Here is the link of the original article ...
The taxing and take-off was exactly as planned. Due to misjudgment of altitude of the flight, the on-board engine was switched off through ground command which made the on-board thrust developed to go to zero. There are a lot of gains from the flight," the DRDO statement says.
Seems like Mehta ji was right. And this is definitely not the first flight which crashed as some DDM puts it. Wonder why ADE didnt do a better PR job with the first flight!rakall wrote:K Mehta wrote:
According to a panwallah, Rustom has been seen around HAL airport flying for quite some time now.
Whether it was Rustom-H or the predator like final version or the tech demonstrator that flew in AI-05 i dont know.
Panwallah only mentioned Rustom.
What was seen flying earlier around HAL was the unmanned version of LCRA..
DRDO to develop Unmanned Combat Aerial VehicleRaja Bose wrote:A very late lateef question: What news if any on induction of armed UAVs which can fire some missiles (and what would those missiles be, non-US ones i.e.)?
Bangalore, Nov 25 (PTI) The Defence Research and Development Organisation will be embarking on developing an Unmanned Combat Aerial Vehicle (UCAV), a top official said today.
All controls of the unmanned vehicle will rest with the Command Control Centres (CCCs) which could be situated at geographically different locations. Even if one CCC becomes defunct, it can be controlled and directed from other CCCs. It will work in a layered manner, Saraswat said.
DRDO has also started work on high-altitude medium endurance UAV.
This might be kind of losses that we might face in our programs. So, instead of criticising this program to death we need to be patient and supportive because it has a potential of paying large dividends in the long run.And even though 13 of the 70 Predator crashes have occurred over the last 18 months, officials said the accident rate has fallen as flying hours have shot up.
All told, 55 have been lost because of equipment failure, operator errors or weather. Four were shot down in Bosnia, Kosovo and Iraq; 11 were lost in combat situations, like running out of fuel while protecting troops under fire.
The jet has long, slender outer wings, spanning as much as 80 feet, mated to a stouter, deeper centerbody with a pointed nose.
With its low-observable design, the aircraft could be useful for flying the borders of Iran and peering into China, India and Pakistan for useful data about missile tests and telemetry, as well as gathering signals and multi-spectral intelligence
Made of composites, predominantly for disaster management. But could be used a lot in urban warface and counter terrorism situations.Weighing just 300 gms and 300 millimetres long, Micro Air Vehicles (MAVs) developed by India's aerospace scientists have a variety of applications, mainly in surveillance and disaster management.
These vehicles have a range of two to five kms, fly some 100 to 200 metres above ground for 30-40 minutes and take pictures of what's happening.
The Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) will take up the indigenous development of a medium altitude long endurance Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV).
Defence Minister A K Antony told the Lok Sabha in a written reply to a question today that the development would be undertaken against against confirmed Qualitative Requirements (QRs) to meet the requirements of the three Services.
Mr Antony said the UAV had been named Rustom-H. The Indian industry would be the development-cum-production partner for the project, which is expected to be completed in 78 months after formal sanction.
Cheap software helps Iraqi militants track US drones: report
December 17th, 2009
Washington: Iraqi militants have regularly used cheap and widely-available software to intercept the feeds of US-operated drones, the Wall Street Journal reported on Thursday.
Citing senior defence and intelligence officials, the Journal said, Iranian-backed Shiite insurgents used software programs such as SkyGrabber — available online for USD 25.95 — to capture drone feeds.
The practice was uncovered in July 2009, when the US military found files of intercepted drone video feeds on the laptop of a captured militant. They discovered "days and days and hours and hours of proof," a person described as familiar with the situation told the Journal.
"It is part of their kits now." Some of the most detailed examples of drone intercepts have been uncovered in Iraq, but the same technique is known to have been employed in Afghanistan and could easily be used in other areas where US drones operate. The SkyGrabber program and others take advantage of the unencrypted downlink between the drone and ground control. The US government has known about the flaw since the 1990s, but assumed its adversaries would not be able to take advantage of it, the Journal said.
The US officials said that there was no evidence that militants could control the drones or otherwise interfere with their flights, but the vulnerability would allow the unmanned craft to be monitored and tracked.
Right. Live dangerously.
ramana wrote:Wonder if the Pakis also have that software?
The loophole seems to be bigger than initial reports
The U.S. military’s primary system for bringing overhead surveillance down to soldiers and Marines on the ground is also vulnerable to electronic interception, multiple military sources tell Danger Room. That means militants have the ability to see through the eyes of all kinds of combat aircraft — from traditional fighters and bombers to unmanned spy planes. The problem is in the process of being addressed. But for now, an enormous security breach is even larger than previously thought.
So the same security breach that allowed insurgent to use satellite dishes and $26 software to intercept drone feeds can be used the tap into the video transmissions of any plane.
As the military rushes to place more spy drones over Afghanistan, the remote-controlled planes are producing so much video intelligence that analysts are finding it more and more difficult to keep up.
Does anyone know if the Indian UAVs are protected against such hacking of video feed, is the transmission encrypted and whether the same can/cannot be hijacked. Inputs anyone
At times open source literature states that there are lines of communication are encrypted and secure. Datalinks, voice channels, Radio Frequencies etc. If people know they can shareCraig Alpert wrote:^^ you think people would tell you if they weren't![]()
this info is provided on a need to know basis and like your location remains classified!
1) because you have encrypted devices in use for communication, does not mean that the streaming info automatically qualifies for being secure.Amit J wrote: At times open source literature states that there are lines of communication are encrypted and secure. Datalinks, voice channels, Radio Frequencies etc. If people know they can share. The hacking of the US drones was done apparently by off-the-shelf software. If one can get it in Iraq am sure in India it is the same case and as such last 2 years bombings brought to the fore the communication and internet capabilities of the terrorists. A guy was arrested from Yahoo working @ 24-26 L /annum.
You are one to talk you have been behind enemy lines since Oct, we arent sure if you are double agent or not
I am aware of this which is why i am asking if all modes of communication to and fro btw the Indian UAVs and its ground control station/operator stations are secureCraig Alpert wrote: 1) because you have encrypted devices in use for communication, does not mean that the streaming info automatically qualifies for being secure.
2) US Drones have all the above mentioned, YET they were "hacked."(as you call it, but the correct terminology would be picked off) The primary reason being was the downstream, being unencrypted and unsecure. See where the loop holes are??
I didnot state the software was developed in Iraq but rather was used there, i didnot know it was developed by a russian.3) the software that you mention is NOT developed in IRAQ. It was developed by a RUSSIAN for use in SOMETHING ELSE. however, some smart alec figured out the potential usage and that's how video feeds were obtained by scanning the downstreams. no HACKING required. The software does it all autonomously for only $21.95 with shipping and handling!
Am sure the NIA is going to do the investigation and arrest. And there is an agency (cant remember the name) being set up post 26/11 ala the NSA with similar electronic monitoring capabilities, apart from the various signals intelligence capabilitites which we already have6) there are plenty of guys that will be arrested, if the govt intendend to catch these cyber criminials, but inorder for it to do that it needs to set up a dedicated agency on the likes of NSA (to counter cyberwarfare)
You are insulting me by stating that my posts are laughable maybe you like to point out specificsand last but certainly not the least
7) being behind enemy lines, it is PRECISELY the reason why the info you are seeking WOULD/SHOULD NOT be provided. While others might have a hearty laugh at your previous posts I for one have no doubt you might be putting on a Charade and looking to get as much information out as you can and prolly pass it along to god knows who
um let's see..Amit J wrote:You are insulting me by stating that my posts are laughable maybe you like to point out specifics
About the location thing i hope to god that you are joking which is wht i intended it and marked it with a winkin smilie; if you are then you have to work on ur comic delivery; if you arent then just shush....
BINGOAmit J wrote:Does anyone know if the Indian UAVs are protected against such hacking of video feed, is the transmission encrypted and whether the same can/cannot be hijacked. Inputs anyone
Thanks in advance
Maybe you outta try what you preach, considering most of your posts are nothing but lectures and whining! I'd love to continue, but unfortuantely this is not my PM, and I DO NOT want to take this thread OT..So i'll leave you to your own!Amit J wrote:if you arent then just shush...
Continue reading --> The danger of tunnel vision...
The ultimate goal is to give commanders and troops the intelligence they need to make the right decisions about when to drop bombs and when not to drop bombs; which suspects to track and which to let go; and when and where to be ready for a fight. All are critical in a counterinsurgency in which success depends on defeating enemies but also on winning hearts and minds.
The revelation last month that insurgents in Iraq and Afghanistan were able to intercept video feeds from Predators and other aircraft turned the public spotlight on the encryption issue. It is a serious vulnerability, and one that should have been addressed “in earnest” long ago, to use the term the Air Force now uses to describe the work it plans to do this year to accelerate installation of encrypted transmitters on its Predators and Reapers. As for the ground equipment, L-3 Communications is manufacturing Rover 5 display terminals that are ready for the encrypted signals. The truth about the video is that there are other problems one could sound the alarm at least as loudly about, and we address them regularly in this journal...
The company is scheduled to deliver the second-generation NightEagle kits to U.S. Special Operations Command in April. As with the first versions, Insitu crews will install the kits in the field to convert ScanEagles to NightEagles. Operators will be able to see farther with a new zoom capability and across more ground with the addition of a more flexible turret, Insitu officials said.
Both versions of the NightEagle kits are made for a specific operational purpose. ScanEagle’s infrared cameras detect the long-wave infrared energy emitted by ground objects, the kind that passes through smoke, but not the middle-wave energy that makes it through airborne moisture. This means they can see through smoke and dust, but not humidity or haze.
Insitu came up with a proposal more than a year ago to solve the haze problem by installing a middle-wave infrared camera onto ScanEagles in the field.
“This is a market-changing capability the customer has been demanding for some time,” said Eric Edsall, Insitu’s international business development executive and a former U.S. Navy pilot.
Canadian forces were first to order the first-generation NightEagle kits under a $30 million contract, followed by U.S. Special Operations Command as part of a $250 million ScanEagle contract awarded in May. The command has told Insitu it will use the same contract to procure the second-generation kits, Insitu said.
Insitu has developed a larger version of the ScanEagle, called Integrator, that would carry long-wave and midwave cameras. The 135-pound Integrator aircraft, which Insitu demonstrated to the Navy in June, is the company’s entry in the Navy’s Small Tactical Unmanned Aircraft System competition.
Crews in Afghanistan convert the 40-pound ScanEagles into 44-pound NightEagles by unscrewing the aircraft’s nose cone, removing the long-wave camera and attaching a larger nose with the middle-wave camera. They also must attach a tail fin for aerodynamic balance. The process takes about two hours, according to Insitu.
The second-generation NightEagle kits work the same way, except that the upgraded camera assemblies will be able to cover more ground because of the improved articulation of their Alticam Vision turrets. They will see farther because of the new zooming system.
With its larger nose, the NightEagle “is not real pretty,” Edsall said.
But to its backers, it makes up for that by piercing the fog of war.
Elbit Systems of America, a Fort Worth, TX-based subsidiary of Israel’s Elbit Systems, received a $15.6 million contract from US Naval Air Systems Command (NAVAIR) to supply Tactical Video Data Link (TVDL) systems for the US Marine Corps’ AH-1W Super Cobra attack helicopter.
The TVDL will provide helicopter pilots with live UAV video and targeting information combined with the ability to retransmit UAV and on-board sensor video to other aircraft and ground forces. The TVDL system weighs less than 8.5 lbs. The systems are planned to be operational in USMC AH-1W helicopters by the end of FY 2010….......
Aircraft has suffered minor damage, claims DRDO
Nishant crashlands
Bangarpet/Bangalore, Jan 29, DH News Service:
An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), Nishant, which was on a test flight, crashlanded in an agricultural land at Chikkatumutagiri in Bangarpet taluk on Friday following technical problem.
The UAV was scheduled to land at Defence Research and Development and Development (DRDO) premises at Muduwadi Hosahalli in Kolar taluk. The vehicle was launched at 11 am and was scheduled to return at 4 pm after flying over Hosur in Tamil Nadu. However, it developed problems around 2.45 and crashlanded with a loud sound. Wings were damaged in the accident. No one was injured in the accident.
On hearing the thud, a teacher and students in a nearby school rushed out and saw the damaged vehicle.
According to sources, the vehicle was valued at Rs 20 crore and was carrying Rs five crore worth camera on board.
In Bangalore, a DRDO spokesperson denied that the UAV had crashlanded. However, he confirmed that the UAV was the advanced version of Nishant.
Spokesperson Jayaprakash maintained that the wings of the UAV were slightly damaged when the aircraft landed on an uneven ground. "The area where the UAV landed was earmarked for emergency landings and it landed using a parachute. The villagers assumed it was a crash," he claimed.
He also said that there was no significant damage and that the aircraft was going to be used again.