Telangana Monitor

The Strategic Issues & International Relations Forum is a venue to discuss issues pertaining to India's security environment, her strategic outlook on global affairs and as well as the effect of international relations in the Indian Subcontinent. We request members to kindly stay within the mandate of this forum and keep their exchanges of views, on a civilised level, however vehemently any disagreement may be felt. All feedback regarding forum usage may be sent to the moderators using the Feedback Form or by clicking the Report Post Icon in any objectionable post for proper action. Please note that the views expressed by the Members and Moderators on these discussion boards are that of the individuals only and do not reflect the official policy or view of the Bharat-Rakshak.com Website. Copyright Violation is strictly prohibited and may result in revocation of your posting rights - please read the FAQ for full details. Users must also abide by the Forum Guidelines at all times.
a_kumar

Re: Telangana Monitor

Post by a_kumar »

Telangana (Hyd excluded) numbers should satiate your requirement? What information are you expecting there that would support the statehood movement?

Satya garu,
Excluding Hyderbad, it is still 19/100 vs 16/100 and 18/100 of other parts. Are you suggesting that the migration happened into other parts of Telangana as well so the picture is incomplete even when excluding Hyderabad?

Also lets say it turned out to be actually 15/100 (meaning less than other parts).
- Should we then discard the progress that was made and put Telangana almost on par in last 50 years?
- Should we also discard the pattern that may very much continue to take Telangana in the direction of higher numbers?

I know you have been carrying a considerable burden in this exchange, being the one of the very voices defending the line rationally, and highly appreciate it.

But, that also begs the question.. why is it so? (Before Anuj jumps in with "you are calling us XXX/YYY/ZZZ", it is a sincere question to better understand the perspective)

Ofcourse, the line of arguments on this forum don't necessarily indicate the origins, but if I were to use that simplistic method, I barely see 2-3 (Satya/Anuj) posters on one side. Can I safely assume others are not???
Last edited by a_kumar on 06 Jan 2010 23:52, edited 1 time in total.

anuj wrote:Why should you ask Andhras if they want to give up Telangana? It’s like taking a referendum in Britain to ask if India should be given Independence.
Not that we need to talk about every point the OU-JAC makes, but I thought we need to clear the ground on this one.

Telangana is not getting "independence" from Andhras. They are seeking a state carved out of Andhra Pradesh, within Indian Union.

Since the new state has to be "carved" out of another state, it is reasonable to take Andhra public opinion. Whether this happens or not is a different matter.

The tone and rhetoric of OU-JAC and certain sections of Telangana political leadership is self-defeating.

Rahul Mehta wrote:Re : statistics.
The Telies' complain is not about under-development of Telangana region, ...
The first complaint is always about the how the region has been discriminated in development (complaints about water, irrigation, education), how they were deprived of water and irrigation due to the conspiracy of Andhrites. I always used to give credence to that development issue until I saw the real statistics including the Human Development report of 2007.

I did some of the research on some of the facts 108 facts being touted all over the internet and pasted here as propaganda. Many of the claims are just claims. Some examples...

Dummugudem Hydal power station never even started construction – this remained a promise on paper.
http://www.blonnet.com/2009/02/20/stori ... 661700.htm
Gayatri Projects wins 2 AP Govt orders

Our Bureau

Hyderabad, Feb. 19 Gayatri Projects Ltd, an infrastructure company, on Thursday announced that it has bagged two orders worth Rs 2,132 crore from the Andhra Pradesh Government for construction-related works.
Gayatri Projects has formed a joint venture with Ratna Infrastructure, Gayatri-Ratna Joint Venture’, to execute the projects.
Gayatri Projects holds 80 per cent in the venture, while Ratna Infrastructure Projects’ share is 20 per cent.

The projects have to be executed within a period of 54 months.

Mr Sandeep Reddy, Managing Director, Gayatri Projects Ltd, said, “We are confident of executing the projects on schedule.”

The first order from superintending engineer, Dummugudem Project Circle, is worth Rs 1,360.26 crore for constructing the 182 km-206 km Dummugudem-Nagarjuna Sagar Project Tail pond link canal and the second order, valued at Rs 771.36 crore, for the 206 km-244 km Dummugudem-Nagarjuna Sagar Project Tail pond link canal.

Veligonda project is being constructed on war footing basis. This will drain 60 TMC of water from Srisailam. This project is not allotted (water share by tribunal) and do not have clearance till now.

This has gone thru a lot of approvals including from central agencies.
http://www.thehindu.com/2009/07/22/stor ... 190400.htm
“Full level” forest clearance for Veligonda

HYDERABAD: The Veligonda project under construction in Prakasam district based on the surplus waters of the Krishna river has finally secured a “full level” forest clearance from the Union Forest Ministry.

This followed an approval to the project issued by National Wildlife Board. Similarly, the canal being excavated between Gorakallu and Oak reservoirs under the Galeru-Nagari Sujala Sravanthi project has also secured the necessary forest clearance. Announcing this to the media here on Tuesday, Major Irrigation Minister P. Lakshmaiah said alternative lands were being provided for afforestation against the loss of forests lands under the projects.
http://www.hinduonnet.com/fline/fl2413/ ... 211600.htm

SLBC - Srisailam Left Bank Canal, despite of all recommendations, Clearances and permissions never started. This would have provided 30 TMC for 3 Lakh acres in Nalgonda district.

This project is in progress and in dispute because of Karnataka Govt. objecting it on the basis river water sharing agreements.

http://www.processregister.com/Srisaila ... id4456.htm
http://waterbangalore.blogspot.com/2009 ... itter.html
Krishna river, Andhra Pradesh vs Karnataka
Dispute: Barrages on the river built in Karnataka. The dependable water in the Krishna is about 2,060 tmcft. Karnataka's share is 734 tmcft, Maharashtra's 585 tmcft, and Andhra Pradesh's share is 811 tmcft, under Scheme A, which has been fixed at 75% dependability of water available in tge Krishna basin.
What AP says:Senior AP government officials say the Krishna river in Andhra Pradesh has been facing the problem of less flow, and blame the barrages built on the river in Karnataka for the reduced water flow. Interestingly, the tribunals that had awarded the water shares hadthat Karnataka would get its share of 760 tmcft before releasing any water to Andhra Pradesh. According to a survey by the AP government, there are about 56 such small projects taken up by Karnataka, all without formal approval and contrary to the water sharing agreement. AP has asked the Centre to stop Karnataka from executing Kavalur Barrage, Yadagir Barrage and Sannati Barrage on the Krishna.
What Karnataka says: The Krishna water dispute started because Andhra Pradesh is eager to draw the excess water while Karnataka is yet to build infrastructure to fully utilise its share of the water. Karnataka has also objected against 11 projects by Andhra Pradesh, including the Telugu Ganga, Srisailam Left Bank Canal, Srisailam Right Bank Canal , Bhima Lift Irrigation Project, Pulichintala Irrigation Project, etc, saying these projects allow AP to utilise the extra water. Current status: The states of Maharashtra, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh are awaiting the setting up of a tribunal to award the water under Scheme B.
Devadula Project, provides water for 5 lakh acres, was promised to be finished in 5 yrs in 2001, yet to begin work. The funniest fact is, Sriram sagar is yet to be completed for last 40 yrs which provides water for just 4 lakh acres. Telangana people are supposed to believe the promise.

http://www.thehindu.com/2008/03/15/stor ... 840400.htm
The first phase of India’s biggest lift irrigation project, Devadula, became operational on Friday when engineers activated its pumping system at a function near the intake structure at Gangaram overlooking the Godavari, marking the visit by UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi.[
A lot of other claims also are not sound based all the data I have seen in the Human Development Report of 2007.

That does not invalidate small states argument. But that was not the basis with which Telanagana movement started.
Rahul Mehta wrote:Re : statistics.
... but their vibe is that all opportunities in Telangana were devoured by Costa. This may be true, because in 1960s, Costas dominated netadom, babudom, judocracy etc. and while Telies got into netadom due to election, they could not penetrate into babudom, judocracy as they are nepotic institutions.
This is most likely true in public sector. Considering that it was the public sector that was providing all jobs in AP till mid 90s, this can tilt the balance. We need to explore this to fully understand the state demand.

Migration, Migrants, immigration, settlers are tricky words.

Do you go to 1956 to qualify migrant/settler status? Do you consider person born in Hyderabad is settler or native?
But after 1956 it is AP moving from one place to another is everybody's right. Yes, from 1823 to 1948 it can be considered immigration. *

Migrations were common when Nizam has whole area. Some of current day Telengana people may very well be people moved from Coastal (CA) and Rayalaseema (RS) areas. Some of current CA+RS people may very well be Telengana people.

KCR ancestors were from Bobbili. Is he settler? I'm not sure when they migrated. But if it was in Nizam area moving from Coastal Srikakulam (Chicacole) to Medak (Methukuseema) was no big deal.

* Quiz: what is history of 116 rupees (noota padaharulu) given as marriage gifts
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

Most Hyderabadi Muslims love to claim Arab descent. How does that qualify them? :eek:
Atleast some of them in the Barkhas area are of Arab descent. The Nizams are of Turkmen descent.

a_kumar wrote:Excluding Hyderbad, it is still 19/100 vs 16/100 and 18/100 of other parts. Are you suggesting that the migration happened into other parts of Telangana as well so the picture is incomplete even when excluding Hyderabad?
Though it fits well with my personal observations which I said many times (one cannot see Telanganites in other region but whole bunch of andhrites can be seen in Telangana districts) but if it were true, then it does not any good for the conclusion reached by author.

I am not saying discard the progress. I am saying we need to see things in perspective. I am not reaching definitive conclusions but others are. I am pointing that out.
I barely see 2-3 (Satya/Anuj) posters on one side. Can I safely assume others are not???
Surprises me too.

Just because they are not vocal doesnt mean they are not out there.
At the root of it, its an emotional response that Telangana under-development is somehow related to integration with Andhra Pradesh. The reality is that there was a failure of leadership on all sides to remove this wrong perception.
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

My Grandfather came to Hyderabad from Amalapuram in the 1950s, right after AP formation I believe. He got a job as a Telugu/Sanskrit Professor in Osmania University in spite of not having "mulki" certificate. He got the job because there was nobody to teach Telugu and Sanskrit in OU, and nobody could be found locally for the job. Believe me there wasn't any nepotism or such non-merit factors that got my Grandfather the mentioned job in OU. Now, my father was hardly a teenager then. He wasn't born in "Telangana", but did all his studies in Hyderabad. I was born in Hyderabad. So, am I a migrant? Or, is our larger family a migrant family? My Grandfather got a few jobs for a few relatives based on merit in OU and the Education department of the AP government. Does this mean jobs have robbed from the sons of the soil?
SandeepA

Post by SandeepA »

If the 'dochukunnaru' and 'conspiracy' claim is discarded then I dont see what is the point in splitting hairs here about migrantion and dates. Is it illegal to move to another place in India in search of better opportunity? Have some Telanganites not migrated elsewhere? With a big city like Hyderabad there will be hardly any localites..most of Hyderabad will be populated by migrants from villages, cities, towns both nearby and far off. Where do you draw the line?
Or is the takleef only about Seema/Costas moving to Hyd? How unfair is that?
I myself am a 3rd generation Costa settled in Hyd and I cant even locate the village of my forefathers on the map. I know of no 'dochuko' motivation in my family. What does that make me?

Telenganavadis chose wrong enemies for statehood.

* To hide their failures, Tvadis deflected anger towards Andhra people.
* To hide their screw-ups, Central Congress and government also deflected Telengana people towards Andhras as enemies.

When enemies are from North, they turned south for fighting in a wrong battlefield with wrong battle.

South is in not in the same battlefield, South is fighting different battle in different battlefield (refer previous posts and Yanamala Ramakrishnudu comments I posted)

Districts can get out from AP after referendum. If it is case, "90% of AP people are in favour of Samaikya Andhra"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lourJUpRF_A
Last edited by ShyamSP on 07 Jan 2010 01:49, edited 1 time in total.

Telangana State Will Not Form At Any Cost
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpGLHR-EkMs

Is Operation Roll-back in effect?

- Telengana Congress leaders were also as corrupt as YSR&co. Dusting off some papers will make them fall in line

- TRS/KCR will also fall in line (By bringing corruption and human trafficking cases on KCR)

- Telengana TDP was ignored by Chidambaram (denied their voice)

- OU-JAC showed themselves in poor light from the Naxalite-like speeches that came out of there. (We don't allow Andhras after Sankranti. We'll burn party buildings, etc..)
Last edited by ShyamSP on 07 Jan 2010 02:05, edited 2 times in total.

ShyamSP wrote:Telenganavadis chose wrong enemies for statehood.

* To hide their failures, Tvadis deflected anger towards Andhra people.
* To hide their screw-ups, Central Congress and government also deflected Telengana people towards Andhras as enemies.

When enemies are from North, they turned south for fighting in a wrong battlefield with wrong battle.

South is in not in the same battlefield, South is fighting different battle in different battlefield (refer previous posts and Yanamala Ramakrishnudu comments I posted)
This is not coincidental. Unless you make Kosta/Seema people the villains, how do you think you can ask for separation from them? If they just blame the politicians and Chanda Reddys, then there is very little case.
So you have to make Kosta/Seema people the villains in everything starting from 1956.

Irrigation Projects - Costa guys diverted all water.
Colleges/Universities - Blame Kostas not PVNR or Chanda Reddy who is busy looting the whole AP. They diverted everything to Hyderabad. If they are that smart, they would have diverted everything to Vijayawada/Vizag.

Development - If there are no industries, Blame Kosta/seema people that diverted all industries to Kosta/seema. If there are industries in Telanagana started by Kosta/seema people, blame them for colonization.

Remember this?
5) 65% of Industries in Telangana are owned by Andhra.One Telangana person (close relative of Sri Jaipal Reddy) tried to start industry in west Godavari, he was harassed and tormented so much that he gave it up half way through.
If the statistics say it differently, blame Kosta/Seema people for doctoring them. You can win this every time. Just say we don't trust because it is all prepared by Kosta/seema people

Project delays - Blame Kosta/Seema people. There are inter-state/central disputes, approvals needed. But hide them and blame those people.

Frame everything as Kosta/Seema vs Telangana...
6) All Telangana region CM's combined tenure is hardly 6 years.
It is actually 10 years but forget facts. They are not that important in debates.
If you consider the history of AP, people don't decide the CM. Indira Amma from Delhi decided CMs. Sonia Amma/Prince Rahul decides now. The only difference is when NTR and Naidu won the power. What do you expect NTR or Naidu to do? Win 200 seats and select a diffent guy to become CM? Every one voted for Niadu/NTR with a hope that they will become CM and change their lives. Kosta/Seema/Telangana all voted for them.

Property Values - Blame Kosta people if they go up. Blame them if they go down now.

Damned if you do, Doomed if you don't :rotfl:
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

ramana wrote:Just because they are not vocal doesnt mean they are not out there.
Ramana garu,

That is what perplexes me. They are surely out there, but what keeps them from pitching into the conversation.

I have several acquaintances and friends in my circle from Telangana districts (infact, in one circle, I am the minority!), but I don't see that level of contribution on this forum or others.

While some are clear in their stand, some others see it as a political game and, but with the rest, I sense a little awkwardness on this topic.

Or maybe they contribute in forums that are dedicated to the cause.. I don't know.

[deleted]
Last edited by ShyamSP on 07 Jan 2010 02:30, edited 1 time in total.

a_kumar wrote:
ramana wrote:Just because they are not vocal doesnt mean they are not out there.
Ramana garu,

That is what perplexes me. They are surely out there, but what keeps them from pitching into the conversation.

I have several acquaintances and friends in my circle from Telangana districts (infact, in one circle, I am the minority!), but I don't see that level of contribution on this forum or others.

While some are clear in their stand, some others see it as a political game and, but with the rest, I sense a little awkwardness on this topic.

Or maybe they contribute in forums that are dedicated to the cause.. I don't know.
There is angst and it gets exploited periodically by politicians and rabble rousers. What I hope to hear from our folks here is what is the angst and what can be done short of new state to mitigate and root out this angst. We do not allow the angst to be directed at past and hence there could be transfer of anger at new players. We need to channel this angst to better the society as a whole and not be dissipated by divisive propaganda.

Backgrounder on Prof Jaishankar from TOI

Chasing the Telangana dream since 1952

Subodh Ghildiyal, TNN 5 January 2010, 02:59am IST

NEW DELHI: In 1952, a young intermediate student from Osmania University walked in with a bunch of friends to tell the 1st States Reorganisation Commission that Telangana should not be merged with Andhra into a grand state. And why. He was all of 18 then.

Tuesday will mark a poignant moment for Jayashankar when he walks into North Block to plead why Telangana region should be separated from Andhra Pradesh, an argument which has endured over six decades.

If there is a thread joining Telangana's continuing appeal over 62 years and four generations, Jayashankar may be it. The man, however, underplays his role in the struggle for statehood. "I have just sensitized the people of Telangana through research and academic studies, and by educating them on injustice," the statehood ideologue said.

It will be yesterday once more when the former vice-chancellor of Kakatiya University, along with TRS boss K Chandrasekhara Rao, makes a forceful plea for division of AP at the all-party meeting called by Centre on Tuesday. "Telangana is bound to come. I am optimistic," the academic-turned-activist told TOI.

His pursuit of one dream in a lifetime may be a record of sorts. Telangana has erupted at regular intervals and Jayashankar has been in the forefront always. He was a teenaged activist when he met the first SRC.
Then, in 1962, he was part of a campaign which rocked the region. As a lecturer, in 1968, he participated in the revived agitation.

The big hope came when he worked with Channa Reddy in 1971 in what is remembered as the most successful Telangana upsurge since 1947. It again resulted in disappointment till the retired professor of economics came across a rebellious TDP leader to forge a new statehood platform — TRS.

"I never joined a party," he said, adding, "My range is from RSS to TRS. Anyone who stands for Telangana can be done business with." This time, however, the 76-year-old says Telangana is round the corner. He has not given up hope.
He seems to add key element of commitment. So what are his reasons. Couldnt be Andhra exploitation in 1952!

Can we find a good summary of his point of view?
Sarma

Post by Sarma »

Clearly, "Prof." Jayashankar wants Telangana from the beginning, i.e. since 1952, when the wretched costa/seema vultures did not even have the opportunity to "dochukunnaru" Telangana. He always wanted T and could later find "justification" for his agenda. He belongs to the 1/3rd I referred to in my earlier post, i.e. those who wanted Telangana before there was AP. I think he belongs to the group of people who were always apprehensive about "domination" by costa/seema people. Nothing can change their views.

Despite that fear he made out well: Vice Chancellor, adviser, lead agitator on many occassions and now eminence grise (leading light) of T movement!

a_kumar wrote:
Ramana garu,

Ramana and a_kumar,

It does not behoove you to involve in such shadow boxing. You created a straw man (about participants..like we really care) and without presenting zilch of evidence on participants, you make your own commentary assuming that there are participants that are not willing to join.

Why are you taking such cheap pot shots at Telanganas like this? There are Telangana participants (besides 2) or there are not? Either present facts or STFU, if I humbly say so.

A few quotes from Wiki pages on Telangana

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Telangana
In December 1953, the States Reorganization Commission was appointed to prepare for the creation of states on linguistic lines. The States Reorganization Commission (SRC) was not in favour of an immediate merger of Telangana region with Andhra state, despite the common language between the two.

Para 382 of States Reorganization Commission Report (SRC) said "opinion in Andhra is overwhelmingly in favour of the larger unit, public opinion in Telangana has still to crystallize itself. Important leaders of public opinion in Andhra themselves seem to appreciate that the unification of Telangana with Andhra, though desirable, should be based on a voluntary and willing association of the people and that it is primarily for the people of Telangana to take a decision about their future". Telanganas had several concerns. The region had a less developed economy than Andhra, but with a larger revenue base (mostly because it taxed rather than prohibited alcoholic beverages), which Telanganas feared might be diverted for use in Andhra. They also feared that planned dam projects on the Krishna and Godavari rivers would not benefit Telangana proportionately even though Telanganas controlled the headwaters of the rivers. Telanganas feared too that the people of Andhra who had access to higher education, would have the advantage in government and educational jobs.

The commission proposed that the Telangana region be constituted as a separate state with a provision for unification with Andhra state, after the 1961 general elections, if a resolution could be passed in the Telangana state assembly with two-third majority.

Chief Minister of Hyderabad State, Burgula Ramakrishna Rao strongly believed majority of Telangana people were against the merger.[6] :?:

Prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru initially ridiculed the idea of merging Telangana with the Andhra State, fearing a “tint of expansionist imperialism” in it. :?: Later, he compared the merger to a matrimonial alliance having “provisions for divorce” if the partners in the alliance cannot get on well.[7]
And from the page on Dr B R. K. Rao's page

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Burgula_Ramakrishna_Rao
He was the first and the last elected Chief Minister of the former Hyderabad State and it is a historic fact that after two and a half centuries of Asaf Jahi rule of Hyderabad State, a Telugu man became the Chief Minister and ran a popular administration of the State for almost five years till the State was trifurcated and Telangana merged with Andhra to become Andhra Pradesh.

He took several significant steps for the welfare of the people, including the historic `land reforms' in the State. The passage and implementation of the famous Hyderabad Tenancy and Agricultural Act of 1950, followed in 1954 by Hyderabad Tenancy and Agricultural lands (Amendment) Act, was an important signpost of land reforms in the country. Dr. Rao not only provided the conceptual framework for these Acts but also piloted their passage and vigorously pushed through their implementation, providing tenancy rights to those who had been cultivating lands for some time. :!:

Dr. Ramakrishna Rao's contribution to the formation of Andhra Pradesh was immense and in fact he was the architect of the State. As a seasoned politician and statesman, who could foresee the shape of things to come and feel the pulse of the people and the need for an integrated State of Telugu-speaking people, he put his weight as the elected Chief Minister of the State in favour of Visalandhra, which helped the formation of a united Andhra Pradesh on November 1, 1956. Being aware that he was not to lead the new State, he exhibited great foresight, spirit of sacrifice and statesmanship in agreeing to merge Telangana with Andhra State to give birth to Andhra Pradesh. Dr. Pattabhi Seetaramiah, the then Governor of Madhya Pradesh, paid glowing tributes to his statesmanship and for taking up the cause of Visalandhra. K. M. Munshi, thus eulogises the contribution of Dr. Rao to the formation of A.P. "In 1956, Hyderabad with its predominantly Telugu-speaking population was integrated with the State of Andhra, which had been formed in 1953. Thus was born Visalandhra, thanks primary to the self-abnegation and selflessness of Dr. Ramakrishna Rao."

From November 1956 to July 1960, Dr. Ramakrishna Rao was the Governor of Kerala and subsequently Governor of Uttar Pradesh till April 1962. He was later elected to the Rajya Sabha, which he served from 1962 to 1966. He died on September 14, 1967.

And his arguements to UN Dhar the INC President of that time.

http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Hyderabad ... out_merger

The arguements are quite well written and clearly stated. No hinting or hedging. I wish we could summarize in tabular form.

I am preplexed at JLN the PM and popular historian on his remark about 'expansionist Imperialism" What did he mean by that? How can there be imperialism from Telugus or was he worried about the old Deccan empires with core Telugu lands at the heart? Is it because the scattered Telugus are the second largest population in India?

And is this driving the situation now?

ramana wrote:Backgrounder on Prof Jaishankar from TOI

Subodh Ghildiyal, TNN 5 January 2010, 02:59am IST

NEW DELHI: In 1952, a young intermediate student from Osmania University walked in with a bunch of friends to tell the 1st States Reorganisation Commission that Telangana should not be merged with Andhra into a grand state. And why. He was all of 18 then.

Tuesday will mark a poignant moment for Jayashankar when he walks into North Block to plead why Telangana region should be separated from Andhra Pradesh, an argument which has endured over six decades.

If there is a thread joining Telangana's continuing appeal over 62 years and four generations, Jayashankar may be it. The man, however, underplays his role in the struggle for statehood. "I have just sensitized the people of Telangana through research and academic studies, and by educating them on injustice," the statehood ideologue said.

It will be yesterday once more when the former vice-chancellor of Kakatiya University, along with TRS boss K Chandrasekhara Rao, makes a forceful plea for division of AP at the all-party meeting called by Centre on Tuesday. "Telangana is bound to come. I am optimistic," the academic-turned-activist told TOI.

His pursuit of one dream in a lifetime may be a record of sorts. Telangana has erupted at regular intervals and Jayashankar has been in the forefront always. He was a teenaged activist when he met the first SRC.
Then, in 1962, he was part of a campaign which rocked the region. As a lecturer, in 1968, he participated in the revived agitation.

The big hope came when he worked with Channa Reddy in 1971 in what is remembered as the most successful Telangana upsurge since 1947. It again resulted in disappointment till the retired professor of economics came across a rebellious TDP leader to forge a new statehood platform — TRS.

"I never joined a party," he said, adding, "My range is from RSS to TRS. Anyone who stands for Telangana can be done business with." This time, however, the 76-year-old says Telangana is round the corner. He has not given up hope.
He seems to add key element of commitment. So what are his reasons. Couldnt be Andhra exploitation in 1952!

Can we find a good summary of his point of view?
He is definitely an ideologue. This what he wanted do achieve in his life. He was trying to figure out how to use any situation that comes along in every stage of his life.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kothapalli_Jayashankar
(i)Associated with the efforts for getting statehood for Telangana since 1952, till now. (ii) Authored a large number of articles and research papers, in English and Telugu, on various aspects of Telangana Problem. (iii) Was instrumental in forming the Telangana Development Forum (TDF) in U.S.A. in the year 1999. (iv)Was invited by the American Telugu Association (ATA) U.S.A., to speak about the Problems of Regional Disparities in Andhra Pradesh during their biennial conferences held in July 2000 and July 2002. (v) Was invited by the Telangana Development Forum (TDF) U.S.A. to give a series of lectures on various facets of Telangana Movement in ten major cities of the United States during July/August 2000. (vi) Currently is the Chairman of Centre for Telangana Studies which is engaged in research and publication relating to problems of Telangana. (vii)Is the founder member of Telangana Aikya Vedika and, at present, is on its Executive Committee.
http://www.pucl.org/reports/AndhraPradesh/naxalites.htm

There is definitely huge support from different vested interests such as Naxalites and politicians.

Naxalites have a reason to support Telanagana. A weak state will only help them in staging a comeback. Vara Vara Rao is a big naxalite ideologue. He threw his weight behind and was in Student Gharjana.
Naxalites would like to use any opportunity to spread discord and tighten their grip.

Look at this:

From CRZ to SEZ: Naxal reins of terror
http://resistanceindia.blogspot.com/200 ... chive.html
It was in August 2001 that the idea of establishing a Com-pact Revolutionary Zone (CRZ), from the forest tracts of Adilabad (Andhra Pradesh) to Nepal, traversing the forest areas of Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Bihar, was conceptualized at Siliguri in a high-level meeting of the Maoist leaders from India and Nepal.

Th primary aim of CRZ is to facilitate the easy movement of extremists from one area in the proposed zone to another. The concept of CRZ was essentially seen as a prologue to the further expansion of Left-wing extremism in the subcontinent. Looked from this angle, the notion of CRZ seems to be moving in the right direction, for, there has been a remarkable Maoist growth between 2001 and 2007 in both India and Nepal.
As of now, while the Communist Party of Nepal- Maoist (CPN-M) has joined the interim Government of Nepal, their Maoist counterparts in India have carved out several guerilla zones in different parts of the country.

What was once a utopian concept, the idea and reality of CRZ in India has indeed made big strides. While the Maoists were busy executing their mega plan of CRZ, the economic policy of India marked a dramatic shift with the Government of India announcing the setting up of Special Economic Zones (SEZs) in its Export-Import Policy 2000

As per the SEZ Act 2005, SEZs are geographical regions that have different economic laws to the rest of the country to facilitate increased investments and economic activity. The politics engulfing the whole issue of SEZs has definitely acquired a Maoist flavor, as can be clearly ascertained from the happenings of Kalinga Nagar, Singur and Nandigram. Recent happenings on the SEZs front shows that the idea of SEZs, which was originally formulated as a development strategy, has now become a rallying cry for Left-wing extremism. Couple of months back, during their ninth unity congress, the top ranking Maoist leadership from 16 Indian states decided to launch violent attacks on SEZs and projects that displace people.

The question is: Is Prof. Shankar using naxalites or is it the other way around?

As every one who lived in Warangal knows, PUCL is a front end for naxalites. He has been active in their circles

http://www.pucl.org/reports/AndhraPradesh/naxalites.htm
Prof. Jayasankar referred to the backwardness of Telangana region. He said that while one need not necessarily endorse the policy of Naxalites, one can not certainly accuse them for the lack of development of Telangana and say that they are hindering development. As a matter of fact, the evidence is to the contrary. There is no casual relationship between Naxalite movement and backwardness of Telangana. On the other hand, one should says that the Naxalite movement gained momentum because of neglect of Telangana. This hypothesis is can be demonstrated that the fact that is development is to be better where Naxalite movement is less intense, then a district like Mahbubnangar in Telangana should have witnessed greater development. He pointed out that Kothagudem Thermal plant is running efficiently even through it is located in a Naxalite area. One may say that peace is bought by paying money out of fear; but this is being done everywhere and to all parties and not just to Naxalites. Shri Jayasankar also pointed out that the 1968 movement for separate Telangana took place when Naxalite movement was in its infancy. He pointed out that while the river Krishna enters Andhra Pradesh in Mahbubnangar District, the district gets little irritation. There is a long history of neglect of Telangana. Ramagudem fertilizer factory is close due to the shortage of power is shown as another reason even though it is situated in the power belt. Prof. Jayasankar wanted to know which project has been abandoned due to Naxalites. Azam Jahi Mills was closed down long back. So was the case with Sirsilk. He asked who was responsible for the closure of industries started by Nizam. But though Vizag steel plant is also facing problems but it is being worked. He referred to the large scale employment of non locals in Telangana contrary to the Six Point Formula. He apprehended that Vision 2020 will widen the disparities further. He reiterated that Telangana was being neglected and observed that it is being correct to treat what ever development what is taking place in Hyderabad City as development of Telangana region.

In RECW during the 1969 and later years the Commies were with the Telangana student agitators. Even during the counter Andhra agitation in 1973.

Also read the role of commies and communalists before State reorganization in Dr. BRK Rao's letter.

Same as now! No change.
Commies are and BJP are for T state!

Also note the ref in wiki page on Dr jayashankar:

MIT

Want to bet a dollar to donut hole that Omar Khalidi isnt linked to him!

NC garu,

Your Facebook page

It is amusing to see the following terms from a learned person like you.

Telugu Tribe - is there such a tribe?
fate of our race?? :roll:
Telugu country? :roll:
Our future today rests with the leaders at the center, and opportunistic separatist politicians of our state

Who are those? CBN? KCR? Venkiah Naidu? INC congress politicians?
The leaders at the center neither understand our history nor have any interest in protecting our race :roll: .

Then why did Telugu leaders like CBN went in for Telangana? Do you club him under "opportunistic separatist politician?"

From here on, you take the next logical jump to medieval history - battle against Mughals / Delhi sultanates? :roll:

What makes you so insecure even after 60 years of our independent existence? What are the realistic consequences of having 2 separate Telugu speaking states?

Please elaborate when you get a chance.

The original arguement for and against the merger are listed in Dr BRK Rao's letter to UN Dhar.

http://en.wikisource.org/wiki/Hyderabad ... out_merger

For merger

I shall now briefly summarise the pros and cons of the situation. Those who desire the formation of Vishalandhra support their view on the following considerations:

1. Many of them would have desired the retention of Hyderabad State as it is at present, but since this is broken in linguistic pieces and since the big two pieces have gone to their respective linguistic units, the third also, viz. Telangana, should go to the large Andhra province.

2. The slogan of Vishalandhra has been in the field for a long time. It had its emotional appeal. In Hyderabad it represented the urge to break away from the feudal system. Hence they believe that Vishalandhra be formed to satisfy that urge.

3. The supporters of the Cultural Integration feel that it is better that two Telugu-speaking people living in contiguous areas should come together. For them there is a great cultural advantage in a bigger province. This is entirely an emotional approach to which a section of the literary people attach considerable importance.

4. In a bigger province, the expenditure of administration becomes less. Duplication and overlapping can be avoided. This is one important point in favour of Vishalandhra. There can be one Governor, one High Court, one Public Service Commission and many other departments can be reduced as compared to their double strength just now for two provinces.

5. There is also a belief that in a larger province there may be a larger scope for industrial development etc.

The enumeration of these points is rather illustrative than exhaustive.
Against merger
Those who are strongly agitating for the retention of Telangana as a separate province do so for, amongst others, the following reasons:-

1. They believe that the emotional urge for Vishalandhra has been considerably weakened after the formation of the separate Andhra state. It will further weaken with the creation of Telangana which is purely a Telugu state. There is no agitation of a strong character in Andhra on this subject while there is a strong agitation in Telangana not to merge with Andhra.

2. If a separate Telangana is formed, it will not practically upset anybody. Ideologists and the people with emotional approach will be a little disappointed but there will be no agitation. On the contrary if Telangana is compulsorily merged with Andhra there will be considerable bitterness in Telangana with no adequate advantage on the other side.

3. Telanganites feel that apart from being Telugus they have built up their own way of life during the last 175 years. This way of life is in many respects different from the way of life of the Telugus in Andhra. The merger, they fear, will destroy this way of life. That is why they are worried.

{how come PM JLN didnt recommend Art 370 and give Kashmir status to Telangana? 8)}

4. Quite a large number of Telanganites are Urdu-knowing and Urdu-speaking people. For more than a hundred years Urdu has had its place in the life of the people. The administration is carried on in Urdu, records are maintained in Urdu, courts conduct their proceedings in Urdu, lawyers and other professionals carryon their work in Urdu. They are, naturally afraid that the merger would take away the importance of Urdu in their life. They do not like this prospect. :cry:

5. Educationally Telangana is very backward as compared to Andhra. They are particularly backward in the study of English for which there are either no facilities or very poor facilities. They are, therefore, afraid that in the matter of service in a bigger province, they will be at a terrific disadvantage. While there are thousands of graduates and M.A's in Andhra, there are not even a few hundreds in Hyderabad. No guarantees can level up this great deficiency. Services, therefore, are afraid of an adverse effect of the merger.

6. Economically, Telanganites are afraid that they will be sufferers in Vishalandhra. On an average, Telanganites are poor people. They have no money reserves as some people in Andhra have. They are afraid there would be an immediate exploitation in land and even in trade, small and big. They have got many instances where Telugus from Andhra do not hesitate to exploit the Telugus from Telangana economically when they get an opportunity to do so. This is by far their biggest fear.

7. Although the language is common, there are instances that there is no love lost between the Telugus in both the states. The classical example of this mutual dislike can be found in the attitude of Andhra officers during the Razakar agitation and immediately after the accession of Hyderabad. While, they say, the Marathi, Kannads and other officers were comparatively kind to the people of Hyderabad, Andhra officers were particularly harsh and unrelenting. There are bad memories left. These memories are so fresh in the minds of the Telanganites that they do not want to be at the mercy of their brethren in Andhra. :?:

{Why would Andhra officers be harsh with Telanganas after Razakar agitation. What is the story here?}

8. The Communists and the Communalists, as in similar cases in other parts of India, having made common cause in demanding Vishalandhra, the other sections are rather doubtful whether it would lead to the happiness of the people on both sides. They believe that for the Communists and Communalists, it is a political game. They are not sincere in their support of a larger province.

{Remains same even now!} :mrgreen:

9. Those who desire a separate Telangana as recommended by the S.R.C. are prepared, as they say, for any test to ascertain the wishes of the people. They claim that in a test it can be found that a larger majority of Telanganites are opposed to the merger. They also claim that if elections are held on this issue they would not yield even a single seat either to the Communists, the Communalists or even the sponsors of Vishalandhra.

I had just finished high school student when 1969 Telangana agitation broke out. At first it was fun and games but then it took a serious turn. Army was called out to handle the widespread roiting and even that wasn't sufficient. It took till 1971 to finally quell the agitation. I was reading the account by Sri Nallmothu (Chap 17) and thinking of those lost days. We really were koopaka manduka. Not that its any better now.

Now with my BR awareness and understanding of things happening in India and the neighborhood (69-71) and the links of agitators to academia worldwide I wonder if it was all a local agitation then. Going by the old who benefits could lead us to interesting possibilities.

Telangana just two years away! (Jan 7, 2010) - Economic Times
There is expectation that tempers will cool down in the coming days. It would provide the government the required elbow room for kicking off the ground work for bifurcating the state.

But there is acknowledgement that status of Hyderabad would prove to be knotty. The Telangana proponents have already said the city is non-negotiable. According to them, Hyderabad is the heart of Telangana, both historically and geographically.

This could prompt the government to moot the idea of according a UT status to Hyderabad on the lines of Chandigarh. But unlike Chandigarh that shares borders with both Haryana and Punjab, Hyderabad lies deep within the proposed Telangana area.

Anti-Telangana bloc steps up pressure (Jan 7,2010) TOIlet
Congress MPs K S Rao, L Rajagopal, Rajamohan Reddy and state minister G Venkat Reddy said the claim that development in Telangana had suffered under AP was incorrect as facts showed that rate of development was better off than other regions on most of the paramters. :D "Telangana leaders should debate development instead of hiding behind emotive issue like self-respect," Rao said.
Rajagopal demanded a referendum in 22 non-Telangana districts on division of AP :rotfl: . He alleged that Telangana activists were threatening AP people, quoting statement made by a student in Osmania University.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

Satya_anveshi wrote: a_kumar, (no matter what your intention, I prefer it this way :). Thanks.

It does not behoove you to involve in such shadow boxing. You created a straw man (about participants..like we really care) and without presenting zilch of evidence on participants, you make your own commentary assuming that there are participants that are not willing to join.

Why are you taking such cheap pot shots at Telanganas like this? There are Telangana participants (besides 2) or there are not?
Satya_anveshi,

Its sad to see you falling into the same road of seeing ghosts everywhere.

If we are looking at the same numbers and still fail to find "any places of agreement", it is fair to say the factors could are not the obvious ones and are "non-quantifiable". How do we figure it out through the rhetoric?

As I have mentioned several pages ago, I am trying to gather information from the small windows of opportunities I get, just as yourself. Even though I have some Telangana friends and several acquaintances where I am and in AP, I prefer to not pick their brains too much in these highly-emotional times.

And lucky me, I find this thread!. Unfortunately, since you are the only one currently responding to posts with civil inputs, you got your hands full!!! In the meantime, can we not see malicious intent where there is none?

Telangana discussions continue
Even after failing to arrive at consensus during the all party meeting Union Home Minister P Chidambaram has not given up his hopes and continued discussions with representatives of different political parties to devise a mechanism to draw a road map to solve the Telangana issue here on Wednesday.

Representatives of different parties- the Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) founder Chiranjeevi, Congress member K S Rao, and Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS) chief K Chandrashekhar Rao placed their views during a one on one meeting with Chidambaram.

Congress leader K S Rao said: "We are requesting other side people also, that is the people who want separation, first think of restoring peace and think of dialogue with us to solve this problem."

The Centre is likely to constitute a committee to find ways for the peaceful resolution of the issue.

Meanwhile, the Congress is also likely to discuss the issue with its allies and leaders like Mamata Banerjee, Sharad Pawar and Dayanidhi Maran before taking any decision.

Addressing the media after Tuesday's all party meeting Chidambaram had said: "It is quite clear that the views of the political parties are divided. I summed up their views and will take them to the Prime Minister and formulate a course of action."

He also gave an assurance that a mechanism will be evolved within a "reasonable time frame to find a solution to the Telangana impasse."

Satya_anveshi wrote:Telangana just two years away! (Jan 7, 2010) - Economic Times
There is expectation that tempers will cool down in the coming days. It would provide the government the required elbow room for kicking off the ground work for bifurcating the state.

But there is acknowledgement that status of Hyderabad would prove to be knotty. The Telangana proponents have already said the city is non-negotiable. According to them, Hyderabad is the heart of Telangana, both historically and geographically.

This could prompt the government to moot the idea of according a UT status to Hyderabad on the lines of Chandigarh. But unlike Chandigarh that shares borders with both Haryana and Punjab, Hyderabad lies deep within the proposed Telangana area.

Good news 8) . So people don't need to get Red NAX visas for next two years to visit and stay in that country.

UT or Central adminstration of Hyd will be a Central fraud on Telugu people.
anuj

Post by anuj »

It's not a surprise. This forum is divided. Each has taken a side. There are very few here who talk in favour of telangana. Very few telanganites here or maybe they don't want to engage. There are forums on the internet where scores of telanganites talk about the cause so i guess they don't want to engage. But this thread is over-run with andhra's, no doubt about that. My applologies if that sounded derogatory. But there's nothing to hide. We know where each one of the members hearts lie. a_kumar, Ramana, shyam1, shyam2 etc etc have clearly put there weight behind united andhra. I and satya have put our weight behind telangana, though lately, satya has choose to be the bigger man by balancing himself to try to connect with the andhra crowd. While all other's have contributed nothing more than bias. a_kumar seemed to be trying to understand the situation but eventually dropped off the radar. It's very apparent to see that the objective of some people here is to find ways to stop the separation. Let me open them eye's a bit. Why do you think there are few or no participation's from the non-AP crowd in this thread?

Why? Maybe because, we sound likes little kids fighting over something that is inevitable. To them, we look like two groups who do not agree. That we might kick pakistani ass elsewhere but when faced against each other, we do not like each other. That we do not trust each other. And that's true. I do not trust these survey reports that your putting out here. Wouldn't i be a fool to think that a thief would mention his activities sincerely in a report. That's actually a bait. And the minute i take that bait i know im lost. Why would i go down that road? Im avoiding but im still participating.

Your being so hard, feels like im forced to squeeze in and pull my sh!t but your eyeing to snatch that away too.

Telegana has it own problems and I accept that. It is a stepchild, if you will or so was I led to believe when I was there.

However, they are all Telegus.

What is issue that would be overpowering to divide the State?

I have been in both Andhra and Telengana three times and hence I know something about both the areas, more so since I have travelled extensively and interacted.

Telengana is impoverished while the rest (as I saw) are rich. Is that the problem?

Can someone, without emotions, explain this conundrum and also what is the solution?

TIA

anuj wrote: Why do you think there are few or no participation's from the non-AP crowd in this thread?
Speaking for me alone,I think it is basically good manners.We shouldn't be meddle in our neighbour's affairs.Let the brothers sort it out.

Yet atleast two- Stan and RMji have expressed their sympathy for telengana people without supporting the demand.I have 'sympathy' for the 'plight' of telengana.
Ramanaji once characterised me as a rebel without a cause.I have sympathy for the underdog in an idealised way.But such momentous decisions are not taken swayed by simplistic emotions.

There are many wisened people throughout our nation who feel this will open up a pandoras box.
2)There is no groundswell of support in telengana
3)The Telengana agitationists are a one-issue/agenda wonder.
4)Many wise observers believe that all grievances can be solved under the present framework with some extra care and effort.
5)There is no real cultural-ethnic-linguistic divide.
6)Telugus were among the leading lights in Justice Party when they clamoured for reservation etc.I think it is nothing short of perfidy that andhras did not show the same sensitivities to telengana people when united andhra was formed.Clearly there is a lot of takleef about loot-maar in real estate in Hyderabad.I think telengana people should have their 'fair' share in loot maar whether among netas,judges or babus.

Infact this is the takleef PMK has with DMK as well.In the latest budget DMK has promised houses and engineering colleges seats for everyone.But not the top posts for 'everyone'.Infact ADMK created space for themselves by wooing sections neglected by DMK.This is going on in Bihar,UP,Karnataka,Rajasthan.It is called mandalisation.Smell the coffee.Shivji wants us to 'know' the real India. AP has been relatively immune.Its 'about' time AP catches up on 'lost' ground.
Last edited by svenkat on 07 Jan 2010 17:56, edited 1 time in total.

Anuj,
I want to remove any misconception.

I'm for united AP and it doesn't mean I'm anti-Telengana. I see all Telugu people with same perspective regardless of region.

I simply don't see merit of current state separation. If GOI provides merits and template for smaller states for better governance while maintaining respect for languages and regional diversity, I may be fine with redoing states based on it.

I see current attempt of separating AP is sinister attempt against Telugu interests regardless of region/district in AP and attack on language-based peaceful boundaries for last 50 years. My opposition is based on that and nothing to do with Telengana.

Last edited by ShyamSP on 07 Jan 2010 15:14, edited 1 time in total.

krishnapremi wrote:Clearly there is a lot of takleef about loot-maar in real estate in Hyderabad.I think telengana people should have their 'fair' share in loot maar whether among netas,judges or babus.
I'm sure there is fair share in loot-mar. Because of the corruption buttons available to press on politicians regardless of region, GOI/Central congress decided to do political experimentation of state separation.
Stan_Savljevic

Post by Stan_Savljevic »

anuj wrote: Why do you think there are few or no participation's from the non-AP crowd in this thread? Why?
I dont know about others, but for me this thread needs a ib4tl. Calling fellow-people pakis, calling them dhimmis, etc. just show the lack of cool-headed thinking. Much of the ululation on this thread is maaajar bakwaas. Like I whip this thread, I will say that there are many threads on the strat/mil/tech-eco/gdf side that all need a ib4tl. Any matter that per se does not deal with Indian furrin/ext/security-related affairs on the strat forum needs a lock. Any bakwaas-ly titled thread that is a lot of hot-air that goes by "national nonsense for 2050" or "future intercourse yada yada, now let me :(( cos sonia mata has stolen my shoe and also eaten it" needs to be locked and thrown down the toilet. Neither is this forum going to change matters on the ground nor is it going to debate things constructively. Ideally, the forum should analyze matters with a cool head, but logic, rationality, intelligence, common-sense, fairness, ideals, etc. are not always mutually coexisting.

This thread could have been an ideal foil to debate a second states reorganization, which is timely, necessary and important. Unfortunately, this thread has gone all the way from Balkanization to redrawing state boundaries to Telengana whinefest. And if some poster on this thread wonders why non-AP folk dont participate, he/she has to take his head from a concussion and stop seeing stars. As long as junkbond statements such as "Madras manade, Bellary manade, Ganjam manade" dont get made, non-AP people (I assume) will let this thread be the "joke of the day" thread.
Yet atleast two- Stan and RMji have expressed their sympathy for telengana people without supporting the demand.
Well, I used to be extremally anti-caste reservation before I entered the forum. Now I dont care. I used to be anti-status quo acts, now I am happy to state that wreck things and reorganize em with an economic quotient. Coimbatore would do a better job being in a reorganized Kerala as it is anyway closer to Cochin. [In fact, this was Kerala's demand pre-1956.] South TN centered around Madurai and Trichy make ample sense. North TN including Madras and Rayalaseema make sense. Anantapur and Bangalore make sense. Mysore and Coorg make sense. North Karnataka on its own would make sense. Vidharba too. Telengana separate. Tribal parts of Orissa and Chattisgarh should gel in well. Gorkhaland, Sikkim and Kamtapur would make ample sense. I could go on and on, and create as many enemies on this forum as there are people. But I am not going to ululate that my sacred TN is going to be ripped into pieces. I want economic growth and I am not a maximalist like Bharat Karnad. Anything and everything is game. And if those who whine about non-AP folk are keen on a fresh start after locking this thread and promising to come there with a cool head with a focus on logical and rational debating, I cant assure you about anyone, I will be there. See you soon or ib4tl.
A Deshmukh

Post by A Deshmukh »

anuj wrote:Why do you think there are few or no participation's from the non-AP crowd in this thread?
Anuj,
I am a non-AP working in Hyd for the last 4 years. Keenly watching and reading about both sides of the argument and trying to understand.

Telangana seems to have genuine grievances.
Particularly, the irrigation part, where dams and canal water has gone to Andhra area and not much to Telegana. This has made Andhra-ites richer and they have invested in Hyd and multiplied their money. This has created a lot of ill-will in the Telangana-ites.

The Govt jobs seem to have gone more to the Andhra-ites.
The worker class - maids, auto drivers are in favor of Telangana and think Telangana will solve their problems and they will get Govt jobs.
The educated class ridicule the demand for Telangana.

If the agitations and violence continues, one thing is sure, Hyd will loose; and both Telanganites and Andhraites will loose. Already MNCs are moving projects to other states. There will be enough 3-tier cities that will welcome companies and industries.

We need to look in the present and future, rather than looking into the past.

This whole agitation was started by politicians. We all know, who funded who and for what reasons. A lot of agitators on the road are paid ones.

All the Andhraites and Telanganites are getting unnecessarily emotionally charged up and having huge discussions. Families are having fights on this issue. Students get inflamed.

The reality is, it is not in our hands. Politicians will not decide on these emotions. They will all use the emotions to their advantage. They want money and power to earn that money. Each politician will consider his losses and gains and decide the next course of action. The politicians need to find the right balance with each other.

To everyone, please stop being emotionally attached to this issue.