's interests.

If we have to have our backs to the wall with everybody ganging up against us, then we will show the middle finger and no problem. But no power in history has ever succeeded by allowing itself to be painted into that sort of a corner. All options that exist must be explored with detached objectivity, before we allow that situation to arise in the first place.

If US exits Af without stabilizing the region then we are left with no option but to go nuclear. its a message to US, China or who ever it is that we are prepared for a conflict and if we have to go down we will also take u down. If US and China can help and weaponise TSP and play their cards so can we..gift nuke tech to all nations for world stability, form alliance with Russia and iran and pledge support to iran.
No, we are left with lots of options, each with its advantages and disadvantages that must be evaluated. Also, please note that we have already gone nuclear... but there are messages with different levels of subtlety and calibration. We must consider carefully what messages to send, and how to communicate them with the maximum degree of effectiveness and minimum risk.

It is a dangerous game to start testing and proliferating indiscriminately... the wrong move could mean the end of our civilization. Shouting "f*ck you all!" hysterically is the last thing we want to do. Instead, we must formulate a clear message for each of the intended recepients, and articulate it to each of them, making sure each one understands exactly what we want to convey without ambiguity. Then test, proliferate or whatever in a measured manner... calculated to add the right degree of credibility to each message.

You mentioned an alliance with Russia and Iran, which I think is an excellent idea. The problem is that it may not be possible to form an alliance with only those two when they are increasingly committing themselves to an SCO that includes China in a prominent role. So if we want to hedge our bets against an Amirkhan withdrawal from AfPak by reaching an understanding with Russia and Iran, some of our options might be:

-Trying to marginalize China within the SCO so that the alliance in its present state falls apart, and we essentially take up the Chinese role in that organization. Can we achieve this, and if so how? What incentives can we offer the Russians and Iranians to forget the present SCO and throw in their lot with us instead? And what would the fallout be... would China then accommodate with the US against the India-Iran-Russia alliance?

-Trying to reach some understanding with China so that they understand it is in their interest to resolve all outstanding differences with us, including TSP, and bring us into the SCO and also pursue better relations with us for their own benefit. How can this be achieved? I believe it cannot be achieved only by threats (i.e. showing our nuclear mardangi) but by presenting a balanced portfolio of threats and incentives.
Krishna_V

Post by Krishna_V »

We gain nothing
If we gain nothing then why even consider this option?
Now ask yourself, what are we gaining by the MMS proposal (at Amirkhan's behest) to "make borders irrelevant in Kashmir" i.e. demilitarize Kashmir, allow Paki terrorists full access, expedite the complete ethnic cleansing of non-Muslims from J&K and guarantee the inevitable secession of J&K from India?

Even less than nothing. We will do all this, and Amirkhan who asked us to do it will pack up his bags and leave AfPak.
MMS may be a soft leader but I don’t agree GOI would simple open the Kashmir doors to pak without commitment from other parties (US and Pak). Dalai Lama vist to AP and MMS statement that we do have a stake in Af clearly states that

If you and i believe opening borders means full access to terrorism wouldn’t GOI know this? Would India simply open its border without pak commitment on cross border infiltration and after effects of the deal? Let’s say GOI under pressure agreed for this deal resulting in increased infiltration, what do you think opposition is going to do? They will make sure congress will be in their position for the next 5 years.

No nation wants to fight a nuclear war. Do you think China is prepared for a nuclear war? If US cannot take 9/11 do you think they are prepared for a nuclear war? If you are talking about human civilization then the responsibility lies not just on India but on the entire world. We are not here to please the world. We have to safeguard our interest and follow the path of dharma.

Diplomacy is a great game but if needed we should know to use our fist too..and for that we should be prepared. we cannot depend on any nation to protect us.

Rudradev wrote: On (3), you're right, Northern Areas is what binds China's and TSP's destinies together more than any other single factor today. Without TSP control in that region the utility of Gwadar to China becomes moot. If we want to influence China to stop backing Pakistani claims on Kashmir, including POK/Northern Areas... what combination of threats and incentives would we have to present to China? Is there any possible combination that would compel/persuade the Chinese, that doesn't cost us too much?
Yes, there is, entirely in our control and cost feasible. 10 additional mountain divisions, that provide offensive capability as opposed to the two additional planned, which will only provide for aggressive defense capabilities. An entire division of special forces with enough strategic lift to move them around. Cost: About Rs. 10,000 crores (max). The price of India not waging a war in the Tibetan plateau is that it shall loose access to its pawn TSP with India in control of its sovereign territory. Ancillary things to do. Soften the place with covert ops, though the four political organizations opposed to TSP in the NA. Buy off the Pashtuns, through Afghanistan.

a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Rudradev wrote:
a_kumar wrote:Do you think once US-Iran relations improve, Iran will even care about India? Persians are the perfect partners for Americans if they get along well, so even US will probably not care so much for India. US would have gotten all it needs to keep the region (including Pakistan) in check.
Sorry, I think you are quite wrong. Persians may very well be the worst partners for the Americans in our entire region, with the possible exception of ourselves.

The Americans do not want partners, they want subsidiary allies and they want to dictate the terms of any partnership. This does not sit well with any nation-state that sees itself as the legate of a civilization... which we, and the Persians, certainly are. We have too strong a sense of ourselves, our history and our destiny to have the terms of an alliance dictated to us.

Nomadic rabble with no civilizational heritage (like the Saudis), and groups who have a history of collaborating with conquerors in the subjugation and enslavement of their own people (like the Pakjabis) are the most amenable partners... or should I say clients... for the Americans.

Not the Persians. Even today much of the rage against America in Iran is not "Islamist" as it is in Af-Pak or Saudi Arabia. Much of it derives from resentment against the CIA's removal of democratically elected Mossadegh, and the backing of the repressive tyrant Reza Pehlavi. In fact, the revolt against the Shah in Iran was a secular nationalist one, which Khomeini et al hijacked only after the fact.
While I agree with all the above, I hold the opinion that Persian Elite/intelligentsia are most well disposed towards US. Infact, though current ground realities of Ayatollah rule makes it sound absurd, IMO Iranians are openly liberal (unlike hypocritical elites of Pakistan or most of ME) and buck the trend of the whole ME.

I also agree that the civilizational past of Iran would not let it become "subsidiary ally". Though US would be disappointed from that sense, once they make up, they will be enough US-Iran dynamic to keep Pakistan from exploiting CAR/Afghan access card. And it is a zero-sum game here.

Caveat : I will admit I am a relative novice on Persian outlook and my inputs are based on limited exposure to Iranians. So take it for what its worth.
Rudradev wrote:
a_kumar wrote: Rudradev, I see the message I think ("Lets be pragmatic?"). What I object to is the suggestion of ceding territory. For example, Aksai Chin is one example. But, Ladakh is undisputed with China. And ArP? what kind of message are we giving to the Indian citizens in NE? I believe that even a mention of such a solution is a Lakshman Rekha no country which wants to be intact should cross.

With no dearth of Chindus ready to kiss PRC's feet, any suggestion of giving up on our own citizens is irresponsible at best.
I don't think it's a good idea to let the terms of our discussion be circumscribed by our anger against the Chindus. They are traitors, that's well known, let's not get besieged by the existence of their point of view. I've made it clear that "giving up territory to China" was part of a speculative post and not being proffered as any sort of viable solution. However, if we start proscribing even the *mention* of certain things as taboo, we're the only ones who end up losing anything as a result. Meanwhile, avoiding the mention of those things doesn't offer us any protection from losing them.

All of us good citizens consider the integrity of J&K as a part of India to be a Lakshman Rekha and treat it as such. I myself have sent many emails of protest to Western media outlets who depict maps where COK, POK and Northern Areas are shown to be outside India. Yet, our treating the subject as taboo hasn't prevented MMS from proposing an "irrelevant borders" solution that will inevitably lead to the loss of J&K if put into practice.
It seems like most of the rationale is based on the fact that MMS and Co. had similar thing in mind, so there is no use refraining from the topic. But I fiercely oppose any step that would insensitise us to such a proposal or brings down the threshold on these topics. It is required that there be outrage at every level on any such topic, because once that is diluted, calls for "empty Siachin or give up sir creek or let Kashmir go" will only gain momentum.
s
To (1), is there a way we can actually use a relationship with the SCO to lose the albatross around our neck? After all Pakistan's value to both blocs (West and SCO) is its worth as a hedge and a proxy... against India, but also against *each other*. If the West withdraws from our neighbourhood, then Western reliance on Pakistan decreases but the latitude of Pakistan to act on its own increases. So how can we engage the remaining player in our neighbourhood, ie. the SCO, to reduce Pakistan to irrelevance? Will that be made easier at a time when one of Pakistan's sugar daddies has left the region?
My contention is that Pakistan's sugar daddies will never leave them alone unless they are forced to physically. It is just too good an arrangement. I don't realistically see any bargain or barter that would make them trade pakistani relations. Incidentally, good US-Iranian relations may help this.

The only way China would let go is if they didn't have any choice, literally. I believe this is where we differ.

On (3), you're right, Northern Areas is what binds China's and TSP's destinies together more than any other single factor today. Without TSP control in that region the utility of Gwadar to China becomes moot. If we want to influence China to stop backing Pakistani claims on Kashmir, including POK/Northern Areas... what combination of threats and incentives would we have to present to China? Is there any possible combination that would compel/persuade the Chinese, that doesn't cost us too much?
Simple answer is No. There is no combination of incentives that would make them give up NA. Put yourself in their shoes and then ask yourself the question above.

Add into the mix that they are now given the baton for managing the South Asia and soon stepping into superpower socks and in line to becoming the largest economy in next few decades. Do they need India in any of this?

Any step that has some chance is too ambitious for us (an economy that rivals China or establishing in future technologies etc)
Johann

Post by Johann »

A Kumar,

You're right about Iran.

A lot of people dont realise the role reversal that took place in US-Iranian relations 1969-1979.

The Shah (not the US!) was described as the policeman of the Gulf.

It was not the US setting Mid-East policy with Iran executing - more often than not it was the other way around, with the Shah making the final decision. The Shah often threatened to work with the Soviets if the Americans didnt improve their proposals.

The absolutely *enormous* expansion that took place in Iranian purchasing power, America's bogged down state in SE. Asia, rising Soviet power in the ME, and the US need to recycle petrodollars meant there was no other option.

The Shah's ambition was the recreation of a new Persian empire, and by the mid 1970s he had succeeded in turning both Daud's Afghanistan and Bhutto's Pakistan in to client states (remember, satrap was a Persian word!), and both had begun to reconcile.

Of course in succession we had the Islamist army coup against Bhutto, the communist Army coup against Daud, and the Islamist hijacked revolution against the Shah.

The Shah also began a series of projects to build cooperation with India, including a 3-way intelligence sharing agreement for the Indian Ocean which the French collaborated in, intended to keep track of the Superpowers. The Shah, quite simply trusted no one, not even the Americans. His plans were larger than all of them. In fact he became convinced at the end that the Americans had engineered the Islamic revolution in order to stunt the meteoric growth in his power.

The Shah's problem was that with the world's powers at his feet he stopped listening at home and began to dictate. He officially turned Iran in to a 1-party state in the mid-1970s, and began to rely more on SAVAK when the criticism of his decisions didnt abate. He showed none of the political accomodation of different classes that had allowed him to actually grow in popularity in the 1960s when there was far less oil money.

America will accommodate a powerful and (mostly) friendly democratic Iran, just as it accommodated the powerful and mostly friendly monarchic Iran.

It was not the US setting Mid-East policy with Iran executing - more often than not it was the other way around, with the Shah making the final decision. The Shah often threatened to work with the Soviets if the Americans didnt improve their proposals.
Shah Mohammed Reza Pehlavi was far more paranoid about left-wing opposition in his own country, which had Soviet links going back to the 1920s, than he was suspicious of the CIA conspiring against him.

The Shah held a deep grudge against the Soviets for having deposed his father during their 1941 invasion of Iran, and also for having annexed Azerbaijan in December 1945. It is ridiculous to assume that his "threatening to work with the Soviets" was more than empty posturing, given that he owed the entire military strength of his regime to the United States. It was only at the very end, when Carter revealed his reluctance to save a regime besieged by the forces of the '79 revolution that the Shah began to blame America as well.

Apart from a ring of sycophant loyalists surrounding the Shah, the intelligensia in Iran were very much secular nationalists and deeply distrustful of the United States. Despite the Shah's pretensions of re-establishing the Persian Empire, the Persian intelligensia did not consider him a legitimate imperial ruler but a puppet of the Anglo-American axis. That was because the Shah did not in fact come from any royal Persian lineage. The Shah's father, Reza Khan Pehlavi, was an army Brigadier who deposed the last genuine imperial Persian dynasty, the Qajars, in a British-sponsored military coup in 1921.

The Persian intelligensia's distrust and dislike of Britain... and thereafter of America, which continued the same policies of grave interference in Iran's internal affairs... thus goes back to a period even before the Cold War, and stems from a resentment of Western colonialism.

The Shah also began a series of projects to build cooperation with India, including a 3-way intelligence sharing agreement for the Indian Ocean which the French collaborated in, intended to keep track of the Superpowers.
The Shah was openly hostile to India in more ways than one. He collaborated with the Pakistanis when they were at war with India, passing on American aid to Islamabad so that the Americans themselves could maintain a facade of neutral embargo. He became a willing conduit for American F-104 Starfighter aircraft and war materiel to be supplied to the Pakistanis during the 1971 war, offered the Pakistan navy basing rights in Iranian ports during the IN's blockade of Karachi, and throughout the following decade closely cooperated in establishing the Pakistani nuclear program with tacit American approval. In light of this, I would be very surprised if any proposals by the Shah to "build cooperation with India" were offered, or considered for acceptance with any degree of seriousness.
America will accommodate a powerful and (mostly) friendly democratic Iran, just as it accommodated the powerful and mostly friendly monarchic Iran.
America never accommodated a democratic Iran. America never even gave democratic Iran the chance to establish an independent foreign policy which could have been friendly to the West. Borrowing a leaf from the British colonial book, the Americans simply deposed Mossadegh by force and replaced him with the Shah.

America never accommodated the monarchic Iran either. It used the Shah as a client to further its cold war aims of dominating the Gulf's energy resources, and when the Shah grew too big for his boots, America essentially abandoned him to the Iranian revolution.

The Iranian intelligensia are far from stupid, and IMO thoroughly unlikely to allow the United States any further opportunity to interfere in their internal affairs as they have a track record of doing. The list of grievances and resentments that the Iranian intelligensia hold against the West... from the coup of 1921 to the arming and encouragement of Saddam during the Iran-Iraq war... is not something the West can blithely wish away.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Rudradev,

+ The Shah was not fighting the Cold War, whatever the Americans may have hoped. The Shah's goal like that of his father was to build a strong, centralised state, and then to use that power to project outwards from Iran to estsblish what he saw as Iran's traditional, natural sphere of interest.

The central element of that was modern weapons and training to build a strong armed forces. That was what the Shah always wanted from America. The fear however was that such a military might overthrow him, just as his father (the senior Iranian officer in the Russian organised cossack unit) had overthrown the Qajars. It is also the way that the British and Soviets forced his pro-Axis father to abdicate in 1941.

Once the Shah built a personally loyal SAVAK in the 1958, he became confidant that no one could mount a coup against him from within the armed forces. This gave him much greater freedom to maneuver freely within the great game.

Given the SAVAK's supression of the communists and close monitoring of the military, he had nothing to fear from Soviet arms sales. This was not Daud's Afghanistan, riddled by party infiltration.

With the passing of Lenin and Stalin (1953), the Soviet Union gave up on territorial expansion, and instead focused on shifting the global geopolitical balance against the US and NATO. (BTW, the Russians annexed Azerbaijan back in Catherine's time in the early 1800s)

An America that did not give him weapons - and the freedom to brandish them as he saw fit - was of no value to the Shah. The Soviets would have happily sold weapons to the Shah to reduce American influence in the region.

This is especially true after 1969, when the Shah wasnt asking aid, but was paying cold, hard cash.

Don't forget that although Mossadegh was overthrown (with the support of the mullahs), the Shah never reversed the nationalisation of Iranian oil, and NIOC continued to grow after 1953.

+ As for the relationship between the Shah's Iran, and India under Indira, B. Raman is perhaps the best source. His book 'Kaoboys' describes some of the aspects the strategic intelligence collaboration that took place. If you cant get a hold of the book, there are several reviews on the net that touch upon it. http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/IH18Df03.html

The extent of Indo-Iranian ties were significant enough that according to Raman that Indira chose not to throw Indian support behind the Balochi uprising in the 1970s, in part because the Iranians were concerned about the spillover.
http://afpakwar.com/blog/2009/07/28/b-r ... lochistan/

The Shah's goal of transcending the superpowers in the IOR, *while* avoiding open conflict, and maintaining good ties with them was pretty obvious, and offered possibilities to India as well.

+ If you want to know how a realist US administration and a centrist, broad based Iranian government would deal with each other, then all you have to do is look at the relationship between the Bazargan's 'provisional revolutionary government' and the Carter administration.

Bazargan (head of the National Iranian Oil Company) had been closely associated with Mossadegh as part of his National Front, and both his government and the US were anxious to establish a good working relationship. Both attempted to maintain a good working relationship with each other, with as much continuity as possible.

The Marxists attempted to destabilise the Bazargan government by taking over the US embassy, which failed when Khomeini opposed it.

In the power struggle between the Marxists, the Islamists and the Democratic Nationalists, the first two ganged up against the third, but were still at each others throats.

Khomeini's goons did their best to coopt Marxist tactics and rhetoric, so a couple of months later the Islamists took over the US embassy. Most of Iran's reformists today are former Islamic revolutionaries. One of the reasons so many of them publicly declare the embassy seizure a mistake is because for all of its enormous costs for Iran, it was driven primarily by Iran's internal power struggle.

The first casualty of the embassy seizure was Bazargan, and the other democratic nationalists, who were accused of collaboration with the Americans based on 'embassy documents'.

The ex-revolutionaries/reformists essentially hold the kind of worldview of Bazargan and co. To them America is not the enemy, nor is it a trusted ally. It is a large, powerful country they find endlessly fascinating and attractive, but also difficult and sometimes troublesome in its policies. A force on the regional and global scene that must be engaged.

The majority of the Iranian classes that have pushed for accountable, constitutional government for 150 years now do not regard either America or Britain as the great enemy, and have not for decades - not since Carter stood wringing his hands as the Shah fell. Although they certainly don't want to see America go to war over the nuclear issue, North America and the EU have been the only places where those who stand up to the mullahs can flee to, and build a decent life. This is not a new phenomenon - they, and their parents sheltered in the West when they fled the Shah and his SAVAK, and built their organisations of resistance in America and Europe. The difference is that the US and EU officially support the democratic movement today - this is not a one way relationship either. The Iranian diaspora has been *instrumental* in dissuading the West from carrying out attacks on Iran over the nuclear issue, and limiting the scope of proposed sanctions. This support to the movement is why chants of 'death to America' are no longer popular - and are now often drowned *in Iran* by shouts of 'death to Russia' and 'death to China' after their leaders called up Ahmadinejad to congratulate him on his electoral 'victory'.

The Qajars, BTW, are and were despised by the Iranian pro-democracy classes as sell outs to foreign interests; their inability to defend Iran from foreign invasion, the endless monopolies handed to foreign states, including the tobacco concession (which led to a major civil disobedience campaign), their suppression of the constitutional revolution of the 1900s, etc. The Qajars themselves were no more than warlords themselves to start with, with none of the spiritual authority of the Safavids who built the Iranian state in the 16th century.

Obama to order 30,000 troops to Afghanistan

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/8387065.stm

Johann and others,

Great insight. Is there any book that you recommend to get a better understanding on history of Persia/Iran and its interactions with other powers.

a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Rudradev wrote: The Americans do not want partners, they want subsidiary allies and they want to dictate the terms of any partnership.
One comment on this. If US were that shallow and uni-dimentional, I don't think they would have become the superpower they are now.

Yes, if a "client state" offers (or has the potential to offer) service in return for money, US will welcome (or coerce) it and screw the hell out of that client. This would no doubt be the most preferred way of operating.

But at the same time, they know perfectly well how to deal with a level-headed state (will be quid-pro-quo, grudging, but respectful).

Or a proud state (stoke and cultivate their ego with gestures!)

It would serve us well to appreciate the shades of US diplomacy.

Moved India related posts to the National agenda thread.

Please continue there.

Johann wrote:+ The Shah was not fighting the Cold War, whatever the Americans may have hoped. The Shah's goal like that of his father was to build a strong, centralised state, and then to use that power to project outwards from Iran to estsblish what he saw as Iran's traditional, natural sphere of interest.
The Shah was most certainly fighting the Cold War for the Americans. When his Iran served as a conduit of American weapons to Pakistan during the 1971 war, it was at America's behest, as a cover for America's pretense of neutrality... and had nothing to do with any shared "Islamist" sentiment. America's engagement of Pakistan in 1970-71 was purely a keystone of Cold War strategy, in which the Shah cooperated fully.

In what other theatre did the Americans seriously hope for the Shah to "fight" the Cold War? Unless they expected him to invade the Soviet Union, they had no cause to be disappointed with his cooperation. Simply by virtue of running a militarily powerful American client state on the Persian Gulf, the Shah was a check on Soviet designs in the region, particularly with regard to curbing Ba'athist adventurism against such American allies in the Arab world. It is no accident that the Soviets ramped up their interference in Afghanistan to the extent of mounting a military invasion, only 12 months after the Shah had been ousted in January 1979. The Shah's Iran was a lynchpin of American Cold War strategy and no matter what his personal ambitions may have been, it is disingenuous to suggest otherwise.
Given the SAVAK's supression of the communists and close monitoring of the military, he had nothing to fear from Soviet arms sales. This was not Daud's Afghanistan, riddled by party infiltration.
So you claim; and yet, it was these very communists and socialists who were the prime movers of the anti-Shah revolution in 1979, a revolution only later hijacked by the Ayatollahs. There were, in fact, so many highly motivated left-wing Iranian revolutionaries that Saddam trained a brigade of them who had sought asylum in Baghdad, sending them against the Khomeini regime in the latter days of the Iran-Iraq conflict. Despite the Shah's best efforts a very substantial left-wing and pro-Soviet element persisted among the forces that eventually toppled him.

Daud's regime in Afghanistan by contrast suffered as a consequence of its own inefficiency at clamping down on internal dissent. The Shah's Iran was a one-party dictatorship, exactly as the United States preferred its allies to be.
With the passing of Lenin and Stalin (1953), the Soviet Union gave up on territorial expansion, and instead focused on shifting the global geopolitical balance against the US and NATO. (BTW, the Russians annexed Azerbaijan back in Catherine's time in the early 1800s)
The Soviets ran their sphere of influence like an empire, and mounted military incursions to safeguard puppet regimes within their perceived territorial sphere of influence, way past 1953. Witness the invasions of Budapest, Prague and for that matter Afghanistan.

The Russians may have annexed the lands that became Azerbaijan SSR under Catherine the Great, but the Soviets founded the Peoples' Republic of Azerbaijan on Azeri territory that was still claimed by the Iranian Empire on 12 December 1945. The People's Republic was abandoned by the Soviets in May 1946, but only after extorting petroleum concessions from the Iranians in exchange. This is what I was referring to; and it precipitated a long-standing hostility between the Soviets and Pehlavi Iran, similar to what exists between the PRC and India over Arunachal and Ladakh today.
An America that did not give him weapons - and the freedom to brandish them as he saw fit - was of no value to the Shah. The Soviets would have happily sold weapons to the Shah to reduce American influence in the region.

This is especially true after 1969, when the Shah wasnt asking aid, but was paying cold, hard cash.
The Soviets might have sold weapons to the Shah if they had an opening, but the fact remains that they did not, obviously because he did not seek them with any seriousness or enthusiasm.

That is my original point... the Shah was an American client, so faithful and so completely trusted (even after 1969) that the Americans supplied him with the state-of-the-art F-14 Tomcat in 1976, a mere two years after it entered service in the USAF.

If that isn't an indication of the extraordinary ties between the Shah and the Americans enduring well into the 1970s, I don't know what is. To talk of the Shah flirting with the Soviets to an extent that caused serious concern in Washington, seems abstruse... even after 1969.
Don't forget that although Mossadegh was overthrown (with the support of the mullahs), the Shah never reversed the nationalisation of Iranian oil, and NIOC continued to grow after 1953.
This doesn't mean anything in itself.

Nationalized Oil under the Shah was no problem for the British or Americans... because the Shah was the State in person, and the Shah was also their client. Why should it have worried them?

It was only with the advent of OPEC that a cross section of oil producers began to flex their economic muscle in a manner at least superficially neutral to the Cold War blocs. Even then, the Shah's Iran stayed out of the more flagrantly political gouging, such as by the OAPEC following the Yom Kippur war.

However, Nationalized Oil under democratically-elected Mossadegh would have belonged to the Iranian people; a completely unacceptable state of affairs for those leading lights of freedom and democracy, the USA and the UK.
As for the relationship between the Shah's Iran, and India under Indira, B. Raman is perhaps the best source. His book 'Kaoboys' describes some of the aspects the strategic intelligence collaboration that took place. If you cant get a hold of the book, there are several reviews on the net that touch upon it. http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/IH18Df03.html

The extent of Indo-Iranian ties were significant enough that according to Raman that Indira chose not to throw Indian support behind the Balochi uprising in the 1970s, in part because the Iranians were concerned about the spillover.
http://afpakwar.com/blog/2009/07/28/b-r ... lochistan/
Sorry, Indira Gandhi being reluctant to aggravate a militarily strong Iran plus a Nixonian United States that had been flexing its military muscle in he Bay of Bengal, by supporting the Baloch insurgency of the 1970s, does not indicate the existence of "significant ties" between India and the Shah of Iran. It only indicates that Indira Gandhi was a cautious ruler who didn't want to bite off more than she could chew, so soon after Bangladesh. That is why she didn't even press for anything more than the Simla Agreement in the aftermath; being so reluctant to press even the defeated Bhutto, she was highly unlikely to risk incurring Iranian hostility as well.

Nothing in B. Raman's letter to Sonia Gandhi (which you have linked) ascribes Indira Gandhi's reluctance to support the Balochis, to any positive relationship between India and the Shah's Iran... only to a reluctance to aggravate Iran's concerns on Baloch irredentism. This was a time when the US and especially the Chinese were itching for an opportunity to put Indira Gandhi's India "back in its place"... supporting the Shah of Iran in hostilities against India would have provided the perfect opportunity, and Indian support to Baloch nationalists could have been construed as sufficient provocation for causus belli.
If you want to know how a realist US administration and a centrist, broad based Iranian government would deal with each other, then all you have to do is look at the relationship between the Bazargan's 'provisional revolutionary government' and the Carter administration.
There was nothing representative about the Mehdi Bazargan government, either of the Iranian people or of any of the sharply polarized revolutionary blocs... and it is hardly possible to extrapolate any long-term or stable model of US-Iran relations from the brief, ultimately hopeless American engagement of Bazargan.

Mehdi Bazargan was very obviously a figurehead, with no real power of his own, from the day he was *appointed* Prime Minister of Iran by the Ayatollah Khomeini. He was the ultimate consensus candidate, seeking to forge an accommodation between the Islamists, Marxists and Democratic Iranians while enjoying the confidence of none of the three groups (let alone the backing of Iranian intelligensia in general).

In engaging with Bazargan the Americans tried to salvage some slight vestige of the interests they had jeopardized in Iran by obdurately backing the Shah, but he was never in a position to deliver anything.

Should the Taliban and hardcore ISI/TSPA factions prevail in Pakistan today, then Asif Ali Zardari will closely resemble Bazargan in his last few months of desperately trying to reach an accommodation with the Islamists while keeping channels open for aid and patronage from Washington. I wonder if he will last even as long as Bazargan did.
The majority of the Iranian classes that have pushed for accountable, constitutional government for 150 years now do not regard either America or Britain as the great enemy, and have not for decades - not since Carter stood wringing his hands as the Shah fell.
No doubt comprehensive polls have been taken on sufficient sample sizes of Iranians, to back up this assertion. Because it certainly isn't backed up by anything else you've been saying. Citing the posturings of a US-based "dissident diaspora" doesn't mean anything.

Even the Soviets had their Sakharovs and Solzhenitsyns... and while the West tried to hype the significance of these individuals out of all proportion, the majority of the Russian intelligensia did not share their affinity for the West before the Cold War ended, and for that matter, do not share it today.
The Iranian diaspora has been *instrumental* in dissuading the West from carrying out attacks on Iran over the nuclear issue, and limiting the scope of proposed sanctions. This support to the movement is why chants of 'death to America' are no longer popular - and are now often drowned *in Iran* by shouts of 'death to Russia' and 'death to China' after their leaders called up Ahmadinejad to congratulate him on his electoral 'victory'.
Some segments of the Iranian diaspora may have been vocal in opposing Western attacks on Iran. However, there is once again no basis for your contention that they have been "instrumental", either in influencing Western policy towards Iran or (far less) political realities within Iran itself.

Washington and London are trying to make a virtue out of necessity. They don't have the stomach, or the resources, to deal with the aftermath of attacking Iran; the Iranians themselves have established that much through their calculated escalations.

It suits the Americans and British to pretend that their hapless inability to scuttle the Iranian nuclear program by force is in fact a choice made out of restraint. That sort of posturing gives the handful of pro-Western Iranian expatriates an inflated opinion of their own ability to influence Western policy.

In turn, London and Washington surely wet-dream that the pro-Western Iranian expatriates will nucleate a "mauve revolution" or "kismis revolution" or whatever against the Ayatollahs, but the truth is that Mousavi has been thoroughly marginalized and the Guardian Council and Assembly of Experts remain very firmly in control of Iran.
The Qajars, BTW, are and were despised by the Iranian pro-democracy classes as sell outs to foreign interests; their inability to defend Iran from foreign invasion, the endless monopolies handed to foreign states, including the tobacco concession (which led to a major civil disobedience campaign), their suppression of the constitutional revolution of the 1900s, etc. The Qajars themselves were no more than warlords themselves to start with, with none of the spiritual authority of the Safavids who built the Iranian state in the 16th century.

There's a reason why the rhetoric in your above paragraph sounds very familiar. It exemplifies the typical British slandering of a "native" dynasty whom they deposed from power to suit their own colonial economic interests. After all the British only ever replaced the rulers of foreign countries with their own puppets, because it was in the best interest of the people of those countries.

So of course, the Qajars were unpopular because of the endless monopolies handed out to "foreign states". That's why the British bravely and selflessly shouldered the White Man's Burden and rid the Iranians of the Qajars... replacing them with the army officer Reza Pehlavi who promised to hand over endless monopolies to the British instead.

No doubt successive generations of Iranian intelligensia are therefore very grateful and sympathetic to the Anglo-American axis for having rendered such an invaluable service to the Iranian people. :mrgreen:
Last edited by Rudradev on 03 Dec 2009 01:40, edited 2 times in total.

a_kumar wrote:
Rudradev wrote: The Americans do not want partners, they want subsidiary allies and they want to dictate the terms of any partnership.
One comment on this. If US were that shallow and uni-dimentional, I don't think they would have become the superpower they are now.

Yes, if a "client state" offers (or has the potential to offer) service in return for money, US will welcome (or coerce) it and screw the hell out of that client. This would no doubt be the most preferred way of operating.

But at the same time, they know perfectly well how to deal with a level-headed state (will be quid-pro-quo, grudging, but respectful).

Or a proud state (stoke and cultivate their ego with gestures!)

It would serve us well to appreciate the shades of US diplomacy.
No one is contending that the US is shallow and uni-dimensional... only that they know the types of relations they want with their "partners", and will work towards achieving those types of relations every time as a matter of diplomatic doctrine.

In the absence of having a client state willing to act as a subsidiary, naturally the US will deal with whatever exists in a manner that serves their interests at least cost. That is a no-brainer.

However, they will use every opportunity afforded by engagement to gear their relations with other countries towards the preferred model of subsidiary alliance and client-state patronage. This is borne out by history almost without exception; the US has sought to achieve these inequitable types of relations with just about every single one of their "allies", with the sole exception of its cultural antecedents in the Anglo-Dutch civilizational sphere.

It would also serve us well to appreciate the mistakes the US has made in its diplomacy, many of which involve over-reaching in its efforts to maintain a client-patron relationship with its subsidiary allies. Typically this has disastrous consequences, e.g. South Vietnam or Iran. We may be seeing a similar situation shape up with Karzai in Afgh today.

Speaking of which, Obama has announced his so-called "Afghanistan strategy". Let's see how it plays out.
Johann

Post by Johann »

So of course, the Qajars were unpopular because of the endless monopolies handed out to "foreign states". That's why the British bravely and selflessly shouldered the White Man's Burden and rid the Iranians of the Qajars... replacing them with the army officer Reza Pehlavi who promised to hand over endless monopolies to the British instead.

No doubt successive generations of Iranian intelligensia are therefore very grateful and sympathetic to the Anglo-American axis for having rendered such an invaluable service to the Iranian people.
Rudradev,

I can only suggest that you spend more time talking to Iranians, and reading Iranian perspectives - it helps to distinguish the trees from the woods.

The Qajars were British and to a lesser extent French clients, much like Egypt in the 19th century. It was the tobacco concession handed over to a British company that led to a national agitation. For the Iranians the struggle for democracy goes back to the 19th century. The language used by Iranians against the Qajars is very much like the language used against the last Shah. The only thing that Qajars did that most Iranians like was to institute the national anthem, vatanam.

The first Pahlavi is not regarded by the vast majority of Iranians as a British stooge, but as an autocratic Iranian nationalist.

You may not be aware of this, but the first thing Reza Khan did as Prime Minister after his coup was tear up the Anglo-Persian treaty and sign a Soviet-Persian treaty. When the British withdrew their troops, he turned around and forced the Soviets to do the same.

His inspiration was Ataturk - to end foreign occupation, and simultaneously modernise the country wholesale. He forced both the Soviets and the British in the 1920s and 1930s to renegotiate their treaties with Iran, increasing both Iran's share of oil revenue.

Secular Iranians fault him for two things - that he allowed the mullahs to crown him as Shah, and that he did not restore the constitution of 1902.
Some segments of the Iranian diaspora may have been vocal in opposing Western attacks on Iran. However, there is once again no basis for your contention that they have been "instrumental", either in influencing Western policy towards Iran or (far less) political realities within Iran itself.
Iranian exiles and diaspora have *always* been one of the major back channels through which Iran and the US have communicated with each other. The other is the Iranian mission to the UN in New York, and at the formal level, the Swiss.

From your post I must assume that you haven't heard of Trita Parsi. He worked as a senatorial staffer, and is head of the National Iranian-American Coucil. His public writing, speaking and leaking fundamentally changed the foreign policy establishment debate over what negotiations with Iran could possibly yield in terms of workable agreements, and along with those in Iran like Shireen Ebadi he publicly demolished the neocon claim that an attack on Iran could help the democracy movement.

Now of course, the outcome of establishment debate over Iran wouldn't have mattered if Bush hadn't decided to fire Rumsfeld and stop listening to Cheney in 2006, but the Congressional elections left him with no choice.

By 2007 the US and Iran came to modus vivendi over Iraq, based on the fact that they both supported the Nuri Maliki government and were both counting on it to survive and thrive.

Nevertheless, one of the Bush administration's preferred options was to sit back and let the Israelis do the job over Natanz and Arak; just like they allowed the Israeli air force to wipe out the North Korean reactor at Al-Kibar in Syria in September 2007. Test polls showed the vast majority of Americans although opposed to US action supported Israeli self-defence.

The consensus that people like Parsi helped build (BTW, you should read his book 'Treacherous Alliances' about the US-Israel-Iran triangle) was that the US should not only refrain from attacking Iran until negotiations are exhausted, it must act to restrain Israel from attacking as well. This consensus allowed the US and EU to get on the same page, and even to begin coordinating with the Russians again.
...In turn, London and Washington surely wet-dream that the pro-Western Iranian expatriates will nucleate a "mauve revolution" or "kismis revolution" or whatever against the Ayatollahs, but the truth is that Mousavi has been thoroughly marginalized and the remains very firmly in control of Iran.
I can only repeat again, the benefit from spending more time talking to Iranians of all kinds. Maybe even visit - its not that hard. You can hardly sit down in a bus before people start chatting with you. Public sentiment is not hard to gauge.

The millions who came out after the elections didnt come out because the believed in Moussavi personally. The Iranian people are only using him as a symbol of their disgust with the current set up. Moussavi himself is a horribly boring speaker - it was his wife they wildly cheered on.

Today far more than Moussavi, it is Mehdi Karroubi who has come to symbolise the movement against state unaccountability and impunity. The government doesnt dare touch either men because of the public sentiment that swirls around them. The most they can do is harass their aides. Just like the previous Iranian revolution, we are talking about deeply held mass sentiment, not something directed by individuals.

There are *dozens* of mobile phone clips uploaded every week of protests taking place in cities all over Iran, especially university campuses. The government has had to tone down its response because they were creating too many martyrs with their initial response.
The government has had to frequently cancel public pro-government demonstrations because they are so easily turned in to anti-government demonstrations.

What you have is a stalemate, with the green movement too strong to be crushed, and the government too strong to be dislodged. There was a similar stalemate in Iran for a couple years before the Shah chose to leave the country.

Washington and London have absolutely no expectation that the Green Movement about to sweep away Ahmadinejad and Khamenei - in fact they're too busy negotiating with the mullahs and the revolutionary guardsmen about the nuclear issue and Afghanistan to even keep that close a tab on the movement. In fact many Iranian protestors who were chanting U Ba ma "he is with us" are now chanting "he is with them". Its not unlike democracy movements in Europe which felt abandoned as George Bush Sr. and Gorbachev attempted to negotiate the ramping down of the Cold War.

When I was talking about the democracy movement and the West, I was not talking about government to government or political relationships, but something deeper. I meant people to people and intellectual relationships. There are literally thousands of people, most of them perfectly ordinary fleeing Iran every month, and heading West - and this has been going on for decades. Those who get away, often return to visit, and to help family still back at home. The relationship between Iranian academia and Western academia has also been very much of a revolving door, with people going back and forth, depending on how severe a purge the Islamic reactionaries are putting in to effect.
Even the Soviets had their Sakharovs and Solzhenitsyns... and while the West tried to hype the significance of these individuals out of all proportion, the majority of the Russian intelligensia did not share their affinity for the West before the Cold War ended, and for that matter, do not share it today.
You are comparing Russia and Iran?? When have we ever seen a million people march in Russian streets demanding a fair vote? How many times have we seen ordinary people clogging the squares demanding civil rights and a constitutional government? Most Russians simply shrug their shoulders and give up.

Iranians have been going out in the street in numbers to demand democracy and civil rights for over a century now. That is why even when Khomeini hijacked the revolution he had to allow limited democracy.

When did Russia ever have anything like Akbar Ganji, or Saeed Hajjarian, Sourush, Montazeri, Moussavi, Karroubi? Or the hundreds of figures like them?

If you want a Soviet analogy it would be if senior members of the KGB and the Politburo turned in their party membership cards en masse and denounced the regime, and led a movement in the streets against the Party.

Stalin executed and exiled anyone who might dissent. Secret societies (which is what the CPSU started as) can be crushed because no one knows who those people are, or even they do, they dont care about them - they didnt chose them.

It isn't the West that discovered these people - it was Iranians! It was Iranians by the millions who elected these figures to city councils, to parliament, and in to governments, who bought and read their newspapers and books. That simply will not work against popular figures in Iran, because of the power of martyrdom to inspire even secular Iranians steeped in Shia traditions.
The Soviets might have sold weapons to the Shah if they had an opening, but the fact remains that they did not, because he did not seek them. That is my original point... the Shah was an American client, so faithful and so completely trusted (even after 1969) that the Americans supplied him with the state-of-the-art F-14 Tomcat in 1976, a mere two years after it entered service in the USAF.
This is a bit like looking at a cube from above and arguing its a hole in the ground - people can look at the same lines and points and invert the figure.

From 1953 until the mid 1960s it was the Americans who decided what the Shah got and didn't get. The Shah however often got far more than what the Americans were willing to give by making it clear he was willing to rethink the relationship.

From the late 1960s onwards it is the Shah who utterly controlled the US-Iranian relationship. Iranian power over US policy dwarfed anything that the Saudis ever had. Not even Israel had that kind of veto on Washington policy.

The Shah continued to chose to buy American because it was the best there was, and he wanted nothing but the best.

By 1974 he declared "the Iranian forces within five years will have a strength no one would dare come close to". In the next year, 1975 he declared "No country has the capability to attack Iran, not even the ones with blue eyes". The Shah believed, and acted and spoke of Iran as a superpower in the making. It was megalomania, but it wasnt based on fantasy. Its the result of being able to routinely dictate terms to the President of America.
In what other theatre did the Americans seriously hope for the Shah to "fight" the Cold War? Unless they expected him to invade the Soviet Union, they had no cause to be disappointed with his cooperation. Simply by virtue of running a militarily powerful American client state on the Persian Gulf, the Shah was a check on Soviet designs in the region, particularly with regard to curbing Ba'athist adventurism against such American allies as the Saudis, Jordanians and Kuwaitis.
Let me give you an example of what I'm talking about - Saddam was the real power running the show in Iraq in 1972 when it signed a friendship and cooperation treaty with the Soviet Union, and the result was an arms build up. Saddam's first goal was to crush the Kurdish uprising that the Iraqi Army was struggling with, and the second was to assert leadership of the Arab world.

The Shah approved of a joint Iranian-Israeli-US operation to support the Iraqi Kurds. The situation began to rapidly deteriorate for Saddam. After three years Saddam came on his knees to Algiers in 1975 and agreed to all of the Shah's demands - the new boundary the Shah had unilaterally agreed on the Shatt al-Arab waterway, an end to claims on islands on Khuzistan, and to generally stop getting in Iran's way in disputes over Abu Tunb and Abu Musa islands with the UAE, or Bahrain.

Once the Shah got what he wanted, he ordered the Kurdish programme shut down, and ordered the Americans and Israelis working on it out. Iraq's relationship with the Soviets continued as before, and Iraqi influence in the Arab world continued to grow with its oil revenue. But the Shah was satisfied - he got what he wanted for Iran.
America's engagement of Pakistan in 1970-71 was purely a keystone of Cold War strategy, in which the Shah cooperated fully.
The Shah's support to Pakistan in 1971 is a shadow of what they did in the 1973 Arab-Israeli war. They delivered oil to Egypt, airlifted a Saudi battalion to Syria, and flew back wounded Syrian troops for treatment in Tehran. Even better, they allowed Soviet flights to deliver supplies to Iraq through Iranian airspace. Do you think that was a favour to the Americans as well?

The Shah intended to turn Afghanistan, Pakistan, Lebanon, Syria and Iraq in to Iranian client states.

He was willing to pay others for the inconvenience caused by what it took - that is why they simultaneously sold weapons and oil to Israel, and made intelligence sharing arrangements with India.
safeguard puppet regimes within their perceived territorial sphere of influence, way past 1953. Witness the invasions of Budapest, Prague and for that matter Afghanistan.

In Stalin's time military and economic pressure was used to force neighbouring governments to accept communist cabinet members, freedom for communist parties to operate, etc. The result was then a communist military coup, backed up by Soviet troops.

The Soviets after Stalin fought to prevent anyone from leaving their sphere of influence - but neither Khrushchev nor Brezhnev had the same kind of obsession with securing the USSR from invasion by taking over adjoining countries and either annexing them or turning them in to puppets.

In fact the one and only time the Soviets did it again after Stalin's time was Afghanistan in the mid to late 1970s.

The Cubans on the other hand were a different story in Central America and Southern Africa, especially since they'd drag the not always enthusiastic Soviets in after them.
The People's Republic was abandoned by the Soviets in May 1946, but only after extorting petroleum concessions from the Iranians in exchange.
The oil concessions? The Iranians cancelled them three months later. Stalin could do nothing, and the Iranians went in and crushed the Kurdish and Azeri republics.
it was these very communists and socialists who were the prime movers of the anti-Shah revolution in 1979, a revolution only later hijacked by the Ayatollahs. There were, in fact, so many highly motivated left-wing Iranian revolutionaries that Saddam trained an entire brigade of them in exile, sending them against the Khomeini regime in the latter days of the Iran-Iraq conflict. Despite the Shah's best efforts a very substantial left-wing and pro-Soviet element persisted among the forces that eventually toppled him.

...The Shah's Iran was a one-party dictatorship, exactly as the United States preferred its allies to be.
The Shah's greatest fear was not a popular revolution, but a coup, the most common mechanism of regime change in Iran up until that point. The second fear was an insurgency.

The Shah never faced a coup, and the various Islamist and Marxist urban guerrillas never controlled any Iranian territory the Shah left, largely because of SAVAK. Most of them were exiles outside the country training with the PLO, mostly in Lebanon and Libya.

In fact the Shah was so sensitive about coup possibilities that the SAVAK watched the CIA very closely, and in fact the Americans were so terrified of offending the Shah that they kept their local intelligence contacts to a minimum - which is why the popular revolution blindsided them

While the Shah was the most powerful figure in the country after 1953, his power was far from absolute. However the oil boom led him to declare a 1-party state in March 1975 on the Mussolini model which Nasser's Egypt in the 1950s, and Baathist Iraq and Syria in the 1960s had adopted.

What brought down the Shah was much like what brought down the communists in Eastern Europe. Millions of people on the streets, demonstrating, going on strike and refusing to work. They weren't paid to do it - they were just fed up with conditions, and demanding change, intoxicated with the idea that for once they had the power to chose. It was far larger, and far more broad based than the pro and anti Mossadegh demonstrations of 1953.

The popular revolution had far more to do with the Iranian people's anger after the oil boom that rising expectations instead of being met were being repressed by force. Inflation was galloping and squeezing the middle class and poor, but the Shah fired economic advisors who told him to slow down his spending on mega-projects, and the independence of prime ministers was curtailed.

The Shah assumed that with all the money he was pumping in to the economy, the land reforms, women's and minority empowerment, even cracking down on price manipulation by businesses and corruption, people should be happy and not mind the concentration of power in his hands - the only people complaining were malcontents rather than ordinary people, and so he reasoned repression would work.

Neither Egypt, nor Syria, nor Iraq saw popular revolutions - this is not a Sunni-Shia difference. It is the difference between the Iranians and other societies.
Mehdi Bazargan was very obviously a figurehead, with no real power of his own, from the day he was *appointed* Prime Minister of Iran by the Ayatollah Khomeini. He was the ultimate consensus candidate, seeking to forge an accommodation between the Islamists, Marxists and Democratic Iranians while enjoying the confidence of none of the three groups (let alone the backing of Iranian intelligensia in general).
Once again, I would suggest talking to Iranians who lived through or participated in the revolution to get a better idea of political and intellectual landscape.

Since you're speaking of Iranian intellectuals, I hope you've heard of Ali Shariati? Far more than Khomeini, it was his ideas that defined the Islamic elements of the Iranian revolution until 1980. It was his ideas that fired millions of people up. At the root of it was the idea that Islam demanded an equitable society, and that rulers were accountable to the people. As someone who cherished modernity he was *virulently* opposed to the idea of clerical rule. Unfortunately he was assassinated by the Shah's agents.

Shariati helped found a revolutionary organisation (Nehzat Azadi-e-Iran) included Ayatollah Taleghani, who was almost as popular as Khomeini, and...Mehdi Bazargan, and Mostafa Chamran, Iran's first defence minister who was killed on the front lines during the Iran-Iraq war.

Taleghani died in September 1979 - he, like the rest of the progressive Islamists deeply opposed the constitution Khomeini was proposing, with its unlimited clerical powers. Khomeini didnt even dare put up his constitution for referendum until the month after Taleghani died.

Bazargan's appointment as PM was a reflection of the huge popularity of the progressive Islamist movement - Khomeini didnt have a lot of choice at that point.

Khomeini's people have always called the embassy seizure in November 1979 "the second revolution". It was first and foremost a revolution against the progressive Islamists. Taleghani's death had weakened them, and then the accusation of collaboration gave Khomeini the excuse needed to force the resignation of Bazargan. Not long after Shariati's works were banned.

Today's reformist movement is led by many clerics and intellectuals (Khatami, Karroubi, Montazeri, Sourush, etc), many of them ex-Khomeinists who now openly and consciously lean on Shariati, Taleghani and Bazargan - the original Islamic revolution.

They are determined that anti-Americanism should never again be used as an ideological prop by Islamic reactionaries to attack Iranian democracy and civil rights as it was in the 'second revolution'. Their views are part of the public Iranian debate - rather than fear the close intellectual and people-people relationship with the West, they think its worth strengthening. They also believe in both frank dialogue and the Iranian national interest.
Nationalized Oil under the Shah was no problem for the British or Americans... because the Shah was the State in person, and the Shah was also their client. Why should it have worried them?

However, Nationalized Oil under democratically-elected Mossadegh would have belonged to the Iranian people; a completely unacceptable state of affairs for those leading lights of freedom and democracy, the USA and the UK.
Britain and the US in the early to mid 1950s were not always on the same page in the Mid East. The nationalist Iranian demand in 1951 was not for nationalisation, but for an even split of oil revenues, the same model as the American companies in the Gulf. The British who were struggling economically after the war refused. Nationalisation was the final outcome in the escalating economic war between the UK and Iran over the issue. Both states paid for this escalation - the British lost the company and revenues entirely, and the Iranian economy took years to recover from the disruption to oil production.

The Americans had no economic stake in the conflict, and the Truman administration did not get involved. The Republican Eisenhower administration unlike the Truman administration believed that socialists, even democratic socialists were the 'gateway drug' to communism.

Even the Eisenhower administration in its second term began to moderate its views on that subject. The Carter, Johnson and Kennedy administrations certainly did not share those views. In fact it was the Kennedy adminstration that helped persuade the Shah to embrace the policies of the 'White Revolution' - land reform, mass education, and women's empowerment.

Ironically Khomeini began his opposition to the Shah in the early 1960s denouncing all of these social reforms as un-Islamic. The Islamic progressives on the other hand welcomed these reforms, but insisted they were incomplete without greater democracy and human rights. So you can see the tension between the Islamic reactionaries and the Islamic progressives right from the start of the anti-Shah movement. It is still playing out itself today. The Islamic progressives have always had far more broad-based popular appeal than any other ideology in Iran.

Johann wrote: Rudradev,

I can only suggest that you spend more time talking to Iranians, and reading Iranian perspectives - it helps to distinguish the trees from the woods.

The first Pahlavi is not regarded by the vast majority of Iranians as a British stooge, but as an autocratic Iranian nationalist.

You may not be aware of this, but the first thing Reza Khan did as Prime Minister after his coup was tear up the Anglo-Persian treaty and sign a Soviet-Persian treaty. When the British withdrew their troops, he turned around and forced the Soviets to do the same.

His inspiration was Ataturk - to end foreign occupation, and simultaneously modernise the country wholesale. ....

Secular Iranians fault him for two things - that he allowed the mullahs to crown him as Shah, and that he did not restore the constitution of 1902.

I find your presumption amusing, as most of my views are derived from conversations I've had with Iranians on the subject.

The British backing of Reza Shah Pehlavi's coup against the Qajars is beyond all dispute. That he didn't respond as well to British string-pulling as his erstwhile sponsors would have liked, hardly alters the fact that Britain interfered with Iran's governance through colonial politicking, and no Iranian I've spoken with considers the British to have done their nation a favour by foisting Reza on them... except in the serendipitous happenstance that Reza did undertake a vigorous modernization program as you recount. The British also come in for resentment for forcing Reza to abdicate in 1941 so as to create a supply corridor to the Soviet Union through Iranian territory. To the Iranians, the fact that Britain first sponsored Reza's coup and then deposed him when he proved inconvenient twenty years later, amounts to adding insult to injury.

I suspect you haven't heard of Trita Parsi. He is a former senatorial staffer, and head of the National Iranian-American Coucil. His public writing, speaking and leaking fundamentally changed the foreign policy establishment debate over what negotiations with Iran could possibly yield.

Iranian exiles and diaspora have *always* been one of the major back channels through which Iran and the US have communicated with each other. The other is the Iranian mission to the UN in New York, and at the formal level, the Swiss.

Now of course, the outcome of establishment debate over Iran wouldn't have mattered if Bush hadn't decided to fire Rumsfeld and stop listening to Cheney in 2006, but the Congressional elections left him with no choice.

By 2007 the US and Iran came to modus vivendi over Iraq, based on the fact that they both supported the Nuri Maliki government and were both counting on it to survive and thrive.

Nevertheless, one of the Bush administration's preferred options was to step back and let the Israelis do the job over Natanz and Arak. Just like they allowed the Israeli air foce to wipe out the North Korean reactor at Al-Kibar in Syria in September 2007.

The consensus that people like Parsi helped build (BTW, you should read his book 'Treacherous Alliances' about the US-Israel-Iran triangle) was that the US should not only refrain from attacking Iran until negotiations are exhausted, it must act to restrain Israel from attacking as well. This consensus allowed the US and EU to get on the same page, and even to begin coordinating with the Russians again.
The long and short of this verbiage is that even you admit that the US would have attacked Iran's nuclear facilities had not *American* public pressure mounted on the Bush administration, post 2006, to discard Rumsfeld and disregard Cheney.

I'm sure there are back channels of Iranian diaspora, but their existence hardly can have said to exercise "instrumental" influence over Western policy towards Iran... indeed their influence would have been negligible had the 2006 Congressional elections not put the Bush administration on the backfoot.

Today the US is back to square one, asking for IAEA members to vote to refer Iran to the Security Council. So apparently Obama's policies of accommodation and negotiation via the diaspora "back channels" haven't presented any significant influence either.

The millions who came out after the elections didnt come out because the believed in Moussavi personally. The Iranian people are only using him as a symbol of their disgust with the current set up. Moussavi himself is a horribly boring speaker - it was his wife they wildly cheered on.

Today far more than Moussavi, it is Mehdi Karroubi who has come to symbolise the movement against state unaccountability and impunity. The government doesnt dare touch either men because of the public sentiment that swirls around them. The most they can do is harass their aides. Just like the previous Iranian revolution, we are talking about deeply held mass sentiment, not something directed by individuals.

There are *dozens* of mobile phone clips uploaded every week of protests taking place in cities all over Iran, especially university campuses. The government has had to tone down its response because they were creating too many martyrs with their initial response.
The government has had to frequently cancel public pro-government demonstrations because they are so easily turned in to anti-government demonstrations.

What you have is a stalemate, with the green movement too strong to be crushed, and the government too strong to be dislodged. There was a similar stalemate in Iran for a couple years before the Shah chose to leave the country.

Washington and London have absolutely no expectation that the Green Movement about to sweep away Ahmadinejad and Khamenei - in fact they're too busy negotiating with the mullahs and the revolutionary guardsmen about the nuclear issue and Afghanistan to even keep that close a tab on the movement. In fact many Iranian protestors who were chanting U Ba ma "he is with us" are now chanting "he is with them". Its not unlike democracy movements in Europe which felt abandoned as George Bush Sr. and Gorbachev attempted to negotiate the ramping down of the Cold War.
I have not visited Iran, but again, have talked to a number of Iranians. No doubt you have as well, and it appears that you're very selective, either about what you choose to hear or about what you choose to share with us from your conversations.

The Iranian government is biding its time with the "Green Movement", because in any such stalemate the status-quo power inevitably has an advantage. Eventually they will exhaust the opposition. This is not the 1980s when a Tiananmen Square type of response could be mounted and then suppressed... so of course, repression of a dramatic sort would have been more politically costly than it was worth.

Ultimately, what I've heard from the Iranians I've spoken to is that they hope the West will refrain from interfering for political capital in an indigenous process that could yield genuine reforms if negotiated honestly between the Iranian government and its people. Western interference will not weaken the regime's hardliners, only strengthen them while maligning those Iranians who genuinely want reform. Protestors who openly call for Western pressure are, in fact, despised even by the reformists... in much the same way as Arundhati Roy and Dilip DeSouza (who called for a US invasion to preserve Indian "secularism") are thought of by Indians.
You are comparing Russia and Iran?? When have we ever seen a million people march in Russian streets demanding a fair vote? How many times have we seen ordinary people clogging the squares demanding civil rights and a constitutional government? Most Russians simply shrug their shoulders and give up.

Iranians have been going out in the street in numbers to demand democracy and civil rights for over a century now. That is why even when Khomeini hijacked the revolution he had to allow limited democracy.

When did Russia ever have anything like Akbar Ganji, or Saeed Hajjarian, Sourush, Montazeri, Moussavi, Karroubi? Or the hundreds of figures like them?

If you want a Soviet analogy it would be if senior members of the KGB and the Politburo turned in their party membership cards en masse and denounced the regime, and led a movement in the streets against the Party.

Stalin executed and exiled anyone who might dissent. Secret societies (which is what the CPSU started as) can be crushed because no one knows who those people are, or even they do, they dont care about them - they didnt chose them.

It isn't the West that discovered these people - it was Iranians! It was Iranians by the millions who elected these figures to city councils, to parliament, and in to governments, who bought and read their newspapers and books. That simply will not work against popular figures in Iran, because of the power of martyrdom to inspire even secular Iranians steeped in Shia traditions.
I trust your question "When have we ever seen a million people..." etc. is purely rhetorical, because it doesn't really make sense in any other context.

If you're talking about dramatic spectacle, surely Yeltsin leading tanks against the Duma will suffice. In the days of the USSR, political protestors were far less motivated to clog the streets and create a spectacle... it would have led to getting killed and quite possibly no one hearing about it. The Iranian protests make sense in the information age when video clips from mobile phones can be uploaded instantly to websites and cable news stations accessed by millions of people worldwide. The anti-Soviet protestors had no such propaganda incentive to risk their lives in mass demonstrations.

For that matter, why is a Solzhenitsyn not comparable to Akbar Ganji, or a Yeltsin to Montazeri? The former pair are both dissidents feted with a great deal of hype by the West; the latter are political reformists within their respective parties. What exactly do you mean by "When did the Russians ever have anything like...."? Yes, the Iranian people have had more involvement in picking their leaders than Soviet citizens ever did... but the greater level of popular investment is a strength of the Iranian establishment relative to the Soviets establishment. Not a weakness.

It is also disingenuous to attempt an analogy that equates the Iranian government to Stalin... there were no such Soviet purges in the post 1979 period in which the IRI has existed. The methods of Stalin's time are more accurately reflected in the techniques of his approximate contemporary, the American client Mohammed Reza Pehlavi, whose SAVAK would have given the NKVD a run for its money any day.

From 1953 until the mid 1960s it was the Americans who decided what the Shah got and didn't get. The Shah however often got far more than what the Americans were willing to give by making it clear he was willing to rethink the relationship.

From the late 1960s onwards it is the Shah who utterly controlled the US-Iranian relationship. Iranian power over US policy dwarfed anything that the Saudis ever had. Not even Israel had that kind of veto on Washington policy.

The Shah continued to chose to buy American because it was the best there was, and he wanted nothing but the best.

By 1974 he declared "the Iranian forces within five years will have a strength no one would dare come close to". In the next year he declared "No country has the capability to attack Iran, not even the ones with blue eyes"

Please.

Do you seriously expect to convince anyone that the Americans were *forced* to give the Shah a weapons system as advanced as the F-14 Tomcat in 1976... an aircraft that they hadn't even begun supplying to many long-standing West European allies? The Americans may be capitalists, however, they've never been so mindlessly mercantile as to provide their most sophisticated armaments to regimes they didn't trust completely.

I'd like to see some substantiation of your contentions that "not even Israel" or the Saudis ever exercised such a veto over American foreign policy as the Shah's Iran. The Israelis have got away with attacking and crippling a USN vessel, the USS Liberty, which they suspected of threatening their interests during the Six Day War. The Saudis have close ties at every level of government with Wahhabi groups that financed numerous terrorist attacks against American interests worldwide, not to mention 9-11. In what way did the Shah's ambitions, or alleged defiance, even begin to approach those levels of provocation?
Let me give you an example of what I'm talking about - Saddam was the real power running the show in Iraq in 1972 when it signed a friendship and cooperation treaty with the Soviet Union, and the result was an arms build up. Saddam's first goal was to crush the Kurdish uprising that the Iraqi Army was struggling with, and the second was to assert leadership of the Arab world.

The Shah approved of a joint Iranian-Israeli-US operation to support the Iraqi Kurds. The situation began to rapidly deteriorate for Saddam. After three years Saddam came on his knees to Algiers in 1975 and agreed to all of the Shah's demands - the new boundary the Shah had unilaterally agreed on the Shatt al-Arab waterway, an end to claims on islands on Khuzistan, and to generally stop getting in Iran's way in disputes over Abu Tunb and Abu Musa islands with the UAE, or Bahrain.

Once the Shah got what he wanted, he ordered the Kurdish programme shut down, and ordered the Americans and Israelis working on it out. Iraq's relationship with the Soviets continued as before, and Iraqi influence in the Arab world continued to grow with its oil revenue. But the Shah was satisfied - he got what he wanted for Iran
Saddam's claims to Khuzestan or the Arvand Roud were not in any way related to the Cold War; they were a territorial dispute between Iran and Iraq which later became the basis of the 8-year war between those countries after the Shah was deposed. It neither suited the Soviets nor harmed the Americans for Saddam to gain these territories... as witnessed by America's help to Saddam in a war to capture those same territories from Khomeini's Iran in the next decade. So I'm not sure how this is an example of the Shah not fighting the "Cold War".

To the extent that the Shah could use American and Israeli help in pressuring Iraq via Kurdish separatists, he availed of it. What interest did the Americans and Israelis have in continuing their support to the Iraqi Kurds afterwards? There was no hope of actually toppling Saddam by backing the Kurds, and Kurdish irredentism was a threat to American ally Turkey as well.

The Shah's support to Pakistan in 1971 is a shadow of what they did in the 1973 Arab-Israeli war. They delivered oil to Egypt, airlifted a Saudi battalion to Syria, and flew back wounded Syrian troops for treatment in Tehran. Even better, they allowed Soviet flights to deliver supplies to Iraq through Iranian airspace. Do you think that was a favour to the Americans as well?
First of all, that's hardly a "shadow" of the help the Shah offered Pakistan from any rational standpoint. Offering safe harbour to Pakistani submarines and supplying the PAF with state-of-the-art fighter aircraft is much more aggressive an action, than merely delivering oil, treating wounded soldiers or allowing supply overflights.

Secondly, no, I don't think the Shah's assistance to the Arab powers in the 1973 war was a favour to the Americans. It was a bid to establish influence across the Middle East centered around the highly contentious issue of Israel... the Arab-Israeli conflict having far more resonance in the Gulf region than any India-Pakistan war at the time. Conversely, the Shah's assistance to Pakistan against India in the 1971 war was not calculated to win the approval of Arab states... it was the execution of an American directive by their Cold War allies in Teheran, pure and simple.
The Soviets after Stalin fought to prevent anyone from leaving their sphere of influence - but neither Khrushchev nor Brezhnev had the same kind of obsession with securing the USSR from invasion by taking over adjoining countries.
This is not peculiar to the Soviets but in fact a general transformation in the conduct of war in the decade following the establishment of the UN. Nations no longer went to war, by and large, with the permanent annexation of territory as a primary military goal. It was not true of Khruschev or for that matter the Shah.

Neither Egypt, nor Syria, nor Iraq saw popular revolutions - this is not a Sunni-Shia difference. It is the difference between the Iranians and other societies.
Ah, the heart of the matter. Which brings me back to my original contention: the Iranians are less likely allies for the Americans than any other power from Lebanon to the Phillipines, with the possible exception of India.

That's because the Iranians are not willing to submit to the sort of subsidiary alliance that America seeks from all its partners, other than a select few countries with which America has fraternal and filial civilizational ties. The Persians are a civilization state and the Americans will not be able to foist a pliable tyrant on them... as they discovered with the Shah.
Today's reformist movement is led by many clerics and intellectuals (Khatami, Karroubi, Montazeri, Sourush, etc), many of them ex-Khomeinists who now openly and consciously lean on Shariati, Taleghani and Bazargan - the original Islamic revolution.

They are determined that anti-Americanism should never again be used as an ideological prop by Islamic reactionaries to attack Iranian democracy and civil rights as it was in the 'second revolution'.
Most Iranians I've spoken to seem mildly embarrassed by the virulence of the early Khomeini regime, just as most Russians are ambivalent about the significance of the Bolsheviks today. However, few people would argue that Kerensky represented an ideal agent for rapprochement between the West and Communism... and Bazargan is of hardly more consequence than Kerensky in this day and age.

Your contention that Bazargan could have defined the template of a future relationship with the United States is pure and unwarranted speculation, far from justifiable by the events of his ten-month reign. So ineffectual was Bazargan (whom you describe as "popular") at effecting rapprochement that he could not even stop the storming of the US Embassy... he could only resign in protest. He even continued in the Majles thereafter, regarded with some justification as a Western stooge, but not considered threatening enough to be taken seriously.

Khatami and Montazeri are a long way from endorsing the ideals of civil and democratic rule that Bazargan supposedly stood for... including Bazargan's stand against the involvement of clerics in all aspects of politics, economy and society.

No Iranian I've heard from, however pro-reform, is confused about the intentions of the US government towards his country. There is a big difference between protesting the hardliners' use of anti-Westernism as a pretext for repression, and trusting in the Americans as honest brokers or desirable partners on the world stage.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Rudradev wrote: It would also serve us well to appreciate the mistakes the US has made in its diplomacy, many of which involve over-reaching in its efforts to maintain a client-patron relationship with its subsidiary allies. Typically this has disastrous consequences, e.g. South Vietnam or Iran. We may be seeing a similar situation shape up with Karzai in Afgh today.
Good point.. A lot to learn there. Infact, if its not already done, I hope at some point there will be a well funded program to study these relationships and funnel it into our own ways. We can start with disclosing the Indo-China war records.

On a related note, its is amusing how susceptible these conflicts are to a few personality/egos of folks involved. And Superpower is not immune to "getting carried away".
“We’ve been treating Karzai like [Slobodan] Milosevic,” a senior Pentagon official said, referring to the former Bosnian Serb leader whom Holbrooke pressured into accepting a peace treaty in the 1990s. “That’s not a model that will work in Afghanistan. :rotfl:
All the talk of Holbrooke as the "The Bulldozer", "Balkan's Bulldozer" & "Raging Bull" not too long back. Such talk gets to ones head. Fast forward a little, and "Special envoy to Pakistan and Afghanistan" is now persona-non-grata in Afghanistan for all effective purposes.

Guys, Can we please move this to the Iran thread? I already did my part of OT, does not mean all have to :)

Anyways, I will post a question for Johann in the Iran thread.
Johann

Post by Johann »

Hi Shaurya,

You're right, this exchange does belong on the Iranian thread. However its a very good discussion and I'd like to maintain continuity, so I shall have to continue to reply here until some kind admin finds the time to move this full set of posts to the Iran thread. I've replied to your post in the Iran thread there.
Rudradev wrote:That he didn't respond as well to British string-pulling as his erstwhile sponsors would have liked, hardly alters the fact that Britain interfered with Iran's governance through colonial politicking, and no Iranian I've spoken with considers the British to have done their nation a favour by foisting Reza on them... except in the serendipitous happenstance that Reza did undertake a vigorous modernization program as you recount. The British also come in for resentment for forcing Reza to abdicate in 1941 so as to create a supply corridor to the Soviet Union through Iranian territory. To the Iranians, the fact that Britain first sponsored Reza's coup and then deposed him when he proved inconvenient twenty years later, amounts to adding insult to injury.
I think you've missed our original point of departure - I have never suggested that Iranians would be happy about direct British involvement in Iranian political affairs - you're free of course insist that it must be my assumption, but I can only tell you that you're quite wrong.

Whatever the Iranian resentment of external involvement, the majority of Iranians regard Reza Shah as far more nationalist, and someone who did far more good for Iran than the Qajars who were seen as weak, exploitative and ineffectual.

Reza Shah's ability to maneuver the British and the Soviets against each other, along with the loyalty of his troops allowed him to restore Iranian sovereignty.

It worked until Hitler brought Britain and the USSR on to the same side - the only way to have continued to keep the British and Soviets divided would have been for Reza Shah to have also opposed Hitler and worked the divisions within the alliance.

Unfortunately Reza Shah wasn't quite so nimble, having gotten quite close to Germany in the 1930s, and become convinced of its Germany's eventual success. In fact he had officially changed the country's name to Iran in the 1935 to emphasise its 'Aryan' nature, ecouraged by Hjalmar Schacht who was his economic advisor.
The long and short of this verbiage is that even you admit that the US would have attacked Iran's nuclear facilities had not *American* public pressure mounted on the Bush administration, post 2006, to discard Rumsfeld and disregard Cheney.

I'm sure there are back channels of Iranian diaspora, but their existence hardly can have said to exercise "instrumental" influence over Western policy towards Iran... indeed their influence would have been negligible had the 2006 Congressional elections not put the Bush administration on the backfoot.
The elections did not decide whether or not the US would attack. It moved the debate over the right course of action from the West Wing of the White House to the Council on Foreign Relations, i.e. the wider establishment.

Hillary Clinton, the leading candidate at the time, and de facto issue leader within the Democratic party is, and was only a fraction less hawkish towards the IRI than the Neoconservatives.

She, like some of the more cautious Neoconservatives favoured allowing Israel to do the job sooner rather than later, specifically before Natanz reached an industrial operational capacity.

It is the Iranian-American diaspora, particularly in academia that played a huge role in shifting the debate against this course. This was through relaying messages from both the Iranian state, as well the Iranian opposition, and integrating them in the context of American interests. The message was dont bomb yet, negotiations have a real chance of succeeding.
Today the US is back to square one, asking for IAEA members to vote to refer Iran to the Security Council. So apparently Obama's policies of accommodation and negotiation via the diaspora "back channels" haven't presented any significant influence either.
This has far more to do with the factionalism of Iranian politics. The negotiations went very well thanks to the level of communication that had taken place beforehand. The problem arose when the radicals at home shot down the deal that the pragmatic conservatives had secured.

The radicals and the diaspora don't talk, and don't get along. Will the radicals be able to block the deal indefinitely? Depends on Khamenei really. If this drags on, then the diaspora will not be able to prevent issues from escalating.
The Iranian government is biding its time with the "Green Movement", because in any such stalemate the status-quo power inevitably has an advantage. Eventually they will exhaust the opposition. This is not the 1980s when a Tiananmen Square type of response could be mounted and then suppressed... so of course, repression of a dramatic sort would have been more politically costly than it was worth.
Rudradev,

Iran's Tiananmen has already happened.

Most Iranians were in total shock when the regime chose to unleash the Basij and the IRGC on the millions who demonstrated against the election. They didn't think the regime would go that far.

The backlash was enormous, and the government has reluctantly retreated, although the radicals are fuming about it.

The status quo is *not* stable. If you ask your Iranian friends one question, ask this one - does the Iranian government still have legitimacy with the majority of Iranians?

That is the crucial tipping point that has been passed. It is not just Ahmadinejad, but even Khamenei who have lost their legitimacy.

The CPC retained legitimacy (by a narrow margin) after Tiananmen first and foremost because it delivered economically to the majority of Chinese, and secondly because the majority of Chinese citizens after the constantly shifting household inquisitions of the Cultural Revolution that its safer to be an apolitical loyalist.

Under the current regime life has been getting steadily harder, and much like the Shah it is because the authorities refuse to listen to sound economic advice.

In addition people blame the government for chosing a confrontational course with huge financial costs for ordinary people, when negotiated alternatives are available.

Most importantly, Iranians simply arent as apolitical as the Mainland Chinese.
Ultimately, what I've heard from the Iranians I've spoken to is that they hope the West will refrain from interfering for political capital in an indigenous process that could yield genuine reforms if negotiated honestly between the Iranian government and its people. Western interference will not weaken the regime's hardliners, only strengthen them while maligning those Iranians who genuinely want reform. Protestors who openly call for Western pressure are, in fact, despised even by the reformists... in much the same way as Arundhati Roy and Dilip DeSouza (who called for a US invasion to preserve Indian "secularism") are thought of by Indians.
Nobody in the movement wants Western intervention on their behalf.

But they do measure who their friends are on a people to people basis based on who shows solidarity.

They don't want Western governments to send in bombers and parachutists - but they do expect *all* governments around the world to publicly condemn violence against the Iranian people, and to avoid legitimising rigged elections, and to provide refuge for people fleeing repression.

When you're struggling against the odds, you appreciate those who lend a hand in support. One of the reasons that Iran has been so supportive of the Palestinians for example was Yasser Arafat's support in the 1960s and 70s to all of the Iranian revolutionary movements.

The fact is that that most of the Iranian opposition movement are disappointed in Obama administration's refusal to morally condemn the Iranian government's actions.

However, they do appreciate the support that people in the West have provided to them, just as they were grateful for Palestinian and worldwide leftist support at the popular level when they were weak.
If you're talking about dramatic spectacle, surely Yeltsin leading tanks against the Duma will suffice. In the days of the USSR, political protestors were far less motivated to clog the streets and create a spectacle... it would have led to getting killed and quite possibly no one hearing about it. The Iranian protests make sense in the information age when video clips from mobile phones can be uploaded instantly to websites and cable news stations accessed by millions of people worldwide. The anti-Soviet protestors had no such propaganda incentive to risk their lives in mass demonstrations.
The Iranians have been conducting mass protests for much long before mobile phones or the internet were available - 1978, 1979, 1961, 1953, etc.

Today, the Iranians continue to demonstrate in numbers even as the mainstream media's coverage has shrunk.

The most recent vote for the Russian governorates was rigged on a massive and unprecedented scale. Everyone in Russia acknowledges it was rigged, but no one cares. Like Mainland China, people are politically apathetic. The burst of hope and energy in 1990-91 is gone.

There was one group of Russians who *routinely* defied the state publicly in the Soviet era - and those were Jewish activists, particularly after 1967. Brezhnev and Andropov were obsessed with crushing the movement, but they never could. Sharansky and others won out.

For that matter, why is a Solzhenitsyn not comparable to Akbar Ganji, or a Yeltsin to Montazeri? The former pair are both dissidents feted with a great deal of hype by the West; the latter are political reformists within their respective parties. What exactly do you mean by "When did the Russians ever have anything like...."? Yes, the Iranian people have had more involvement in picking their leaders than Soviet citizens ever did... but the greater level of popular investment is a strength of the Iranian establishment relative to the Soviets establishment. Not a weakness.
Which establishment? The one that was elected, and then disbarred from running for election by the Guardian's Council when they beat the conservative candidates?

The one that's been arrested (including former ministers) and tortured when they protested the rigging of elections?

The Islamic Republic's establishment was always an uneasy alliance between different ideological groups.

The Supreme Leader was supposed to keep the peace by allowing fair competition between the groups. Khamenei's tilt towards the conservatives after 2000, allowing them to use every means against the reformists has led to a mounting crisis, and that crisis reached boiling point in June 2005.

It went from being a crisis behind closed doors, to a crisis on the streets.
It is also disingenuous to attempt an analogy that equates the Iranian government to Stalin... there were no such Soviet purges in the post 1979 period in which the IRI has existed. The methods of Stalin's time are more accurately reflected in the techniques of his approximate contemporary, the American client Mohammed Reza Pehlavi, whose SAVAK would have given the NKVD a run for its money any day.
I'm not the one who brought up the Soviet analogy of Sakharov and Solzhenitsyn.

I wouldnt say it was Stalinist, but Khomeini's era was even more totalitarian than the Shah's, which is why so many of Iran's intellectuals who supported Khomeini during the Shah's overthrow broke with him by the 1980s.

However, if you speak to Iranians they will tell you about the revolutionary terror modeled on the French and Bolshevik revolutions that was applied.

Revolutionary courts secretly tried executed thousands in the Iranian government in several waves. Many of them were retired. Officers, diplomats, civil servants, ministers. Many of them were people who had fallen out with the Shah, but whom Khomeini considered dangerous. In the next waves people much further down suspected of loyalty to the old regime, to the Marxists, anyone other than Khomeini were arrested and shot.

Then you had what they called the 'cultural revolution' when they tried to purge the educational system of all 'un-Islamic' content and ended up shutting down the universities for three years.

The paranoia of those around Khomeini meant that even Islamic revolutionaries were not safe, particularly those progressives associated with Shariati and Taleghani.

For example in 1982 the serving foreign minister Qotbzadeh, a former Ayatollah Khomeini aide was arrested for plotting coup, put through a show trial, convicted and executed. Ayatollah Shariatmadari was stripped of his title and placed under house arrest.

In fact its episodes like this that led to Montazeri, Khomeini's heir-designate to fall out with him and become a reformist. Its a particularly good example of the regime's viciousness and factionalism.

The arms-for-hostages negotiations (known in the US as Iran Contra) were in full swing in 1986 to the point that US NSC staffers were secretly visiting Tehran. The cleric in charge of negotiations was Hashemi Rafsanjani. One of Rafsanjani's most serious rivals was a senior cleric named Mehdi Hashemi, who was in charge of exporting the Iranian revolution worldwide, and coordinated with Hezballah, which had conducted the kidnappings. Hashemi was the protege of the then extremely radical Montazeri.

Hashemi thought he might curry favour with Khomeini, and defeat his rival by leaking the negotiations in the Iranian press. Unfortunately for him Khomeini had approved the negotiations, and wanted them to succeed, but to acknowledge that would be impossible given that he had declared any contact with the USG to be treasonable.

So what did Khomeini do? He had Hashemi and his associates arrested for treason, tortured, and forced to confess on Iranian television that he was an American and Israeli agent. He is executed in September 1987 before his guilty verdict could be announced to preclude the embarrassment of Khomeini facing a public campaign on Hashemi's behalf by Montazeri, the official no.2.

Montazeri for the first time began to wonder if he, or those close to him could ever expect justice in a system where *anyone*, at any time, for any reason could be judicially murdered. A month after Hashemi's execution Montazeri calls for the legalisation of all political parties under strict regulation. Calls for “an open assessment” of the Islamic Republic’s failures.

That was the beginning of the break. It was complete after the secret mass liquidation of all Marxist prisoners in Iranian prisons in August 1988. There was a secret inquisition first - prisoners were told they were being interviewed to arrange their release. In reality the intention was to determine those who could be considered believing Muslims, as opposed to apostates. A few managed to fake it, but most were secretly condemned, and executed. The whole thing appalled the newly sensitised Montazeri.

That's the thing about Iran - even the most hardened Islamic revolutionary can change.
Do you seriously expect to convince anyone that the Americans were *forced* to give the Shah a weapons system as advanced as the F-14 Tomcat in 1976... an aircraft that they hadn't even begun supplying to many long-standing West European allies? The Americans may be capitalists, however, they've never been so mindlessly mercantile as to provide their most sophisticated armaments to regimes they didn't trust completely.

I'd like to see some substantiation of your contentions that "not even Israel" or the Saudis ever exercised such a veto over American foreign policy as the Shah's Iran.
America will make excuses for allies damaging behaviour in order to protect strategic relationships, but it almost never grants them the right of veto over US actions without repercussions.

The Saudis were utterly against the American invasion of Iraq in 2003, fearing both Sunni blowback, and the growth in Shia power once Saddam was gone. The Americans told them to cooperate on Iraq or face public wrath over 9/11. The Saudis provided some cooperation, but the US-Saudi relationship still hasn't recovered.

The Likud Israel in the first Gulf War was determined to make public warnings, and to go after Iraqi scuds itself once they started falling. They feared that any sign of dependence on direct American military action would reduce their ability to directly deter aggressors. The Bush elder administration made some blunt warnings to the Likud government about what kind of effect unilateral Israeli action might bring.

The Nixon, Ford and Carter administrations allowed their sensitivity towards the Shah's concerns act as a veto on US actions in Iraq, the Gulf, Afghanistan and Pakistan. The US essentially abdicated leadership in the region to the Shah.
Saddam's claims to Khuzestan or the Arvand Roud were not in any way related to the Cold War; they were a territorial dispute between Iran and Iraq which later became the basis of the 8-year war between those countries after the Shah was deposed. It neither suited the Soviets nor harmed the Americans for Saddam to gain these territories... as witnessed by America's help to Saddam in a war to capture those same territories from Khomeini's Iran in the next decade. So I'm not sure how this is an example of the Shah not fighting the "Cold War".

To the extent that the Shah could use American and Israeli help in pressuring Iraq via Kurdish separatists, he availed of it. What interest did the Americans and Israelis have in continuing their support to the Iraqi Kurds afterwards? There was no hope of actually toppling Saddam by backing the Kurds, and Kurdish irredentism was a threat to American ally Turkey as well.

I think you've captured quite well the disjuncture between US and Iranian aims, and the way that US aims became subordinate to Iranian ones.

Kissinger and Nixon met the Shah to discuss the Kurdistan covert action on their way back from the Moscow Summit.

Saddam's treaty with the USSR, and the influx of Soviet weapons and advisors to Iraq was the primary US concern.
Concerned enough to risk alienating Turkey which is extraordinarily sensitive over the Kurdish issue. They continued the Kurdistan operation even after the Turks closed most US bases in Turkey after Congress backed Greece during the 1974 Turkish invasion of Cyprus.

The Americans really didn't care about the Iran-Iraq border dispute. They wanted to pressure Iraq away from the Soviets. The Shah terminated the operation when he got what he wanted on the border front, while the Iraqi-Soviet relationship continued. The Americans got nothing but ill will from all involved - the Kurds, the Iraqis, the Turks and the Soviets.

First of all, that's hardly a "shadow" of the help the Shah offered Pakistan from any rational standpoint. Offering safe harbour to Pakistani submarines and supplying the PAF with state-of-the-art fighter aircraft is much more aggressive an action, than merely delivering oil, treating wounded soldiers or allowing supply overflights.
When I used the phrase, I meant in terms of risk.

With all those Iranian transports buzzing through Syria, what do you think the chances of losing Iranian personnel flying Iranian aircraft wearing Iranian markings on them was, given IDF/AF activity was? The Shah was walking a very, very dangerous edge, especially given his strategic relationship with Israel.
Secondly, no, I don't think the Shah's assistance to the Arab powers in the 1973 war was a favour to the Americans. It was a bid to establish influence across the Middle East centered around the highly contentious issue of Israel... the Arab-Israeli conflict having far more resonance in the Gulf region than any India-Pakistan war at the time. Conversely, the Shah's assistance to Pakistan against India in the 1971 war was not calculated to win the approval of Arab states... it was the execution of an American directive by their Cold War allies in Teheran, pure and simple.
So you're suggesting that the Shah wanted to extend influence in the Arab world, but wasnt interested in establishing influence over Pakistan, its immediate neighbour?!

The Shah's pattern of activity throughout the 1960s and 1970s was clear - he intended to turn Pakistan in to his client state.

From urging co-production of the Mirage (not an American idea!) in the 1960s and 70s, to intervention in the Balochi insurgency from 1973 onwards, to providing billions in aid to Pakistan when the Americans werent interested in subsidising them, there's no question of what the Shah wanted.

American disinterest after Nixon's triangular relationship with the Soviets and Chinese was achieved meant that Pakistan bought two kinds of weapons in the 1970s - French and Chinese. Chinese weapons in the Maoist era were sold at 'friendship' prices, i.e. nothing. French weapons were paid for by the Muslim world's money.

Bhutto understood the regional tensions and set up a bidding war between the Arabs and the Iranians, and the Shah won out. However the Shah also won out in Afghanistan, and the price that Bhutto had to pay was to give up the conflict with Daud.

The larger point here is this - the Shah did what he wanted in the Gulf and South Asia whether it overlapped with American aims, or not. Sometimes there was more overlap, sometimes less, sometimes none.
Ah, the heart of the matter. Which brings me back to my original contention: the Iranians are less likely allies for the Americans than any other power from Lebanon to the Phillipines, with the possible exception of India.

That's because the Iranians are not willing to submit to the sort of subsidiary alliance
Was Syria or Iraq under the Baathists under a subsidiary alliance? Egypt's under Sadat and Mubarak might be said to be. All three states have had different foreign policy approaches, but all three are/were one party states. The Arabs just have not revolted against domestic despotism in the same consistent way.

The Shah acted independently in alliance with the Americans, and the clerics have acted independently against the Americans, but foreign policy orientation is not what Iranians object to.

The Iranian people's fundamental objection was not to the substance of the Shah's foreign policy - it was to the economic costs of his policies, and his tyranny.

These are the same objections that the Iranian people have towards the Iranian government today.
...that America seeks from all its partners, other than a select few countries with which America has fraternal and filial civilizational ties.
Civilisational ties? The educated Iranian classes intellectual value system is rooted in the Enlightenment and post-modernism, just like the West. Even the progressive Islam of Ali Shariati is almost identical to liberation theology.

Fraternal and filial ties? While the Indian elite have many ties to the West, that is not true of the bulk of the Indian population. Iran on the other hand has diaspora connections in the West down to the grassoots, and Iranians continue to be high achievers abroad.

However, few people would argue that Kerensky represented an ideal agent for rapprochement between the West and Communism... and Bazargan is of hardly more consequence than Kerensky in this day and age.
How many Russians can name the movement, or thinkers that Kerensky was associated with?

Shariati, and those around him like Taleghani still mean a great deal.

Yeltsin made no reference to Kerensky, whose administrations was derided by Russians as the proof of the failure of liberal ideas.

Yet people like Khatami and other reformists continue to reference Shariati positively. The first 7 months of the revolution are not looked at with contempt (as was Kerensky), but nostalgically, as the best of times before it all went horribly wrong.
So ineffectual was Bazargan (whom you describe as "popular") at effecting rapprochement that he could not even stop the storming of the US Embassy... he could only resign in protest. He even continued in the Majles thereafter, regarded with some justification as a Western stooge, but not considered threatening enough to be taken seriously.
It is not Bazargan who was personally popular - he was a well respected individual. It was the progressive Islamic movement and its leadership that was hugely popular. Khomeini could not move until Taleghani and Shariati were dead.

You might make the comparison to the relationship between Khomeini and Moussavi in the 1980s. Khomeini was the one with following; Moussavi was somone who followed him who was appointed Prime Minister. If Khomeini had died suddenly, early on, how long would the Khomeinists have survived?

The storming of the embassy was not a popular demonstration that got out of hand. It was a special operation planned by a cell of armed student loyalists of Khomeini, and at his direction.

There were two options - to fight it out with Khomeini, and turn the revolution against itself, or to try and minimise friction, and internally negotiate matters.

The Islamic progressives have almost always chosen the least violent, least confrontational means of resolving differences with their former allies, and although they have paid politically for this lack of ruthlessness, in the long run the reactionary Khomeinist tactics have undermined their legitimacy, while enhancing that of the progressives.
Khatami and Montazeri are a long way from endorsing the ideals of civil and democratic rule that Bazargan supposedly stood for... including Bazargan's stand against the involvement of clerics in all aspects of politics, economy and society.
Again, more than Bazargan it was Shariati and Taleghani who developed the reformist, or progressive position.

The position called for clerics to be actively involved in all aspects of society as thinkers and activists, but opposed the idea of giving clerics special legal powers, which is the heart of Khomeini's 'velayat-e-faqih'.

Montazeri in fact recently publicly apologised for having supported the concept of velayat-e-faqih for those first eight years in power, and that he felt responsible for all those who had been killed under the system; http://payvand.com/news/09/sep/1160.html. You can find his site here; http://www.amontazeri.com

Khatami in public has insisted that he will not oppose the velayat-e-faqih, but it should be permissible to discuss change. However he's made it clear that while he's OK with leaving a clerical office as head of state, he wants to dismantle all of the mechanisms that allow the clerics of the Supreme Leader to control who runs for elections, direct the judiciary and armed forces, etc. In effect, turn him in to a figurehead, while strengthening all directly elected offices such as the parliament, the presidency, mayors and town councils. He has also repeatedly stressed ensuring that the government is never above the law in dealing with citizens.
No Iranian I've heard from, however pro-reform, is confused about the intentions of the US government towards his country. There is a big difference between protesting the hardliners' use of anti-Westernism as a pretext for repression, and trusting in the Americans as honest brokers or desirable partners on the world stage.
Most of the Iranians who are politically conscious are hardened realists when it comes to international affairs between states.

That means they assume *everyone*, whether America, or Iran, or anyone really is out for their own interests - and they're OK with that. They recognise there are areas where the US and Iran can work together, and where they will differ.

Their contention is that Khomeini's anti-American ideology restricted Iran's freedom of movment, and made being anti-Iran an ideological factor in American policy as well. Removing ideology on both sides allows realism to come in to play, and they believe Iran will excel in a realpolitik environment. They regard the ideas of particular countries as bogey men, or special enemies as nonsense.
Last edited by Johann on 04 Dec 2009 23:50, edited 1 time in total.
surinder

Post by surinder »

A question for the experts: What stock do the Tadjik belong to? Are they Persian? I do know that tey are Farsi speaking Sunnis, does that mean that are identical to the Iranians in ethnic background except that they are Sunni? Why do we get the feeling that the Tadjik are the most educated, cosmopolitan, sophisticated, and aggreeable amongst the major groups of Afghans?

This 3 cups of tea guy has been getting a lot of press in the last few years. Unfortunately that kind of makes him suspect.
He sounds an awful lot like some of the Indian NGOs - Graham Steines type minus the living in the region
Any perspective

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/34238313/ns/us_news-giving/

Johann wrote:I think you've missed our original point of departure - I have never suggested that Iranians would be happy about direct British involvement in Iranian political affairs - you're free of course insist that it must be my assumption, but I can only tell you that you're quite wrong.

Whatever the Iranian resentment of external involvement, the majority of Iranians regard Reza Shah as far more nationalist, and someone who did far more good for Iran than the Qajars who were seen as weak, exploitative and ineffectual.

However, the case in point here is the Iranian resentment of Western, specifically British involvement. Not only did the British sponsor the military coup against the Qajars by Reza Shah in 1921... but when they deposed Reza Shah during the Second World War, the British actually supported the re-ascension of the "weak, exploitative and ineffectual" Qajar scion Hamid Mirza in his stead! The message is clear... Reza Shah proved too independent to be an effective British puppet and the British actually sought to replace him with Hamid Mirza, who spoke no Persian and had English as his first language.

The sum of all this British interference was to contribute heavily towards a long-standing resentment and suspicion of Western powers among the Iranian elite, which apart from the dissidents who have made their home in the West today, is very much ingrained in the Iranian psyche.
The elections did not decide whether or not the US would attack. It moved the debate over the right course of action from the West Wing of the White House to the Council on Foreign Relations, i.e. the wider establishment.

Hillary Clinton, the leading candidate at the time, and de facto issue leader within the Democratic party is, and was only a fraction less hawkish towards the IRI than the Neoconservatives.

She, like some of the more cautious Neoconservatives favoured allowing Israel to do the job sooner rather than later, specifically before Natanz reached an industrial operational capacity.

It is the Iranian-American diaspora, particularly in academia that played a huge role in shifting the debate against this course. This was through relaying messages from both the Iranian state, as well the Iranian opposition, and integrating them in the context of American interests. The message was dont bomb yet, negotiations have a real chance of succeeding.
Sorry, the Congressional elections of 2006 were a mandate against neo-conservative policies of becoming embroiled in further military commitments that promised to complicate the ones America had already got itself into. Forget Hillary Clinton; even Republican legislators who took a severe beating as a result of the Iraq mess were against taking any action that could precipitate a need for more commitment of American military forces. Even the "cautious neo-conservatives", for their part, had no reason to believe that Israel could seriously undermine Iran's nuclear program with an Osirak-style raid, because there was some doubt whether knocking out Natanz would have been enough.

The elections made entirely clear that the American public mood had turned against adventurism, and in the face of such overwhelming opposition, it is hardly apparent that Iranian-Americans played a significant role in formulating a policy that was already fait-accompli.

This has far more to do with the factionalism of Iranian politics. The negotiations went very well thanks to the level of communication that had taken place beforehand. The problem arose when the radicals at home shot down the deal that the pragmatic conservatives had secured.

The radicals and the diaspora don't talk, and don't get along. Will the radicals be able to block the deal indefinitely? Depends on Khamenei really. If this drags on, then the diaspora will not be able to prevent issues from escalating.
Those whom you describe as "radicals" continue to be the mainstream, and continue to hold sway in Teheran today despite the best efforts of Western powers through their diasporic agents. The Iranians continue to poke the Anglo-American axis in the eye, Chinese style... even now they have interned British sailors whose vessel intruded on Iranian territorial waters. To whatever extent the Ayatollahs may be on the defensive internally against pro-reform activists, the Iranian government certainly remain confident enough to stand up to Western bullying. This is cause to doubt how much influence the Western diaspora of Iranians actually exercise over the internal Iranian reform movement. In fact, Iranians who genuinely hope to achieve reform are more than wary about drinking from the poison chalice of association with the West... in sharp contrast to the Vaclav Havel and Lech Walesa types who led popular movements against pro-Soviet regimes twenty years ago.

Rudradev,

Iran's Tiananmen has already happened.

Most Iranians were in total shock when the regime chose to unleash the Basij and the IRGC on the millions who demonstrated against the election. They didn't think the regime would go that far.

The backlash was enormous, and the government has reluctantly retreated, although the radicals are fuming about it.
Your very description illustrates the difference between Tiananmen and whatever repression the Ayatollahs engaged in against Iranian protestors... the repression in Iran was far from brutal enough to quell several subsequent actions by the protestors. The PRC killed over 800 demonstrators in Tiananmen Square in 1989. The official figure following the Teheran protests of June 2009 were 27 dead... all other reported casualty figures (150 is the highest I've heard) come from the same sorts of "human rights" organizations who count up to 1,000,000 dead in Kashmir as a result of Indian "excesses".

The Iranian government's retreat gives the lie to the idea that the "radicals" are either as all-powerful or as inveterately opposed to political negotiations with the reformists as the CPC.

When you're struggling against the odds, you appreciate those who lend a hand in support. One of the reasons that Iran has been so supportive of the Palestinians for example was Yasser Arafat's support in the 1960s and 70s to all of the Iranian revolutionary movements.

The fact is that that most of the Iranian opposition movement are disappointed in Obama administration's refusal to morally condemn the Iranian government's actions.

However, they do appreciate the support that people in the West have provided to them, just as they were grateful for Palestinian and worldwide leftist support at the popular level when they were weak.

Being a politically conscious people, the Iranians-- reformists and conservatives alike, have an acute sense of the difference between popular support and governmental support.
Yasser Arafat was regarded practically as a head of government, a representative policymaker for the Palestinians. He attended Non-Aligned Movement summits and was accorded the same regard as any head of state. This is a far cry from the American people who might sagaciously cluck their tongues at the protests in Teheran but quickly revert their attention to issues that actually concern them, such as the healthcare debate and troop commitments in Afghanistan. The American electorate, despite having the power, is not going to cast its vote on the basis of how much support their candidate is willing to extend to the Iranian protestors... and the Iranian reformists know this. Fleeting sentiments of sympathy by a section of the American people may be appreciated for what they are, but ultimately the Iranian political view of America will be dictated by the actions of its government... and of course, by the actions of successive US governments in the past from the days of Dulles. One thing no one can deny is the Iranian elite's acute sense of history.

Today the Iranian regime continues to support the Palestinian cause for two reasons; its desire to acquire leadership status of the Islamic world, and its desire to oppose the West through its perceived proxy, Israel (and those Muslim states which lean towards accommodation of Israel). These reasons have nothing to do with Arafat, who is long gone.

Even if the accumulated grievances of resenting American support for the Shah to resenting American help to Saddam during the Gulf War were not enough, the American alliance with Israel is by itself a cause for suspicion and mistrust among Iranians across the political spectrum.
The Iranians have been conducting mass protests for much long before mobile phones or the internet were available - 1978, 1979, 1961, 1953, etc.

Today, the Iranians continue to demonstrate in numbers even as the mainstream media's coverage has shrunk
Yes indeed. In 1953 the Iranians were protesting the American ouster of democratically-elected Mossadegh; in 1961 through 1979, they were protesting the tyranny of the American-backed Shah Mohammed Reza Pehlavi. People will protest if they are politically conscious enough.

Today, the "numbers" of Iranians protesting have dwindled...by July 2009 there was no question of tens of thousands of protestors assembling in Teheran. They had resorted instead to guerilla-protest tactics, such as "blitz" demonstrations that dispersed as soon as security forces arrived, and scribbling messages on currency notes. That there is a legitimate non-cooperation movement in progress by Iranian reformists is not in question. However, the numbers certainly shrank before the mainstream media's coverage did (as a natural consequence).

The abandonment of the story by the Western media, once the ratings-grabbing spectacle of 100,000 strong assemblies had passed, only reinforces among Iranian reformists the futility of relying on the West for support.
I'm not the one who brought up the Soviet analogy of Sakharov and Solzhenitsyn.

I wouldnt say it was Stalinist, but Khomeini's era was even more totalitarian than the Shah's, which is why so many of Iran's intellectuals who supported Khomeini during the Shah's overthrow broke with him by the 1980s.

However, if you speak to Iranians they will tell you about the revolutionary terror modeled on the French and Bolshevik revolutions that was applied.

Revolutionary courts secretly tried executed thousands in the Iranian government in several waves. Many of them were retired. Officers, diplomats, civil servants, ministers. Many of them were people who had fallen out with the Shah, but whom Khomeini considered dangerous. In the next waves people much further down suspected of loyalty to the old regime, to the Marxists, anyone other than Khomeini were arrested and shot.

I have compared dissidents (Ghani from Iran and Solzhenitsyn from the USSR) who were feted and used as propaganda emblems by the West, and the comparison stands. You have tried to draw an analogy between Stalinist repression and that practiced by the Khomeinists. No doubt the Khomeinists were brutally repressive, and their excesses are well known. However, the very fact that a Montazeri could arise from the Khomeinist ranks demonstrates the difference in intensity between their repression and Stalin's (or the Shah's for that matter). Any party member exhibiting such a tendency towards unorthodoxy in Stalin's lifetime would have been snuffed out in short order. The scale of Stalin's purges was unlike anything Khomeinist Iran has seen.
That's the thing about Iran - even the most hardened Islamic revolutionary can change.
I agree, and this is because of a long-standing catholicism of political culture that even the Khomeinists had to accommodate to some degree. Yet, suspicion and resentment of the West were not unique to the Islamists or Khomeinists... they existed across the political spectrum to the leftists and the democrats. The very fact that Khomeini could use a display of anti-Americanism such as seizing the US Embassy, as the lynchpin of consolidating his popular support, clearly demonstrates this.

Unlike in Stalinist Russia, Iranian suspicion and resentment of the West were not a product of contrived ideological constructs instilled uniformly by Khomeinist indoctrination... they had existed for long before the 1979 revolution. Iranians distrust and resent the West because the West has been historically inimical to their attempts to forge the civilizational destiny they see as their due.

There is no evidence of correlation between the reformist-conservative struggle in Iran today, and a pro/anti-Western dynamic of lasting purport. The conservatives use anti-Americanism as a political tool while the reformists hope that the Americans will pressure the regime to afford them political space; but these are tactical postures adopted for immediate gain. Beneath it all, a wariness of Western intentions pervades the political consciousness of all Iranians I've met.
The Nixon, Ford and Carter administrations allowed their sensitivity towards the Shah's concerns act as a veto on US actions in Iraq, the Gulf, Afghanistan and Pakistan. The US essentially abdicated leadership in the region to the Shah.
There is no basis for this contention. The extent of support provided by Washington to the Pehlavi regime, clearly indicates that US administrations calculated that their interests in the Shah's perceived sphere of influence were being served well enough. Indeed, they trusted that their interests would continue to be served well enough that they supplied the Shah with political, economic and military support of a degree normally reserved for NATO allies. The US was no "hyperpower" that it could be everywhere at once, and to that extent it allowed the Shah the latitude to make his own decisions as long as they didn't run damagingly contrary to American interests (as for example, Israeli and Saudi actions later did).

All they did, however, was to outsource a regional lieutenancy to the Shah... which is not at all the same as "essentially abdicating leadership". As such, the latitude the US allowed to the Shah only demonstrates the degree of faith they had in him as an ally... also witnessed by the extent to which they were happy to provide him with sophisticated weapons to enforce his lieutenancy.

None of this ever made the Shah more than a subsidiary ally (who, like all allies, the Americans granted some latitude from time to time out of exigency).
The Americans really didn't care about the Iran-Iraq border dispute. They wanted to pressure Iraq away from the Soviets. The Shah terminated the operation when he got what he wanted on the border front, while the Iraqi-Soviet relationship continued. The Americans got nothing but ill will from all involved - the Kurds, the Iraqis, the Turks and the Soviets.
The Americans may not have cared about the Iran-Iraq border dispute, but they certainly cared about the Shah's own stability, faithful ally that he was. The Shah's enthusiasm for terminating the operation of supporting Iraqi Kurdish dissidents, was certainly tempered by the potential threat posed by Kurdish nationalism to Iran as well. Iran has a substantial Kurdish population with a well-documented history of secessionist politics.

That the Shah was willing to go along with an anti-Saddam ploy that involved stoking Kurdish separatism *at all*, indeed demonstrates to what extent he was willing to fight the Americans' Cold War. Even to the extent, apparently, of risking insurrection by his own Kurdish population. Ultimately, he saw no reason to jeopardize his own regime's stability by carrying things beyond a point at which Saddam capitulated in Algiers... and the Americans, being sensible enough, agreed.
With all those Iranian transports buzzing through Syria, what do you think the chances of losing Iranian personnel flying Iranian aircraft wearing Iranian markings on them was, given IDF/AF activity was?
I don't know, how close to the theatre of combat would his aircraft have had to fly, given they were on logistical supply missions? The IDFAF didn't have an unlimited number of planes, and picked its targets carefully. Certainly there was some risk, but it was a calculated risk, and ultimately didn't end up jeopardizing Pehlavi-Israeli relations (surely thanks, at least in part, to Washington's diplomacy between two critical American allies).
So you're suggesting that the Shah wanted to extend influence in the Arab world, but wasnt interested in establishing influence over Pakistan, its immediate neighbour?!

The Shah's pattern of activity throughout the 1960s and 1970s was clear - he intended to turn Pakistan in to his client state.

I'm sure the Shah was interested in establishing influence over Pakistan. Besides the ventures you mention, the Shah even collaborated with Pakistan's incipient nuclear program.
However, the Shah's support to Pakistan in the 1971 war... supplying *American* Starfighters to the PAF so that *America* could sustain its Pakistani ally while maintaining a facade of embargo, was a Cold War action pure and simple.

Nobody has suggested that the Shah did not have ambition or intelligence (no despot would have survived as long as he did otherwise).
The larger point here is this - the Shah did what he wanted in the Gulf and South Asia whether it overlapped with American aims, or not. Sometimes there was more overlap, sometimes less, sometimes none.
My larger point is that the Americans invested the Shah with enough material and political support and enough latitude to pursue limited regional ambitions, because they calculated he was a reliable enough ally to serve their interests faithfully.

This is similar to he Americans supporting the Pakistani takeover-by-proxy of Afghanistan via the Taliban in the 1990s... the most economical way of advancing their strategic goals, was to allow their subsidiary ally some latitude in his immediate neighbourhood.

In any event, the perception of the Shah as a tyrannical American stooge is very much ingrained, once again, in the Iranian political psyche.
The Shah acted independently in alliance with the Americans, and the clerics have acted independently against the Americans, but foreign policy orientation is not what Iranians object to.
The Iranian people's fundamental objection was not to the substance of the Shah's foreign policy - it was to the economic costs of his policies, and his tyranny.

And the Iranian people remember well that the Shah's tyranny endured with boundless and hypocritical support from a strongly influential world power that styled itself the "leader of the free world". It isn't the *Shah's* foreign policy the Iranian people objected to. It was *American* foreign policy towards Iran, which involved perpetuating the Shah's tyranny over them.

America has sponsored dictatorial tyrants in Pakistan and Saudi Arabia as well, resulting of course in popular resentment of the US in those countries; however, with a far smaller educated class and a relatively scant sense of civilizational history or political consciousness, the anti-Western resentment in Pakistan and Saudi Arabia derives mainly from stoking by Islamist ideologues.

In Iran, anti-Westernism transcends the opportunist fomentation of Islamist ideologues. It derives from an educated, rational popular perception of the role the West has played in subverting the destiny the Iranian people see as their due.

These are the same objections that the Iranian people have towards the Iranian government today.
Unfortunately not. A section of the Iranian people may be seeking internal political reform, but no matter what the Ayatollahs' faults, the Iranians don't see them as puppets foisted on the nation by a foreign power.
Civilisational ties? The educated Iranian classes intellectual value system is rooted in the Enlightenment and post-modernism, just like the West. Even the progressive Islam of Ali Shariati is almost identical to liberation theology.

Fraternal and filial ties? While the Indian elite have many ties to the West, that is not true of the bulk of the Indian population. Iran on the other hand has diaspora connections in the West down to the grassoots, and Iranians continue to be high achievers abroad.
It is *because* the Iranian classes are educated that they see the hypocrisy of the Anglo-American axis for what it is. They realize that "Enlightenment" and"post-modernism" are for Western nations to practice when treating with their own kind. While for Iran, the West offers coups, suppression of popular political aspirations, political sabotage, and the threat of compulsion by military action.

This is a reality that all generations of Iranians throughout the 20th and now 21st centuries have grown up with and lived with. They would like the West to accept Persian civilization as an equal and treat with it as an equal, but realize fully well that this will never happen, just as most Indians realize fully well that it will never happen to us.

The dynamic has remained resolutely and unabashedly colonialist on the part of the West, and the Iranians are not blind to this, no matter what a few members of the Anglophile diaspora might say.

And, are you seriously comparing the "filial and fraternal ties" of the Iranian diaspora to the West, with those that the UK, Canada or Australia have with the United States?

It is not Bazargan who was personally popular - he was a well respected individual. It was the progressive Islamic movement and its leadership that was hugely popular. Khomeini could not move until Taleghani and Shariati were dead.

You might make the comparison to the relationship between Khomeini and Moussavi in the 1980s. Khomeini was the one with following; Moussavi was somone who followed him who was appointed Prime Minister. If Khomeini had died suddenly, early on, how long would the Khomeinists have survived?

The storming of the embassy was not a popular demonstration that got out of hand. It was a special operation planned by a cell of armed student loyalists of Khomeini, and at his direction.
Bazargan was ultimately tainted by his advocacy of accommodation with the West... not a popular sentiment given the Iranians' recent experience of the Shah whom they certainly saw as enjoying tremendous American support. That he could be removed by virtue of the Khomeinists storming the US embassy and naming him a Western stooge, demonstrates the intensity of anti-American sentiment amongst the Iranian people at the time.

Taleghani and Shariati were two quite different figures, by the way. Shariati was not fundamentally an Islamist ideologue... he was a chiefly democratic revolutionary who however acknowledged that Islam should have a place in constructing a vision of Iranian national identity after the Shah, recognizing that the masses in Iran were uneducated and more likely to respond to the authority of religious symbolism, compared to an equivalent European society that had been through the Enlightenment and generally accepted post-Westphalian ideas of statehood independent of religious identity. He never saw his vision realized, because he died (ostensibly at SAVAK's hands) in Southampton in 1977... before the Shah was even ousted.

Taleghani was a reformist Ayatollah, who sought to combine Marxist and Islamic ideals. He was Chairman of the Revolutionary Council, and instrumental in the growth of Islamist influence in the post-revolutionary milieu. Khomeini certainly did supercede Taleghani's political authority even within Taleghani's lifetime, using the Revolutionary Guards to harrass Taleghani's family and dressing him down publicly at Qom.

As I've said before, Bazargan was a consensus figure appointed by Khomeini to accommodate the original proponents of the revolution while he sought to supplant their influence by increasing his own.

To contend, as you have, that his regime's relations with the US could be a template for relations between the US and Iran in the future is IMO quite unjustified. Association with the US has undermined and destroyed the popular credibility of a great many American-supported leaders in the Middle East and South Asia... witness Sadat, the Saudi monarchs, Mohammed Reza Pehlavi, Ziaur Rahman, Mehdi Bazargan, Ahmed Chalabi, Hamid Karzai, and an endless succession of Pakistanis from Ayub Khan onwards. This is no accident, and transcends the immediate phenomenon of Islamism... it has to do with the popular perception of the US as the inheritor of Britain's colonial legacy, and the perpetuator of exploitative and hypocritical policies in the post-colonial age.
That means they assume *everyone*, whether America, or Iran, or anyone really is out for their own interests - and they're OK with that. They recognise there are areas where the US and Iran can work together, and where they will differ.

Their contention is that Khomeini's anti-American ideology restricted Iran's freedom of movment, and made being anti-Iran an ideological factor in American policy as well. Removing ideology on both sides allows realism to come in to play, and they believe Iran will excel in a realpolitik environment. They regard the ideas of particular countries as bogey men, or special enemies as nonsense.
Even India realizes that there are areas where the US and India can work together, and areas where we will differ. Today we are working with the Americans in those areas where we can.

We also realize, however, that at some point in the future, a collision between Indian aspirations and American interests is inevitable. America will invariably circumscribe the destiny to which India aspires as her civilizational due. America will never allow India to secure her near abroad, or play the role she has historically played in influencing the fortunes of her environs and the world. America will never accept India into an alliance of equals, but demand that India beyond a point recognize the subservience of her interests to America's own. Witness what is happening with Pakistan today.

And at some point, with the continuing rise of India, the latent conflict will be manifest. At that time, either America will have to concede India's rightful claim to her destiny or India will have to fight to exercise it.

In this respect, the US-Iran relationship of the future (even if the Ayatollahs are removed and engagement begins) will be no different. There is a limit to which mutually beneficial partnership can go, before the contentions lying dormant in the Perso-Western civilizational dynamic come inexorably to the fore.

Khomeini, Taleghani, Bazargan et.al. do not matter in this scheme of things. The Iranian people did not have to be Islamist to resent the Shah's tyranny and recognize America's role in perpetuating it. They will not become blind to the inevitable conflict with the Anglo-American axis that is in store for their civilization, even if they resist or eventually overthrow the Ayatollah regime with its specifically Islamist flavour of anti-Americanism.

And that is the basis of my contention that, apart from Indians, Persians (thanks to their potent and coherent sense of history and civilizational destiny) are perhaps the least likely long-term allies the Americans could hope for.

I believe I've said all I have to say on the subject here. If this discussion is to continue, let it be on the Iran thread as Shaurya suggests.

In the process of all this, we have lost the original thread of discussion that I tried to initiate... how should India hedge its security interests in Afghanistan and Pakistan, against an almost inevitable pullout and failure of the American mission there? Can increased engagement with the SCO provide such a hedge, because the SCO will be in our neighbourhood even after the Americans have gone? What considerations do we have to make in increasing our influence over the SCO nations... Iran, Russia and China... so as to secure our interests in Afghanistan?

Somehow that discussion became entirely derailed by all this off-topic verbiage and hand-waving about Iran. Though I'm sure that was not Johann's intention :)

And at some point, with the continuing rise of India, the latent conflict will be manifest. At that time, either America will have to concede India's rightful claim to her destiny or India will have to fight to exercise it.
in that case, why would america ever allow india to train ANA under the UN umbrella? it is enabling india to reassert her influence over this region. will this be allowed due to short-term alignment of interests? what can america do to roll it back after that?