Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

The Military Issues & History Forum is a venue to discuss issues relating to the military aspects of the Indian Armed Forces, whether the past, present or future. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
Carl_T

Re: Newbie Corner & Military Miscellaneous

Post by Carl_T »

"Dogfighter" - the term "dogfighter" was romanticized by WW1 and WW2 books. (eg "Biggles"). Dogfighting may be something that is going to go into the history books. Aircraft are now becoming so maneuverable that the weak link in the chain is the pilot who cannot remain conscious if the "dogfight" maneuvers go beyond a particular value of G forces. Human endurance is the limit imposed on maneuverability and even if an a/c with 3DTW s super-maneuverable it is useless beyond a point The way ahead is long distance shootdown (BVR AAM) but that is limited by issues of accurate identification of friend or foe. Another area to look ahead at are unmanned UCAVs
Appreciate the info, my only experience with planes has been Microsoft combat flight simulator. :)
Mayuresh

Post by Mayuresh »

Team, a newbie question again.

Why so most warships not have long range SAMs? I have been thinking a lot about the big ships in the high seas and the kind of equipment they need. Let us assume this scenario:

India has managed to fit the Brahmos on the Sukhoi. We send some of these (with appropriate escorts) to hit PNS Zulfiqar. The air arm goes within 300km of PNS Zulfiqar and launches the Brahmos missiles. At USD 3 million per unit, we send 5 missiles at the ship at the same time and they attack the ship from five different directions (Front, Aft, Port, Starboard and Top attack). The two CIWS Gatling guns (with a range of 3 km) surely cannot destroy 5 missiles coming from five different directions in 2 seconds (Assuming a Mach 1.5 terminal velocity for the Brahmos).

Ofcourse, we win in this scenario, but a similar thing could happen to our Rajput class or Delhi class if China manages to develop an air launched long range cruise missile and gift it to TSP.

Mayuresh wrote:Team, a newbie question again.

Why so most warships not have long range SAMs? I have been thinking a lot about the big ships in the high seas and the kind of equipment they need. Let us assume this scenario:

India has managed to fit the Brahmos on the Sukhoi. We send some of these (with appropriate escorts) to hit PNS Zulfiqar. The air arm goes within 300km of PNS Zulfiqar and launches the Brahmos missiles. At USD 3 million per unit, we send 5 missiles at the ship at the same time and they attack the ship from five different directions (Front, Aft, Port, Starboard and Top attack). The two CIWS Gatling guns (with a range of 3 km) surely cannot destroy 5 missiles coming from five different directions in 2 seconds (Assuming a Mach 1.5 terminal velocity for the Brahmos).

Ofcourse, we win in this scenario, but a similar thing could happen to our Rajput class or Delhi class if China manages to develop an air launched long range cruise missile and gift it to TSP.
I can think of a few reasons why your proposal has not happened till date. That doesn't mean it will not be implemented in the near future. Quite the contrary.

1) IRC, Almost all ships today have SAMs. Plus, many of the smaller ones do have CIWS as well. The fact is that there are limits to how much equipment and armament one can put on a ship, not in terms of weight limitations but space.

If you have a ship thats designed for a given purpose, it will require that amount of hardware, weaponry, sensors to perform that role. FOr eg, The Rajput, a destroyer will require cruise missiles and their radars, along with medium cal guns. The rest of the stuff is then added on to the empty spaces.

Note that we are still some distance from having an integrated sensor, ie a radar that can guide two or more weapon systems efficiently. Thus, most modern ships have a dedicated sensor for each weapon system. Add to that the Comm reqts and all else, and you see the mast getting quite crowded.

In this environment, putting an LRSAM will also require a pretty big surveillance radar, which we might not have space for.

2) In addition, given the threat perceptions, it is unlikely that the enemy would target smaller frigates and corvettes before dealing with carriers and destroyers. Hence, they get the most protection.

3) Even that might be insufficient per your scenario, but that is where the idea of threat assessment comes in. You cannot make your ship unsinkable without seriously degrading its fighting capabilities. Its a risk that needs to be taken, and a very carefully calculated one at that.

4) Another reason not to go in for the longer range SAMs till now was that there werent any good systems we could get our hands on. The LRSAMs at present weren't much more effective than the MRSAMs, since radar tech and missile tech were not at the level they are at the present. Thus, there was no incentive to upgrade. Its only now that we are getting true & potentially effective LRSAMs under development.

Another reason is that with LRSAMs, the minimum engagement range goes down. Thus, you lose a close-in, quick reaction system by placing the LRSAM in place of the MRSAM that you'd have put. Thus, its a liability, especially if your LRSAM isn't that good. Overall risk increases. Again, risk assessment comes into play.

5) Also do note that protection isn't limited to SAM systems and CIWS. There is always a lot more to missile defence, which includes the tactics, operating & evasive procedures of the ship, intelligence, etc. It has to do with staying out of sight. Only as the last resort, when the ship is detected and tracked and considered important enough to waste a missile or two on, does the role of the SAM come into play.

Answered your question??

Mayuresh wrote:Team, a newbie question again.

Why so most warships not have long range SAMs? I have been thinking a lot about the big ships in the high seas and the kind of equipment they need.
The question should be worded as "why do Indian warships not have long range missiles?" For instance, Tomahawk cruise missiles have a range of 2500 miles, but the Indian Navy does not operate them.

Speaking of the Brahmos, it was a joint project between India and Russia and IIRC they couldn't publicly go past 300 km range without violating a few clauses in the MTCR treaty of which Russia is a signatory. I imagine if a new missile system was fully developed by India with no intention of exporting it elsewhere, the range could be much more.
Mayuresh

Post by Mayuresh »

k prasad wrote:1) IRC, Almost all ships today have SAMs. Plus, many of the smaller ones do have CIWS as well. The fact is that there are limits to how much equipment and armament one can put on a ship, not in terms of weight limitations but space.
2) In addition, given the threat perceptions, it is unlikely that the enemy would target smaller frigates and corvettes before dealing with carriers and destroyers. Hence, they get the most protection.
3) Even that might be insufficient per your scenario, but that is where the idea of threat assessment comes in. You cannot make your ship unsinkable without seriously degrading its fighting capabilities. Its a risk that needs to be taken, and a very carefully calculated one at that.
Answered your question??
Yes, thanks! I am wondering if it is a good idea to have a battle group of ships not based on a central carrier / cruiser but all small vessels operating as a team, one carrying the radar (equivalent of AWACS), one carrying SAMs, one carrying brahmos (extended range) one designated for ASW operations, etc. all can have stealth features and CIWS for self protection. Advantage is that we can carry a more powerful radar and since the vessels are smaller, are not as visible on the enemy radars. And use this battle group withthe express mission of sinking enemy ships.
Again, I am just thinking aloud, so it is not a foolproof idea and pls feel free to punch the holes in it

Bob V wrote:
Rahul M wrote: can't they use quad racks ?
no (as of now since one among the ATGM types to go onboard, has already been selected ), because there are restrictions on the amount of weight that one can hang on the outboard stations.
what is the limit of the outboard stations ? I'm sure its not restricted info.

and which ATGM has been already selected ? are you talking of something other than HELINA ?
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

Gurus any help please :(
Hi....I am looking for some good books on the following topics. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Wars fought by India especially 1962 one.
2) On our Intelligence agencies.
As far as I know Mr RN Kao didn't write any books or did he ??
If there is anything that Mr Kao wrote & is availaible in the market, can somebody please let me know about it.
3) There was this book written by Ex-RAW that created a huge controversy & then eventually a case was filed in the court against the author. Unfortunately I could remember neither the book's name nor the author's.
4) Any good book related to terrorism affecting South Asia.
5) Finally any good book store in Delhi where one can find books related to Armed Forces easily. Actually, couple of them that I'd been to had only novels & some similar stuff.

sunny y wrote:Gurus any help please :(
Hi....I am looking for some good books on the following topics. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1) Wars fought by India especially 1962 one.
Plenty on the 62 war. *** are my rating - five is best. 1 is poor

Himalayan Blunder - Brig J P Dalvi (Brig Commander) *****
Fall of Tawang - Niranjan Prasad (Div Commander) **
The Untold Story - B M Kaul (Corps Commander) *** (for coverage , not for truth)
War in the Himalayas - D K Palit (DMO) **
The Red Eagles - K C Praval *****
Indian Army Since Independence - K C Praval ****
The Unfought War of 1962 - J R Saigal **** (for controversial topics)
India's China War - Neville Maxwell **** (controversy - outsider chinese sympathetic view)

But first - download the Official History from the BR Land Forces, War sections and read it if you need a free book
sunny y

Post by sunny y »

Thanks a lot Jagan Sir :)

Any recommendations for intelligence realed books.....Thanks once again sir....

A question about NVGs.
I remember that in 26/11 thread, it was said that NVGs were difficult to use because they work on the principle of light amplification. So even rifle flash was problematic when using NVGs. Also, if the light was suddenly turned on, the user would have gone temporarily blind. So, to overcome this problem, it was suggested that NSG should acquire NVGs for single eye.
However, my question is what about active infrared and thermal vision. Would they not overcome this problem? Have they not yet reached the portability to be used in NVGs? If one was to go by movies and video games, one would assume that they are portable enough for the job. But what is the reality?

^^^ Boss my knowledge of NVGs is quite minimal, I reckon that the infrared and thermal goggles would also be equally affected by a sudden surge of light in the same way as an NVG. The point that I think may be the saving grace of thermal and infrared is if they are able to adjust faster than the NVG so as to focus back once the initial light surge has disapated...but then I guess the users eyes too have to be able to bear that change...JMT

http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/at ... 1156852669

What's that pod with red tip on the IL-78s ?
George J

Post by George J »

jamwal wrote:http://www.militaryphotos.net/forums/at ... 1156852669

What's that pod with red tip on the IL-78s ?
They are Bedek AAR refueling pods (there are three of them) which is part of the Bedek AAR system installed on the IL-78.

Dhanyawaad.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

I am a well full of newbie questions: why are US Special Forces personnel big huge muscular guys, but ours aren't? From the Special Forces thread the Indian SFs seem to look like normal, but physically fit men. Are "huge" SF soldiers a well-photographed minority, while the rest of SF personnel aren't? I suppose Ehud Barak doesn't look very imposing and he was an SM officer.

I'm not saying that as a remark against Indian SFs, I'm sure they're an excellent group of soldiers.

Carl_T wrote: I am a well full of newbie questions: why are US Special Forces personnel big huge muscular guys, but ours aren't? From the Special Forces thread the Indian SFs seem to look like normal, fit men.

I'm not saying that as a remark against Indian SFs, I'm sure they're an excellent group of soldiers.

Then again Ehud Barak doesn't look like Tarzan and he was an SM officer.
BTW if you are talking about Green Berets, they are not all big muscular guys and it is not a criteria, those predominantly in DA spec ops look like that.
It probably depends on genetics and diet. :-? besides does being big really help? I mean Gorkhas are small people but have turned to be fierce warriors.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

Mayuresh wrote:
k prasad wrote:1) IRC, Almost all ships today have SAMs. Plus, many of the smaller ones do have CIWS as well. The fact is that there are limits to how much equipment and armament one can put on a ship, not in terms of weight limitations but space.
Answered your question??
Yes, thanks! I am wondering if it is a good idea to have a battle group of ships not based on a central carrier / cruiser but all small vessels operating as a team, one carrying the radar (equivalent of AWACS), one carrying SAMs, one carrying brahmos (extended range) one designated for ASW operations, etc. all can have stealth features and CIWS for self protection. Advantage is that we can carry a more powerful radar and since the vessels are smaller, are not as visible on the enemy radars. And use this battle group withthe express mission of sinking enemy ships.
Again, I am just thinking aloud, so it is not a foolproof idea and pls feel free to punch the holes in it
Would there be a big reduction in size though? You're only taking out one ship, and other ships are also big I would think that taking out a carrier would really reduce the the projection of naval power as I think you wouldn't be able to achieve air superiority.

Just IMO.
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

pgbhat wrote:
Carl_T wrote: I am a well full of newbie questions: why are US Special Forces personnel big huge muscular guys, but ours aren't? From the Special Forces thread the Indian SFs seem to look like normal, fit men.

Then again Ehud Barak doesn't look like Tarzan and he was an SM officer.
BTW if you are talking about Green Berets, they are not all big muscular guys and it is not a criteria, those predominantly in DA spec ops look like that.
It probably depends on genetics and diet. :-? besides does being big really help? I mean Gorkhas are small people but have turned to be fierce warriors.
Maybe I'm wrong, perhaps hand-to hand combat isn't a big priority for SF, but at that close range, big, strong, fast guys seem to have a big advantage.

And would you not agree that for climbing mountains, endurance marches and all other physical feats requiring stamina, bulk would pose huge disadvantage? I mean, how many mountain climbers and marathon runners are bulky? :wink:
Carl_T

Post by Carl_T »

Gaur wrote:^^
And would you not agree that for climbing mountains, endurance marches and all other physical feats requiring stamina, bulk would pose huge disadvantage? I mean, how many mountain climbers and marathon runners are bulky? :wink:
You're right, but I'm not talking about soldiers like the SFF, I was thinking about the Indian SF personell that are comparable in role to the DEVGRU, CIA SOG etc,

I guess it all depends on where the priorities are. In IA, the priority is stamina and endurance. That may have much to do with the fact that most of our border terrain is of mountain. Whatever the reason, stamina and endurance are the key words in IA training. Naturally, this is also carried over to SF. Have you seen an Indian majdoor (labourer)? IA soldiers aim for somewhat that kind of physique. Though I must admit, any other person would look down at such a physique.
In fact, if I were to complement an Indian by saying that his body looks like that of a majdoor, he would probably take great offense at it.
But bulk is not everything, this is a lesson learn by US the hard way when they trained with us. Just look at the IDF for example. They are said to be the only army which IA really respects. They do not look anything like TFTAs, do they? Yet, they are among the best.
You would also be interested to know that the best of US SF guys (whether they be Delta, Rangers, DEVGRU) are said to be lean rather than bulky.
Last edited by Gaur on 04 Jan 2010 01:52, edited 1 time in total.

Good points. May be it would benefit IA to have a little variety in physique as well. :lol:
Such builds might be helpful in carrying 0.50 cal during DA. :-?

Carl_T wrote:I am a well full of newbie questions: why are US Special Forces personnel big huge muscular guys, but ours aren't? From the Special Forces thread the Indian SFs seem to look like normal, but physically fit men. Are "huge" SF soldiers a well-photographed minority, while the rest of SF personnel aren't? I suppose Ehud Barak doesn't look very imposing and he was an SM officer.

Carl this is a very interesting question and I believe the answer is less simple than one would think.

If you look at photos of GIs in WW1 (and WW2) you find that they were skinny. But none are so skinny nowadays. This has more to do with more (and possibly excessive) nutrition that American children have been receiving when you compare the 1920s with the 1990s. It is now being said of the American population in general that they cannot grow taller, but will only grow fatter.

But this trend is true for India as well. As a schoolboy in the 1960s I used to see skinny Indian recruits training. 40 years later - I find myself playing golf in an Army course and the young recruits are much beefier than they used to be. Indians, with better nutrition are growing taller and bigger. When I was young I used to find that my own height was more than average. I look at the people of my children's generation and find that my own height will be "average" as well fed kids grow taller.

There is yet another trend which affects young men. In the US, young men got into the business of fitness and gyms decades ago creating beefy young men at a time when Indian men were stick-like arms inside capacious bush-shirt sleeves flapping in the wind. In the last decade India men have been doing that and it is now getting common to see young Indians with bulging muscles - which was very unusual in my childhood. This will spill over into the Indian army too - it is probably already happening.

But there is a downside to beefiness, which was recorded in a book I have about important battles. In Vietnam, beefy US soldiers required huge rations, while the wiry Viet Cong could manage literally on peanuts.
Venu

Post by Venu »

One Noobie question..

X-Posting from Indian Military Aviation thread
A Sharma wrote:Same pics on militaryphotos.net
Indian Navy using the roundel of IAF?
Interesting!

Venu wrote:
Interesting!
Painted in Russia before delivery?

Venu wrote:One Noobie question..

X-Posting from Indian Military Aviation thread
Interesting!
how is it different from http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Images/Harrier8.jpg ?
or this http://vayu-sena.indianmilitaryhistory. ... 430-01.jpg ?

Carl_T wrote:I am a well full of newbie questions: why are US Special Forces personnel big huge muscular guys, but ours aren't? From the Special Forces thread the Indian SFs seem to look like normal, but physically fit men. Are "huge" SF soldiers a well-photographed minority, while the rest of SF personnel aren't?
The "huge" SF soldiers being the well-photographed ones is somewhat close to the truth -- everyone needs good recruiting pictures. Not everyone in US SF is a big beefy bodybuilder though. One guy who was a former SF said that there were quite a few skinny people in his group. He said that these skinny guys usually had the advantage over the super muscle-bound guys when it came to doing endurance stuff. He also said that looks could be misleading. During the training program, many bodybuilder athlete types with huge bulging muscles would drop out, while a leaner wiry guy you think wouldn't make it, would end up graduating,

Cmdr. Marchinko in one of his books said that when he joined the UDT training course, he was built like a bodybuilder, but his swim buddy assigned to him was a toothpick, and they both ended up graduating. He also echoed the SEALs come in all shapes and sizes statement. He mentions that when he formed SEAL team Six, the guys in that team also looked like the rest from the other SEAL teams in that they came in different shapes and sizes, but after a while they all had huge chests because, unlike the rest of the SEAL teams, Six's specific mission involved hostage rescue and he made them bench-press weights every day so that they could climb ropes carrying a lot of gear. Other than that, he said they looked like your average man on the street.
Venu

Post by Venu »

Rahul bhai, I remember reading some time back that IN has removed the white color in its roundel to reduce visibility. Also, some guru in our very own BR had referred IN adapting to low visible roundel color scheme.
Venu wrote:One Noobie question..

Interesting!
how is it different from http://www.bharat-rakshak.com/NAVY/Images/Harrier8.jpg ?
or this http://vayu-sena.indianmilitaryhistory. ... 430-01.jpg ?
Ain't that roundel looking different from this one on IN Harriers in here? IN Harriers with US Strike Sqandron F/A-18F

On a side note, even the one without white color in it is distinctive when compared to the US one. Hope to see IN also going for a watermark kinda roundel.

The new roundel (devoid of the white) is only for some (the one's painted in ghost grey cammo scheme) of the SHARs otherwise for most of the other AC (fixed/rotary) in IN inventory the old one is still in use.

example
Venu

Post by Venu »

negi wrote:The new roundel (devoid of the white) is only for some (the one's painted in ghost grey cammo scheme) of the SHARs otherwise for most of the other AC (fixed/rotary) in IN inventory the old one is still in use.

example
Thanks Negi.

But, ain't the Black Panthers got ghost grey cammo?

Anyway, that pic from you is so apt in answering my question. Probably thats why it is often said -A picture is worth a thousand words :)

Rahul M, thanks for you too..

Ducking out,
Venu

negi wrote:The new roundel (devoid of the white) is only for some (the one's painted in ghost grey cammo scheme) of the SHARs otherwise for most of the other AC (fixed/rotary) in IN inventory the old one is still in use.

example
Ironic. See the name on the pic.

Why is developing and deploying a BMD system construed to be 'aggressive'. Is there any logic behind such insinuations. Or is it the typical porki delusions and lahori logic?

Because once it is mastered and said platforms deployed in sufficient numbers they will drastically affect the adversary's first strike capability and eventually their confidence in MAD .

tsriram wrote:Why is developing and deploying a BMD system construed to be 'aggressive'. Is there any logic behind such insinuations. Or is it the typical porki delusions and lahori logic?
Because if I want to hit you, you must stand by and get hit and not raise an ABM to protect yourself you insolent infidel.

tsriram wrote:Why is developing and deploying a BMD system construed to be 'aggressive'. Is there any logic behind such insinuations. Or is it the typical porki delusions and lahori logic?
Because if I want to hit you, you must stand by and get hit and not raise an ABM to protect yourself you insolent infidel.

negi, pandyan

thanks!
shiv wrote: Because if I want to hit you, you must stand by and get hit and not raise an ABM to protect yourself you insolent infidel.
Mayuresh

Post by Mayuresh »

The newbie is back!

I was wondering if the era of dedicated attack aircraft is over, with all newer aircraft designs featuring multi-role characteristics?

I have no idea which aircraft shall replace the jaguars and Mig-27 in the IAF? All i can see is them being replaced by multi-role aircraft rather than dedicated attack aircraft carrying a lot of A-G ammunition.

for those kind of roles yes, but we may still have dedicated CAS aircraft in the future of the A-10/Su-25 category.

Rahul M wrote:for those kind of roles yes, but we may still have dedicated CAS aircraft in the future of the A-10/Su-25 category.
Trivia: The USAF has confirmed that they shall be continuing with the A-10s till 2028 and may be even beyond that!

Close Air Support?

Or are we meaning Battlefield Air Strike?