Understanding Sikh History-1

Re: Understanding Sikh History-1

Hari Singh Nalua is one enigmatic character.

He had Maratha and Sikh lineage (his mother was daughter of great Sadashivrao Bhau, the commander of Maratha army on panipat campaign).

This is one of the very few examples of Maratha-Sikh interactions in medieval India. It is pity that such interactions, on both personal and political level, were uncommon.

Despite of the fact that guru Gobind Singh ji died in Deccan and Marathas liberated Punjab in 1758, there was not much interaction between these two rejuvenating forces of Dharmic India.
CalvinH

Post by CalvinH »

For all the hatred shown by Pakjabis to the Sikhs, Pakjabis owe their current dominance of Pakistan to Maharaja Ranjit Singh who effectively neutralized the afghan power in Punjab and current NWFP. But for him the current pakjabis would be still serving afghans and different Pashtun tribes. MRS has reversed the tide completely and it has benefitted the Pakjabis significantly.

Not to mention he is the guy who showed that invincibility of various pashtun tribes in current NWFP is nothing but a load of gas and contributed significantly to pakistani national dress for males.

Nirantarji,
Could you please post a link for the post please? Would like to send it to a few folks. Thanks.
Nirantar

Post by Nirantar »

tsriramji
http://www.sikh-history.com/sikhhist/wa ... nalua.html

Do the paki TFTA ever heard of this valour. I am sure they have. Here goes the invincible pakhtun notion to the ashes.

The battle of Sargarhi
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Saragarhi

A blog that discusses the colonial transformation of Sikhism.

http://sikhi-history.blogspot.com/

Ram Swarup's article

The Queen of England will get Sikh bodyguards:

http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/Bri ... 835149.cms

Nirantar wrote:tsriramji
http://www.sikh-history.com/sikhhist/wa ... nalua.html

Do the paki TFTA ever heard of this valour. I am sure they have. Here goes the invincible pakhtun notion to the ashes.

The battle of Sargarhi
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Saragarhi
I wish someone could make a movie on this epic battle. Wish I had the money to produce such a movie.

Niarantarji, Did Bindranwale type of hardliners have any chance of repeating the Nalwa exploits on Pakjab?

ramana wrote:Niarantarji, Did Bindranwale type of hardliners have any chance of repeating the Nalwa exploits on Pakjab?
The answer is positive and one of the major reasons Paki interfered in Punjab.
Nirantar

Post by Nirantar »

Ramanaji,

SB was the raw energy but in the wrong direction. I think the vision and motivation required for putting Pakis to the sword is much higher than he possessed. He failed to distinguish who the real threat is partly thanks to myopia of IG.

Did he think to ask(except playing in their hands) the Pakis that do they agree merging east(liberated from India) and west Punjab to create a greater Khalistan?

Forgetting the centuries long tyranny of mughals he could easily be convinced that its not Babars but Hindus their enemies.

Sorry, he had valor sans wisdom and in my views just another misguided hot head.

Our sikh members can throw more light on this subject.

Was he misdirected? How and why did he think he can get his stan from India.

My guess is his initial propping up by IG was to destabilize the Akali Dal. The other possible motivator was the creation of a hardline version to take the war across the borders where the Sikh holy places are. Somewhere the mission got subverted.
Would be interesting to find out how and why. BTW, there are US studies in the late 1950s that speculate that TN and Punjab would be the first to fall prey to centrifugal forces. The Punjabi Subha and DMK agitations were indications of that. The first was solved by splitting East Punjab and the later when Annadurai suspended his movement after 1962 and defeated the INC in the 1968 elections in TN. Maybe he realised his movement was weakening India for external actors (others than his supporters/backers) to occupy it.

ramana wrote:Was he misdirected? How and why did he think he can get his stan from India
In simple words Amirkhani and UK-stani support! He was regularly in touch with people from those countries and believed that he and his bunch of thugs would get ample support once he declared independence for Khalistan. Zia was a Pakjabi Arain Jatt from Jalandhar and used his Punjabi appeal to befriend the radical diaspora of Khalistanis and sold them the dream of their very own state. The reason why B'wala was confident of foreign support was the logic that Punjab was the only route available for India into Kashmir and Khan/Queendom wanted to cut the Indian link to the quasi central asian tract that it occupied and hence would support his and Pakjabi endeavours to the same effect.
My guess is his initial propping up by IG was to destabilize the Akali Dal.

Spot on! Akali Dal and Bharatiya Jan Sangh/Janta Party is the oldest surviving alliance in the country and one of the first ones to dislodge INC government in state elections. INC was suspicious of both the parties hence communal hardliners were promoted to put a rift between the two and marginalize moderate Akalis which by the way have successfully managed to do although the violence in the state might have died down.
The other possible motivator was the creation of a hardline version to take the war across the borders where the Sikh holy places are. Somewhere the mission got subverted.
Would be interesting to find out how and why.
Here I disagree! B'Wala and his cohorts were sold the idea of personal glory and a communal state like a smaller version of Bakiland. These guys were taking the war to nowhere but fanning flames that were to soon burn down their homes and of countless others too.
BTW, there are US studies in the late 1950s that speculate that TN and Punjab would be the first to fall prey to centrifugal forces. The Punjabi Subha and DMK agitations were indications of that. The first was solved by splitting East Punjab and the later when Annadurai suspended his movement after 1962 and defeated the INC in the 1968 elections in TN. Maybe he realised his movement was weakening India for external actors (others than his supporters/backers) to occupy it
Please read "A history of Sikh People" by Gopal Singh for a complete account of Punjabi suba movement that is relatively unbiased. All I can say is that Akalis in their quest for linguistic chauvisnism began to identify Punjabi with Sikhism and the RSS/Arya Samaj promoted a counter movement of listing Punjabi speaking hindus as Hindi speakers, thus the 1966 partition of joint Punjab based on a biased census led to a large loss of Punjabi speaking areas which would have stayed intact but for the politics of divide and rule by the two parties involved. Capt. Amarinder Singh the former CM of Punjab is a scathing critic of Akalis for their lack of foresight. The result of Punjabi suba movement was a truncated state that gave up all its headworks to Himachal, lost Punajbi speaking areas like Ambala and managed to get a disputed capital. All in all a total disaster that set the tone for the later day bloodshed to be perpetrated in the name of so called grievances which were nothing but the fault of all Punjabis to stand together and work rather than sticking to petty positions of language and sects. Maybe we could have learned from Annadurai :cry:

munna wrote:[
. Maybe we could have learned from Annadurai :cry:
Learning is very Unpunjabi act otherwise we would have changed long time ago.
Nirantar

Post by Nirantar »

A good insight on what transpired between 1978-84. How SB turned from IG's stooge into Paki stamp.

http://www.unp.co.in/f8/indira-gandhi-a ... ale-23658/

Only if IG could have visualized the apparent monster he was going to be or she deliberately let him out of hand so that she could be portrayed as savior of the nation. But all in all, India lost the faith of Punjabi youth in the aftermath(riots and police brutalities). Instead of mass immigration to Canada, UK, US, they could have been strong asset of India today.

When analysing policy options one has to assess the prospects of adverse consequences and mitigations for each option. One big failure of Indian elite is they dont plan for the next step in case the option goes sour.

Prem wrote:
munna wrote:[
. Maybe we could have learned from Annadurai :cry:
Learning is very Unpunjabi act otherwise we would have changed long time ago.
Premji I share you anguish and the pain of having endured two partitions one in 1947 and the other in 1966 that is still fresh for Punjab and Punjabis.

Nirantar, I went thru the whole thing. It gives one prespective- blame Mrs G and her desire to marginalise Akalis and by consequence the Janata Party. We still dont know why Bindranwala turned on India and Indianess. Its still not understood. Bindranwala acquring heavy weaponry from TSP must have had uncle's knowldege. We need to do Venn diagram to understand the links and issues.
One grievance appears to be, when the Punjabi Subha was demanded it was thought to be based on language when it was understood to be on religious basis leading to truncated territory.

Pardon my ignorance but what was the issue with the Nirankaris? Reason I ask is my neighbors in Hyd were from that group and were the most peaceful people I know. Very business oriented and had a rice trading business in basmati rice.

Nehru/ Gandhi family has always been scared of Punjabi community . The Akali/ Jansangh=BJP combo gave them sleepless nights as they knew that time and know now that Indian civilizational ethos is followed by these 2 forces. The old, lethargic Dhimmis, PS,Pinkoes, Kangreessi wont have survived long facing the energy of these elements. The fury of retaliation in 47 gave Nehru/Gandhi good hint of the reprecussion as they were getting ready for PSuckularist policies to be imposed on Bhartiays.Unfortunatley this policy of Kangress first and India latter is still in vogue.

munna wrote:Premji I share you anguish and the pain of having endured two partitions one in 1947 and the other in 1966 that is still fresh for Punjab and Punjabis.
munna-ji:

With all due respect, the second 'partition' of Punjab in 1966 was not too bad if you look at it from the POV of people of Haryana and Himachal Pradesh. Haryana was a neglected part of Punjab pre-1966, but has developed significantly economically since.

I agree that while the division of Punjab in 1966 was ostensibly for linguistic reasons, it acquired a communal colour, which IMHO is wrong, and the politicians are responsible for it.

No one is ever satisfied in these partitions/ divisions. While Punjabis may nurture grievances that Punjabi-speaking areas like Ambala went to Haryana, the Haryanvis complain that Hindi-speaking areas like Abohar and Fazilka went to Punjab. BTW I do not belong to either state and love both.

All said and done, the majority of people in Haryana and Himachal Pradesh are linguistically and culturally different from Punjabis. As a third-party observer, I would say that Hindu Punjabis have a lot more in common with Sikhs, than they do with Hindu Haryanvis or Himachalis. So communalising the division of Punjab is wrong. It is time to move on. IMHO all 3 states are better off today than they would have been as undivided Punjab.

OT: I wish someone could divide UP in 3 or 4 states. Then perhaps 1, 2 or maybe all of them would see economic development.

Kakkaji wrote:
munna wrote:Premji I share you anguish and the pain of having endured two partitions one in 1947 and the other in 1966 that is still fresh for Punjab and Punjabis.
munna-ji:

With all due respect, the second 'partition' of Punjab in 1966 was not too bad if you look at it from the POV of people of Haryana and Himachal Pradesh. Haryana was a neglected part of Punjab pre-1966, but has developed significantly economically since.

I agree that while the division of Punjab in 1966 was ostensibly for linguistic reasons, it acquired a communal colour, which IMHO is wrong, and the politicians are responsible for it.

No one is ever satisfied in these partitions/ divisions. While Punjabis may nurture grievances that Punjabi-speaking areas like Ambala went to Haryana, the Haryanvis complain that Hindi-speaking areas like Abohar and Fazilka went to Punjab. BTW I do not belong to either state and love both.

All said and done, the majority of people in Haryana and Himachal Pradesh are linguistically and culturally different from Punjabis. As a third-party observer, I would say that Hindu Punjabis have a lot more in common with Sikhs, than they do with Hindu Haryanvis or Himachalis. So communalising the division of Punjab is wrong. It is time to move on. IMHO all 3 states are better off today than they would have been as undivided Punjab.

OT: I wish someone could divide UP in 3 or 4 states. Then perhaps 1, 2 or maybe all of them would see economic development.
Kakkaji the very fact is that which areas were Hindi speaking or not was decided on the basis of a communally biased census. Secondly even entire Himachal is not homogenous, ever heard about the grievances or Lower Vs Upper Himachal or the Kangra region's grievances? Punjab's areas which had traditionally been Punjabi regions since ever were lost due to stupid shenanigans of Punjabi politicians on both side of the spectrum. Differences are common to all places but when they are allowed to fester and become grievances then all you get is tragic partitions which create smaller states that do not enjoy economies of scale and are not in sync with the social/physical topography of the region. Haryana has developed quite a bit but even Malwa region was neglected area infact entire Eastern Punjab used to be significantly poorer than West Punjab or Pakjab due to poorer soil and lack of irrigation system. Anyways its quite pointless to debate that now! Sikhs and Hindus of Punjab are one and yes being a Hindu still I call myself half sikh, that is the case with the majority over here in Punjab. But sadly the mistakes of past have taken a huge toll on all that was to be cherished in joint Punjab. Sad indeed!!
Last edited by munna on 08 Aug 2009 08:43, edited 1 time in total.

Sonia asks Hooda not to press for SGPC
Amidst a raging political row over the proposed creation of a Shiromani Gurdwara Prabandhak Committee (SGPC) in Haryana, Congress president Sonia Gandhi was learnt to have intervened and conveyed to Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda the need to bring down the rising temperatures on this issue.

Although carving out SGPC in Haryana was one of Hooda’s poll promises in 2005 election manifesto, the Chief Minister, who recently proposed to hold a referendum on this issue, has been asked not to press it any further as it could have serious and adverse implications in the neighbouring state, Congress sources said. Prithviraj Chavan, AICC general secretary in charge of Haryana, was learnt to have conveyed the High Command’s instructions to the Chief Minister recently.

you need to go back to (Kiran Bedi IPS topper as ACP in) Delhi when the Nirankari vs Bindernwale street fights happened.
Nirankari leadership was targeted and more or less decimated.

Nirankaris? Reason I ask is my neighbors in Hyd were from that group and were the most peaceful people
It has to be so by definition Nira(ha)nkari, is one without ego or self, and that is what Gurunank dev also stressed. It is said that Guru nank was (working) in grocery shop and while counting ( he being realised soul) thirteen (tera) was so tranced in the visualization of the supreme, that he went on chanting tera tera losing count of the measure he was supposed to do.

Tera in the sense of I am (a devotee) of you

Did Bindranwala et al ever demand restoration of Sikh holy sites in TSP land?

Is there a study of why the Sikhs and Marathas failed to link up even though many of the first Khalsa were from Maharasthra and the last guru was killed at Nanded?

you may not really see stranger stuff.
but here is an Indonesian nihung by name of Baba Vadbhag Singh chanting a Sikh war hymn ..

Very unique style. Wish they should promote Veer Rass bani all over India.

Prem wrote:Very unique style. Wish they should promote Veer Rass bani all over India.
I echo that. I really loved that piece.

I wish they would play it all over the country, in addition the dasham granth, the most steeped in Veer rass, is in Brij Bhasha, and as such should be even more accessible to most of the folks even without translation.

x-Post
Very tradition, Dhadi style.
Vaar by Bhai Gurdas

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSXcnDGp ... re=related

Uppje Singh Bhujangiye , Neelamaber dharra
"Toorak" dusht sab khai kiye,Hari naam uchara.

This music by Sardar Vadhabg Singh ji is actually not unique but re-invented by Guru Gobind Singh to rejuvinate his armed forces. He had regular dhaddi singing in front of his army reminding them of their great country and their Dharma to protect their great country and the greatest IDEALS OF THIS GREAT COUNTRY WHICH THEY WERE LOSING...
By Ramanna
Its still not understood. Bindranwala acquring heavy weaponry from TSP must have had uncle's knowldege. We need to do Venn diagram to understand the links and issues.
Bhindrenwala was the 6th son of his parents and thus sent to a Sikh seminary (madrassa) as they couldn't feed him. He grew up on the heroic feats of Guru Hargobind ji, Guru Tegh Bahdur ji and Guru Gobind Singh ji.

Thus!! very easy manipulateable!! for any political purposes!! He never understood about stocholm symdrome or Sunni vs Shia or Barelvis vs Deobandi(Wahabi).

A very simple common person who actually says that
"I want a train named Golden Temple Express going to Amritsar"

was vilanified!! when he deciced to defend Golden Temple following the traditions of his ancestors!!
like Baba Deep Singhj ji fighting against Abdali and fulfilling the oath to celebrate the Diwali (deepawali) at Golden Temple at any cost (he achieved his oath)., and Bhai Gurbax Singh who was leader of the 101 Token defenders against Abdali.

so! from a common sikh perspective Indian army is just like Abdali or Mughals (ruling from Delhi) or Turks!! and thus the Khalistan terrorism started.

We folks here are highly educated folks!! just go to punjabi countryside and tell them that "Delhi has attacked" it still means "Mughals/Aurungzeb has attacked"

and!!! you will not find people more patriotic than Sikhs (Believe me!! i am not exaggerating at all being a Sikh) Sikhs will happily give away their lives to protect the ideals of Guru Nanak and Guru Gobind Singh.

What are the ideals of Guru Nanak and Guru Gobind Singh?

just remember the selfless martyrdom of Sri Guru Arjan Dev and Sri Guru Tegh Bahadur!! those are Sikh ideals!!
Last edited by SBajwa on 21 Dec 2009 23:48, edited 1 time in total.

Sri Guru Gobind Singh started the Veer Ras! Dhadi poetry in the same fashion as Sri Guru Nanak dev ji restored the original (Ragas) music of North India.

The Whole Sri Guru Granth Sahib is supposed to be sung in the classic ragas of Ancient India., which are at the begining of each bani.

i.e. Bani Bhagat Kabir ji ki! raag Aasa!! Chaaand!! dupadae

meaning Sing this vani in Raaga Assa in the Dupadee Chaanddd.

Dhaadi!! poetry is fashioned like Rajputs of Rajasthan (by Guru Gobind Singh jit) where they sing about great heroic battles of Rajputs (like Rana Pratap) against mughals. The form of Singing in Punjab is called Dhaddi!! (not sure what it is called in Rajasthan)

Bajwa sahab,

I am a punjabi and cherish the friendship of many Sikhs. I find that the current day, average urban living Sikh is modern, ambitious, upwardly moving and hard working. The average Sikh farmer would be like an Ambani compared to say the average farmer in West Bengal (no offense intended) because of the use of modern techniques and technologies. I have seen Sikh farmers (in Patiala) drive in Mercs in the early 80s.

I am unable to reconcile this image of an average Sikh with say the religious action (fatwa) against Harbhajan Singh for appearing on TV as Ravan (for fun). Do the masses support such actions/fatwas? Illiteracy rate in Punjab is probably lower than in the rest of the country since Punjab as a whole is prosperous and progressive. So why would a literate Sikh be upset with Bhajji for doing what he did? I am probably missing something and would love to see the full picture.

I am not sure who issued the Fatwa against Bhajji for appearing as Ravan but I doubt that an average Sikh (including peasentry) in Punjab will ever support such a thing. It is a non-issue.

At this time, The general Sikh populace (peasentry) do not support the three "self styled gurus" which are

1. Baba Ram Rahim singh.
2. Baba Bhanierae wala.
3. Baba Ashotosh maharaj.

And Baba Ramdev (Yoga Guru) has a huge/massive following in punjab. I have seen all (Sikhs hindus ) Punjabis listening to him/watcing his TV shows and following his Yoga daily.

These other useless babas get their support from uneducated peasentry of Southern punjab, Northern Harayana and Rajasthan. They have a huge following and generally dictate their people to vote Congress/Akalis/Bjp/etc.

At this time there is no discernable difference between an average urbanite/Ruralite Hindu or a Sikh. All just want to earn a decent living.
Nirantar

Post by Nirantar »

SBajwa Ji,

The dalit sikhs, dalit hindus are quite vulnerable to these 3 self-styled gurus and are the soft targets, perhaps due to some extent of oppression by forward class(mostly Jatts). I have seen many turbaned and beareded people among Radhaswami(byas) & Sirsa dera Satsangis. Most of them are dalits.

Congess/Akalis/BJP have always used tactics to secure votes through religious/ regional means.
I often see a parallel between Bhindranwale and Raj Thakre who is also being propped by Congress to marginalise Bal Thakre.

off course! the Jutt Sikhs have actually hurt the sikhism., since they (I am a jutt sikh too) took over the control in 1920s through SGPC. Since then these people have 100% control of all matter concerning the practice of sikhism.

Pre SPGC days the jutt sikhs were trule pioneer when they stopped the "Hindu" practices like Distributing of Prasad to low caste outside of golden temple by Sardar Kartar Singh Jhabbar. Who at Akal Takth., single handedly told the head granthi that by not disributing Prasad to low caste people he is anti-sikh and he went outside opening up the gates of golden temple to "low caste" and getting them all the way in front of Akal Takht distributing them the Karah Prasad there and then. Now this was exactly following the practice of Guru Nanak., unlke today when SGPC does not do anyhthing about the reports of Jutt Sikhs not letting low caste to cremate their dead in the same place as theirs.

on another topic about militancy, etc.
I think that if we go back to the days of the original British era when almost all villages in current Punjab/Haryana/Jammu/Himachal/Garhwal/etc had huge representation in armed forces to keep the youth of this area (especially punjab) in check.

In Amritsar district to recruit 100 sepoys we get 10,000 people lined up and it is sad when youth is getting declared unfit for such reasons as

"Your fingers are too fat to fire a gun"
"Your nose is too thin for you to work on himalayas"
"Your arms to too long/or too short"

etc..
csharma

Post by csharma »

SBajwa, Any good book on Sikh history from 1700s. I am looking for Indian authors such as RC Mazumdar, Jadunath sarkar type authors. Especially interested in rise of Sikh power third battle of Panipat.

sure Check this out

http://www.allbookstores.com/book/97881 ... olkar.html

History of the Sikhs by Khushwant singh is a very well research book (two parts) and it quotes all of the great authors of India.
csharma

Post by csharma »

Thanks SBajwa. I will get Khushwant Singh's book.
surinder

Post by surinder »

An excellent book (although I have not read it) is specifically dedicated to the 18ths century:

http://sikhcentre.wordpress.com/2008/02 ... h-century/

Sikhs in the Eighteenth Century
by S S Gandhi
Published by Singh Brothers, Amritsar
Pages: 741; Price: Rs. 500

Reviewed by Prof. Dharam Singh

The learned scholar begins his narrative with the martyrdom of Guru Gobind Singh, which sent shock waves among the Sikhs.

The author very vividly narrates all this in his work. Not only this, he also explores the reaction of the Sikhs to these penalisations, and of the specific models they evolved during the process. They cultivated a sense of Charhdi Kala. They developed a vibrant awareness of the role assigned to them by the Guru as members of the Panth. They organised themselves into Misls, voluntary organisations comprising equals — all soaked in Sikh ideology, and determined to reorganise society as per the Khalsa ideal. To successfully confront the Mughal and Afghan rulers, they evolved an organisation, Dal Khalsa, a combination of all the Misls which not only fought militarily against the enemy, but also took care that the Sikh institutions and Sikh values were safeguarded properly.

In this context, they raided Delhi fourteen times, proclaiming thereby, that the Khalsa power was the supreme and that its writ must be complied with without demur.

The author also discusses the initial encounters of the Sikhs with the British Imperialism.
Surjit Singh Gandhi’s Sikhs in the Eighteenth Century has struck me as a work of outstanding merit, speaking high of author’s erudition and his remarkable patience in piecing together the information that he gleaned from different sources available at different places in different languages — Persian, English, Punjabi, Urdu, Marathi, and Hindi. The book is well-researched, highly readable and of immense academic value to any researcher of Sikh history.

=========================================================

If you want to explore Sikh history from not just 1700-1800, but all the way till independence, then Khushwant Singh's book is an excellent choice---well researched and written in the typical Khushwant Singh style. Another book on Sikh History is by Dr. Gopal Singh (I think he was governor of Goa).

In high school we read about Banda Bahadur and other post-Guru Sikh leaders in our Hindi non detail text.

The gap I have is how was the Sikh Kingdom of Maharaja Ranjit Singh established and why did not have continuity?

Let me try!! this is totally extempore with many mistakes so please pardon me.

After the attack at Anandpur Sahib and murder of Guru Gobind Singh's all 4 sons and his mother by the Mughals., Guru Gobind Singh was travelling around Punjab influencing Sikh youth as well as making copies of Sri Guru Granth Sahib and distributing it. Then he entrusted his friend Baba Deep Singh (who later attained martyrdom fighting Abdali at Golden Temp) to create as many copies of Guru Granth Sahib as possible and distribute them. Then., Guru Gobind Singh travelled south and found out that Banda Bairagi who was a Kshtriya had become an ascetic. Guru reminded him of his Dharma and sent him to Punjab to rouse Punjabi youth against Mughal Tyranny.

S. Banda Singh Bahadur influenced the punjabi youth started in 1709 till he was murdered at Delhi on 9th June 1716.

Sardar Kapur Singh was 11 years old at the time of Murder of Guru Gobind Singh and 19 years old when Banda Singh Bahadur was murdered at Delhi. He took over the reign of Sikh Guerilla warfare and organized the Sikh militants into two bands (Taruna Dal and Buddha Dal) Taruna meaning "Young". He was so successful in scaring the Mughals that they offered him to become a "NAwab". His guerilla tactics were simple., for example one time he got around 15 of his best men in green Muslim dresses (with their hair hanging down behind) slipped into the city of Lahore (to murder Zakriya Khan who had levied money on the heads of Sikhs) these guys were so successful that they went right into the Shahi Mosque where Zakriya Khan used to visit every day. That day as it turned out he didn't., so just before the Namazz. Kapur Singh raised Jo Bole So Nihaal and all his soldiers replying Sat Sri Akal got out of the mosque onto their horses and out of the city.

He asked the "Sarbatt Khalsa" whether they should accept the Nawabai they (council of Panj Piare or Panchayat) agreed. and thus Kapur Singh became Nawab Kapur Singh of three villages in the vicinity of Amritsar around 1735. He kept the pressure on Mughals though.

In 1738 Nadir Shah Invaded India. Sikhs and Hindus either went towards Himalyas or towards Rajasthan with their belonging and Mughals surrendered to Nadir Shah. Then.. Kapur Singh had to fought Abdali and other invaders but he was always fighting them as "GUerilla solder" and never as a regular head on battle.

Guru Gobind Singh's widow Mata Sundari ji adopted many children after his own sons were martyred. She raised one Such orphaned child that was named Sardar Jassa Singh Ahluwalia.

Kapur Singh passed on the leadership to Jassa Singh Ahluwalia., who was very well educated (upbringing by the Mata Sundari ji). He created 13 bands of Sikhs in charge of Delhi all the way to River Indus. These roving bands would attack any mughal who persecuted non-muslims.

The maximum number of soldiers belonged to a band called "Bhangi" because the person who founded this Guerilla Jatha/Band liked to drink Bhang (Bhang=Marijuana as prepared Indian way at Shivalas).

Maharaja Ranjit Singh's grandfather Sardar Charat Singh Shukarchakia (ShukarChak means "small tract of land")'s father Sardar Naudh Singh got influenced by guru Gobind Singh and later by Banda Bahadur. He raised all his four sons as Khalsa. Out of this four sons., Ranjit Singhs' grandfather S. Charat Singh was the most successful one. He died in 1770. Ranjit Singh was born to Charat Singh's eldest son Mahan Singh on 13th November 1780. when Ranjit singh took over the reign of Shukarchakia Band., his bad was 7th in military among the 13 bands. He careful aligned himself with other bands and when in 1799 time came to face the son of Abdali he advocated for a normal war (instead of guerilla warfare). He lead with an example and faced Zaman Shah., Zaman Shah was kicked out of Lahore which Ranjit singh occupied., Sikh forces followed Afghan forces all the way to the River Indus and then returned. Ranjit Singh declared himself as "Maharaja of Punjab" and asked other misls/bands to ally with him. All the other bands joined him except for the Phulkian Band.

Phulkian Band was ruling Patiala, Nabha and Jind Area., great-great-great grandparents of Captain Amarinder Singh. Later they decided to join with British (to protect themselves).

Maharaja Ranjit Singh ruled punjab for 40 years (1899 - 1839) consolidated everything west of Punjab since East of punjab, Phulkian Misl was under the protection of British who had signed a treaty with Ranjit Singh surrendering everything to the west (but not Sind).

Ranjit Singh was a very good soldier (14 hours a day on horseback, shooting 5000 rounds of bullets everyday as a practice) but not a politician. Though he had many sons and grandsons but they didn't learned to be political savvy and all was lost. In one day Ranjit Singh son (some say slow poisoned) was murdered and then his grandson was also murdered on the cremation day (when a big arch fell on him).
The next Son Sher Singh became Maharja he was a very popular with Army but one day he pardoned his arch enemies (Sandhawalia brothers) who returned from Calcutta with a good gun., and they murdered him too (in front of the army., army murdered both sandhawalia brothers) with the same gun. First series of Sikh-British wars were started in 1845 after which British appointed their regent who decided against Kashmira Singh and Peshaura Singh (Ranjit Singh's younger sons who he had named after winning Kashmir and then Peshawar),. instead they picked youngest (7 years old ) Dalip Singh. Second series of wars started in 1849 and British took over Punjab and sent Dalip Singh to England and his mother to Nepal.

It could be an intrigue by British or anybody that Ranjit Singh's kingdom was very short lived (50 total years, 40 years of Ranjit Singh's rule and 10 years of his sons). In 1849 the Sikh army was disbanded but in 1857 when Sepoy Mutiny started., british started calling the Sikh veterans back and created the first Sikh British Battalions (Hodson's Horse for example)., etc.