Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Redrawing State Boundaries

Stan saar:
I think those numbers have a sense. It conveys that RegionA was not ignored but shared development benefits. Your numbers compare how RegionA vs RegionB. Irrespective of RegionA growing by leaps and bounds and still is far below RegionB; then we have to accept that RegionA was not neglected. It does not mean all is fine with RegionA.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

If the point to be made is statistical, then statistically relevant data should be used. If the point to be made is more of "trust us, we are in this game together," just words shall suffice. It is how trustable you are and how much the interested party would like to repose their trust in you. Why hotch-potch data in the game of trust?

Do numbers likes 8394% make sense in a common-sensical framework? Did nt we bring in the great PC Mahalanobis to do the first few five year plans, that is how we used statistics in our five year planning. And throwing numbers such as these, which are floating around in quite a few articles, how much should people trust these articles when the preciseness of these metrics itself is in question.

Anyway, first time I have seen some readable stuff from wkk nayar, even if the title is a bit alarmist.
Anxious times for India ----- Kuldip Nayar
http://www.thedailystar.net/newDesign/n ... nid=118269

X-posted...
goutham wrote:http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/eb66f91a-eb96 ... ck_check=1

India’s southern city of Hyderabad is becoming one of India’s most potent symbols of the greed and corruption that link politicians and businessmen. For the third time in a year, the state has been rocked by a crisis that exposes those linkages – this time over whether Andhra Pradesh should be split in two with the creation of a new state of Telangana based around Hyderabad (white area in map below).
This is a far cry from the glory and international fame of the past 15 or so years when this prosperous capital of the state of Andhra Pradesh became an international symbol of India’s dramatic growth in software, second only to Bangalore as a thriving location for information technology investment. Companies located there include Google and Microsoft, and Bill Clinton visited as US president.

The first of the state’s crises came a year ago with the collapse of Satyam, a leading Hyderabad-based software company that was owned by the family of its then chairman, Ramalinga Raju. The Rajus were closely linked with various politicians, including the state’s Congress chief minister, Y S Rajasekhar Reddy (YSR), who died in a helicopter crash in September, as well as his predecessor, Chandrababu Naidu.
Politicians are widely believed to have invested their black money in both Satyam and in Maytas Infrastructure, an associated company that received favours on contracts from the state government and drained funds out of Satyam. Both companies (Satyam has now been sold) are now being investigated for massive fraud, and Raju has been detained in jail since January.
Next came YSR’s sudden death and an immediate attempt by his politically inexperienced 37-year old son, Y.S.Jaganmohan Reddy, to become the chief minister. Jaganmohan, who had built a substantial business empire since his father came to power in 2004, was frenetically backed in a campaign by local businessmen who wanted to protect deals they had struck with his father and to be able to replicate them in the future.
As Bharat Bhushan, editor of India’s Mail Today, put it in an article (“Money backs ‘Son-rise’ in Andhra” – Oct 3, 2009) that listed many company names, YSR secured the loyalty of his supporters not by giving them lucrative government jobs, which is common practice across the country, but by facilitating opportunities for developing new businesses, especially in booming Hyderabad.
“YSR converted his key supporters into businessmen, industrialists, contractors and realtors,” wrote Bhushan. “Their loyalty to the party, or the leader, was based on pure economic interest. YSR rewarded them with contracts in state sponsored irrigation projects…….highway projects, real estate activities, development of Special Economic Zones, land grants and housing schemes in urban as well as rural areas……
“It has taken decades for Indian entrepreneurs like the Tatas, Birlas, Ambanis and Bajajs to convert family businesses into billion dollar corporations. The Congress Party under YSR in Andhra showed us that this could be done in barely five years.”
These are the businessmen who are now resisting the demands for a Telangana state. Coming from Andhra’s coastal regions, they mostly belong to the Reddy and Kamma upper castes that must now be ranked along with India’s more famous business castes and communities such as the Marwaris of the north and the Chettiars of the south.
They fear that the dispute will lead to a crash in Hyderabad real estate values and a cutback on infrastructure projects – and that they might be driven out of the capital by the new Telangana rulers.
Among the most powerful anti-Telangana politicians is Lagadapati Rajagopal, founder-chairman of the rapidly growing Lanco infrastructure, power and construction group and a Congress MP, whose development plans in and around Hyderabad would be hit hard if the state split. Another MP with powerful Delhi connections is T.Subbarami Reddy, whose Gayatri group has many infrastructure projects. Another businessman who would lose from a split is Andhra-born G.M.Rao, founder-chairman of the Bangalore-based GMR group that built Hyderabad airport and controversially has 5,000 of acres around the site waiting for development, as well as many other projects. National and local politicians are widely believed to have invested in such companies.
The Telangana claim
The Telangana people’s wish for some sort of constitutional identity has been around for over 50 years, and has been fudged and rebuffed by successive Indian governments. But last week (December 9) the central government gave way and agreed to create Telangana in order to end a fast by a local politician and activist, Chandrashekhar Rao, leader of Telangana Rashtriya Samiti, who was risking his life to revive his crumbling political image.
That humane but politically clumsy decision led to violent demonstrations in Hyderabad, plus resignation threats by about half the members of the legislative assembly. This paralysed the state government and sparked follow-on bifurcation claims from other states all over India.
But observers of India’s frequently muddled and confusing political scene need not fear any imminent Balkanisation of India’s 28 states. Having prevented the death of the fasting politician, the government is back to fudge, and hopes to stall the Telangana claims indefinitely, maybe even until the state’s next assembly elections in 2014. Meanwhile, other states’ claims to be split will be examined, and some may push ahead a little – but there is no crisis, despite blanket and over-excited media coverage.
Unlike most other bifurcation claims, the battle over Telangana is about wealth, not language or ethnic divisions, nor dramatic differences in geography. It would also the first time that the capital of a state has gone with the new entity – normally the breakaway has to start afresh.
The people of coastal Andhra have benefited economically since the days of British rule when there was extensive investment in irrigation, but the Telangana region lagged behind under the thumb of the Nizam of Hyderabad. When Hyderabad began to flourish in the 1990s as an IT centre, wealthy landowners from the coastal region flocked to the city to develop real estate and infrastructure projects, lining up with local politicians such as YSR and his cronies to secure contracts and licences. This is the wealth that they fear the creation of Telangana would put at risk. The reputation of Hyderabad and Andhra has been severely damaged by this series of crises. It is causing concern among both Indian and international investors who had not known – or had ignored – the political-business linkages and scams.
The state now has an uncertain political future. The death of YSR has removed an able political leader who, despite his business links and cronyism, was an effective chief minister. Now the Congress Party is split over who his successor should be as, well as over the Telangana issue. And, of course, politicians’ fixing of contracts and projects for the benefit of their cronies is visible for all to see.

When and where did the first demand for a Telugu region come about?

Where is the article on impact on IT in HYD

Rahul Mehta wrote: Many people sell their lands rather than develop flats on it and sell it at much higher profits. Because in India, you need contacts (often relatives) in Govt, judges to be a builder. So a person with contacts will develop his land and then sell flats while a contact-less person will tend to sell land right away. So a person with IQ 107 like myself will say that if large number of Telanganites are selling lands rather than making flats, and if coastal-AP people are making flats, then it because coastal-APites have more relatives in Govt, courts. But those who have gift of seeing the invisible will "prove" that reason is not nepotism, but because Telanganites are dhimmies.
Rahul Mehtaji, you may have a point w.r.t nepotism in Courts and Govt, but, I don't think it is as significant as you think. Money has lot more power than any thing else when it comes to getting things done in AP (and in India). Everything from "connections" to court-decrees can be bought with money -- and it doesn't matter if you are from coastal districts or from Telangana, whether you are related or not to judges or babus. If there are more developers from coastal districts, it may be because there are more rich folks there, or, perhaps they are more entrepreneurial. When it comes to grabbing Govt. or private lands though, the netas from Telangana region aren't lagging behind the netas from other regions.

The T problem as I see it is that people have been divided into "us" vs "them" on an artificial basis by political opportunists and the receptive brains have been washed with half-truths and lies about exploitation by "them". Your desire to curb nepotism is good, but your approach in this context seems to me to be "I have a hammer, everything looks like a nail".

Acharya wrote:Where is the article on impact on IT in HYD
Is this the one?

http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 88#p789388

There is a good reason to oppose the fractious creation of new states from sub-regions of existing ones. Social justice. I'm not talking about the canard cited by clowns like Arundhati Roy, but the actual accessibility of recourse for social groups who may be sidelined in any given locality.

Perhaps this is best illustrated by an example. Let us say I belong to a new, small state carved out of a small region of my original one.

In my state, XYNathan is the local strongman and predominant power. He makes sure that all privileges and opportunities are reserved for those of his clan and his caste. Jobs, land allocations, whatever it may be... me and my caste don't have a chance of getting them because XYNathan makes sure that only his caste can benefit.

XYNathan has no challengers whatsoever because the majority of the local people are of his caste. He can easily become CM of this new state. All he has to do is keep Sonia Madam happy in New Delhi and he can perpetuate his tyranny forever... all the courts are stocked with his caste members, all the police are his caste members.

Earlier, when my region (dominated by XYNathan's caste) was only one region in a larger State, things were different. Other regions also existed that were dominated by other strongmen of different castes... PQPillai, ABSelvan etc. Of course they all looked out for their own castes' interests first. But since XY, PQ, AB and others all had to compete for influence at the State level, each one of them had a vested interest in making sure that no other contender accumulated too much power. This created a *local* system of checks and balances that acted as a limiting factor against XYNathan's ability to accumulate absolute power.

By hedging my bets, and maintaining good relations with other strongmen in the State outside my own region, I had at least some chance of redressal if things became too bad for my caste at the hands of XYNathan. If my caste was dispersed throughout the state (as is the case with many castes who have migrated in numbers to the towns and cities in search of better education and opportunities), we would still have some chance of achieving just and proportionate influence at the State level.

However, as a member of a caste whose people are dispersed throughout the state and who do not have a significant majority in any one region... if the regions themselves became separate States, my caste would be completely dominated by the caste who happened to be most powerful by virtue of concentrated population in my particular region.

Larger states allow for a delocalization of power which, given the way local politics in India works, renders a degree of social justice that would be eroded by subdivision into smaller regional states.

JMT.

Has anyone wondered what causes people to think 'local' and not of a broader vision? And it is unusual?

No matter how parochial one gets, the division gets smaller.

In our Muncipical ward, there are fights that the Corporater cares only about the area where he lives.

In the Army, there is always the accusation that the Senior JCO recommends leave for people of his area.

I think that is natural and those who are to decide have to be very alive to it.
pramodkumarca

Post by pramodkumarca »

Idiocy is in you simple if we want to get seperated then what problem andhra walas should have - their are simple after that their domination will be no more existant

man thing is simple andhra people want ot enjoy resouce of telangana and want to execise saverism on the people back.
we are not asking any thing from andhra wala - but only one plea to leave us blood suckers.

{Kindly post in English, and check your posts before, or at least after, you hit "submit". Please do NOT quote entire posts in order to reply. If everyone did that the threads would multiply in geometric progression}
pramodkumarca

Post by pramodkumarca »

your are blind statistically - go and look at govt records man - if you have courage speak of speak out truth

if even your case does not justifies the united andhra - my aurgument is why shoudl andhra and seema andhra people get seperated from telangan and strive for development :lol:

{Dear postor: Your are rude and uncivilized. Please go look at Forum guidelines. Warning issued. No further warnings need be expected. }
pramodkumarca

Post by pramodkumarca »

Stan_Savljevic wrote:Small States: Potential Maoist Strongholds --- P. V. Ramana
http://idsa.in/idsacomments/SmallStates ... ana_171209
Maosit is direct proprotional to underdevelopment - this must be case but it look 0ther way around

pramodkumarca wrote: Idiocy is in you simple if we want to get seperated then what problem andhra walas should have - their are simple after that their domination will be no more existant

man thing is simple andhra people want ot enjoy resouce of telangana and want to execise saverism on the people back.
we are not asking any thing from andhra wala - but only one plea to leave us blood suckers
:rotfl: :rotfl: :roll:
All I will say is enjoy your stay in BR.

P.S.1: I have stayed almost exclusively in hyderabad.

P.S.2: There is a reason why coastal andhra is called coastal andhra and not exclusively andhra. That is because there is a non-coastal andhra, which horror of horrors is telangana :wink:

P.S.3: Extend your same logic of telangana -->andhra pradesh to hyderabad--> telangana?

You give no figures, shout abuses and you think, we should take you seriously?

X - posted

brihaspati wrote:There has been a long line of argument which puts each and every "regionalism/subregionalism/separatism/communalism" as being sourced from "economic deprivation" compared to "other" regions. It is an old pseudo-Marxian fallacy. Those who are fretting that resources from their own land is being used to fuel growth in other parts, never ask themselves what they themselves would have/should have done with those resources in the first place. Why did those resources lie fallow until others came in who could utilize those resources lying idle and could create value out of them?

I have intimate connections with Jharkhand and the West Midnapore area. Our grand insistence on "diversity" which reduces to opportunist and selective intervention as well as non-itervention in the pre-existing social life of subgroups - meant modern education could not be "forced" upon "indifferent" social groups. Then the so-called progressives, yes including the centre-left jumped in to obstruct educational ventures (unless carried out by missionaries of a certain denomination) on the excuse that - if poverty could not be eradicated, edcuation attempts could not be successful (absenteeism/truancy because of economic needs for child labour). Moreover, the few allowed ventures by the missionaries, did not really equip students of these social groups to derive skills necessary to take advantage of changing economic scenario and technology.

The rare few who attained such qualifications typically moved out of the region and their community networks - probably because of social difficulties given their much higher educational and professional status.

If the rashtra does not plan for compulsory exposure of all citizens to up-to-date educational processes that keeps the skills level up in step with rapidly changing technologies and new forms of economic interaction, some social subgroups will always be left behind in the skills department. As modern economic processes and technology become more and more knowledge intensive, it is futile for residents to take advantage of how the resources of even their own area is being utilized. For they - themselves would not be able to create the same value out of those resources.

This is the necessary compromise that every region has to make if it has not invested or allowed /pressurized the rashtra to invest in knowledge base dissemination.

There is logic apparently on both sides. But the fact of the compromise comes out of this fact of life. Try to protect your older lifestyle with its corrsponding knowledge base, then do not aspire for the products or consumption levels others make with their knowledge base. If you cannot create value out of resources in your own area, you will have to bargain for a share of the value created by others out of your resource, but you cannot demand that the entire product be handed over to you. The surplus was created by others with their skills. Normal market phenomena will determine that you will have to give up on that "whole for me" demand.
KSKumar

Post by KSKumar »

Calculated from raw Census-2001 figures

http://censusindia.gov.in/Tables_Publis ... Sheet.aspx

Telengana Telengana Costa North Coastal Rayalaseema
(with Hyd.) (without Hyd.)
Avg. Literacy 58.05% 55.19% 65.73% 56.27% 59.74%

Safe Drinking Water
(%age of Villages) 99.79% 98.92% 76.98% 99.88%

Electricity Available
(%age of Villages) 99.96% 99.93% 99.84% 99.98%

Primary Schools
(%age of Villages) 97.27% 96.16% 84.57% 95.92%

Medical Facilities
(%age of Villages) 68.57% 64.56% 46.96% 56.28%

Bus Services
(%age of Villages) 78.43% 84.18% 41.40% 87.13%

Paved Access Road
(%age of Villages) 66.26% 86.15% 49.44% 78.75%

To me it seems like the most neglected region is North Coastal Andhra (Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam and Vizianagaram). This region has a significant tribal belt, especially Visakha Agency Areas.

Added Later: The formatting is completely messed up. Only for Literacy Levels does the column - Telengana (with Hyderabad) have a value. Rest of the indicators are all Telengana (without Hyderabad).

Budget in 1999-2000 (the year when Census raw data would have been collected): Rs. 24,222 crores with a Revenue Deficit of Rs. 1563.93 crores.

Budget in 2001-02: Rs. 35,823 crores with a Revenue Deficit of Rs. 3,887 crores

Budget in 2002-03: Rs. 39,420 crores with a revenue deficit of Rs. 2,841 crores

Budget in 2003-04: Rs. 43,480 crores with a revenue deficit of Rs. 2,131 crores

Budget in 2004-05: Rs. 51,142 crores with a revenue deficit of 1,970 crores

Budget in 2005-06: Rs. 55,330 crores with a revenue deficit of Rs. 1,401 crores

Budget in 2006-07: Rs. 63,527 crores with a revenue deficit of Rs. 995 crores

Budget in 2007-08: Rs. 80,996 crores with a revenue deficit of Rs. 36 crores

Budget in 2008-08: Rs. 1,00,436 crores with a revenue surplus of Rs. 709 crores

Budget in 2009-10: Rs. 1,03,459.33 crores with a Revenue Surplus of Rs. 2,406 crores.

So, between 2000 and today, the Census indicators will have improved substantially.

Given the increased focus on Telengana (KCR broke away from TDP in March 2001 and established TRS party), Telengana's census indicators should have improved disproportionately (my assumption).

Added Later: The main point of all these numbers/statistics is to show that Telengana, in comparison with other regions, is not neglected. In some indicators it is actually better than Costal Andhra (4 Costal Dists.+ Ongole + Nellore). Also, please remember that the most advanced portion of Telengana's population (Hyderabad) is removed from every single indicator in the calculations. If the assumption is that the majority of Hyderabad's population is from Telengana, then the overall figures for Telengana will look even better.

The figures for Coastal Andhra and North Coastal includes those region's biggest Cities - Vijayawada, Guntur and Visakhapatnam. Or at least that is what I assume, given that the Census data does not break out any stats for these cities (it is broken out only for Hyderabad).

With the above, if people say that the rest of AP is exploiting Telengana, well I do not know what to say.
Last edited by KSKumar on 19 Dec 2009 23:50, edited 2 times in total.

From daylife.
Map shows some of the new states proposed by various groups in India in an effort to reorganize the nation.

There is no demand for Saurastra. Pls remove Saurastra from the above map

Also, there is a demand for Marathawad and there is also a demand to split KN.

Pls include them in the map

:cry:

Watching TV for the past few hours. It is very sad to see the state of current affairs in AP.

It is a pity that external players are deciding the fate of Andhra Pradesh.

Rahul Mehta wrote:^^^^^

There is no demand for Saurastra. Pls remove Saurastra from the above map

Also, there is a demand for Marathawad and there is also a demand to split KN.

Pls include them in the map

Map is not by me. It is from http://www.daylife.com ;)

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/indi ... 324903.cms
From 'Dubai Shekhar' to mover and shaker

HYDERABAD: He may go down in history as the creator of Telangana or the destroyer of Andhra Pradesh. But regardless of how future historians describe him, until recently, there was nothing to distinguish Kalvakuntla Chandrasekhar Rao (55) from the rest of the tribe of politicians.

Son of an agriculturist from the high caste Velama family of Telangana, KCR, as he is called, began as an immigration consultant after an MA in Telugu literature. He sent enough people to the Gulf to earn the epithet of ‘Dubai Shekhar'. By 1984, he was in politics, jumping on to the bandwagon of N T Rama Rao who was preparing a new paradigm in state politics. KCR was a callow 31 then.

After Chandrababu Naidu began his second term as CM in 1999, KCR ran into trouble. He wanted to become a minister but Naidu made him the deputy speaker. A miffed KCR quit the party and floated his Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in 2001.

KCR found an unlikely ally in Y S Rajasekhara Reddy, who, as Andhra Congress chief, was making a herculean effort to dislodge Naidu. The two combined forces and went to the electorate in 2004 on the plank of a separate Telangana state. The Congress-TRS combine swept to power and, even as YSR became the CM, KCR joined the Union cabinet.

YSR had no intention to create Telangana and he made no bones about his opposition to it. YSR convinced the Congress high command that statehood for Telangana would be disastrous for Congress. Regardless, KCR made numerous efforts to nudge New Delhi — he resigned his ministership, his Lok Sabha seat and even withdrew his ministers from the YSR cabinet. But to no avail.

Around 2006, YSR began another trick: Breaking up TRS. Authentic documents from unknown sources started landing up in newspaper offices that proved involvement of some TRS MLAs in the illegal human export racket.

The party was virtually disintegrated and people stopped believing that KCR could deliver them a new state. Just then help came from unexpected quarters. His bete noire, Chandrababu Naidu proposed an alliance. So TRS and TDP went to elections jointly this year. But it was a decision that Naidu was to rue soon. A TRS LS candidate from Secunderabad boasted that he paid Rs 10 crore for the ticket. TRS got routed and the party was well on its way to oblivion when fate knocked on KCR's door again, this time in the shape of the political vacuum created by YSR's death. KCR saw a chance to regain his political relevance. That's how he began his fast.

If sources are to be believed, he neither expected the fast to go on for 10 days nor did he believe in his wildest dreams that the Congress high command would agree to forming Telangana. It's learnt that KCR still believes New Delhi would back-stab him. But then the man has just risen, phoenix-like, from the ashes.

Kind of authenticates that there were more powerful forces that thought "carpe diem" and declared the state at midnight.

Jagan floats rumours of starting new party
Their logic runs like this: “Mr Chiranjeevi has already hit the roads on the United AP plank, Mr Chandrababu Naidu may do so soon. Both will blame the Congress for the present situation. In such a situation the Congress cannot face the public. We have to float a party to save our skins.”

For this, the aide, a former minister, averred that according to legislators, the best bet to float a new party would be the less-than-a-year-politics Jagan.

The rumour was boosted by a survey carried by Outlook magazine, which reported that 43 per cent of respondents felt that the Telangana row would not have flared up if Mr Reddy was made Chief Minister.

Break things down
As regional animosities threaten to engulf the country, a group of politicians have come up with a solution. “Why stop at the regional level?” asked one of them, “Why not go the whole hog and have a separate state for each of the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies?” He said the suggestion would be lapped up by the vast majority in Parliament, who would be fulfilling their long-cherished ambition of becoming chief ministers, with their own cabinets and chief secretary and chief of police and a huge entourage with flashing red lights.

“Just look at the number of jobs we can create,” urged an MP. He waxed eloquent on how he could have his own Ranji Trophy cricket team, his own school syllabus, perhaps even his own Indian Institute of Management. “A separate school syllabus is a must-have status symbol for any state,” said a legislator from Thoothukudi district in Tamil Nadu. “We too can now fill our children’s history books with the exploits of glorious heroes of our district like Veerapandiya Kattabomman,” he added. “I could become minister of mines,” said a panchayat head, looking wistfully at a framed photograph of Madhu Koda in his office. On it being pointed out that his backward coastal district had no mines, he sighed and said he was willing to settle for minister of coconuts instead. Others pooh-poohed questions on how all this would be paid for. “Look at Monaco”, they said, adding that we too can build casinos.

So many politicians (and people) started fast-unto-death in support of United AP, it has become a joke now. The GOI leadership has created an opinion in this nation that one can achieve separate state by doing 5-10 days of fasting :x

Looks like the GOI leadership finally achieved their long-cherished dream, parity with Pak leaders. They achieved Paki-levels of IQ :evil:

KSKumar wrote:Calculated from raw Census-2001 figures

http://censusindia.gov.in/Tables_Publis ... Sheet.aspx

Telengana Telengana Costa North Coastal Rayalaseema
(with Hyd.) (without Hyd.)
Avg. Literacy 58.05% 55.19% 65.73% 56.27% 59.74%

Safe Drinking Water
(%age of Villages) 99.79% 98.92% 76.98% 99.88%

Electricity Available
(%age of Villages) 99.96% 99.93% 99.84% 99.98%

Primary Schools
(%age of Villages) 97.27% 96.16% 84.57% 95.92%

Medical Facilities
(%age of Villages) 68.57% 64.56% 46.96% 56.28%

Bus Services
(%age of Villages) 78.43% 84.18% 41.40% 87.13%

Paved Access Road
(%age of Villages) 66.26% 86.15% 49.44% 78.75%

To me it seems like the most neglected region is North Coastal Andhra (Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam and Vizianagaram). This region has a significant tribal belt, especially Visakha Agency Areas.

The figures for Coastal Andhra and North Coastal includes those region's biggest Cities - Vijayawada, Guntur and Visakhapatnam. Or at least that is what I assume, given that the Census data does not break out any stats for these cities (it is broken out only for Hyderabad).

With the above, if people say that the rest of AP is exploiting Telengana, well I do not know what to say.
Forget development. But but but the villains in the telugu movies speak Telangana accent. You people are all bad people.

vijayk wrote: Forget development. But but but the villains in the telugu movies speak Telangana accent. You people are all bad people.

In 1970s the villans were from Andhra (remember Rao Gopala Rao, Prabhakar Reddy, Satya Narayana etc?)
Then it changed to Rayala Seema (faction villians)
Now it is Telangana turn, I guess (haven't seen any telugu movies recently)

That sadi, didn't we ask for equal development in all regions :twisted:

RamaY wrote: Looks like the GOI leadership finally achieved their long-cherished dream, parity with Pak leaders. They achieved Paki-levels of IQ :evil:
This is only the beginning. We each find it hard when it hits closest to our particular home.

Today the Andhra-ites are seething. Earlier this year it was the nuclear science establishment. Before that it was the citizens of Mumbai. In each case the rest of the country glanced at the sufferers, felt a passing pang of sympathy and were quickly distracted by the barrage of sensationalist media trivialities we're subjected to 24X7.

As sellout upon sellout fritters away core Indian interests, as the nation is overwhelmed by one instance after another of corrupt misgovernance and cowardly diplomatic bumbling, the unfortunate thing is that we still see the pain of other Indians as their local misfortune.

When will we recognize the national calamity all of this portends in the big picture?

You forgot the all time great Rajanala!!!

In Shaukaru Janaki, SVR was the town riff raff.

TOI today reports that the biggest gainer from the current mess is the INC (no kiddin'). The TRS will merge with the INC in Telengana and the PRP with the INC in the rest of AP. The biggest loser is the TDP that is now split asunder by the bifurcation debate. Truly chankian chaal, mussay.

Would be nice to have multiple, seasonal co-capitals. Like say, 3 capitals for AP - Hyd, Kurnool in R'seema and Vizag in coastal with the seat of gubmint spending 4 months a year each in each of these three co-capitals. That way development can also be spread and the co-capitals which are free of gubmint incompetence 8 months a year can see some development onlee.

ramana wrote:You forgot the all time great Rajanala!!!

In Shaukaru Janaki, SVR was the town riff raff.

Rajanala along with Dhulippala were the original villans of the Telugu Film Industry. Remember Dhulippala's unforgetable acting as Sakuni in NTR's 1970s legendary 'Dana Vera Sura Karna' . Of course that whole movie is a classic especially the Sanskritised Telugu dialogues.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

ramana wrote:Kind of authenticates that there were more powerful forces that thought "carpe diem" and declared the state at midnight.
If I get my conspiracy theory antennas up, I think the following scenario is what caused Telangana decision:

This is a decision ordered by Sonia Gandhi, influenced by her foriegn linkages (which can be easily deduced by the kind of decisions she has been stuffing down everyone's throat). (I strongly believe she is a Western plant.)

There is a strong evangelical angle to it. Everything was fine when Sonia managed to put a Christian chief minister in place. YSR had a double personality -- he was a hard-core evangelist at heart while dressing and talking like a traditional Telgu person. While in power, he surrounded himself with Christians, including his chief secretary. He was openly conniving with evangelist agenda, such as releasing government funds for building and renovating churches and giving pilgrimage subsidy to Christians for visiting Bethlehem and arranging state infrastructure for his son-in-law's proselytising rallies.

With his death, there was panic and mourning in the church/CIA nexus. (Remember, americans opened a consulate in Hyderabad under YSR's watch. The rabidly evangelical royalty of Scandanavian countries regularly began to visit Hyderabad after YSR came to power. Remember the breast beating in America and its extra-ordinary efforts to find YSR's helicopter.)

Now, 90 percent of the 2.5 billion dollars that officially arrives into India from Christian countries is, according to a Home Ministry report, meant only for Tamil Nadu and Andhra -- these two states have clearly been marked for massive Christianisation. (Their long coastline makes sure they will be economically viable as separate Christian countries when the Goras begun to do a North East here in some years.)

Most of the funding from Gora churches for Andhra, in turn, is earmarked for Telangana -- this is the area where the pastors managed to infiltrate into rural areas and establish churches in villages which had never seen one.

It is this force which is behind the abrupt decision to declare Telangana merey two months after YSR's death. YSR's 'sudden removal" threw a spanner in their work. There is no way they can implement their evangelical agenda without a Christian chief minister in power. (Rossiah has already begun touring Tirupati and other temples.)

The only soluton was to separate Telangana from rest of Andhra and begun working on it afresh with a sympathetic Congress and an obliging KRC in power. Most probably, congress will try to manoever a Christian into power there once it wins elections in Telangana. Christianisation of Telangana will be a god-send -- it is contiguous to Christian areas of Chattisgarh, Vidharbha and Orissa, thus expanding the "Christian oil drop" further in central India.

Maoists (who are nothing but a tribal christian militia) will have massive power in Telangana -- the small, impoverished state won't be able to do much to stem their tide, especially with church-backed chief minister in power. This will be in contrast to big states which can throw a massive amount of resources and force in any part of the state to hose off any insurgency. This Telangana thing only benefits the Maoists and church -- essentially, one more nail in the coffin of Hindus due to their political blindness iin supporting Congress "leaders" who do not even pretend to represent their interests. (The same thing the goofballs did with supporting Gandhi who made no bones about the fact that in any confrontation, he will only side wth Muslims.)

I strongly suspect the Hyderbad consulate of US is behind this decision through Sonia Gandhi. I can only imagine the massive maps of Andhra dangling in its conference room, with detailed district-by-district census figures about religious demography.

In short, if HIndus of Telangana love their life and don't want their leaders to be "suddenly removed" by Maoists (a la Orissa), they better reallise quickly which side their bread is buttered. India is too big. The Goras and their church want to gobble it up by dividing it into smaller helpings.

sanjay choudhary saab,

Not that I disagree with the motives part of your theory, but some factoids do not add up. YSR's son YS Jagan is himself a preacher - as EJ as you can get. There was hajaar clamor to get YSJ into power by INC workers after YSR's passing away. Why did rajmata not put him on the saddle and continue the aggressive ej program you refer to? Just wondering only.
sanjaychoudhry

Post by sanjaychoudhry »

Hari Seldon wrote:sanjay choudhary saab,

Not that I disagree with the motives part of your theory, but some factoids do not add up. YSR's son YS Jagan is himself a preacher - as EJ as you can get. There was hajaar clamor to get YSJ into power by INC workers after YSR's passing away. Why did rajmata not put him on the saddle and continue the aggressive ej program you refer to? Just wondering only.
This is the first thought that crossed my mind. Jagan is politically inexperienced. Since dad didn't expect his own "sudden removal," the son was not kept in the loop about the sensitive evangelical connections. Jagan only knew about the business (money making) deals of dad. Sonia doesn't trust jagan because of his immaturity, young age and mercurial temperament, as shown with his recent behaviour in parliament where he shouted slogans against Telagana, thus embarrassing Congress. Now he says he is planning his own political party. The boy can spill beans any time in a fit of rage and bring Sonia's empire down in a moment. He is too young (only 31) and unstable to be trusted.

Plus there was this factor to reckon with:
The CSHF has already informed the Congress high command that it will not tolerate another Christian Chief Minister in Andhra Pradesh any more. If the Congress high command ignores its protests, Shri YS Jagan will prove to be the last Chief Minister from the Congress party in the history of Andhra Pradesh.

The CSHF has alleged that the wayward activities of the YS Jagan group have the blessings of Shri Veerapa Moily and Prof PJ Kurien. It demanded immediate removal of these persons from the responsibilities of Andhra Pradesh Congress party.
http://www.organiser.org/dynamic/module ... 16&page=19
Last edited by sanjaychoudhry on 20 Dec 2009 12:55, edited 1 time in total.

The YSR racket had already reached critical mass long ago, even before the elections. It already had international (and anti national)
EJ implications with shady EJ supporters seeing another LTTE sort of situation without the seceding issues that caused the EJs to fail in the establishment of a rabid EJ state aka eelam.

Jagan and his shady supporters would have hotfooted their way out and off the reservation.

They don't need the the congress, the congress very badly needs them.

The delhi rani would have faced similar guerrilla action from other states and her hope would remain uncrowned.
Last edited by chetak on 20 Dec 2009 12:57, edited 1 time in total.

The YSR racket had already reached critical mass long ago, even before the elections.

Jagan and his shady supporters would have hotfooted their way out and off the reservation.

The delhi rani would have faced similar guerrilla action from other states and her hope would remain uncrowned.
Quite right. There are some things more important to Rajmata than even the promotion of EJ-ism; namely, securing the gaddi for Yuvraj and eliminating all potential threats and challengers. Those who gain too much local power and demonstrate either genuine leadership qualities or a streak of independent thought somehow end up out of the way.

Utter voyeurism!

{Post reported for unfounded allegations. Deleted. Please provide well-founded allegations next time. We have our standards to keep for CTs, u no... Thx.}
Last edited by enqyoob on 20 Dec 2009 23:14, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: post reported

Re: States News and Discussions

Economic case for small states

Is there an economic case for carving smaller states out of large ones? Some analysts say small states won’t be economically viable. Others believe small states will fare better, since ordinary people will have better access to power elites. Consider the record of three states carved out of larger ones in 2000 — Jharkhand , Chhattisgarh and Uttarakhand.

Amazingly, all three new states have grown fabulously fast. Uttarakhand has averaged 9.31% growth annually, Jharkhand 8.45%, and Chattisgarh 7.35%. Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh were the most backward parts of Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, which in turn were among the most backward states of India. Yet, after becoming separate states, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh have emerged as industrial dynamos. When they were part of larger states, their mineral revenues were diverted to state capitals. This diversion
ended after they became separate states.

Looking at the share of income that originates in the manufacturing sector, these two states have shown higher levels than Maharashtra , Haryana and Tamil Nadu.... Raipur in Chhattisgarh has now entered the top 10 districts of India in manufacturing, with two industrial estates at Urla and Siltara.

In AP something for better or worse will happen in the next 7 days. If central leadership says that assembly resolution is a must then there will be no division of the state. If they started efforts to build consenses etc then we will have more dramas.

One thing is there we can not have a situation wherein central governament divide or make states at thier own will and pleasure. If allowed the Delhi Rani and her gang will cut India into a thousand bits for remain in power.

The YSR racket had already reached critical mass long ago, even before the elections.

Quite right. There are some things more important to Rajmata than even the promotion of EJ-ism; namely, securing the gaddi for Yuvraj and eliminating all potential threats and challengers. Those who gain too much local power and demonstrate either genuine leadership qualities or a streak of independent thought somehow end up out of the way.
Also consider the fact that the delhi rani and the YSR racket are on the opposite extremes of the EJ spectrum.

No love lost between the vatican and the protestant lot.

From global actions so far, the vatican are strategic plyers and the protestants are tactical players.

The vatican is better organised than even the pentagon and has been so for centuries.
Exciting thoughts.

A better job done by you than the RAW and IB.

Sure it is a religious conspiracy? I am sure you cannot divulge your source since it is an undercover job.

How many Christians dotting the Telegana and AP horizon? Nasty chaps, what? The non Christians are not involved? If so, good guys they are. And if they are, have they been bought or dulled with alcohol? Hopefully Scotch and not the local hooch, gurumba!

Check out if Prachanda of Nepal is also a Vatican plant supporting Communist China, hated by the Vatican!!

That will be a great help to India.

Thanks in anticipation!