Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.

Re: Redrawing State Boundaries

To all other Telugus (all regions):
Regarding institutions or any such materialistic things in Hyderabad, there is no need to have such a Takleef. They all can be multiplied overnight in other regions. There is wealth and do you guys know the total budget of AP, it is about one lakh crore. It is not that difficult to build three more Hyderabads one in Rayalseema and Coastal regions. Vizag is really becoming one such city with things like ring roads etc. Discussing about few crores here and there is cheap.
Thank you for making the point. The overbearing takleef-mongering also serves to distract focus and excuse incompetence in this case.

I'd rather the new telugu rajyam to emerge after the reorg have multiple co-capitals - one in each region. Where the seat of gubmint stays in one co-capital city part of the year and then physically shifts to the next after that.

Re: States News and Discussions

quote="Muppalla" For full spice and who can understand Telugu:
It was even funny with the background song..entati rasikudavoi :rotfl:
His character is now successfully assasinated at the age of 85 :eek:? Is he of interest to any medical studies?

Gives a whole new meaning to Non Destructive Testing.

Look at it another way. :)

A lot of guys would wish that they had a character that could be assassinated at age 85.

He is only doing what a whole lot of officials do during working hours.

Political parties older than him have been doing the same to the country for more than a century.

All in a days work.

Muppalla wrote: The way they tried to pull the fast one on AP needs unity of Telugites even if they split in into two or three states. Just sitting in Delhi they created an instable environment and put fights between regions. At the end of the day all are blood related but some idiots decided to pull fast ones. There is a need to first recognize and as a Telugu community they need to punish these idiots even if we split.
I agree with this sentiment but have a take on this in the realm of CT:

Let's go with the premise that now AP represents the old UP: a key region that plays a *deciding* role on who controls power at center. YSR's loss (whether it was an accident or not) left the power vacuum in AP which jeopardized not only the current power equation but certainly the future one.

In order to ascertain as much power to itself and fracture the opposition, INC played this "untimely" card. I don't think KCR went into fasting on Jagan's call which was very normal for people to assume but INC to expect and play against it. This card virtually ensured INC (and TRS) the Telengana's 17(?) constituencies. By maintaining plausible deniability (now) INC can take a stab at at least the third of the rest 25 seats (split between 8- Rayalaseema and 17 Costa). Chiru and CBN are actually eating each other out even though they may not want it that way. So, all in all, for, of and by INCs.

One think we need to hand it to INC time and again is the their ability to engineer something. Look at how BJP and the entire NDA is behaving like headless chickens. Now that Naidu understands it, he wants to create the dent and eat into INC's Telangana's pie and hence playing the same tune.

But the excitement from Maoist and other subtle angle posted earlier are a cause of concern and need to be managed better.

One think we need to hand it to INC time and again is the their ability to engineer something. Look at how BJP and the entire NDA is behaving like headless chickens. Now that Naidu understands it, he wants to create the dent and eat into INC's Telangana's pie and hence playing the same tune.
I agree. Anyone remember that meena-gujjar tussle in Rajasthan that cost the NDA that state? All non-gandhian tactics - like train rokos, bus burnings and put-pressure on gubmint at riot-point had happened. Same story, different state.

>>>>By not coming up with any plan on how the split will happen and how AP will be compensated, Costa/Seema people are angry with Naidu.
Wow, poor guy. He did not initiate this entire drama; and it was Chidu & INC that put their thoughts. Why would Naidu be targetted?

Satya_Anveshi, I agree NTR had the vision of Andhra which the others never had. He was a great one.

Media is overplaying the issues and raking up passions.

Its all an INC game and we haven't seen the end.
anuj

Post by anuj »

Hyderabad is not for sale. Just because you put money in it doesn't make it yours!!! There are many countries investing in india. That doesn't mean they own our country pr lay claim to it like your doing it now. The fact is hyderabad is part of telangana. This is the exact attitude the telangana's blame on the andhra's. Like snatching and robbing and leaving nothing but chains.
Last edited by anuj on 26 Dec 2009 12:07, edited 2 times in total.

err... anuj, be careful with the metaphors you use. In sensitive discussions like this one, it is better to not use any kind of animals as examples. 8) Why not speak in simple way, present facts and opinions but in a way that won't fan any simmering flames?
anuj

Post by anuj »

@archan
All im getting is "extremist telanagana's are attaching andhras", "it is right". "you haven't answered by question", "Andhra's have property in hyd", "are they supposed to leave them"...

What there asking for is an outright yes and no answer. They want me to answer is violent protest is good or bad. How the hell can you argue with this questions?

certainly not by using metaphors like vultures. We try to restrict our usage of animal kingdom nomenclature to the paki thread. :P
anuj

Post by anuj »

Here's what i think is happening in AP:

Centre already had plans to separate the region. They first used there "secular?" credentials to win over kosta and seema. They infiltrated AP in the form of AP congress. After YSR gone, they figured they had the balls to lay it rolling. Right now AP congress has been left in the lurches. Fearing any backlashes and in attempt to win over both andhra and telanagana, it sometimes says "the process is moving forward" and sometimes it says "it is on hold for the time being".

Telangana would have never happened it they had put there weight behind TRS. So what do they do? They infiltrate the enemy. They win over there hearts. They gift them reservations. They win there will power. They become there masters. And then they make there move. What can the AP congress really do? They just got owned by the centre...

The centre has the power to create telangana whether andhra wants it or not. But they play is like a true chanakya. Like sun tzu - Deception!!! They infiltrate there enemy with words like "secularism". They win over there will. And at a right time, they follow it with a surprise attack, deceive.

But they play it like a true leader. The congress wants both telangana and andhra. They play it hard to get to both. They will win over andhra by giving it a portion of hyd. They will win over telangana by giving it telangana.

Sounds like a conspiracy theory but you need to be a cynic on a another level to figure out congress. The congress and the BJP are the same. The BJP creates a lot of noise while working Creates a lot of enemies. The congress works like a snake. Infiltrates the enemy. Finally deceives it with a surprise attack.

You attack an enemy to engage.

But to win
, you befriend your enemy, you win over it's will, you pre-determine it's future moves and then you deceive it by launching a surprise attack. That's how you win a war.

How can Telugus win?

If you see the way KCR and his goons are attacking the TDP it is very clear that they are well supported by congress. Congress wants to finish off TDP now in Telangana and by sending Chiru into a pro united platform it has ensured anti congress vote is divided in costal and Rayalaseema areas. Win win situation for congress.

It is true that with 42 seats AP was instrumental to bjp's power and later under ySR to congress power. Now congress wants to keep it within its grip for next 10 -15 years.

Muppalla wrote:Actually christians/EJs are less in Telangana region and their expansion is more in other parts of AP. AP becoming Christian state is some paranoidism going on here. Even if we put all the crypto-christians into the mix and then also exaggerate just for pure propagand purposes the total christian population will never reach more than 25% of the population. Couple of districts in the south coastal AP with an "exaggerated count" may reach 35%. (Exaggeration is by putting certain castes all into Christians count even thought they may have 0.0000001% converted).

Having said that one thing related to this aspect is during the YSR+Sonia mafia/cabal regime, the EJs and their international peddellers got a firm foothold with slush money for their activities. That is true and visible. The funny fights that are making grapevine is the fights are between Catholic based mafia Vs. Protestant based mafia.

Yes, it has reached a critical mass/point but not in the way some BRF members are writing here. It is in the form of not-being-able to expand further than what has already been achieved.

The proposed new state of Telangana will probably exchange one set of critical mass for another.

http://www.ummid.com/news/December/12.1 ... uslims.htm

The writer seems to have raised some thoughtful points.

When the separate state of Telangana is carved out, whenever that is, the Muslims would be at a demographic advantage. Their proportion will increase to 12.43 % from 9.16 % in a United Andhra.

District Hindu Muslim % Christian Total
Mahbubnagar 3193932 296975 8 18800 3513934
Rangareddy 3063118 408281 11.43 89893 3576064
Hyderabad 2121963 1576583 41.16 92915 3829753
Medak 2334169 296486 11.1 34651 2670097
Nizamabad 1983275 338824 14.44 16204 2345685
Adilabad 2207843 236844 9.51 14751 2488003
Karimnagar 3251834 213811 6.12 20576 3491822
Warangal 3028537 177217 5.45 33354 3246004
Khammam 2406066 137639 5.29 30777 2578927
Nalgonda 3040212 170553 5.25 32452 3247982

Total 26630949 3853213 12.43 384373 30988271
anuj

Post by anuj »

ramana wrote:How can Telugus win?
What do you mean? Two telugu states will have the same old no. of lok sabha seats won't it? Plus two telugu states will penetrate deeper psychologically. Your posts about this have more than once pointed at foreign hands. I would like to hear them. I do not think they will sound more ridiculous than this post of mine.

CT Alert,

The American Embassy starts in Hyderabad, and the CIA wants to experiment, if there are other Faultlines in India apart from Hindu-Muslim angle. They enrol KCR and YSR was already in their Payroll (a. Usually the Intelligence Agencies play on both sides, ref. movie "Body of Lies", their objective was just to test the faultlines, and destabilize, doesn't mater who wins, who looses, b. TELUGUs are the single largest immigrants from India for the last 20 years, c. the Agents in Hyderabad want to prove their credintial back home by showing their influence in POLITICIANs and MEDIA)

Unfortunately YSR is dead (they were using him for EJ activities). Now KCR has to do something, which he does, but sensing that it is very difficult to Fast from Karimnagar, he wants to quit the Fast, but he gets pressure from Telangana vaadi's from USA, so he continues the fast from NIMS where he can do fasting for 90 days without any problems to his health using TPS). Congress senses the CIA game, genuinely thinks that the state can be split peacefully, as all the party's are supporting the separate Telangana, and they can call CIA's bluff. They announce "Telangana". The faultlines erupt, CIA Objective is fulfilled, now, they just dont care, if Telangana vaadi's win or United Andhra Vaadi's win. They will fish in the Troubled waters.

Now CIA wants to test its capability if it can influence Media, they start with ABN Andhrajyothi, and do a sting operation to malign one of the important Constitional Heads of Indian Democracy, they get lucky with ND Tiwari. Again, their objective is fulfilled, they dont care for consequences, they have proved their mettle to influence the Media.

I think Hyderabad Embassy is more efficient than Bombay and Madras
Last edited by TKiran on 26 Dec 2009 21:11, edited 2 times in total.

A lot of guys would wish that they had a character that could be assassinated at age 85.

He is only doing what a whole lot of officials do during working hours.

Political parties older than him have been doing the same to the country for more than a century
Old Man Tiwari has resigned for "health reasons" :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .. Well he seemed fine when he was romping in bed just a couple of days ago!. Seemed all hale and hearty really.

All the same, the Congress Party's spokesman's comments take the cake.

"Tiwari has taken on a higher moral position by resigning!" . :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: . A great way Congress party has got in elevating moral standards !. I just hope the Congress spokesperson follows Tiwari's "morally elevating" examples.

If only India had a comedy night show of any class, we will have the equivalent of this classic on the Billy Boy/ Lewinsky affair.
"I didn't ask her to lie in the deposition , I asked her to lie in disposition! "

vina wrote:[
Old Man Tiwari has resigned for "health reasons" :mrgreen: :mrgreen: .. Well he seemed fine when he was romping in bed just a couple of days ago!. Seemed all hale and hearty really.
http://www.hardnewsmedia.com/2009/12/3384

This is showing up in Tiger woods news search in google

he wants to quit the Fast, but he gets pressure from Telangana vaadi's from USA, so he continues the fast from NIMS where he can do fasting for 90 days without any problems to his health using TPS)
I heard from Usually Impeccable Sources Hu Insisted on Anonymity Because They Are Not Allowed to Speak But Do So Anyway, that these "fasts" include a couple of periods per day of Total Privacy. Apparently the place smells of idli-sambar immediately thereafter.

A pooch :?:

I do not see any materially significant number of “Telengana’s” pushing for a united Andhra Pradesh but than I am a novice on the matter.

Is there a materially significant number of “Telengana’s” who want to continue as part of a united Andhra Pradesh or is that a close to extinct species?

arun wrote:A pooch :?:

I do not see any materially significant number of “Telengana’s” pushing for a united Andhra Pradesh but than I am a novice on the matter.

Is there a materially significant number of “Telengana’s” who want to continue as part of a united Andhra Pradesh or is that a close to extinct species?
About five years back, Deccan Chronicle conducted a survey. 51% from Telangana areas opted for separate state. That means a substantial did not think it as useful anymore. But it is a survey across districts and hence cannot be considered as referendum.

My take - Even those who think it is not necessary may think the seperation as not a bad idea if given a chance :). There are couple of districts apart from Hyd that are really not sentimental about this.

It is unclear, where do things stand. Can someone do a BRF poll on the issue?

Poll on:

- United Andhra
- Two states Telangana & Andhra

Also, if it is possible to say in the poll, if your heritage is from:

- Telangana region
- Outside of Telangana, but within current AP
- Other state in India
- None of the above
anuj

Post by anuj »

If the centre was so fond of YSR activities, then why didn't they make YSR Jr. the immediate CM after him? I think YSR was very powerful and rallied the entire AP congress stock behind him. The centre had no choice but to greet him while turn a blind eye on his activities. The dislike between the centre and the YSR power became very apparent when they made rosiah CM instead of jagan.

If it was infact a foreign ploy then centre would have went ahead with the separation while YSR was alive, expecting his blessings. The fact that it happened immediately after his death tells that it was done with haste. Why? To possibly cut the YSR power in size.

Jagan might have had some hand behind KCR's fasting but i don't think he predicted that his move would only piss off the centre. His attempt to become the AP CM by making seem rosiah a weak CM might have back fired on him. After all, who in this forum ever thought that a southern state would divide? If anyone is wishing hard for YSR's resurrection, then it is jagan himself.

Long back, I had expressed my own CT - Chiru was propped by INC.

Muppalla,

Thank you.

anuj wrote: If it was infact a foreign ploy then centre would have went ahead with the separation while YSR was alive, expecting his blessings. The fact that it happened immediately after his death tells that it was done with haste. Why? To possibly cut the YSR power in size.
Anuj,

Read my CT, and tell me if that explanation was plausible
anuj

Post by anuj »

TKiran wrote:
anuj wrote:If it was infact a foreign ploy then centre would have went ahead with the separation while YSR was alive, expecting his blessings. The fact that it happened immediately after his death tells that it was done with haste. Why? To possibly cut the YSR power in size.
Read my CT, and tell me if that explanation was plausible
I can't seem to make a straight face after reading that KCR is on CIA payroll.

With so many aspirators for a new statehood in our country, do they even need to test these faultlines? It's very easy to raise communal/regional discord and besides normalcy being affected what do they get out of it?

What will happen when telangana and andhra separate? Will the people arm themselves in the borders and wait for a civil war? Or will the people in both the regions go back to there own lives? Will hate among telangana still manifest itself after they are assured the initialization of separation? Did the people who are threatening the andhra's now threaten anyone a month ago? Will migration end after separation? Do the telangana-centric parties serve any purpose after the separation?

If telangana was not a possibility during YSR's rein, then what makes you think that CIA has any part to play in this?

What are the christian websites saying over this formation? Is the tone in favour of it or is it not?

This is what i found.
Church burned down amid Telangana protest in AP
Hindu extremists set fire to church in Andhra Pradesh

Could we see the sudden surge in Telangana agitation as a consequence of global-economic meltdown and shrinking EJ funds to AP region?

Where is the counter strategy by TDP or PRP? It is far more easier to take a stand against separation and ascertain the 25 seats in (rayalaseema and coasta combined) and still create a major impact in the telangana heartland. The latest data point - the previous elections is in favor of them. In the last election people have decisively voted against the separation.

Core issue is that of economic and less of "identity" though it is a small factor and the unified stand/grand strategy can be devised to promise that development.

TDP has by far the most effective media coverage/backup but yet we don't see any articulation. He is all the time reacting.
SwamyG wrote:Long back, I had expressed my own CT - Chiru was propped by INC.
SwamyG, Chiru is too popular an asset to have been used as backup or for alternative strategy. He could have been and still has potential to be an NTR. But I agree it is not entirely unimaginable that he is being "aided" by INC and the guy may not have realized his true potential.

TDP was caught off guard and is now trying to gain back its feet.

As for PRP, I too had great hopes but they turned out false. The leadership is interested in diverting the anger and dividing the votes for a price. They have led the their votebank astray.

ramana wrote:TDP was caught off guard and is now trying to gain back its feet.

As for PRP, I too had great hopes but they turned out false. The leadership is interested in diverting the anger and dividing the votes for a price. They have led the their votebank astray.
[*]TDP was caught off guard in the elections that has seen their defeat first time - "Free power to farmers"
[*]TDP was caught off guard when TRS was propped up; They completely ignored long term impact of it
[*]TDP was caught off guard when RPR was formed; PRP, by design, would be eating into TDP vote bank; The only differentiating factor (although a major one from AP politics perspective) is Chiru is Kapu. The guy is literally taking down TDP with him. You can do at least 1 ND Tiwari a week on Naidu and with it everything goes down. There is no second level "leader" in the party.

Satya_anveshi wrote:SwamyG, Chiru is too popular an asset to have been used as backup or for alternative strategy. He could have been and still has potential to be an NTR. But I agree it is not entirely unimaginable that he is being "aided" by INC and the guy may not have realized his true potential.
Just simple charisma will not do in politics. Like you say NTR had a vision; so if Chiru has to excel he needs to articulate clear vision by words or by action. I was working in Hyderabad during CBN era; I so often heard how CBN roamed around with a laptop doing Lotus Notes presentation (it could be simple rumor); but he ably placed Hyderabad and AP on World IT map. Much of the construction boom and other rosy picture is because of him. One might be able to charge him for neglecting other areas; but then in my opinion we will miss what he did. MGR, from TN, used to think image is paramount. CBN probably did not think it was that imporant.

RamaY wrote:Could we see the sudden surge in Telangana agitation as a consequence of global-economic meltdown and shrinking EJ funds to AP region?
Please elaborate. TIA.

SwamyG wrote:
Satya_anveshi wrote:SwamyG, Chiru is too popular an asset to have been used as backup or for alternative strategy. He could have been and still has potential to be an NTR. But I agree it is not entirely unimaginable that he is being "aided" by INC and the guy may not have realized his true potential.
Just simple charisma will not do in politics. Like you say NTR had a vision; so if Chiru has to excel he needs to articulate clear vision by words or by action. I was working in Hyderabad during CBN era; I so often heard how CBN roamed around with a laptop doing Lotus Notes presentation (it could be simple rumor); but he ably placed Hyderabad and AP on World IT map. Much of the construction boom and other rosy picture is because of him. One might be able to charge him for neglecting other areas; but then in my opinion we will miss what he did. MGR, from TN, used to think image is paramount. CBN probably did not think it was that imporant.

CBN also commissioned the McKinsey Consultants AP Vision 2020 report of how to transform AP into a modern state.

ramana wrote:CBN also commissioned the McKinsey Consultants AP Vision 2020 report of how to transform AP into a modern state.
I wish he was given at least another opportunity. He should have had continuous terms; with his zeal and vision he would have made good progress. Would he have made the city or state like Singapore or Malaysia, probably not. But he would have left them far better than what he inherited.

PVNR and CBN two unheralded gems from Andhra bhoomi / Andhra desam / Andhra Nadu {somebody said even this was being considered to rename the State}. Does "Nadu" mean anything in Telugu?

ps: In my above statement Andhra means the whole State of AP.

I agree with you for the most part on CBN. I, for one, especially liked the Janma Bhoomi program. A program that generated mass movement and attempted to bring people's equity in the progress. However, not sure why that didn't get carried on. He has sailed on the base that NTR provided and did a decent job. I wish he could build on it.

What is the issue with the poll? Who locked it and why?

TOIlet headline: After sex sting, AP governor Tiwari ejects prematurely
It may have been so tempting to the reporter to say "ejaculates" instead of ejects :rotfl:

ramana wrote:TDP was caught off guard and is now trying to gain back its feet.

Failure of PRP has a very simple reason. They started off on a maoist/leftist ideology but with a backdrop of getting some castes out of TDP's basket. On top of that their electioneering was way off with selling off seats to all sundry. The worst is Chiranjeevi failing to win the seat from Kapu heartland. I do not think they have a future.

For a long time in AP, before the entry of PRP and TRS there was no division of votes of middle castes and that helped TDP to rule for 25 years. In 2009 election, INC vote share decreased by 10% and still they won. If the same type of swing occured in say 2004 it would have been a total rout.

Times of India has a nice headline.
After Sex Sting, AP Governor Ejects Prematurely!