Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Redrawing State Boundaries

manjgu wrote:how about merging jammu into punjab and ladhak into HP ?? amalmagation instead of divison??
I presume the language and culture is not similar and hence....
i support gorkhaland... i mean after a short visit to Kolkatta , i can understand why its important to have a Gorkhaland.
Even though I am a Bengali, I support Gorkhaland and Kamatapur. I have served in both the areas and understand the ethos and desires to some extent. What difference will it make to Bengal?
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

manjgu wrote: i mean after a short visit to Kolkatta , i can understand why its important to have a Gorkhaland.
So what did you understand after a short visit to Kolkatta? Could you please explain?

RayC, the problem will arise since GJM wants Siliguri, northern parts of Jalpaiguri ; basically the Dooars. For example, Malbazar is Bengali dominated. How come it goes into Gorkhaland?

Muppalla garu: I think the key word is "believer". Like your belief that Potti Sriramulu was not super-uber-fanatic but wanted to get out of Tamil land first. Having very close relatives in telugu land and tamil land; I can vouch for the fact that I have heard derogatory comments passed on the others by both sides. They are humans, so I don't expect anything much. Extrapolating this to the leaders, I suspect the leaders would share some such thoughts and some of these might manifest in actions. Instead of leaders who incite trouble on the streets blaming the actors across state borders all the time; we at BRF should hold ourselves a little higher. If anything happens to say TN or TN ministers, I can go around shouting that it is all a 'shaajeesh' of across the state leaders onlee. I can go and cite so many personal anecdotes to show how people don't see eye to eye.

Yes, we can never convince each other; and I thought the topic was laid to rest. But you ressurected it with your comments about super-sensitive BRF members. It was not me who gave "jeevan" to that line of argument.

I do not know if BRF can read things ahead of the curve or not; but you have not yet found the correct reason for PC's actions. What you attributed was different and what comes out in the media has been different. Being a Union Home Minister PC is going to be involved, so you can not claim any credit for dropping his name into the mix of things.

Rama gaaru: As far as N^3 goes, I think he has some standards for CT. Only he can tell if the CTs adhere to them. Yes, his bhashyams on any topic is good to read. On a personal note, I was talking to very close relative in Hyd. They don't think anything is going to really happen. Meanwhile my loan for Ramky flats got sanctioned through SBI.

what i learnt after a short visit to kolkatta was that

a) culture/ways / ethos of the mountain people is very very different from the bangla babus ( which incidentally was one of the rationale for uttrakhand)

b) there is no governance / development / direction ... i mean even haryana is thousand times better. governance has reached its nadir ... there is decay all round. on my first visit to kolkatta ever, i was shocked and pained to see Kolkatta being termed a metro town !!

rayC .. on the contrary i think jammu and punjab would go along fine.

manjgu wrote:rayC .. on the contrary i think jammu and punjab would go along fine.
Second that! Dogri is quite similar to Punjabi and was considered to be a dialect of Punjabi at times. The people of Gurdaspur and Udhampur/Kathua districts freuquently intermarry as Gurdaspur has lot of Thakur/Dogra mix population. Jammu region if given a choice would love to break free from Kashmiri domination a case in point being Amarnath agitation whereby people to people contact and support between Punjab and Jammu borders districts was seen to be believed.
Last edited by munna on 22 Dec 2009 20:56, edited 1 time in total.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

manjgu wrote:what i learnt after a short visit to kolkatta was that

a) culture/ways / ethos of the mountain people is very very different from the bangla babus ( which incidentally was one of the rationale for uttrakhand)

b) there is no governance / development / direction ... i mean even haryana is thousand times better. governance has reached its nadir ... there is decay all round. on my first visit to kolkatta ever, i was shocked and pained to see Kolkatta being termed a metro town !!

rayC .. on the contrary i think jammu and punjab would go along fine.
Agree with your first point.

Disagree with your second point. However, I cannot turn your argument that governance in WB is upside down. Nor would I try to portray which are the reasons that led to the dismal state of affairs. Every bit of that is quite well known. But the point was if you noted - the parts of Bengal which GJM claims along with Darjeeling district have people whose culture/ways / ethos are very very different from the mountain people. So why does the argument stand in favour of just one side? For me I do not mind Darjeeling, Karseoung etc. to go into Gorkhaland. But what about places where Bengalis are in majority. Apparently, bangla babus in those place are not too eager to go into the much developed "martial" Gorkhaland no?

In a way, I think we should get it over with Telangana. It is no big deal. Let us move on. My big concerns is over how Naxalites will exploit the state to expand their capabilities.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

BTW, has there ever been any proposal to merge the hill areas of North Bengal with Sikkim? Ethnically, Sikkim has a majority of Nepali speakers as well. Gorkhaland+Sikkim would be more viable than two separate states. Sikkim would get much better access. Darjeeling etc. would get the benefits of being a border state (funding for roads and other infrastructure). And a small side benefit - it would poke the Chinese in the eye.

Sridhar wrote:BTW, has there ever been any proposal to merge the hill areas of North Bengal with Sikkim? Ethnically, Sikkim has a majority of Nepali speakers as well. Gorkhaland+Sikkim would be more viable than two separate states. Sikkim would get much better access. Darjeeling etc. would get the benefits of being a border state (funding for roads and other infrastructure). And a small side benefit - it would poke the Chinese in the eye.
Boss that is EXACTLY the problem. There are large populations of Nepali-speakers in Sikkim as well as in North Bengal. Already the Gurkhas in North Bengal are nearly equal to or outnumber the native Lepchas in that region. In Sikkim the Gurkhas are close to or exceed the native Sikkimese (Bhutias, etc.) in number. Merge those two regions together and the Gurkhas will vastly outnumber both Sikkimese and Lepchas and probably everybody else. Why would that be acceptable to the Sikkimese/Lepchas, to be reduced to small minorities and therefore marginalized in regions where they are natives?

This is the kind of mess we allow ourselves to get into by redrawing state boundaries. Right now, yes there is an element of divisiveness and ethnic imbalance thanks to Nehru's linguistic division of states... but all of India's myriad ethnic/linguistic groups have had a couple of generations to adjust to the current dispensation, align themselves in accordance with their perceived best interest, accept the status quo and move on. The more you keep stirring the pot by redrawing state boundaries, the more you reinforce the negative aspects of that ill-advised decision.
Last edited by Rudradev on 22 Dec 2009 22:53, edited 1 time in total.

The new merger plans sound like Stalin's forced merger of different minorites and eventually led to the break up of FSU.
Abhi_G

Post by Abhi_G »

AFAIK, GJM has rejected any idea of merger with Sikkim.

Do not know if posted earlier.

Tripartite talks with GJM fail
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/new ... 364322.cms
The fourth tripartite meeting involving the Centre, the state government and the Gorkha Janamukti Morcha (GJM) on the Gorkhaland issue ended inconclusively here on Monday. While the government side assured initiation of the process for political level discussions, the GJM decided to relax its agitation till December 25. The hunger strike will resume on December 27 in which students will take part.
But the hills as a whole remain under uncertainty. Meanwhile, despite negligible picketing, the plains of Darjeeling district looked deserted due to the bandh called by anti-Gorkhaland political forces. The Kamtapur Peoples Party activists blocked NH31A, demanding a separate Kamtapur state. Greater Cooch Behar Democratic Party will launch a hunger strike on Tuesday to push their demand for a separate Greater Cooch Behar state.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

Rudradev,

Sikkim's majority ethnicity has been Nepali speakers for a long time, with Nepali immigration starting in the 19th century and peaking in the early 20th century. Furthermore, there are Bhutias and Lepchas in the hill districts of Bengal as well, like you mention, and my understanding is that the proportions are not vastly different from those in Sikkim. Hence, it is unlikely that there will be major demographic changes with the merger. The only reason this idea came to mind is that it makes more administrative sense. If Sikkim were formally a part of India when the States Reorganization Commission was constituted, it is highly likely that the hill districts of Bengal and Sikkim would have been constituted as one unit at that time itself.

Regarding linguistic reorganization, it is arguable whether it was good or bad. My own sense is that it was the best outcome for the circumstances. It devalued the campaign led by the BJS and some elements within the Congress for forced imposition of Hindi over everybody (a Paki-like plan that would have perhaps led to a division of the country or at least continued stresses on India's unity) and the counter-campaign launched by linguistic/ethnic fanatics of the DK in TN. The reorganization was also done in a less ad-hoc manner than more recently. Some would argue that it has been one of the biggest reasons India belied the widespread predictions that such a diverse country would not survive as one entity after independence. But I am willing to listen to cogent arguments to the contrary, especially ones that compare the reorganizations with alternative proposals at the time, and keep the context in mind. I am yet to see any in this thread, other than assertions that it was a wrong decision.

The current way of going about the process is stupid and all major political parties bar none have been guilty of exploiting this sensitive issue for short-term political gains. That should not be used to discredit the original idea itself.
Last edited by Sridhar on 22 Dec 2009 23:51, edited 1 time in total.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

Let me repeat something I said much earlier in this thread. The solution to these problems is something we should have done very long ago. We need to strengthen local bodies at the expense of the states. That is the way things are in most modern democracies. The reason there are clamours for more and states is the extraordinary power in the state capital and the extremely low power in the cities and towns and villages. It was not always this way - before independence, the position of mayor of a town used to be pretty powerful and prestigious. If that happens, state boundaries will become less relevant.

TRS is becoming violent organization and attacking people. According to the lady in the Video they didn't spare children also.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L1fdNgasxWU

Congress Telengana politicians are occupying moderate political space pushing these TRS goons to violent side of the Telengana movement.

http://greatandhra.com/ganews/viewnews. ... 15&scat=16
We’ll slit their tongues, warns KCR.
Making it clear that there would be no compromise on Hyderabad being the capital of Telangana, KCR warned “If anyone staked claim over Hyderabad, we will slit their tongues. We will not part with Hyderabad.”
This is getting disgusting. The shroud is silent. MMS is no where. PC is hiding. Man! in a way... we miss YSR. I never thought I would say something like that.

vijayk wrote:http://greatandhra.com/ganews/viewnews. ... 15&scat=16
We’ll slit their tongues, warns KCR.
Making it clear that there would be no compromise on Hyderabad being the capital of Telangana, KCR warned “If anyone staked claim over Hyderabad, we will slit their tongues. We will not part with Hyderabad.”
This is getting disgusting. The shroud is silent. MMS is no where. PC is hiding. Man! in a way... we miss YSR. I never thought I would say something like that.
Perhaps Telugus need this Greater-Hyderabad madhana, and face kalakoota visha before receiving the well deserved Amrita. What I am more interested to know is who will volunteer to take Kalakoota Visham when everyone wants Kamadhenu, Airavata, Goddess Lakshmi, etc.,
goutham

Powerful business intrests in Andhra blocking telangana

Post by goutham »

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/eb66f91a-eb96 ... ck_check=1

India’s southern city of Hyderabad is becoming one of India’s most potent symbols of the greed and corruption that link politicians and businessmen. For the third time in a year, the state has been rocked by a crisis that exposes those linkages – this time over whether Andhra Pradesh should be split in two with the creation of a new state of Telangana based around Hyderabad (white area in map below).
This is a far cry from the glory and international fame of the past 15 or so years when this prosperous capital of the state of Andhra Pradesh became an international symbol of India’s dramatic growth in software, second only to Bangalore as a thriving location for information technology investment. Companies located there include Google and Microsoft, and Bill Clinton visited as US president.

The first of the state’s crises came a year ago with the collapse of Satyam, a leading Hyderabad-based software company that was owned by the family of its then chairman, Ramalinga Raju. The Rajus were closely linked with various politicians, including the state’s Congress chief minister, Y S Rajasekhar Reddy (YSR), who died in a helicopter crash in September, as well as his predecessor, Chandrababu Naidu.
Politicians are widely believed to have invested their black money in both Satyam and in Maytas Infrastructure, an associated company that received favours on contracts from the state government and drained funds out of Satyam. Both companies (Satyam has now been sold) are now being investigated for massive fraud, and Raju has been detained in jail since January.
Next came YSR’s sudden death and an immediate attempt by his politically inexperienced 37-year old son, Y.S.Jaganmohan Reddy, to become the chief minister. Jaganmohan, who had built a substantial business empire since his father came to power in 2004, was frenetically backed in a campaign by local businessmen who wanted to protect deals they had struck with his father and to be able to replicate them in the future.
As Bharat Bhushan, editor of India’s Mail Today, put it in an article (“Money backs ‘Son-rise’ in Andhra” – Oct 3, 2009) that listed many company names, YSR secured the loyalty of his supporters not by giving them lucrative government jobs, which is common practice across the country, but by facilitating opportunities for developing new businesses, especially in booming Hyderabad.
“YSR converted his key supporters into businessmen, industrialists, contractors and realtors,” wrote Bhushan. “Their loyalty to the party, or the leader, was based on pure economic interest. YSR rewarded them with contracts in state sponsored irrigation projects…….highway projects, real estate activities, development of Special Economic Zones, land grants and housing schemes in urban as well as rural areas……
“It has taken decades for Indian entrepreneurs like the Tatas, Birlas, Ambanis and Bajajs to convert family businesses into billion dollar corporations. The Congress Party under YSR in Andhra showed us that this could be done in barely five years.”

These are the businessmen who are now resisting the demands for a Telangana state. Coming from Andhra’s coastal regions, they mostly belong to the Reddy and Kamma upper castes that must now be ranked along with India’s more famous business castes and communities such as the Marwaris of the north and the Chettiars of the south.
They fear that the dispute will lead to a crash in Hyderabad real estate values and a cutback on infrastructure projects – and that they might be driven out of the capital by the new Telangana rulers.
Among the most powerful anti-Telangana politicians is Lagadapati Rajagopal, founder-chairman of the rapidly growing Lanco infrastructure, power and construction group and a Congress MP, whose development plans in and around Hyderabad would be hit hard if the state split. Another MP with powerful Delhi connections is T.Subbarami Reddy, whose Gayatri group has many infrastructure projects. Another businessman who would lose from a split is Andhra-born G.M.Rao, founder-chairman of the Bangalore-based GMR group that built Hyderabad airport and controversially has 5,000 of acres around the site waiting for development, as well as many other projects. National and local politicians are widely believed to have invested in such companies.

The Telangana claim
The Telangana people’s wish for some sort of constitutional identity has been around for over 50 years, and has been fudged and rebuffed by successive Indian governments. But last week (December 9) the central government gave way and agreed to create Telangana in order to end a fast by a local politician and activist, Chandrashekhar Rao, leader of Telangana Rashtriya Samiti, who was risking his life to revive his crumbling political image.
That humane but politically clumsy decision led to violent demonstrations in Hyderabad, plus resignation threats by about half the members of the legislative assembly. This paralysed the state government and sparked follow-on bifurcation claims from other states all over India.
But observers of India’s frequently muddled and confusing political scene need not fear any imminent Balkanisation of India’s 28 states. Having prevented the death of the fasting politician, the government is back to fudge, and hopes to stall the Telangana claims indefinitely, maybe even until the state’s next assembly elections in 2014. Meanwhile, other states’ claims to be split will be examined, and some may push ahead a little – but there is no crisis, despite blanket and over-excited media coverage.
Unlike most other bifurcation claims, the battle over Telangana is about wealth, not language or ethnic divisions, nor dramatic differences in geography. It would also the first time that the capital of a state has gone with the new entity – normally the breakaway has to start afresh.
The people of coastal Andhra have benefited economically since the days of British rule when there was extensive investment in irrigation, but the Telangana region lagged behind under the thumb of the Nizam of Hyderabad. When Hyderabad began to flourish in the 1990s as an IT centre, wealthy landowners from the coastal region flocked to the city to develop real estate and infrastructure projects, lining up with local politicians such as YSR and his cronies to secure contracts and licences. This is the wealth that they fear the creation of Telangana would put at risk. The reputation of Hyderabad and Andhra has been severely damaged by this series of crises. It is causing concern among both Indian and international investors who had not known – or had ignored – the political-business linkages and scams.
The state now has an uncertain political future. The death of YSR has removed an able political leader who, despite his business links and cronyism, was an effective chief minister. Now the Congress Party is split over who his successor should be as, well as over the Telangana issue. And, of course, politicians’ fixing of contracts and projects for the benefit of their cronies is visible for all to see.
Last edited by goutham on 23 Dec 2009 03:23, edited 1 time in total.
goutham

Post by goutham »

Mailtoday (India Today) article about how powerful Andhra businessmen and politicians are blocking the formation of Telangana.

The article linked below says that Lagadapati Rajgopal richest MP in parliament today, is spending 1 cr on advertisements for united Andhra in local TV channels.

Huge vested interests at play here

http://tinyurl.com/y9r7ca8

Re: Fowerful business intrests in Andhra blocking telangana

The unfortunate thing is every one including the media forgot how we arrived at this situation here. CON party colluded with KCR to weaken and dislodge Naidu and made this goon a big shot. After winning, they should have at least setup a real reorg committee. Instead, they forgot everything after getting their hands on loot. The Italian shroud went missing. The joker prince who comes on chamcha media to discuss how his heart goes for the poor people is no where to be seen ever. Mr. Mumbles, MMS whose can't sleep if an alleged Islamic terrorist is arrested slept soundly for 5 years. They all forget this whole Telangana conveniently after grabbing the power in 2004. They think this is as usual CON party politics as in 60s and 70s. Unfortunately, for them the master good YSR died. KCR who made hundreds of crores in power and selling tickets learned a lesson or two from Thackrey goons in Mumbai. He knows that CON party loves to keep such guys in payroll whether it is Raj or Bhindranwale.

Now it is all Andhrawala's fault; investment fault; Growth fault; Every body in AP is at fault except Italian shroud and CON party.
goutham

Post by goutham »

vijayk wrote:
The unfortunate thing is every one including the media forgot how we arrived at this situation here. CON party colluded with KCR to weaken and dislodge Naidu and made this goon a big shot. After winning, they should have at least setup a real reorg committee. Instead, they forgot everything after getting their hands on loot. The Italian shroud went missing. The joker prince who comes on chamcha media to discuss how his heart goes for the poor people is no where to be seen ever. Mr. Mumbles, MMS whose can't sleep if an alleged Islamic terrorist is arrested slept soundly for 5 years. They all forget this whole Telangana conveniently after grabbing the power in 2004. They think this is as usual CON party politics as in 60s and 70s. Unfortunately, for them the master good YSR died. KCR who made hundreds of crores in power and selling tickets learned a lesson or two from Thackrey goons in Mumbai. He knows that CON party loves to keep such guys in payroll whether it is Raj or Bhindranwale.

Now it is all Andhrawala's fault; investment fault; Growth fault; Every body in AP is at fault except Italian shroud and CON party.
No need to call everyone names. It doesnt help your argument. Naidu is not a saint, every one knows about his recent flip flops on Telangana, More over he was the one who pushed KCR out of TDP back in 1999 and lead to the formation of TRS,TDP is equally at blame here.

Telengana region has been neglected for long. Vested business and political interests are hell bent on blocking formation of Telengana, to protect their business and ill gotten wealth.

goutham wrote: No need to call everyone names. It doesnt help your argument. Naidu is not a saint, every one knows about his recent flip flops on Telangana, More over he was the one who pushed KCR out of TDP back in 1999 and lead to the formation of TRS,TDP is equally at blame here.

Telengana region has been neglected for long. Vested business and political interests are hell bent on blocking formation of Telengana, to protect their business and ill gotten wealth.
KCR was sidelined for his shenanigans and quit TDP to start TRS in 2001 with Congress hand from behind.

On flipflop, only in 2009 TDP went with Telengana and tied up with TRS. They still maintain they are for Telengana should it be done the right way. They perhaps were expecting peaceful separation but Congress made situation worst to screw TDP.

More than flipflop, it is dilution of Telugu Desam ideology in 2009 that hurt many core TDP people who sees TDP for AP. Recent episodes highlighted need to move to its core ideology but CBN is in critical bind and maintaining utter silence expecting Congress who created this mess to resolve the situation.
goutham

Post by goutham »

ShyamSP wrote:
KCR was sidelined for his shenanigans and quit TDP to start TRS in 2001 with Congress hand from behind.

On flipflop, only in 2009 TDP went with Telengana and tied up with TRS. They still maintain they are for Telengana should it be done the right way. They perhaps were expecting peaceful separation but Congress made situation worst to screw TDP.

More than flipflop, it is dilution of Telugu Desam ideology in 2009 that hurt many core TDP people who sees TDP for AP. Recent episodes highlighted need to move to its core ideology but CBN is in critical bind and maintaining utter silence expecting Congress who created this mess to resolve the situation.
I dont understand the difference between the right way as opposed to a wrong way. This agitation has been going on for decades now. Will there ever be a right time?

Naidu has come out openly against the decision for Telangana, To preserve his base in Andhra He is covertly encouraging his party men in the Samaikya Andhra movement.

goutham wrote:http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/eb66f91a-eb96 ... ck_check=1

No need to call everyone names. It doesnt help your argument. Naidu is not a saint, every one knows about his recent flip flops on Telangana, More over he was the one who pushed KCR out of TDP back in 1999 and lead to the formation of TRS,TDP is equally at blame here.

How dare Naidu expel this creep from his party? He should have seen this all coming. Every one who is expelled from their party goes and set up a party to fight for a new state.

Telangan state is fine. If it happens, it will happen. Hopefully, this crook gets bumped before they allow a Thackrey in Hyderabad. Check the history of Thackrey. He is similar crook who came up by attacking South Indians.

People can demand Telangana and people can oppose Telangana. Who is this creep and his goons to threaten people and break people?
Masaru

Post by Masaru »

For Congress, no going back on Telangana

Seems like it is not a question of if but of when as far as Telengana is concerned. Once divisive tendencies take root, it is very hard to get rid of them.

Masaru wrote:For Congress, no going back on Telangana

Seems like it is not a question of if but of when as far as Telengana is concerned. Once divisive tendencies take root, it is very hard to get rid of them.

"This is not likely to go beyond the position spelled out by central leaders that any movement on Telangana will require a resolution by the AP assembly. "

This is obfuscation. It is clear that majority of Assembly submitted resignations against Telengana formation.
Resignations themselves are indication that such resolution do not pass.

Then what is what Congress needs to spell out and bind by it. They opened stinking mouth without any procedures laid out. They simply could have said previous SRC was used to form AP and another SRC is needed to undo it. In that new SRC there would have been some negotiating room for both sides instead of doing on streets like now.

Even after 10 days there is no clear announcement from government except from party handlers and press leaks.

Sridhar wrote:The solution to these problems is something we should have done very long ago. We need to strengthen local bodies at the expense of the states.
And what we should have also done long time ago is propose the drafts of the legislations that would do what you say, and campaigned for those legislations. In any case, better late than never. So what legislations do you propose to implement what you say? Also, do you support or oppose handing over police dept to Districts next week? Next month? Aristotle once told me that in politics, ask questions only after answering them, and so I would answer the question I asked. As per the Govt Orders I have proposed and demanded :

(DPC = District Police Chief)

1. the citizens of District will get procedure to replace/expel DPC
2. this replacement procedure can be suspended by citizens of State, in which case State HomeMin will appoint DPC in that District. And State HomeMin can be replaced by citizens of State.
3. citizens of Nation can suspend the procedures in a State and then after that PM will appoint all DPC in all Districts in that State (Art-356). And PM is replaceable.

The drafts of all the above proposed Govt Orders of mine are on http://rahulmehta.com .

My next question is : do you support/oppose decentralization in judiciary?.

In any case, lets await for the DRAFTS of the legislations you propose.

========
Sridhar wrote:... We need to strengthen local bodies at the expense of the states. That is the way things are in most modern democracies. The reason there are clamours for more and states is the extraordinary power in the state capital and the extremely low power in the cities and towns and villages. ....
The ancient and modern democracies that I lived through, be Greece or US, have sorted out problems by giving powers DIRECTLY to citizens, not to local representatives. As of now in India, Sarpanch is as corrupt as PM, CM and a local corporator is as corrupt MLA, MP. In US, local Sarpanch is less corrupt only because citizens can expel him and also imprison via Jury System, while no such threat exists in India. So AFAIS, handing over power to Mayors will create demand to split districts. But in any case, I will point out more concerns after I see the drafts you propose.

===
Some newspaper: http://greatandhra.com/ganews/viewnews. ... 15&scat=16
..... Making it clear that there would be no compromise on Hyderabad being the capital of Telangana, KCR warned “If anyone staked claim over Hyderabad, we will slit their tongues. We will not part with Hyderabad.”

VijayK: This is getting disgusting. The shroud is silent. MMS is no where. PC is hiding. Man! in a way... we miss YSR. I never thought I would say something like that.
People like YSR are important reason why mess grew. Because of HUGE corruption (and YSR promoted that) in CM's office, every business groups wants CM of his choice and since one State can have only one CM, the next choice is to trifurcate the State and have 3 CMs. The trivial solution is reduce corruption and nepotism, so that commons no longer see even a need to have a separate State and businessmen also dont see much season to have separate State. And YSR , a born murderer, is no solution or even a step in the right direction.
Sridhar

Post by Sridhar »

No, Rahul you are not going to see drafts from me. I have read your drafts, and support your proposal of giving power directly to citizens. Of electing the local police chief (and may I add, of electing the equivalent of a district attorney). Of giving right of recall/dismissal to citizens for all levels of public servants. And of course of reintroducing trial by jury. :) These are necessary to solve many if not most of our problems. However, none of this is contradictory to the proposal of decentralization of power.
Avinash R

Post by Avinash R »

manju

Re: States News and Discussions

Post by manju »

joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

The economic case for creating small states
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/opi ... 357845.cms

Ssridhar, i am in total agreement with your view on this matter. decentralization ofpower/authority is central to this issue.

for everything the ordinary citizen has to run to the state capital ( which is a long distance away). my grandmother used to stay in a little town in the foothills ahead of saharanpur... for every trivial matter like some pension issue she was expected to travel to lucknow and battle the babus ... she was a teacher and even her petty travel, invigilation bills were cleared from lucknow..
anuj

Post by anuj »

Hmm... many andhra telugu's on this forum, eh?
An interesting post on telangana from here
A and B in relationship

B wants to separate. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, sorry, we tried for 50 years to make this work. I want to go my own way. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, you are not getting it. I feel suffocated in this relationship. You have not been very accommodating. You have never respected me. You exploited me all through the relationship. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, don’t you think you should say few things like, ‘Let’s give it another chance. Let me address your issues’ if you want me to stay with you. A says, I would die, but I won’t let you go.

B says, this is turning ridiculous. I am telling you I want to move out because you didn’t treat me good. Instead of trying to make it work you are just forcing yourself onto me. Aren’t you being little selfish? A says, we should be together because we both speak the same language.

B says, screw the language. I am not going to sacrifice another minute to keep this farcical relationship going on. I am moving out. A says, I will die but I won’t let you go. I will protest and tell our parents.

B says, screw the parents. I am done. You can’t keep blackmailing me like this. You have always exploited me. A says, I will protest harder. I will burn things down. I will riot. But I will keep you with me.

B says, don’t you think this is the right time for you to say, ‘Sorry, I will make amends. I will change. I will protect your interests. Please stay’. A says, you are taking away the mansion you brought in the dowry. I took care of it all this while. I won’t let you have it.

B says, Aha, so this is all about the dowry I brought into the marriage. A says, I invested in painting it.

B says, screw the paint. The entire mansion belongs to me. The last sixty years have been a hell for me. That paint you put on doesn’t even compensate for the pain I have gone through. A says, if I can’t have it, I won’t let you have it.

B says, Get lost, you freak. I cannot believe I lived with you for all these sixty years. I am moving out. Bye, Bye. A says, let’s stay together. We both speak the same language. What will other people think if we break up like this?

B says. Bye. Now, I don’t even know how we stayed together all these years. A says, I will not give you divorce. Let’s see what you will do.
This blog is like an entire wiki on telangana.

anuj wrote:Hmm... many andhra telugu's on this forum, eh?
An interesting post on telangana from here
A and B in relationship

B wants to separate. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, sorry, we tried for 50 years to make this work. I want to go my own way. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, you are not getting it. I feel suffocated in this relationship. You have not been very accommodating. You have never respected me. You exploited me all through the relationship. A says, no, I won’t let you go.

B says, don’t you think you should say few things like, ‘Let’s give it another chance. Let me address your issues’ if you want me to stay with you. A says, I would die, but I won’t let you go.

B says, this is turning ridiculous. I am telling you I want to move out because you didn’t treat me good. Instead of trying to make it work you are just forcing yourself onto me. Aren’t you being little selfish? A says, we should be together because we both speak the same language.

B says, screw the language. I am not going to sacrifice another minute to keep this farcical relationship going on. I am moving out. A says, I will die but I won’t let you go. I will protest and tell our parents.

B says, screw the parents. I am done. You can’t keep blackmailing me like this. You have always exploited me. A says, I will protest harder. I will burn things down. I will riot. But I will keep you with me.

B says, don’t you think this is the right time for you to say, ‘Sorry, I will make amends. I will change. I will protect your interests. Please stay’. A says, you are taking away the mansion you brought in the dowry. I took care of it all this while. I won’t let you have it.

B says, Aha, so this is all about the dowry I brought into the marriage. A says, I invested in painting it.

B says, screw the paint. The entire mansion belongs to me. The last sixty years have been a hell for me. That paint you put on doesn’t even compensate for the pain I have gone through. A says, if I can’t have it, I won’t let you have it.

B says, Get lost, you freak. I cannot believe I lived with you for all these sixty years. I am moving out. Bye, Bye. A says, let’s stay together. We both speak the same language. What will other people think if we break up like this?

B says. Bye. Now, I don’t even know how we stayed together all these years. A says, I will not give you divorce. Let’s see what you will do.
This blog is like an entire wiki on telangana.
Here's a comment from "Indian Angeleno" on the site about the problems with the kind of thinking outlined in the quoted blog:
Looks like a consistent theme in your blog is that Andhras are foreigners in Telangana--virtually all your analogies are about British in India, or Bangladeshis in Kolkata. I know that in Nizam's time Andhras were indeed considered foreigners or immigrants in Hyderabad. Looks like your thinking is stuck in that era.

You keep asserting (as if asserting it makes it true) that a city only belongs to the region it is a part of. That idea is completely contrary to how cities live and function. A great city like Los Angeles "belongs" to Southern California only in the most mundane, boring sense; in reality, all people living in this city, man of whom are foreigners, immigrants and so on, feel a sense of ownership and pride in this city, and the city in turn fosters an environment in which everyone living here feels a part of the city.

The same is true of San Jose, which you ignorantly say "belongs" to the locals--do you mean whites, or mexican-americans, or blacks, anyone except the Indians living there? Let me assure you that San Jose or any major American city doesn't make a mistake like that, they aspire to be world-class cities (and that doesn't mean just having fancy buildings and roads, it means a world-class outlook) and don't like to be stuck as provincial backwaters.

Your expression is sophisticated, but your thinking is really backward and provincial, and in the matter of having a feel for the spirit of great cities, really ignorant. I feel sorry for India that a lot of people are going to be taken in by your sophistry.
anuj

Post by anuj »

KV Rao wrote:Here's a comment from "Indian Angeleno" on the site about the problems with the kind of thinking outlined in the quoted blog:
The blog regularly takes consideration of the comments and follows that with a counter post.
Looks like a consistent theme in your blog is that Andhras are foreigners in Telangana--virtually all your analogies are about British in India, or Bangladeshis in Kolkata. Looks like your thinking is stuck in that era.
This what the blog talks about telanagana alienation.
The offensive T-word

An MP from Andhra, Purandeshwari, was commenting on Samaikya Andhra agitation on TV yesterday. This is what she said: [Translated from Telugu]

Since I was a little kid, I always learnt I was a Telugu. I never learnt I belonged to Andhra region or Rayalaseema or.. (pause) any other region...

She couldn’t say the word ‘Telangana’. It has almost become an offensive word like F-word that we don’t normally use. The whole charade of Samaikya Andhra is quite amusing to me. Never do they say anything about Telangana. They don’t mention the word ‘Telangana’ and they don’t talk about it. They only talk about one person – KCR, as if he is Telangana.

A detailed talk on alienation can be found here.
You keep asserting (as if asserting it makes it true) that a city only belongs to the region it is a part of. That idea is completely contrary to how cities live and function.
That's just an opinion of what he thinks it is. He doesn't lay down any valid arguments as to who gets the city. His only argument is that the writers "thinking is stuck in that era".
The blog already talks about the hyderabad situation in several posts. Better to read it there instead of copy pasting those long arguments.
telangana-xxiii-tidbits
telangana-xxi-status-of-hyderabad
telangana-xix-hyderabad-union-territory
anuj

Post by anuj »

I love how the blog rips apart all the UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL lectures that seems to be the favorite slogan of andhra.
There was an interview last night on Telugu TV news channel of some girls of a college who were fasting and fighting for Samaikya Andhra. The reporter asked a series of questions to the girls and their teacher. He asked, ‘what are you fighting for?’ A girl answered, ‘for Samaikya Andhra’. He asked why. She replied, because kalasi unte kaladu sukham (which means ‘if we stay together then we are happy’).

When the reporter asked the other girl, she said, ‘we want Samaikya Andhra, we don’t want Telangana’. (What she meant was she doesn’t want separate Telangana.) The reporter said, ‘but people of Telangana are asking for a separate state, so that means you are anti-Telangana?’ to which said, ‘we want to live together under Samaikya Andhra’.

All the girls repeated the same sentences. When probed further they could not answer his questions. One girl even suggested she will fast till death. [You have to understand that this brainwashing of students by leaders and teachers is not unique to Andhra. Even Telangana regularly resorts to this and it is unfortunate.]

After this the teacher was asked the questions. She responded, ‘Varu Swarthaparulu, Memu Niswarthaparulam’. Meaning they are selfish people, we are unselfish people. She went on to add, ‘They are behaving like British who used Divide and Rule’. ‘They’ refer to Telangana people.

Divide and Rule

Many Andhra protestors who are fasting now are standing or sitting next to a statue of Potti Sriramulu while people around them chant Samaikya Andhra. When asked, they say they are against separation, against divide and rule. They tell you with a haughty attitude that they stand for integration, for united Andhra.

But the irony cannot be missed.

Potti Sriramulu is the epitome of division. He divided Madras State to carve out Andhra State. His death spurred the First SRC which divided the nation along linguistic lines. In fact, he can be credited with biggest ‘break up’ of this country. If ever, he should be a hero for ‘division of the country’ not for integration of the country.

United we stand Divided we Fall

Lack of historical knowledge can result in naïve people coming out onto streets blurting out clichés like United we Stand, Divided we Fall. If someone is fasting you would expect little stronger reasons than those clichés.

Someone should tell the Andhra protestors that their Andhra leaders have asked for a separate state whenever they wanted to. Their biggest icon, Potti Sriramulu, stands for division of states, not unification of states, and their chant that we should ‘stay united and not divide’ standing next to his status doesn’t make sense.

In 1973, guided only by one selfish motive, to overturn the guarantees given to Telangana people, Andhra leaders have demanded for a separate state under the slogan ‘Jai Andhra’ holding the center for ransom. They succeeded in overturning the Supreme Court ruling that protected interests of Telangana people. Today, when they chant ‘United we Stand, Divided we fall’ we can’t help but only admire their Machiavellian strategies.

So the slogan should change to:

United when Andhra wants to, Divided when Andhra wants to, and Damn Telangana!

Corollary: Because of this issue, Telangana politicians are more united than ever before. So are Andhra and Rayalaseema politicians. Their unity is cutting across political parties. We should celebrate that we are uniting our politicians under one common cause, may be, two commons causes. That should still count as unity ;-)
telangana-xiv-united-we-stand
Andhra people are using the age-old, clichéd oft repeated slogan:

UNITED WE STAND

DIVIDED WE FALL

They don’t realize this but Telangana is now UNITED against the onslaught of majority Andhra politicians who have taken them for a ride all these years. We were divided along party lines and casteist lines and hence you took advantage of us. Now, we want to stand united against the coercion of Andhra politicians. Thank you for the advice. We have taken it.

If Andhras mean we should not split and therefore should stay united as Andhra Pradesh. Then, why did Andhra split from Madras State. Why this slogan: United we stand, divided we fall, not apply back then?

We request Andhras to demonstrate this for us because we are not getting it. Why don’t they put their preaching into practice for us? Let the Andhra regions go back and join Tamil Nadu for a period of twenty years. Let them face the onslaught of majority Tamils in UNITED Madras state. And after those twenty years, if they still have extremely good experiences, Telangana will join back with Andhras to form a Samaikya Andhra.

Till then please don’t preach what you didn’t practice.
telangana-xviii-betrayal
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

Phew! Andhra Pradesh survives for now!

KCR cannot survive as a leader without the support of the Central Government of India, and the Central Congress leadership. I am not going to say it, but KCR reminds me of another leader, who lacked political base, but was propped up by the government, one who would make inflammatory statements like KCR, but who fell apart like a house of cards in the end.

Anuj, please contribute your thoughts, and not just cut and paste others'.

Sarma wrote:Phew! Andhra Pradesh survives for now!

KCR cannot survive as a leader without the support of the Central Government of India, and the Central Congress leadership. I am not going to say it, but KCR reminds me of another leader, who lacked political base, but was propped up by the government, one who would make inflammatory statements like KCR, but who fell apart like a house of cards in the end.

Anuj, please contribute your thoughts, and not just cut and paste others'.
Is there any statement from GOI that AP survuves? I am curious to know the other leader you are referring to?

Sridhar wrote:
1. I have read your drafts, and support your proposal of giving power directly to citizens. :shock: {pleasant surprise}

2. Of electing the local police chief (and may I add, of electing the equivalent of a district attorney). :shock:

3. Of giving right of recall/dismissal to citizens for all levels of public servants. :shock:

4. And of course of reintroducing trial by jury. :) :shock:

5. These are necessary to solve many if not most of our problems. :shock: ...
(In each case, it is pleasant shock)

1. AWMTA :)

2. AWMTA :)

3. AWMTA :)

4. AWMTA :)

5. AWMTA :)

Its time we all move from AWMTA :) to "AWMAA :)" i.e. "All wise men act alike :)". Because wise men never stop at thinking, the first sign and only known proof of wisdom is a wise action. We will talk about action tomorrow.

Also,
No, Rahul you are not going to see drafts from me. I have read your drafts, and support your proposal
All drafts of all proposed legislation, whether they pass or not, are in public domain. The author loses ownership, copyright etc moment he proposes it. And so when you support a legislation draft, it becomes "your draft". So by supporting the so called "my" drafts, you have very much shown the drafts of the legislation you want.

====

To this current AP mess, I proposed that we citizens should force AP MLAs to move a resolution that in 2014 and 2019, there will be a referendum in "Nizam area" of AP using voter list of 2009 whether Telanagna should be formed. This will zero out the existing crisis. And then APites have 5 years to remove ALL nepotism prone procedures in administration, courts. And if they do so, they demand for separate AP will reduce.

Next, AP should introduce reservation for class-III and class-IV positions in private as well as public sector in AP. This will increase job opportunity for Telanganites in coasta and seema and give them a reason to stay with AP. Chances are high that Telangana will stay if nepotism is removed completely and if reservation for APites come in coasta-seema.

Too many people have misunderstood my proposal as something that intends to divide AP. Well, all I want is to douse existing fire ASAP before it grows too big. And I want a mechanism where in people decide and not neta. Because if people decide, things will be better no matter which side AP goes and if things are left to neta, then each of them will sell out everything to highest bidder.

All this "Teli-coasta-seema" bhai-bhai will not reduce fire. Nor would 7 day fast, 14 day fast or even 21 day fast. Because everyone knows that fasts are 100% fake. If such slogans and fasting was to have any effect, fire would not have started to begin with. Get real and do something real over and above sloganeering.
Dasari

Post by Dasari »

Government admits Telangana is on backburner
The government seems to have put the creation of a new state of Telangana on the back-burner. In a statement on Wednesday evening, Home Minister P Chidambaram said that the situation in Andhra Pradesh "has changed" since the Centre sanctioned a Telangana state two weeks ago. Chidambaram pointed out that the centre's decision was made after political parties arrived at a consensus at a meeting called by the Andhra Chief Minister, K Rosaiah. Acknowledging that there are now wide differences, the Home Minister said that the government now needs to "hold lengthy discussions with all concerned in the process."

Chidambaram also said the State government must be allowed to focus on governance. "We appeal to political parties and students to withdraw their agitations and maintain peace and harmony."

goutham wrote: I dont understand the difference between the right way as opposed to a wrong way. This agitation has been going on for decades now. Will there ever be a right time?
Many of these people don't understand the difference between right way and wrong way.

Telangana as another state is not a big deal. But 50% of tax revenues come to AP from Hyderabad. If Telangana is separated, then Hyderabad tax revenues should be divided between Andhra and Telangana for a period of 15 to 20 years while Andhra capital is developed and central some resources are diverted to it. That is the right way. The goons led by KCR breaking cameras, slitting throats and threatening to kill employees in Hyderabad is wrong way.
Rahul Mehta wrote:
To this current AP mess, I proposed that we citizens should force AP MLAs to move a resolution that in 2014 and 2019, there will be a referendum in "Nizam area" of AP using voter list of 2009 whether Telanagna should be formed. This will zero out the existing crisis. And then APites have 5 years to remove ALL nepotism prone procedures in administration, courts. And if they do so, they demand for separate AP will reduce.

Next, AP should introduce reservation for class-III and class-IV positions in private as well as public sector in AP. This will increase job opportunity for Telanganites in coasta and seema and give them a reason to stay with AP. Chances are high that Telangana will stay if nepotism is removed completely and if reservation for APites come in coasta-seema.

Too many people have misunderstood my proposal as something that intends to divide AP. Well, all I want is to douse existing fire ASAP before it grows too big. And I want a mechanism where in people decide and not neta. Because if people decide, things will be better no matter which side AP goes and if things are left to neta, then each of them will sell out everything to highest bidder.

All this "Teli-coasta-seema" bhai-bhai will not reduce fire. Nor would 7 day fast, 14 day fast or even 21 day fast. Because everyone knows that fasts are 100% fake. If such slogans and fasting was to have any effect, fire would not have started to begin with. Get real and do something real over and above sloganeering.
I am from Andhra, studied in Telangana and married into a Telangana family. Imagine our dinner conversations as most of them support Telangana :roll:. I don't care either way. But I am stunned by the hate propagated by Telugus of Telangana .

OTOH, electing police chiefs, public prosecutors is good. We should also elect positions whichever affects large sections of administration such as local school superintendent.

But most importantly, we need to remove the power of nomination for politicians and power of giving precious resources such land away. They should be decided by people thru voting. We should not let political parties nominate candidates for parties. We should remove the power brokers and let the party members decide who gets the tickets (sort of Primaries). In India, people are less ideological than US. I think people will bring moderate candidates. This also will reduce caste power since people first woo the party electorate.

For all the hate Telugus in Telangana propagate, common Andhra man is as helpless as any one in Telangana when it comes to political exploitation. There is only handful privileged who take advantage of connections. For the rest, it is a fight against the system.

If we have another Hyderabad in AP, it is good for Telugus in Andhra and Telangana and good for India. I am sure Telugus in Andhra would not mind if Telugus of Telangana come and work there.