Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP) - Dec 30 - 2009

arnab

Re: Terrorist Islamic Republic of Pakistan (TSP) - Dec 30 - 2009

Post by arnab »

http://www.independent.ie/national-news ... 31389.html
Gardai halt wedding over fears that union is 'bogus'
A PAKISTANI man's plans to walk down the aisle with a Lithuanian teenager this week were cancelled after gardai objected to the marriage. The Garda National Immigration Bureau (GNIB) intervened to stop Muhammad Shafi's marriage to the 18-year-old woman from going ahead.
He said that Mr Shafi was arrested as part of the investigation in to more than 100 cases of marriages or intended marriage involving women from Latvia, Lithuania and Poland who were paid to marry men from Asia in order to secure them the right of residency in Ireland and other EU countries.
The court heard that Mr Shafi was one of more than 20 cricket players from Pakistan who arrived here on a seven-day visa for a supposed cricket match in July, 2008, but that the entire "team" disappeared after gaining entry to the State.

Bhaskar wrote:I believe in Secular Politics.
Take the above out of this thread, go to nukkad and then define secular politics there.

[Added later- Apologize for being terse, but I do not expect paklurks to understand a debate]
Bhaskar wrote:Well, I feel Shahrukh Khan's and Chidambaram's statements after the country supported that Pakistani players should be kept out of IPL was a little immature. It would have been best to keep mum on this sensitive issue. We ourselves made this a big issue when it wasn't. We ourselves did what Pakistanis wanted of deflecting Pakistan's responsibility of punishing the perpetrators of 26/11 into the good-old diplomatic war or mere words.
It seems Pakis are now blaming LET. I think there is a nation called LETisstan (sometimes known as TO-LETissStan or lotastan) somewhere in Pakistan, hence not a state who are the real culprits.

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/jan/ ... report.htm
Last edited by disha on 28 Jan 2010 11:16, edited 1 time in total.

Humiliate those pigs further by getting some BD players in. That will rub salt/pepper/chili powder in where it hurt the most

krishnan wrote:Humiliate those pigs further by getting some BD players in. That will rub salt/pepper/chili powder in where it hurt the most
Or better yet, buy them and auction them off to a BD team. Looking at BD, soon it will have a good growth rate in its economy!
Bhaskar

Post by Bhaskar »

It seems Pakis are now blaming LET. I think there is a nation called LETisstan (sometimes known as TO-LETissStan or lotastan) somewhere in Pakistan, hence not a state who are the real culprits.

http://news.rediff.com/report/2010/jan/ ... report.htm
The Pakis will continue blaming. They just won't take any action. They will keep moving their mouth and not do a single thing.

MMS needs to understand that "Laato ke bhoot, Baaton se nahin maante".
Shankk

Post by Shankk »

debadutta wrote:Looks like Outlook has picked up Sohail Tanvir's remarks.
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?263943
During his conversation Sohail Tanvir says at one point "humne to unke pair pakde nahi the". Just wondering is this a common phenomenon in Muslims? My impression was that touching someones feet is a Hindu idea.

A major conundrum in dealing with Pakistan comes from the extra strong mandate enjoyed by the current regime in India given the experience of past two decades. When it comes to dealing with TSP on a more hawkish basis there are three principal actors capable of doing so-a section of the union cabinet (yes there are hawks in gobermund), crusty babus who are the hardest boiled eggs that we possess and the strategic community hawks like B Karnad, G. Parthasarthy and B Chellaney. Unfortunately enough in this current regime all points of leverage are either gone or rendered weak by the verdict 2009. Its not my case to make a political argument here in the form of a value judgment on a democratic exercise or wisdom of the people. However the key point to be made here is that by devastating the principal opposition party of national polity the electorate have removed a key pressure point of the government thus giving a free run to all the doves, the very pressure that was used to strike a hard bargain in case of Indo-US nuke deal is all but gone. The hawks within the government no longer have the luxury of pointing towards the scarecrow of opposition revival based upon national security plank for at least next 4 years, similarly babus are also devoid of a back up to escape the intended or unintended tilts of the executive in power who may be in a “hurry” to make a mark and finally the strategic community hawks have been orphaned due to lack of strong political backing. Now the key question here is given the proclivities of certain sections in the government of India to strike peace at all costs and the pressure on India to grant concessions before it becomes too big too handle, what do we do with Pakistan?
Well the answer to dealing with Pakistan notwithstanding the “stupid tamasha” by certain media outlet lies within our political and bureaucratic system, however we will need some blessings by pawansuta to scrap through!!

The key to understanding the response matrix in this case is the capacity of Pakistan to inflict violence upon India using its “plethora of actors” behind a nuclear shield, ability of TSP friends to stall/mitigate Indian action, doves within our establishment and our overall strategic capabilities. We need to match these against the covert ops capability of India within TSP, the ability of our politico-bureaucratic system to stall any quick or hidden concessions and finally the traction that opposition parties can generate before something materializes to the benefit of renegade provinces of West India (TSP).
One thing that makes me optimistic is the devastating defeat of Ombaba administration's candidate in a recent election for Sen Ted Kennedy's seat. This election has clearly shaken up the administration enough to keep them from exerting overbearing pressure on India and would make it more likely that they would first indulge in some house keeping before venturing off-shores. However this alone is not a cause of satisfaction, the other significant change that occurred was on the side of a solidification of opinion and solidarity amongst a lot of groups within the politico-bureaucratic system of GOI against grant of concessions to TSP-this was particularly visible post SES.

The fear of a lot of hawks on the forum is that under the brutal assault of mindless media, clueless civil society activists, idiotic intelligentsia and doves within the government duly “encouraged” by external powers we might be selling out our interests. To be honest I share your doubts and fears! But here is my rational response to self in a “me against myself” mode:
Well BJP will elect and put in place its new central executive by March and under the new team you can definitely expect some fireworks on a lot of issues. The key to dealing and finally overcoming TSP from a more hawkish perspective will depend upon the following

1)Ability of BJP to get its act together and pose a threat to GOI by credible electoral showing and thus re-enabling the diffused pressure points
2)Chai-Biskoot and stalling act by our babus but we need to realize that they have limits too
3)The kind of strength possessed by khan and the leader of khan
4)The superior TSP intellect to shoot themselves in their foot
5)Balance of power within the GOI and the leverage position of Hawks
Hence forth jingos I dare say it would be a co-incidence of Herculean proportions for all the 5 mentioned points to be aligned against us and believe me without that co-incidence TSP won't get more than a wooden spoon for its efforts. Have faith and hang on the games have just begun.

shankk.... actually touching the knees ( rather than the feet) and asking for forgiveness is very much part of muslim culture ( perhaps imbibed from hindus).

debadutta wrote:Looks like Outlook has picked up Sohail Tanvir's remarks.
http://www.outlookindia.com/article.aspx?263943
Saba Naqvi writing in Outlook may have picked up on the communal tinged Anti-Hindu comment of Sohail Tanvir but our sports Minister MS Gill is entirely oblivious to the comment and has heaped praise on the very same Sohail Tanvir :roll: :
pgbhat wrote:CRS please keep your BP in check.
Sports Minister MS Gill wrote:NEW DELHI: Sports minister MS Gill on Wednesday praised the statements of Pakistan cricketers Shahid Afridi and Sohail Tanvir, who on Tuesday.

"I have seen the graceful response of some Pakistani cricketers. I welcome the remarks," Gill said. Gill said he was eagerly awaiting the India-Pakistan hockey World Cup clash.

Rudradev wrote:
Meanwhile it seems to me that your tilting at the windmill of "cricket is a religion", actually feeds into more dangerous equal-equal than anything I have perpetrated. Many smarmy Western journalists portray Indo-Pak cricket as some kind of a "religious war" in a coy attempt to draw parallels with the Western myth of South Asian History: "Hindooo India and Muslim Pakistan have never got along because of religion, and hence their ignorant heathen people perceive cricket as yet another type of religious conflict between the two."
In fact that is why I mentioned Internet search engines. The refernce to cricket is a religion throws up India no matter what some firangi journalists say. So it is not a "subcontinental" thing. It is Indian. Not Pakistan. No Paki has ever called cricket his religion.
Boss, you are the one who first brought up the idea of "cricket is a religion",
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 62#p813062

so I assume you are arguing with yourself here. Feel free to contradict your own assertions but don't attribute them to me in the bargain.

Pakis know very well what their religion is, but that doesn't prevent them from treating their national cricket team as an icon and being susceptible to emotional manipulation in this context.

In fact it works both ways, as the touchstones themselves imbibe more and more of the Islamic republic's iconography. Pakistani cricketers have taken on more and more visible signs of the "religion" which Pakistanis use as their raisin-dieter of Pakiness. Their cricketers have become increasingly prone to displays of orthodoxy and puritanism. If sport is a ritualization of war, the Paki cricket team is increasingly a ritualization of Jihad. Why do you suppose that is?
I believe it is you who fell for the firangi rhetoric by going to the egregious extent of comparing India to some two bit South American state that went to war. That again has been done by some Western journalsist and you use it to make your point. That was a needless body blow.
If you actually read my post on the previous page,
http://forums.bharat-rakshak.com/viewto ... 96#p812996
you would see that it is not India I have compared to the two bit Central American state. I have talked about how the Pakistani state is using the IPL issue to augment the war hysteria it is trying to stir up among its people. That is what bears comparison to the "football war".

India is not using cricket to stir up war hysteria... why should it, when there are ample other legitimate reasons (from 26/11 on downwards) to garner public support if we actually wanted to go to war?

Pakis are eternal haters

They hate shias and other for not being pious muslims.
They hate arabs for letting down Ottoman empire and colluding British.
They hate Turks because they are friends of jews.
They hate western countries because they are kafirs.
They hate Indians because they stood like a mountain withstanding the muslim onslaught.

Probably in future
They hate China because they have not lent billions.
They hate their prophet Mohammad for not being born in Europe and US.
They hate the almighty because he has not subverted the whole world to them.

Damn, I do not when they will become humans and think like humans, instead of robots programmed for a specific task, i.e., hating humanity.
animesharma

Post by animesharma »

Confusion over Razzaq's IPL participation
Deccan Chargers denied signing him amid reports that the player has been roped in as a substitute.

"We don't have a slot and I am denying it," Venkat Reddy, Vice President (Operations) Deccan Chargers, said.

IPL commissioner Lalit Modi said DC just doesn't have any money left with them to rope in a new player.

"Currently, only Rajasthan Royals can have a slot. Deccan Chargers don't have any money. Only way to bring a new player is through injury replacement. But for that, the IPL governing has to be convinced that the injured player won't come back for even a single match," Modi said.
To be read with a pinch of salt.
At the moment I don't want to say anything but yes the Kolkata Knight Riders had given me a contract offer through which I got a visa and then they backed out insisting I would have to appear in the players auction list," Razzaq said.

Pranav wrote:
Actually the Paqui team is thoroughly infiltrated by Tablighis and they regard cricket as part of their Jihad.
While all this may be true, one nevertheless feels that the issue should have been handled differently.

We boycotted South African cricketers because of Apartheid. If the IPL similarly wanted to boycott Pakistanis on account of terrorism, they should have stated so openly and it would have been perfectly justified and understandable. [Perhaps it would have been even better to allow only those players who publicly sign a pledge condemning Paki policies of promoting non-state actors.]

But then, the debarred players should not have been allowed into the auction at all. Once these guys had been allowed into the auction, it was incumbent on the IPL management and team owners to treat them on cricketing merit.

It's kind of like a teacher giving bad marks to a student because that student's father had cheated the teacher in a business deal.
Last edited by Pranav on 28 Jan 2010 14:26, edited 2 times in total.

Rudradev wrote: you would see that it is not India I have compared to the two bit Central American state. I have talked about how the Pakistani state is using the IPL issue to augment the war hysteria it is trying to stir up among its people. That is what bears comparison to the "football war".

India is not using cricket to stir up war hysteria... why should it, when there are ample other legitimate reasons (from 26/11 on downwards) to garner public support if we actually wanted to go to war?
Cricket is a religion in India. I said so. Despite that, India is not going to war over cricket (You have said that yourself)

Pakistan is using everything it can to stir up hatred. It is not clear to me where Pakistan has used cricket to stir up war hysteria. Did Pakistan threaten war or declare war after the IPL episode any more than the war it has been waging for decades?

So what is the connection between the non selection of Pakistani players in an Indian event and the two bit countries who went to war over a football match? Even if you compare Pakistan with one of those two bit South American nations, India gets pulled in by implication despite your protestation to the contrary. That is the equal equal I was talking about.

There should be no need to reply to this if you think I am arguing with myself.

pgbhat wrote:Indian money talks: Afridi, Tanvir want to forgive and forget
LAHORE: Money talks, and in cricket Indian money talks a language that is the first preference of all international cricketers and administrators. Barely a week after all-rounder Shahid Afridi said that the Indian Premier League (IPL) and India had made fun of Pakistan players and the country by not bidding for them at the auction, the Pakistan Twenty20 captain says that he is willing to forgive and forget and he has gotten over the anger and hurt he felt at being ‘snubbed’. His team-mate Sohail Tanvir has joined him, saying ‘I have nothing personal against India and if any opportunity arises in future where I am invited to play in the IPL or Champions League I will definitely go to play if my seniors do the same.’

This is the same Tanvir who – in an interview to a Pakistani news channel – had said that the Hindus had shown their true colours. It is the same Tanvir who claimed in the afore-said interview that Pakistan players never wanted to play in the IPL, but the IPL came begging for them to take part. “After the IPL auction I was deeply hurt and angry, the way Pakistan players were treated was disrespectful and in my view wrong.
Whose fault it was. I don’t know. In times like these as a Muslim the examples of our Prophet has guided me and I’m therefore willing to forgive and forget what has happened and look forward,” he told a website Pakpasion.net.
Afridi takes u-turn, says not interested in IPL
"I am not at all interested in taking part in the IPL.

These issues of Pakistani cricketers should have been sorted out before the auction," Afridi told PTI-Bhasha over phone from Adelaide.

"I have forgotten what happened in the IPL auction in Mumbai. But everybody in Pakistan is very disappointed and angry with the insult.
I wonder if folks have noticed the tone of this Daily Times article which pgbhat ji has very correctly highlighted.

If the likes of Tanvir, Afridi or Razzak come slinking in back to the IPL sans apology, investigation and all that has been demanded by Paki land netas what does it do for the self esteem of the TFTA cricket playing nation?

Hasn't it now become a case of Damned if I play and Damned if I don't? :rotfl:

Suppose Mard Afridi is selected and he says I will play, "despite the insult to his nation"? Or if Tanvir is selected and then he's booed in stadiums for is racist Hindu remark - would he or the franchise who could potentially choose him risk that?

The Outlook article is an early taste of the kind of articles that will most certainly appear. And our own bleeding heart the great SRK of Kinght Riders will have to pull his check book out, otherwise what does it do to his reputation?

Maybe the Law of Unintended Consequences is taking over?

Watch the fun folks and don't get depressed. It may not have been planned but it sure will be an interesting tamasha, maybe even better than the actual IPL itself!
Last edited by amit on 28 Jan 2010 14:30, edited 1 time in total.
A Arun

Post by A Arun »

The froth of Khan
During a speech in Lahore, he lashed out at President Zardari and MQM’s Altaf Hussain, using the most worn-out critical clichés that the two men usually face on TV screens. But this was not the problem. (Imran) Khan wasn’t saying anything new or offensive in this respect. However, while winding up his rhetorical tirade, he got carried away and revealed the true extent of his xenophobia. While attacking MQM member and a minister in the PPP-led coalition government, Babar Ghauri, Khan sarcastically equated him with African children.

Ghauri, who, like most MQM leaders, rose from a lower middle-class background and worked his way through the ranks amidst a number of crackdowns on his party by the state in the 1990s, has a dark complexion. And it is this that the mighty Khan (‘man of the masses’ – most of whom are not as fair as Khan himself), chose to ridicule. Speaking in Urdu, Khan said, “Ghauri was sitting (talking to me) on TV, so what should I say to this guy? I (wanted to tell him), Babar Ghauri, if I go to Africa, I can show you a hundred kids that look like you!

I wonder if Khan spoke the same way about West Indian greats such as Viv Richards or Clive Lloyd? And is this why the great Khan chose to marry a white British woman instead of a ‘brown’ Pakistani girl? And was the great reborn Muslim and ‘honest politician’ so peeved with late Benazir Bhutto only because she could speak better English than him and have an equally fair complexion?

We can go on and on ridiculing Imran in this respect, but one would have to crouch as low as men like him have stooped just to bag applause from bored TV viewers.

A man with such a fantastic cricketing career, and an impressive record of philanthropy, a man who once seemed to possess all the right ingredients to become a truly enlightened and loved politician, has, unfortunately, landed on his face. He now sounds like an awkward cross between a freckled member of the Ku Klux Klan and a frustrated shrew who treats his country as a lowly damsel in distress who can only be saved by a fair prince like him, instead of those who come into power with the votes of the common, albeit dark Pakistanis.

Pakistani Missiles
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK73vqvC7Go

** Please always post a short title so that forummers know what it is. This has been a long pending request of Admins with you **
Last edited by SSridhar on 28 Jan 2010 15:43, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed unwanted quote. Added a title for the Youtube video.

Acharya, why did you post such a rant (which are a dime a dozen) from an unknown person from the 'Comments' section of that video ? It lowers the BR quality of discussion when such quotes are made. I have removed it.

http://sify.com/news/Pakistan-has-faced ... icfda.html
Pakistan is also a victim of terrorism with '101 Mumbai-like incidents' having taken place, Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani has said and asked India to resume dialogue as both the countries 'cannot afford war'.

If I put myself in the position of a franchisee for IPL about to bid for players - I believe my thoughts would include the following regarding Paki players:

"These Paki players are good, but if we have another terrorist attack it will do my brand no good to be sponsoring and paying Pakis - so perhaps it is better to keep off."

Even now - after all the howling - it is a definite gamble to take Paki. There can still be a terrorist attack and suppose Kingfisher (Mallya) chooses a Paki -he will earn a lot of negative publicity that he does not want in case of a terrorist attack. or example Shiv Sena in Mumbai may say "Mallya is paying terrorists, so we must boycott KF beer"

Is this a statement that could have been made policy before the IPL selection?

IMO unlikely. IPL is all about selling brands and making shitloads of money. Goodwill is essential and it does not make sense to say "We are not going to select people from country X for reason Y"

That Paki turd FM wotzisname is not making things any better for his own Pakis by insisting that 26/11 could be repeated even as he rants about non selection at IPL

This is big folks. WaPo has insiders and usually is ahead of the curve when posting news about Unkil's foreign policy moves.
Pakistan seeks role as mediator in possible Taliban-Afghanistan peace talks

Pakistan, which once sponsored Taliban forces but turned against them under American pressure in 2001, now hopes to play a role as a broker in proposed negotiations among Taliban leaders and the Afghan government, with support from the United States....Pakistani officials have taken a sudden interest in promoting peace in Afghanistan, a change analysts attribute to a combination of self-interest and fear. Pakistan, they say, hopes a power-sharing arrangement in Kabul that includes the Taliban would be friendlier to its interests

...any overt mediation role by the Pakistani government could backfire for several reasons, including deep mistrust among Afghan leaders, unpredictable reactions by Pakistani militants, Taliban resentment of pressure from its former backers and unrealistic Pakistani expectations of Western gratitude.

The key Pakistani players in this drama are not civilian leaders but the army and especially the Inter-Services Intelligence agency (ISI) {Expect Ahmed Shuja Pasha to get an extension}

..."Pakistan's role could be crucial, but it will not do this for free. It will only facilitate these talks to protect its national interests," Rashid said. "It will demand its pound of flesh."

Chief Justice of Pakistan rules out clash between institutions
Following Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani's parliamentary address on Wednesday, Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry also ruled out any clash between institutions.
That leaves only the PA to make a similar statement. After all, it is the only one whose attitude matters, not the political leaders and not the judiciary.
AnimeshP

Post by AnimeshP »

Well Mr Riedel must also realize that US is not exactly known for its "long-term thinking" (contrary to its pretensions of being a country of "strategic thinkers") .... so till LeT bites the US in its ass ... nothing's gonna happen

Pakistan joins war against Houthis in Yemen: Report
Pakistan has reportedly sent an army combat unit to Yemen to join the war against the Shia fighters in the country's north.

One was under the impression that TSP could not spare more combat units for its own internal requirements after having to take care of the Indian border.

China mulls setting up military base in Pakistan

Saibal Dasgupta, TNN, 28 January 2010, 07:58pm IST

BEIJING: China has signaled it wants to go the US way and set up military bases in overseas locations that would possibly include Pakistan. The obvious purpose would be to exert pressure on India as well as counter US influence in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

"(So) it is baseless to say that we will not set up any military bases in future because we have never sent troops abroad," an article published on Thursday at a Chinese government website said. "It is our right," the article said and went on to suggest that it would be done in the neighborhood, possibly Pakistan.

"As for the military aspect, we should be able to conduct the retaliatory attack within the country or at the neighboring area of our potential enemies. We should also be able to put pressure on the potential enemies' overseas interests," it said.

A military base in Pakistan will also help China keep a check on Muslim Uighur separatists fighting for an independent nation in its western region of Xingjian, which borders the North West Frontier Province of Pakistan. Beijing recently signed an agreement with the local government of NWFP in order to keep a close watch on the movement of Uighur ultras.

"I have personally felt for sometime that China might one day build a military base in India's neighborhood. China built the Gadwar port in Pakistan and is now broadening the Karokoram highway. These facilities can always be put to military use when the need arises," Ramesh V Phadke, former Air Commodore and advisor to the Institute of Defense Studies told TNN.

Phadke said the article in very significant. "The purpose may be to see how the international community reacts to it," he said.

China, which has no military bases outside its territory, has often criticized the United States for operating such overseas bases. It has not just changed its standpoint but also wants to enter the lucrative protection business.

"With further development, China will be in great demand of the military protection," the article said. Pakistan, which buys 70% of its military hardware from China, is likely to be an eager buyer for such protection. Beijing may also be able to pressurize Islamabad to accept its diktat using the threat of withholding military supplies.

A Pakistani expert on China-Pakistan relationship has a different view on the subject. "The Americans had a base in the past and it caused a political stink. I don’t think it would be politically possible for the Pakistani government to openly allow China to set up a military base," he said while requesting anonymity. Pakistan might allow use of its military facilities without publicly announcing it, he said.

A Chinese military base can tackle several international relations issues, it said. One of them is "the relationship between the base troops and the countries neighboring to the host country." This is another indication that Beijing is considering Pakistan as a possible base. China’s argument is that a foreign base would actually help regional stability.

"If the base troops can maintain the regional stability, it will be probably welcomed by all the countries in the region," the article said. Beijing is conscious that the move might result in opposition from the US, UK and France which has overseas military bases.

“Thirdly, the relationship between the big countries in the world. The establishment of the troop bases is sensitive to those big countries which have already set up the bases abroad," the article said.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/worl ... 510235.cms

Is there an article that uses an array of Pakistani writing to illustrate Pakistani attitudes? For instance, that SDRE - Short Dark Rice Eaters - is not something that BRFers dreamed up, but is amply found in mainstream Pakistani articles? The purpose is to lay this out for a Western audience that is inclined to think that Indians are paranoid about Pakistan, and will invent anything to put Pakistan down. Also, for that audience, the article will have to lay off much desi slang (or explain it properly).

Thanks in advance!
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

RoyG wrote:China mulls setting up military base in Pakistan

BEIJING: China has signaled it wants to go the US way and set up military bases in overseas locations that would possibly include Pakistan. The obvious purpose would be to exert pressure on India as well as counter US influence in Pakistan and Afghanistan.

"(So) it is baseless to say that we will not set up any military bases in future because we have never sent troops abroad," an article published on Thursday at a Chinese government website said. "It is our right," the article said and went on to suggest that it would be done in the neighborhood, possibly Pakistan.

With all due respect, I have not found this news in any other international news site, or any military forum, only in ToI. They talk about a "Chinese government website"...probably just a discussion forum with military enthusiasts with some quasi-government involvement.

ToI : Razzaq is taken by the Chargers, I mean KKR, I mean not really taken, well, yes he IS, no actually the situation is like...

Thats why we call ToI with another name :P
Fidel Guevara

Post by Fidel Guevara »

Fidel Guevara wrote:
RoyG wrote:China mulls setting up military base in Pakistan

With all due respect, I have not found this news in any other international news site, or any military forum, only in ToI. They talk about a "Chinese government website"...probably just a discussion forum with military enthusiasts with some quasi-government involvement.

ToI : Razzaq is taken by the Chargers, I mean KKR, I mean not really taken, well, yes he IS, no actually the situation is like...
Also, why would China station troops in Pakistan? What benefit will this get them, when they already have 650,000 Paki soldiers to do their bidding...cheaper to just arm the Paki troops. Stationing Chinese soldiers in military bases in Pakistan will mean :

1) They don't know the language
2) They don't know the terrain on which they may be called upon to fight
3) They have to ship in each kilo of food - Chinese don't like subcontinental cuisine
4) They cannot set foot outside the bases, due to fear of IED Mubaraks...hence like a prison sentence for their soldiers.

No, I doubt that the Chinese will station any significant forces in Pakistan.

A_Gupta wrote:Is there an article that uses an array of Pakistani writing to illustrate Pakistani attitudes? For instance, that SDRE - Short Dark Rice Eaters - is not something that BRFers dreamed up, but is amply found in mainstream Pakistani articles? The purpose is to lay this out for a Western audience that is inclined to think that Indians are paranoid about Pakistan, and will invent anything to put Pakistan down. Also, for that audience, the article will have to lay off much desi slang (or explain it properly).

Thanks in advance!
You got to be kidding boss, you think any western publication will publish such articles? Read Richard Crasta's impressing the whites book. The Indian writeres whom the west takes seriously have written reams and reams about Hindu attitudes towwrads Muslims and by extension Pakis; nothing in the reverse. Read any silly Economist (most respected western publication) article, its standard cliche is about how Pakistan bashing in India wins votes (and this after Mumbai). Ditto NYT. Ditto SAJA talk. Show me how much prominence NY Thas ever given to India's PoV; yet we have seen creeps like Pankaj Misra routinely mock India and Hindus on the op-ed pages.

It will take many many generations if at all for India to reverse this simple false hood. And I am dreaming here of course, but India will first have to assert itself militrayily/economically first in its own backyard, so it is indian nationalists that get to write the narrative have their voice heard and respected, not brown sepoys as is the case today. India is in a cage both of its own making and imposed by the colonialists. And wth morons ki tamasha in full swoing and talk of joint soverignty over Indian territory, what are the chance of your dream project ever coming to fruition?

AnimeshP wrote:
Well Mr Riedel must also realize that US is not exactly known for its "long-term thinking" (contrary to its pretensions of being a country of "strategic thinkers") .... so till LeT bites the US in its ass ... nothing's gonna happen
I think history is being played out as we speak. But the growth of LeT (along with nukes) as part of TSP's arsenal has been the single most successful strategy against India since TSP lost Bangladesh in 1971. As this joint soverignty over the valley BS comes to fruition, paving the way for the valley's eventual decapacitation from India, its will be TSP's LeT strategy that has won them the day. Recall, by late 90's Indian army reduced Hizbul to a bunch of goats; its was then speculated that the insurgency is pretty much over, and it was at that time TSP introduced the lethal LeT soosai bombers and reveresed India's gains. So, as Munir Akram aka wife beater who repeatedly mocks India puts, India and world are living in a cuckoo land if they expect TSP to crack down on a "pro-Kashmiri outfit". And he said this many times inclduing a few days after Mumbai and yesterday in the News article posted here on BR.

I will attempt to summarize what has happened wrt the IPL saga, and see what might happen in the future

1. After 26/11 happened, getting pakistanis into IPL was always doubtful, more so for private companies because of the stigmata of "Pakistan" associated with them.

No doubt they are excellent cricketers, some are even good human beings, but most are perhaps not, as we've seen with reports of them being less than behaved, and the Sohail Tanveer "hindu zehniyat" (Hindu Mentality) has further cemented the issue.

2.After the IPL rejection, the pakistanis got their chaddis in a twist, and ill informed as they have been kept within that nation, the public and the cricketers reacted unreasonably mouthing off obscenities. Their strategic brilliance and inability to see future consequences made them say and do things that will hurt them in future. IOW the pakistanis should have known when to keep their mouths closed, they showed their true colours too soon.

3. I would hazard a guess, wrt the sports minister Gill - he knows what he is saying and why. The pakistanis were given a long rope, and they decided to hang themselves with it. He is more than happy with their statements. Not ONE reasonable-sane voice has yet come from across the border.

Now the future: My guess is:
1. One must remember that the GEO group pays money to IPL to get the telecast rights there, and if the pakistani cable operators block that transmission as they threatened to do, IPL teams would be the ultimate losers.

2. The paki cricket board and Afridi did some quick down hill skiing after PC gave that speech and SRK said his piece. The Indians did what they had to do - use words to ward off the potential economic losses from the TV telecast rights in pakistan. Words are cheap, and the indians can say what they want to say without following it up with action. There will be NO pakistanis playing for Mumbai and in most venues in India - They are unwelcome and the IPL teams know this.

The pakistanis realized this a little too late again. They have already done the down hill skiing, and said that they are willing to play the IPL if invited again. But now they are trapped between their downhill skiing and their earlier bravardo - "hinduon ki Zehniyat" and "Pakistan aur Islam ki beizzati ki gayi hai" vs "willing to play in IPL if considered".

Bottom line:
These two, Afridi and Sohail Tanveer are done for. They are not coming to IPL 2010. Some others who were intelligent enough to keep their traps shut might even come in but again with constraints to the teams who will employ them.

Personally I don't think any Pakistani cricketer will participate in IPL 2010. Their board will now not allow them in -Echendee will have to be preserved for this season. Next year they will come in claiming that the Indians came in with folded hands to request them to come.

I think it is unfair to blame Modi for this or the statements by SRK or Gill.

CRamS wrote:
You got to be kidding boss, you think any western publication will publish such articles?
There are plenty of respectable blogs on which such an article can be published, and from there it will enter the mainstream.
It will take many many generations if at all for India to reverse this simple false hood.
And just how will it change without writing such articles? Will it take many many generations to write such an article?

A_Gupta lets all work on that project. I think BB on Larry King made the Tall Fair wheat eating comment versus the short dark rice eaters.

Chuckthar Speaketh....

KKR yet to clear my dues: Shoaib Akhtar :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/spor ... 506438.cms

Arre bhai how will he get treatment for his warts! After all he is SRK's bhai :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

ramana wrote:A_Gupta lets all work on that project. I think BB on Larry King made the Tall Fair wheat eating comment versus the short dark rice eaters.
Shiv had mentioned before that it was first used by Ayub Khan in reference to Bengali's in particular and any one east of Pakjab in general.
neeraj

Post by neeraj »

Gagan wrote:I will attempt to summarize what has happened wrt the IPL saga, and see what might happen in the future
Brilliant analysis

In other news
KKR yet to clear my dues: Shoaib Akhtar

Razzaq's wet dreams
Razzaq's wet dreams dashed
Last edited by neeraj on 28 Jan 2010 22:32, edited 1 time in total.

I have found a few references:

http://liberation1971.blogspot.com/2009 ... ar-of.html
Former Prime Minister of Pakistan Benazir Bhutto recalls being taught at school in West Pakistan that "East Pakistanis are short, dark and eat rice, whilst West Pakistanis are tall, fair and eat wheat".
And the clincher is this from wiki
Majority of Pakistanis are tall with fair skin complexion, similar to Middle Eastern and Mediterranean peoples.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Culture_of_Pakistan