Vipul wrote:Sadly, we do not learn from our history. Today, as the nation celebrates 'Vijay Diwas', it is worth pondering that General Jacob is not on any official invitation list.
Is this how we treat our heroes?
Sad...
Vipul wrote:Sadly, we do not learn from our history. Today, as the nation celebrates 'Vijay Diwas', it is worth pondering that General Jacob is not on any official invitation list.
Is this how we treat our heroes?
negi wrote:Now we are talking business , RayC can the film in question be made public, with due credits of course ?
RayC wrote:There was also a film presentation and for the first time I saw Bhutto at the UN tearing the Security Council resolution and walking out. Great clippings that one had not seen earlier!
RayC wrote:[
It also had interviews of Pak Brigs asking them how they felt about surrendering and they said - it was the part of the game!
This one is a great one - first it has some coverage of the distasteful incident where Kader Siddiquis men killed some Biharis in front of the press. The second part of the film is about the arms laying down ceremony held after a few days - in which Gen Nagra, Gen Sagat Singh and Brigadier Kler were present (photos are in BR Army gallery). An interview with Brig Baqar Siddiqui - Chief of Staff under Niazi - in which he states "part of the game" - maybe he was expecting to be back in Pakistan in about a few months?
NEW DELHI: Life in India comes cheap. Despite a lapse of several years, a major chunk of Army soldiers are yet to get something as basic as proper bullet proof jackets
Noting that the authorised holding of bullet-proof jackets for the Army was 3,53,765, the parliamentary standing committee on defence on Wednesday expressed anguish that MoD was yet to make up the shortfall of as many as 1,86,138 of them.
"This is risking the life of as many soldiers. The committee desires that such important life-saving items should be purchased through fast-track procedures. Quality control should be strictly observed so that precious lives of trained soldiers may not be lost,'' it said.
The latest GSQRs (general staff qualitative requirements) for the jackets show their weight ranges from 10.5 kg to 11.5 kg. "This seems to be very heavy as the soldier has to carry this weight in addition to regular items, which will affect his agility and mobility in war as well as counter-insurgency operations,'' it said. Consequently, the committee asked the government to procure light-weight jackets from the domestic or the international market.
Vipul wrote: Today, as the nation celebrates 'Vijay Diwas', it is worth pondering that General Jacob is not on any official invitation list.Is this how we treat our heroes?
ASPuar wrote:RayC:
As I said, I find it very hard to believe that he is not on any official invitation list. The SIFY article was unnecessarily moany-groany in nature. I used to live in the same apartment complex as the general. He is of course of advanced years, but fit, and goes for a walk every day (always dressed very correctly, with fedora hat). He is a man of spirit and substance. And I believe I have seen that walking stick as well.
ASPuar wrote:As I said, I find it very hard to believe that he is not on any official invitation list.
Sachin wrote:ASPuar wrote:As I said, I find it very hard to believe that he is not on any official invitation list.
I have noticed that the Army is very methodical in maintaining the list of senior officers, invitee list for any function etc. And I dont think Gen.Jacob would be side-lined on purpose, unless there are other reasons (which in my humble opinion does not exist)
NEW DELHI: With the situation "improving" in Jammu and Kashmir, the Government today said it has withdrawn two Army divisions, comprising 30,000 men, from the state but made it clear that the operation of the Armed Forces Special Powers Act there could not be revoked at present.
However, it favoured "detailed discussion" to bring about some modifications in the controversial Act.
"Indian Army, by their own initiatives, have withdrawn two divisions (30,000) from J&K. Last year, they withdrew one, and this year the second division was withdrawn. They have been withdrawn because the situation has improved," Defence Minister A K Antony told reporters on the sidelines of a seminar on human rights here.
Antony said whenever the State Government felt that it could manage without the Army, more forces could be pulled out, but as long as the Army was deployed in the state, it would need AFSPA to operate there.
"Without special powers, they will not be able to act effectively," he said, adding that the Government itself wanted to further reduce the "visibility and presence" of the armed forces in the state with the improvement in the situation.![]()
bksahu wrote:RayC sir
Can you tell me the different badges worn by Lt Gen VK Singh in the pics.On his left hand sleeve i see a sign similar to one in tibetian flag (IMO) and above it what is written in golden badge,,looks to me as "RANGER".
Gurus help needed.
rohitvats wrote:List of Badges:
--Tank ATGM firing qualified (firing the ATGM from tanks like T-90/Arjun)
d_berwal wrote:rohitvats wrote:List of Badges:
--Tank ATGM firing qualified (firing the ATGM from tanks like T-90/Arjun)
It is a T-90 only badge...
At the subsequent flag meeting, India had lodged its protest against the ceasefire violation.
On Saturday, a BSF jawan was killed and two others were injured in cross border firing at Kranti post near the Line Of Control in Poonch
Nihat wrote:What makes you think we don't reply to such provocation in Kind , recently a Paki soldier was killed in the cross fire.
Anabhaya wrote:Ray,
Please congratulate the IA publicity divison or cell(if IA has one on my behalf.)
They have done a stunning job. The internet and media houses have been swamped by articles and pictures on Vijay Diwas.
The Indian army website has documented the celebrations in a manner that is particularly fitting of the Indian army.
The blokes that run PR/publicity at the Indian army should be sent to the Sri Lankan Defence Ministry and publicity cell to teach them what publicity means.
RayC wrote:Are you serious or is it a dig?![]()
Links please.
Anabhaya wrote:RayC wrote:Are you serious or is it a dig?![]()
Links please.
I just couldn't put it another, Sir. Not a mention of Vijay Diwas on the Indian army website. The Eastern commands website has not even been updated for three years.
Despite being run by extremely well educated, upwardly mobile Officers the armed forces haven't learnt a lesson in publicity and marketing. It coulnd't have cost a few thousand rupees to get some professional photographer at the celebrations to shoot some nice shots, process and post on a website. The websites themselves are so shoddy.
Sorry for the whine - but the forces have a budget of more than one lakh crores. A decent PR cell won't cost more than 1 crore a year. It's impact on recruitment and image building will more than earn the investment.
Rahul M wrote:look at the bright side, BR was formed mainly because the official sites did such a poor job !![]()
but really, the MOD sites of SL are superb to say the least. ray sir have you browsed them ?
the difference with ours is a eye-opener !