India-US News and Discussion

joshvajohn

Re: India-US News and Discussion

Post by joshvajohn »

OBAMA ADMITS FAILURE TO ACT
http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/top-storie ... -21950965/

Comments: Obama must take this seriously. But he should also verify whether this kind of attempts have got help 'within' to corner him. Also he should check up with those investors on scanners and war equipments. This helps two ways one terror is still reality but also those who want fear of terror to be kept alive among the public for the sake of their inverstment or war sales and so on should also be kept a check on.

Barbara Crossette and US hypocrisy taken to task by Buncombe.

http://andrewbuncombe.independentminds. ... 14001.html
India - a right pain in the butt. Yes, but.....
Posted by Andrew Buncombe
Wednesday, 6 January 2010 at 03:47 pm

There's a strangely fascinating article in the current edition of Foreign Policy magazine that claims that India is currently one of the biggest stumbling blocks when it comes to international diplomacy. From arms control to trade agreements and deals on global warming, the article claims that while it is Iran, Pakistan and North Korea (and lately China) that earn the "recalcitrant" headlines, it is actually India that more often acts as a spanner in the works. The article (spotted by the always-splendid Asian Window) claims that while India usually gets a pretty good press - stories about the burgeoning economy and mushy stuff about religious tolerance and eastern mysticism - the truth is that India is a pain in the butt. It's written by the veteran journalist Barbara Crossette, a former New York Times South Asia correspondent, which alone makes it worth reading. I agreed with most of the facts that Ms Crossette brought to her argument - India certainly has resisted efforts to join the non-proliferation treaty, is has been a stubborn bargainer at trade talks and it has refused efforts to force it engage in legally-binding emissions cuts. But I cannot help but think that the author, who is writing for a magazine that could barely more represent the collective establishment think-tank mentality of Washington, is missing the obvious point. What about the behaviour of the US? Ms Crossette mentions for example, the willingness of India to go it's own on climate change but what about the approach of the US for the last eight years? I remember sitting at UN conference in Montreal in 2005 where the US negotiators stormed out simply because other countries tried to get them to talk - not to agree to a binding undertaking on anything, just to agree to talk. Are we simply to believe that because the photo-friendly Mr Obama finally agrees to a paltry undertaking on emission reductions, everyone else will suddenly fall into place.
Ms Crossette goes on to say how India refuses to sign up to a number of international agreements and treaties but what about the US and its refusal to join organisations such as the International Criminal Court, (of which India is also not a member). And how about the behaviour of the US when bodies it does belong to, such as the International Court of Justice in the Hague, rule against it and they simply decide to ignore the ruling?
After highlighting some of India's shortcomings as a democracy (though without pausing to recall the US Supreme Court decision that gifted the 2000 election to George Bush), she turns to India's behaviour abroad where it "regularly votes with human rights offenders, international scofflaws and enemies of democracy". Unlike the US and Britain, of course, that refuse to condemn Israel's illegal settlement building, have multi-billion oil deals with authoritarian states such as Saudi Arabia and prop up dictators like Pakistan's Pervez Musharraf. Like I said, I agree with many of the points the article makes, but it does not tell the whole story. Far from it. Ironically, Ms Crossette's article in entitled, The Elephant in the Room. I fear she's missed one of the elephants.

Don't know if this has been posted here before, but watch this... Interviews with Henry Crumpton of the CIA and Amrollah Saleh (Afghan intelligence chief) about situation on the ground and various issues in 60 Minutes:

Both name Pakistan as a problem.

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=6027414n

Added later: One more bit from Amrollah Saleh. I have always liked this guy.

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id= ... ebarArea.0
MurthyB
Location: "Visa Officer", Indian Consulate #13,451, Khost Province, Afghanistan

Post by MurthyB »

Saw it when it aired. I wonder if that Afghan intel chief was also educated in India like Karzai. Seems to talk with an Indian accent at times...
JE Menon wrote:Don't know if this has been posted here before, but watch this... Interviews with Henry Crumpton of the CIA and Amrollah Saleh (Afghan intelligence chief) about situation on the ground and various issues in 60 Minutes:

Both name Pakistan as a problem.

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=6027414n

Added later: One more bit from Amrollah Saleh. I have always liked this guy.

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id= ... ebarArea.0

Vamsee Juluri in this blog piece calls Barbara Crosette's piece as Indophobic

It is time to start pinning Smt Barbara with a "Stop fanning hate against Indians" button.

ramana wrote:Is this a Know your India type question?
What is a Know Your India type of question? I believe Acharya asked if Americans secretly hate Indians?

I don't know about "hate" but I believe Americans (by birth and by naturalization), as well as non American people who do not have the opportunity to observe India close up reach many mistaken conclusions about India. Reaching mistaken conclusions is not an American prerogative. And not admitting ignorance about India is common among Americans and non Americans alike. But Americans whom I know tend not to get upset if their ignorance is pointed out. They are willing to learn. Sadly there are not not enough well informed people to teach them though.

A smaller number of Pakistanis have done a better job feeding America with lies than a vastly larger number of Indians have done in teaching Americans the truth. So it appears that Pakistan is loved and India is hated. People who know about India should be able to teach Americans what is right and wrong, and for that reason it is worth knowing about India first.

shiv wrote:But Americans whom I know tend not to get upset if their ignorance is pointed out.
This reminds me of my visit to DMV, when an American girl who had never been out of her state (she had come down from her village for her learner's permit) asked me "What are you?", when she over heard me talking in Kannada on the phone in the lobby.
:rotfl: Need less to say I burst out laughing. Had a 15 minute conversation explaining where I came from. I had to scribble a world map on the paper to point out where India was. She was apologetic about her ignorance.

x-posting.
Jarita wrote:Omar Abdullah invited to breakfast with Obama

http://www.dnaindia.com/india/report_om ... st_1332589
Article also says Mohd. Azharuddin has been invited.

Post by amdavadi »

It is not just US alone, but there are people in India who has never been out of their town,ciy,village. I
bet my dollar if someone goes to small town in bihar & starts talking in french or german those people
would have clue what he is talking about. As far as they are concern it is an alien language to them.
a_kumar

Post by a_kumar »

shiv wrote:But Americans whom I know tend not to get upset if their ignorance is pointed out.
With the exception of mid-west, I have seen openness in general to learning about India. The first bump is almost always about "arranged marriage", but once past that, it gets better.

amdavadi wrote:It is not just US alone, but there are people in India who has never been out of their town,ciy,village. I
bet my dollar if someone goes to small town in bihar & starts talking in french or german those people
would have clue what he is talking about. As far as they are concern it is an alien language to them.
Oh yes. I agree. Heck until a few years ago my mom thought canada and US were one and the same. :mrgreen:
bahdada

Post by bahdada »

pgbhat wrote:
This reminds me of my visit to DMV, when an American girl who had never been out of her state (she had come down from her village for her learner's permit) asked me "What are you?", when she over heard me talking in Kannada on the phone in the lobby.
:rotfl: Need less to say I burst out laughing. Had a 15 minute conversation explaining where I came from. I had to scribble a world map on the paper to point out where India was. She was apologetic about her ignorance.
As opposed to India? Where a white or heck even a black guy at an RTC office would literally have everyone staring at them, mouth wide open whispering to each other acting so very enlightened. I love that this girl who I assume is a teenager since learners permits usually a high school thing, came from her 'village' in your story. :rotfl:

Just trying to point out people everywhere are mostly bothered only about what happens in their immediate surroundings. I burst out laughing because she used what instead of where. :|

The easiest mistake everyone makes on India is about caste. When an Indian and American/ Westerner talk about caste standing side by side both are talking something different. Neither the Indian nor the American are aware that each is understanding that differently. The other day i saw a large middle/ upper class family at a restaurant which had lots of foreigners and me at the attached pub. The family included children and a baby who was largely attended by a maid who must be no more than 12 years herself. Whites would obviously see it as a result of India's caste system. I saw it as a feudal class legacy. The family itself would never even have thought how revulsive it looks to do so and the comments it elicitates. Maybe they even have inter caste marriages and are liberal in outlook. But something clearly has not loosened it's grip. That clearly is the biggest error on Indians, Americans and Westerners make and increasingly us Indians too. Class clashes are passed off as Caste ones every now and then. That distinction is becoming increasingly critical to make as many people with feudal class legacy make it to strategic decision making processes in India. Look at it..the WKKs mostly come from this group, not the left/ jhollawalla brigade as is being understood here.
anuj

Post by anuj »

I don't like the way there propping up omar abdullah. The guy reminds me of jinnah for some reason.
joshvajohn

Post by joshvajohn »

India eyes 10 C-17 military transport planes: Boeing

http://www.google.com/hostednews/afp/ar ... oQN2Lc_gUQ

anuj wrote:

I don't like the way there propping up omar abdullah. The guy reminds me of jinnah for some reason.

Yup...
Yudhajit

Post by Yudhajit »

She probably means this onlee.

Business as usual....

anuj wrote:

Omar Abdullah = Jinnah? Why? He isn't seen that way in India.

>>The guy reminds me of jinnah for some reason.

What reason is that? He has been a minister in the cabinet and an excellent voice for India outside the country on many occasions. Not every word he speaks may pass BRF jingo muster, but whose does!!! Our patriotism truly knows no bounds :twisted:

anuj wrote:

Uncle has this fascination for unique things in other countries. With Kashmir they are unable to do much. They used to only meet APHC before on the side. Every senator who voted against India would meet APHC and give them promises.
Now this is the first visible meeting with elected leader of J&K. If it is an ack of elected legitimate govt of J&K and rejection of APHC then it is fine. Otherwise it is a suspect.

SwamyG wrote:Vamsee Juluri in this blog piece calls Barbara Crosette's piece as Indophobic
Nicely written article.

Is there a precedent of US meeting Indian chief ministers/ministers outside jointly planned affairs. Cabinet ministers not included.
anuj

Post by anuj »

@Acharya
Your right.

I do not like him. He has aspirations and is there to stay. In times of peril, i would rather want to slug it out with the hurriet than him. That is all i will say.

JE Menon wrote:>>The guy reminds me of jinnah for some reason.

What reason is that? He has been a minister in the cabinet and an excellent voice for India outside the country on many occasions. Not every word he speaks may pass BRF jingo muster, but whose does!!! Our patriotism truely knows no bounds :twisted:
He is a fine politician and legitimate aspirations, comparing him to Jinnah is injustice.

^^^ Jinnah was also a fine politician, liberal, married to a Parsi who practised her religion, ate pork and professed nationalism till the 1930's

The west plans long term.

Tomorrow if florida had and ongoing seccessionist movements supported by CUBA and the governor of florida was from a family with an ambiguous and flip flop stand on floridas integration with US and India specifically invited the governor for breakfast with PM (especially if India also had an ambiguous stand on floridas demand for seccession) - it would be taken very differently.

Prem wrote:
JE Menon wrote:>>The guy reminds me of jinnah for some reason.

What reason is that? He has been a minister in the cabinet and an excellent voice for India outside the country on many occasions. Not every word he speaks may pass BRF jingo muster, but whose does!!! Our patriotism truely knows no bounds :twisted:
[

He is a fine politician and legitimate aspirations, comparing him to Jinnah is injustice.
It is also a self-goal.

One thing about the Abdullahs. However much they might pander to Islamists in terms of Amarnath issue, repatriation of Pandits etc... if push comes to shove they will pick India over Pakistan.

They might flirt with Azadi if they thought it was a real possibility, but they are realistic enough to understand that would never happen. But Pakistan has been an anathema to them for three generations. Vernon Hewitt has written about the hatred between the National Conference and the Muslim League going back into the '40s. Sheikh Abdullah knew that if he backed Jinnah and Liaquat Ali Khan during partition, his Kashmiri Muslims would get completely sidelined (like Baluchis or Sindhis or Pathans have been) by a swarming influx of Pakjabis backed by the political and economic might of Pakistan. He chose to favour Nehru and India because he honestly saw that as a better bet for Kashmiris, their Muslim religion notwithstanding.

Omar is an opportunist but unlike such slimy characters as Mirwaiz Umer Farooq, he respects the Indian constitution. Far better to see the POTUS having breakfast with him than with the APHC swine (and Robin Raphael at their elbow).

anuj wrote:

Keep it saying a 1000 more times and you just might get another Jinnah!! If someone wants to know, how Indians score self goals, just come to BRF!

>>"west thinks long term"...

How long? How much longer term than India? Pls put a number there.

As for dealing with Hurriyat, we most certainly will deal with them too. The Mirwaiz is destined to become a significant political figure in Kashmir, whose exhortations for independence, then autonomy and all the rest of it will be forgotten. He will one day stand and win election as a full-fledged Indian politician. :twisted:

Well one way to to look at this development is if Mr. Obama has right intentions and going by whatever I can make of Omar Abdullah from news/print media then this meet with CM of J&K will only vindicate and re-affirm India's stand on J&K for I am of the opinion that POTUS wants to check the pulse of the people of J&K and hence wishes to directly meet their representative.

Another pov can be the fact that Obama admin wishes to bypass the GOI in order to make an opening for it to meddle in J&K so if they manage to get any indication from CM of j&K about latter's readiness to lobby for Unkil in the parliament and media then GOTUS can think on the lines of increaseing pressue on the GOI to come to the negotiating table.

Basically the whole point is in all this talk about resolution of J&K no one talks about POK , it is implicit that resolution of J&K refers to the Indian state of J&K so it is the Indian side which is being expected and forced to make concessions , I have never in the past heard from any world leader asking TSP to make concessions on POK .As far as GOI is concerned well :roll:

'what goes my father's'

His Grandfather met Chou-en-Lai in ALgeria without gov't permission. He was imprisoned for a number of years but this helped kick start the Azadi Jasba. His father went to Pakistan in 1973 and met ZAB. Fortunately, Pakistan's ardor for J&K had cooled down then significantly after Shimla.

While this may not be significant by itself, we also need to remember the impact of other such meeting on the ground situation (Adlai Stevenson's meeting with Sheikh Abdullah).

However...I also tend to believe that Omar is more Indianized than grandpa. His family has also always come through for India when required.
anuj

Post by anuj »

What is that man's stand on 360? I cannot place him there but for some reason i want to avoid placing him here also. His activities resemble more like that of a diplomat than what it appears at face value. Maybe it's because i cannot figure him and his party out. Didn't they used to be a part of NDA back sometime? Wasn't jinnah a member of INC before he switched over to AIML? Im not comparing him to jinnah. Im just saying "he's flexible", like jinnah. And for that he come's up as mysterious to me. I do not know where his heart lie. Like i asked before... what does he have to say about 360? And compare that with his "flexibility". Now doesn't that raise eyebrows?

Remember the nuke deal trust vote? That was the only time when he lost his cool(pretense) and opened up. Below is a transcript and go figure...
Aapne amarnath ka aarop lagaya aap ek jaaga dikhaye jaha kisi Kashmiri ne yatra ke khilaf baat ki ho? aap ek jaaga dikhaye jaha kisi Kashmiri ne kaha ho humhe yatri nahi chahiye? ek jaga dikhaye jaha pe yatriyo ke uppar humla hua ho? 1 hamari zameen ka mudda tha hum apne zameen ke liye lare aur marte dum tak apne zameen ke liye larenge. Lekin hum aapki tarha firkaparast nahi hai, hum aapki tarha communal nahi hai, hum Masjid nahi girate hum Mandir bhi nahi girate, 2 eksoo saal se bhi zaada amarnath ki yatra waha chalti aai aur jab tak Kashmir mai musalmaan hai srinagar aur amarnath mai aapki yatra chalti rahaigi.
Look 1 and 2. Notice how he quickly goes for risk mitigation with 2 against 1. He's a diplomat.

It's just a food for thought. No need to squabble over it.
Last edited by anuj on 10 Jan 2010 15:15, edited 3 times in total.
kshirin

Post by kshirin »

Omar strikes me as a good guy, a patriotic guy, stuggling in a very difficult situation, which probably explains the unnecessary not a drop of blood for land comment. He is definitely not like a mehbooba mufti. Some years ago a junior foreign office minister of some western country had reportedly asked to meet the CM of J & K, I believe it was turned down but mainly for protocol reasons, as a CM = Cabinet Minister in rank. This time it is the President himself, if the report is correct, and methinks we should trust Omar to represent Indian interests. It is better than the West constantly indulging the other side, playing up the clash of civilizations and it also acknowledges Indian sovereignty over J & K as well as the legitimacy of the democratic process there. Just my two pennies.

Before Third round of talks between India and Pakistan to settle Kashmir with the active "encouragement" of Kennedy administration after India-China war

From Schaffer's book (page 84)

By then Washington's had concluded that the best way to resolve the problem was to partition the Valley. A couple of weeks before the third negotiating round the administration quietly developed a proposal the state along a precisely drawn line that transferred to Pakistan substantial territory in the northwestern part of the Valley and the western portion of the Jammu Province. India would receive a silver of Pakistani-held territory above Kargil to provide it with a buffer area north of the vital road connecting the Valley with Ladakh. Robert Komer told Kennedy that the partition scheme would be thrown into the breach if talks seemed about to break down.
About the State Department's proposal mentioned above: (From notes on page 237)

The proposed division was spelled out in Department of State telegram 1093 to Karachi, January 21, 1963:

(1) Indian authorities to retain control over the eastern and southern parts of the Kashmir Valley and enjoy unimpeded transit through it to Ladakh.

(2) In order to protect its interest in Gilgit and Hunza, Pakistan must have improved access to these areas. Accordingly, the international border would enter the Valley just south of the Jhelum River and run into the outlet of Wular Lake so that the entire Muzaffarabad-Sopor road and a two-mile strip of territory to its southeast would be in Pakistan's control, thence along the main course of the Mash Matti River, thence northward to a trijunction northeast of Burzil Pass where the Astor district line and the Skardu and Kargil tehsil lines intersect. The territory to the north and west would be assigned to Pakistan, the balance of the Valley remaining with India. (In a subsequent message, Department of State telegram 3004 to New Delhi, January 28, 1965, the department mentioned that it had told the British that Pakistan would get Bara.)

(3) Outside the Valley, Punch, Mirpur, and Muzaffarabad districts would come under Pakistan's control.

(4) The international border would divide Riasi District along the Chenab River northward to the point where the river turns east, then northward to the Riasi district line, then westward along the district line between Punch and Anantnag, between Punch and Baramulla, and between Muzaffarabad and Baramulla. District lines would be followed to a point just south of where the Jhelum River and Baramulla-Muzaffarabad road cross exiting the Valley.

(5) Northeast of the Burzil Pass the International border would follow the tehsil line separating Skardu from Kargil and Ladakh tehsils up to the Chinese border. (Both cited messages are in SDCF 690D.91.)

In a subsequent message to Assistant Secretary Talbot, National Security Council senior staffer W. Howard Wriggins suggested possible adjustments to the department's proposal to bring it closer to the Pakistan government's requirements. These changes included giving Pakistan territory that would provide it with control of more of the drainage basin of the Chenab River. McConaughy made a similar proposal. The Chenab issue was an important one for the Pakistanis, who stressed it at the third round of the negotiations and elsewhere. (Wriggins-Talbot memo, January 26, 1963; Embassy Karachi telegram 1385 to the State Department, January 26, 1963, both in SDCF 690D.91.)

China finds spy bugs in Jiang's Boeing jet
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... g-jet.html

By Damien McElroy and David Wastell in Washington
Published: 12:01AM GMT 20 Jan 2002

CHINA claims to have found almost 30 surveillance bugs, including one in the headboard of the presidential bed, on a Boeing 767 that had just been delivered from America to serve as President Jiang Zemin's official aircraft.
Now, our leader Manmohan Singh has taken a liking for traveling in US-supplied planes for VIP travel.

China finds spy bugs in Jiang's Boeing jet
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldne ... g-jet.html

By Damien McElroy and David Wastell in Washington
Published: 12:01AM GMT 20 Jan 2002

CHINA claims to have found almost 30 surveillance bugs, including one in the headboard of the presidential bed, on a Boeing 767 that had just been delivered from America to serve as President Jiang Zemin's official aircraft.
Pranav wrote: Now, our leader Manmohan Singh has taken a liking for traveling in US-supplied planes for VIP travel.
MMS himself is the biggest US spy bug cum spy US has planted in India.

So MMS doesnt need to worry about spy bug causing any more harm.

Last edited by Rahul M on 11 Jan 2010 22:36, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: user warned for making unsubstantiated allegation.

anuj wrote:What is that man's stand on 360?.
No Politician from Kashmir would ever stand for scrapping Art-370 (if thats what you meant). Heck even Politicians from national parties don't state any position on art-370 other than it should be there. End of the day, he is a politician and he has to survive by saying right kind of stuff.
Positioning oneself as in favor of art-370 does not make anyone unpatriotic or "like Jinnah".
As MoS for External affairs, he did come across as sharp and clear minded individual.

Rahul Mehta wrote: MMS himself is the biggest US spy bug cum spy US has planted in India.

So MMS doesnt need to worry about spy bug causing any more harm.

Do you have any data to support this claim?